(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hey milo,

i heard from my sil that Nepia is not bad. haven't gone around comparing diaper prices yet though...

btw i was curious and popped into the gymboree website just now. is it a baby specialty store? do they hv any outlets in singapore or you simply buy their goods online?

i bought the bath towels from NTUC, plain pastel coloured. each pc abt $4.50 only...
oh yes, when u buy newborn clothes, try to get some bigger sizes too (3-6mths) so tt bb can wear them longer as i understand they quickly outgrow 0-3 mths sizes...

yr samsung sounds like good buy... with all the vouchers that is. where did you buy? did u get it during promotion or something?

gummie,

yup yup.. that was i heard also

gymboree dun have any outlet in sin. we bought it online. quality wise quite good but rather ex so i bought all 6-12 mths size..keke

i bought it from best denki in imm. the promo starts from 08/03, not sure when it will end though. can go and have a look.

hi milo,
i read somewhere that i can't use softener for washing...i wanted to feel pigeon's texture but the whole package is completely sealed. no way to try unless u buy one pack of 10 which cost $25.

hi Milo,
i got Dryper Wee Wee (zoe tay's advertised).. NTUC is selling @ 23.95 for 2 paxs of 64 pcs each..
JL sells at $11.50 for each 64 pcs when they have sales... plus a 5% rebate..(if you have e member card).

hi annie,

not too sure leh.. u have any feedback on dryers? heard many mummies mentioned before that it will leak and cause red marks on some bb butt.. so far nepia has the best comments so thinking of trying that first.

milo66,
it was recommended by my colleague.. No complaint abt e leakage. ( i think you have to buy e suitable size)
for the rashes, my colleague d mention that whatever brand u use to anti rashes cream everytime when u change to a new dryper.. My colleague 2 babies dun have rashes problem..
Currently, my sis is using this brand, tats i stick to it..

gals,
So sorry, some missing words in my last posting.

Regarding someone mentioned abt the pads to use in e hospital after labour.. I have checked that according to Mt A, natural labour n c-section wont let you have pantry on e day that you have your delivery. So no choice, have to use the string type pad that hospital given..
On the 2nd days onwards, u can wear paper pantry, can either use Kotex Maternity pad (sell at NTUC), or DR Bao (sell at OG, v v thick).

gals,

can i check with you, where can I buy the receiving blanket? How does it look like? what brand?

In additional, I am also looking for bath towels, anyone know where i can get? Does Ausssion sells them?Usually what type of material?

bookworm,

a receiving blanket is a sq piece of towel-liked material with 1 corner shaped like a hood.

aussino got sell also.

the towel that aussino is selling is abit thick.

Hi Bookworm,

U can get the receiving blankets from major outlets. I think I bought 2-3. One from BB kingdom and another from Metro. The designs pretty lovely
i didn't know what it was for previously, so i bought 2-3 just in case more are required heeee...

For towels, i also bought around 2-3 at major departmental stores. Aussino not cheap ya? And ya, i do agree with Milo that Aussino ones may be pretty thick.

does any of you know if we are supposed to confirm a pediatrician before our delivery? my friend who delivered in TMC last month was surprised that my gynae did not inform me about choosing a pediatrician.

i did not attend the doctors' talk (part of TMC prenatal course) last week so can someone enlighten me? if i choose to go to a pediatrician or GP outside of TMC, does it mean nobody will check on my baby's health during his stay in the nursery?

hi bookworm,

i bought bath towels from aussino before, not only were they thick, the cotton fibres come out during every wash. i have since thrown them away cos they mess up my entire load of wash every time i wash them in the machine.

anyway that is just my experience, maybe i picked the wrong towels/material...

hi anastasia,

not sure abt tmc but for mt a, my gynae has already inform me regarding the booking of a pd for my baby. he will be in charge of checking his health once he is out and also during his stay in the nursery.

once discharge from the hosp, i can chose whether or not to return to that pd lor.

How'r all of u? Now March...May getting nearer
excited?

Annie,
Thanks for the reminder on "in the Womb" last nite.I do watched n quite scared abt the delivery part

Milo,
I start washing baby cloth, handkerchief, towels and nappies already. Almost done. Now left wth the new fitted sheet that I hav purchased fr the cot. I put all the clean n washed items in plastic bag, nearer to the date then took it out

It's best to get those mittens wth small holes for day use caused BB might sweat a lot in day time.

ino,
Re:nappies
I heard Pigeon brand not bad.

Re: baby towel
Try Aussino, I get the hooded towel from there.

Bookworm,
u can easily find receiving blanket fr baby department in departmental store, Kidsmall, and Kiddy palace.
Babysafe is a good brand to choose.

Bookworm,
not necessary to have the receiving blanket.. useful only when u bath e baby n use that to cover the head and the whole body..
i never buy since i witness how fast baby's hair dry up within few minutes..
just be aware of the cloth type, so v lousy, e fur come out so easily, not good for bb..

Qoosan,
u r welcome.. hmm.. i watched, i dun find it scarely.. i find that e western pp make a more correct way, by standing n pushing e baby out is more faster n easier compare to our local type. lay on e bed with 2 legs open wide.. imagine yr back spine, crib all under pressure of the contraction n e force of pushing..

if i have a chance to natural, i will tell my gynea that i want to do it as what i saw last nite, standing n 1/2 body bend on the bed.. faster the baby comes out, faster end the pain..

thanks fot the info. I will check out metro and the kiddy place this weekend. Still got so many to buy...urggg....

Bookworm,
almost forget to tell u, istean has this baby stuffs sales on till 28 May. Saw this receiving blanket, pigeon brand - got 20% discount.. didnt see the price.. paiseh..
i went there to buy nail cutter n nipple shield cover..

Wow you girls really on huh!

I got lots of hand-me-downs...haven't collect from my MIL yet....so haven't wash anything yet too..haa...me a slow coach.

Ya I'd caught "In the Womb" too. The delivery part is very scary hor...they really show the vaginal birth. eeee..

Annie, hmm the caucasians are more adventurous in the way they tried various methods of giving birth. Eg water birth, home birth etc etc. I guess standing up is easier for some as they have long legs, for us abit difficult

Contractions so pain already still got strength to stand up?

Beats me..

fates,
no worry, your Edd is on 25, still got time..hehhe :p
you have to do exercise at the late stage like squeezing, climbing stair case, stroll.. to help u on natural delivery..
i duno, for me, since already have to be in pain, then sure choose a faster way.. since e documentary programme stated that standing does better n faster e speed of delivery.. sure! i will choose.. got nurses, midwife n gynea beside me, no worry, oh! my hubby,heheh.. hopefully, he wont faint...hahah

In e womb only show simple natural delivery, through u see the part of how baby going through.. e other 2 programmes i watched, 1 show 3 difference cases of more complex and complicated natural delivery n c-section.. tats really scare me out..

bookworm,
Yes. if you can wait, maybe robinson sale is coming out soon.. but those standard brands are there forever like NUK, pigeon, .... some even more branded are oso at istean now.. quite expensive..

For me, i brought a lot at jb giant for pigeon baby clothes, cheaper there compare to here..

Attached a online baby clothes for you to view.. price is v reasonable n mostly those famous brands...
http://www.mybabyswardrobe.com/catalog/privacy.php

time to go hm soon.. my mouth has been feeling so bland the whole day, has a sudden craving for pizza hut and kfc.. yummy!

hi anastasia,

for the ped, you can check with your gynae, some will ask you to appt your own, some will arrange for you. I think the benefits of your gynae arranging for you is that he prob know the guy well and can communicate with him!

For the receiving blankets, i think TMC do provide cos i was there for the whoel afternoon today and managed to catch some BBs being discharged. They are all in the same receiving blankets, so i assume that it must be from TMC!

for your information

You're 31 Weeks Pregnant

Hello from BabyCenter!

Your baby weighs just over 3 pounds and is a bit more than 16 inches long. She's probably moving more than ever before, too, so you may even have trouble sleeping because your baby's kicks and rolls keep you up at night. If you're having this problem, comfort yourself with the knowledge that your baby is active and healthy. You may also start to feel your uterus contract every now and then as your body gears up for delivery day. These Braxton Hicks contractions aren't the real thing, but if you get more than four contractions in an hour, give your doctor or midwife a call to make sure it's not preterm labor.

How your baby's growing: This week, your baby measures about 16 inches long. He weighs a little over 3 pounds and is headed for a growth spurt. He can turn his head from side to side, and he's beginning to accumulate a layer of fat underneath his skin in preparation for life as a newborn. As a result, his arms, legs, and body are filling out.
Note: Experts say every baby develops differently even in the womb. This developmental information is designed to give you a general idea of how your baby is growing.

How your life's changing: You may have noticed some leaking of colostrum, or "premilk," from your breasts lately. Some expectant moms experience this leaking, others don't; either way, it's perfectly normal and you can rest assured that your body is doing what it's meant to do. If you're leaking, you may want to tuck some nursing pads in your bra to protect your clothes. And if you plan to breastfeed, you might also want to pick up a nursing bra. If your current bra is too snug, go ahead and wear the nursing bra now. (When shopping, choose a nursing bra at least one cup size bigger than you need now to accommodate the swelling that will take place when your milk comes in.)

Have you noticed the muscles in your uterus tightening now and then? Some women feel these random contractions called Braxton Hicks contractions in the second half of pregnancy. Lasting from 30 to 60 seconds, they're nonrhythmic and irregular and, at this point in your pregnancy, they should be infrequent and not painful. (When you're within a few weeks of your due date, it's normal for Braxton Hicks contractions to become more frequent and even somewhat painful; in fact, they're often called "false labor" because sometimes it can be hard to tell them from the real thing.) Until 37 weeks, though, your baby is still premature. So if you're getting frequent contractions (even if they don't hurt), it may be a sign of preterm labor. Call your practitioner immediately if you have an increase or change in vaginal discharge (especially if it's watery, mucus-like, or pink or tinged with blood), abdominal pain or menstrual-like cramping, more than four contractions in an hour, an increase in pressure in the pelvic area, or low back pain, especially if you didn't have it before.

If you're having a boy, you and your partner will want to take some time to think about whether or not to have your baby circumcised. Find out what the procedure involves.

for your information

Y o u ' r e i n W e e k 3 2

Hello from BabyCentre!
Don't panic if you feel your baby moving less frequently now. She's got less room to move in your uterus and can't do the backflips and somersaults you're both used to. As long as you can feel her squirming from time to time, she's fine. By this stage, most babies have turned head down into the 'cephalic' position ready for birth. A few take a little longer and a few remain stubbornly upright in the 'breech' position. If your baby is breech, there's still time for her to turn.

Fetal Development - Week 32

Your baby's arms, legs and body continue to fill out and they are finally proportional in size to her head. She weighs about 4 pounds/1.8 kilograms and looks more like a newborn. She measures about 18 inches/ 45 centimetres from crown to toe.

You may notice your baby isn't moving around as much. Don't worry; she's just running out of space in your uterus. As long as you can feel her squirming, you'll know she's just fine. Believe it or not, she still has plenty of growing to do. You can expect her to gain at least two more pounds/900 grams before delivery.

Your baby's organs are continuing to mature and she is passing water from her bladder: good practice for the urinating she'll do after she's born. Soon you can wonder what your baby is wishing for brain scans have shown that fetuses have periods of dream sleep around month eight.

You've probably gained three to four pounds / 1.3 to 1.8 kilograms this month. Gaining a pound/450 grams a week is quite normal during the last trimester as your baby has a final growth spurt before birth.

Hope this information helps, for me, i alway find myself sleep flat when i awake during the nights even i alway sleep left side. Hence, my spine alway in pain, but i notice something, my boy seems to kick and making lots of adjustment if i sleep side way.. any good advise?

Sleep in the third trimester

Most women have trouble sleeping at some stage of their pregnancy, and often remember a good night's sleep as a distant memory as the birth gets closer. Find out what to expect sleep-wise during your third trimester, and why it's happening.

Trouble getting comfortable
As your pregnancy moves into its final phase, sleep may become a hazy memory. Your bump is now simply too big to allow you to lie down comfortably. If sleeping on your left side with pillows wedged between your legs and behind your back doesn't help, try settling in a comfy chair instead. In the final four to six weeks, you may find that you get your best rests by sleeping sitting up.

Bladder under pressure -- again
Remember during your early pregnancy days when it seemed as though you spent more time in the bathroom than out of it? Well here we are again. This time it's thanks to your growing baby, who's putting pressure on your bladder. You can try to reduce the number of trips to the loo by cutting back on fluids in the late afternoon and completely emptying your bladder on every trip to the toilet by leaning forward when you pee.

Heartburn and other sleep stealers
Don't be surprised if heartburn, leg cramps, restless leg syndrome, and snoring, not to mention your baby's kicking and squirming, keep you awake at night during your third trimester. Studies show that pregnant women in their third trimester have fewer periods of deep sleep and wake up more often during the night. In short, the quality of your sleep is heading towards an all-time low.

BabyCentre GP Dr Morag Martindale says: 'I advise women to try to catch up during the day if the opportunity arises. Otherwise you can become really run down and exhausted. This can become a bit of a vicious circle since cat naps during the day will reduce the requirement for sleep overnight. Nevertheless, this pattern will continue when you are dealing with night feeds so it may be some time before you will want to get back to a normal diurnal (asleep at night and awake during the day) rhythm.'

A taste of things to come
Although you can ease or avoid some of these sleep disturbances, it's likely that you will have to endure some sleepless nights. Think of this time as a dress rehearsal for life after your baby is born!

Good Morning All!

I'm back from my trip. Got sunburned without even realising it. My nose was bleeding for 4 days while in Melbourne. Now its ok. I also have developed piles. Went to see gynae yest and he did a simple procedure to push back the piles in cos he said cannot operate now.

Baby overall is good. Baby gained abt 300+g in 10 days. I'm very happy and pleased with her.

anyone thinking of getting bottle/food warmer?
Saw it at OG and there is a discount for Tollyjoy electric bottle/food warmer plus 2 pcs 8oz bottle @ $26.90.

any1 will be ordering confinement tingkat service?? tried one trial today and portion was huge and nt so 'ginger'. Nt bad.

hi milo,

I happen to have the same gyne as u, Dr HK Ho, fm Mt A. Check with u, when did he tell u that he has arranged a PD for u? Cos he did not tell me leh. Must I ask him? Scared nobody to check on baby when he is born. Tks.

hi veggie,

yup.. he asked me during my detailed scan whether i have anyone in mind for a PD so i told him i prefer Dr Terence Tan. perhaps u can check with him on ur next visit

hei K Ong,
wah...ur gyne not nice to you...charge u $50. mine from glen charges me $42. lagi worse....i heard some mtbs get their prolacta at $36 from their gyne at TMC. Unless the mummy whose gyne so nice charges her $36, is willing to help us buy in bulk...otherwise, we just have to settle for it at our respective prices lor...sigh.

hei the rest of the mummies...
in case anyone is interested in watching in the womb but cannot catch it...email me at [email protected] and i will send u this ppt for a brief look at the same pics they show in this amazing documentary. quite fascinating.
btw, annie...i realise by now u still didn't see the mistake - that it is channel 11, not 12.
cheers.

chris,

yes, i realise that only when i watched the part 2.. so only msn some gals abt the mistake.. thinking that i already stated under National Geographic channel..

thanks.. By e way, what is prolacta? My gynea only give me mutli-vitamin (obmin, red colour)..

Cindy & pooh,

Hope that these website helps:

http://www.confinement.com.sg/

Deluxe Package
2 Meals/Day, 7 Days/Wk for 28Days $1,388 $88
Basic Package I
1 Meal/Day (Lunch or Dinner), 7Days/Wk for 28Days $768 $38
Basic Package II
2 Meals/Day (Lunch & Dinner), 7 Days/Wk for 14Days $768 $38
7 Days Package I
1 Meal/Day (Lunch or Dinner), 7days/Wk for 14Days $388 NA
7 Days Package II
2Meals/Day (Lunch & Dinner), 7 days/Wk for 7Days $388 NA
One-Off Trial $25 NA

* Early Bird Discount is applicable for orders booked 4 weeks before expected Due Date.

Note:

Menu include 1pkt of Rice & 1 Flask of Red Dates Longan Tea (abt 350ml) for every meal.
For those who have single meal /day, the menu will be alternated so that you could enjoy the full spectrum of our menu.
We reserve the right to change the price & menu without prior notice.
Price Listed does not include ERP Charge (If Applicable)

http://www.firstdelight.com.sg/

P1-$1388 Menu A(2 Meals for 30 Days)
P2-$1188 Menu B(2 Meals for 30 Days)
P3-$760 Menu A(1 Meal for 30 Days) Lunch Dinner
P4-$680 Menu B(1 Meal for 30 Days) Lunch Dinner
P5-$388 Menu A(2 Meals for 7 Days)
P6-$358 Menu B(2 Meals for 7 Days)
Note: Food will be delivered 7 days a week. A complimentary Red Dates
Longan Drink and Rice will be served with every meal.

http://www.newbaby.com.sg/

Packages
Pricing Duration
Menu A ( 2 Dishes + 1 soup for Lunch & Dinner)
Package A
$1,300.00 4 Weeks X 7 Days

Free additional 2 days lunch & dinner

Package B
$1,000.00 4 Weeks X 5 Weekdays

Package C
$360.00 1 Week X 7 Days

Menu B ( 2 Dishes for Lunch & 1 Soup + 2 Dishes for Dinner)
Package D $1,068.00 4 Weeks X 7 Days

Package E $800.00 4 Weeks X 5 Weekdays

View / Print Menu List
*5% Discount for all orders placed 1 month before Expected Of Delivery.
(Not applicable to package C)

morning all,

robinsons having members night again on the 21st march, got storewide 20% discount but it states that not applicable for pigeon (special buy). anyone knows whether the babywipes are consider special buy?

Good Morning,
Yesterday I bought some stuff for my gal. Also got some nice clothings for my gal from the warehouse sale in Melbourne. Really cheap leh, everything going at 2 to 3 dollars each piece.

I will be having my next appt with gynae on 28 Mar. Cant wait!

yes, milo66....baby wipes are special buy but still worth shopping since some of us have discussed that their disc is the best with 20 + 5%.. oh my...i think i not spending anymore this month on baby...hitting 1k soon....wah...buah ta han liao...

ino and fairy...we went to ikea yesterday n bought a cot!!!! (for mil)...$125!!! down fr $339!!! not bad hor...can convert to junior bed...only problem is dunno whether the side railing can be adjusted cos display set shows it to be quite shallow...like quite dangerous that baby can crawl out...of cos aft delivery n assembly...price higher liao but i thought not bad hor???? haha....and since mil dun like white *strange hor...old people w/funny ideas*....it's like natural oak colour.

also, about PD...I have booked a PD via my gyne...apparently need to do so, have u done that, fairysnowberry? I cannot remember the PD's name but maybe we might hv the same PD?? hee.
cheers.

chris,

yup.. very excited abt the sales.. really is good buy, cant wait to go grab
jus realise that i bought alot of things but all in min only so gotta stock up.

i also buah tahan liao.. everything need $$ ah. i dun spend so much on myself also but wat to do, all so cute..keke

wow chris, you've already spent 1k. Thats quite abit. I spent 100 only yest and feel that its too much. Got scolded by my HB too.
HB is a stingy toad!

Gals

Kotex maternity pad - adhesive type is selling @ $5.90 for 10 pcs each pax @ watson. Now having 20% discount. So only $4.72. (duno abt NTUC price).

Watson is having this lucky draw if you hit $18.00 n able to buy 1 selected item @ $1.00. ( hair gel, cotton wool etc).

Hey Chris,

I thought Ikea charges quite a lot for delivery and assembly? How much did you pay for yours? Yeap my gynae rec a PD but same here, i dont remember his name. I think his surname is Yip.