(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hazel

but i still look bah bah

thk my double chin havent go off yet.

only difference is my feet and legs nomor swelling, so i can start shopping or shoes....hehe

now my baby is coming to 4 wks, ytd i brought my elder daughter to watch cars and do some shopping liao :p feel so gd...i enjoy the show, but not much time to shop. But even though alot of clothings cannot buy cos hoping to lose more weight.

when u deliver ur bb ar? mine on 15th may .. mine also going to 4 wks liao, tomolo going to do bb full month .. bring forward though.. hope won't be too messy ..

CP,

i believe situps do help. But situps are no-no for caesarian cases like me
So too bad, i have to stay with the loose tummy skin

Eve,

Extra kgs.. my weight stays staynant too.. not easy to shed of just that few extra kgs to go back to normal weight.. hope after some time when go back to work will slim down due to stress :p

kk,
ic! no choice, my keane crys like hell if the weather is hot in the afternoon and evening especially after the rain.
keane oso has blocked nose but he prefer to stay in air con room than having a fan. hahah

fate,
In my tummy, i slapped keane if he kicked me too hard but i nvb beat him when he was out. It's my hubby that did the beating! Sigh!

fate,
forget to tell u, bb can see one colour in 1st few mths, only 3 colours on 4th mth.
forget which colours the bb can see. My sis told me cos my niece just reach 5th mth.

aiyo...me can only manage 70-80ml per breast (and that's after 6 hrs)...if not, it cld be about 40-50ml every 4 hrs. sians. my bb is also increasing her feed, dunnoe whether it's enuff for her.

tink i gotta drink fish soup with papaya again. yucks!

hi kk,
my tummy is ultra flabbly. tink i will be going to california fitness the wk after next...otherwise will definitely be bah bah. can't stand my "shaky" tummy anymore....cannot fit into my spaghetti blouses as well. ;-(

hi ivy,
110ml per breast or one breast?

hi milo,
my mum was telling me how one of my auntie "train" her baby. she will feed the bb at 12 midnite, then leave the baby in her cot in another room. the bb can cry and cry and they ignore the bb until 6 am...soon, the bb can see the pattern and kuai kuai follow this routine. i dun tink i hv the heart to do that. the moment my gal cries loudly, i will attend to her (ya...i also wait till her cries get louder b4 attending to her)

hi eve,
yes yes! i have a bit of the needle poking feeling , esp after a feed.

hi ino

i also let my bb cry a little then attend to her.

i veri chiam. my gal dont want my hubby to carry her..kept crying...but once i carry her on my arm, she stop her cry...aiyo,bully me leh...sianz

wats ur bb's weight gain when u bring ur bb for the 1st mth jab? my gal only increase 1.2kg which i feel is little whereas the PD says average for newborn weight gain is 1kg. but my gal drink quite alot...

Hazel

My baby is one day younger than yours. She's born on 16 May

Ino

Oh, I thot i am the only onefeeling that. Still afraid i got someproblem n producing bad BM for my baby :p

ino,

110ml is total of both! haha...if only is per side, i will be so happy...But not so bad lah, every 3 hr got 100ml, he feed at 90-100ml per 2 hrs and nite use formula, so i think i can still catch up with his demand for now.

Twinkle,
yah, the dual pump is SO expensive, but since i am gog back to work when BB is only 5 weeks old, i will feel guilty if i dun try to pump for him. So no choice, buy loh...

pooh,

I guess it is just a matter of time before ur bb get used to ur hubby? Previously my bb also cry when daddy carry her, but now she love daddy to carry her. it is my turn to feel sad because she dun need all my attention liao
Heee...

Ino,

i also heard that method.. leave bb alone and dun care no matter how the bb cries. Soon the bb will get used to the timing pattern. Heee, we just no heart to do that :p That's why my girl spoilt at times :p

Wah, my hubby so bad.. laugh at my flabby tummy.. that day he made me laugh and i laugh and he saw my flabby tummy "bouncing" so he laughed and laughed and laughed and asked me to laugh again

Annie,

i think in the first 2 mths, the bb can only see black and white. So my hubby's colleague advised us to let bb see black and white patterns more often.

gummie,

For my confinement lady, I requested her to sweep and mop the floor everyday. The reason is simple, baby needs to be in a clean environment. Bedsheet has to be changed regularly as well. Ideally, CL should clean the toilet that we use as well. Keeping the house and the kitchen clean should not be out of good will, 'cos everytime when cooking is done, the floor should be mopped.

My sister had a CL who has her own initiative many years ago. She had her every meal planned and cooked on time. Helped her with washing, cooked hubby's meal, sweep the floor twice a day. Everytime I visit, I never see her stop working. Even help to serve the my sister's guest.

But sad to say, my CL is far below my expectation. Trys to act blur and do as little as possible. So after 1 week of enduring, I start to request for things to be done. I have made up my mind, if she's not going to perform in 1 week's time, I going to send her packing.

hey guys,
for those engaged CL, how much do u give her angbao ar ? tomolo she is leaving liao.. roughly how much shld give ar?

Eve,
ohh where do u delivered? TMC?

ino,
not im having rashes .. i mean my bb having heat rashes :p now slight okie liao as i used 'ku gua gan' + chinese tea leaves to bath him.

Eve,
u got induced b4 u give birth? in which ward? as when im at my ward tattime got a lady put to induce think ard 12am 16/05 as i heard she is overdue too .. den she was wheeled ard 7am plus to delivery suite for epidural i think..

hi hazel, tmr will b my last session wif mdm rokiah. i took 7 sessions wif her. Mmm duno whether got slim dwn anot leh. everydae my CL cook so many gd food n i alwiz eat alot so even my massage helps, all the food make mi fat again. hee...

Miss this forum so much!!

MIA cos home PC down so no access to net.. Now at sis home (after 1 month of confinement) to use her PC.

Please update my bio:
Given birth to Erfan on 7.5.06 by Natural Delivery. Baby weigh 2.97kg.

Will e-talk some more when back in office on 3.7.06!! Cya!!

today my first day to take care of bb !!! my CL left already .. aiyoooo really hor .. just now my bb cried .. i checked is he poo or pee .. but nothing leh den hungry?? but just drank 3oz finished maybe an hr ago.. so fast hungry liao ar .. den again gave him another 2oz .. he finished all .. but still din zzz ... check .. no poo leh .. aiyooo headache ar .. jus pat him abit .. now zz liao finally !!
hai... normally if he cried .. so good can just throw to CL to take care .. now my turn .. hope can manage

hazel

I was at TMC, was 2 days overdue, but did not induced. And was wheeled to the delivery room at abt 6+am to ask for epidural. My ward is 302. Maybe I am the one? hehe....

Sometimes we dont know what is wrong w baby when they r crying, maybe he just want u to rock him to sleep? Or is it too hot or too cold?

ino,

initially i wanted to use to 'leave bb to cry' method as i was really badly deprive of slp but read a quote on the net saying that bb eventually stop crying is not becos they learn that its not correct but more like they abandon the hope that someone will care and provide. after hearing this, i lagi bu she de to do that.

today went shoping..sigh..another demoralise trip. some cant fit, those can fit makes me look like one big barrel so pek chek, dun buy liao

wow...mummies here..seemed very active. I gave birth end-May and I am still struggling with Confinement and Breast feeding. I don't even have enough milk to pump out...and it can be so demoralising with I can only get about 30ml when I do pump out... My baby is 2 weeks old and I am feeding her so often, some of them are 1hr intervals. So stressed and so tired. I tried to "tahan" but is under a lot of pressure esp from the confinement lady who insists that my baby is very hungry so I cheated a few times and fed her formula. How did you gals manage?

hi kk

hehehehe, ur description of ur hubby and tummy v. funni!

hi pooh

no worries, my bb's weight gain in 1st month was onli 0.94 kg. but thr pd assured mi that its okie... average weight gain... as long as she is drinking right, and remain alert when active, and sleep sufficiently, everythung's fine!

hi ivy

i got medala dual pump, but i dun use them together, as the suction when i connect both to the motor is 50% weaker... hehehehe, so wat i do is pump one side, and hand express the other!

milo,

Haha,i accepted the fact that i look like barrel now, so once again, enjoy shopping!! Last fridy went shopping and spent around $300 on my clothes and bb's clothes!

Hazel,

Dun worry.. u will get the hang of it soon.. somehow it is the mum's instinct to know how to take care of the bb
I also panic for once when mil not around to take care of bb.. but 2-3 days later get the hang of it liao :p

kk,
4 colour, i oni heard fr my sis cos my niece is now at 5 mths+. 4 keane is already at 6wks can oni c red colour.

Wonder anyone experience this? Keane can drink up 200ml of formula milk within 2hrs. He oso get hungry faster n earlier then usual. (less than 3hrs).
Jialat, i have used up 3 tins of Similac. Anyone has any gd recommend where to buy cheap formula milk?
I only manage to find this website selling $1 cheaper.However, i heard places like cck and jurong place sell cheaper, anyone knows abt it, mind to share?

http://dignus.sg/milk-powder-similac-c-17_146.html

Hi Annie,

Juz being KPO, there is a Medical Hall Shop at CCK central. Opposite 24hr Clinic, beside kopishop..they sell milk powder..few dollar cheaper then NTUC..: )

hi kk,
at least your hubby can still make u laff. my hubby simply pinch my flabby tummy, making me so angry with him.

hi milo,
i also went shopping...bought a few clothes for myself...later i'm gonna pack my cupboard and retire my maternity wear to make way for new clothes. hiak hiak hiak.

hi ivy,
not bad wor, every 3 hrs can pump out 110ml. i tink my MS decreasing. my bb getting more and more demanding...tink might have to supplement with FM. ;-(

ino,

u all very good liao, can BF so long. My BM a lot in 1st mth. Maybe got eat more nutritious food during confinement. After confinement, MS dropped liao. Now each day only pump out around 50 ml for bb to drink. I tell myself at least better than nothing heee... but then, today dun feel engorged at all! Dunno tonite express got milk or not
Maybe MS down to 0 liao

Hey me too.. waiting for bb wardrobe to be installed then i will transfer my maternity wear there. Creating more space for new clothes :p

hi Liau,
yes i've heard good things about some confinement ladies, hope your CL will 'buck up' after you tell her what is expected to be done. i was told although housework is not considered part of their responsibility, most CLs will help out esp if the household doesn't have a maid.

anyway, i had the intention to change my CL, but struggled over it and decided to live with her for another one week or so... so i called my new CL and told her not to come

so far i never really 'dared' to tell my CL wat to do, things that we think she did not do properly i will ask my husband to do.

best is for confinement period to end, then we dun have to 'rely' on other pple and put up with them...

will the baby derive more milk by latching on compared to us pumping the milk out? i mean, which 'form of suction' is more effective, or are they both the same?

i'm kind of tired of letting my boy latch on, cos he usually takes a longer time and very often falls asleep without drinking enough (i think) and i think that sort of messed up his feeding times. as a result, he wakes up asking for more milk in an hour or so... that's y lately i have tried to pump and bottle-feed instead n he sleeps for longer. but my CL keep sayin i shd breastfeed directly cos it's better...

gummie,

I heard that latching on is always better because the demand and supply cycle will really build up over time. Especially when the bb is having a growth spurt. If we just express, the amount will always remain stagnant, so even drop because there is never an increase in demand so the supply can never be boosted.

i do more expressing than latching on in the 1st mth, now MS drop liao. I feel that going to drop to 0 soon.

kk,
i think your SS and DD reasoning makes sense... so u think yr MS is dropping becos u haven't latched on often enough?

in that case, i'll not not to be lazy and breast feed him directly more often. after CL leaves i have to take over night shift as well... scary...

hi hazel,
i'm bringing my bb for the 5 in 1 jab. I asked the nurses about the 6 in 1 jab (the 6th jab being the hep B jab) and it has to be taken on wk 6. Nurse said that there's a higher risk of fever with this 6 in 1 jab and it's not easy to look after such a young bb with fever. As such, my bb took her hep b jab at 1 month (nurse say that this individual jab will not bring about fever, unlike the 6 in 1 jab) and i will be bringing her for the 5-in-1 jab at 3 mths. true that there's savings for the 6 in 1 jab but i do not have to risk my gal having fever.

hi kk,
my gal now want to latch on every 2 hrs. i feel my breasts ...and it's like nua nua...machiam no milk lei...very demoralising. everytime my gal looks at me with those hungry eyes, i will tell her (sadly) that mama got no milk. ;-P

ino,

Hey, my colleague told me a different story. She say 6-in-1 include polio in the jab. But 5-in-1, the polio is taken orally. And she went to polyclinic for all the jabs. She say there is a difference in price of $90 (6-in-1 more expensive). So she rather choose 5-in-1 and take the polio orally. The nurse there do the feeding for her.

wahh ur girl so good.. my girl will scream if i dun feed her enough through BOTTLE feeding haha.. so i normally make extra which she can't finish. At least she won't cry halfway and then introduce wind into her tummy.

ino,
ya your gal is so 'civilised'... whenever i carry my boy and he gets hungry, he will turn his head left n right frantically to search for the nipple... and on some 'low milk supply' days.. he happily latched on, start suckling away and when he realises there's no milk flowing out... he will show a big frown on his face and go 'wahahahahaha' and cry at the top of his voice

hey can i check do u guys experienced ur bb one of eyelash go into their eyeball like we adult ar??
den how to take out?

hi hazel, just cotton balls and gently wipe out.Not to worry

Long time no c. Ha. Trying to struggle with bb and BF when my CL left, So xiong.

Went to see PD when my bb is 1 month old, took first jab, and told the PD abt the crying thingy and bb gace an explosive fart and a lot of shit. So pD said confirm colic cos so loud. Gave me ridwind,so bb has been better.

bookworm,
i afraid later the cotton ball go into the eyes instead of wiping the lash out leh..

twinkle,
i also thought so leh ... so i will try let him cry a bit longer than attend to him .. a bit chang ren hor .. but still there leh the eyelash!!! hmmmmmmmmmmmm

bookworm,

PD confirmed colic cos the fart is loud or the crying is loud?

i went to the PD, she claim he is ok not colic but she gave me the ridwind medicine bcos i told her he has lot of wind in there.

hazel,

i let him cry especially feedtime when he can really cry the house down lor. i took my own sweet time to prepare FM and cleaning my breast preparing to feed him. Then next minute i saw the lashes not there liao.

gummie,

I read a magazine and colic is often used to describe a situation in which the bb cry non stop no matter what we do. If a bb cry and stop after we apply ru yi oil, then that one is not colic, it is just normal wind which most babies would experience.

Farting is a way babies remove wind, so it is normal.. yes.. my girl fart very loud at times too :p

i dunno, she says bb is colicky , and also a lot of wind in stomach. SO prescribe the ridwind thingy. Ru yi doesn;t seem to work, perhaps i dunno how to use. I did rub on my hands and place them on bb tummy, but she still cries leh.

By the way, can i get some advice? My bb is more than 1 month old, is it still worth it to buy the muscial mobile and hang on the cot. Wanted to buy some toys any suggestion what is suitable for their age now?

bookworm,

does ur bb sleep in the cot?? When i place bb in playpen, she does look at the musical mobile and she tries to catch them at times. BUT she dun sleep in her playpen at nite and always can;t stay there for long, so i personally think the mobile gone to waste.

My bb loves the gym mat!! Perhaps u can consider
She lie on it, look at the toys, and there was once when she orientates herself until her head one side and cannot see that particular centre toy and she cried for help haha!

bookworm,

i notice my bb dun look at musical mobile but he does like the music. that is the music we put him to bed daily. i m even thinking of taking out the mobiles and leave the music box .

Currently, i hv a rattle and a mini gym. Mini gym has alot of hanging stuff i think shld occupied him for awhile.

hazel,

i find it no difference actually, whether i pump 2-2.5hr 03 3-4hr.. the milk flow is still 60-90ml,juz that i get to keep more milk since i pump more often. but these days pimple too sore from the frequent pumping, so now reduce back again to 3-4hr pump to take a break..

bookworm, how do u c ur bb got colic?? i realize my bb sleeps most of the time except for 11-2am, he tends to be cranky n cries for all sorts of reasons.. so is it colic??

thanks kk and twinkle starry,
think i will not waste money on the musical mobile, thinking of buying one for bb. Think will invest on gym mat or mini gym, is it the same? by the way, what are they? hanging toys ah?

peng, my bb cried a lot very loudly, no reason, for hours, from 6pm till midnight. Or when i bf her, she will suddenly stop suckling and seem to get choke then cried very loud for no reason, then i try to burp her. SHe is a can suckle very feriously and the PD says, thats how the wind goes in.