(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Hi Ivy,

When I sms-ed my hubby tat me so tired got to look after bb and got to work after he sleeps and also to do some housework coz my maid w my mil doing confinement, my hub only say haha, this means u can be a SAHM.... wah bian..feel like hitting him...

now my mother helping me look after, feel so much better

cant wait for the BBQ this sunday. will see all of you first time ;p

Re porridge..I just bought the rice today ..keke will cook for him this weekend...

annie,

dunno leh. my mum ask me to use slow cooker so i use lor. supposed to taste nicer, i guess.

kk,

okie, shall try and error this weekend. see wat my ah boi like.

ivy,

huh? use charcoal? cook how long? i use slow cooker hor already cook till wanna zzz liao. i did heard of grinding the rice. ok another thing to try this weekend!

milo,
i use a smallest possible earthen pot and a small handful of rice... Abt 1hr before its ready. Its quite fun leh..haha..Added kou qi zi into it as well as thread fin fish.

Looks like you ladies have started on porridge.Me still feeding my ger rice cereal.But today she upgraded to organic japanese sweet potato mash with milk.She loves it
!Btw will eating sweet potato alone cause constipation?

Hi littletot,

Where do you get the organic japanese sweet potato? My bb likes it but so far cannot find organic ones leh.

hi Mummies,

I forget who asked me for the list. I extract the following from baby centre.. additional info

Here's an age-by-age look at which foods to avoid:

Foods to avoid: Newborn to 4 to 6 months
All solid food: The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that you feed your baby only breast milk or formula for the first four to six months.

Foods to avoid: 4 to 12 months
Citrus: Introducing citrus fruits and juices before age 1 may provoke an allergic reaction, especially if allergies run in your family.

Egg whites: Your baby can eat egg yolks now, but wait a year on the protein-rich whites because he may be allergic to them. In fact, if you think your baby is at high risk for allergies, you may want to delay giving him egg whites until he's 2.

Honey: Honey can harbor spores of Clostridium botulinum, which causes botulism. An adult's intestinal tract is able to prevent the growth of these spores, but in a baby the spores can grow and produce life-threatening toxins.

Peanut butter: Peanuts are highly allergenic. Rather than risk a violent allergic reaction, wait until your child is at least a year old before introducing peanut butter. (If you or your mate has peanut allergies, wait until your child is at least 3.) Another reason to hold off on peanut butter is its sticky consistency, which can make it tough for a young child to swallow safely.

Wheat or wheat products: Most babies can handle wheat found in many cereals and breads when they're about 6 to 8 months old. Wheat is the most common grain allergen, though, so if you're concerned about allergies, it might be a good idea to wait until your baby is 1.

Shellfish: Because it can be highly allergenic, experts recommend excluding shellfish from your baby's diet until his first birthday. (If you suspect he's susceptible to allergies, wait until he's between 3 and 4 years old.)

Tree nuts (like pecans and walnuts): If you think your baby is at risk for allergies, you might want to wait until he's 3 or 4 before giving him nuts. Otherwise he can probably handle them when he's 1, as long as they're pureed in food or in nut butters. (Whole nuts and pieces of nuts pose a choking hazard.)

Other potential allergens: If you're concerned that your baby may be prone to allergies because of your own allergies or your mate's, you might choose to delay the introduction of other commonly allergenic foods like corn, soy, chocolate, or anything else you're allergic to until your baby's at least 1. Depending on the severity of your allergy and other factors, you may want to wait even longer. For help making this decision, talk to your child's doctor.

If you're breastfeeding, avoiding all nuts and possibly eggs and milk in your own diet may help in delaying or preventing allergies in your baby.

Cow's milk: Stick with breast milk or formula until your child's first birthday. Why? Your baby can't digest the protein in cow's milk for the first year, it doesn't have all the nutrients he needs, and it contains minerals in amounts that can damage his kidneys.

Large chunks: Pea-size pieces of food are safest they won't get stuck in your child's throat. Vegetables like carrots, celery, and green beans should be diced, shredded, or cooked and cut up. Fruits like grapes, cherry tomatoes, and melon balls should be cut into quarters before serving, and meats and cheeses should be cut into very small pieces or shredded.

Small, hard foods: Nuts, popcorn, cough drops, hard candies, raisins, and other small dried fruit and seeds are potential choking hazards. Also avoid chewing gum and soft foods like marshmallows and jelly candies that might get lodged in your child's throat.

More choking prevention:
Avoid letting your child eat in the car since it's hard to supervise while driving.

If you're using a rub-on teething medication, keep an even closer eye on your baby as it can numb his throat and interfere with swallowing.

Foods to avoid: 12 to 36 months
Low-fat milk: Your toddler needs the fat and calories of whole milk for growth and development. Once he turns 2 (and if he doesn't have any growth problems), you can start giving him lower-fat milk if you like.

Choking hazards: Continue to avoid all the choking hazards listed above, as your child might still have trouble getting them down safely. Also be careful not to give him large dollops of peanut butter. Instead, spread it thinly on bread or crackers. You might want to try thinning it with some applesauce before spreading it.

Highly allergenic foods: Most kids can handle common allergens by their first birthday. If you're concerned about allergies, experts suggest delaying the introduction of egg whites until age 2, and holding off on shellfish, tree nuts, and peanuts (including peanut butter) until your child is at least 3.

Warning signs of an allergic reaction
Signs of an allergic or bad reaction to food include vomiting, diarrhea, rash, swelling, abdominal pain, cough, crankiness, excessive gas, hives, itching, runny nose, shortness of breath, stomach bloating, and wheezing. Symptoms most often show up within a few hours of eating. Call your doctor right away if you think your child may be reacting badly to something he ate.

Wen,
for japanese product, get it from taka cold storage, higher chance to get it or liberty market. One supermarket @ city hall also have leh..

hi there mummies!

Tot i'd update everyone since i'm eating snake at work rite now.. keke... ;p

re hairloss:
went to see sinseh, and took medicine, but no effect leh - maybe cos on some days i forgot to take(!)... at last, i bot dis "clear" shampoo preventing hairloss fr John Little (cos saw got 20% last wk), and washed a few days. Today is day 4 liao.. effect is less hairloss, but still got abit of hairloss lah (i guess normal?)... U all can try and see if it works for u... cheap "solution" tho... cos it oni cost me $4+ after discount, whereas sinseh cost me $40+(!)... haha... ;p

re porridge:
hey, any of u use broth / meat in the porridge? Or vege (eg carrot, broccoli)?

Hi matchgirl,

thanks for the update. me using the Jap brand recommended by one mummy here. seems like the hair loss not so drastic like previously. but dunno whether is it becoz that the phase has passed or wat? but still got shed jus that not in drones only

hi lh_jyc,

for me the phase has not passed... cos i stopped using it for one day, and hair continue dropping.. sighs! Yah, same here, after using no more "raining" hair... but still "light drizzle", haha ;p

Ivy,

Ur little one can accept the gou qi zi taste??

My ger super sensitive nowadays. The slightest thing i add into her milk or porridge she also know. Not easy to trick her liao. Last time used to put medicine into her milk to force her take. Yesterday trying to put paracetemol into her milk.. just 1 ml, she reject her milk liao, and even merlion out everything!!!!!! Feel like slapping her, manzzz!

Wow Ivy! Xavier 8.2kg already ar!! And he is so 'tall'

Joyce,
Which shampoo you using?

match_gal,
So the brand of the shampoo you bought is 'clear'?

kk!! Aiyooooo don't slap YJ lar! She is so cute....she knows what you put into her milk...you should feel happy leh! At least next time no one can 'drugged' her

fates,
yup.. the brand is called "clear"... got many 'types', but buy the orange-coloured prevent hairloss one... actually i saw it in watsons and guardian too... but at last bot fr JL cos got 20% dat day leh, hehe... Actually i saw some expensive hairloss shampoo in Carrefour shelf too - but when i check out the content, the "clear" shampoo seems to have the same content (the first two "ingredients" is the same) - so i went for the cheaper solution first. Anyway, juz to try it out ;)

kk,
eh, v hard to get them to take medicine... at last i mix wif water and feed slowly via bottle... hv to distract her while feeding s'more... ;p

kk,
my son is a "rubbish bin". Any thing that we eat, he will eat...So if you wan to give him something new, just eat infront of him then feed him. He will definitely take it! haha...

Happy to be reading all posts....Very informative.
BTW do you all BBs sweat alot? Asked the PD and he says that BBs metabolism rates are very high. They tend to sweat a lot to get rid of the heat of their body. This condition will continue till 3 to 4 yrs old....Anyone????Dunno true or not...

Any one's bb got wind????Mine keep farting......have bought Infacol wind drops....from pharmacy....but still quite alot of wind....

hi mommies
Thanks for the welcome! I am so touched!

Annie
Oh? So your colleague is not doing biz from the agar-agar making yar? I just mentioned this to my frd over the phone. She is interested to find out which brand of baking powder (high-end ingredients) did your colleague order from overseas? Why so special and pricey? Can you ask your colleague? I am sure she will tell you right since both of you are colleagues? Thanks! I need to see some pictures and sizes and flavours your friend is capable of making. Can you email me the pricelist & pictures? IF you dun mind, can also post the info here..

RE: Phone-bills
Err...I still cannot believe the kind of high-expenses you have incurred in your phone bill leh! *heart-pain*

Ivy
Oh? That will be a great idea! Ok, when is your gathering? I will look out for the pictures in this thread. Remember to snap pics on the agar-agar hor? Thanks-in-advance!

shimmrs

can u PM me your email add so that i can 4ward u the pics and the agar agar contact??? or mayb u can see annie's agar agar pics 1st before u decide whether u wan to get from her col??? i think her col's agar agar more high end type and taste better since its expensive

Fates jiejie,

Mummy never slap me in the end because i smile at her kekeke...

matched_gal jiejie and Ivy Yeo jiejie,

Last time i am rubbish bin. Now, i smart liao leh, i know how to differentiate my favourite food and those food that YUCKS!

Good nite all jiejies *MUAKS*

585171.jpg

hi Wen,
i got it from an organic shop at Greenwood near Bukit Timah.Maybe you would like to try vivo city?Heard there's a hugh organic supermarket there.Any mummies chk out that place yet? Can share share info p/s

littletot,
the organic supermart in Vivo is now my fave plc! haha...It got everything that i need to make my organic food. Must go and see!

Hi fates,

Am using the asciene or something..the advertisement w Zhang Ziyi

ydnic
talk abt perspiring!! my son is like an ice cream man, even when the fan is blasting at him or w aircon, he will perspire...sometimes so funny to see his hair all wet while feeding...
maybe its becoz he is born in the year of dog?? keke heard dogs also perspire easily

littletot,
eee where is the greenwood? me also looking for organic stuff for boy, btw, does it has organic cereal also?

Shimmr,
What to do, as i told you the whole complete story @ e jkjk post (missing thread)... Who call me so stupid to provide my contact number damn early.. Luckily, only for that particular mth.. else, i sure cancelled my line immediately..

Pooh & Shimmr,
I think depend you are ordering from who to eat.. if mainly young kids then ordered the cheap one lar.. cos, not everyone really appreciates or understand the hard work involve especially hand made type.

My colleague is not making a profit out from me. I ordered 3 agar agars leh $80 is cheap. cos pooh paid $35 for one simple one. My colleague paid to attend many courses to learn the skill and brought the modes to do the shape, the time and effort to make layer by layer esp diff texture, indigrents create the density / weight.. all i can said, you see n think its easy but when you do it then you know skill is required.

I doubt i can give you the price list, maybe i check with her whether is she willing to help cos these days,she spend her weekends to do volunteer works. (sorry if spelling mistake) unlike past few years when she took up the courses, she brought agar agar every monday for us to eat and give her comment. She learnt for her interest.

I will try to dig out wedding agar agar she did for me on my wedding and posted here. She didnt take many pics over the past years..

Personally, I ordered two boxes of agar agar mooncakes from her during mooncake festival for my mil. She can do few diff types of mooncakes... and one birthday agar agarwith the longervity word and a old man for my father last year's birthday. The indigrents are from japan brand.Not fatting and healty type.

Hmm.. i didnt know agar agar need baking powder? i know how to make normal agar agar with coconut milk or condensed milk with..

RE: Clear shampoo,

matched gal, i have tried over the weekend and ifound that its really leave my hair clean without much hair dranduff.. Sigh! after labour, i have this dranduff and hair loss .. according to my colleagues, they stated its normal and also a sign for the homo change..

lh_jyc,
along bukit timah road, turn in from HillCrest. Will pass by RGS, go straight and you'll see GreenWood.But hor that place is a very small organic shop.Not worth coming all the way.Was there for the 1st time yesterday so not sure on their fresh veg supply.They only have organic cereal for adults very limited items only.Think it's better that you chk out vivo city

I like using Ascience,now my HB say can run his fingers thru without getting stuck..kekeke also when tie liao let down, the tie mark also not so obvious

There is a possibility that I cant make it this Sunday as I may need to attend a wedding! I just checked the date and its this SUnday!

YJ meimei,
You are so adorable! Hugz!

Annie,
Me no dandruff problem - but got hairloss problem. One thing about the Clear Shampoo - if i dun use it everyday, my hair turns oily the next day. Last time i used to wash hair e'day, but ever since hairloss, once every 2 days... Now, since i'm using Clear, back to washing everyday (back to madrush every morning, haha)... ;p

Littletot,
wah, the ascience sounds gd huh... u sound like the advertisement line, hahaha... *kidding*... ;p I'm tempted to try... Btw, did ur hairloss reduce after using it? Use everyday also?

hi annie,

har...the pooh agar agar is simple meh? it comes in many colour layers lei...okok...i must go on sunday to see your agar agar...so excited now...

hi ivy,
i went vivo to check out the organic mkt too. small lar but hor...so expensive...

then i went to the organic mkt at dempsey road...lagi expensive...spent $40 on spinach, potatoes, avocado, cherry and strawberries...later when we went carrefour, the non-organic ones cost less than $15...wah lau...kanna suan by hubby....

now dare not even mention the word "organic" ;-P

btw, i saw organic bb cereal b4...i tink it's "bellamy" brand ah...can't rem...but it's not gluten-free lei...so i also dun dare to buy.

matched gal,
All shampoo has this LSL (L... supla..) in the content.I understand from my ex boss whose fil own shampoo co.. stated that is one form of oil.. the more u use with such indig, some pp will end up with more oily hair as time goes by. Somemore you washed everyday before labour.. faint* really not good to yr scalp leh.. after labour lagi worst cos homo change mah..

Ino,
Colour is easy to make than texture.. :p i mean diff type of agar agar lar.. All organic food are damn x lar.. even the egg cost $1 each..

i also very sua-ku...din even noe that there's organic chicken...until i saw it at an organic shop called bunalun at Chip Bee Gdns....wah zan...2 slabs of chicken breasts cost $29!!!!!!
*slap forehead*

matched gal,
ya, hair was dropping like nobody's biz. After i swop shampoo better liaoz
.Yes i wash my hair e'day.

lh_jyc,
hmm.... mayb can try town area.Heard there's a few organic shop. Brown Rice Paradise at Tanglin Mall sells organic baby cereal, Earth's Best and Healthy Times.Cant remember if they sell fresh veg a not liao :p.Some NTUC also have small organic corner.Eg. parkway, But only the dry stuffs.

Ya... agree with your.Organic stuff are super EX!!! Bought 1 pack sweet potato, 1 organic fruit bar two bottles of organic juice costed me $39!!!

annie,

seriously hor i cannot picture something so simple like agar agar will have diff texture leh. u really arouse my curosity.

havent come in for awhile, hope everyone's fine with your babies. Its been 6 mths and everyone is talking abt feeding solids and even organic food. wow, so diff from last tm when i had my 1st child 5 yrs ago. organic food not so common then. thk now all mummeis 'richer' so willing to splurge..hehe

anyway i have so far tried out organic cereal that i BP from milo, and my gal seems to like it.
going into the 2nd box soon. any recomendation what otehr brands and flavours i can try?

my gal is not drinking very well, and every time half way thru the feed, she will cry, can be very scary as if she is hurt. its really not easy to feed her. luckily my maid is helping me do that, in fact i dread feeding her....wander if any babies also behave like that?

annie

wat do u mean the agar agar have texture?? i also cannt figure out wat kind of texture?? or isz the agar agar look like the esplanade??? kekeke

teenoyl

so we have 3 babies sharing the same birthday II
ino's bb also born on 7 mAY and we actuali stayed in the same hospital and our rooms are actuali veri near to each other !!

teenoyl,u staying at TMC also?? ino's bb and my bb gal are just one hr difference in age. ino's bb is jiejie

Talking about organic stuff, I am feeding my baby organic Earth's Best jar food. Read somewhere above this thread that it is available in Singapore too. So far I have let my baby try the sweet potato, and carrots. Taste good, just like the real thing. And they just add in water, and no other additives. At first, I thought of buying organic ingredients to make my own baby food, but then have to buy quite a lot at one time, and will only use a little to make the food. In the end, dun think it's worth the time and effort. Now that I found this Earth's Best food, will probably stick to it. If u gals can find it, might wanna give it a try. It's quite highly rated by the mummies in the US too.

<font color="0000ff">I went for a haircut last Sunday and the hairdresser asked if I suffered from hairloss as she said that there are some baby hair growing from the hairline. Glad to see that my hair loss is slowly recovering. Hope it'll get better.</font>

hi CP

how much u pay for one jar of the earth best ??

so far, i bought two jars from brown rice paradise and each jar cost $2.50 !! its abit ex..thou no preservatives, etc...i find that best is fresh ones ...actuali i'm reading a book ' super baby food' book. veri gd and informative and alwys encourage natural and fresh food for baby.

i do agree that buying and making abit of food is hard work...and sometimes waste food. so now i use freezing method for some food that cannt keep long (eg. avocado) and then the rest, like papaya, pumpkin, i buy from supermarket which sells small portion.

Race, u can get earth best food from tanglin mall, brown rice paradise and if i remember correctly, vitakids from forum also sell some of the earth best products..i bought one packet of rice cereal there before. but nt sure of jar food.HTH

Race C, I am located in the US, so I got it from Babies' R Us (Toys' R Us equivalent for babies). Littletot's post above says that it is available at the Brown Rice Paradise at Tanglin Mall. Not sure how much it will cost in Singapore, but I get it for around US$0.30 per jar.

bbloh, thanks for answering for me. Saw your answer only after I posted my reply.

Pooh, wow, that's so expensive for a tiny jar! $2.50 can buy 'guay peng' for adults liao! Maybe it's more worth it then to make your own food. I thought of freezing the food after making it, but then again wouldn't freezing be kinda the same as canned? Btw, can you tell me the author of this super baby food book? See whether I can find it in the library here.

Annie Quah Y.B.
Err...I meant my frd needs to find out which brand of agar-agar powder did your colleague import from Japan. Not baking powder! Baking powder is for baking cakes! If not, your agar-agar becomes "pong-agar-agar" liao! hahahahah... you know or not?! aiyo!!

Pooh Cutie
Ok, good idea! Shall wait for your gathering pics before decide whose agar-agar contact to get from.