(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

morning everyone!!! mid-week liaoz...

thanks for letting venting my frustrations here, shd be happy occasion for our kids birthday hor...paisei arh.

fairysnowberry, nice cake from PG, i guess no regrets ordering frm them.

shawny, yeah, complain to the company hor, i didn't think of tat...ha...

sponge, wah u sweep alot things leh...really worth the trip manz...haha.

Sponge ~ That's alot of stuffs! Yaya can open stall liao

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">MILO! SO WHEN IS THE ZOO TRIP?? :p</font></font>

Subject: Eggs Should NOT be Stored in Refrigerators

For your info............bird flu egg...

Eggs should not be stored in refrigerators because the cooler conditions might allow the bird-flu virus to live longer, increasing the chance of exposure to humans, a senior Chulalongkorn University researcher said Thursday.

Professor Yong Phuvoravan, who is part of a team examining patterns of genes in bird flu, said that while the virus can be caught only through direct contact with chickens, refrigerated conditions could allow the virus to live longer on the outside of eggshells.

Speaking at a bird-flu seminar at the Chula Academy Exhibition Thursday, he urged people to wash their eggs carefully, especially those smattered with chicken droppings, and not to store them in their fridges.

He added that people should wash their hands well after touching the eggs and cook the eggs in 70-degree Celsius heat. The virus has mutated by about 3 per cent from the first batch found in 2003, which was a natural process, he said. However, as yet there has been no evidence of a mutation to make the virus transmittable from human to human.

Yong did say, however, that over consumption of the Tamiflu vaccine could lead to the virus building up a resistance.

Not sure is it true or not, i extracted from email

CP - Ethan's hat so familiar, saw at birthday direct but OOS when i wanna buy, nice....

ah fates - wah...ONz to zoo trip manz...heehee...is the friend of zoo card worth it or not har? thinking to sign up wor..

morning all.....

cheri - really, ikea card can get 10% discount? but dat time when i ask what card got promotion, the staff say don't have leh...but i oso didn't probe further, just buy the $15 x 2 tics and go in liaoz...maybe can check again. thanks hor.

fates ah..

lai liao lai liao...

<font color="0000ff">ZOO TRIP - 26 MAY 2007</font> <font color="ff0000">OK?</font>

Hihi Fates and Milo,

Me bringing my boi to Zoo next tue. Got Zoo pass from office and since weekday is less crowded DH and i decided to bring him on a weekday instead.

<font color="0000ff">Zoo outing on 26 May (Sat),
Can't join the zoo outing as I've got programs planned already. May visit on Vesak Day or other weekends instead. Pls go ahead with your plan.

Discounts for Zoo membership
All IKEA friends members and IKEA friends VISA Cardmembers are entitled to 10% off the 'Friends of the Zoo' membership from 1 Sep 2006 to 31 Aug 2007. For more info, checkout http://www.ikea-friends.com/sections/other_benefits.asp</font>

Hi Fate/Milo,

I also like to join the gathering but have brought my son there (zoo)last labour day,so hope u all have a wonderful day..

just to check if any of you added either a little bit of salt or soya sauce to your baby's porridge. My mum said should add lia but i disagee leh. What do you all think.

matsu,
i add dark soya sauce...dun see any problem with it cos its a tiny bit only. And of cos, i buy the higher grade ones.

<font color="0000ff">matsu,
I don't add salt as most foods are a bit salty by nature but since our bbs are 1 yo already, it's alright to introduce a little.
Maybe your mum can add ikan bilis for that salty taste?

Friends of the Zoo membership,
Can we apply the membership at the spot with a photograph? Can the membership card be issued and used immediately?</font>

morning everyone...friday liaoz...

matsu - i din add salt in her food, but a tiny bit of light soya sauce sometimes on/off, like ivy, buy the highest grade one lor.
think shd be alrite bah.

bbloh - think can sign up on the spot one, coz i think saw a booth at the zoo, behind ben and jerry ice-cream do this membership thingy...hee.

hi gals, will have to opt out of the zoo trip as I will be celebrating lil Amber's birthday on 26th. What a pity.

bbloh, you may apply on the spot. I guess you can give them the photo then. They will issue you a receipt and you can use it together with IC/DL as proof for entrance and parking. The card will arrive within the next 2 weeks.

matsu, I don't add any salt or sauce to Amber's food. But we soak the rice in ikan bilis stock for taste. To make the porridge tastier, can add tomato, carrot or pumpkin.

Just want to share that I kena mastitis (again!) on Tuesday - it came so suddenly I was unprepared! Had VERY painful lumps all of a sudden when having dinner and then the fever came and escalated to 39.4 degrees within a couple of hours! Everything seemed fine the day so was slapped with a rude shock when mastitis hit!

This is the 3rd time I kena liao! Sigh. Saw LC Doris and she said the lumps look like they are effects of STRESS! Sigh. She advised me to REST. My GP gave 3 days MC and I've been immobilised at home since Wed.

I hope I get well very soon as we're celebrating baby's 1st birthday this Sunday! I feel much better today, my breast is not so painful now, in fact the lumps seem to have gone down quite abit. No more fever, yay!

Take care all
bel

Ivy,

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO XAVIER!!!

Milo
I wanna join your zoo outing, can?

Wanna come to my house on 27 May to have a party for all May babies?

<font color="0000ff">leejen & shawny,
Thks for the info.

bello,
Wish you a speedy recovery. Did Doris mention how to prevent mastitis again? Maybe you can check out Dr Jack Newman's articles on breastfeeding for more info?

Any idea whether Kiddy Palace or Tom & Stefanie is having any sale?</font>

bello - take care k.

bbloh - i heard from a colleague this morning, she say kiddy palace got 20% sale, not sure if iz true, i will call and check.

bbpotato - thanks.....

my colleague just came back from causeway point kiddypalace, confirmed fotr 20% storewide, for period of 1mth, start from today...

no prob lah, just happen my colleague is going to kiddypalace, either northpoint or causewaypoint, she is a preggy, checking out sale oso.

think quite worth to buy coz got 20% sale hor, think Great SIngapore sale starts next week bah.

ssl,

happy birthday to Isabel as well! How you celebrate her 1st bd?

yes yes, lets have a gathering at your plc on the 27th!

i plan to send my filipino maid back. she has been giving me too many problems. can anyone recommend agencies that have indonesian maids who are Christians and speak English?

Hi leejen,

Would like to check those with kiddypalace priv card, w the 20% storewide discount, will they have additional discount or still only 20%?

Milo,

Am game for a zoo outing on the 26th May!

Sentosa
Yesterday, I brought Nat to Sentosa - Underwater World and Dolphin Lagoon. She was utterly fascinated by the marine life, pointing here and there, clapping her hands! Gee! So happy to see her enjoying herself!

BUT.... her first contact with sand, beach and sea was disastrous... She was screaming her lungs out when she stepped on sand... or sit on it... figured that it's unfamiliar grounds and texture. And that the sand is difficult to walk on, well and probably 'in'... that's why... Well, the whole sand thing dampened her entire mood, making her first attempt in the sea water not as enjoyable... NVM! I will JIA YOU! Try again!

Re: Bdae cake
Wah... feel super guilty... everyone has really nice cakes for your prince/princess' bdae! Mine's just a regular cake :p In fact, I din eat anything at the buffet, not even the cake, but 'a' calamari - was busy entertaining the whole time...

Soy Sauce
Hmmmmmmm... I bought a whole lot of this multi-grain to be added to rice when you cook from Japan... Have been feeding Nat that... figured that it would be healthy for her. I add ikan bilis (only over weekends, cos my parents are vegetarian, and when am not home, they do not serve meat :s) to add to the flavour... i reckon that it does not harm to add a tiny bit of salt to the food for kids more than a year old.

Cod liver oil
By the way, I just started 2 weeks ago, giving nat scotts emulsion cod liver oil, and in fact that induces her appetite! Do you mummies give your kids that?

Vaccination
For those whose kids have turned 12 months, are our darlings due for another round of vaccination? I think the last one was when she was 9 months...

wow..it has been a crazy week for me...

Made it up to little Xavier by going to the zoo yesterday. I signed up online for the friends of zoo thingy just before we head up, haha...
The zoo was real fun for him, pointing to all the animals that he seen. The playground there was very good too, he had his 1st swing ride there! But very tiring for mummy cos i had to sling/carry him and walk around. He dun wan his pram and daddy...
Milo, we will go again this sat with you all?!

Uneventful 1st BD

My son came down with a high fever so Sien did not get to celebrate. Coupled with death in the family. Sigh. Its really a non event.

<font color="0000ff">Zoo trip</font>

Sorry but 26th May I got a BD party on leh. What time is the zoo trip milo? So far these are the mummies interested:

<u>Confirmed</u>
1. Milo
2. leejen
3. Ivy
4. SS1
5. Yvonne

<u>Tentative</u>
1. fates

bbloh ~ The FOTZ card will be issued immediately, and no need to bring photograph as they will take a digital pic of you and family on the spot!

Winnie ~ I guess majority of us had brought our babies for a swim already

sponge ~ I am still sterilizing the bottles/teats too! I sterilized them because I am still using the bottles to store my BM. Yaya...when can we stop?

Yvonne,

What multi-grain did you add to nat's rice? Brown rice or??

gabby,

Sorry to hear about the bad news. No worries Sien can have a big party next year :p

matsu,

I don't add any salt or soya sauce to my boy's food. Just a bit of Bovril if the porridge is too bland. HTHs

Zoo Trip:
Morning or afternoon ah?

Fates:
Your 26/5 birthday party is morning or afternoon? Maybe we try and suit your timing then you can join us?

Gabby:
Sorry to hear about that. Hope Sien is well soon!

Ivy:
I almost couldn't celebrate for Isabel coz I was so sick for 2 weeks. In the end had to take antibiotics which I hate but manage to recover in time to taste the food and cake. Bo lang respond to my invitation except you leh... maybe too soon after the zoo trip. postpone?

ss1,
lang busy loh...haha...
i think 2nd June sounds better? thats a long weekend break.

Zoo Trip,
shall we go in the early morning? Less hot and less ppl!

Zoo trip

Let's see if we can make it. What time?

Sterilising

I am still doing it. My son will turn 3 soon and am still sterilising the bottles. My friend said no need to do so as in Singapore, water is clean.

lh_jyc - the kiddypalace 20% discount is applicable for normal items, for those already on special/promotion price, not applicable for discounts leh.

sponge / fates - yeah man, im still sterilizing bottles for jen, dunno when to stop oso...haha. when is the best time to stop huh...

winnie - i bring her to swim weekly at jalan besar swimming pool if the weather is good.

anastasia - perhaps u wanna try nation maids? my colleagues just hired maids from indonesia and christians, so far, so good. but i heard some may want a fortnight 1 day off. good luck!

gabby - take care, hope ur boy is better now.

ivy - wat time u went zoo the last round? the previous time i went is about 11plus, quite humid but cloudy.

hi leejen,
i went at 8.30am! haha...good weather and not much crowds. And i think most parents are like minded too..cos the "crowd" i saw are all with babies!

Swimming:
you very on to go public pool leh...i find it very ley chey to bring so many things to public pool and also this mummy too shy to go public pool..So its always some club house or some frens' pool...
hee hee...

<font color="0000ff">Zoo trip</font>

<u>Confirmed</u>
1. Milo
2. leejen
3. Ivy
4. SS1
5. Yvonne
6. sponge

<u>Tentative</u>
1. fates

<font color="0077aa">Hihi!

Celebrated my boy's birthday yesterday(actual day is this coming Tues)!
Here's a picture of his cake!

808557.jpg

And here's one of him and his cake:

808558.jpg

Cant join in zoo trip this time, still nursing a sick breast

Enjoy yourselves!</font>

morning all!

sorry for mia-ing. had a hectic week and finally BACK today! so this sat zoo trip onz huh? wat time?

morning....

milo-san - waiting for you to online leh...haha. i onz for zoo trip, but have to see what time lor.

ivy-san - really leh, i do bring alot things to public swimming pool, like zhao lor(hokkien) but going to jalan besar swimming pool is the nearest option for me. i've been to my brother's condo swimming pool, but lazy to travel larz...
as for dipping in the baby pool, iz her and daddy, mummy's fat body can't flaunt lor, wait ppl vomit...ha-ha-ha.

bello - nice cake caius have arh....

wahaha...actually i swim wif jen twice bah, but hor very mafan coz after tat i need to bathe/dress/feed her, my hubby not as good in multi-tasking, so i better wait one side and take over once she finish swim.

going to zoo, u bring ah X's personal food along?