(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Ya ino, most of the mummies I'd talked to went through episiotomy before so doing the massage won't guarantee we won't get 'cut' up :p

cindy,

maybe you want to get a playpen?

i am just back from my gynae visit... BB is still slim, haha...Gynae wants to give me MC to rest more at home but i could not...too tied up at work liao.
Now my visits have changed to every 2 weeks. Anyone on the same schedule?
( Today is 31w 4d)

ino, yup mine weighed only 1.71 at birth, 35wk 6days. This is due to small placenta. The placenta did not grow well and therefore was not able to provide him with suffice nutrients. Normally babies at wk35 shld reach at least 2.2kg. But now, he is fine going on to 4 years old. He is over 20kg and quite tall too.

Cindy and Annie, I have the same situation too. I intend to use a mattress, the foldable kind during the daytime when baby is out of the rm and during nights the playpen. Only during 1 mth celebs, if having at home, I will bring the playpen out of rm.

Hi fates/Annie,
my hubby actually thot of buying an attachment to place baby by the side of our bed for her to sleep at nite and leave the cot in the nursery room for daytime. But i dun think i want to spend that extra $$.
The prob is nursery room dun have extra furniture like sofa or bed. Need to go back n see if we can move the cot into the guest room (with queen sized bed), just afraid room too small....
Do u think baby can sleep on the bouncer during day time?

Ivy, why dont want to rest at home? You shld you know. Since you dont like to eat durians, how abt pizza. But eat everyday also sianz. How abt eating more meat? If gynae said need to rest more, you shld. Work is work will never end. It shld not end too, if not, we wldnt have a job anymore.

My appts are 2 wks once too! I am into 31 wks 2 days. My next appt is next wk Tues.

Ivy

usually after the 32 wks checkup, you will have to visit obs every 2 wks. From 36 wks onwards, you will see obs every wk. I will see my obs tomorrow at 32 wks.

yasmin

oh, you deliver your boy at abt 36 wks. Gd to hear that he is a healthy boy now. Indeed he is quite heavy for a 4 yrs old. My daughter is only 17kg and she is 4.5 yrs old.

ivy,
Yo! same schedules as mine ( every 2 weeks)when i am at week 33..

Think that your xaiver is too small n weight is not up to expectation.. should eat more.. have to destress yourself.. maybe take a stroll after dinner.. baby more important.. if you r too stressful, baby might tend to come out earlier..

yasmin,
Great.. i already got e mattress, not the thick one for adult, thin and cheap type.. baby will feel v hot if u put on e bed for whole day.. remember may n june is v hot..
my niece these days love the fan blowing on her.

Hi Ivy,
how heavy is ur bb? mine was only 1.4+kg at week 31, thot mayb was due to me controlling diet cos of slightly high glucose level. Yah, i'm on 2 weeks schedule since 29 weeks onwards.
Dun think i want to get a playpen unless we are bringing bb over to mil's place after i go back to work....

yasmin, so do u put the foldable mattress on the floor?

yasmin,

can't. If i take leave so often, i will be out of work soon! Will try to rest more as and when i can.

Cindy,
BB is now abt 1.4kg but cos i am tall, gynae say its small in comparison.

Annie,
no time for stroll...work till v late, dinner is usually a quick affair at my mum's place before gog home to slp.

Not sure are you all getting nursing bra? They (from other websites) said to get bigger size then those you usually wear if you are planning to breast-feed... How hor how big is bigger size? Bigger in cup size or the band size or what?

ivy,
Wah! like that how to yr body full absorb the food that u intake.. so rush.. hmm.. xaiver is so small.. hmm..dun worry, drink more milk (calcium - good for baby) and eat more orange. ( vitamin c, folic acid good for baby). Baby put on weight super fast at last few weeks. take great care, dear

Cindy,
u can try that to put the foldable mattress on one corner or next to sofa... so u can see yr baby while doing other things..

sindy lee,
dun need to buy those bra, so expensive.. u can wear normal bra at home. first few days in e hosp dun need to wear (some hosp rule).. n u dun have milk for the first 3 days.. even if, its not milk..

Cindy,
u can switch to high fibre, high protein food instead of normal starchy food since u need to control yr glucose level.
Eat in small potion then eat fruits thats low in sugar level.. (pineapple, orange, red apple, water melon etc are out). Orange got high level of vitamin C n folic acid n help baby (generate oxygen into blood cells). u can only eat one or 2 slices instead the whole..
High protein benefit baby a lot.. eg.. soya bean drink, soya bean curd..

Hi MTBs,

Those who are taking coconut drinks... which coconut to buy? I was reading somewhere about "young coconuts".. it refers to those small thailand coconuts?

Think I have to start drinking, I'm into my 34 weeks, got sore throat and running nose now. Weather so damn hot too.. need to drink something to cool my body.

Please advise.

Ray,
Wah! like that u still dare to drink.. will stir up coughing ..
your body is too heaty, try to dry more chrysanthemum and american ginseng to drink first.
you only start to drink coconut drink when u hit week 38... or like wat singapore actress did, ivy, lingling n zoe tay did. drink before labour is enough to "clean" yr baby..
coconut is v windy (create wind) n heaty. u can drink those green small one sells at most coffee stall..

Ray,

you can start to drink once a week now that you are in week 34 and yes, it is those small Thai ones. But try to drink more water too as the weather is really too hot these days. Imagine those doing confinement now...poor girls...hopefully it will cool down a bit come May.

Cheers.

Hi milo,
i passed the test taken on the 2nd week but that test was w/o any fasting/glucose drink and i have not taken lunch prior to the test so dun know accurate or not.... hehe
now monitoring once a week at home.

i hate to give u a reality check, ivy...it's going to be worse in may...weather will not be in our favour come May.

Annie, I think you should be more sensitive in your words....read through, think before you post lest u offend or ruffle others' feathers unintentionally. not necessary u know.

really, I dun think there's any concern about weight as it really is very individual and case-by-case.

I am also in 31st week....eh..i thought you more advanced than i am, ivy...

anyways, i wish we can siam episotomy but i guess, we just got to give our best shot lor...

and on newborn sleeping places, baby can really take the playpen for the first two - three months or so, until they can turn...and it's definitely more mobile so can move in and out of rooms or can get more than one. I am not for mattress on floor for couple of reasons - bad for mummies' posture u realise - up and down/spine...as well as it could be a little 'cold'...but then again, really up to you gals...

eat well, try to sleep and rest well for now, mummies.
cheers.

Hi yasmine

Yes. morphine and Pethidine will affect neonate. So best go for epdiural. I'm also afraid that bb might come out backbirth(face facing up, my two nephews came out in this position) It will cause bad backache and difficult in labour so epidural might be a better choice for me. I have low pain threshold so better take.. kekeke I'm too Kaisi liao. :p

Hi Chris

I believe that most SG doctors will do episiotomy especially Dr lisa chin. I went to visit her whlist back in Jan and she advised me to opt for episiotomy as she said that asian skin are harder to stretch.. My nephews were delivered by her. And it seems that my second sister is "pain free" and heal fast after delivery
you'll be Fine! Dun worry!

Hi Ivy and fates

Mobile epidural will actually take the pain of the contrations away but leaves you with sensations so you are able to get up and move ard, sit on chair and go to the bathrm. That means it onli numbs ur abdominal but not ur feet. you will be able to feel contractions as tightenings and pressure and stretching as the bb moves down thru the birth canal. That means it is easier for us to push the bb out.

As for regular epidural, it will numb your lower part of your body and tt makes delivery more difficult
and there's chances of using forceps and vacuum to assist bb out.

Ino, fates, yasmine

Thanks Ino for doing the research to share with us

I got no choice leh but gotta do pelvic flr exercises and perineal massage cos OBS doesn't wanna do Epdisiotomy for me, gotta depend on these exercises to help the muscles stretch better. No harm trying lor anyhow gotta do it one

chris,

yah, i was trying to deceive myself that it will be a nicer weather. But no worries, already managed to convince mum to allow aircon 24/7! haha...poor hubby just gotta pay more for the bills.
We are also the same time, this week is into week 32 liao loh.
When are you starting your ML, or sch holidays start first?

morn all,

the weather is killing me liao. really regret not having aircon in the living area. now weekend gotta hide in the room

ivy,

i be starting my ML on the 2nd week of May. U?

little nana,
i guess i have to do pelvic floor exercise more often.. u know what, shame of me... while having dinner with my hubby at food court, i kena choked and started to cough.. some urine actually leaked.. I managed to control by using the technique.. so scary.. cant imagine if e urine cant stop.. so many pp around..

just to let you know, you can drink soya bean drink but not "Dou Hua" cos there is a type of powder added in into the soya bean drink to crystalise it into solid form as dou hua.. heard no good for baby.. my colleague warned me cos i ate a few times.. now already switch to the drink. Baby tends to have a good skin if you drink more of the soya bean drink. high in protein but do remember ask for less sugar or no.

milo,

i am trying to drag till the date of delivery cos there is so much to do in the office!

Annie,
For those attended the TMC classes, Mrs Wong did tell us to drink soya milk from the package like Sobe cos they have added nutrients unlike those in the market without the added stuff. She said that the added stuff is good for mums-to-be cos we need those extras while the normal market ones are ok if you are not pregnant.

hi Annie & Ivy,

I tot coconuts are "cooling"? Thats y my dad forhbit me to drink..I can't even eat bananas..

Dad said I can drink soursop..(took one yesterday) or eat mangoesteens. But in moderate, can't eat everyday.

I have a "heaty" body, always got fever that turned into sore throat then flu... Can't imagine eating all those "heaty" confinement food, can't drink cold or cooling drinks and in such a weather??

My gynae already said I can expect baby to pop mid April instead of May.. So I dun think the weather will be cooler by then.

Think I will use baby as an excuse to manipulate my MIL. Have to emphasise to her on my heaty body, my insistence of breast feeding, the hygiene, the weather... must benefit the baby.

How to breastfeed if you feel sticky or have heaty body?? Its not hygienic to breastfeed baby while can't bath for the first 12 days. We are not in China anymore, where the mothers have to take care not to catch a cold cos of the four seasons. Singapore have spring all year round.

milo66,
haha, same here.i already on my aircon n fan every night, in order for me to have a good sleep.. the weather is killing me..

for your infor.

Fetal Development - Week 33

Your baby now weighs approximately 4.5 pounds/ 2 kilograms and is about 18.5 inches / 46 centimetres long from head to toe. Although his lungs won't be fully developed until just before birth, your little one is inhaling amniotic fluid to exercise his lungs and practise breathing.

Some babies have a head of hair already, others have only a few wisps. Thick hair at birth doesn't necessarily mean thick hair later on but children with fine hair in childhood usually have thinner hair in adulthood.

If your baby is a boy, his testicles should be descending from his abdomen into his scrotum. Sometimes however, one or both testicles won't move into position until after birth. In two-thirds of all baby boys who have undescended testicles at birth, the condition corrects itself by the boy's first birthday.

You're probably gaining a pound/ 450 grams a week, largely because your baby is likely to gain more than half his birthweight during the seven weeks before delivery. Make sure you are eating well in these last few weeks.

for your info

Fetal Development - Week 34

Your baby now weighs about 5 pounds / 2.2 kilograms and measures approximately 19 inches/ 48 centimetres from head to toe. Your baby should already be getting ready for delivery by turning upside-down his head should be pointing down.

Your doctor or midwife will be paying careful attention to your baby's position in the coming weeks some babies do decide to turn back round again.

Your baby's skull is still quite pliable and not completely joined, in part so he can ease out of the relatively narrow birth canal. But the bones in the rest of his body are hardening. Your baby's skin is also gradually becoming less red and wrinkled.

If you're a first-time mother, your child's head may move into the pelvis this week and press firmly against your cervix. (This happens for about half of all first-time mothers.) If you're a second-time mum, you can expect this to happen a week before labour and for some this won't happen until the start of labour. Hoping to manage your labour naturally? Here's all you need to know about natural pain relief.

You may notice that your feet and ankles are quite swollen by the end of the day. Water retention, also known as oedema, is often worse in warm weather and late in the day. Surprisingly, keeping hydrated helps reduce water retention. Your body particularly your kidneys and your baby need plenty of fluids, so drink up. If you suddenly feel swollen or puffy in your hands or face, however, call your doctor it may be a sign of pre-eclampsia.

Ray,
Great! u are eating mangoesteens cos cooling and help to ease some heatiness.. .
Banana is good fibre like orange but old folks stated that taking "green colour banana" will cause baby to suffer "yang tie fong". I do eat but in yellow colour (already ripe)..
Maybe you take orange (not cold) and prune juice for fiber to prevent constipation..
Try chrysanthemum is good to ease heatiness in e body..
Maybe, you ask yr mil whether you can use those hebal leave to bath? Sell at $1.00 per pax at those chinese medical hall. boil hot water in the morning then u can take shower in the afternoon. Those herbal is meant to trap heat (thats y, you cant shower directly after boil, temperature is v. high).
Coconut is cooling for those body system tend to be "cold" type but if your body like me, heaty type, will be heaty. Another good example: Water melon, depend on yr body type.Coconut oso good to create wind.. which isnt good for yr body

Hi Ray

I've started coconut drink when I'm into 30 wks. To remind myslf, I drank every Monday - u won't believe it - 1 can of Young Coconut Drink from COOL.. (or is it COCO?)..

Seeing my gynae tomorrow. Already planning to check with him if its ok to start drinking Raspberry Tea Leaves now..

In Malay custom, we are encouraged to drink coconut from 7 months onwards once a week till birth to aid EASY LABOUR.

ivy,

Wah! thanks for your advise.. sobe, hmm. never heard this brand.. i hate to drink cos tummy get bloated after that.. (all bean type).

is it you are heading for week 32? if so, hopefully this info helps

Fetal Development - Week 32

Your baby's arms, legs and body continue to fill out and they are finally proportional in size to her head. She weighs about 4 pounds/1.8 kilograms and looks more like a newborn. She measures about 18 inches/ 45 centimetres from crown to toe.

You may notice your baby isn't moving around as much. Don't worry; she's just running out of space in your uterus. As long as you can feel her squirming, you'll know she's just fine. Believe it or not, she still has plenty of growing to do. You can expect her to gain at least two more pounds/900 grams before delivery.

Your baby's organs are continuing to mature and she is passing water from her bladder: good practice for the urinating she'll do after she's born. Soon you can wonder what your baby is wishing for brain scans have shown that fetuses have periods of dream sleep around month eight.

You've probably gained three to four pounds / 1.3 to 1.8 kilograms this month. Gaining a pound/450 grams a week is quite normal during the last trimester as your baby has a final growth spurt before birth

Hey gals

So we can start drinking coconut now? I am into my 32 wks. I remembered we can have coconut drink nearer to birth. Cos lately weather is so hot, a cool coconut drink will be great, always wanted to drink during lunch, but dunno if the time is right. Maybe i can start taking alternate wks.

As for episiotomy, i thk its very common for mothers in Spore. I had it when i had my gal. It will be painful for the 1st wk, after that should be fine. But i never have to guts to use a mirror to look at it :p Anyway it heals over time. Shouldnt be that bad, except if you wanna poo, it will be very painful *cross my fingers*, so try to drink more water and dont have constipation, otherwise u can cry in the toilet.

My friend who gave birth to a baby gal had no episiotomy, but her gal only weighs 2.46kg at 39 wks.

Any good lobang to buy waist belt meant to tighten loosen tummy especially c-section. cos there will be inner wound since baby already taken out same as the placenta, create a empty space inside the tummy..
Saw gurdain selling normal type (not meant for maternity) at $29.90. Any recommendation?

390655.png

Eve,
you can start to drink once a week when u left one mth before your EDD. Few days before EDD or follow like what the singapore actress did, drink on the actual day is enough to clean e baby. As according to the malay saying that easy labour, i guess its rely on individual.
So far, most of friends that i know only comment baby clean not the part easy labour..
either you exercise more on squatting n climbing stairs at late stage helps in labour..

UPDATE!!!

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="ff0000">MAY 2006 MTBs</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Gynae</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby's Gender (name)</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>1-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lim T C</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelzwynd</TD><TD>2-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>3-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr C Y Chen</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>sponge</TD><TD>3-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Girl (Ariel Lim) </TD></TR><TR><TD>sallykoo</TD><TD>4-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>Boy (Benson) </TD></TR><TR><TD>sook</TD><TD>5-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD>6-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>Boy (Elgin) </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinkle-starry</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_Nana</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>Portland Hospital , UK</TD><TD>Dr Patrick O'brien</TD><TD>Girl (Kaelyn) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie Quah</TD><TD>8-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Koh C H</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sindy Lee</TD><TD>9-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Phua Soo Mear </TD><TD>Girl (Sherry) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catherine</TD><TD>10-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mei Feng</TD><TD>10-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Y.C Goh </TD><TD>Boy (Joshua) </TD></TR><TR><TD>paradox</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Raffles Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Thong PW</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>lee</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Koh C H</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>ydnic</TD><TD>14-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eve Lim</TD><TD>14-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lorraine Wang</TD><TD>16-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Han H C</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>anastasia</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>amie</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>bookworm</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>milo66</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Boy (Kaeden Cheng) </TD></TR><TR><TD>pooh</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ivy Yeo</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD>Boy (Xavier) </TD></TR><TR><TD>yasmin</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl (Isabel) </TD></TR><TR><TD>QooSan</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>gummie</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eswallow</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>fairysnowberry</TD><TD>20-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>20-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>ino</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>may2006baby</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyce Loh</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>teenoyl</TD><TD>22-May-2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chris</TD><TD>23-May-2006</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>fates</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>SS1</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bijin</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joceyline Wong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gabby's mum</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount E</TD><TD>Dr Chiew</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelsy</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Margaret Heng</TD><TD>29-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>matched gal</TD><TD>29-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Dolly Wee</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babe99</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Teenoyl,
Wah! yappee.. its a boy.. do u prefer a gal or boy.. for me, i like boy..

mind to ask you, your gynea is it those private clinic or under NUH?
By the way, since u already drink coconut drink, remembered to buy e black pills malay massage lady.. heard that one can ease the wind.. not good to have wind inside yr body.. might cause trouble when u grow old. sorry for kpo

good morning ladies,

i'm planning to get nursing bras, any advice on what to look out for when i choose one? and, for those of you who have bought, what's a good place to get these?

i love coconut drinks, but am not allowed to drink. so does it mean it is safe to consume from 30 weeks onwards? i'm now 31 weeks 6 days

Hi girls

Life is getting oppressive due to the heat. Sigh.

Coconut
Must drink fresh young coconut? What is the purpose? I went thr my no 1 without that. Do share more. TIA

Confinement
I will take a shower!!! Its crazy. In the past, they dont shower as they dont have ready hot water and the bathroom is outside the house. Now, in hot and modern Singapore, you need to take at least a shower. I showered and quickly dried myself when I went thr confinement for no 1.

Nursing bra
I like those where it was easy to unclip! In public area, when the baby is brawling, yes, that helps. I got mine from mothercare and thyme.

morn all,

gummie,

think for nursing bra have to get slightly bigger cup size for fear of engorgement. width shld be ok as we can still use extension mah. think quite alot of mummies are getting from moms in mind and giant. i intend to get 1 or 2 cheap ones then a few ex ones and compare lor.

for the coconut drink, my mum said that we can start drinking now (me at 31w4d) but heard that some may experience cramp leh so me kiasi, most prob will start at week 37 (at least if anything, i am ready to pop)

milo,

where can i find moms-in-mind? do they have a shop or do i have to order online? giant... as in giant supermarket? they sell nursing bras too? hmmm...

i actually dun quite understand why pple say bananas (esp the long skinny types) not allowed but pineapples and coconuts are fine? i always had the idea that the latter's more 'cooling' than bananas... maybe tt was a wrong perception.

gummie.

below is the link for moms in mind webby

http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/

yup, giant as in giant supermarket. funny hor? they sell nursing bra also.. think its only $9.90 per pc so going to buy and see how its goes.

that y lor.. my mum also say the del monte type is very cooling and alot of wind but think its good for heartburn.. sigh, to me all are nonsense but guess better believe jus in case :p

gabby's mum,

drinking coconut juice few weeks before delivery is believe to help cleanse the bb so that when bb is out will be less bloody and 'more clean' dunno how true leh

Hi Annie

I prefer boys too.. Actually we planned to have 1st 2 boys and the youngest girl. Looks like God answered our prayers..

I'm not sure if Dr James practiced on his own, but I sees him as private at NUH Clinic (Emerald). He's only in his clinic on Thurs, but assured me that he's always around in the hospital grounds on any other days.. Just page for him.. I was referred to him by my GP. They were mates in U. So i trust my gynae as much as i trust my GP!!

What black pills? Nah.. I don't take traditional medicine. Even during my first confinement, I drank Essence of Fish/Chicken and DOM and only swallow Manjakani pills since the massage lady told me its to tighten the **hmm-hmm**

I didn't know coconut drink can causes wind.. In the book they even encouraged MTBs to drink once a week beginning 7 mths

I experienced active labour at 7pm and my boy was delivered at 9pm. With only 2 hours of intense labour, wonder if it is due to the coconut drink? Mayb becos i started drinking early?? As i already started with the drink, will definitely update u when i went through labour again.