(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hi sally,

i received the mailer yesterday.. opposite from u, i didnt know abt the sale on the 7th mar

milo66 & sally,
Robinson alway send difference patch to individual customers.. I just received e sales invitation card but its meant for spring clothing sales, 20%...

Thanks girls for the headsup! Hmmm I am a Robinson card member too, but I didn't receive the mailer *sulk*
Maybe my hubby threw the mailer away? Gotta double check again when I reach home....hehee

Anyway I guess I'll be there on the 21st

milo66, can you highlight more on your mailer (like what brand don't have discount...etc). I actually missed the private sale on 7th Mar due to the TMC doctor's talk...

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="ff0000">MAY 2006 MTBs</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Gynae</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby's Gender (name)</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>1-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lim T C</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelzwynd</TD><TD>2-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>3-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C Y Chen</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>sponge</TD><TD>3-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Girl (Ariel Lim) </TD></TR><TR><TD>sallykoo</TD><TD>4-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>Boy (Benson) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD>6-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>Boy (Elgin) </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinkle-starry</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_Nana</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>Portland Hospital , UK</TD><TD>Dr Patrick O'brien</TD><TD>Girl (Kaelyn) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sindy Lee</TD><TD>9-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Phua Soo Mear </TD><TD>Girl (Sherry) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catherine</TD><TD>10-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mei Feng</TD><TD>10-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Y.C Goh </TD><TD>Boy (Joshua) </TD></TR><TR><TD>paradox</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Raffles Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Thong PW</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>lee</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Koh C H</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie Quah</TD><TD>13-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Koh C H</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>ydnic</TD><TD>14-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eve Lim</TD><TD>14-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lorraine Wang</TD><TD>16-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Han H C</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>anastasia</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>amie</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>bookworm</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>milo66</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Boy (Kaeden Cheng) </TD></TR><TR><TD>pooh</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ivy Yeo</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD>Boy (Xavier) </TD></TR><TR><TD>yasmin</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl (Isabel) </TD></TR><TR><TD>QooSan</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>gummie</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eswallow</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>fairysnowberry</TD><TD>20-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>20-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>ino</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>may2006baby</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>teenoyl</TD><TD>22-May-2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chris</TD><TD>23-May-2006</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>fates</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>SS1</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bijin</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joceyline Wong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gabby's mum</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount E</TD><TD>Dr Chiew</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelsy</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Margaret Heng</TD><TD>29-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>matched gal</TD><TD>29-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Dolly Wee</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hi sally,

sure, i bring it out with me tomorrow

annie,

its the spring one i received also. it states 20% off storewide on the 21st mar 2006 (member's night)

I also received the mailer on 21 mar sale, its that spring sale and the 20% is storewide, not just 'spring' stuff. I thk Robinsons will break the customers into 2 or 3 groups, so not all will dashed in on 1 day, hard to shop also. But even if you dont receive the mailer, u can show your Robinsons card to gain entry, I tried that before :p

I am still washing my bb clothings, realised i got so many hand-me-downs from a few friends, so lucky....hehe. So far i only bought 1 set of clothing for my girl :p maybe 2nd birth, so abit diff from 1st birth, when i bought so many nice nice things :p thk 2nd one also abit slack liao :p

Pooh,
yes. This boss d advertise in e advertisement b4.
I have attached other website including the one that your refer to with the price on earlier post...
I will let my hubby cook e normal meal, with vineagar pork rib, red wine chicken, fried seseme oil chicken, pork liver with ginger.. think enough.. : )
My mother in law will come to help me for 1st week, so my hubby oso can learn from her.. i find some simple confinement receipts from e book.

thanks Fates for updating the table so faithfully

i jus did a count - we almost have an equal number of Boys &amp; Girls now, kekeke...

Would like to ask if anybody knows if at the Taka Fair...i buy $150 and above i can redeem free gifts?May i know if receipts have to be on the same day?

yasmin,
Great, u r back from yr holiday.. good sign.. your bb put on weight..

for me, i hand wash baby clothes including the blanket, handerchefs, towels etc..

Yup, back to reality.

wow annie, you very hard working leh. I thought of taking the short cut of machine-washing them.

Yasmin,
cos all baby clothes seems easily to have those "fur pop up" no matter how expensive you buy.. my hubby stated the quality isnt that good.. tats y have to hand wash..
if you want to use machine to wash, do put under the landry bag..

yasmin,

some old ppl feel that bb clothes shld be handwash...so have to go along with them loh.

How? Have you got your maid?

hey fairysnowberry,
i think ours is the yip guy too!!!! or was he jus mentioned by the receptionist at the clinic *scratch head*...haha...anyway, went for hosp tour at glen's today...can't help comparing wif tmc hor...haha...quite fun nonetheless...they not bad hor??? got tea for us...haha...*cheapo ah soh mentality...no lah...*...so, when u going to pay for the deposit??? u going with the citibank package???

hey ladies...
indeed...the robinson's sale is sent randomly to customers...do u also know that JL having 20% on 22 and 23 march...i received the mailer today...lagi better is that they have the famous $5 coupon!!! haha...
no lah...i haven't spent exactly 1k *i am guilty too...spent a couple of hundreds on myself as well - sale mah...haha* but definitely more than $500...

yes, fairysb...the cot, while cheap - bo bian delivery of $40 cos the assembly is cheap - $6 plus only...but how to have assembly without delivery? and i felt compelled to buy the mattress *$50* cos it's 'european std size' so afraid can't find mattress size outside...so, all in all - $210. sigh. feel a little cheated but never mind lah...sua!

hi chris,
woah...overall your cot is a steal! so cheap! your cot must be pretty big in order to accomodate an european size mattress! lucky bb. got more space to roll ard. ;-P my cot is ard 71 cm by 132 cm...

enuff of sales already. i told myself to stop buying. btw, my colleague was telling me not to use bb wipes during the 1st month becoz of the alcoholic content. Best to use lukewarm boiled water to clean bb's backside.

For those MTB who wants to buy diapers, NTUC is selling Pampers Newborn for $14.50 (cheaper than the usual px of $15.40)...but of coz the previous TMC deal of $12.80 per pack is the best...too bad i missed it. ;-( (i also very auntie now...sigh...is that a sign?) ;-P

morn all!

anyone been to the taka bb fair? heard they got a good deal there (aiya cannot resist buying again

intending to go and stock up on the avent milk bag and some pigeon disposable breast pad. i only got 1 box with me. seems like mummies from other thread has feedback that 1 box of 36+6 can last for abt 10 days only.

My first time here...just had a scare on wednesday as doc tot my bb may be coming out pre-mature at 31 weeks. now on mc and resting at home. Anyone can advice the difference btw contractions and the normal stomach pain??

Btw, my bb due on 21 May 06, by Dr Adrian Woodworth...

milo66,
y not u buy those plastic type that can hold leakage milk then can collect for bb to drink.. available in pigeon brand and avent. I have one given by my friend.
I oso brought e pigeon disposable breast pad, yes, 36 pcs + 6 foc.. my sis stated that depend on individual.. she didnt use for her case.. no leakage..

yasmin and cindy,

have u gals decide on the PD already? do keep me updated who u chose. thanks.

I realised i still have not bought lots of things usch as towels, shampoo and stuff and new born clothing..gosh

by the way,what is a receiving banket?

joyce,

i thought gynea can ease check using one type of strip that can put into your viginal path n take up, the colour change will indicate whether your contraction starts n going to labour soon or not..
most likely, all fake alarm.. think u have BH contraction just like me..

Take care

joyce,

i think your gynae have good grounds to suspect that. Likely he want you to have more rest at home so to ease up the stress. Just take his advice and rest cos at week 31, its really too early. Normal stomach pain shld be very constant as in you are always in pain while contraction is at regular intervals ( on then off and then come back again in minutes).

Milo, Taka sales really got the avent milk bags huh? I went to so many places but can't find any....

hi fates,

that wat i heard from those mummies that has been to the taka fair. me also looking for the bag for a long time liao. taka fair selling at $13 (i think)

Anyone has any idea about the child care leave? My company stated that i can only entitle to 1 day instead of 2 days this year since baby is coming out in May.

Hi Annie,

What is BH contraction? My doc was not around when I went to see him on wed. think he went on leave In the end was referred to Dr Ang at Sun plaza. he did insert something but did not comment much except to say it might be contraction and need to go hospital. Am a first time mum so very clueless...

Hi Ivy,

Thanks...maybe really due to stress coz now a lot of things to clear before going on my ML and am so afraid that I cant finish my work before leaving...

joyce,

Same as u, i am also 1st time Mum to be.. dun let yr work pressure stress you, especially you are already week 31.. will affect baby..

As for me, i go for a walk, play soft music or just take a day off to destress myself.. Sometimes, shopping do help for some gals

i got this full detail on BH contraction.. hope that this information can help you..

What are Braxton Hicks contractions?
Sometime towards the middle of your pregnancy (or even earlier), you may notice the muscles of your uterus tightening for anywhere from 30 to 60 seconds. Not all women feel these random, usually painless contractions, which get their name from John Braxton Hicks, an English doctor who first described them in 1872.

Doctors and midwives believe that Braxton Hicks contractions are part of your body getting ready for labour, and that they get the processes of effacement and dilation going in preparation for delivery. (This is called 'ripening'.)

How can I tell the difference between Braxton Hicks and real labour contractions?
Most women pregnant for the first time will often ask their midwives or friends this question, and the answer is maddeningly vague: "You'll know real labour when it begins." And they're right. Labour contractions are noticeably longer as well as more regular, frequent, and painful than Braxton Hicks contractions. Also, labour pains will increase in frequency, duration, and intensity as time goes on, while Braxton Hicks remain unpredictable and non-rhythmic.

What if the Braxton Hicks contractions become painful?
As your pregnancy progresses, these contractions may become more intense and even painful at times. When they start to become more intense and frequent, they may feel like the real thing, but the contractions will still be irregular in intensity, frequency, and duration, and can taper off and then disappear altogether. In other words, if you ever notice that your contractions are easing up in any way, they are probably Braxton Hicks.

Some healthcare professionals recommend that you use Braxton Hicks contractions as an opportunity to practise the breathing exercises you'll learn in your antenatal class.

What should I do if they're uncomfortable?
Many women notice that the contractions come more frequently when they do even light physical activity, such as carrying in shopping from the car. If you feel discomfort, it sometimes helps to lie down, or, conversely, to get up and take a walk, both of which can ease any pain you feel. A warm bath sometimes helps, too. Some healthcare professionals recommend drinking a couple of glasses of water if the contractions bother you as they can sometimes be brought on by dehydration. In general, a lack of adequate fluids tends to make your uterus more irritable - another of the many reasons to drink plenty of fluids while you're pregnant.

When should I call my doctor or midwife?
Call if your contractions are accompanied by watery or bloody vaginal discharge. Until you reach term (37 weeks gestation), call your midwife if the contractions are accompanied by lower back pain, if you feel more than three contractions an hour, or if they're coming at regular intervals; these are signs of premature labour. If you're past 37 weeks, there's no need to call your midwife until your contractions last 60 seconds each and are five minutes apart.

Joyce,
For me, i have this feeling of my private part got so squeeze n tight whenever i sit too long or wake up in e morning.. kind of disturbing, cause will make you walk like two legs apart n body bend forward.

Some gals told me this type of feeling is BH contraction.. Kind of sharp pain...but still bearable..
For what i Know, a real contraction is that the contract comes v fast n last longer with a gap of 10 to 15 mins apart.. The contraction will occurs very frequently n you do feel v v painful when times go by..

hi joyce,

do take care of yourself. last week, i was so busy walking at work that i tink i overexerted myself. The next day, my stomach sorta tighten the whole day! Felt so uneasy and uncomfortable. Called the gynae's clinic and was told to go down to A &amp; E...but as i did not have other symptoms...i decided to adopt a wait-and-see approach. Thankfully, after a good sleep, i was ok...so, most importantly, must rest if you feel your lower tummy tightening...i.e. u will feel that your tummy is rock hard.

Hi Chris

I am also a mum to be in May. Read from above u went to Gleneagles hosp tour. Can you let me know what is their package like? Got special package by Citibank? Both myself and hubby cant make it cos they only hv it on wkdays, not easy for us to take leave.
We are considering btwn Gleneagles and TMC now. Hv u been to TMC? So far u find which is better? What about the prices?
Hope you can help me. Thanks.

Wah...Annie so on it seems no need for me to help.

Yes, Babe99, if i were you, i prob will go to TMC by virtue of the fact that I attended antenatal there...like the maternity-specialisation of it. of cos Mrs Wong - Senior or Head Lactation/Parentcraft person is also an attraction.

email me at [email protected] and I will tell you more. no worries. cheers.

Hi Joyce,
My gynae is DR Adrian Woodworth too. and i had a premature scare at week 25. Now at week 33. Baby EDD supposed to be 5 May 06.
What happened? water bag leak? bleeding?

You don't accept PM?

sook

Hi everyone..

I've been MIA for a long time as I'm jus too lazy to post :p Just went for my 32wks scan. Little Kaelyn is growing well, weighing 1739grams. But poor mummy has to take more iron as my haemoglobin(anaemia) is borderline low 10.8/11. Well I've gotta "PU" if not mummy left with little iron. So OBS advised me to take iron pills every 2nd day if not i'll be unwell after giving birth. So now gotta pop iron pills every 2nd day
Hope that my BIG INTESTINE will not be CLOGGED after taking IRON PILLS... Does anyone has this problem???

Yo little nana, I have low haemoglobin too and am taking iron pills everyday. Why would our big intestine be clogged? Since you only need to eat the iron pill every alternate days, it shouldn't be as bad as mine so don't worry ya?

Thanks Annie for such a detailed write-up on the BH.Really benefited from reading it.

Hi all, Thanks for all the advice.

Dunno what happened either. the pain was at the lower left hand side of the stomach and started on monday but I ignore it coz tot it was gastric due to irregular eating...on wednesday it got so bad and the entire stomach seems to tighten into a hard ball and had trouble walking....so ended up going to see the doc..din expect the doc to send me to hospital immediately as I tot was on of the normal pain of preg

after the scare, me now urgently buying the essentials for the baby as I've not bought anything for him yet...

Hi Sook, nope, no leaking nor bleeding...just persistent pain that refuse to go away..funny now with the med and the resting at home, my stomach is better and bb is kicking more

Hi Little Nana,

I was also popping iron tablets daily up until recently. Cos those pills make me sick! bleeack! They made me puke! However my gynae didnt say i have low haemoglobin. He gave me the iron tablets when i told him i always feel faint and breathless..

Anyway i havent been popping my irons for a long time now.. hehe..sometimes also worried that i will faint during labour or something! But somehow, no motivation to take my iron tablets leh.. How?? should i continue to take them??

hi little nana,

i also had low haemo. My count was 10.3...lower than yours. Am popping 2 iron tablets a day! w/o them, i feel really breathless...

Hi fates,

Thanks for comforting me. sob... sob... Hope that it will help to improve anaemia after taking the iron pills and not too much of constipation problem. You gotta take care ya..

Hi Sponge

I think it will be best to take lor. As for the sake of our health and our little darling. According to my OBS, he said that after labour, our haemoglobin level will drop as low as 7 even tot we are at bordline low so it will be best to take to prevent us from feeling lethargic after labour. And we'll have enf energy to nurse our little darling.. SO this is my motivation ;)

Hi Ino..

Ours is not as bad. Still under borderline low
OBS said is to prevent from dropping lower. He said that it will be best to be above 11 b4 labour. Any constipation problem after taking Iron ?? Anyhow I dun feel tired, breathless or giddy leh??? Funnie ya..

Joyce,
It a very good sign that there is no bleeding or leaking. Most likely BH contractions. Did Dr Adrian prescribe you ventolin to reduse the contraction? You MUST rest at home, i.e. sleep-eat-watch tv. It could be very boring, but for the sake of baby, try to tahan to at least week 35 lo.

Little Nana,

Guess i gotta take them now..for the sake of my lil one..

By the way ladies, whats the difference between a milk bag and a liner?? I went to the taka fair with the intent to buy milk bags, but i think i got the liner instead..

chris,

initially, i oso want to choose Gleneagle since 1 of my gf just laboured in jan , told me that the charges are abt the same as mt A. However, if any complication involved, the charges will be far apart.. i duno is it true or not.. so stick to mt A..

Little Nana,

Oh! dear, hmm.. constipation is a v common name for me.. heheh..why not u try to eat orange, yellow pear ( Li) and prune junce? Its help me .. or maybe go swimming.. exercise does help yr big intestine to move.

Iron pill is v heaty n most likely to create constipation. i seldom take...

Ah ting ah...

kekeke... take better lor.
At most we suffer constipation together.. kekeke

Annie huh...

Thank you leh... I've ordered a bottle of prune juice to standby liao.. hahaha..SWIMMING??? I did not bring my two pcs to London leh??? Swim naked huh... kekeke As for iron, I''ve got no choice gotta take leh if not will faint or be very lethargic after labour.. if you do not hve anaemic like me den ur OBS will not advise you to take la. So dun worry la hor...

Hi ladies..

Any plan for pain relief?? I think I've decided to go for mobile epidural. Wanted to opt for TENS machine but was told that it will not be effective during the last stage of labour.. So how about you girls?? Any plan for normal epidural, mobile epidural, digital epidural, gas, TENS machine or etc????