(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

I'm into my 32 weeks..have a question.

My stomach is feeling really heavy at the lower part.. that is makes me feel very tired just walking..

Baby should be fine..my checkup is due this thu..
He is kicking like kicking soccer..

Do you feel the same way?? My lower back feels sore too..something heavy pressing my butt too..

Dun think its real contractions or BH contractions..

Tried changing position to sit.. legs become numb..

What to do huh?? Try breathing or monitoring?? Feel kinda of stupid to go see gynae or doctor

Hi Ray,

Am in the same week as you. Its normal to feel heavy at the lower part, esp now as our bb has more or less turn into a head-down position, hence the discomfort at the pelvic area.

When i feel tightness or heaviness at the lower part, i'll stop whatever i'm doing, and take a DEEP breath. Followed by some gentle tummy-rubbing. Of cos it wun make the ache go away fast, but at least will provide some ease.

Dun be shy to consult ur gynae.. cos 1st-time mothers sure everything dunno one mah..gynaes are the pros, so they will know whats best for mother and bb.

Ray n sponge

I also felt the same, I ask my obs at wk 28, he said its normal, esp when its my 2nd child, my pelvic muscles not as strong as before

I also have abit of contraction kinda feeling, like bottom part got 'pulling' effect. I got this during menses days also. Afraid baby will come out anytime :p

I didnt go for any glucose test. My obs didnt say anything abt it. Is it necessary?

Hi eve,

During my checkup 2 weeks ago, the gynae commented I tested gluclose in my urine... But he didnt say anything, only asked me if I drank anything sweet before the urine test, which I drank milk tea. So he say he will monitor since I have no family history too..

He also said my baby's head is bigger than average and the legs is also longer..most prob baby is tall..

Anyway, since then I tried to control my sugar and cut down on carbohydrates..esp. white bread. I have been snacking bread for tea. Worried about diabetics during pregnancy

I know that fates is faithfully upkeeping all our progress... Want to exchange tel nos so that when we pop, we can inform someone else to help us announce the arrival of our little precious? Just a thought...

Ray

I see. Urine test is the one we did everytime we go for the checkup isit?

Then u have to watch your diet, i heard it can be rather bad if u have diabetes during pregnancy. Take care.

hei fairysnowberry,

yes...skin's always itchy cos it's being stretched, so i guess - moisturise as and when u can lor. no choice.

as for the nasi lemak - it's at Adam Road Hawker Centre - the famous one where the Sultan sends his people to get it for him. Corner stall - see where the queue is and u know u found it.

Saw gyne yesterday - checking wif u girls out there...has anyone done 3D scan? Gyne intends to charge $100-120 per pic taken. DUnno if that's reasonable.

I have put on a terrible 11kg since conception and had two horrific jumps in weight - previously from a 56 to 60, then now, from 61 - 65!!!! Doc had good laugh - accrued it to "absorbing nutrients very well...mummy's putting on all the weight..not baby..." is anyone else like me out there?? You know how weight is ever such a sensitive issue with the ladies...bugged me the whole time and hubby's going crazy with my incessant asking of "Am i fat...i fat meh...where got fat??!!" kind of questions....hahahha...

dunno how to 'cut down' further leh...die...going to end up a fat auntie after childbirth....*shake head*

Ray,
bread isnt that high in sugar level compare to white rice.maybe u can use low sugar jam ...
my boy didnt turn down, but i oso feel the pain.. my collegue, her 1st one oso didnt turned down, so pressed her nerves causing lot of pain..pray hard that my boy wont do. Else, will end up like my colleague.. She had c-section for her 1st

hi chris,

u r so funny!

not to worry. i've got a colleague who put on 20kg during pregnancy and she managed to slim back to her old weight. ;-) i'm also very scared of putting on weight...so i'm very kiasu...booked a malay massage lady...hopefully it works. ;-P

in any case, see u at adam road hawker centre. me knocking off at 5.30pm.

chris,
no worry leh.. i oso put on 11kg. Worst, i lost 3 kg for the 1st trimmester due to day sickness n migraine attracks so frequently that made me keep puking out everything.
Can you imagine a big jump of 4kg on the 4th mth then another 7 kg within 3 mths.
i think so.. 3D is quite expensive.. my gynea only let me view once... but that time my boy was sleeping.. so can see his eye shut n one hand at the side of the face..

Luckily, my gynea never charged me extra..

chris,

i am no better lah...Already getting ready for my gym class after birth. Else i can never fit into my pre-preg clothes! Maybe we can jog at the park at night then....

looks like i'm still the record holder for having put on 12kgs by 29th week...

i plan to get a threadmill to help with my post-natal slimming... i'm willing to get a second-hand one that is in reasonably good condition. anyone one of you here has a 'white elephant' of this description to let go off?

Milo, You are so brave....dare to poke and test blood yourself now....me still a scarety cat!

Girls, breech position is heads up or down??

gabby's mum, annie got some of our mobile numbers from our last gathering. Maybe you can ask her to send you a copy? But please do not anyhow forward the list tho', don't want any prank calls or sales people calling our cell phone :p

sponge,
i thought caesarian has to be done at week 38. (2 weeks before actual).. thats what my gynea stated...
my boy oso didnt turn down at this moment. Moreover, i have low placenta so chances for caesarian is v high unless miracle happen..

GUMMIE,

r u sure u r record holder here? I dun think so, i put on weight 11kg on week 28, gynea stated that weight will keep on going up, i just weight this morning, already put on additional 2 kg.. dear.. dun worry too much abt yr figure..
Wait,kena post natal depression.. not good for you...
Read from book, 3 hours after labour, our homo change rapidly.. include 1 important essential that is present when we are pregant and gone when we deliver. That essence is to make us feel happy, content...
our breast n buttock will sink 1 day after we deliver..

infor for those who have hit week 31 this week.

Y o u ' r e i n W e e k 3 1
Hello from BabyCentre!
Good news -- at this point your baby's lungs and digestive tract are nearly mature, meaning she'll do much better in the event of premature birth. Researchers also believe your baby can actually see now, in utero, but no one knows exactly how much she can make out. She's also becoming more cramped in your uterus and less able to move so freely, although when she does move, it's very noticeable.

For those who have hit week 30 this week like me, here are the info.

How your baby's growing: Your baby's a bit more than 15 1/2 inches long now, and she weighs almost 3 pounds. A pint and a half of amniotic fluid surrounds her, but that volume will decrease as she gets bigger and fills out your uterus. Her eyes open and close, she's able to distinguish between light and dark, and she can even follow a light source back and forth. Once she's born, she'll keep her eyes closed for a good part of the day. When she does open them, she'll respond to changes in light but will have a visual acuity of only 20/400 which means she can only make out objects a few inches from her face. ("Normal" vision in adults is 20/20.)
Note: Experts say every baby develops differently even in the womb. This developmental information is designed to give you a general idea of how your baby is growing.

How your life's changing: You may be feeling a little tired these days, especially if you're having any trouble sleeping. You might also feel clumsy, which is perfectly understandable. Not only are you heavier, your balance is off and your joints are loosened, thanks to pregnancy hormones. Those loose joints can actually cause your feet to grow a shoe size --permanently.

Remember those mood swings you had earlier in pregnancy? The combination of uncomfortable symptoms and your hormones may result in a revisit of those ups and downs you felt in the first few months. It's normal to worry about what your labor will be like or whether you'll be a good parent, but if you can't shake the blues or feel increasingly anxious or irritable, talk to your doctor or midwife. You may be among the 10 percent of expectant women who battle mild to moderate depression during their pregnancies.

And if you think you might like some kind of pain relief for labor and delivery, now's a good time to look into your options.

formation..hopes help

Sponge,
regarding c-section, u better check careful with your gynea. Just checked with my colleague, she said no way to operate at week 40, too dangerous cos water bag might burst before week 40 and if burst, contraction will occurs and more dangers if your bb didnt turn or lay flat.. u will push even if you dun want to push. will harm your bb and yrself

382043.png

You are now in your 32nd week of pregnancy.

Baby-- Your baby's movements are probably changing they may seem less frequent and less forceful because she's running out of room in your uterus and can't turn somersaults any more. Your baby can now move her head from side to side, her organs are continuing to mature and a layer of fat is being laid down beneath her skin.

Mother-- Until your baby drops down into your pelvis (at about 37 weeks for first pregnancies and not until delivery if you've already had a baby), you may be feeling breathless, as though you can't get enough air. This happens because your uterus has grown so large it presses up against your diaphragm the large flat muscle that aids breathing. Relaxing helps, so try to rest as much as possible. Resting can also help if your baby is measuring small for dates.

Development-- Your baby's arms, legs and body continue to fill out and they are finally proportional in size to her head. She weighs about 4 pounds/1.8 kilograms and looks more like a newborn. She measures about 18 inches/ 45 centimetres from crown to toe. You may notice your baby isn't moving around as much. Don't worry; she's just running out of space in your uterus. As long as you can feel her squirming, you'll know she's just fine. Believe it or not, she still has plenty of growing to do. You can expect her to gain at least two more pounds/900 grams before delivery. Your baby's organs are continuing to mature and she is passing water from her bladder: good practice for the urinating she'll do after she's born. Soon you can wonder what your baby is wishing for brain scans have shown that fetuses have periods of dream sleep around month eight. You've probably gained three to four pounds / 1.3 to 1.8 kilograms this month. Gaining a pound/450 grams a week is quite normal during the last trimester as your baby has a final growth spurt before birth.

hi Annie & sponge,

thanks for posting the information.

just went for check up yesterday. my baby is about 1.5kg at week 29. my weight gain seems to have slowed down. only gained 3kg over last 6 weeks. total weight gain is 11kg. but baby's weight shot up almost 700g from 880g at week 26.

gynae said everything normal. asked him when baby's head should turn and he said to worry only if his head does not remain down by week 37. cos baby's head will still turn up anytime now.

Thanks sponge for the explanation..aiyah be it week 38 or 40.. your gynae will sure advised accordingly when you're nearer to delivery ok

Gals & Cindy

I have checked and confirm. "in e womb" will show at 10pm @ national Geographic chanel 12, SCV cable vision on 13 March 2006 (Coming Monday).
Dont miss..

Like to ask anyone knows where to get or print out the application form for Maternity leave?
I think i have 2 print out and fill in e application and submit to my co before i go for the leave. The application form will only submit by account side when i am back from M. leave.. is it correct?
My co dun have a HR department. My colleague stated that has to print out from MOM. However, i tried to find @ MOM website but cant find any..

good morning matsu,

i have here the estimated hospital bill size for SGH:
For a 1-bedder (A1): $2560 - $1500 (Medisave) = 1060 (Cash)
For a 4-bedder (B1): $2280 - $1500 (Medisave) = 780 (Cash)

hope this information helps you

Eve, Ivy & all gals,

Eve, thanks for your help to send me the application form.

Ivy, we have to submit the form to HR department ( for my co, no HR, so have to give 2 secretary) 1 week before you go on leave. Account department will have to submit to government after you come back from your maternity leave, so that company can claim your 3rd mth salary from government. (Company will need 2 pay you the 3rd mth first).

There are two types of form up to i know of. However, 1st time mum only need to fill in the application form which i have attached..

I have gone through the application form, quite personal particular required, like your child birth cert, date of birth, whether you are married or not...

Hope this information helps ..

thank you gummie,
ya it seems SGH's bill is lower.KK's B1 bedder price is equivalent to SGH A1 price. Will have to consider again. Thanks a million

Annie,

so u r filling in the form on yr company behalf?

as far as i know, i only need to submit an internal form to HR before i go on leave and HR will do the rest.

twinkle,

yah, i think each company have diff policy. Some are more personal than others. I supposed Annie have to do herself as her company do not have a HR dept...

Anybody going to the Baby Fair at Expo this weekend? Wonder what they gonna have there :p

Like to seek for advise.. help again!
My cute hubby went to buy another bottle of Neuograin (fish oil) for me. End up, i have more than enough. Previously, i brought 2 bottles (60 pills back from JB cos $10 cheaper than NTUC).
Is it advisable to eat 2 pills a day or strictly follow 1 pill a day stated on the label?
Is it that we cannot eat after labour?

My gf just email me this information.. hopes its help:

1 MORE DAY!!
GREAT OFFERS FROM BAYB SUPPLIES
AT BABYCARE FESTIVAL
SINGAPORE EXPO HALL 5A
10 March to 12 March, 2006
11am to 9pm (Friday & Sat)
11am to 8pm (Sun)

VISIT US AT BOOTH C10

FREE ANDERSONS ICE-CREAM VOUCHERS TO GIVEAWAYS
(pre-fill up the attached form and submit to us at Booth C10)

BAYB SLINGS
OFFER PRICE - $35* SAVE $33
*Trade in your old slings* and get a new EVENING ROSE or EVENING TULIP Sling at only $35
NO TRADE-IN - $42

GROBAGS
FIRST PIECE - 10%
SECOND PIECE - 20%

ALLERHAND BAGS
FIRST BAG - 10%
SECOND BAG - 15%

BAYB BANDANAS
OFFER PRICE - $15 U.P. $18.90

EDSA - COLOSTRUM
BUY 3 GET ONE FREE

CHILDREN BRANDED APPARELS
FROM $8.90 onwards

OTHERS PRODUCTS INCLUDE:
MATERNITY & NURSING WEARS,
EDUCATIONAL CDs, CD-ROMs, DVDs & VCDs, Books, King's Kid fabric educational products, Feeding spoons, Snappi Diaper Cloth & Fasteners, Craft materials, Tiny Thots products, Playmats & MORE

LUCKY DRAW WITH EVERY PURCHASE
WIN $720 WORTH OF MANDARIN PLAY PROGRAMME FROM JULIA GABRIEL
FREE GIFT WORTH $16.90 WITH PURCHASE OF $150
WHILST STOCK LAST

Annie, who says after labour cannot eat? You can ask your husband to help you eat the leftovers if you are scared? DHA, or fish oil in general, is good for brains and eyes.. It's a health supplement so there won't be any side effects..if it's harmful, the pharmacy won't be selling it right? :p

hi eve, thanks! let us know if you see any good deals? I should be going on Saturday.

cheers,

Hi girls

I know that I missed the last gathering so I was wondering if all of us are free to meet before we all pop. I suggest that we can meet Good Friday Weekend on 14 April 2006 in the afternoon for tea. I then can make arrangements for babysitting for my son. What do you think?

gabby's mum,
Sound great and ok for me! however, i think for those who have early EDD might not b able to make it if C-section has to take place.. (2 weeks b4 actual EDD)will be around mid April..
where should we meet? cos p.holiday, a lot of people around..
any good suggestion?

Annie, hope you don't mind being kaypo. I thought neurogain is also taken by breast feeding moms (after the baby is born). I intend to continue taking Neurogain till after i deliver and breast feed.

Please dun take supplements for medicine more then prescribed.

gabby's mum,

Maybe we shld meet a bit earlier? Maybe 25th March ( Sat). I was thinking that April, we will be too advanced and i will be too lazy to go out with a big tummy. Already start to feel the stress of walking with a big tummy these days..hee...

wat you think?

sook,
Thanks for your advise. My gynea only give me multi-vitamin (red in colour).
Other than that, i take myself, like neurogain, my sis told me to eat becos her gynea gave her that.. My hubby got me the calcuim pills, stated that i keep complaining abt my back pain... I oso take folic acid since books and documentary programme mentioned it..

Hi annie,

It's impt that u do not 'self-medicate'. It's betta to consult your gynae on the correct dosage for your supplements. But i'm rather surprised tt your gynae just gave u multi-vits.

ivy, nice meeting u last wed! at least i can now put a face to twinkle-starry and you! btw, dun think i can make it on 25 Mar.

hi milo,
i still haben rec my gymboree stuff. *sob sob*...i shall check my letter box this afternoon again. keeping my fingers crossed.

hi chris,
how's the isetan sale? good? did u manage to buy any stuff? i'm waiting for the next robinson sale to buy the pigeon nappies hehehe...
so u going to the bb expo? i may pop in tmr...depending on my condition. i tink i got a strain on my lower tummy...

hi ino,

i am really really sorry. the package that i sent to you has been returned to me yesterday due to smudging of the address. i will arrange to resend tonight using waterproof ink or u prefer to meet me tomorrow at the expo.

paisay that i didnt inform u earlier cos hubby was supposed to be hm last night but halfway in the air, aircraft got prob thus they u-turn back for emergency landing. very worried abt him cos quite a no of them was bleeding from the ear and it slip my mind liao.. really sorry..

hei ino,
yeah - went to isetan yesterday - bought my own stuff more than baby stuff but i did buy the nipple shields from medela....thanks for reminder. actually, difficult to decide when to buy things cos tho there will be GSS during may june but we will be so stuck with our newborns...sigh...yet, buy now also tricky since u never know what happens then...baby too big, too small...thousand n one thing...
i actually like v much to pop by the expo thingy but i think i might hv spent too much money on baby stuff and such alrdy...yet, tempted...but hubby not ard so not sure if i wanna go alone too...sigh.

Ino,
My gynea also gave my colleague multi vitamin (think obmin is e name) when she was under him for her 2 babies..
I think maybe b'cos my gynea package is cheap compare to others..

Will have to check with him.. have been writting a list of notes that i would like to ask him on my next visit.. else, forget again.

Anyone experience red swollen nose? i did. My colleague said looks like clown..