(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

fates,
my gal till now still dunno how to bite from a piece of papaya.Needs to cut into small cubes.Most of the time ended up playing with it instead of eating. This over protective mummy of hers, let her have pureed porridge for too long and now paying for it! Even her fish a bit flacky also cannot.Will choke,spilt out or vomit!Haiz..

Would like to know is it normal for tots this age still unable to chew? I've seen many already taking table food.

Cheri,
i hear that comment all the time!

littletot,
Same same!! hahaha.. when my 'princess' eats at home, she refuse to even take a slightly chunkier piece of meat/fish! She will spit it all out without bothering to chew.. But the strange thing is.. she can take a large mouthful when we go outside for dinner....! -_-"

lh_jyc,
No longer a civil servant? ;)

Ivy,
Aiyo it must be a real fright for u! Kids ar.. they very greedy one.. they will take a large bite.. then end up cannot even chew on the fruit..

Re: Lunch on the 22nd
I'm joining! Can slot me in? 1 bb 2 adults. Tks!

ya,
xavier have been chewing his food and eating big chucks of solids for quite a while already. No longer need to mesh up his fruits for him. But for appples or pear, i will still cut a wedge for him to eat rather than 1 apple by himself. Think that day he is too greedy...bit from the appple and dunno why end up eating the seed too...Now have to tell everyone dun let him bit by himself!

22nd lunch:
1) Ivy - 2 adults and 1 kiddo
2) milo
3) Taurus aka maymummy
4) Annie
5) Pooh - 2 kiddos and 2 adults
6) gabby- 2 kids and 2 adults (Tentative)
7) Ino - 1 babe and 2 adults
8) Shawny17 - 2 kiddos and 2 adults
9) Sponge - 2 adults and 1 kiddo

Hi Sponge,

Nah...still one ;p
just diff ministry and trying to adapt to a new environment.

For those who are interested in photoshoot for ur darlings, i strongly recommend Funshotz.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/884837.html?1196528221
their service is really good n prices are reasonable actually i think they are cheaper than the others.
I love the photobook they did for R

Updated!

22nd lunch:
2) milo
3) Taurus aka maymummy
4) Annie
8) Shawny17 - 2 kiddos and 2 adults
9) Sponge - 2 adults and 1 kiddo
10)Little Nana - 2 adults and 1 kiddo

<font color="aa00aa">Magic Fiddler <u>Music Together</u> Trial class</font>

<font color="ff0000">The class is <font size="+1">ON</font>!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Date: 15 Dec 2007 (SAT)
Time: 10.15 am - 11am (45 mins)
Amt: $30
Location: 402 Orchard Road, #04-03/04 Delfi Orchard, Singapore 238876
Class size: 5 - 6

Pls put your nick here if you're interested:

1) bbloh
2) Joyce
3) Elaine (bbloh's friend)
4) Qoosan?
5)
6)

and send me a PM of the following for registration:

Name of Child:
Contact no.:

<font color="aa00aa">Try to reach at 10am to fill in some forms. Bring some water for tot to drink and dress tot preferably in pants or anything comfy as there'll be some movements involved.</font>

For more info, http://www.magicfiddler.com/frames.html

Ih_jyc,
Yes, the class is ON. Which package did you take for Funshotz? How much did u pay? Any photos to share with us?

Qoosan,
Can you pls send me a PM for registration?

Just to share,
I've spoken to the music teacher, Deirdree (who's a mum of 3 kids) and I like the way the class is described by her. It is very different from other music classes such as Kindermusik as if you notice, KM doesn't make music. Instead, they <font color="aa00aa">consume</font> music, i.e. they only play CD and sing songs or perform certain actions in response to the songs played by a CD. On the other hand, Music Fiddler encourages the use of body movement and vocal to <font color="aa00aa">make</font> music - as in A-Cappella. No music is generated through playing of CDs during class.

It seems interesting. Hope we'll enjoy the class this Sat. ^_^</font>

Hi bbloh,

The lesson sounds interesting ;p looking forward to it

I took the only U package @$145. They gave me the entire photoshoot in CD...will post some later tonite. show u the book this saturday.

RE: mini elcair,
Hmm.. i doubt so, should be cheaper, amosco 1 carton cost $43.85 (12 trays), $100 then deliver, even self collection also must placed 2days in advance and collect within office hour (5days).. so troublesome, worst oni 1 favour.

lh_jyc,
Oh! I ordered 3 cartons few weeks ago... 1 colleague super crazy on but she is currently on leave.. else can lobang you.. sorry..

ivy,
Wah! lucky you were there..you must be v worried.

Rascal k is a super greedy boi, keep on insert food regardless his mouth already full.. so whenever he chokes or cough while eating, e rough mummy slap his back hard to make e food come out..

Hi QooSan,

Nope not inclusive of parents. Can add on though. think per head is additional $10. You going to the music lessons too ? Show u the photobook then..

hiaz..crazy mummy syndrome love to show off the bb

bbloh
wow the way u describe the music class sounds so refreshing n interesting...can't wait to hear the feedback from u gals

lil tot
ya man, everytime these pp say that to me, i can't help but recall one incident when she nearly choked on apple & i tell myself, if anything happens to her, i'm the one who will be worried sick, not them! hahah that makes me feel happier instantly!

<font color="0000ff">An article to share: Autism and the Fever Effect</font>

Children's Health
<font size="+1">Autism Study Lends Credence to 'Fever Effect'</font>

by Jon Hamilton

Morning Edition, December 6, 2007
For the first three years of his life, Rene Craft's son, Jackson, communicated primarily through screaming tantrums. He never spoke. He didn't point to things. He didn't make eye contact. He had the classic signs of severe autism.

Then a couple of years ago, Jackson got sick. His mother, Rene Craft, says he was running a high fever.

"He was lying in our bed, and he was ecovering," Craft says. "And he said out of the blue, 'I like the sheets, Daddy. They're really omfortable.' And then later that day he looked out the window and he said, 'Oh, it's raining, and squirrels eat nuts."

Craft says that she and her husband got a brief glimpse of a son who had been locked in his own world of autism. Then the fever went away, and so did Jackson's improvement.

Craft isn't the first parent to notice the so-called "fever effect." Autism researchers have been hearing reports about it for decades.

Now a team from the Kennedy Krieger Institute in Baltimore has done a study that suggests the fever effect is real.

Laura Curran, Ph.D., is the lead author of the study, which appears in the current issue of the journal Pediatrics.

"We did find fewer autistic-like behaviors when kids had fevers," she says. "And as the fever disappeared, their autistic behaviors returned."

That wasn't true for every child. And the study included just 30 children, and relied on parents to fill out detailed checklists about each child's behavior.

Even so, Curran says it looks like parents have been right all along. She says she's not surprised.

"As a mother myself, I know no one knows their children better than the parents," she ays. "And we've been hearing about these anecdotes for many, many years."

Now the question for researchers is how fever affects autism.

Dr. Andy Zimmerman of Kennedy Krieger says the answer probably involves the connections between brain cells which many researcher believe is one place things go wrong in autism.

Zimmerman says that it's not the rise in a child's temperature that makes the difference. But it may be that brain connections work better in the presence of small proteins called cytokines that are produced by the immune system.

"We'd like to know what those cytokines are in children with autism when they get fevers, to see if one or more of these cytokines might be unusually increased," he says.

That might lead to a treatment that could mimic the beneficial effects of fever without actually making a child sick.

Craft believes researchers will find an answer, and it will help her son.

She says she has noticed that every time Jackson gets a high fever, he undergoes a dramatic change. He may ask to play a game, or make eye contact, or stop biting his hands until they bleed.

"Jackson runs into furniture with his head when he's upset or I question him," Craft says. "When he has a fever, those behaviors disappear."

Craft says she plans to enroll her son in a new study at Kennedy Krieger that will try to explain the fever effect.

"There is something occurring in his brain that he needs, that he gets when he has a fever," Craft says. "I don't know what it is. That's for the doctors to figure out. But he's in there. He's waiting to come out."

Hi littletot,

So we're not alone when our tot can't chew well! Personally I think should be ok....with the molars out, they should get the hang of chewing by looking at us eat

J and myself are sick this week! Terrible week! His fever went up and down, and highest is 39.8deg! Uses the torpedo immediately..
And besides fever, he's having diarrhoea. Today alone already pooped (watery) 10 times

I hope he will be well soon. Now he's so stick thin

fates..
poor u and J..
me can understand cos 2 weekends back, i was sick and he was also sick..me 80% recovered but his bad cough is 3 weeks liao! even finish 1 course of cough med still dun work..now seeing doc 2nd time and starting 2nd course.
take care!

hi..first time inside this forum and i was thinking wah..really so alive and seems like everybody knows everybody..anyway, i'm new to this thread and will like to know everyone more coz my girl is also May babies so really would like her to know more children of her age one..

fates,

take care! really very heartpain to see our babies turning skinnier by the day.. think there is a viral infection in the air.. if only i can let my FB wears a spacesuit.. so that she will be immune to all of these..

Anyway recently, my FB is driving me nuts with her "don't wants" and "mais".. everytime ask her something, she will say "dowan".. or shake her head.. so difficult to please!

Ivy..yalor...we sick still gotta take care of them right? Poor us...
J pooped till his anus area all RED and SWOLLEN last night....he dare not even sit/lie down! Till I applied the calendula cream for him..now at least he can sit down.

I hope X & E will recover fast too! Then they can play together

Hihi Yvonne..welcome

Yalor sponge.....can't stand those people who don't mask up when they're sick!! Or at least like me, stay at home till they're well!!

FB also says "mai" ar? haha...
Same as J...more and more "dowans" & "maiss" nowadays.

sponge,

wah...heng leh..my xavier still dunno say mai and dowans! haha...
at most he will lie down and scream!

Fates,
yes, imagine sick cats at home without daddy or any help..so poor thing hor! any volunteers to cook, iron and mop for me?

bbloh,
Your music class sounds interesting leh, but I cant join this time coz clash with something else. Give us feedback ok? My camp KIV coz was waiting for the condo council's approval to use the multipurpose venue for class. Unlikely to hold it this time round coz running out of time.

Fates & Ivy + bbs,
Get well soon! BTW, Isabel likes to say "NO" (very firm tone) and shake heads at the same time. Faint ah!

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Hello Mommies!!</font></font>

Sorry to interrupt....i have brought in a few very nice Disney Rompers and other apparels in the BP thread
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1118857.html?1197621888

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">All are authentic Disney apparels from HK. Designs not available here. Stocks are limited!</font></font>

Do visit the thread and check out the rompers for your babies for this <font color="ff0000">Xmas/CNY</font> festive seasons! Thanks for your support of this BP!!

Hi SS1,

think its becoz its nearing christmas ba!
Hi bbloh n Qoosan,

Will u be signing up for the music lesson. Althu I'm not veri sure of what was taught, i may be signing up as R seems to be having fun ;) just that its kindof far la..

Btw, Qoosan, I'm not going to continue w BJG. think let him take a rest first...

<font color="aa00aa">*Personal* review of Magic Fiddler trial - Music Together</font>

<font color="0000ff">*First of all, it was nice meeting you - lh_jyc, Qoosan & littletot. I must apologise for my son being noisy and a bit "disruptive" in class. He's quite an introvert and am very shy in unfamiliar environment.

Qoosan, you look quite familiar. Have we met before? I find Erica (the little baby girl in the class) familiar too. Kerwin

lh_jyc, Alamak! I forgot to view Rayne's photobook. Only remember it when I left Orchard. Gosh! Memory is failing me ... sob sob! I think Rayne loves the piano a lot, and he seemed to settle down quite well too.

littletot, Verlynn is so adorable. Do join us more often ya?

Alright, my *personal* opinion of the trial. For music-related trial, I've only been to Kindermusik's trial. So I shall make comparison to KM.

1) BOTH parents are ALLOWED to join the class. In fact, they encourage both parents to join in so as to "make more music" (aka noise)!

2) Music CD is actually played during the session. BUT, unlike KM, we don't sing to the CD. I feel that it serves more like background music. There's lots of music "making" using instruments (similar to KM), but the tots got to hold onto the instruments for a longer period (unlike in KM where the teacher will collect the instruments back, even before the tots figure out what to do with them).

3) The tots got to play with a real digital piano (there were 3, I think) towards the end of the session. The teacher will try to inculcate the concept of "long" and "short" (as in music duration) by depressing keys rapidly or holding them down. They were also introduced to the concept of the time signature, by reciting some rhymes with actions (e.g. the concept of 5/4 timing was introduced (though I must say, we still don't quite get the concepts yet) .

Overall, I think it was quite a good experience. I believe, kids may really learn more about music thru fun as they progress through the course. I think this website is quite good for learning music basics:

http://www.sfskids.org/templates/musiclab.asp?pageid=4

lh_jyc,
I also think the place is quite far and the parking charges are high ($4+ for 1.5 hr). Maybe I'll attend other trials before deciding.</font>

<font color="ff0000">Any idea where to park cheaply in Orchard area?</font>

Hi bbloh,

Re the parking ya boy, my hub commented that its super expensive. I think there are public carpark lots at the back of the road but dunno the charges thu.

Can let me know if there are other trials? think R will be interested to join music lessons...funny coz both his parents r tone deaf.

re the photobook..ya lor, i turned to look for u but cant find u liaoz. think u left in a hurry.

btw, dun find ur boy disruptive la...he also settled down in the end. think he just not used to the environment initially..

<font color="0000ff">A clip to share ...</font>

<font size="+1">What is the Story of Stuff?</font>
From its extraction through sale, use and disposal, all the stuff in our lives affects communities at home and abroad, yet most of this is hidden from view. The Story of Stuff is a 20-minute, fast-paced, fact-filled look at the underside of our production and consumption patterns. The Story of Stuff exposes the connections between a huge number of environmental and social issues, and calls us together to create a more sustainable and just world. It'll teach you something, it'll make you laugh, and it just may change the way you look at all the stuff in your life forever.
1157036.gif

<font color="0000ff">lh_jyc,
My DH had "urgent" business to do, and in the hurry, I forgot about the photobook. It's such a pity as I really like to see kid's photos, esp. when they smile - it's NOT easy to catch their smiles in photos leh. Hope to view it next time.

I'm thinking of attending a trial (preview class) in Rhythm In Me. Let me check and post the details at a later time.</font>

Hi bbloh,

Yes, definitely i do learn something.. save this poor planet by think twice before purchase an item...

In fact, I found a hard way to ask all my friends whether do they mind to have k's cot bed, out of my surprise, many told me they want a blank <font color="0000ff">new</font>.. well, hb even smarter, told me to dump away instead going to ask around.. anyway, i count lucky enough to find a gf whose willing to take the cot bed that i used only few mths.

Sorry ladies, will not be able to turn up for the luncheon afterall. Have an urgent appt to attend to on that day. Enjoy youselves!

Updated!

22nd lunch:
2) milo
3) Taurus aka maymummy
4) Annie
8) Sponge - 2 adults and 1 kiddo
9)Little Nana - 2 adults and 1 kiddo

Mummies!

I tried the cakes from this website, <font color="ff0000">http://bakincow.blogspot.com/</font> , and it's so so yummy! Maybe you can try it out as their toufu cheesecake is as good as the real thing, but not as fattening :p

Next time our tots are bigger, we can let them go for their baking class

fates,
come my house i can teach J..hee...
X making a mess of my flour these days..haha..
the cake sound so interesting..i shld go and research on it...

Ivy...later they made a mess...you will faint ah!

Hahaa!

The carrot cake is 10 times better than that popular Room for Desserts! I ordered the Room for Desserts' carrot cake before.....so yucky!

bbloh

I went for this b4, find it so so leh plus it's quite far... no harm trying tho since it's free.
U can also compare this with the music fiddler and let me know ya.

BTW, I wanna ask u about the mask that u bought thru BP, have u tried? Good or not?

bbloh & joyce
- found the music class quite interesting and my boy got the chance to wonder a rd too. He jst couldn't sit tight ler, at home also the same. At BJG also the same, always hav to pull him back. :p
However, still cant decide whether to cont wth BJG or music class or others. The music together seemed to be class for fun and there is no flash card, no gym. I have jst gone back to BJG half of this term, so still cant decide should i drop it or not.

bbloh,
I had attended a gathering at sponge hse before, maybe u were there also?