(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Hi KK,

I plan to hv full mth celebration on 21st May but not confirmed. the actual full mth ends on a weekday but guess got to do it earlier. This kind of thing can do later?

Milo, really huh, oh no i hv not book leh. I wonder do they hv the voucher cards as well as i m thinking some may give voucher cards.

Ino,
ya the way they shove the bb to latch is rough but i guess better lor, these days my boy dun wan latch on and i not forceful enough to force into his mouth. everytime the nipple go in and he shut his mouth liao.

Congrat to Taurus! Long labour ya but it is over liao. Well done and rest well.

Race,

Can defer reservist if this is your 1st child. My hubby reservist also deferred. Just get your gynae to write a letter but must do it quick quick cos they only accept original letters, ie by mail, then must go through the superior to approve.

Ivy, your doctor said your baby wasn't growing inside? So what's the weight of your baby at the last check? My EDD is 22 May, close to yours.

Been cleaning my house like mad over the weekend, including all the crevices and cracks. I think I overworked cos on Monday morning I felt crampy and started to feel quite strong contractions. Thought this was it, so quickly rushed to do all the laundry and clean up the kitchen. Thank God the contractions subsided by afternoon. My hubby was quite upset with me for working so hard. But bo pian... feel as if the house has to be in tip top condition before baby comes. I have a feeling that baby will come early though he still has some growing to do first. He was 6 pounds (2.7kg) at last checkup at 37wks+4. Told him that he can only come out when he reaches 7 pounds.

Anyway, managed to find 2 candidates for confinement nanny. Thank God for prayer answered.

Have a question for those who have been drinking red dates longan tea. How do you make those? Just boil red dates and longan? And for how long? My mum told me must add ginger, but is that the norm?

hi hazel and all,

last friday's check up indicated only slight drop in amniotic fluid level so i chose to wait. on this monday, gynae mentioned it dropped again and i decided to go for induced labour. dun want to risk anything happening to baby and it is only 1 week before my edd.

i will be admitted tomorrow morning. will try to come in and share my birth story as soon as i can.

Anastasia,

All the best and see ya back here with ur bb's photos!!

Twinkle,

i am not sure about full mth.. but normally for adults' birthdays, we also tend to celebrate earlier than to celebrate later rite? Heee..

My girl turning 1 mth old on 21st may. My mum say for bb girls, have to celebrate early instead of actual day (although 21st may is a good day - sunday - can hold buffet). So we are having the celebration on 20 may sat

Ya, i do agree. Somehow must be forceful on them when latch on. Especially when they are crying for food. They keep crying and crying, they can't be bothered to see what's going on around them liao, they dunno where the nipple is. So we have to really force and guide them to where the nipple is

Ino,

Haha, my hubby enjoyed his meals sooo much!! It is like hotel stay to him haha.. just that the bed is hard, not that comfy if stay any longer :p Still prefer my good old King sized bed at home heee...

Wow, their soups are superb leh!! Very sweet and good taste!

Wow, Ino....fantastic birth story you have there.... i am really scared of labour...actually, really trying to psyche myself up for it...so, it's better with epidural huh??? what about this shivering?? Actually, sounds like your labour was quite smooth, hor? all in all only about 6 - 9 hours....

wow...breastfeeding is really a challenge hor...i really hope i will be up for it.

have been drinking raspberry tea and being intimate with hubby but i dunno what to make out of baby's movements leh...dun feel like he's engaged *no lightening or apparent-no-movement* so not sure. hmmm....

Good morning everyone!

Ladies who had popped,

Does your baby sleeps very soundly after milk? Our gal's been crying for feed almost every 1-2 hours and she's not been sleeping very well too.

kk,

We'll also be celebrating our baby's first month on the 20th May (Sat) too. Heard it's supposed to be 4 weeks after birth. Anyway, if this is true, it actually falls on that Sat. And there're plenty of stuffs to prepare too.

Milo,

Which PD in Mt A is your boy seeing now?

sponge,

Hey, can elaborate in what way ur bb dun sleep well? My bb very naughty, keep making funny sound when she sleep. And she will stretch and stretch herself. That happens when she is not in deep sleep. I wonder whether weather is too hot, that's why. Even i myself can't sleep well in the afternoon.. heee..

Hmmm, u gave birth on the 20 april? So it is not wrong to celebrate on 20 may then

What stuff to prepare for full mth celebration?

hi mummies, finally i hv some time to login. Can someone give me some advice on breastfeeding? So far i can only express 50-60ml of BM, and I have to supplement with FM. I give one feed FM, next feed BM+FM, then next feed FM again...etc... not sure is it ok? If latch on, my boy doesn't sleep well, n either will not sleep or will wake up less than 2hrs n cry again
How ah? feel like totally give up breastfeeding n just give Fm

Fates, your boy sure know how to choose date to come out
Very clever leh. Otherwise Dr Heng would be away on leave after that day. Congratulations! If I've known earlier I would hv gone to visit u, coz I was still at ESH after u delivered your baby. Hope u r feeling better n not depressed. Take care.

amie,

Guess it is normal. Ur boy dun sleep well, probably because not full enough. Can give more FM together with BM?

My girl very naughty.. especially at nite, she will purposely cry several times just to drink milk. When she happy, then she sleep.

Ur boy sleep last than 2 hrs.. also possible.. because BM is not filling..

Dun worry.. continue with ur BF, can always supplement with FM mah rite?
There are always benefits in feeding both types

CP
You have nesting instinct with the cleaning up! Hee hee...me too!

Gummie
Where are you? Pop already??

Amie
Congrats! How's Lil' Thomas coping with the new addition to family?

yo SS1,
hehe i've been MIA for some time, realised there's quite a lot here to catch up with... my husband was around these couple of days, and he was working online the whole time i had no chance to log in, that's why.

i only wished i had 'popped' like the rerst here, but v disappointed to be told yest that my baby still refuse to engage... hai, my gynae say i can only be patient and wait

i feel so bored and tired of waiting oredi... now in 39th week, not a period that i can really 'enjoy' being so heavy and to some extent 'housebound'... also like yourself n CP, i've been cleaning my place over n over again :p there seems to be endless housework to be done when one is at home huh, kekeke...

Sponge,

my boy dun sleep well at night . I discover he is still hungry after a feed. like last nite he drink FM at 1am and normally he will be sound asleep but he keep his eyes so wide and, stretch etc.. then i realise he poo liao and after poo hungry again . So i made 20ml FM for him to drink after using finger testing method. He then fallen asleep liao.

at times in afternoon , the weather is so terrible that bb dun hv deep sleep even though he is sleeping. most impt test whether is she hungry that could be the main reason. If she pee and poo alot , of cuz hungry faster also.

Amie,
dun give up BF, u r doing well. i also like you i give FM , then next feed total BM or BM then FM. i hv lower supply than you , this morning so disappointed i only managed to pump 30ml. Dun stress yrself too much, little BM is better than nothing . Supplement is nothing wrong also mah.

kk & twinkle,

Think it's the weather too. We tried to avoid letting her in sleep in air-con room but the weather is just too terrible. She's been getting hungry easily. Guess she did pee & poo2 a lot. She also likes to stretch a lot when she sleeps. She also made some noises when she sleeps too. BTW, have you ladies started giving baby colic drops or gripe water?

kk,

I gave birth to Ariel on the 22nd Apr (Sat). Since 20th May's Sat too, thought it will be much easier if we celebrate on that day. We are consolidating the # of cakes and 1st month cards we need to order. And I think we also need to bring her to PD for her 2nd HepB jab too.

Sponge,
must give gripe water meh? i thought only when bb hv wind.

i also end up let bb sleep w aircon at nite, but i only set to an hour and the rest use fan. Daytime is fan only

twinkle,

My CL suggests giving gripe water and we've been giving her for past 3 days. Very little each time. Actually we are not agreeable in giving Ariel the gripe water ourselves.

BTW ladies, are you opting for 5-in-1 or 6-in-1 jabs for your babies?

hi amie,
currently i'm also not sure of my milk supply tho when i squeeze, i see some yellowish milkish liquid. i let my daughter suck for 40 mins. she will be satisfied for an hour , then cry again...then i supplement her with FM. anyway, just ordered a pump. so i will noe how much milk i store...hee hee...

hi kk,
dunnoe whether u shared b4. do you bath during confinement? my mum boils those lemongrass/herbal water for me to bathe and i simply hate it...coz it has a sticky feeling :-( can't really tahan coz i feel "dirty" when i get close to my gal.

my gal also has jaundice...worried now coz my house dun have sun today! am contemplating whether to bring her to the hospital to let them shine UV rays on her. does yr bb hv any rashes? mine is all over her body. i suspect she's too hot but hor, she loves to be wrapped up. if we unbundle her, she will cry and cry. dunnoe what to do...sigh...

yo chris! everyone is scared of labour. in fact, i used to tell my hubby every nite before sleep that i'm really terrified of giving birth. but when it's time, u just want to get it over and done with. hiak hiak

your gynae said your bb not engaged yet ah? dun need to worry much as long as your bb is head down coz my gynae told me that it's not nec for the bb to be engaged to give birth.

yeah...with epidural it's much betta but it all boils down to the pain threshold of individuals. my threshold is quite low...coz i couldn't tahan the contractions liao. i can't imagine the gynae stitching the episiotomy wound w/o epidural. it last about 2-3 mins lei! as the shivering, i had it real bad. they piled 2 blankets on me but i was still shivering non-stop. hence, i can't really sleep or rest well. i keep asking myself: how can i pull thru' all these? but somehow, we still find the strength for the sake of our lil one.

hv u started your ML?

calling for grace(fairysnowberry)! rem to soak yourself in a sitz bath (with salt) for the wound to heal faster. besides painkiller, my gynae also gave me antiseptic lotion. To make yourself more comfortable, can get those inflatable float to sit on (like those swimming float). it's more comfortable when u sleep! hee hee

starry,

ya lor. shock to hear that need to order so early in advance. dun think they have voucher cards and they are not halal certified also. if have to order for muslim friends, need to put into considersation

sponge,

currently i am seeing dr terence tan from mt a. find that he ia a very nice dr even though his queue is super long. for ariel 2nd dose of hep b jab, need to pay? its not one of the 5 in 1 type right?

ino,

i am using those packet herbs to bath. like wat kk mentioned, it smell like 'liang cha' and not bad, dun have the sticky feeling after that. can try though.

all,

how many ml of milk is ur bb drinking now? i always make 70ml of bm + fm but he only managed to finish abt 60ml then dun wan liao no matter how i try.

hey ivy,
u still working now? hvn't gone on ML yet?

hehe, i have to give way to husband leh... better he work from home and keep me company then work late in the office?

gummie,

yes, i am still working, haha...If i stay at home, i will keep asking xavier when he want to come out. Now, even in car, driving, i will bargain with him to come out soon...haha...think he is sick of me liao!

Tmrw is my 2nd visit to gynae in this week, monitor and see what is the next course of action hor.

Sponge,

i think i will prefer 5 in 1 , 6 in 1 i heard quite new leh.

Milo,
my boy drink 60ml , now trying to increase him to 70ml. at times he cannot finished and will vomit some milk out. Even if it is BM -40ml, i will make FM 20ml.

Ino,
i use the packet herbs bought at medical hall. It smell like the herbal drink xia gu chow

hei ino...
thanks for your comforting words...i suppose we will see through it when the time comes anyway...guess that's "when the boat arrives at the bridge, all will be straight" theory...hubby quite empathetic so i hope all works out well...
so, did u buy the float??? should ah??? was thinking dun need purposely go buy for the few days of use....did u have epis as well? how...doing big business really painful ah???

on BM and FM
so, how do u gals decide what brand to buy? also, i read somewhere that baby acutally dun need so much 'food'/milk...so i am wondering about overfeeding...giving them more than they need??? well, but i can imagine, must be frustrating when they cry and seem like they are hungry...aiyo...motherhood sounds SCARY!

ivy,
my boy is also sick of listening to my constant urging for him to come out... hai, seems like he has developed a mind of his own oredi, dunno good or bad...
my coming visit is next tue, a week apart... i think my gynae prefer i wait for the bb to be ready (that is, engage n come out naturally) cos she said otherwise i would be askin for an induction and possible c-sec which i rather not loh.
best is can deliver on Vesak day if u ask me

gummie,

my hubby also want bb to come on vesak day cos he is buddhist...let's see if he listen to daddy..haha...

my younger sis also say that this bb is like her, stubborn and mind of their own ( both is born in year of dog). But she also trying to bargain with him lah...in fact last night she even went to buy more clothes for him! haha..hoping that he can come out soon to play with her...

does anyone has the tel no. to the shop at people's park called "choon seng" (not sure whether that's the correct name)? tink it sells pretty cheap bb products.

hi chris,
mine was a natural tear so the gynae just stitch it up. i din buy the float...my SIL passed it to me. as for doing big biz, well...gotta be careful lor...coz it's near the wound...scared that pushing too hard might affect the wound so got to be real gentle. it's not that bad once u have the stool softener (prescribed by doc) hee hee.

my gal is drinking similac (yeah lor...endorsed by zoe tay)...coz i heard it's almost similar to breast milk. but some say it might be too heaty for the bb...so must try try first. it's very obvious when my gal wants to drink. she will open her mouth big big and turn her face towards my breast...hahha...it's quite farnie when my hubby carries her ...coz she will do the same thing....hee hee

hi twinkle,
my gal got quite a ferocious appetite. she can drink up to 60 ml (FM) now excluding BM...

ivy,
wah... so many pple 'urging' yr boy to come out soon? me n my husb both born in the yr of tiger, we thought we cld 'handle' our boy and make him do what we tell him, but hor.......??????

i've cleaned up the bb room so nicely oredi, also bought so many toys but he still happy happy stay inside leh. hope he give me a suprise this weekend... i'll treat it as the first (and most meaningful) mother's day gift from him, kekeke...

gummie,

my bb is quite scare of his tiger daddy too...last night been moving abt non stop till i cannot watch tv. But once my hubby place his hands on my tummy, he guai guai liao...i get to watch in peace but hubby's palm ache after that!

you bot a lot of toys liao? I agree, if he still dun come out, i will end up spending a lot more! Cos shopping=walking is supposed to be good for us now....(lame excuse)

Ino,
i think twinkle have posted the number that you wanted here before. you might want to check with her.

Hihi Ino,

Really envy yr smooth delivery leh. Pray that mine can be short and sweet too :=) The other day i was standing and walking too much and felt contractions twice in the night but that's it. Now still busy clearing work in office cos recently there has been some re-org going on. But I hope to settle everything by tomorrow and i pray that my son will only choose to come out from Fri onwards :p

Your daughter is soooo cute!!! I guess all that labour is worth it after seeing your precious little bundle right?

Will the sitz bath sting the wound? I super scared of pain.

The inflatable float is also for sleeping on? I thought its meant for sitting onli.

Hey Chris, i'm like you, scared of the labour process and pain and my hubby has been telling me that he hopes he doesnt faint in the delivery suite. HAHA...

So we have to pray hard and have faith that God will see us through yah! Dont know which of us will give birth earlier. If at the same time, can visit each other since we are at the same hospital!

Cheers.

ino,

yup i wash my hair with the herb water and shampoo.. the smell quite alright, i think ginger smell worse. my mum ask me to add some, i refuse :p

starry,

i will take the 5 in 1 also. planning to get it from polyclinic. u?

hehe ok, at least my boy drinking enough.. he really take his own sweet time to finish his milk. last night tried to latch him on, wah he machiam bite me like that! so pain!

how old is ur boy now? mine at 1 week, 2 days..

Milo,

I hv not decided to go Polyclinic or from the PD leh. Also want to check can normal GP has it , if have good leh i can go back to my family doctor.

My boy is exactly 14 days today.

kk and sponge,
I'm holding my bb full month on the 28th. Any caterer to intro? My hubby and I thought of ordering from Select cos we ordered from them during our wedding

sponge,
I'm bringing my bb for 6-in-1. Because it'll be only 3 jabs instead of 5. I think I'll feel heart-pain seeing bb get poked! And I'm also worried bb will get fever after that. So 3 jabs = maybe 3 fevers

gummie,
My baby wasn't engaged too, but labour still takes place.

ino,
Me too using the herb, not sticky and quite nice smell also.

milo,

i find putting ginger in the herbal water ok heee.. maybe dun put too much lor, just put one will do

My mil even put ginger into longan red date tea!! I protested by not drinking, then she never put liao :p

U cannot stand ginger ah? Then do u eat ginger now?? i can't take ginger leh. I dun like :p

Ino,

My girl also.. everytime my hubby carry, she will open her mouth and turn to my hubby's "nipple" hahaha... she will dig and dig like "treasure hunt".

Just now very naughty lah.. throw temper.. then suck my BM, after that throw out everything. Change clothes, change cloth nappy.. after that rock her, feed FM, now strap her to rocker, then she keep quiet.

Chris,

Dun worry, if the bb want to drink, just let him/her drink. Most important is bb happy we happy heee.. They will automatically know when they are full :p

Ino,

Yup, i do bathe 10 days after my confinement, that is when i remove my plaster for caesarian wound. Before that i merely wipe my body.

Yes, use the herbal water. Ok lah, not sticky. Just that because it is warm water, after bathing still HOT! Weather so HOT! WHole day feel sticky. Maybe it is not the herbs that cause stickiness, it is the weather heee.. and my mum say can only bathe in the morning/afternoon. Cannot bathe at nite. Aiyoh, how to sleep like tat??? How u deal with it??

Ino,

My PD say actually shouldn't wrap the bb up because it is too hot and they will grow rashes! My bb dislike being wrapped. Didn't even like the blanket. Will kick the blanket away until only cover her small feet haha.. I guess ur bb feeling too hot liao, that probably explains the growth of rashes.

Today the sun never shine into ur house or no sun at all? If sun doesn't shine in, u can bring the bb down for a walk
That's wat i did lor. I dunno whether my bb jaundice level got go down or not. That time the level still remain as when she was discharged. These 2 weeks we see her seem to be ok liao, so i guess it should be alright

Sponge and Twinkle,

My mil bought gripe water, gave to the bb during 1st week. But my mum objected. Saying bb too small, dun give gripe water. So my mil stopped. Then my mil bought some brownish powder from the chinese medicine hall. Also for wind release. Seems to work too

For both cases, me and hubby dun mind lah, as long as no harm to bb

kk,
Luckily my bb's poo poo no smell yet, else I think I'll have to change my bedsheet almost everday already. She always poo all over my hand and bed when I changed her diaper.

ivy,
i asked my gynae yest if doing squats help to expedite or bring on labour... she smiled at me and said 'No... only contractions (on and off) can help push the baby down and engage' leh...

piglet,
i forgot oredi - did u have a natural delivery or c-sec since yr baby not engaged at labour?

oh yes mummies,
what is the purpose of the gripe water? i bought a bottle but dun really know what its used for... is it supposed to 'reduce' wind?

gummie,
Natural. Yes, the very strong contraction during labour push bb to engage. That's what happen to me. Don't worry if bb is not engaged. If bb's head is at the correct position, it'll be engaged during labour. Gynae will let you know if bb position is wrong.

piglet,

haha, next time wait for ur bb to finish business then u clear for her :p That time got 2 occasions my girl also pee and poo on mil. There was one time when my hubby and i unwrap the nappy and the urine comes like a fountain. Luckily never shoot on us heee..

kk,
Normally I'll wait for around 10 mins before cleaning her butt. Don't wish to wait too long, scared her butt get rashes. But she'll poo + urine again once I unwrap her diaper.

piglet,
good to hear that from you. i'm just concerned i may have to end up c-sec eventually if bb dun engage. i guess i have to prepare myself for a longer labour too...