(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

What a tiring days...having a training since this morning...lucky that it end early, now I got a break.

Fairsnowberry and ryue,
Think I have confused detail scan over NT scan. I have done the NT scan and based on the NT scan result, Dr. Foong suggest that I do not hav to go for the blood test for DS too, think probably he is trying to save money for us lar...cos that test cost $100+. I did other blood test like antenatal blood test, HIV Hep A,B, rubella...and etc...cant remember all as I haven collected the result. Angeline, Dr.Foong's nurse say if she didn't call me mean good news

did u do the blood test (not for DS)?
My next appointment will be on next Mon, I hav make it earlier since gg to travel next wed, better do a scan before travelling.

what a tortured to visit him only once a month, as I really dun know how is BB gg on inside tummy during the 4 weeks time.
I even ask my hubby to get a 2nd hand Ultra Scan machine from those gynae who want to upgrade...Ha Ha Ha...

Qoosan,

you really asked your hubby to ask abt 2nd hand ultra scan? haha...Then very soon, you will have mummies knocking on your door to borrow the machine liao..haha..

Hi I had my scan at 14wks and 5days...n the doc says might be a girl. she see nothing yet.dunno accurate or not have to wait till next scan then mayb accurate...any advice?how accurate is it?

dear qoosan,
same here! i did the NT scan last Friday and he said is was ok and advised me against Triple Test. He told me Triple Test only 60% accurate and if the results are not good, then we'd be compelled to go for amniocentesis, which has a risk of miscarriage. so he said not worth it. i also did the HIV, rubella, all the antenatal blood tests. i think his procedures for every preggies are the same.
going for the detailed scan on my 22nd week, at NUH. did angeline tell u that you can do it at either camden or NUH? that one can see all birth defects
hey, if you got second hand machine, i'd be first one knocking on your door. Dr Foong also asked me to return a month later, which i refused cause i think 1 month too long. so i seeing him in 3 weeks' time.

dear fairsnowberry,
what a coincidence!! my nxt appt with Dr Foong also on 10th Dec!! what time your appointment?

dear fairysnowberry
i just realised i forgot to reply you why i decided to give birth at Glen E instead of Mt A. Firstly, I prefer Glen E as its newer. Secondly, i thought its more convenient for Dr Foong to come see me and whenever I need him, I have the assurance that he's just downstairs at his clinic.
I got hospitalised for hives on my 9th week. I recalled I went to Glen E A&E at 10pm on a Friday evening and he rushed down to see me.He also saw me on Saturday morning, Sat afternoon, and on Sunday as well.
Angeline also told me before that the Mt A midwives always only call Dr Foong just before the mom is abt to push. and quite often, by the time he reaches there, the baby already born. ermm.. maybe you can discreetly ask angeline on your nxt visit. but if you ask Dr Foong, im sure he'd give you a politically correct answer, that he doesnt mind any hospital you choose

Hi Qoosan,

You really into getting the 2nd hand ultrasound machine? I read in some books that its also not v advisable to keep scanning the baby hence some gynaes do not do ultrasound scans at every visit. But i guess since Dr Foong does it at every visit, it should be safe enough

Hi Ryue, yup agree with you that Dr Foong might give me a politically correct answer. Anyways, when is the latest date we need to decide if we are delivering at Mount A or Glen E? I am still sitting on the fence though Mount A is much closer to my home than Glen E.

My appt on 10th Dec is at 10.30am. What about yrs?

hey yasmin, wanted to ask u abt the experience of engorgement of breasts? Is it really painful? How long did it take to go away? Did u have abscess (did i spell it correctly?)? Surgery? Eeeeee...i think very scary...this whole thing with the breasts and breast-feeding. sigh. woman's fate...poor thing *haha*....

hi chris

i kpo...just wanted to share my experience on engorgement after my gal was born...

my engorgement was so bad that i feel my breasts had turned into iron balls !!!! its reali veri hard and 'hot'....luckily i bought chinese cabbage to put in my freezer to standby...which was taught by the lactation consultant during my antenatal class...just peel the cabbage and placed on ur breast when engorgement.....feel veri relieve and the cabbage almost cooked !!! actuali another method is to quickly pump out the milk to empty the supply...

but nt every1 will experience engorgement...

yesterday during shower notice that there is a layer of something ard my areola and nipple. when i attempt to peel off, can come out type. any1 having that?

hi milo,

I have that and after a while not sure what happen my nipple somehow crack and painful. So i went to bought the nipple cream and apply to the cracks. if there is no cracks , according to my gynae there is nothing to worry.

hi starry,

my nipple looks ugly though, with some crack lines but dun feel painful. its ok that we start applying some nipple cream now? was thinking of getting one.

hi milo.
it started when some crack lines but turn out the cracks line deeper and very painful. wear or dun wear bra also painful until i cannot tahan so went to bought the nipple cream.

If our skin are dry, we can start early to apply. i bought Avent type and it says even bf dun need to wipe off. so i think ok lah like moisturing our tummy like tat lor

dear fairysnowberry
my appt with Dr LC Foong is at 11.15am! We are quite close. probably will run into each other in the clinic as his consultations always quite long. you'd spot me from 10 miles. im very tall, with very long hair
dont worry dear, i dont think we have to decide now. take your time i also stay nearer to Mt A. I stay at SengKang.

dear pooh
so cute.. i didnt know engorged breasts can cook cabbage.. but i dont think its funny when it really happens.

Ivy & Chris,

Cheers! we are stay so near.. should one day meet together. By the way, I don't intend to have another future baby. This one is "accident" hehe.. so my hubby stated that if the baby is normal n ok then let its come to world.

Hence, I am looking for cheap colt.. hahha.. I don't noe whether to buy the colt so early or not cos nothing is for sure until last minute. So I pray...

My sis's colleague had a still baby just two days before her labour. I don't mind to scare all of you.. Hence, I tend to be more cautious.

I had sleepless nites recently, dono y. I havent put on weight yet not even 1 kg. Had a small shape.. but not obvious... still wear the normal clothes.

Hi ryue & fairysnowberry,

No lar, of course i m not getting the 2nd hand machine, just kidding only. I dun think it's cheap too.
I did not ask Angeline about the detail scan on week 22, so she never told can go NUH and Camden to do. Where is camden actually?

Ryue, may i know what is hives?

So u two r gg to meet each other in Dr. Foong clinic ya! so good!

Hi Milo,

I experienced whatever u are experiencing on nipples. Luckily not too much problem for me. Just unsightly though.

Btw gals, i am down with sore throat. can take strepsils?

kk,

yup, not a big prob, like u say, unsightly. u intending to apply cream to it?

currently i am down with sore throat also. been drinking starfruit and jus ate a slice of watermelon. no idea abt the strepsils. try to drink more water k. must take care

dear qoosan
hi. Camden Medical Centre is near Singapore Tourism Board, at Tanglin Road. I am suprised Dr Foong didnt mention about the detailed scan. its done at week 22 and i thought he does it for all patients. we can either choose to do it at Camden or NUH. Camden is twice the price.

Hives are like rashes but they are very very itchy. i had them all over my body, including my face
my eyes and face were swollen when i admitted. Dr Foong immediately administered steriods for me, saying if untreated can cause asthma attack and death. it is also common in pregnancy, but usually towards the 3rd trimester. to date, it is not know why i got it.

Hi Milo,

I have experienced my nipple change quite some time back. Have not applied any cream. Not much problem, so i tried not to apply anything yet

i didn't even have anti stretch mark cream. And so far no stretch mark yet anyway :p

I guess because of one late nite that cause me the sore throat. SIGH! Too bad, because of work, got to sleep late
Now suffer the impact.

Anyone with experience with pregancy? Currently, I am in week 15, however, I lost 1kg.. Maybe due to sleepless nites..

I do eat a lot, I even have a heavy breakfast like dry noodle or fried mee hoon in the morning with one butter spread bread. Hee..ehhe.. I start taking heavy breakfast only start last week. (Before that, I only have light breakfast like 1 slice of bread).

Through, I don't feel hungry and my sickness getting better nowsaday, I force myself to intake more, hopefully to have a healthy baby.. Still, I can't take milk for pregancy woman.. I felt nausea after that and tummy tends to get bloated, this apply to soya bean drink.

I also didn't take the multi vitamins as told. Have it once in a while. I am afraid that not enough nutrition for the baby. However, the multi vitamin is quite heaty..

Hi Annie,

I am in my week 17. I had pretty bad MS in my first trimester. Appetite only becomes better in week 15. I can have heavy breakfast. But if dun feel good at times, my lunch will be light. i can eat for dinner too. No more merlion act liao, unless i eat the wrong food outside.

I dun think we really have to force ourselves to eat. For me, when my appetite is extremely good, i can feel hungry every 2-3 hours and eat whatever i want to. If i dun have the appetite, i just eat less that's it. If we eat healthily, can already

I had milk powder ever since young. But milk puts me off when i am pregnant until week 15 too. Then i start taking anmum-1. Before that, i was like u too, feeling nauseous at the sight of milk. Even fresh milk can make me vomit. But soya bean drink has always worked well on me.

i guess taking the multi-vitamins prescribed by gynae should be sufficient. The rest can come from food intake. U are taking other supplements on ur own?

Yes, the pills are all very heaty. I feel heaty once in a while and that gives me headache. Got to drink some chrysanthemum to cool down.

Hi Ryue,
I hope i can make it for the appt with Dr Foong on 10th Dec. Just realised we might have something on that day. If really so, then we will have to postpone the appt - then i cant meet you

Yup Dr Foong mentioned abt the detailed scan at wk 22 to me too. Since we are going to see Dr Foong before this detailed scan on wk 22 do u think we can tell the gender of the BB already? I'm quite exctied to know if BB is a boy or a girl.

QooSan, u mentioned u will be travelling next wk? Me too! Where will you be travelling to? I was apprehensive abt the safety of travelling but Dr Foong assured me that its ok to travel in 2nd tri.

Hi fairysnowberry,

My gynae is able to check the gender on my week 16 already. But then my bb didn't cooperate, so i can't see anything
Got to wait for my appt in my week 20 before i know the gender. Hopefully i am able to know then! Will be having detailed scan too.

I'm a May first-time MTB too, and have been reading your interesting threads so far ;p

I'm already about 2 wks into my second trimester, but haven't gained weight yet
So much so that my colleagues had been comparing me with other pregnant colleagues, and been giving sarcastic remarks such as "has your hubby been giving you enough $? You not enuff $ to buy food izit?" *sighz*... duno if i'm too sensitive, maybe i shd juz ignore their remarks... my appetite hasn't been good as well... i feel hungrie, but duno what to eat... everything luks kinda "bland" to my tastebuds... heh - i've been taking frequent small meals tho... Didn't experience much MS in the beginning, but MS started for me in the past 3-4weeks... not feeling well hence...

Need some advice from those who are second/third-time moms - if there any around here?
Wondering whether delivered in a different hospital than where your gynae is situated? Not sure whether the gynae would arrive late (or even after you've given birth????) if the hospital is different? Heard if it's the same hospital, at least during "break" time, the gynae would pop in to take a look and give instructions... but if different hospital, not sure when the gynae arrives... Any thoughts, anyone?

dear fairysnowberry
no worries..

actually it depends on where you travelling to. if its india, he will instruct you to be extra careful bcos of the hygiene.
Dr Foong said can tell the sex week 18.

Hi KK (kerenelu,

Thanks for sharing your experience with me. Yap, through I don't feel the nausea so much compare to the past. However, i still can't tahan cooking and greasy smell, hence, I don't go shopping around nowsaday.. cos all shopping centres have restuarants and food court.

I have gastric pain n serve migraine. Ever since, I am pregant, migraine attracks many times. I have to take leaves to stay at home. Due to pregancy, I can't take my migraine pill and only panadols. Up till now, I had took 25 pcs already. Through the medicine is so light that can only ease 1/10 of the pain. Hence, puking out everything due to the serve pain.

Sad to say, the last attrack was last Monday till Sunday.Through, migraine has temporarily but end up, I couldnt sleep over past three nites.

Going for the blood test next monday. Did you do the test to withdraw fluid from water bag to check baby got down synchome? Quite expensive. I am still wondering..

Hi Annie,

Oh, for me, i can tahan all kinds of smells and can see pple eat, but i myself may not be able to eat haha..

Sigh, even today, i have slight MS. Feel extremely sleepy just now. Now getting better.

Do u take the normal panadols? i dun dare to take the normal panadols, afraid they may have side effects. That's why i have to bear with my headaches. And when i have headaches, basically it is vomiting like merlion and can't really eat for the whole day.

Yes, there was once i had headache at nite, can't sleep well.

I have taken all my blood tests at one go two weeks ago. My blood test is normal, but the results for triple test not out yet.

Oh, u mean the process called amniocetosis (dunno spell correct or not)? I thought that is the last test gynae will conduct if NT scan or blood test suggest Down Syndrome or if the preggie is more than 35 or have past cases of MCs?

i didn't even take the NT scan. Only blood test.

Hi ryue,

Maybe he forgot to mention to me the last visit. I think everyone will need to go for the detail scan. Prob I will choose NUH since u mentioned the price in camden is twice more ex. Do u know what is the price in NUH?

Wah...never know that rashes can be so serious. Is it due to hormone imbalance? How r u getting now?

Glad that all of you have been feeling much better compared to before, guess its the 1st tri misery la. I am glad mine is also getting better this 2 wks.

I am into my wk 15 now, so far put on 1-2kg, but then my tummy is very huge! becos its 2nd pregnancy i suppose, expanded before. I measured this morning and its 31 inches! Anyone here can share your waist measurements too? hehe....

I havent decide on the hospital to deliver, my gynae is in TMC but i find TMC very cramped at the lobby. Dunno abt the wards, etc, anyone here got experience can share? My other option is Mt A, which i thk is more spacious. My 1st delivery was in Mt E.

Hi fairysnowberry,

I m gg on a business trip to Vietnam so not fun at all...Dr. Foong also assured me on travel during 2nd trimester.
How abt u? Going for holiday? where? I m worried abt the food to be found there...scared i got nothing to eat...sob sob...

Ha ha...how come Dr. Foong mentioned the detail scan to both of u and left me out ya...Maybe I m dreaming when he is talking to me

Did anyone try Dumex Mamil Mama? I found that the milk powder quite difficult to dissolve even wth the vry hot water. There's always tiny small lump left behind. Anyone has any solution?

oh my goodness, QooSan....i was so totally going to ask that...haha...i thot my hubby didn't do the drink properly...i know...if they dun dissolve, like v diff to drink hor...haha...i thot only me...powdery taste. apparently, *i haven't try*...not supposed to be with v. hot water. or maybe it's normal to be lumpy *yucks*...but if drink slowly, smash the lumps as u go along...ok lah.

gals,

jus to check for mummies delivering at Mt A, has any1 went for the bloodtest already? is it the gynae that draws the blood for us or the hosp nurse? a bit worry abt the pain as i be going for the triple test next week..sigh wondering how i gonna survive childbirth

Hi chris,

Let's try to experiment with not so hot water tonite on this. At first I thout the milk powder is spoil. It is really yucky to drink when there is still tiny lump left over.

Hi Qoosan,

There is no problem at all with anmum. Probably u can try that the next time
And it even dissolves better than normal milk powder.

Hi KK (kerenelu),
I see, you just have your blood test. Hmm.. my blood test will be next week.
I envy you can tahan the headache. My migraine attrack, i wont be able to sleep, vomit like hell and can't eat anything for few days. Such serve pain won't go off without the strong medicine for migraine. However, i can only take normal panadols.
My gyne and docs stated that normal panadol is ok up to 6 dose a day. Those books regarding on pregancy also stated that panadol is fine and no side effect with small dose.

My gyne also advised to have the blood test that inc. triple test first and wait for the result before making decision to go further test. As such test incur miscarriage 0.5% risk which is higher the possibility of having down synchrome baby 1 in 1200.

My sis whose is going to labour next mth also didnt go for such test. However, i am kind of worry as i noe some1 that has no family history and below 35 years had a baby whose suffer down sydrome. My hubby wants to take the test. .. but i find it quite expensive. ... havent make a fix decision..

Hi Annie,

Perhaps can just take the blood test first and see the results. It will help ease your mind. I know it did for me. ;-)

Have you tried taking small meals or did doc give you antacid for your gastric? i'm prone to gastric too so i always snack on a wheat biscuit if i'm hungry

Hi nana,

Now into my 2nd trimester, nope, i did not gain weight at my last gynae visit 2 wks ago.

Yeah, my appetite also better. MS improving so i'm slowly cutting down on my anti-nausea medicine wherever possible. Tho these few days were terrible coz i was always going on site...

BUT i still cannot tahan greasy cooking smell. that's a complete turn-off. hence, i also "disappear" whenever my MIL cooks... ;-P Once she applied hair dye on her head and the smell is soooooo terrible. I immediately went to the toilet to throw up. I think she was really worried for me coz she immediately went to wash off her hair dye...hehehhe

Hi Annie,

Yah, i agree with ino. Go for the blood test first
Then seek ur gynae advice and see is there a need to proceed further. Sometimes our worries are really unfounded

Oh, probably mine is normal headache whereas urs is migraine lor. Imagine leh, i really felt horrible with my headache liao. So i can understand about how u feel when u are having migraine!

I suspect i am down with flu leh
Dunno can take the panadol for flu or not.

gals,

have u all started taking any tonic? my first attempt at black chix with red dates soup landed me with a bad sore throat liao.

Me also having headache now ... praying hard that its due to lack of sleep recently ....so worried that my migraine will hit me during pregnancy .... MS is bad enough ...dun think can tahan if having migraine now ....

Hi milo,

So far my mum brew black chicken soup for me twice ... i think too heaty ...so she did not brew very often .... but I have been taking bird nest after 1st Trimester ... abt 3 time a week ... other than that didnt take any other tonic

Hi Milo,

i only take tonics when i go to my mum's place on weekend to have dinner.

I realise after i take the tonics, i have the feeling of "oh no, headache coming soon". I guess it is too heaty for me. May be able to take it before pregnancy, but after pregnant, can't tahan slightest amount of heatiness. But tonics are good lor and my mum cook for my own good, so i still take lah

Hi taurus,

Oh no, hope ur headache go off soon! Yes, sometimes it is due to lack of sleep. At times, i do have regular sleep but still kena headache. Must be due to heatiness liao.

Wow, bird nest 3 times a week? I only take bird nest once per fortnight. My mum tell me not to take too much as it is too liang for bb, and may cause asthma next time.

Hi KK,

Is that So???? Oh .... then I better cut down ... but very confusing ley .... some ppl say can only take after 5 mths but my mum's freind tell her best if can take everyday .... but coz I still have MS .... so mum didnt cook everyday otherwise wasted ...kekek ... but maybe will cut down the intake to every week lor ...

Hi taurus,

What i heard is that can take bird nest when we are after 4 mths

Somemore they say bird nest got hidden feathers that we can't see. Sometimes they are not cleanly picked. So that can cause asthma in bb too.

Not sure how true lah, but then wow, if eat many times, very expensive leh! Heee...