(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Bookworm,

Most of the time if bb dun make noise, ur BM should be enough for bb to drink

And actually bb should survive solely on BM, and not supplement with FM. i read that if we supplement with FM, our BM supply will drop. But i still do that lah, because paranoid.. scared that bb won't grow :p Somemore my milk gradually become diluted and less...

Oh, when BF, still got to burp. i read somewhere need to burp after 5 min latching. BUT i dun burp her during BF because she simply dun let go my nipple!!! If i forcifully pull her from my nipple, she wails loudly again! *headache*

Milo,

Dun worry.. those who give big ang pow are those who have good "jiao qing" with u rite? They won't mind the value of the cake

Milo,
I think amt of voucher to individual does not matter. It is the joy of celebrating and thoughts that count. Like KK mention some with gd jiao qing will give u more , that is natural mah. No feel bad abt it.

I think it also depends on yr budget. i also hv colleagues give Bengawan solo $5 voucher, some even order a 3kg cake to office and cut on the spot to eat.

Qoosan,
these few nights i already let my boy sleep in aircon around 25 degrees liao. so warm until once aircon switch off, his body is so so hot and he goes cranky. But must cover w blanket just in case they are cold at some pt of time.

thanks kk,
u mean ur bb can latch n and take bottle. no nipple confusion?

u mean after the feed, burp her?

ino,
how is ur bb janundice?anyone bb having jaundice?

KK,

I'm envious...ur milk flow is definately more than mine. I spent 10mins massaging the breasts and then pump for 1/2 hr at least on each side to get 60ml (that is on good days)

dunno why supply so low. maybe its because bb dun suckle at my breast at all.

Anyone can suggest how I can stimulate more milk? I've tried the soups but still not much milk lei...

bookworm,

ya rite!! most of the time she take bottle in fact. No nipple confusion
She loves pigeon teats. I used NUK on her...cannot
She chokes easily.

Yes, for both bottle feed and BF, i burp her after that.

Qoosan,

My gynea recommends for bb to be placed in aircon room too.

I've put the temp to be 25 or 26. BB sleeps better and longer and the most imp thing is that his rashes at his forehead disappears after putting him in the aircon...

hi milo,
woah...dilemma...but i tink giving everyone the same wld save u a lot of problem. some may compare, so it's not very nice le.

hi bookworm,
it's me...my bb having jaundice. her level is 13.7...also quite high. everyday sunbathing her and bathing her with some herbs...seems that she's improving. If bb jaundice level is high and your PD recommends that bb be put under phototherapy...then betta heed the advice. For me, i wished that my doc had put her under phototherapy , then i wouldn't have to worry so much! hee hee.

aiyo...my gal screams her head off if i'm a bit slow in giving her BM. Machiam like we bully her...;-P

hi kk, i tot we are not supposed to shake the FM when we put the milk powder inside? When i attended the antenatal class at TMC, Mrs Wong asked us to swirl the milk powder to allow it to dissolve. Can't really rem why we can't shake the bottle...mabbe introduce air bubbles??

my gal recently also had a bit of choking or coughing...mabbe drink too fast? yesterday, i gave her FM and she spit out all the milk...in the end, gotta give her BM again...sigh...my nipple now very sore liao. ;-(

wow, so no one here purely BF? everyone pumps out ah? hmm..tried to feed my BB water on the avent bottle, she not interested leh. Maybe becos its not milk?so now worried, she might not adpet to bottle.

Joyce,

haha i massage less than 10 seconds :p

Hmmm, my bb not latching on very often too. Its like twice a day now. So probably that's why supply running low soon...

Hey congrats to Zach's mum and IVY!!

My son nowadays drink v little...everytime he drinks halfway and fall asleep, my MIL let him sleep! I am so sad leh

Firstly wasting my BM, and secondly suppose to finish at least 70ml straight rite?

Ino, but the danger zone is 20 and I was told that its common that BB got jaundice lor. Anyway, mine 16.2 even worst. Think better go for blood test tomoorow. the thing is i cannot tell if she is improving. We use the herbs also.

I was told also the too much phottheraphy hurts bb skin and change her pigmention, make her become bronze wor.So i am very unwilling to put her in hospital. And its such a hassle when u are BF.

bookworm,

u try to feed bb with milk using avent bottle, see whether she ok with it or not

All BB dun like to drink water haha.. have to force it down their throats.

Ino,

Oops, yup i mean swirl.. not shake :p

Hey, my girl opposite.. choose to vomit out my BM after sucking and happily drink FM. So i wonder how much BM she actually take in when i BF her. I find that my BM is not gone to waste when express.

Fates,

Think all bb have the same prob...
maybe u can try the following when feeding :-
i) shake the bottle
ii) softly touch his cheeks
iii) put ur finger at his chin to guide him to move his mouth
iv) pull the teats in n out of his mouth

I've tried all these methods and its works on mine who often suck a bit n fall asleep...me dunwan him to waste my milk after all the efforts hee...

Bookworm,
I've to pump out coz bb refuse to suckle. its better to direct feed the bb then pumping

bookworm,

I heard that constantly drinking BM will increase risk of jaundice because we never know what food we take in will lead to jaundice in BB.

Hi starry n Joyce,

Then think i more 'fang xin' to let him sleep in aircon room, maybe on aircon at nite when the weather become vry humid. My son nose has this mucus discharged, i thout he vry cold that's y dont dare to on the air con.

Joyce,
Maybe u want to try the Fenugreek supplement to increase MS. u can get it fr GNC or NTUC pharmacy.

Hey Joyce,

He is always very very hungry when we feed him, and gobble down the EBM. Drink halfway and fall asleep. Suppose to burp him then he will wake up again rite? My MIL didn't burp him well....no patience I guess..sigh..

bookworm,

The phototheraphy don't hurt baby's skin, but the eyes. That is why the eye will be covered up. If the jaundice level is too high, need to go for this.

kk,
BM don't increase the risk of jaundice leh...but rather it's the ginger we eating.

Can we drink those wine if we give baby breastmilk, be it direct latch or expressed?

fates,

Yah lor, its the food that we take, that may end up in BM so by letting bb drink the BM, higher risk of jaundice in them :p

But then, seems like we can't go without ginger. I hate it!! But being forced to eat.. sigh.

Drink wine can.. but do not BF or pump within 2 hrs. i think that's the rule of thumb. I normally dun BF or pump for 4 hrs if i consume those food cooked in wine.

kk,
I am abit apprehensive of drinking those liquor, coffee or tea leh. Even my favourite COKE I dare not drink

My mum and MIL keep asking me drink hard liquor and DOM but I didn't.
So within 2hours don't pump huh?

aiyo...i din noe BF got so much rules...i'm almost totally on BF...i will only give FM , say during nite time and that's once a nite only...the rest of the time...i will try to BF.

hi fates, i was reading the book written by Mrs Wong (fr TMC) and it said that a bit of wine is ok. Generally it's 1g of wine to 1 kg of your wt...so if u are 50kg, u can afford to drink about 50g of wine lor.

hi kk,
same here. i also dunnoe how much she takes in. Usually she just drink from one breast per feed. So i alternate between the 2 breasts such that there's some "resting" time...hee hee.

Hi ino,
cant rmb r u the one who use the ameda dual pump, can i hav the distributor contact?how do u find the pump? is it noisy?

Hi Joyce,

U r not alone. I also low MS and still trying to tong thru. Mrs Wong did mentioned Fenugreek supplement as the last resort. You may want to try if the soup is not working. I hv not intention to try Fenugreek supplement until maybe few weeks later. Me still trying to work out what can I do naturally. Heard drink 2-3litres of water daily do help.

If i come across any new findings , will let u know.

can drink so much water per day?
My mum forbid me to drink so much water each day....i still having water retention at the fingers and feet....

hi qoosan,
yup, i was the one who bought the ameda pump. The distributor is Euramedic. Contact no. is 68447717. I've got no comparisons coz i've not used other pumps. But it's quite good to me and it's not really very noisy. Tolerable lar. i just rem my fren telling me that the noise is less irritating than medela.

Joyce, KK, you express / latch only 3-5 times a day?
In the first week, i express every 3 hours, average total 45ml both sides each time. Now, in the 3rd week, express/latch every 1.5 to 2 hours. Average total 60ml both sides each time.
Two days ago,BM supply dropped to 30ml. I was so depressed, poor hubby, vent my frusfration on him. CL started to cook papaya fish soup, supply dis increase a bit.

Initially, i pumped for half hour, latch for 45 minutes each side. Called TMC LC, thay taught me to massage breast first. Then pump for 5-10 minutes. rest and massage for 5 minutes. pump again. It works for me. Takes shorter time, less taxing to nipple, increased supply and no lumps.
Tha massage is : used the fingers push the breast towards the nipple, 12 o'clock, 6 o'clock', 3 o'clock, 9 o'clock. Then use scissor style (index and middle finger) massage for nipple.

Huh? Latch also need to burp meh? I 'be never burp baby after latching. Where does the air come from?

Drink lots of water actually reduse water retention. I am a good example. Drink longan date tea and milo round the closk. My water retention acutally subsided.

for those had engaged CL b4 .. how much did u spend on ur veg n meat ar?? now only 4th day n already spend abt $150 (include 'some' tonic like dates,longon,blackbean,dang sheng etc) liao.. my hb say very siong ar ..

hi hazel,
confinement food is quite expensive. Like my daddy who is cooking confinement food for me, he spends an average of $20/day on marketing to buy stuff to cook for me to eat. Just 2 days ago, we just spent $400 on tonics at Eu Yan Sang. I tink i will spend about $1K on confinement food/tonics for just 1 month. No choice...coz got to build up my health again. My hubby also say it's very siong...well...no "pain" no gain. hee hee.

Hazel, your Cl does the marketing. I presume the $150 of stuff bought will be consumed over the 1-2 weeks or so? Then is should be ok.
THe ficsh my MIL is the 'sprcial' kind (con't remember name) and more expensive. We expected to spend $1-2k on confinement food and tonics.

Fates,

Wahh tell u, i cannot tahan DOM!! I am not going to take that. My mil already take DOM to cook chicken like tonics. Alcohol evaporate mah, but the alcoholic taste is still so strong!!!

So now basically my tonic is cooked using wine my mum make herself. Got ginseng, etc.

Yup, i basically express milk before drinking that. After that i sleep.. middle of the nite wake up earliest 3 am to pump if feel engorged.

Ino,

My bb latch on my right and doze off after that.. she can't even be bothered about the left.. and basically my left not much milk also.. the most 10 ml. My right can produce as much as 80 ml this morning!! My left.. dunno why.. this morning more productive.. can produce 30 ml.. so i express 100 ml this morning heeee..

Hi Ino,
Thanks for the contact ya! I m considering buying an electric pump btw Avent Uno and this Ameda.
Is ur pump a dual pump? What does the whole package included?

my bb jaundice dropped laio. Lucky thing never heed the pad advice to hospitilised last week. Though high but drop signinificaly. heng man
Now i still BF direct. Dun think enough to pump out, my girl drining every 2 hours, where got extra to pump out?

i am back!!!

Here is my birth story, a bit long winded..haha...

18th May.

6am: Wake up and wash up. Made breakfast for hubby and myself. Cannot eat cos a bit apprehensive. Drank a cup of milo.

7am: Left house and drop by temple for a prayer that it will be a smooth delivery.

8am: Reached TMC. Hubby at the registration counter to do paperwork while i am lead into the delivery room.
Changed and did urine test. Given eczema although i said that i din eat any thing. ( the feeling of water up the anus is very eerie).
Told to endure for as long as i can before gog to release in the toilet.

9am: Release bowels. churning feeling in stomach...grrgg...
Hubby came into observation room and join me.

9.30am: Strapped on CTG while waiting for gynae to come. Hubby sitting there and read his papers. No feeling yet, reading my novel.

10am: Gynae came. Told the midwife to start me on drip. The vein insertion for the drip is ouch...Then he did VE and use a pincher to break the waterbag! OUCH, pain factor, 5/10.
Told me that the contractions should come after this.

10.30am: Contractions came fast but not furious! Coming at every 2mins but not intense for labour yet. Endure...Pain factor, 7/10.

11.45am: Midwife do VE and say only 3cm. Thats only 1cm improvement despite being on drip and contractions every 2mins! Told her very pain liao, give me the gas and jab in the buttocks.
No relief from the jab leh, but the laughing gas is making me dowsy and high

12.45pm: Gynae came to visit again. Still 3-4 cm dilated only. Told me that it will be a long labour cos cervix is not opening yet, maybe 1 cm per hour Hearing this, I buay tahan liao. Told midwife: GIVE ME EPIDURAL!

1.15pm: Sign consent form for epi but told to wait as the doc is attending to another lady. They prepare to push me into the Birth Room while waiting for the doc. Put on heart pressure monitor. Pain factor now:9/10!

2pm: The doc is finally here! Told me that he will relief me of my pain within a few minutes. Happiness coming.

2.30pm: Epi injected for half hr liao and I am still feeling the contractions! I am the 10% that epi dun work well! Puke water (side effects of epi). Sucking the laughing gas like mad cos even if it dun relief the pain, at least I am high! Gynae came to visit, 4cm only. Told me that he will come back in the evening.

He actually went out to tell hubby that contractions is fast but dilation slow and BB is starting to head sideways. Might have to prepare for c-sect liao. Told the nurse to draw a syringe of blood to stay by for c-sec. ( need to match the blood platelets for c-sect.) I think he dun want to stress me further...cos the nurse told me that its a standard routine to stand by blood.

I am drifting in and out of conscious cos the gas is making me high. Hubby playing some stupid music (bb Mozart) and talking to BB.

3.20pm: Suddenly heard midwife say: You are ready! I say huh? Ready? Really? You sure? 10cm liao? Really? She went out to call gynae (who is in the other birth room next door).
Gynae came in , dress up and me on the stirrups. Everything is happening super fast!

Gynae say: PUSH! RestPUSHand PUSH! Darling Xavier is out!

Everyone say this guy is a surprise to us. Thought he will take a while but once he decided to come, things are so swift! Haha.

Bad news is that bb is rejecting me liao.
He is suckling well in the hospital, then came home and got fed on water using the avent teats. Plus i showered!
Dunno is becos of the teats or my new body smell...how?

he is crying so badly that he is snatched away to be FM fed liao.
Think i will try later again. If he is really not interested in me, then i bo bian and will use EBM. Gotta decide what is a good pump soon.

Ivy,

Congrats!! WOW, u are lucky. My bb headed sideways while waiting for 10 hours after induce
So caesarian was really the right decision for us.

I dun think bb so fast reject u lah! U try again and let us know

Gummie,

Congrats!!!

For those ordering from continental delights for buffet, pls do not under-cater. Tat's what i did. I am expecting for 52 guests but order for 40 pax only. End up i think the food not really enough. The buffet started at 5 pm but the food finished by around 6+ pm. And really paiseh when 3-4 friends came at 8 pm but nothing for them to eat liao. And i saw the serving not big. It is really JUST enough for the number of pax that we told them.

<font size="+2"><font color="ff6000">Updates!</font></font>

Congratz to gummie!

<font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">ARRIVED!</font></font>

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>DOB</TD><TD>Baby's Gender</TD><TD>Baby's Name</TD><TD>Baby's Weight</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>mandyray</TD><TD>4-May-06</TD><TD>7-Apr-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Nicholas</TD><TD>2.88kg</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD>6-May-06</TD><TD>18-Apr-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Elgin</TD><TD>3.19kg</TD><TD>TMC / C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>sallykoo</TD><TD>4-May-06</TD><TD>18-Apr-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Benson</TD><TD>2.875kg</TD><TD>TMC / C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>21-Apr-06</TD><TD>21-Apr-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Yu Jun</TD><TD>3.19kg</TD><TD>TMC / C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>sponge</TD><TD>3-May-06</TD><TD>22-Apr-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Ariel</TD><TD>2.63kg</TD><TD>Mount A / Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Qoosan</TD><TD>19-May-06</TD><TD>25-Apr-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Mount A / C-sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>Twinkle-Starry</TD><TD>7-May-06</TD><TD>26-Apr-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Kevan</TD><TD>3.55kg</TD><TD>TMC / C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amie</TD><TD>26-Apr-06</TD><TD>26-Apr-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>3.14kg</TD><TD>East Shores </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>3-May-06</TD><TD>26-Apr-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Darius</TD><TD>3.17kg</TD><TD>Mount A / C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yvonne du</TD><TD>6-May-06</TD><TD>27-Apr-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Natasia</TD><TD>3.06kg</TD><TD>Mount E / Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>fates</TD><TD>18-May-06</TD><TD>28-Apr-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Yi Jie</TD><TD>2.4kg</TD><TD>East Shores / Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Piglet</TD><TD>2-May-06</TD><TD>30-Apr-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Sofia</TD><TD>3.34kg</TD><TD>Mount A / Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sook</TD><TD>5-May-06</TD><TD>30-Apr-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Wu ShiQin</TD><TD>2.920kg</TD><TD>TMC / Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milo66</TD><TD>18-May-06</TD><TD>1-May-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Kaeden</TD><TD>2.845kg</TD><TD>Mount A / C-sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie</TD><TD>8-May-06</TD><TD>2-May-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Deng Qian Yi, Keane</TD><TD>3kg</TD><TD>Mount A / C-sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelzwynd</TD><TD>2-May-06</TD><TD>2-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Clarice</TD><TD>3.045kg</TD><TD>TMC / Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyce Loh</TD><TD>21-May-06</TD><TD>2-May-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Rayne</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sindy Lee</TD><TD>9-May-06</TD><TD>4-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Sherry Wu Zhi Xuan</TD><TD>3.59kg</TD><TD>Mount A / C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>ydnic</TD><TD>14-May-06</TD><TD>6-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>ino</TD><TD>21-May-06</TD><TD>7-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Natalie</TD><TD>3.24kg</TD><TD>TMC / Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>pooh</TD><TD>18-May-06</TD><TD>7-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>2.77kg</TD><TD>TMC / C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>bookworm</TD><TD>17-May-06</TD><TD>9-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Mount A / Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Race C</TD><TD>20-May-06</TD><TD>10-May-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Pang Jin Heng</TD><TD>2.9kg</TD><TD>East Shores / Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Scott</TD><TD>21-May-06</TD><TD>11-May-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Scott Lim</TD><TD>3.285kg</TD><TD>TMC / Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_Nana</TD><TD>7-May-06</TD><TD>12-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Kaelyn</TD><TD>3.68kg</TD><TD>Portland Hospital, UK / C-sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>fairysnowberry</TD><TD>20-May-06</TD><TD>14-May-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Jayden</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>20-May-06</TD><TD>15-May-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Jared Hee</TD><TD>2.91kg</TD><TD>TMC / Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eve_Lim</TD><TD>14-May-06</TD><TD>16-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>3.54kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ivy Yeo</TD><TD>18-May-06</TD><TD>18-May-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Xavier</TD><TD>3.03kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zach's mum</TD><TD>25-May-06</TD><TD>19-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>gummie</TD><TD>19-May-06</TD><TD>20-May-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>3.445kg</TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

gals,

do u gals use pacifers? is it advisable?

my baby seems to havr a fussypriod in the middle of the night, refused to sleep, anyone facing such problem.

bookworm,

We use pacifier when the bb make too much noise at nite heee... but she suck a bit and spit out liao, because no milk :p We dun want her to overdrink, u see. She is sooo greedy at times.

My bb girl too!! Refused to sleep at nite. Yesterday my friend bought her bb boy along for my full mth celebration and she mentioned he took around 6 weeks to really sleep longer night hours. So i think it is really a waiting game.

Hey Mums and mtbs

Seems like majority of us has popped. Those still waiting must b very excited too.

Congrats Ivy, thk when i was discharged from TMC, u got admitted, on 18 may...hehe
So did your epidural actually works or not?

I also had epidural at abt 3-4cm dilation. I was kiasu and wanted apidural when i was 1cm dilate :p but the nurses wont allow......so pushed up to the ward to wait for closer contractions.

Baby is latching on well, i had very bad sore nipples now. every feed is a nightmare. now hve to feed on 1 side n hope the other side will heal faster.

Kindly update:

Baby's name: Breia Lim
Hospital: TMC/Natural w epi

Hi Sook,

Thanks for the advice re the massage, will try it later.
yup I express 3 times per day. Found it very tiring and my nipples are sore like anything. coz I take about 1.5hrs each time to have about 40ml to 60ml of milk
really pathetic and feel like giving up n give him FM. Whats the big deal abt BF???? GGggGGGrrR

Hi Ivy,

I've got the avent iq uno...strange it does not work for me when I tried it both times, so I've changed to the medela pump. Medela works better for me but it sure is noisy

Hi KK,
Me too...kena forced to take all the funny tonics, Really ta bu lake tahan all these chinese herbs and wine stuff.
worse my mum went to buy this foul smelling chinese herbs which I've to take 18 times...me now took 4 packets and had LS each time I took. being forced to take coz she said they are good for me {build up health etc etc) and is super costly
husband supports them and asked me to swallow the stuff as it is for my own good...

counting down the days.....11 days to freedom!

Congrats Ivy, ya, sometimes our bundle of joy wants to show who's boss. No one else can control when they decide to pop out.

I was surpised TMC allow you to use teats to feed Bb. I cup feed my Bb glucose and formula for the first few days. Luckily i was stuborn and insisted my CL an d MIL to cup feed BB. (My CL with 16 years experience and MIL were so amazed to bee BB drinking from cup). Now BB still drink water from cup.

Joyce, pumping 1.5 hour non stop is no joke. Nipple surely get sore and bruised. Try taking a interval breaks. Less taxing.