(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hi Lh_jyc,

try go Bega, i bought some bigger size clothes from there. They have nice XL sizes.

im breastfeeding my gal, so when i back in office, i use a manual and a electric pump, some of my colleague use both electric ones. We use hot water to pour the funnel so to sterlise the equipment and we pump in one of the store room.

ivy,
i doubt so cos keane oso wake up at nite. currently i still trying to let keane put on more weight so increase 1/2 spoon of fm per feeding but end up keane drag from 3hrs to 4.5 to 5hrs interval.
keane oso wake up at nite just wanting to play n wants me to accompany. he will scream till i sit next to his cot bed and watching him to sleep.
U can use plain water to feed xavier when he wakes up at nites. Some say this method work v well but all up 2 individual.
I m the kia se type, afraid that keane wont put on weight when he rejects milk at one stage mostly at 6mths old. The best is to let him put on more now,safer..

hi annie,

i oso increase my gal's feed, as they grow along we gotta increase the feed and lengthen the interval but to each's baby, some baby cannot swallow so much at one time.

my boy now coming to 8weeks.. had also sleep thru the night .. normally his last feed is either at 8plus den zz till 5-6am or last feed at 9plus den zz till 7-8am. Got one time he zz for 11hrs straight .. i was like wah.. my hb still joking say bb overslept..

Normally after last feed.. i just put him on his cot and off the light .. he will guai guai zzzz liao .. no more wake up in the middle of night liao heng ar .. his feeding is also 150ml.. during daytime will be the same .. 3hrs interval

bookworm,

hey i had been using the sling so far for 2 times liao ... not bad though .. my bb wont struggle liao he will guai guai stay inside till i reached my mum place. although only 15min journey lah..

hazel,
u r one lucky gal man... once my keane had his last feeding around 11pm then slept till 5am. My hb so happy and keep saying abt it. After few days, keane is back to e old timing.. so sian..

hi mummies out there,
especially those stay at home. can we meet this coming friday afternoon time? bring bb along leh...
can come to my hse if no one blame..heheh at sengkang, bring along yr bbs...
my hse downstair got a kopitam so still ok... but i oni have pot to boil water to sterilise milk bottles, ok?

Hi hazel,

my bb still refuses to stay in the sling. the moment we put him in, he struggle n screams...hee!

Hi Lee,
U mean use hot water over the pumps and then later can reuse again? no need to steam? how many times u pump @ office, huh?

sigh..my bb still refuses to sleep since 11am...me carrying him now n typing....wait later evening, he sure sleeps n at nite he will play again...he sure likes to bully his mummy

Lee,

i upgrade his milk intake and he still drink at 3hr interval. i thought when bb grow they will hv less feeds soon. even on the tin it show less feed but my boy still want 3hrly

hi lh_jyc,
Yalor, i make use of the hot water that is available in office to wash before and after my pumping wor, didn't steam coz rushing during office hours leh, i don't dare to go pumping/washing too long. i pump once b4 lunch ard 10plus-11am and later 4-5pm, about twice a day for now.

hi twinkle starry,
think boys drink more rite...hmm...sometimes iz his routine to drink 3hourly, maybe u try adjust?
just see if it works, each baby is different lah, so don't stress.

lee,
i tried adjusting but he still for milk ever 3hrly, i give water to tahan but still cannot. MILK is KING lor.

Hazel,
My Gal also coming 8 weeks but she every 3 hrs wake up at nite to drink without fail but she always drink half way and sleep again. So envy u .... dun know when my gal can zzz till morning.

Twinkle-starry,
Same lah my gal increase already but she also want ever 3 hourly.. I give water but she dun want and start crying

those who bought the MIM sling, may i know whether it weighs more than 250gr?
because i asked my friend to buy and thinking to send by speedpost or normal post to australia.

Hazel, taurus & those mummies whose bbs sleep thru' the night.........I ENVY YOU SO MUCH!!!!!

My boy is 10weeks old already...still wake up every 3 hours for his milk

How to train him?
Most times he drinks 90ml of EBM, sometimes 110ml and at times 70ml onli! I do try to latch him in the mid of the night if I'm tooo sleepy to heat up the EBM..

fates,

dun worry, i am in your same shoes...except that i have my mum and aunt to help cos i am back to work! haha...phew!

wow envy all the mummies tat the bb can slp thru the nite.

hazel,

my boi oso coming 8weeks but canot slp thru the nite leh. the most 4.5hrs will wake up for milk. nw he oredi drking 5oz but still like not enuff leh. i tink itz alot liao. hw??

mummies, hw much r ur bb drinking?? mi scared to give him too much but it seems like 5oz still not enuff. after every feed he will make noise...

tis fri gg back to wrk liao. sianzzz... not wrking oreadi so tired. cant imagine if i go back to wrk...

hi gina,

my boy is also coming 8 weeks and he can sometimes drink up to 150ml which will be at about 3.5 hrly interval... however he's not very consistent... but it's usually between 120 and 150 ml.

joyce

When I pump for the first time, I use the stimulation for 2 mins then increase the power slowly. I never go beyond half of the power because I am afraid of pain.

My MS isnt that good and I can only express abt 100ml from both breasts.

hi experienced mummies,
well, kind of embrasse to ask something v v personal here.
pp who noe me or see me b4, hhehe.. i m kind of direct person.
this afternoon, e malay lady who d massage for me asked me whether do i start to have sex with hb.
Well, frankly speaking, my hb didnt touch me ever since i was pregant. So should i be e 1 2 ask my hb or wait for him to touch me?
e malay massage lady said that i m v bad, shd be the 1 to be more approach ...
well, i didnt think of it ever since pregnant since v hard suffering during my pregancy.. pain here n there.. :p
Currently, i only wish that i have enough sleep each day...hahah.. ehmm any suggestion?
or want to pm me: [email protected]
yr suggestion n opinion will definitely 100% btw u n me. (if u noe me, will noe)

mine during daytime he seldom zzz.. whenever try to put him down either my bed or his cot to sleep, he will start to make noise liao, so he often zz ard late afternoon like 5plus till last feed at 8pm or he will 'tong' till his last feed den he can zzz straight till next morning liao ..

sometimes i was wondering isit i sleep till too soundly that i can't hear his crying for milk or he really sleep thru the night .. heehee

annie,

heehee mi too ... my last ML wif hb is when im 12weeks then no more liao as my placenta is low so gynae advised not to have sex ...
till now we have not resume back yet.. im natural birth.. was thinking whether wanna try a not but a bit worry leh .. scare pain as my cousin say very pain ar .. and anyway my hb also no action leh .. i also wonder how ar .. or got to wait till my 'first' period come first ..

hazel<b>

i also initially i thought i forgot abt him or i too deep sleep. hee... after a few times, i tell myself i cannot be so bad right?

i think these days bb growing up liao. mine also sleep lesser and lesser in the afternoon. like today he only sleep 2hr only and each time only 30mins.

Hi Hazel &amp; Starry,

hahah... I have the same concern like both of yous ..and infact ... sometimes I think I really sleep too soundly liao ... and bb did make some noises but not crying ...so I just ignore and after awhile he also fall asleep .... hahah... i think bb give up so sleep also ...kekeke

Hi Ivy,

Would like to order as well:

Ivy, would like to order the wetsuit...

Pls see below:

1) Nick: Ivy
Size: 0 (6-12M)
Color: Berry or Ocean
Quantity:1

2) Nick: Annie
Color: Ocean or Coral

3) Nick: Twinkle-starry
Size:0.5(10-18M)
Color: Ocean
Quantity: 1

4) Nick: Yvonne Du
Color: Berry or Apple

5) Nick: Little_nana
Size:0(6-12M)
Color: Berry or coral

6) Nick: Gummie
Color: Ocean or Berry

7) Nick: gina_seow
Quzntity: 1

8)Nick: Taurus

9)Nick: kissbb
Size:0(6-12M)---> Will confirm tonight again the size
Color: Ocean or Apple

10)Nick: trevor's mummy
size:0.5 (10-18M)
Colour: Ocean
Qty:1
Type: Infant wetsuit

hey gals,

Our bbs will be approaching the stage where no mitten and booties liao. Think abt 3-4mths right? What do we let bb wear on the feet? socks? soft shoes?? brand??

Any ideas/suggestions?

Hi Missk,

Hee...ur 100ml is veri good compared to mine liao lor...somemore I on the highest power...my nipples sore like anything..

Hi twinkle-starry,
personally, think can let them wear soft shoes.I like the combi brand one but dunno whether its suitable for young children lei..but hor at nite if u sleep in the aircon better let him wear socks in case he cold..

ya i still let my boy wear booties n mittens to zzz at night and whenever going to 'gai gai'.. daytime i will just take off.

my gals going to 3mths soon but i still let her wear mittens coz she like to scratch her face and i afraid she go dig into her eyes...but i oso want her to use her hands to grab things...any views?

Hi Ivy,

Baby wetsuit order ...

Pls see below:

1) Nick: Ivy
Color: Berry or Ocean

2) Nick: Annie
Color: Ocean or Coral

3) Nick: Twinkle-starry

4) Nick: Yvonne Du
Color: Berry or Apple

5) Nick: Little_nana
Color: Berry or coral

6) Nick: Gummie
Color: Ocean or Berry

7) Nick: gina_seow

8)Nick: Taurus

9)Nick: kissbb
Size:0(6-12M)---> Will confirm tonight again the size
Color: Ocean or Apple

10)Nick: trevor's mummy
size:0.5 (10-18M)
Colour: Ocean
Qty:1
Type: Infant wetsuit

11) Nick: Fates

lee,
Oh! u shdnt put on mitten, hows yr gal going to learn to grab thing? My keane already can grab hold. So long you cut e nails short, it's will b fine. Keane oso 1s scratch his ear n bleed when he was v angry. Moreover, he would rub his eyes when he is sleepy but using e side of the finger, so ok.

twinkle,lh_jyc,
nvb put on booties for keane even he sleeps aircon room every night. Found that most of the booties are stretchable but kind of tight.End up, will find a line on e next day, actually, e thightness will block e blood flow..i put two receiving blankets in case keane kicks away one. The 2nd one will have 2 pillows at side to press on it.(oso press keane's side tummy).

Hazel,
i heard that its easier to get pregnant oso. :p
I am not sure abt e pain but e malay massage lady pushed my womb today, stated that its best that i dun carry heavy things cos e womb still not in position yet..how not to carry heavy thing, keane already 5.6kg.
Another matter that this massage lady said, regarding e inner V path,duno how truth it is, if gals drink cold things during confinement, e V path will become "cold" Man wont "enjoy" n v path will become more tight n warm if gals have tonics and do squeezing exercise, man would enjoy.

Just woke up to feed keane. Recalled what my hb told me last nite, kind of frighten me, so like 2 share this true "incident". i have no intention to frighten or scare any mummies here. just want to tell mummies to pay more attention.

My hb came home late last nite. He told me that he went hospital to visit his manager's elder son. Already 1 years plus. Earon had spilt milk n kena choke, e whole expanded milk cover his noses that cause him not able to breath. Whole mouth oso full of expanded milk. (i duno how to describle but i saw keane's spilt milk, those milk seems to expand like snow flake). Earon struggle n tried to make some noises but not able to cry out since mouth n nose are block. My hb's manager so happend wake up to go toilet, passed his son's cot bed n saw it.
He d a mouth to mouth to suck out e milk stuffs n oso e nose. (sound eee..) but he told my hb that his son's face already turned black. In e end, manage to save his son n rush to the hospital.
Do pay attention to yr bbs even through they already burp. 4 me, i have a habit to wait for a while after putting keane back to sleep after feeding. As i do seen keane had spilt milk even after burped a while ago.He was smaller that time n after that incident, i have this habit.
Kind of shock to hear that toddler oso can have spilt milk n choke. Keane sometime choke by his own saliva..
tough to b parents hor, has to worry so much things..

Sleep thr the nite
Si'en is NAUGHTY! Yesterday, she hardly slept in the day and she dozed off thr the night even though she last ate at 9.30. I woke her up at 7.30 to feed...y breast too full!!! Sigh. at times, when i need her to sleep she does not!!!

Hi Annie, I had this bad experient b4 with my first boi, that time he was only 1 weeks plus and I am a first time mother so tot that should add more milk powder so that he will be more full (so stpuid)3oz of water should be 3 scoope but i put 3 1/2 scoop. He was choke and he cannot cry out any sound and his eyeball start to roll up and a bit going to turn black lucky at that time my mum stay with me so she try to shake and pad him and at last he cry out loud and then we also took him to Hosiptal and he was sent for X-Ray and stay there for 3 days.

Not to scare those mummies with maid, is better to inform and check yr maid when they make milk cos normally for 3 oz of water after adding milk powder it will be like 3 1/2 oz but i always check when my maid pass me the milk (cos i don't trust) and true enough that when she pass me the milk was only at 3 oz so which means she never measure the water properly and the milk is actually thicker. (Milk can be thinner but not thicker cos baby will get choke)..... That's just my view to share

yup... my new office is one of an open concept... the previous mums in the office pump in the toilet! no way for me... i spoke to the boss, he got me a room, and everyone has to evacuate when i pump.... i feel so paisay and inconvenient...

I found out that i can pump at Bugis Seiyu, Baby care room, very clean, with 2 cubicles... so every lunch time, and evening (if i work late), i will run over to Bugis to pump... heheheh...

RE: Babies sleep through the night...

Natasia usually sleeps from 10pm to 8am the next morning... she used to wake up in the middle of the night for feeds... but actuali, we figured that babies wake up at night as a habit. They just want to suckle. What i did was i tried giving water or pacifier, and turned out that true enuff, she was not hungry... for not more than 5 minutes, she fell asleep, and after a few more tries, she starts to sleep thru the nite... and when she wakes up she is very cheerful, not crying for milk immediately... so what i figured is that if you feed her enuff in the day, she should be able to sleep thru the nite without feeling hungry...

BTW, on milk intake volume, those who think tat their bb is taking little, nat is only drinking 120ml (max) every 3 hours, from 8 am to 10pm at night... hmmmm, but i think she is okie... she is growing!

Hi Yvonne,

How old is your gal huh?? My boy now 11 wks still drinking 120 ml at 3.1/2 to 4 hrs interval ... yestersday nite his last feed at 7.45 pm only drink 80ml ... and he slept tru till this morning 8am ...and we still have to wake him up to take his milk .... but once awake...he is screaming for milk and finish 150 ml within 10 mins ..... hahah .... though my boy is putting on weight but seems like he is drinking abit little as compare to the rest of the bbs here ...

Hazel,

i also let him wear mittens and botties at night to sleep and also while going out.

Taurus,
Sometime i find the tin instuction is different fm each formula. Some goes by weight and some by weeks. My feel is as long as u follow the guide shld be ok.

my gal is coming to 10 weeks and she is still drinking like a newborn, she is only taking 60ml at most 80ml at 2/2.5hrs interval. Any idea how to stretch her feeding time and make her drink more? Getting very tired to feed her so often liao.....

btw, if i try not feeding her she scream like nobody's biz and if she stop drinking, nothing you can do to make her down even 1 drop!

Hi Gina,

I read somewhere that u are not supposed to add more powder than prescribed. not only it may cause the bb to choke but also it may hurt his kidney as bbies need certain amt of water to digest the FM. Coz FM is not so easy to digest...so have to make sure the amt is correct...

Hi Taurus and Yvonne,
heh! my boy also drinks veri little milk. He now taking only 90 to 120ml max but his frequency is every 3 hrs inclusive of nites..think should be ok since he seems to be growing heavier n heavier

Yvonne, how often u pump in the office? I'm veri worried coz my MS is veri low. If no pump regularly at the office, think it will become even lower....

Hi Annie,
Yup...mum keeps on n on askng me not to carry heavy things...how man...my vaccum cleaner is the heavy type + carry bb n stuff..impossible man

Hi Pearllyn,
Did u change the size of the hole? I did that n found that my bb can drink more milk liao....

pearllyn

seems like my baby gal has the same habit as yours. when she's hungry, she will wail, but only drank 60ml or 90ml, after that contented will go back to sleep. how u force feed also no use, eitehr turn away or cry or spill milk out from her mouth. usually i will ask the maid to put it aside when she refused, any before she threw the milk away in an hr, try to feed her again, somethings she drinks the balance. i also make 120ml for her each feed. sometimes at night she dont wake up to drink, also sleep thru for abt 8 hrs.

my boy is drinking ~150ml every 2.5 hrs ah..tried giving him more but he dun wan leh. normal or not huh?

slping through the nite,

i tried feeding water but after finishing abt 20ml, eye big big n still cty, hungry?

milo,

i was also tempted to train my boy by givin him water or pacifier last night when he woke up, but i guess the risk of him crying out and tearing down the house n waking up all my neighbours on a weekday night is just too much for me to take... ahahaha...

will try to 'train' him this weekend hohoho...

hmmm going to 8 weeks liao, going back to work in 2 weeks' time... still cannot fit into my old clothes. no choice, this weekend have to shop for new clothes oredi... any good sales going on?

Hi gummie,

I think Great Singapore sales ending in 2 weeks time ... so i think most shop still got discount ...so can go n check it out ...

From the books I read ... it will usually takes 3 days to train ur bb ... so you are right to wait till weekend to "train" your boi ....8)

milo,

my son is still drinking 120ml every 2 hrs...very tiring to feed so often but he dun finish even if we try to give more. So dun want to try anymore cos its a waste of my BM!!!

For mummies trying to train bb to slp thru, i told my mum and aunt last nite, they are both against it! They say he will auto slp thru once hit 4th mth cos he will have build up his weight and internal organs. Eveb if by then he dun slp thru, then train loh. Cos they feel that bbs are too young now, stomach too small, digestive system no good yet...etc...
Dunno how true it is, but since they say so, gotta follow loh, dun wan ppl to start to blame me if anything happens. Already now, they are complaining that my son got a lot of wind cos of the ebm ( cold then heat up hence a lot of wind) and wanted me to stop giving bm..This is the only thing that i put my foot down. Got wind, then try to ease the wind loh, ebm is still better than fm...Sigh..old ppl...

my gal quite similiar cases wif you all, she drink abit and spill out the rest out from her mouth, dunno y, especially afternoon feeds.
i want to bring to see PD, really headache, yesterday she cry alot. Sigh.

Hi ivy,
breastmilk is good leh....don't stop giving.