(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Hi piglet,

Haha, ur bb big drinker too! Mine depends.. at times after drinking 90 ml, she can sleep 3-4 hrs. If BF, she can sleep 5 hours! I tell my hubby bb drink mother's milk is like drinking liquor.. got drunk hahaha..

My girl too! I carry her, she will open her mouth in an "O" shape and turn to my left breast haha.. and soo cute because her mouth pretty small :p

Twinkle,

Ur bb got too used to bottle feeding liao that's why the rejection of nipples?

Milo,

Normally i will throw away the milk if cannot finish. If u leave it there too long, u still gotta warm up before can feed bb again. Hmmm, different bb react differently. For mine, if she wanna drink again, normally she will make noise within 10 minutes. Else meaning she is ok already

little nana,

i think you will have to continue this waiting game...But given that your cervix already opened, you got more choices to make it open faster.

1) Do plenty of squats
2) Walk a lot
3) Drink Raspberry tea

I am waiting for cervix to open cos once dilate, then gynae will deliver liao, dun care how wide, will put on drip to fasten the process cos little one is not gaining weight inside...

A cheeky note, my gynae asked me to get intimate with hubby & get him to ejeculate inside. She say it's medically proven will stimulate contraction & hence dilation. Hee! But now sit, lie, stand also difficult how to le?

Feng,

your gynae so cute? i think hubby will be horrific to hear this...( might just burst the waterbag!) wait for nature loh.

Ya lor, cos I cannot tahan also ma. Then she say u may wan2 try this cos 1 of her patient heeded her advise & went to pop the next day after the intimacy. Wa so tempted le but can't prepare myself enough for it. Hee.

Hi got this from Baby Centre.

I'm 10 days overdue and getting desperate! Are there any ways to bring on labour naturally?

Sally Sago answers:
Bearing in mind that we still don't fully understand how labour starts, there are some 'natural' methods that you can try to bring on labour if you and your baby are in good health. However, before considering any action seek the advice of your doctor or midwife, especially if you have any medical condition or your consultant is considering inducing you for medical reasons.

?Love-making Sexual intercourse is thought to work in two ways. It may trigger the release of a hormone called oxytocin -- the 'contraction' hormone -- and this may increase the frequency of Braxton-Hicks, or practice, contractions. Semen also contains substances called prostaglandins. These can help to ripen, or soften, the neck of the womb (cervix) ready for it to dilate when labour contractions start.

If you think your waters may have broken, don't make love as this may increase the risk of infection, but do seek advice from your midwife or your local maternity unit.

?Nipple stimulation This will release the hormone oxytocin and may help start labour. It's only likely to be successful if your cervix is 'ripe' and ready to dilate, otherwise it seems to help with the ripening process. There is no agreement on how much nipple stimulation you need, or how often, to stimulate contractions.

?Walking This is also a common suggestion. The explanation appears to be that the pressure of your baby's head pressing down on the cervix from the inside stimulates the release of oxytocin, hopefully bringing on labour. If your baby has not 'dropped' or is still high in the pelvis, walking will also encourage your baby into a better position so that labour is more likely to start on its own.

?Complementary therapies Some women find complementary therapies, such as acupuncture or reflexology, helpful for getting things moving. Always take advice from a qualified practitioner who is aware of your medical history and has experience of working with pregnant women.

You should ignore suggestions that you take laxatives, such as castor oil or enemas, which stimulate bowel action. These can lead to discomfort, sometimes pain and possibly complications, such as infections or dehydration.

kk,

i think he is getting used to bottle bcos bottled feed flow is faster and he dun need to suck so hard, while breast he need abit more patient and energy since my MS still low. like drink also buay siong.

last night managed to force him and he suckle but not as good as before leh, like entertain me like tat. at least now my breast not engorged liao after he suckle. If no choice, i will give him EBM. anyway my BM not much also

Sponge,

i m getting my cake from Choz most likely lah but i hv not order yet. still hv not decide when to hv the celebration and also guest list not ready

Ivy,

my case same like urs..EDD 20/may. now wk 38.3 days. yesterday scanning showed babay no weight gained since last wk. VE scan shoewed only 2 cm dilated. Gynea give us another more wk to monitor, by next monday if no improvement must under induce liao.

Actually, these 2 days, contraction getting more frequent, some discharge(white color) did show.hope tht bb will come out himself by this wk.(coz hubby will start reservise by next wk, no one accompany me liao).

The worst case is, my rashes is very bad,whole body full of it,very itchy...is really rare case but i strike 4D and kena...gynea suggest use Steroid to cure after delivery...

Very suffering and disappointing at this kind of final stage of pregnancy..

Race

kk,

My lochia flow not heavy now, a little less than normal menses. now i am experiencing blood clot discharge which can be a little discomfort and feel like menses cramp at times.

Yours leh?

Race,

at least you are 2cm dilate liao...can improve with more squats and walking. For me, not open yet...sian! haha!

You can ask your hubby to defer his reservist...think edd is a valid excuse!

Next time we meet up and compare the rashes...haha, i think we are the same cos gynae also mentioned no steriod for me at this stage. But will use after delivery...

Good afternon,
Me too playing the waiting game. Today 38 wk 4 days. No signs of contractions at all. Told gynae that baby's movement has reduced and he wants me to monitor very closely, 10 kicks per day by 9pm. So far abt 7 moves only. Baby now is abt 2.8kg. My edd next Fri. Gynae does not want to induce me even if I cross by edd cos he wants nature to take its course. Also bcos if induce might end up with c-sect cos body not ready to deliver yet. But being a 2nd pregnancy he said shld be no prob. Next wk's checkup he will talk to me more abt my options, that is if I had not given birth by then. I think I will not be giving birth this wk. Most probably drag till next week.

Yesterday ran for the bus, and ended up with very sore inner thighs. Got so much of discomfort walking. Today trying to resist my movements.

Bookworm, how are you? Did you manage to see Dr Ong yesterday?

Cindy, think yours will be next week too.

Feng, if really BD got chances of popping naturally I will try it. Think will suggest to my HB, he sure happy lol.

Little_nana,
My gynae did a stretch for me before he burst the waterbag and he burst the waterbag when my cervix is only 1.5cm dilated. I did a lot of squats (30/day) a week before I popped. It helps!

kk,
At least your bb can sleep up to 5 hrs. I got to wake up several times a night just to feed her and after each feed, she might not go to sleep. Sometimes, have to play with her for 2-3 hrs, feed her again, then she'll be satisfied and go to sleep. I'm becoming more and more like panda already. Lochia stable at 3rd day after delivery, now like 3rd day menstrual flow. Hope will end soon, so uncomfortable wearing pad

piglet,

you did 30 a day? okie, i am gog to increase my squats liao. Now doing 20 a day.

Yasmin,
we have the same edd...lets see who pop first! haha...

Ivy,
Yes, morning 10, afternoon 10, before
I sleep another 10. I did the squats for a week then feel contraction pains already. JIA YOU!!

Yasmin,

We really can comfort each other...
Actually if possible,to make urself ease, pls stop to take bus,taxi is better.

How come no contraction? actually when ur tummy bcome tighten for short interval, it is actually so called contraction(Braxton hicks)...

piglet,

Luckily my mil takes care of bb for me at nite. Else i bengsan!! At nite, my bb totally on FM bottle feeding. And won't get hungry easily too. Easier to handle in the middle of the nite.

Ya, my lochia flow stable liao. Just tat it is still dark red. But doesn't flow often. Only flow around 2 times a day when i visit the toilet.

Ya, hope lochia flow end soon too!! But then seem like not so soon leh.. at least 6 weeks??

Twinkle,

I have blood clot discharge too, but not often. Same thing, like 2 times a day. But then i have no menstrual cramp at all, which i am glad

yasmin,
Gynae wanted to induce me if I cross my EDD, so desperately I try to squats as you suggested. Wow, after that a lot of discharge, contractions and menstrual cramp feeling.

Twinkle,

When is ur full mth celebration?

Aiyoh, my greedy girl suckle very fast also. Then BM flow down everywhere haha.. and if she is too fast, she spit out a lot too. So after she suckle, i have to let her lie down a while more on my arms so that she won't vomit out the milk.

Race, yah lor. Did feel tightening for awhile a few days back. Then completely stopped. Dunno why?

The bus is a pte transport to and fro from home to office. Sometimes got no choice, like yest had to run. My fault lah, left office alittle too late. Will try to leave office early next time.

Gals, today's weather sooooooo hot.

kk, do you feed your gal everything one shot or 1/2 way through burp her and then feed her the rest? The 1/2 way burping thing will help to reduce the amt of spit out. Tried that for my son, it worked.

kk,
My mother already helping me to take care of bb in the daytime. So at night I take care of bb myself. Now still on maternity leave, if go back to work, I don't know how to tahan leh. My mother told me last time her lochia ends in a week. Mine like not going to end so soon leh. But now the stitches recover already, so can wash the area thorougly. hehe

Mums who have popped,

Does ur baby make funny noise when sleeping? My girl very naughty, sometimes stretch herself then make noise, then sleep again.. then again..

piglet,

i am still paranoid.. dun dare to scrub the wound part heee.. ya, i resume bathing last week and so shiok! Now only putting on the adhesive gel.

Ya, some pple lochia flow ends early. Mine already going 3 weeks leh. So sian.

yasmin,

But then hor, i can't pull her mouth away from my nipple. I pull from her, she pull back hahahaa... then i let her drink until she happy stop :p

Taurus have delivered after 22hr of labour, then emergency c-sec cos the bb's head is too big...She is resting at home now but cannot log in to forum ( think it kept kicking her out).

Those who popped,
If no milk how ah? Been drinking a lot of water and soup liao... baby sucking quite well...(I think too well till my nipples cracks and bleeds) still no milk... also never feel any engorgement... but breast getting a bit hard... but then when baby suck.. .like nothing come out leh...

Sindy,

Drink longan red date tea? What about fish and payaya soup? or just fry the fish with payaya? It works too

Ivy,

Wow, 22 hrs of labour for taurus!! Happy for her
Congrats Taurus!!!

congrats to Taurus! xin ku le!

hi there!
After 3 days of "hotel" stay, i'm finally back! Weight of my bb gal is 3.24 kg.

Here's to share my birth story:
6 May 06 AM:
1) Saw wetness on panties but do not think much of it as it may be urine leakage. No trickling down of water down my legs...so assume it's not the bursting of water bag.

2) Had brownish discharge 3 times from morning till evening. No signs of bloody discharge at all. So continue to monitor

PM:
Started to experience contractions at 6 pm but it's quite mild and bearable. Tot i'm havin stomach pain as i managed to "download" when i went toilet.

As the night wears on, the contractions got more and more frequent. At 10pm, i started timing it...it's happening at 5 mins interval but i continue to "dong" as i want to wait for the voting results (Aljunied GRC)...hee hee.

7 May 06
Finally at 12.30am after the announcement of the voting results, i told hubby i want to go hospital as i cannot tahan. Hubby was already trying to massage my lower back the whole nite. (Contraction pain happens at the lower abdomen and radiates to the lower back)

1.05am: reached TMC. Went to the holding area and the nurse strapped me on the CTG machine. Contractions were already happening at 2.5 mins , peaking at 140. Nurse ask me how come i tahan until so long then come into hospital.

She did VE on me (bearable discomfort) and found i was 2 cm dilated. Immediately changed into the hospital gown and was told to go to the birth room.

Put me on drip and administered epidural. Wow liao, the doc jabbed me 3 times for epidural becoz he couldn't locate an ideal epidural space. But it's ok...it's like an ant's bite. Then i started to shiver real bad. From 2 am onwards, it was a waiting game.

4am: My cervis was 6 cm dilated. Nurse said i shld be ready to deliver by 5am. The time came and gone. She did a VE and i felt discomfort! She increased my dosage for epidural.

6am: Ask me to push to break my water bag myself. Managed to do it after 6 pushes. Then they ask me to lie flat and push so as to assist the descent of my bb's head. (the feeling is like passing motion.) After half hr, i gave up coz i got no strength liao. They called gynae and she told them to get me to rest...dun push liao.

At 7.30am, i felt like pushing again. But i told the nurse that i wanna lean on the side. Whenever i have the feeling that i want to pass motion, the nurse ask me to push (she said the urge is caused by the bb's head putting pressure on the rectum). Surprisingly, it was easier to push while leaning on the side.

I continue to push and rest on my side until finally the nurse told me to lie flat and really push. When she could finally see my bb's head (abt. the size of the 50c coin), she asked me to stop and rest (ie wait for the gynae to come).

Gynae came in at 9 plus AM. She ask me to give a few pushes and my bb gal is out! Wow, the feeling is quite shiok leh! Thank god! I'm so relieved!

After birth, i puked once but it's ok lar. Was wheeled back into my ward. Was alert and started to sms pple ...hee hee. Tho i had nausea feeling, i still ate a bit of my lunch...it's so yummy! Red wine chicken mee sua! yumyum! TMC's confinement wine is really very delicious!

Now trying to BF my gal. But has to supplement it with formula milk coz it's only colostrum. Hopefully, my milk supply will come sooner. Yesterday, bb suck until my nipple bleed then nurse said that it's not proper latching. They demostrated correct latching but looks very rough. they make the bb's mouth open and shove my nipple into her mouth...wow liaoo...realli hiong but wat to do?

Ok. will post a pix soon!

To all MTB, jia you!
To mummies who are breastfeeding, doubly jia you!

finally have time to log in.. so sleepy.. last night kaeden started crying every few hrs for feed. now mil here to help then i can relax abit.

starry,

jus called choz, they say need to place order 1 - 2 weeks before the actual day
me also intend to order from the. looks yummy!

hi kk,
ya lor. it's the "ang zao gai" mee sua. available every sunday lunch. hee hee. i lurv their papaya & fish soup too. very delicious. now go home...kinda of miss their 6 meals a day kinda of routine...

Ino

The part about lying side way and push, is it more "comfy" than lying flat? Coz I read a lot of articles saying that side ways or on all 4 methods of pushing is much better and easier than lying flat. Not sure if the gynae is comfy with that position or not. :p

Take care and rest well! I'm still waiting...