(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

twinkle,

Need to check with u something...

My colleague has been BF and expressing for three mths and she told me her lochia flow cleared within 1 week! So i think it is not the problem of BF and expressing that our lochia flow still there.

She said her chinese physician get her to drink something called hong hua cha which is a kind of tea. Any idea??

kk,

i heard abt the Chinese medicine that encourage flow and the flow will be very heavy but it end earlier. My gynae dun allow me to take this leh even before i ask him he already warned me liao.
Today my lochia finally ends.

i guess it also depends on individual. heard that ple w heavy and longer menses will hv longer lochia flow too.

twinkle,

end liao ah? siao liao, mine got red discharge again yesterday.. dunno why.. i go toilet then it flows.. else it won't flow.

Hmmm, my menses normally heavy on first 2 days and last for 7 days. And it can cause menstrual cramps until i feel like going to faint :p

Why ur gynae not approve of such medicine?

kk,

so sad finally i found someone who has the same symptons like me. My menses also last 7-8days and everytime i will be in pain unless i take painkiller before the pain starts, if not cannot make it. i had fainted many times and sent to hospital
Alot of time also pain until doze off.

My gyane say no gd leh , according to him got to do w something internal no gd and encourage flow is no gd also.

Ivy, u remember what he say huh? something similar to massage i remember.

twinkle,

Because i very scared leh.. my colleague say if we never clear all the blood inside, wait next time kena cancer
Sounds so frightening

Wah sai, ur menses experience more serious than me heeee... i learnt a trick so not so bad after that.. i always try to take one chicken essence at the start of menses... then no menstrual cramp.

My colleague only mentioned it is a kind of tea... dunno whether it is pure tea or with medicine? She say she took twice then lochia flow cleared liao.

twinkle,

he say dun try to encourage flow. every single drop of blood is precious. The body will auto push out unwanted blood...so no need take medicine or try to message out any "dirty" blood.

ivy,

Every single drop of blood is precious??

Ohhh i see.. maybe he meant if we deliberately remove the blood, we may remove even those healthy blood?

Then i feel more relieved.. but then.. i am having lochia flow for 5 weeks liao

Hi bookworm,

Any solution? Very tiring for all of us coz he screams almost the whole nite, pat him, walk him, cuddle him also no use... my mil is sick and I'm taking care of him @ nite..really tiring..

My MS is also dropping drastically until like dun have liao...me still trying to pump at least 3 times per day but the output really low...about 30-40 ml per time...not enuff to feed him much..about to give up EBF lor. eee will I become engorged again if me no pump???

Hi kk
me din know lochia flow will take so long...me still having it too...initally stopped but then funny, started back again

Joyce,

Ur lochia flow how long liao??

I already know lochia flow will take some time.. just hope it is over soon!

Yah lor, mine like tat also.. thought tapering liao with very very light brownish discharge.. but now turns red again

I heard my mil say bb sleep at 11 pm last nite and only woke up at 5 am this morning to drink milk. If this continues, then we are not tired at nite when the bb is handed over to us tonite heee..

My engorgement also getting less and less.. if engorged, dun pump also can leh.. not painful like before liao...

kk,
oh ya...MS = milk supply

Mummies..some questions:

1)Anyone feeding baby with EBM mostly? Really admire those mummies who do TBF!

2)need to give my mum & mil an ang pao each on baby full moon day? If yes, how much?

fates,

I gave my mil $800 for the whole confinement period. Do u mean different kind of ang pow specially given on full mth?

kk, i intend to give my mum $800-$1K. Can put all this $ into a AngPao? or is there another small value for angpao?

fates,

i also heard abt it, i exclude marketing $. dun know shld i give a lucky red packet separate from the confinement $ ?

twinkle, ya leh...it's what my mum told me. She said to bao something for my MIL who's been helping me with confinement. I just don't know how much to bao :p

twinkle,

Dunno wor.. i put all into ang pow heeee.. i think should be ok lor :p

Fates,

Dunno leh.. i never give any smaller ang pow to my mum and mil.

fate,

My opinion if u wan to give ang pow for luck, give a auspicious value , dun need too big lah just in case some old folks prefer heng heg mah.

I think i will give lucky ang pow , i dun wan to problems later

wow ladies, me oredi in my 1 mth 8 days but whenever I breastfeed, still hv light discharge leh, if I din breastfeed, there'll be no flow so I tot the flow & breastfeed is related, & I realise whever I wee, my breast will feel full, anyone hv such experience? Dunno how long can I be free from panty liners.
Btw, anyone on contraceptive pills? If yes can recommend (tho me & HB still dare nt start our "activity")
428545.gif

when ur lochia ends?i m in my third week but still having discharge.dunno normal or not.
My MS oso very miserable.It seems getting lesser and lesser each day.I can oni pump 30ml per pump....n i oni pump twice a day...cos i dun feel engorged at all even if engorged dun pump oso can coz not painful at all.Haiz...what shd i do?MIL did cook pig liver for me...not sure if this will decrease milk supply...

Hi ydnic,
my lochia ended within abt 5 days but light discharge hvn't ended. Re: milk ss - maybe u can try letting BB suck directly frm breast than express cos I realise the more BB suckles, the more the ss get, dun think the liver cause a decrease in my milk ss, juz worry the side effect on the unheal wound, like pus etc.......... :D

Yo Ivy, it's a challenge to pump while bf leh cos BB likes to suck and let go as and when, dat's Y gotta make sure when he let go of nipple, milk dun spray all over his face, to prevent milk rashes again

Thanks Juzmaine, but for how long shd we latch them on? I dun latch my bb on coz initially i got heat rashes around my breast...so to me yucks....hehe...n somemore i bathe once in two to three days...wah lau...reali cant imagine bb sucking it,....

Hi ydnic, me normally let BB latch on for 15 mins (lazy mom), but these few days feel my right breast hv more ss, so every feed I on TV so as to let time pass by w/o me counting down to stop so roughly BB can suck for half an hr or so. I din shower during 1st 11 days too but I used herbal water to clean myself. U might want to clean breast areas if other parts are not allowed, then after every feed clean again to prevent rashes. I read frm an article that do not clean the nipple before we feed cos there's protein for BB, but I clean after feed.

hi ani difference letting bb latch-on n pump out?? mi alwiz pump coz feel tat latch-on veri painful.

usually hw much ur bb drks? mine is 1 week old n drking abt 80ml averagely for 3hrs. is it alot??

do u ladies experience rashes after birth? mi got reali bad rashes over my hands n legs. reali scary. duno when it will go off...

gina,

My BB drinks more EBM compared to latch on. When latch on, she tends to suckle, then spit, suckle then spit, end up alot of my BM wasted.

Hmmm, when latch on, i dunno how much she consumed cos there is no way to measure heee..

1 week old... 80 ml seems ok.. mine was also drinking that amt when one week old.. sometimes as much as 90 ml.. but after that, she happy happy will take in 60 ml only at 2 hrs interval. Happy happy she will take in another amount. So quite unpredictable at times. Now she is taking in 120 ml at week 5. But it is not always 120 ml too. Sometimes 90 ml at 2 hrs interval. So we have to adapt to how much they drink and be flexible

ydnic,

Me having light discharge too. Sigh! Thought it ended 2 days ago but it came back again

Juzmaine,

Me past week 5 liao.. still having light discharge.. waiting for it to go off too....

Hi gina & kk, my BB drinks 100-120ml at 2-3hrs interval. sometimes an hr after the last feed he'll wail for milk oredi if he spilted milk so the 1 hr craving I'll BF, so now I BF abt 2-3 times, the rest FM. I went shopping yest & my breast started to engorge so when I came hm, get BB to help by feeding him, plus I miss him after 3 hrs of shopping ;p
KK, my discharge oso on and off, esp after BF, maybe whe I stop BF it'll stop? How abt u?

Juzmaine,

I dunno lochia flow related to BF or Express or not..

I even correlate to drinking chicken essence, wine, etc etc.

But some pple BF for 2 yrs leh.. the lochia flow can't be continuous for 2 yrs rite?? Heee.. my colleague BF for 3 mths already and she said hers totally cleared after 1 week. But then she got take some kind of chinese tea to purge the dirty blood out.

Hi KK

i hope to BF for as long as i can... sigh... but luking at this rate... am afraid cannot make it... Am thinking of trying fenugreek...

Anyone here thinking of trying out that herb?

Re: Lochia

Am in my fourth week of lochia... hope it ends soon... hehehe, and you noe wat, i am using tampon, as i cannot stand wearing pads!

for mummies who feel they hv ms prob, can try to express after feed. it'll help to increase ms. If u hv prob in bf can call BMSG for help. tel: 63393558 the volunteers r experience bf mothers. They understand wat we went through.

juzmaine,

you are really tempting me...i also want to go shopping! GSS is on already! But still cannot fit into those nice clothes...sian.

Ivy, me too feel sad.. I went to Bugis Junction yesterday and saw many nice clothings.. Can only see see and drool..

Also kept on looking at those slim sexy women..

want some comments on this coz i may be distributing cakes with ang ku kuehs and red eggs now...(yes, we've changed our minds again), what sort of ang ku kuehs shld we be giving? Should we be giving ang nee (pointed) or ang ku kueh (flat) if mine is a gal? My MIL says it's ang nee but when i ask the cake shop, they say for gal, it's ang ku kueh...who's correct?

Yvonne,

i wanted to try fenugreek maybe 2weeks later. I heard that MS is not establish before week 6-7 so i m hoping to see improvement or else i will try this herb.

Ino,
I think ang nee is for boys bcos my mum give u cakes w ang nee to my relatives.

Ivy,
i m using avent bottle and teat. me still using no. 1 bcos Kevan still spill milk out when he drink. at times he can even wet his clothes. BTW the free avent bottle which Mrs Wong gave to us during class belong to teat no. 1?? i hv not use it yet bcos i dun know what teat size is that.

anyone needs to buy bra again? I need leh all my pre-pregnancy, pregnancy n even nursing bra are tight. i left only 2 nursing bras to wear and got to wash everyday. Dun know shld i buy normal bras or maternity bra. I am afraid normal bras may not fit me

if i wean off BF, will my breast shrink alot?

Yvonne/twinkle,

I'm thinking of trying fernugreek too. My supply is pathetic
Hope this supplement can really help to increase the milk flow.

Do u all still swaddle your babies? When do we stop swaddling them?

kk, juz
mi too leh .. my left is always lesser than my right .. my CL say hor we need to sleep more to increase MS, so she also ask mi to take nap in the afternoon which i didn't lor as my MS also drop liao these days .. max can pump only 130ml.

Hi twinkle

Reali, ms not established till Week 6-7? Ooo, i pary for the better... I'll wait another 2 weeks too...

Sponge

I no longer swaddle my bb since she is 1 to 2 weeks old, as she is always stuggling to free herself! She wants freedom! heheheheheh

Ivy/Hamasaki,

Sigh talking abt clothes.. went shopping and saw some good ones.. tried and had to reject them because can see tummy protruding out so clearly!!! Ugly lah

Now when want to try clothes, got to get L size and above liao. No joke

hazel,

It is true.. rest is important to boost MS. Normally we can pump out more after naps, dun u notice? And the highest supply for me always come from the first pump in the early morning

Max 130 ml very high liao!! My max only 110 ml and that is around 4-5 occasions only.

Twinkle,

Now my MS dropping and i notice my left breast back to normal liao. I also feel that my right is normal too, only enlarged when it is engorged. Cup size seems ok for me, but i think i grow fatter in that area so now wearing at least a 38 instead of 34. Dun think will get new bras for the time being. Will tryyyy to squeezzzeee in whatever i have now haha!

Ino,

Haha, know wat.. my mum in the end wanted us to get ang nee for full mth celebration, so we had that for the buffet. Reason being mine is a girl, ang nee would symbolise having a boy for #2. if we use ang ku, #2 will still be a girl. That's what she gathered from her friends. So i think different pple have different beliefs and practices.

Any bb here very much on pacifier?? My girl dunno why... today keep wanting pacifier.. if dun give her, she cry and cry.. we know she is not crying for milk.. i carry her rock rock, she sleep but for a while only.. then she open her mouth big big already wanting pacifier

hi kk,

its quite depressing that those nice clothings that we want couldnt fix into our body frame anymore.. and somemore we have to buy larger size.. (sobs)...
and those old clothings that we had, dunno when can we fix into it esp: the pants..

quite busy these days .. oso tiring..

Would like to check with whether anyone experience sore nipples n breast everyday? will feel better if i squeeze out e milk, however, i can only squeeze abt 100ml max a day..

maybe due to engoragement, i cant use the machine to pump out anymore, has to use hand to squeeze out.. try cabbage, warm water oso no imporvement..

How to increase and enable to pump out easier? take hours for me to use hand squeeze..sigh!

my mil keeps nagging that breast milk is a must for baby..

by the way, if i want to stop breast milk? How? i have few small lumps inside my breast, which i presume due to engoragement.. how to ease?

Hi KK,
My BB oso starts to rely on pacifier to sleep & he wants us to carry too, I wonder is it bcos of the warm weather BB prefer not to lie down & needs pacifier to make them sleep.
Re: shopping, I went Far EAst to shop, still buy clothes tho gotta buy L size for bottom cos too hard to resist loh & for top, I still buy S cos I want to motivate myself that I can wear it soon..hahaha

Hi ino,
Ang nyee (pointed) is for BB boys & ang kus (round-flat) for BB gals, am told by aunties & the cake shop supplier.

Hi kk,
me initially tot ang kus are for both gender till this BB then I know there's ang nyee..hehehe
We gave ang kus when my gals was full-mth but got a didi leh, yeah, maybe diff beliefs loh.