(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

my bb quite easy to take care for these days .. drink milk liao zzzz ... hungry liao just stick out tongue n make suckle sound so cute if nv attend to him he will start to cry and finish liao will zzzz again .. or all newborn r like that..

423303.jpg

taken day 1

hazel...

hohoho... ur bb is chubby.. wanna pinch his cheeks.. kekeke...
Wow u wake up so early.... Ya bb's routine are eat, sleep , shit... kekeke... same here so din reali entertain her!!!

Hazel,

Soon ur bb will require lots of ur attention haha.. now we are driven crazy by my bb girl.. she wants us to carry her before she sleep..

Twinkle,

Hey, i also hear my mum say not to eat and drink while standing up. Not only during confinement, but also everytime when we are having menses. U know what my mum say? She say the uterus will drop if we do so :p

Ino,

U have to consistently sunbathe ur bb liao. And yup, do try the powder that twinkle suggested. For my case, my neighbour told us to boil 7-8 red dates (seedless) with water until a few teaspoonfuls and feed the bb. She say it works for her children that time.

gabby's mum,
did u mention that you were tested positive for GBS and currently on medication? i realised my doc did not perform the test for me, even though i had a history of UTIs... how ah? how long does it take to clear if u go on medication?

tomoro my EDD liao... have to go back for checkup again. my doc will prob ask if i want to opt for induction (which is really a scary thought for me...i heard it's painful and worry also will end up c-sec) or choose to wait until week 41. i really dun want to wait anymore, what shd i do?

Gummie
I'm going for check up later. Will update.

The shopping didn't work ah? Actually I've also tried a few other methods at home, all didn'w work this time. Dunno why.

Did Dr Yu say how big is the baby? If it's not too big yet, maybe you wait for another week? I'm going to ask Dr how big is the baby later. A bit scared it's too big for natural. :p

zach's mum,
u heard ivy loh... my tummy still v high up leh
i've not really been exercising, but have been walking quite a bit all this while... until last 2 weeks when i started to feel light-headed and tired easily.

i asked her how big my baby was on tue, but as usual, she told me it's 'average' size, about 3kg. anyway she's been telling me that for the last 3 checkups. maybe tomoro she will do a more comprehensive checkup for me, she mentioned CTG and checkin my AF etc.

you have a feelin yr baby may be too 'big'? anyway, keep me updated after yr visit

Help Needed!!

Hi there Mummies,

Would like to seek your help for a recommandation of a good and reliable CL? I tried calling a few which was posted in the other threads but its either a non-registered number anymore or they are already taken.
My EDD is in End-July thus I am quite worried that i might not find one in time.

Since you Mummies are going through your CL now, maybe some can give me your contacts if any?

THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hi kk/pooh,
yeah. we are sunbathing her every morning. hopefully she will recover *keeping fingers crossed* i have also bought the powder suggested by twinkle. in fact, this is the 2nd time that we are bathing her with it...hopefully it helps too. we are at our wits end altho the doc says that there is nothing to worry abt unless the b-level hits 20. aiyo...just feel like giving her phototherapy so that she can recover faster. but doc never say so i dare not suggest as well (after all he's the doc...he noes best)

Gummie,

Some gynae do allow u to wait further..

BUT if u want to go ahead with induce and ur gynae suggest induce, Dun worry, believe me.. no matter how painful it is, everything will be over soon.. and for caesarian, basically i feel on the spot itself, it is really painless. It is the recovery stage after that. But then, u will have ur bb with u already. So why worry?

I managed to survive through that stage, so i believe u can survive too!!

Ino,

How many weeks ur bb now?

Ya, i can understand how u feel. That time when my bb discharged, the level was 8.9. On her first check up, we brought her to the PD and the nurse at the counter took her weight and length then told us "she look a bit yellow leh.. she need a blood test" AIYOH, u know how worried i am!!! Then sudden relief after the blood test results out and it stayed at 8.9.

I pray hard nothing goes wrong at the next checkup at PD, which is her second vaccination too.

Hi ivy,

I have to go for E c-sect coz BB's crown stuck at my virginal opening for almost 1 hr.... but no matter how hard I push also cannot come out any further ...so gyane thinks maybe BB too big for me so ended up I have to do c-sect to get him out..... 8( ... but my mum keep insisting tt maybe is induce too long liao ..22 hrs... n i got no strength to push... 8(

Hi milo,

Can understand how u feel... hubby also took 2 weeks leave after delivery... I also get very paranoid before hubby needs to go back to work ... so scared tt I cannot cope without him ard... lucky for me is tt i still hv mum n maid ard to help... but the feeling is just differnt... but now already slowly use to it liao... by the way ..u mentioned u mix formula with BM???? How to mix??? for me..I usually fed my BB express BM first ...then later feed with formula to supplement...

How much is ur BB drinking now har?? My BB already drinking ard 100 ml.... dunnoe issit too much or too little...coz the instruction on the formula indicate tt 2-4 wks old can drink ard 120 ml liao...but tot its alittle too much for infant...

For bathing ... I put the tub on a waist height cupboard so no need to bend .... so far me also havent got the chance to bath my boy yet... also very worry if i can handle after my confinement ...8(

Hmm.... toking abt janudice... me also very worried... we also everyday monitoring n guessing if my BB still looks yellow... tok of bringing him for blood test this sat .... coz the PD ask us to bring him for test once we have doubts instead of guessing... 8(

Ino,

also put 1 teaspoon of the yellow powder on bb pillow. for me i wrap the powder in a tissue and put under a cloth nappy for bb to sleep on.

Try the red date water suggested by kk also.i let my boy drink tat. but after that when i give him plain water he always made a face . i guess the first time he taste water beside milk is the sweet red dates water lor. yr bb may be different no harm try a few methods. I also try every methods ple tell me at that time bcos me hor very useless and cry the 1st day when i heard he has jaudice even in hospital liao.

Taurus,

i never ask PD on how much my bb shld drink. he told me 2-4 wks is abt 90-120ml. But my boi still feeding on 90ml and i tried to give him 100ml and he cannot finished. so i guess i feed on what he can takes

hi starry,

Thks! I did ask PD during our first week check up and he say should be ard 75ml but my boy only feeding ard 50- 60 ml for the 1st 2 weeks ... and we slowly increase his intake once we see tt he constantly finished the amt that we gave him ...

taurus,

i will prepare 60ml of fm then top up to 90ml with ebm, saw that the nurse at the nursery prepare my boy's milk this way so i follow lor.

any one with idea how to treat rashes? my boy has got rashes on his forehead and near the nose area, i guess that shldnt be milk rash since forhead also have. heat rash?

milo,

the 90 ml of EBM.. did u warm it up? Or just take out from fridge and then top up to the FM?

Mine also have pimples or rashes but it comes and goes.. yesterday saw them.. but today ok liao.. think they are heat rashes lor.

Twinkle/Taurus,

Me too.. my bb feeding on maximum 90 ml of milk and we dun try to force her if she cannot finish. Sometimes she would take 60 ml of milk, happily sleep, then 2 hours later want another 60 ml of milk.

Hi milo,

OIC... didnt even noe can mix like tt... always find so ma fan coz have to use two bottles to feed my boy if I supplement BM with formula.... my mum still ask me can after finish the BM then we use the same btl make formula milk or not... coz sometimes can only express 20 ml...then after that make another btl of 80 ml for my boy ....

The rashes issit something like pimples??? my boy also had quite abit on his forehead ... some still got pus ... PD say its acnes...we just use cotton wool with cooled boiled water to clean his face a few times a day ... PD just say try to keep his face claen can liao.... no need apply anything....

taurus,

For the first 2 weeks, i got so paranoid over bb's jaundice and i kept pressing her face to see got yellow or not. But then hor, despite pressing, i dun even know whether that is yellow or normal colour haha.. and somemore compare to my own skin colour and find my skin even yellower heeeee... so i gave up and didn't resort to that recently. Wait till the next checkup on Monday

taurus,

U got let ur bb direct latch on? At times i know i already run out of milk, so i might as well let her latch on. Lazy to pump, and if pump get only little milk, very depressed :p

Hey, i didn't do mixing of FM and EBM too. Also using 2 bottles.

kk,

after making the FM, still quite hot, after adding the EBM from the fridge, then temp jus nice.

taurus,

hehe i also didnt know till i saw the nurse prepare it this way so i follow lor.

ya something like pimples, a few got some white stuff in it. now i cleaning it with cooled boiled water as well after every feed. urs subsided?

kk,

no lah, i make 60ml FM then add 30ml BM to make it 90ml..

i still pondering need to bring bb to pd to see the rashes or not? u think any cause for worries or not huh?

gummie,
i had no experience of any contractions. And bb was so high up, kicking by rib bones. My bump was bigger above the navel. But i was dilaste 2cm 2 days before delivery lo.

milo,

haha, ok.. Ohhh i read wrongly lah hahaha.. i thought so fast u have 90 ml of EBM liao.. pei fu heee.. aiyah, my BM dying down liao.. then getting so diluted.. u all must JIA YOU!!

No need see PD lah haha.. when is the next check up for ur bb? The pimples are common. Mine also have them. Yesterday we saw the pimples, then we wiped her face and body more consistently, today no pimples liao

Hazel, Joyce,
How is your wound healing. Did Dr A use soluble thread? How long should it take to heal. I forgot he said 2 weeks or 2 months to heal. It was not painful at all the first week, but its a bit painful now, maybe cos, i have stopped taking painkiller, or (touch wood) kena infection.
Finally had the gut to use mirror to see the wound. Still can't figure out leh. Can see the thread stitches. Wipe myself, also dun know wheter its lochia or puss. sigh...
Come to think of it, it could be piles. How to know har?

thanks kk

i guess i'll keep myself open for the option of induction if my gynae suggests that tomoro. c-sec or no c-sec is really not up to our control sometimes... now, i just can't wait to see my boy!

sook,
u also had no contractions ah... i wished i'd end up like you...

btw zach's mum will be admitted this afternoon, she's 5cm dilated!!! yippppeeeeee, let's all wish her a smooth delivery
this is one mummy who still doesn't know whether she'll be receiving a prince or princess!

This is getting exciting for Zach's mum. boy or girl???? i think she hope to hv a girl right?

I also used 2 bottles to feed. maybe later i try to mix i hope my boi like it. he always like to sample the taste then decide to drink or not. A mind of his own sigh!

Hi milo,

yah... the pimples actually subside after we clean his face...but new ones will keep appearing somewhere ard his face.... just try to keep BB face's clean lor... I think its normal..no need to panick .... 8)

Hi kk,

I tried to latch on my BB but coz my nipple too short...he not able to suck and after a few suck he gets very impatient n will start to throw temper...so after a few tries... i gave up.....8(... the LC also did help me to try when i in the hospital n also eventually gave up coz I no milk flow plus short nipple... so in the end she suggest me to feed him express breast milk instead of latching him on..... and I immediately bought the electric breast pump after discharge coz the LC mentioned tt since i got no milk flow...use the electric one will be better...

hi starry,

kekek... i think wat she meant is tt since i got no milk flow ...will be easier if i use electric pump coz if no milk flow use manual pump will pump until fingers trembles...kekek... so much easier with the electric pump...i just need to pump a few times to memory the suction i wan n then press the button n the pump will pump automatically....

Twinkle,

Is it because u got stuff ur boy with water? Haha, my girl do testing first before she start on her milk because she think it may be water heeeeee..

Taurus,

Oiccc.. ya, i think u mentioned before about ur short nipple. Anyway, expressing out is not as stressful as latching on. I just expressed too, my girl so naughty, wait for her to wake up but she keep sleeping since 12 noon. I felt soo engorged, cannot tahan so express out.

hi milo...

Yar... am taking care of baby myself at the moment... my dad trying to help... but after the full month, will move back to my in-laws place, and my mother-in-law will try to help...

Hi Ino

Dun worri, my baby also had veri high jaundice and had to be readmitted... it will go nevertheless... to speed it up, the seed powder is very helpful. Wat we also did was to use red paper (u noe olden daes, they use as rougue) dipped in the bath water to bathe baby... Seem to work...

kk,

we give him water only twice a day and each time is abt 20ml or less. He always got this funni look when he taste water. but he taste everything before he drink. Maybe he is the future chef

taurus,

okie, thks.. now cleaning his face after every feed. hopefully will do off soon.

wat electric pump u using now? so good can memorises the suction? now i using manual pump, really is pump till hand sng

sponge,

ya lor, my boy drinking 90ml every 3hrs interval. hope i am not overfeeding him ah.

for those naturally give birth, ask u hor.. how u take care of ur wound ar .. as my 'xiao du' lotion is finished.. so i just wash with vagisil (feminine wash) and dap dry wif toilet paper. isit the way ar ..

sook,
now i wipe my wound .. still got slight blood ard the area near to anus .. i see the wound thru mirror .. but cant figure out wat is that also .. im having 'lao sai' these 2 days ... dunno isit becoz of the sheng-hua tang that i drink as to clear womb .. my CL also mention that the red dates tat we drink will also help to pass motion.

Taurus,
Why not try pumping for a 1-2 minuets to pull out the nipple and also to activate the let down. Then, latch your bb.
If you bottle feed too much too early, there is a risk your bb will reject nipple cos got too used to bottle teats. The flow for bottle is faster.
All CL (if they are not against BM) will prefer expressed milk due to the old thinking that we can see how much bb consume.
Electic pumo is better than manual. But its definitely not better than latch on.

oops, sorry Taurus, i thought it CL (confinement lady). Hee... Too obssessed with the battle against my CL.

Hazel,
Didn't DR A give you a small tube of cream to apply? Its supposed to last me 3 weeks but i finished it in one week. Ask hubby to get me 2 more tubes already. I try to wash that area at least 3-4 times a day.

Wouldn't toilet paper stick to your skin/wound? I use gause cloth (cloth used to wrap wound) to dab dry that area after wash.

The thing is quited irritating. Sometimes feel like a piece of paper got stuck there.

Lao sai is good, right? No need to strain.

My lochia is clearing up. Thats why i dunno whether the occasional dark brown disharge is lochia or puss..

Hi Sook,

Yup, my wound is slightly better after I applied a cream on the wound n taking antibotics. At least its not so painful now. I wash with warm water and use cotton wool to dry the area b4 applying the cream. Seem to work (touch wood) after 4 days of application.

Hi KK

how much can u express per day? my BM is also dropping these days and its only 2 wks for me

I express 3 to 4 times per day and at most only managed 190ml per day. not enuff for bb and veri diluted also

Hi Milo,

Maybe u wanna try aircon for the bb. Mine got rashes over the forehead also. My gynea advised me to put him in aircon room and bingo! the rashes gone after 2 nites.....

Anyone of u have prob burping ur bb? My prince has a lot of air in his stomach but still refuse to burp...sometimes me feel like putting a straw into his mouth and suck his air out coz he veri uncomfortable wo burping and will scream the place down...my bb really a screamer, he screams when he hungry, wet, dirty and hot
my mil say he like me but minus the screaming la

Hello Joyce,

Mine coming to 1 mth this sunday. Average EBM is 80 ml. Very good luck, will get 100 ml heee.. but rare to get 100 ml recently.

Ur 190 ml is the amount combined from all 3-4 expresses? I let bb latch on around twice a day. I will then express around 3 times a day.

Recently then i discovered my BM seemed diluted. Watery watery.. not as thick as before. Why ah? I wanna know the reason leh...

Put bb in aircon?? That's good news!! Haha!

My bb.. sometimes must burp very very longggggggg before she go BURPPP! Looks like most babies have lots of wind in the tummy ya?

Hi kk,

Actually i find expressing very stressful for me..kekek...coz till now i still prefer to feed my boy immediate exprerss breastmilk instead of storing in the fridge.... and each time boy will suddenly wake up before his milk time n start screming for milk... then i am...still trying so hard to pump that miserable few drops of milk to feed him.... hahahah...hubby n mum have to keep coaxing him that good food have to wake... but shaek their head when they see the miserable amt i pump out...haha

hi milo,

I am using the avent electric pump.... initially got the Avent manual breast pump but after hearing the LC 's advice...hubby immediately go n buy the electric breast pump ... the LC actually recommends Medela n avent brand but since i using all avent's btls might as well buy avent... but its really a gd investment...even hubby also very impress n keep saying its money well worth...hahah...

Hi sook,

Yah..we tried tt before many times but once BB latch on n begin to suck... the nipple will retreat back n BB will get very frustrated n after a few more suckle..he tends to gets impatient n scream.... 8(

Hi joyce,

Dun worry u r not alone...my boy soemtimes burp very fast n loud ..sometimes will just refuse to burp no matter how long we burp him.... maybe u can try holding him straight up n rest his head on ur shoulder to burp him... feel tt my boy burp easier with this posture....

Announcing the arrival of Ivy's boy. Ivy gave birth to Xavier at 3 plus this afternoon and Xavier weighs 3.03kg at birth.

A <font size="+2">BIG</font> CONGRATZ to Ivy!