(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

gina,
I think there're 2 medical shops in Rivervale Plaza. But is the one with all the milk powder stacked, very obvious when you pass by. I'm not sure of the price for similac but definately cheaper than NTUC

Milo and Dodo,
We're not alone here, most of us are facing the same problem.

Ivy,
Yes, my hubby and I also intend to bring bb for swimming when she's 6th month old. If we buy the wetsuit now, will bb still fit in 5 months time?

gina,

we can meet up and pass to you, esp if you stay in SK.
Yes, size and color later then choose, i must see got how many ppl want, then try to get in touch with the company to see if got discount.

piglet,
we are looking at the 6-12 months' size one. So sure can fit.

piglet, my name is sofia. was surprised to see your name here, thought there's another mom to be named sofia. turned out it's your baby's

Ivy,
Ok, same as gina, need to check with my hubby see if he's interested. Any idea what is the price now?

Dodo,
Yup Yup, My baby's name is Sofia.

ivy, gummie, gina and piglet

now trying to relax abit and dun do too much. when weekend comes, always feel like going shopping thus not much time for hubby to do hsework :p guess we are all coping and trying to pass this phase.

ino,

last time hor, i enjoy going shopping to relieve stress but now feel so fat, cant fit into clothes i like thus going out makes me more sad..heng today my mum came over to help out abit. guess confiding in her makes me feel better.

my dodo,

can understand cos i been going to my mum's place these few afternoon. my dad isnt such a bb lover and he hate noise. feel paisay when my boy scream and always wanted to faster hush him up, thus making me more stress. u migrated there?

milo,
Can ask hubby to help clean up the house like sweep and mop floor once in a week. Can clean up in the morning and afternoon is shopping time.

^5 I'm at my mum's place now. I used to wear "M" and sometimes "L". Now I've got to buy "XL" just to fit the flabby tummy too. My old clothes, pants, skirts are all tight because of the tummy. Looking at mirror also makes me feel so sad. Now I hate to slouch too, the lots of folds at tummy make me feel so uncomfortable.

Hey Ladies, my sister gave me a good suggestion not to waste any bottoms when we slim down. So thought of sharing with you ladies. Buy the draw string pants/skirt or the wrap-around skirt. Like that slim down also can wear, wont waste $$$

hey milo,

did yr gynae mention when you can start exercising? my husband suggested i climb stairs to lose weight, but i haven't gone back for my checkup so not sure if it's ok for me to work out now?

Yes, when can start exercising? I can't tahan the flabby tummy + I'm would love to try the uZap. It's still lying in the cupboard. I'm in Week 6+ already.

milo,
yes, we migrated. we went to uni here, so it's not really a culture shock

the stress is more on the taking care of baby by myself almost 24 hr. hb working, so don't want to burden him.
today i put wendy to sleep on a rocker with vibration. seems to work. for the past 1 week she's been fussy during daytime. until i don't know what to do. with 3-wks old baby what can you do to entertain her?

milo

dun be sad, actually i feel the same way, feel so tied down with the bb. and i cannot even go out. Everyday do housework and takes care of her, hardly have anytime not to mention lacked of sleep. And bb keeps on crying.

how to debelop her sleep pattern? Gosh.

when can we start to use U zap huh.

Ivy , i am also interested.

HI Peng and Gummie,
Thanks for your advice... Think I will still keep to her as she still can take care of bb although her ways not the same as me.. Think I will start counting down as only 12 more days to the end of the confinement. My hubby worried that I won't be able to cope as both my mum and MIL are not able to help out for the time being. Hence, the "best" way is to ren her. haha!!

Great chatting with you gals, forum move so fast that I got problem catching up. hee!

milo,
it is ok to feel this way as we all are new mummies and trying to understand bb needs. initially i also very stressed and cannot settled him especially at night and i will either gt frustrated or keep crying. Well, Gd news is yr bb will settled into their pattern soon and u can hv a breather. Now my bb has his pattern and i sort of follow tat, if he is cranky then i will leave housework till weekend. Dun do everything yrself if u hv to , spread out yr daily chores. We cannot be like b4 can do everything in a day or as plan. tat is something we hv to remind ourselves and be relax. Meanwhile go out on wkend to hv a break , even to the supermarket also good.

bookworm,
my bb is 7 wk liao but his sleeping pattern not much different during the day. still wake up for 3hrly feed. only at night he sleeps 5-6hr straight then again is every 3hrs wake up for feed again. I think the most he is awake only 1-2hr and around early night like 7-8pm.

Hi Milo,

I guess we all have the same thoughts abt ourselves. My hubby lagi worse got to travel during my confinement. Sigh! Keep telling myself to be independent but guess sometime we get overwhelm by all things happening and the bb keeps crying. Do try to take things one at a time.

hey appletree,
glad to know you finally come to a decision

ya... 'ren' for another 12 days! for me, i have 6 days left ;)
for now... just learn to Close One Eye...kekeke..

twinkle starry

wow u very lucky, my bb always on alert mode. if she sleeps many hours in the afternoon, she tends to wake up very often at night. and cannot get back to sleep.

bookworm,
Dun need to envy me lah, yr time will come. i also wonder when can he sleep longer. finally last weekend onwards he suddendly change schedule and only sleep abit longer at night. I was envy KK too , her gal can really sleep so she is right 6-7wk things will be better and my Blues reduce of cuz.

ivy, count me in please,

Interested Mummies on the Swimming Wetsuits:

1) Ivy
2) Little Nana
3) Gummie
4) Twinkle-Starry
5) Ino
6) sook

nterested Mummies on the Swimming Wetsuits:

1) Ivy
2) Little Nana
3) Gummie
4) Twinkle-Starry
5) Ino
6) sook
7) Bookworm

hi milo,

i am glad that i am the only one.. me too oso feel sian to look at bb, esp when he cries.. that's why i tend to siam from the bb... think we r all showing signs of post-natal blues.. me trying to control hard, but very hard hor...

anyway, plan to go out this sat, though only my 3rd wk of my confinement.. if dun go out n take a breather, will die leh.. so maybe we shd try to do something to make ourselves happier..

gabby's mom n ivy, oic.. that white stuff in BM is fats.. hmm.. i thot my milk is spoilt..

Btw, help!!!! My BM is getting lower n lower... from 90ml drop to 30ml within a few days.. how ah??? i pump only, bb dun really want to latchon.. how to increase BM ah???

since we got 7 interested mummies, i have just sent them a email to see if we can get a discount. Will update you all when they replies.
For the time being, interested mummies, just continue to add your names in!

peng,

it is ok.. sometimes we just want to take a breather.. me went orchard road shopping for the whole day today! Enjoyed myself
Tomorrow gotta look after bb for the whole day liao.

ivy,

the trick is.. dun feel depressed when look at clothes haha..i have accepted the look of my flabby tummy liao.. so now looking for clothes that suit me at this stage :p

Wow.. i spent around $200 today leh.. bought 4 pieces of clothes for myself and i think i bought as many as 10 sets of clothes for bb!! i shop at john little, robinsons, OG, Metro and Tangs.. didn't even have time to shop at isetan and taka. Scared hubby scold me for shopping until so late heeee... by the way, i shop from 1030 am to 5 pm :p

milo,

Sometimes i just put down everything and go shopping. I can't possibly trap myself at home with bb EVERYDAY no matter how she smile at me or play with me. I get crazy myself. So i just pass the bb to my mil to take care for the whole day when i want to go out.

At times i worry whether she will mess up everything or not, although she take care of bb during confinement. U know lah, i play music for bb, play with her, etc etc.. all these i dun think my mil do with my bb. Old pple, they only know how to feed feed and feed and then put bb to sleep. There is no interaction at all. The most she can do is speak hokkien to her, and nothing else. I tell hubby next time we have to speak more mandarin and english to bb, else she only fluent in dialect.

kk,

its not only the tummy, the butt also cannot make it! haha...think really have to search hard for clothes! How old is your bb now? You totally stop bf liao huh? I think if i wan to go out so long, must bring the pump along and a ice pack to store...else sure will cannot make it...

Wow, this thread really moves veri fast...had trouble catching up

milo,
miao also same problem as u...sometimes when bb screams non-stop, I feel like crying coz do not know what is the problem w him...lucky my mil helps me else me also cant tahan looking after him day in and out. During evenings, I usually leave bb w hubby and take the opportunity to rest coz have to tend to bb for the nite. Btw, can ask ur hubby to help for the few hours??? I told him althu he works in the day, I also "worked" by looking after bb ma...so should share the workload else me go crazy

Halo...
Anyone on drugs to increase MS? is it useful? also do anyone know where I can buy educational toys/music for bb?

how often does ur bb wakes up at nite? mine usually wakes up 3 times and at times refuse to sleep until the next feed..dunno how to make him sleep longer coz really siong to keep on waking up at nite

HI Gummie and piglet

i've alreadi started exercising right after 1 month... gone climbing, doing sit-ups and leg raise..., tomolo thinking of going to specialist centre to sign up for a dance course, can't stand those extra flabs...

Hi ivy

Am thinking of getting the wetsuit too, but when can bb start to learn swimming? I read online - 3 months onwards... are you all going to enrol baby to a swimming class? and if we order, we will go for the infant suits rite?

Yup yup! i agree, i think we should organize an outing soon! Soon soon, okiez? Starting work in July alreadi...

yvonne,

me and hubby intend to bring BB to the pool when he is about 6mths old. But we dun intend to go for classes, will try to teach ourselves..hee...

You started exercising? Can meh?
I am natual delivery, but gynae told me to wait till i see him before starting. He say is to ensure that the womb have shrink back to its orginial size and position to prevent complications.

peng

mi oreadi went out in my 2nd week. tis sat celebrating my boi's full mth n pass few daes everydae oso go out. muz go out for fresh air. hee...

ivy, add mi in the list

1) Ivy
2) Little Nana
3) Gummie
4) Twinkle-Starry
5) Ino
6) sook
7) Bookworm
8) gina

btw we will b buying the 6-12mths, but if 4mths i wana bring bb for swim, he can wear oreadi??

Ivy,

Wow, u still feel badly engorged?? I dun feel engorged anymore and MS dropped liao. For e.g. this morning before i left home, i pumped out 30 ml. And i pumped again just now is another 30 ml.

My bb going 2 mths liao
Urs leh??

440816.jpg

hi Ivy

I add myself into the list:

1) Ivy
2) Little Nana
3) Gummie
4) Twinkle-Starry
5) Ino
6) sook
7) Bookworm
8) gina
9) Yvonne

issit... my gynae just asked mi at my 1st post natal appt if i have been exercising, then i said a bit, then she never said anithing... oh no... hahahah... aiyar, nvm, no choice liao...

gina,

if BB can fit, then of cos can wear!

kk,

my bb is 4 weeks old tomorrow! I hope to continue pumping for as long as i can keep up the supply. Now i am expressing every 3 hrs and managed enough for day time. Nites are using formula. So going out is actually quite 'ma fan'..

ivy,

Oh true.. when my bb in 4 weeks, me very ma fan to go out too.. need to pump because milk still flowing. Very upset over the engorgement because not comfortable at all.

But after confinement, my MS dropped liao.. so going out is not a problem already.

kk,

so do you think that cos after confinement no good food, so ms dropped? Maybe have to continue with the red date tea and fish?

peng,

do you know why your baby doesn't want to latch on?
yesterday i called the Breastfeeding Support Group hotline to seek advice on why my boy is less keen to suckle these days, and when he does, he seems frustrated and will pull away after suckling for a few mins... i was told it's a case of 'nipple confusion'. i have been bottle-feeding my boy instead of latching him on for 2 days, and apparently he doesn't want to suckle any more bcos drinking from the teat is so much easier for him...
anyway the counselor advised me to latch on more often if i wish to continue breastfeeding, bcos then my MS will catch up with his demand. if you want to increase MS may have to persist in getting yr baby to latch on more often?

hi yvonne,

is someone helping you to take care of your bb? there's no one to help me after confinement, so i think even if i start exercising can only do at home

ivy,

Ya, continue to eat nutritious food after confinement. So that means if u want to BF, slimming down is a problem haha! So it is either u or the bb sacrifice :p

My colleague so much milk cos she eat so much, she had confinement for the full 3 mths!! Now she still plump plump leh.

gummie,

I would say i am very lucky.. my bb never had nipple confusion despite feeding from bottle most of the time. Now when i still latch her on for fun, she still can take it

I am curious actually.. do u all use wide necked bottles. I find that she suck my nipple the same way she suck from wide necked bottles, thus no nipple confusion. Wonder whether i am right or wrong.

kk,

you r right. I am using Avent, which is pretty wide and bb have no problem. He have not been latching on for 1 week liao, but when i try to bf him, he is still ok!

Gummie,
yes, latching on will help to increase the supply but guess i will continue with expressing since i am gog back to work in 2 weeks....

kk,

are u referring to those peristaltic teats (i have a wide-necked bottle which uses this) which is supposedly v close in feel and texture to the nipple?
suddenly i realise what you say is true, ahahaha... mothers who choose to breastfeed will find it hard to slim down, cos we gotta eat n eat n drink to make sure our milk is good enough for the baby... everytime i breastfeed, my CL will bring me a big glass of milk, imagine on days when i bf 3-4 times a day, i'd have downed 4 glasses of milk... not forgettin my 3 meals n tea breaks!

ivy,

ya i think yr case is really difficult to continue with bf... i also dunno whether i can continue after i go back to work in a month's time. it will be v difficult to wake up in the middle of the night to bf (to maintain the MS) when we have to work the next morning

gummie,

then your CL not that bad lah..will bring milk to you...

For me, i am doing 3 hrly pump now. Will reduce to 3 times a day when i am back at work. See if can continue to last till bb is six mths. I reckon that lack of slp will help to lose weight even if we were to eat more while bf. haha...

Ivy,

U taking the 3rd mth of maternity leave at another time? Sianzz hor, got to go back work liao. Me got to attend meetings next week because my ML ends today. Will take 3rd mth when school reopens till 23 july.

Gummie,

What milk do u drink?? Heee.. now i no milk also because i dun eat much in the day. Me alone with bb. Sometimes really busy till i no time for breakfast. Today for e.g. i only took my waist tonic and chicken essence and nothing else. Just now coax bb to sleep, then when she is sleeping, i iron clothes and pack clothes. Later got to wash her clothes. Endless household chores to do!!

Yaya, me using pigeon wide necked bottles.. very good for my bb!

ivy,

ya.... she will bring milk to me every time but hor i cannot say 'No' or leave any milk behind leh, else she will 'scold' me all the way from my bedroom to the kitchen (i can still hear her voice). even when my husband come home late from work also 'kena' her scolding, say he nvr inform her not to cook his share. we are both v scared of her you know...

kk,

all in all, i only taking 6 weeks of ML cos of changes in office, the rest as leave....

actually, after hearing you and milo and twinkle abt the endless housework, i think its good to go back to work too! Then i can pass the bb to my mum, housework leave to weekend to share with hubby, bb clothes washed over at my mum house, dinner prepared over there too...hee...Very bad hor?

ivy,

Let me see heee.... bb will be left at mil (in fact i she bu de and very worried but have to learn to let go), housework perhaps i can still do a bit every nite.. throw into washing machine and then hang up haha.. because my bb now dun sleep before 1130 pm. So if she maintain that way, then i have lots of time to do housework at nite provided i am not very tired. Hubby will mop floor over weekend.

Hmmm yup, definitely less bb clothes and handkerchiefs to wash liao. So ligher load in this sense.

Dinner.. now not preparing.. so no change when i go back work haha!

ivy,

Let me see heee.... bb will be left at mil (in fact i she bu de and very worried but have to learn to let go), housework perhaps i can still do a bit every nite.. throw into washing machine and then hang up haha.. because my bb now dun sleep before 1130 pm. So if she maintain that way, then i have lots of time to do housework at nite provided i am not very tired. Hubby will mop floor over weekend.

Hmmm yup, definitely less bb clothes and handkerchiefs to wash liao. So ligher load in this sense.

Dinner.. now not preparing.. so no change when i go back work haha!

kk,

i drink Anlene's (or Enfamama's? can't rem) Milk formula for Breastfeeding Mums.
i think if u dun have time to eat, can take more fluids so u will have enough milk. i also dun see why must eat n eat like what i've been told to do...