(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Yvonne,
Re: Bringing bb out for walk or for dinner
I've brought her out downstairs walk walk occasionally, but provided she in good mood. Else she would "complain".

For dinners, me brought her out unless my/hb's parents are coming along. At least they can help if bb misbehaves. =p

chenoa
Re: Teat upgrade?
Think possible lor.. u can try juz a bottle with bigger teat n see how ur bb react. =p

Maraquan,
cheer up..

my hb was like tat too at times.. guess it was his work too n bb sometimes dun behave in the evenings n made him fare up too... My mil oso got say to bring XuanTing to temple.. but I'm Christian so if want to bring, hb n mil bring la.. dun ask me.

Do always vent out n dun keep.. I was having some blues last month too.. try talking 2 any of ur friends when u re down as well.. it helps.

Re: hb handling bb

For me, its the complete opposite.. my hb can handle bb much better than me.. I only know how to nurse my bb to pacify her, but my hb is good at pacifying her by other means.. I can spend like 3 hours trying to pacify her, and my husband can do so in just 15 to 30 mins max most of the time

time really flies, i'm going back to work in 3 weeks time... for working moms, do you intend to continue breastfeed?
i'm still thinking abt it. Sherlene dun seems to like to drink EBM these days...

Hi Maraquan

Cheerup! i think in general men are less patient than women... that's why pacifying the bb to sleep could be a little tough on the father...

Hmmmmm... but its a different case for me... I am quite quick-tempered, and my husband is the more patient one. So sometimes i think he handles bb better than myself. Calm down and speak to ur hubby, the last thing you want now is a quarrel.

Hi Irene

Yup, mi 2... am going back on 6 July... I intend to continue, provided if i can. My gynae asked mi to prepare and adjust to the change by expressing milk at the designated timing (before work, lunch time and after work) at least 2 weeks before going back to work. I tried... which mean expressing only every 6 hours... realized its tough, as i feel so engorged and i take so long to express, cos there are so many blocked milk ducts as a result, and of course supply dipped... so am back to every 3 to 4 hours again...

Thanks everybody,
after some on and off sleep, I am feeling so much better. KJ is back on his sleeping habit, thank god!

I am good at using the sling to coax my bb to sleep while my husband is good in using the car seat(not in the car). Whenever I try using the car seat to rock KJ to sleep, he will cry his lungs out. I guess we just have to use our own ways.

Maraquan,
agreed with u.. me n my hb too ve different methods to make bb zzz. if i use my hb's mtd, she won't zzz.. but if hb use mine, she oso won't obey.. haiz.

bb really smart nowadays ... even my mom (mil already gives up) oso said she tough case 2 crack.. but becoz i m her daughter, she will help me take care of her.

need yr advise leh

recently my bb woke up frightened or startled and cry very often in the afternoon. then he will want me to carry and when he is asleep i put him on bed or rocker. he dun seem to be deep sleep after that. Bcos of the frequent startled now he like no noise also get startled on his own. Blame it on the frequent aeroplanes that fly pass so often recently. Maybe is Ntl day practicce. even downstair motorcycle engine he can be frightened. Not brave boy leh

Any solutions?? Tried beansprout pillow on him no use also

maraquan,

I think babies can relate to pple at this stage.. my bb ok when i use different ways to coax her, especially patting her. But when she see my hubby, only one method works.. carries and rocks! haha..

miu,

Ohhh, have to go to http://www.lilypie.com and create the ticker. Then convert the .bmp pic to .jpg format. After that u can use "upload attachment" to upload the pic at the end of ur message

kk, when did simply patting put ur gal to Zzzzz began? I still have to carry n pat n seems only this works n usually she fuss n cries b4 finally ZZzzzz.. tried put on bed lying on side pat with or without singing..dun work

babe,

Hmmm, i think patting started to work last week - week 7.

Patting doesn't work if the bb is SUPER cranky. If my bb SCREAM, then i got to carry and pat lor.. no choice heee..

Me mia for a few days. So much postings going on. I was busy with my girl. She was constipated for 2 days. I think her tummy is painful so she will suddenly scream in her sleep. We so worried and brought her to TMC 24hr clinic (it was a sunday). But she was very happy at the clinic. Doctor said nothing is wrong, gave us medicine and send us back. Reach home, before we can give her the med, she poo. I think it is the FM I'm giving her. Should I change the FM? She is still a bit constipated. She had to 'gek' very hard every time she want to poo but only gas come out.

Tinkle,
Recently lots of planes flying in our area. I think they practicing for the NDP. It will be more frequent. Try to place your hand on his chest when the plane fly pass. Bean sprout pillow dun work so well.

Irene,
I'm going back to work on 3 July. A bit worried how I'm going to cope with the express of BM. Now go to work has to carry a big bag to contain the breast pump and EBM. Anyone knows whether do I have to buy lots of ice pack? I only have 1 now, not sure enough or not.

440861.jpg

tracy,

Curious to know.. can ur girl lift her head up already? I am really waiting for that moment my girl lift up her head, then everything will be simpler liao

Planes.. my bb also awakened by planes. Not scared, just that they really disturbed her sleep and i need to coax her back to sleep so often now. Sickening!

What FM is ur girl feeding on now? My girl on Wyeth, and poo poo once every day.

kk,
My girl can only lift her head for a few sec when place on her tummy. Why is it simplier when she can lift her head? But I can't wait too.

My girl is taking Similac infant. 1 feed a day.

Just send my girl to the nanny. Feel a bit sad. How I wish I can be a SAHM. Didn't see her for 15 min already start to miss her.

tracy,

my mum say once the head can stay upright on its own, no need to burp after milk feed haha.. and bb not so soft also

1 feed per day already constipation? Mine mainly on FM liao!

kk,
ya lor. She finished 1 can 400g then start constipation. I thot she ok with the FM then bought 2 more cans 900g. Wonder whether is it that she dun take water. Does your bb drink water?

tracy,

Yes, she does drink water, but not often. Sometimes if i am lazy, then no water for her :p But she still poo poo everyday. So i believe should be the milk powder problem lor. I heard similac is very heaty!

kk,
but lots of pple tell me it is good. so i think it actually depends on individual bb. I will wait n see how is she this week. If it is not so good then I think I need to change the FM.

tracy,

ya, most babies very ok with these brands except for a handful. Depends on individuals like what u said

Mine was on enfalac. But symptoms like spitting milk, phlegm etc appeared. Thought related to enfalac. But after changing to Wyeth, the symptoms still there, although phlegm has minimized liao. But since Wyeth is cheaper, we continue on it

Re: Bb dun zzz well
twinkle-starry,
MY bb too ve similar prob in afternoons since a while already.. but she dun get waken up by those aeroplanes.. it is more of the "dreams" she had, I think.

I train her to zzz with noise in daytime by switching on radio in early morning (the instant she woke up) and then after her first feed (Ard 9am), I switched on TV n she slept beside. Somehow she zzz better.. mayb becoz she kind of tot tat surrounding her got ppl talking n so dun feel scared so easily.

ME tried putting her face down b4 she so frustrated tat she cried after a few tries.

babe,
Same same for me.. I noticed that if Xuanting not zzz'g for a while then she would want me carry her to zzz b4 I can really put her down. Sometimes she juz simply want me carry and walk her ard n cannot stop .. else she complain.

Re: Going back to work
I am going back to work on 3 July too.. a bit the unwilling to.. my contract renewal is settled but only increment 50 bucks... so miserable.

Re: BB constipated?
Tracy,
Since u only give her drink 1 feed per day.. should not b the case leh.

My gal completely drinks Similac FM. She's on 6 feeds per day. At various days, she may ve tat prob n i would dilute the milk by adding more water or giving her more water to drink. Thank goodness, my gal still quite okay with drinking water.

I noticed oso that if the water n FM is warm, she farts easily n so she b more happier too. How warm is the FM or water or ebm when u give her?

koalarie,

Same here.. i will switch on radio, tv and keep them at normal volume and bb girl can still sleep if she really in deep sleep. At nite, then i make it quiet for her by keeping her in the bedroom on our bed and switch off the lights too.

Evon,
I did not give her any ebm. I normally latch her on. As for FM, she is drinking abt 140ml. So 70ml hot water, 70ml cold water with 2 scoops of FM powder.

441178.jpg

Tracy,
according to Similac instructions, FM should b 120ml water n 2 scoops of FM.. think urs mayb too much milk..

Think 140ml of water would need 2 n a third of scoop of FM. Add too much water would mean she takes not enuf leh.

441190.gif

Hi KK, lil Yu Jun still spilt milk? My BB Elgin too leh, tho finished the Enfa-AR recommended by PD, he din spilt dat often but it's very thick in content & BB cried when pushing out the poo so I buy Mamil again but he spilt as in the past, all liquid & I think like PD said, to prevent regurgitation, milk w/thicker formula helps but I dun wana get back AR leh, plus it's not sold anywhere...sad to see him spilt after an hr or so & it's quite alot loh. I feed him abt 3 hrly with 140ml now, dun tink I overfeed him liao, sigh...btw, is your BB's belly button okie? mine is protruding, called umbilical hernia which PD said will go back normal before 1 yr old but I suspect cld it be the belly button that cause BB's stomach valve to be weak thus spilt milk lor.
441203.gif

juzmaine,

Dun scare me leh.. my bb's belly button also protrude out leh!! But nothing seem to be wrong with it leh, so i ignore.. no bleeding, no pus nothing. Ohhh, so ur PD mention about that ah? Did u ask ur PD about ur "suspicion"??

If i carry my girl after her feed alll the way hor, she won't spit out milk leh. But if i put her on bed, she will struggle and stretch and when she do so, she will spit milk. So we try not to "irritate" her as much as possible and try to pacify her after her feed heeee...

3 hrs later, my girl if she spit milk, is not in liquid form. It is in tao huey form. Chalky chalky type. urs experienced before?

Oh thicker the formula the better for bb who spit milk? My bb hor, she cannot take diluted milk i notice. There was once i add more water to milk powder and she spit out a lot leh! That's why she spit out alot of my BM because it is pretty diluted. So i always have to mix my BM with milk powder then top up with water to add more "taste" to it.

KK, think in our cases BB with umbilical hernia tends to hv regurgitation cos I read frm handbook protruding belly button is caused by weakness in abdominal wall, it will disappear w/o treatment within a yr (same as wat PD mentioned) & regurgitation occurs when BB hv weak valve & the former & latter links!
My BB oso stretches alot, plus if hiccups, regurgitation will follow...yah at times the milk spitted out like tao hu ;p but tao-hu form I'm not dat worry cos at least Iknow milk hv been digested but watery form makes me wonder Y stomach reject & will BB absorb enough...
Yeah, PD said to prevent spitting out, thicker formula better but I read from internet article, AR (anti-regurgitation) formula contributes to constipation loh, plus it does not guarantee 100% anti-reg, so I tink better prevent consti loh.
My gal din hv protruding belly button & did not hv this reg prob...

juzmaine,

Surprisingly if my bb has hiccups, she won't regurgitate milk. i even find her hiccup look very funny and cute haha..

I notice another thing.. if bb dun drink that much for e.g. only 90 ml, she will regurgitate very little milk. If she drink 120 - 150 ml at one go, she will tend to spit out liquid form. So now i rather she take 90 ml, and sleep quietly. At least milk digested and absorbed. Like wat she is doing now

kk

U mean u dun burp ur gal after feed?

BB'd struggle and stretch becoz of gas in stomach. My bb'd do so when feeding her n I'd stop n burp her.. juz take out the bottle, rest abt 30 sec, n then bring her upwards parallel our chest n pat her.. less than 2 minutes, she'd burp.

If I dun burp her, then she'd spit milk after a while.. the form is excatly like what u describe n got smell one.. yucks.. heard a mommy if overfeed oso'd b like tat too.

The thicker the formula may mean she b more full but some formula quite heaty le. like the one i gave her, Similac is rather heaty.. but i dun want 2 change as it has not resulted much a prob.

Ur method is good. My confinement nanny got said b4.. if bb dun drink water, add bm into fm n gave her is like giving her more water too.

A pity I dun ve much bm to give Xuanting... admire u all..

441227.gif

juzmaine,

so burping does not affect whether the milk will be regurgitated?? Even if i burp bb and she BBURRRPP it doesn't mean it will help in the reguirtation rite?

koalarie,

Haha if only my bb so guai like urs.. the moment we take out her teat, she cries and then spits out milk.. so we rather not take out her teat, let her drink and finish up then burp her. And also if we remove her teat like tat, she won't sit up straight for us to burp. So we got no chance at all.

Another thing is my bb very greedy lah.. she drink and drink and drink until she feel she happy then she stop. In that case, overfeeding i also won't know at that instant.

Irene,
U going back to work too.. if bm at night can b quite siong, right??

My mommy friends shared with me b4 i gave birth to try giving ebm to her instead on daytime n fm at night.. Anyway, hor.. no bm .. so need to give ebm. =p

Hi KK, yeah, my BB burped every feed but still reg leh..sometimes burp cum spit. I'll feed him with water after a while to rinse off the residue in his mouth plus replenish water loss..
Yaah, I feed 90ml he won't reg but cries for milk less than 2 hrs later & if I feed him every 2 hrly, I'll overfeed him like the last time. Now I stop him after drinking abt a 1/4 , then 1/2 to lwet him swallow & sit straight, it helps but he'll reg abt 1-2 hrs later depending on too much crying or over-stretching loh...

Cough during feeding:
will you gals bb cough during feeding time? my gals always like that...when halfway feeding, she will cough. Then i will stop feeding and try to burp her... after burp, then will continue feeding...anyone got such cases?

Evon,
If I dun dilute the FM, I think her constipation is worse. But I only give her 1 feed a day should be alright lah.

Re: Dip in BM supply
Anyone experiencing dip in BM supply? I currently latch on my girl when she is at home. When she goes to nanny's place, I give the nanny 300ml of bm a day. But I try very hard to express today, can only get 50ml each breast. How to increase? Keep pumping? Nipple sore already.

Re: Hiccups
My girl will normally hiccups when she start to "gek" for her poo to come out. At the same time, some milk will be spit out. I guess it is normal to spit out milk as their system are still quite weak now. For my girl, if I manage to burp her, she will not spit milk.

Any gals tbf n going back to work? How do u go about adjusting bb to bottle? Progressively? How long we need b4 we start work?

Mrs Ho

My mil told mi that if the bb coughs during feed, likely she drank too fast and she choked, or if you are latching her on or by the bottle, the milk flow is too fast for her to cope, and so she chokes and coughs...

Mrs Ho,

Yes, like what yvonne has shared, my bb if she drink too fast, she will choke and cough too. But luckily only for 1-2 times then she back to feeding again.

My bb also choke 1 or 2 time during feeding, sometime none. I realise that if he choke himself and I start to pat him, he will cry. But if he choke and I ignore him, let him settle himself, he will continue drinking once he is ok. Funny guy.

441411.jpg

yvonne/kk...
ic...thanks for the info... but we using avent teat No. 1....think the smallest liao...

Tracy,
heard from other ppl says that if you are not with bb, the milk supply will decrease, as long as u lookafter your bb...the milk supply wont run low. For me...long time dont have liao...cos im that type of super low milk...so envy for those still bf.

Tracy,

similac heaty, my boy finished 1 can and i find it heaty and already change to Enfalac.

BTW u found a nanny in our area? i saw yr posting earlier looking for nanny. I know our area are mostly families staying nearby bcos of kampung days so most of them already looking after their grand children or great grand children.

Mrs Ho,

dun feel sad, i also super low type. now can only express once a day and the most is 20ml. if i dun express also no problem dun feel anything. I m stopping soon anyway

twinkle,

u stop on ur BF liao??

Now i only express out for bb.. average 50 ml per day only. Same.. pump once or twice per day. Dun feel engorged anymore.

kk, me going to stop in a week or 2. now just express once a day and mix w FM lor. My specialist dun encourage me to bf longer than 2 mths. he is afraid my prolatin problem will be affected.

Trying out the ticker..like quite fun..heehee...not successful lehz...how come I can't cut and paste the code and get the ticker into the forum? How to save the ticker?

Evon, this is what I'm doing now, letting her drink EBM during the day and FM during night as FM is more fulling.
Maybe what I can do is to express after work and at night and before going to work.
Trying to get my body to adjust to the timing already, but will feel engorged when I din express.