(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Hi, 1sttimemum

In fact, went to kiddy palace to find the mustela shampoo, but in vain, so i brought the Gerber kit.

Can i ask you u wash ur bb hair alternate day rite?
And before washing ur bb hair, u apply the olive oil first , then wash with te mustela shampoo rite? (Did you apply olive oil everyday?)

Did you brush ur bb hair with comb?

So it
In fact,i have followed by putting olive everyday and wash his hair everyday cos the instructions said must wash away the oil.

However, his yellow crust did not fall off even though i brush it.

How did you manage to help ur bb to have cradle cap problems free?

Please advise

hi gals, am from the march forum. want to ask whther u gals still hv this brown line at the tummy n belly hole cos i try use baby oil n remove n it all came off le. wonder if u gals have try it??

keikei

2 wks after delivery i used an exfoliating scrub on my tummy and bellybutton and a lot of brown bits (like dead skin) came off and the belly hole was back to its normal colour. the brown line is still there but has faded a lot already.

Tracy,
Xuanting's PD is at Rivervale Mall's the Kids Clinic, Dr Allyson Tan.

Think should bring bb there if u think bb got colic or constipation..

Xuanting got to see 3 times. So, so far been Monday, Tues n next b Thurs.. (Yu Guo closes on Wed).

Each session $16 inclusive of seeing the Chinese Physician. So far, seems like got two docs. One is Dr Liu n the other Dr Xiu. My mom thinks Dr Liu very patient n even spotted Xuanting got swollen throat (a bit red) n thus dun drink much milk milk after a while.

Also... after her first session, she pooed. Then this morning, she pooed.. So happy! = )

Juz now after massage she was so tired that she has been since sleeping after 6pm feed.

Wonder if got tui na lesson or not..

Anyway I noticed some tui na methods quite similar to those bb massages type (I borrowed a bb massage book to read n found some similar steps on dealing colic n constipation).

But better dun anyhow try... they expert n i m not. =p

yogurt,
is bouncer the same as rocker? I got a rocker from KidsMall today for her.. she seems to enjoy except she's a bit long.. n so may not b using it for long. Haiz.
450690.gif

Jumbo,

no need apptmts. But I will say late mornings, late afternoons of weekdays and early mornings on weekends b a better choice.

Quite a few bbs there for tui na.. mostly re toddlers.

guess so I will change like tat lo.. the chinese physician recommends goat milk too as it's closest to our breast milk. But not cheap... so I m still hesitating to try tat.. =p

Jolie,
I put olive oil one hour before his bath and after that will wash it off. If let say, Monday use shampoo liao than tuesday won't use liao but still put olive oil leh. Just use water to rinse off. Will still be oily but its okay..... Remember not to put too much coz nothing is good if too much. I dun brush my bb hair coz i lazy.... When you put the oil, massage lightly into the head. Try again and hope it works for your bb too.

koalarie,

yap, bouncer is the same as rocker. i dun think my girl can use the bouncer for long too esp when she starts to turn over. btw, i realised both of our bbs r seeing the same pd

ya lo yogurt.. tat's what was written on the rocker too.. wonder how... she doesn't like lying down now n wants ppl to sit her on laps.

koalarie,

saw that you participated in the BP for the bumbo too. yr girl is like mine, likes to be upright nowadays so hopefully the bumbo will help!! mine will even start fussing/crying the minute she senses that you are lowering her into a lying position!!

Yap... But I got to withdraw le. Becoz my hb said a bit too pricy to buy lo.. so mayb i will look out for 2nd hand one instead.

keikei,
i still have the brown line at tummy...and on & off i still applying strechmark cream... Cos stil have alot(dont waste it mah)

tui na for bb:
it is necessary to give bb tui na????

MRs Ho,
tui na is not necessary at all.

To me, I dun want xuanting to take medication too often.. n i read tat massage helps to promote health better... n of course, there is a saying in chinese, western medication zi bian bu zi beng and chinese tui na or medication zi beng.

re: nepia M size - no urine indicator?

hi all, actually nepia M size does have the urine indicator after all, just opened a new pack and checked it out

koalarie

yah it's not cheap lah but at least it's cheaper than normal price. i was also looking for a 2nd hand one during the last 2 wks but couldn't find. actually i just wanted to try one to see if my girl would like it but don't know anyone who owns one. abt 1.5 mths ago i saw a display one at isetan tampines but baby was too small then and couldn't try. now i'm not gonna drive all the way there to try cos it's v far for me!

miu66

Re: nepia M size no indicator

Hmm.. maybe mine is the old stock thats why, saw a sample piece at NTUC also no urine indicator.. oh yes.. I read from somewhere that we can exchange an unopened pack of Nepia for another size... is it true?

Just went to taka, and must say that the nursing room there is very good, they even provide free wet wipes, talc, etc..

Re: trying of bumbo seat

There is a display set to try at Toa Payoh Kiddy Palace for those who arfe interessted in trying it out..

koalarie

my girl is kinda chubby and the S size is getting tight around her fat thighs!

hunniepot

i also remember reading something abt being able to exchange. perhaps you can call nepia and ask? logically i don't see any reason why they wouldn't be able to do so.

yes, taka nursing room is v good but pls don't go during the weekend. i went last saturday and the place was like a zoo!! there were like 10+ strollers parked outside and a queue for the changing stations and breastfeeding room. it was packed with not just mummies and their babies, but also daddies, grannies, maids, bigger kids etc etc. on that same day, i also used the paragon nursing room (baby was v cranky that day and needed feeding and mommy did not want to flash her breast to all the poor GSS shoppers...) which is ok but very tiny and stuffy compared to their nice big gents and ladies' toilets.

miu66

I was there just this afternoon and it is already pretty crowded at that time of the day.. I was bf my baby while there was a queue of mothers waiting to go inside..

Think Jurong Point's nursing room is quite ok too but abit small, they even have water dispenser for our use, and what I like about it is that they have 3 nursing rooms, instead of taka's nursing room which is shared by 2 mummies at a time, not much privacy though I quite like the changing area as it is very spacious

hunniepot

i was quite desperate to bf bb that day so i just did it in the changing area with a blanket over my shoulder.

is the jurong point nursing rm clean? for me, i dun mind if the place is small, as long it's clean. ever since becoming a mommy, it's like i've made it my personal mission to "assess" all the nursing rooms in places i've visited hahahah
.... here are some places i've been to recently:

taka - as hunniepot mentioned, i think this is one of the best in town

paragon - 3 changing stations, 1 nursing cubicle with lock, sink and hot/cold water dispenser. small and a bit stuffy but clean.

borders (wheelock place) - 1 area mainly for changing baby, with some chairs that you could sit to bf, no lock. clean.

great world city - 1 small room (with lock, called the breastfeeding room) with just a cushioned seat. possible to change baby on the seat. stuffy and didn't feel very clean to me. but i think there is a changing station outside every ladies toilet in the shopping ctr.

equinox at swissotel stamford - 1 tiny cubicle within the very luxurious ladies toilet with a nice cushioned stool and a ledge for changing. i guess since not many nursing moms use this cubicle, the cleaning aunty was using it as a rest area and storage for hand towels on the day i went.

tanglin mall - 1 room with lock for nursing and changing.

i happened to visit tanglin mall on a monday and there is this thing called the 'breastfeeding cafe' held at a shop called Mother & Child every monday 2-4pm. pay $10 for coffee and cake, there is a lactation consultant and opportunity to socialise with other mommies. it's frequented mostly by angmoh expat wives and their babies. anyway, i was in the shop looking at baby products when my girl began crying. they were nice enough to let me use their changing facilities and they also let me bf my bb there for free. they had a nice big room with armchairs, beanbags, cushions, nursing pillows etc etc. felt a bit paiseh cos i didn't pay the $10 and yet the lactation consultant came by to chat with me, and it was nice to see so many women bf'ing their bbs together.

Those whose menses back, how long does the first one last?? Wow, can be pretty heavy ya.. but still manageable. got to run toilet often, else will stain panty.

Hi kk, my mense came last week, the 2nd day was scary, like running tap when I stand up from sitting position. Lasted for 3 days & I started to take Yasmin, the contraceptive pill on the 5th day.

Juzmaine,

Oh lasted for 3 days only?

Me not on any contraceptive before hee..

Oh at least i still have time to run to the master toilet before the blood flows out heeeee.. so not so bad. But didn't sleep well last nite lah cos the blood seem to ooze out.. so i quickly get out of bed for the toilet. Scared it stain my bedsheet.

Yes, but not as much, and not immediately now, but still will lor. Oh, are u the one who mentioned abt bfree bottle? Is it effective?

juzmaine,

oh no, not me.. haha.. if bfree bottles work, i would like to try too

Mine also leh.. but not so much liao.. BUT hor, if she super grumpy and stretch herself a lot, will still fountain leh

kk, mine oso like dat, when stretch will still spit, but not projectile liao, so now I ty to cuddle him longer but he'll still spit abit when he wakes up, sigh..

kk, Juzmaine,

Bfree bottles really effective. It reduces my bb spitting by alot. Now I don't have phobia feeding him anymore.

re: Nepia diapers
I know that L size have urine indicator ley.. weird ah.

smurfy,

again, where did u get the bfree bottles? Heee.. forgot liao.

Any mummies start bb on M sized pampers premium liao?

kk,

I bought one at Kaki Bukit (forget its Baby Kingdom or Hyperstore) and one at Metro Paragon. I also saw it at John Little. Think alot of places got sell.

kk

My girl has been on M size for some time already.. finished 1 pack of nepia M and now halfway thru pampers M.. heh confirm this pampers M size got no urine indicator cos I bought it just recently only

Pampers M size cutting is also slightly smaller than nepia M

kk & Jazmaine,
My bb also change all his bottle to Bfree liao. Really reduces my bb spitting by alot alot. Buy one and give it a try!!!!

hunniepot,

I bought 3 packs of M sized pampers premium from ntuc liao. Offer.. one pack can save $3.. so can buy and stock up even if not suitable now heee.. tomorrow will let bb try one, see can or not. Ur bb big sized leh, so use M sized can lor

MIA for a few days. Just started work yesterday. So stressful. Have to ebm every 4-5 hrs then rush home to latch on my girl for her last feed. So tired man.

Wow, your bbs are using size M already. My girl still can fit into NB size. Small butt I think.

nana,

oh are u the mummy who is back from ur india trip?? Hey, how is it? heee.. enjoyed urself? Got miss bb? :p

I have booked my HK trip, so will be going with hubby next weekend - 5 days trip.

Just to check with you gals hor.... anyone interested in trying out Nano Siliver Baby wipes huh?? I bought too many in the BP liao and i still have alot of other wipes so thinking to sell half of what i bougth. 30's @ $1.20 per packet.
Read up on nano silver particles on some web pages. Think these wipes have the most natural ingredients as compared to those (even pigeon) that have preservatives in them.

kk

Pampers premium ex leh.. even b4 $3 savings per pack, still costs about $26+ each pack right? I am trying to finish using up my 2 packs, think my baby has a big backside, looks like she will outgrow pampers M soon.. how ah? I still have 1.5 packs packs of pampers premium, 1 pack of sealer, 2 packs of nepia.. All M size!!

Im hoping to go over to Shanghai with my hb when he goes there for business trip in 1 to 2 months time.. think advisable to bring baby along?

hunniepot,

Yah lor, one pack still need $26.40 leh! WOW, outgrow M sized?? Mine on trial on M size today hahaa.. this morning she wore one, so far so good, no leakage. Let's see if she poo later. Keep fingers crossed! But M sized seems to fit on her, S size really seem small liao leh.

Haha, i still have 1 pack of S size with me, and another pack with mil. If M size is more suitable for her, i am thinking of selling off the S size leh. U also sell urs lah
Then can stock up on L size :p

If u can cope with bb overseas, why not?? Rather than leave in singapore rite? For mine, bb still very small, not even 3 mths yet. And moreover no passport haha.. and we really wanna to rest and relax, want to leave the milk bottles behind, want to leave the diapers behind, dun wanna body to be smell of milk, so we opt to go er ren shi jie hee...

nana,

WOW 8-11 July?? That's the period i am going mah.. 8 - 12 july. Taking cathay pacific. 8 july morning 8 am flight and 12 july 415 pm flight back
I also book disneyland tickets liao since it is peak season now. For hotel, i book langham place hotel studio room. Got laptop and wireless broadband leh, so i can still surf forum and talk to u all while on trip heee...

U won't miss ur bb ah? :p How's ur bb when u came back from this trip? Does ur bb still recognise u when u are back? I crazy, keep asking hubby whether bb will forget me when i am back from trip :p Skully she can't even recognise the house :p

RE: Pampers..
Envy all the bb here leh... now already M size liao, my bb just change from NB to S. Wondering when he will change to M size. Now i have 2 Mamy poko and a packet of Nepia, do you gals advise to stock more S or M huh?? Coz i am going to order Nepia before i go back to work so still thinking if i should take all 4 in S or Mixed??

1sttimemum

since you just changed from NB, i suggest you take all 4 in S for nepia cos their M is pretty big. My girl, who is abt 7kg, can actually still fit the S but the thigh area has been getting tight so i changed to M.

re: travelling

wow, so fun! i would love to go somewhere but can't bear to leave baby here but hubby and i also agree that if we bring her, frankly we prob can't enjoy the trip as much

when u gals back fm trips tell me how much u miss yr bb hor. i m so scared to go back to work already bu she de and my boss is asking me already when can i start travelling. sigh! i scared hubby cannot cope alone since bb seems to prefer me to settle him. Now i really looking for jobs liao, dun think i can tahan 3 wks for travelling leh.

so envy u all, cos bb staying with you all....me!!!!
...bb @ malaysia...about 3 weeks liao never see her...miss her like crazy....
but, today im so happy...cos i going back tonight to see her liao...but will come back to sing again in 2 days times.... then i will miss her again...
so worried she will forget me and worried she will stick to my in-law...haizzzzzz...

1sttimemum,

I will latch on my girl on one breast and express the other one at home before I leave for work. Then abt 12 plus once and 5 plus once. Then come home latch on bb at abt 8-9pm.

Today, I drop the small white rubber part of my Avent manual pump while washing after my 12pm section. Couldn't pump until reach home at 7pm. So engorged!!!

Tracy....
Must be really suffering and bet you have a hard day at work. Thanks for the infomation and i'm hoping that i can do that too.