(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

bookworm,

correction..i mean play gym like wat twinkle has mentioned. I think we are using the same thing

If u go to my website http://photos.yahoo.com.sg/kerenelu and look into bb photos folder, u can see the blue play gym there

My boy full month just over, very happy 2 hav such experience-frens/colleagues coming/greeting..

My mum will b leaving tomorrow(after 1 mth taking care of bb n my confinement). Hope can handle myself fr 2moro onwards..

How do wash baby's mouth(inner) everyday?
My mum uses chinese herb-jin1 ying2 hua1. I still can't believe, so need ur advice

bookworm, sounds like your baby really has colic, cos colic means they cry for no apparent reason for hours, and nothing seems to soothe them. It should disappear around 3 months.

hey kk,
i saw in yr pics that you have prepared some give-away souvenirs for your baby's first month celebration... what are those? biscuits? can tell me where you ordered those from?

gummie,

Oh, that time when i ordered, around 10 days in advance is required. Perhaps call them and ask? U can contact Helen at 94796003. She is very friendly

gummie,

Wow haha.. u never mention kerene introduced u to her? She might give u some discount and give me some goodies haha!

hi kk, i went to the website for baby full mth. wow their gifts veri nice leh. but tink it will b too late for mi to order liao. probably can order when my boy 1 year old. btw wat items u ordered frm them??

gina,

Too late to order? U completed ur first mth celebration?

I was thinking what to get for colleagues. My colleague who gave birth in february ordered a cake for them but they couldn't finish. So i wanted something simple as takeaway for them. More convenient also, no need cut etc. So i ordered chocolates for them. I also ordered some for my guests at buffet. Response was good and the overall product turned out to be very beautiful

Hi gummie,
I read earlier that you have problems with the CL. I am having problems getting along with mine too. She does not really know how to cook. Sometimes I got to tell her how, what to put, etc. and she always like to carry my bb when she is sleeping. There are many times these 2 weeks that I want to change CL but I got her from agency so it's kind of troublesome as there will be replacement and not sure the replacement will be good. Furthermore, my hubby is going overseas for one week on the last week of the confinement. Just want to know your views and how you came to the conclusion of bearing with the same CL till the end of the confinement. Thanks.

have you all brought your bb (i mean for those more than 1 month old) out for a walk? Or perhaps even out for dinner? Not sure if its okie to bring her out now (she's coming 7 weeks old), cos i am bored to tears at home...

kk

my boi 1st mth celebration is tis sat. mi oreadi ordered some cakes frm prima deli to give to colleagues n relatives. if i noe abt mytreasurebox, sure order frm them as i feel the designs are beautiful...

Yvonne,

U can definitely bring ur bb out if u want too
I have seen babies of that age being pushed out in a pram. And my colleague has been taking her bb out for shopping ever since 1st mth.

For me, bb coming to 8 weeks but we have not actually brought her out for walks yet.. afraid she might wail along the way and we dunno what to do next haha!

hi kk

i think bb will love to go for a walk esp when they are in the pram or hand carried.

me brought my elder gal out shopping when she's three weeks old only..hehe..then my no2, i started to bring her out once to TMC to attend bb massage class. recently brought her out for shopping and also have our dinner out..so boring if kana stuck at home !

the only thing of bringing bb out is , u got to pack alot of pampers, clothings...my bag heavy..and lots of items ..imagine i got to pack for my toddler also

hi appletree,

i have terminated my CL services even though she has been only 1 wk with us cos juz like u mention, she dun noe how to cook, esp confinement food.. plus she is incapable to do hsewk n takes care of bb, so must as well cancel her services..

so now i juz rely on my 2 moms to take care of everything.. i find that my moms can take care better than the CL..

huh?? can't bring bb out.. i am only 3wks of my confinement.. thinking of bringing bb out for awhile this sat when my moms r not around. hahah.. can't ah??

peng,

maybe you wan to wait till full month? My mum say bb shld bring out for walks and socialise, but must be after full month...Its countdown for me now, FRI is the day!!!

ivy,

actually hw to calculate full mth ah?? my boi is born on 19may so full mth is 28daes frm 19 or 18jun or 19jun?? aniway mi celebrating his full mth tis sat which is 17jun, most likely 18jun will bring him out liao. hee...

gals,

when you fridge your EBM, do you notice that the milk and the water content will separate? As in you will see the white liquid floating on top and the transparent liquid below. Anyone know wat i mean and experienced it?

I dun think that the milk has gone bad cos its less than 24 hr and do not taste sour. Just thinking if this will cause nutrients to be lost..

gina,

depend whether you wan to based on Chinese or English...
If Eng, then it will be 19th Jun, if Chinese, then will be 17th Jun.

gals,

nana and myself are interested in this:

http://www.bubbaducks.com.au/

Anyone else? i checked, we can save some shipping cost if we buy together. But if there is great interest, i can try to email the company to see if there is discount.

The infant wetsuits is good for the cold swimming pool water as BB tends to catch a cold easily.

hi yvonne,
i brought my bb out for the massage class when she was 3 wks old too...actually hor, when she was 1 wk old, i also brought her to clinic. if i can bring her to hospital, she can go anywhere lar. We also brought her to Great World City and Suntec to gai gai recently. I tink she likes it veri much. hee hee

CL
After hearing all the horror stories, I am glad my CL is nice. Today, she taught my MIL, SIL my mum and 2 maids how to cook achar!! Faint smells nice looks nice but I cant eat!!

World Cup
The only nice thing about expressing milk in the middle of the night is that I get to watch 22 men on the pitch running after a ball... haha

Ivy
White Liquid on top is the layer of the EBM that is the fats! Good for baby. THe thicker that layer is the more fats there is in your milk. Good for baby!

EBM
If you do not freeze it, how long can you store EBM at the normal temp in fridge?

hi appletree,

i had intially wanted to replace my CL bcos we didn't like her attitude and the way she handled our baby. she was sometimes rude in her replies and likes to talk back/comment on little things that me or my husband does or did not do.
more importantly, we felt that she wasn't good at handling the baby. she doesn't seem to have much patience whenever my boy cries and she tends to 'scold' him then try to soothe him like wat i heard other CLs do. in fact, i have friends and sisters-in-law who came to 'observe' her and said she is 'no good'.

i guess we had sufficient reasons to get a replacement, but in the end we decided to give everyone a chance and let her stay till the end of my confinement bcos getting a replacement will mean making adjustments on my part (getting used to another CL and her way of doing things) and like u said, there is no guarantee that the next one tt comes along will be better?

as for... how did i manage to bear with her?
1) we tried to remind ourselves of the things that she does well (housework, cooking etc.) and not just focus on the 'bad'.
2) i also tried to take over caring for the baby myself during day time; changing diapers, feeding, attending to him when he cries. except for bathing him which my CL still does.
3) i simply IGNORE her when she's rude or talks back. also learn to 'close an eye' when she doesn't follow my instructions.

i'm not sure exactly what kind of issues u face with yr CL, but you might want to ask yrself if you can live with or work around these for the next 2 weeks, and esp the period when yr husband is not around? it may be quite stressful on yr part if you decide to keep her and yet find that you cannot accept her way of doing things. i believe all the mummies here will tell you to put yrself first; it is really important that you can rest well and keep yourself happy during this period.

at least for yr case, it wouldn't be so awkward to ask CL to leave since she was engaged thru' an agency. i understand that some of these agencies do not necessarily provide 'qualified' or experienced CLs. if you seriously want to consider a replacement, why dun you get thru' someone's recommendation.. higher chances of hiring a good one at least?

recently i feel very depress easily. i dun like the idea of staying at hm everyday looking after bb. sometimes i wonder is having a bb a bad idea as i am so badly deprive of sleep. i really dunno wat he wans when he couldnt stop crying after i have done everything. hubby does helps but he has always been a sleepyhead. whenever he mention that he is tired or sleepy, i get angry
wanted to go for a short break w/o bb to rest, wanting to get my mil to help but she always mess up my boy feeding schedule, ended up will have many nights that my boy will go cranky. ask my mum will be very diff as she has to look after my dad. i felt like a bad mummy! why is everyone so keen and happy with bb, whereas i feel otherwise

gabby's mum,
haha u have a great reminder but i m not ta lucky 2 watch e match cos keane alway make a fuss over while drnkg milk.

milo66,
mayb u can bring yr bb walk walk downstair. i 2 e same, looking after my keane alone. keane doesnt sleep even at day x, cry whenever i walk away. Super jialat, cos i still need 2 2 hsehold chores n cooking dinner. keane is now sleeping n my arm, if i put him down, he will cry like hell.

Annie and other mummies staying in Seng Kang or Punggol area. I heard from my friend there's a medical shop in Rivervale Plaza Lvl 1 selling formula milk at few dollars cheaper than outside.

Milo,
I behaves the same way as you at week 3. Very fed up with myself and my husband since I see him sleeping so soundly every night, even have the time to watch TV program. I was like losing my sleep and freedom. I even becomes that bad till I think of giving bb away. Maybe you want to tell your husband your feelings so he can try to take care of bb sometimes and you can relax? Even an hour is good. My hubby saw me crying that time and we had a quarrel (I poured out every grieves I've during the argument). Now my husband helps out even he's very sleepy or tired, else I would long get post-natal blues or even gone crazy. Bring your bb downstair for a short walk, don't cope yourself at home

piglet,

ya, confirmed the Rivervale Plaza shop do sell forumla milk cheaper...

milo,
i think you cope up too much at home. Try to go out with your frens or walking ard downstairs. I will sometimes be quite sian also. Esp after i try on the clothes that dun fit, see the scars all over my body due to the rashes while preg, the stretchmarks on tummy and breasts, gog to be saggy breast, dandruff on the hair, deprived of sleep..etc..I will also think that am i mad to have this little one? But once you see him looking at you with such innocent eyes, everything else doesn't matter!
Cheer up! Let's organise a gathering soon!

Interested Mummies on the Swimming Wetsuits:

1) Ivy
2) Little Nana
3) Gummie
4) Twinkle-Starry

Anyone else? Let me know by next Monday, i will try get in touch with the company.

ivy,

that precisely how i feel sometime too! i hate looking at myself in the mirror
feel so ugly. before i was preg, already wearing L size now cant fit into any liao. + seeing him cry and dunno wat is wrong, makes me lagi pek chek. but i do agree that when he smile at me, i will temporarily forget all the pain i went through for him.

piglet,

guess its common we are fed up with our hubbies. mine can stuck in front of the tv happily watching while bb is tearing down the hse with his wails. ask him to take over for a few nites then will complain tired or worse - sick!

annie,

same here! i am carrying kaeden in my arms now. me still have countless chores to do but cannot put him down...sigh

milo/annie,

try to leave the chores till weekend for hubby to do or consider a part time cleaner? Dun be too stress over the chores..

milo, piglet, i too experience the same. i'm now in melbourne, australia, and living with my hb's brother's family. even worse. feeling not nice if let baby cry for long, afraid will disturb them. my bb (wendy) is now only 3-wks old. the weather is very cold outside, not convenient to bring baby out n about. i'm glad to read your posts, at least i'm not alone.

as for to boost milk supply, i'm taking vitamin called fenugreek. maybe those who are interested, can check with your doctor/chemist.

just wondering, is it a good idea to introduce dummy to the baby? it seems to help calm her when she's unsettled and she can fall asleep by herself.

hi ivy,
i'm interested in the wetsuit too ( altho i wld have lurv my gal to be in bikinis but it's too cold...)!

hi milo,
u must be feeling so depressed. why dun go for a short holiday wif your hubby or just a day out shoppig to relax yourself? it must be realli taxing...for me, i'm lucky to have my mum/dad to help...if not, i also dunnoe how to cope...dun tink i hv the time to go online too!

milo,

i guess it's important to know that we are 'not alone'... we try to talk happy things, but when we're left alone with a crying baby, the same thoughts run thru' our heads.

i also hate looking at myself in the mirror...oily hair, flabby body, and no signs of weight loss...hai... v depressing. but i try to convince myself that all this is temporary loh, and that things will get better. soon, our babies will sleep longer, and we'll be able to cope better.

these days only my boy's smile can make me put aside my 'miseries'.... wat to do? all the sacrifice is for him loh.

piglet, ivy

may i noe the medical hall in rivervale plaza, hw much r they selling similac 0-6mths??

ivy

tat swimming suitwear reali gd compare to normal swimsuits?? tinking of getting oso. btw bb hw many mths den can bring go swimming ah??

milo, annie

mi oso facing the same prolem as u. 1st week w/o CL mi oso gg mad. everydae oso quarrel wif hubby. his temper reali bad. tink my CL goes bk, my nitemare will cm again...

ivy,
my hb does help 2 2 hsework but i feel pity 4 him, he already so tired after 5 days of work n dun enough sleep due 2 bb cry at nights.hence,i try 2 2 all my own

gina,

the medical shop, i think only got 1. Dunno the name..

BBs can start go to the pool as soon as their neck is firm, but i think 6mths old is a good start. The wetsuit will keep bb warm ( similar to the wetsuit which we use in diving), and also easy to wear. The normal swimsuit is not able to keep warm and also difficult to wear for infants.

ivy,

i check wif my hubby den get bk to u by 2nite k. btw i i getting it, hw do i get it frm u?? n oso we muz choose the size n color oso rite??