(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Hi Cheri,

thanks..
i bought him to a GP and the doc just said to observe him for a few days coz he dunno the reason for the rash n charged me $32 lor..
hiaz doc these days. the normal PD whom i patronise is closed yesterday so....

oh...my boy will call auntie/jie jie instantenously if the other party is pretty with long hair. sometimes will also do lots of actions to catch their attn
else most of the time, he either ignore or hide his face..worse if the other party is big size. he will cry

but i also noticed that these days he is getting bolder..

joyce,
wat is SLE?
Maybe you wan to bring him see pd if it still dun get well soon? I hate GPs...the last time X had a cough, my mum brought him to see GP and the GP gave him adult cough medicine in kids dosage..It din help...PD cough mixture is much better.

Ivy,

Its sym lupus. supposed to be hereditary so this mummy sometimes get panicky

his fever subsided liaoz but rashes still got..

ivy
yayaya same same...my ger will keep calling the person after he/she has left...i always tell her 'gong gong went home, no need to call anymore' hahah

lhjyc
yeah, i oso noticed my ger will smile voluntarily to those tall, handsome young men in lifts...old uncles coax her from 9th to ground floor, she just gives them a blank look! lol

lh_jyc,
my gal also experience these few mths back.It started with high fever that comes n go .Then rashes breaks out. Even scalp also have.Doc say it's viral infection. Only give panadol to control temp. and let it run it's course. Was so worried and finally gave "leng yang" on the 4th day.Fever cleared few hrs ltr.As for the rash, will take a few days to go away.

Cheri,
my ger also fan ying chi dun.We always say she's 5 bus stops away.LOL!

My J is ok with strangers we met in the open, but in the lift, he's so shy. Maybe he's pretending as he always wave byebye to the strangers after they walk away.

Hi littletot,

Thanks..he still having the rashes but no fever. so heng lol ;p

Btw, i just realised R bullies the weak and frightened of the strong..

he scared of dogs, goats, cats etc. however, when he realised that the fishes are frightened of him when he touched the fishtanks...he keeps scaring them and giggling nonstop..poor fishes...think they will have heart attack soon

Btw, here's wishing all of you

1171913.gif

Ivy

How is Xavier... keeping my fingers crossed that Michele will be okay tomorrow...

A very Happy 2008 to all mummies

gab,

We are home! 1st day of school today, so we din stay the full day. Lets see what we done today:
8am: reach sch, free play...forgotten abt mummy.
8.45am: Breakfast...bread and milo..drank 2 cups of milo...
Standing around after eating and demand to go outdoor play..cry and cry when teacher say cannot..( cos its not time yet). I was just like a lamp post, standing ard and trying to hide away from him so that he dun rem that i am ard.
9.15-10.15: outdoor play. Totally forget abt me! But cry when teacher dun allow him to do certain things.
10.45-11am: English lesson. I sneaked away for my makan at this time...10 mins after walking from the centre, got a call saying he is crying non stop...Walked back and he din throw at me leh..Reason? He is just only HUNGRY! although 15mins away fr lunch, i still tell teacher to give milk...
11.15-12pm: Lunch and bath. Nuggets and Fries on today's menu. While waiting for his shower, he saw the bigger kids coming down for their lunch..he walk back to dining table and steal their fries!!!!!
12-12.45pm: Chinese lesson..Starts to be a bit cranky liao..but still hang around and play..
When it was time to nap, the teacher gave out SMOO milk but he din have cos we haven ordered...He just lie on the bed looking sadly at the milk...
So mummy decided time to go home! haha...he was happy abt it so we came home and down some milk and slept right away!

Hope things will be better tmrw..

Happy new year all mummies!

Ivy,

Seems like Xavier don't need you around leh...heheheh!!
He sounded so big and independent!
I have not even started J on Milo, or even one full piece of nugget...

What 'outside' foods are your toddlers eating now, mummies?

fates,
all outside food...you name it, he ate it..
Ha, i really hope he can last 7am to 7pm at the childcare..
today, he slp from 1pm to 4pm at home! Break record liao...

Hi Ivy,

Seems like he is having a jolly good time, so long as there is food..

I'll also be sending R to (AM) childcare starting from 14 Jan 08..dunno whether he can adapt or not. From ur description above, seems like the food may not be suitable for him...he still taking soft food (ie porridge n noodles) now coz he lazy to bite...hiaz. tat is why I'm trying half day for now and not full day...

hi Ivy,

what an adventure for Xavier! i hope he has adapted better to school now.

mummies, i plan to let my boy attend playgroup so going to let him take e chicken pox and pnemococal jabs. any idea which jab should be administered first?

Hi Anastasia,

The cocal needs 2 injections and have to wait for one mth before taking 2nd injections....

have not taken the chicken pox one thu
hope it helps

X haven really adapt to sch yet..but i am sure he will slowly...
3rd day, i am down with food poisoning so i left him in sch alone, dropped by the daddy..
teacher say he got cry on and off..but still ok.
Abt 1pm, he woke out and insisted on gog home..( carrying his pillow and toy car and pointing to door). So teacher called me and my mum went down to pick him..He was so happy to see ah ma...
Let's see how he is, next week!

Michele's First Day

Michele enjoyed her first day as long as the teacher sang songs, told stories, otherwise, she's a cry baby!!! Sigh. Looks as if they will take some time to adjust. On the 2nd day, mummie was hard hearted and left her alone for 2 hours. She cried till she slept. Ha! Again will join in if teacher sang and told stories... hahaha.

<font color="0000ff">anastasia,
If u really wanna jab your boy, I'll say take pneumo first as the disease (if contracted) is life-threatening.

Joyce,
Has Rayne recovered already? How's he's adapting at MMI?

<u>Gathering on 12 JAN (Sat)</u>
Can't join this gathering as I've got a function to attend that day. Pls enjoy yourselves.

CNY is less than a month away - gotta do spring cleaning liao! Time passes so fast and our tots turn 2 pretty soon!

Cheers!</font>

hi hi cheri

Gathering is still on but might need to change date as Kaelyn got salmonella infection last wk and she's still on antibiotics. Other than salmonella she's also down with cough and flu. Haiz... Shall we change to 19th Jan 2008?

Anna "Dog House" Gathering 19th Jan 2008:
Dinner potluck 5pm.

1) Anna
2) Ivy
3) Fates
4) Cheri
5)
6)
7)

Anna,

i okie with 19th cos i had been down with food poisoning since thur nite...very very bad...can die arh...
So better prepare more good food for me on the 19th. Lost 3kg liao!

Gab,
X run away from sch liao! haha...Yesterday nite 38.3 fever. So i called sch to inform them that today and tmrw not going..
Sigh..how to adjust him to school like that?

Hi Bbloh,

Thanks! R is recovering well. just that his skin still rough to touch... have postponed his lessons to start on 14 Jan instead..wat do we have to bring to school? mummy more nervous than bb

Hiaz..think its the season for sickness? I also down with fever n sore throat..can you believe it, it all started becoz i took mutton curry..dunno whether its retribution..ha...

do u think the younger the kids r, the easier it will be for them to adapt to drop off prog at playschool etc? maybe as they get older n more aware, they will cry &amp; be clingy etc.

i'm ok on 19th too...hope all mummies &amp; kids get well soon!

Weather is bad now. One moment it's bright and sunny, the other it's raining cats and dogs! Let your babies drink more water....

Anna,

I am not so sure about 19th...will confirm with you again ok?

Ivy

Well slowly. Now my girl is rejecting school. When she sees the school gate, she will cry, Michele goes home... go home. Sigh. I think I will need to bear with it.

Cheri
I think age has a part to play in separation anxiety, however, having said that I think that being prepared is also very important.

gab,
So you still encourging her to go in to sch despite her cries?

X had viral fever since Sun nite. Today cross fingers that the fever finally break. This means that he haven been in school since Friday afternoon ( escape at lunch time!).
I dunno how to adjust him back to sch esp he was already not too happy abt it in the 1st few days and now with this week of break, i think we gotta re-start the whole sch process again!

mummies, thanks for advice on the jabs.

after seeing the feedback from those who just started school, i think i will let him attend only after May. he will have better communication skills and hopefully adapt faster.

gabby
true, that's why the experts often said must talk to them b4hand abt sch in positive way &amp; even bring them there in advance a few times to just see the environment, play wif trs etc...

ivy
could X have caught sthg from school? N's cousin just started attending cc too &amp; caught bacterial flu v soon after. Pd says it's bacterial cos high fever (abt 40 degrees) wun go down despite several rounds of panadol, needed antibiotics.

cheri,
X quite like the sch and playing there too..we did a lot of visit and talks but STILL, come to the actual leaving of him there, it will still take time to adjust.

not sure if X got it from sch or just the weather. He is well today. Let him rest tmrw and we will try sch again on fri!

Ivy/Cheri

Its a nightmare. She loves accompanied programmes only!!! She cried non stop for 2 nights and refused to sleep so my hubby and I made an executive decision to take her out! Mic is out of school. Sigh. Tonight, I hope I can sleep... Sigh

gab,
did you have to pay the whole mth fees? X only like the outdoor playground of sch..haha..

We have not made decision yet, intending to try out again on Monday onwards. But i think most likely he will join mich. Reason being: Yesterday nite, he refused to get into car with us to go home cos i mentioned we will be going sch today since he recovered. He din even wan me to carry him at all, koala bear my mum. Then my mum say, no, no school, will come back to ah ma house today. Ah ma will wait for you. THEN he willing to go home with us!!!

So, what do you intend for mich now?

gabby
oh dear, N oso has been at JG...accompanied class too...i'm expecting a tough time wif dropping her off at playsch in future too but no choice, just gotta grit my teeth &amp; bear wif it...i dun feel good sending her now cos she still doesn't speak much &amp; i feel since i'm sahm now, nothing beats being at home wif the mum hahah...so thick skin hor? lol

<font color="0000ff">Extracted from My Paper dtd 10 Jan 2008</font>

<font size="+1">Research shows children below the age of 6 should not eat too much of certain types of fish

<font color="ff0000">P</font></font>ARENTS have been warned to feed young children small fish rather than larger species to avoid a build up of dangerously high levels of mercury in their growing bodies.

Research published in the Medical Journal of Australia shows that children below the age of 6 should not eat too much of certain types of fish.
The report, co-authored by Dr Stephen Corbett, who heads the centre for population health at Sydney West Area Health Service, found that <u>fish is good for children’s nutrition so long as it is the right type in the right quantity</u>.

"Two to three portions a week and small fish for small fry", Dr Corbett said.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">"Even at relatively low levels, mercury can affect children’s neural and mental development"</font></font>, he said.

Dr Corbett examined three cases in Sydney where children aged between 15 months and two years had elevated mercury levels after eating up to five times the recommended dietary intake of fish.

The children had been fed congee. When the children stopped eating fish, their mercury levels dropped.

New South Wales State Health Minister Reba Meagher said the research showed that too much fish can be detrimental.

The NSW Food Authority’s chief scientist, Dr Lisa Szabo, said <u>there are only six types of fish parents need to worry about — shark, broadbill, swordfish, marlin, orange roughy and catfish</u>.

"In part it’s because they’re bigger. But they’re also longer lived and they’re predatory fish, which means that they eat a lot of small fish so that’s why they tend to accumulate the mercury", she said.

bbloh,
i think these 6 typles of fish, asians dun really eat or feed to kids right?
Cos i only know fish by their malay or dialact names, not sure if they are any of these fish stated!

wow! u guys are scaring me...R is starting next monday and i only managed to take 2 days leave to accompany him to school. dunno whether he can take it or not. keeping my fingers crossed

joyce,
which sch is R starting? No worry, he might be able to adapt better...
my mum told me she asked my son, want to go sch, play with frens and teacher? If wan, wear shoes, if dun wan, shake your head. Guess wat, he shake his head violently..haha...
pray for me come Monday....think i must tell my boss that i standby to go off any time teacher call me...

He going to childcare under MMI. Only signed him up for AM slot to try it out. but think its rather expensive so if he MIA, mummy heartpainz ah!

Haa haa ... Ivy ... X really hate school eh? Shake head violently!

If that's the case, will the school refund you the $$ if dropout halfway?

fates,
wait long long for refunds...
let's see how Monday goes...

Joyce,
MMI charges a lot diff for AM or full day? the cc that X goes to, the diff for AM is not much lesser than full day..partly also the subsidy is lesser.

Nightmare

Mic has been having nightmares and she has brawled every night!!! School must have traumatised her totally.

Ivy Agree refund takes time

gab,

i meant no refund....
mich nitemare? Sigh...X developed a BAD cough and running nose..so we din start sch as planned today.
I think he too traumatised by sch that he get sick whenever we say want to send him to school.
Made the executive decision same as you liao...haha..

busy with works these days, didnt log in for quite some time.

Seems like some toddlers are falling sick due to bad weather. k and my nieces all kinda cough like hell.. my ma gets more pananoid than me, keep instead me to bring k to see pd today where he only on medicines 2days; stated the medicines didnt help. haha..

Ivy &amp; Gabby,
Pardon me for kpo, i thought some allow free trial before billing? (thats my colleagues &amp; friend told me).. few comment that have to try few times until their toddlers get used to go to school... if not, must wait for few mths later then try again... dun give up hope..

Most importantly, their health..

take care..

best wishes to all "happy lunar new year" (in advance) in case i too busy to log in ..

Gathering on 19th Jan cancelled..

Kaelyn is still coughing and wheezing. I think it will be better to wait till she gets well and have a gathering. Apologies..

Hi Ivy,

MMI's rates for full and half day not much diff. However dun think i will place him on full day, coz i) R needs his sleep thu the school have 2 hrs afternoon nap, its soooo noisy there! 2) dun find the food suitable for him yet. also i noticed they tend to give heaty things like biscuits, conflacks etc n their servings are little, 3) hiaz...boy does not like school

Summary of his adventure
first day, he was playing so mummy sneaked out. since teacher no call me tot everything was ok n stayed out for more than one hr. ended when i went back in, he is almost hysterical

afternoon nap, he got nightmare....

2nd day he refused to let me go out of sight. sticked to me and din join the others. when i cant stand it, rush to toilet, he was screaming n crying when i return and refused to let the teacher touch him after tat. afternoon nap, nightmare again

today, refused to wake up and change his PJ. my hub dropped him at school and he cried..mummy cant go coz got to work...

heartpain to see him like tat

lhjyc
oh dear, can really feel for u &amp; ur boy...looks like our few tots here have pretty bad separation anxiety, makes me kinda nervous now abt sending her to playgroup too esp since i know my ger is the clingy, cautious &amp; slow to warm up type...guess no choice, just gotta bite the bullet &amp; hope the phase passes fast.