(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

babe,

so fast she can recognise u liao. could it be she feel insecure? mine only like tat in the afternoon and very attached to me, when i walk away his eyes will follow and next min he will wail.

btw, in the beginning do u always carry her? i heard that if we always carry, then it will develop a habit but at times we hv no choice mah.

twinkle starry, yupz..initially though no choice juz carry her coz she was a wakeful baby since newborn but in the past after she sleeps I can put her down on bed. Now can't. U mean she insecure? Then how to make her feel secure? I tried hug her to sleep wif me for naps but she only sleep 10min n wake. Can't be wanting to feed after 2h ritez and somehow all she does after is play play. I try to feed her 2.5-3h. She now 9-10weeks.

babe,

one way i try is put him beside me on my bed. i know some review say co-sleeping is no good but rather than trying to coax to sleep all over again once bb wakeup while putting in cot lor. i pat him to sleep and almost deep sleep i just put beside me on my bed. Then later of the week, i tried to put him in his cot again. basically i m trying to let him get used fm carrying to placing down.

insurance,
I have settle KJ insurance. My husband cannot tahan the way I handled it and he took over. Muahahaha! I told him lots and lots of time and I am not a "number" person.

twinkle-starry,
my bb always smile once every feeding. I take it that he is saying thank you for the breast milk.

Recently, if I talk to him, he will respond with all the ai, ha, dee, yah as if he is talking to me. I think he is trying to respond by smiling too.

I co-sleep with my bb too. In fact we hug each other to sleep and my husband get jealous. I never let my mom or my in-law know about this because they are sure to disagree. I think my problem is not getting bb to sleep alone. My problem is rather I cannot sleep without hugging my bb now. Got a few time husband try to take over and asked me to catch some sleep. Awwwwwn! I cannot sleep without my bb.

twinkle starry, which stage is deep sleep? eyes completely closed? u mean carry n pat till this stage? so it works ya? geegee think my gal light sleeper n dun like noise.

Maraquan,
yeah...i oso can't sleep without bb. Last nite bb went back to Malaysia... and i can't fall asleep about 1 hour. may be i already get use to it.
Miss her so muchhhhh....

Mommies

Xuanting now eats at every 4h interval.. but sometimes she overshoot the 4h interval.. I understand that if feeding bm.. would b doing so via on demand.. but i feeding Xuanting with FM. Can I do feed on demand?? So far, she sometimes can demand eat at 5.5th hour later whether daytime or nighttime.

My mom said cannot.. i should only do feed on demand at nite n during daytime at every 4th hour. How?

babe,
deep sleep would mean if u touch ur bb's hands n legs.. u try to hold one up gently n let go... it b drop (bb relax as in deep sleep). But if bb holding tight, u noe one, n tat means bb still in light mood.

I need to vent again.
KJ wake up at 2am yesterday, refuse to sleep after feed. I manage to sling him to sleep at around 3something am then I fall asleep at 4am. He woke up again at 6am and refuse to fall asleep. The more he do not sleep, the more restless he become, the more restless I become.

I walk the living room, the bedroom, put him on the bed, talk to him, sing to him, nothing make him sleep. I told him I have got only 2 hours of sleep since last 24 hours, he dun seem to understand.

I was feeling stress up and hoping to get an answer from the internet. The moment I switch on my laptop, he fall asleep in my sling. but how am I going to sleep in front of the computer? and I know, once I put him on the bed, he is sure to wake up crying because he was so cranky.

Maraquan,
yes...baby needs adequate sleep otherwise they will be cranky. You have problem with him sleeping in the day as well?

Whenever you see baby yawn, use hands to rub the eyes/face, means they are tired. Take this as cue to put baby to sleep. A book recommend that to train a baby to sleep, stick to a consistent method of putting the baby to sleep. Persist in that method even if it doesn't work for the 1st time. When we keep chnaging the method, such as patting to singing to ....... every other 5-10mins, they will be confused. Maybe you find one method that he's more likely to fall asleep in and stick to it and see if he's better after a few days?

babe,

deep sleep is like Evon describe. my son will spread his leg and arms wide when he is in deep sleep and totally relax.

any of you using pigeon teats? currently still using the one that comes free with the steriliser. when is it time to change to the next bigger hole size?

chenoa,

I was also using pigeon teats, free with steriliser. They were very nice teats accepted by my girl. Then i went outside to get more pigeon teats, also small sized. But realised girl cannot accept them because milk flow was greater. i dunno why! And recently i bought 300 ml pigeon bottles (because girl drinking 180 ml - 210 ml at times) but all come in Y teats. So now i have lots of small and Y teats. Headache! And moreover the teats dun really fit into NUK bottles although all are wide necked
So far my girl (2 mths) happy with S teats still. So won't be changing at the moment.

cheona
i m using nuk teats.. but my gal now already using 6months onwards teats already.

The last time I went TMC for bm consultation, Mrs Wong say tat my gal's teats can upgrade while I was feeding her as she suckled furiously..

So, trial n error.. n seems after upgrading my gal's drinking is much smoother.. not so furious n suckling so hard... and her burping at least the soft type.. not tat type loud that would tear the throat one..

Think if ur bb ve such similar signs as my gal, think can upgrade lor.

For Pigeon, the next'd b M or Y size lor..

Just curious.. anybody noticed that NUK hole is smaller than the Pigeon n Avert ones?

Me tried Pigeon n Avert teats on my gal but she doesn't like it... think becoz the teat hole design is different n so my gal doesn't like it.. but Pigeon n Avert teat holes seem much bigger than the NUK ones.. e.g. Pigeon M size vs NUK 6 months Size 2 teat.. my gal kept having milk slipping out of her mouth while she used to Pigeon one.

Evon,
We shld only feed on demand. Jayden also sleeps past his feeding time, now can tahan 5h without milk liao and we just let him sleep. If he's hungry, he will wake up automatically crying for milk.

I feed Amanda on demend too.. there are times when she can sleep for 7 hours straight.. hehe I just let her sleep.. let sleeping dogs lie.. she will wake up after that and cry very loudly for milk..

my mom damn scared tat bb later oversleep too much n drinks too little milk n can't grow big.

Anyway, she very funny too.. tat time tries to take care of my gal n dun believe tat xuanting now eats at every 4th hour or later n tried to fix her feeding schedule at 3h interval.. xuanting juz ignored her n didn't finish her milk milk when my mom tried to feed her.

koalarie,

Mine is the opposite.. girl dun like NUK teats because milk flows out from the sides. This is when we compare NUK small with pigeon small. I also dunno why. Nobody has any problem with NUK but really not suitable for my girl leh :p

hi ladies, just wondering if any of your babies can sort of 'push up' yet when they are lying on their tummies??

my bb doesn't seem to be doing much when we put her on her tummy, just trying to lift her head and moving arms and legs somewhat.

miu66,
My bb will do 'crunches' when we he lies on his back coz he doesn't like to lie down. Will try every means and ways to lift himself from the ground, sometimes using his legs to lift his buttocks. Long time didn't let him lie on his tummy liao, so not sure if he has progress to push-up stage. Will try tonight. The last time, he's able to lift his head and shoulders off the ground.

Re: Cradle Cap
Jayden has this problem. After applying JJ bb oil, the dried skin peeled off but within days, came back again. Any other method to stop this problem permanently?

Evon

Tell your mum no need to worry lar.. Amanda sleeps alot.. but she has been gaining weight steadily.. think she should be at least 6.5 to 7 kg now at almost 3 months.. think baby sleep so much is for the purpose of growing bigger faster right?

have you all brought your bb (i mean for those more than 1 month old) out for a walk? Or perhaps even out for dinner? Not sure if its okie to bring her out now (she's coming 7 weeks old), cos i am bored to tears at home...

chenoa,

I m using Pigeon Peristaltic teat. recently already upgrade to Y size . It seems to be doing fine. I am using both avent and pigeon bottles and he seem to be able to accept both. My boy also cannot take NUK teat , maybe the way the hole design he dun know how to suck lor.

Yvonne,

My boy also 7 wks and he already been to shopping centres and restaurant for dinner. But i dare not bring him to foodcourt lah , the smell and crowd is terrible.

hi miu66

My bb will attempt to do push-ups when we lie her on her tummy, and if she does not want to sleep... there was once, she flip herself back to the front...

u mean we should not wake bb up for feed? and just let her wake up automatically and cry for milk?

kk/starry,
the pigeon teats got state which size suitable for what age?

evon, I think my gal's sucking quite powerful too...that's why kenna sore nipples. MIL comment that she drink from bottle take v long. dunno if it's cos the teat hole too small or she not really hungry and din suck fast fast.

hi twinkle

u bring bb out urself? Or you go out wth your in-laws, maid or hubby? cos am so super bored... wun go out with mil (aniwae she dun wanna go out with mi, hahaha), hubby working, friends and colleagues busy working... sigh... and i feel so confined at home...

yvonne,
so far i went out w hubby lor. bcos i hv not got a lighter pram yet. this pram i cannot handle lah too heavy. I told hubby i got to put bb on the floor open the pram is it?

how abt wkday nights after yr hubby come back fm work? can still go jalan jalan mah

hi miu66

U can try mustela cream (my friend is using, and she saes it works on her bb). My PD gave mi TOPICREM (a moisturizing product made in france... was gone immediately after application and so far never came back).

Hi Maraquan, my BB has tis prob starting last week, he'll sleep for awhile & wakes up till the next feeding time. He spit out pacifier & wails (quite unlike him) but water he's okie, then we realise his appetite might hv increased so gave him more milk. He sleeps longer too when carry in arms then on bed/bouncer chair. One best way to let BB sleep longer is sarong but I'm not getting cos afraid my toddler princess might play with it when BB is in it. Can understand the tiredness & frustrations..
439754.gif

chenoa,

Yes of course
If i am not wrong,S sized is for 0 - 3 mths.

Twinkle,

Ur bb using Y sized pigeon teats liao? That's fast! I haven't let my girl try the Y teats. Dunno she can acccept or not.

nana

Thanks for the info on the new incomeshield plan
Will go check it out one of these days..

twinkle starry

No need to envy me lar.. My baby only started smiling alot recently.. and she is almost 3 months old.. my nieces were saying that she had this "bua song" look on her face last time.. every time frown non stop.. was so delighted that she finally smile at us liao

hi twinkle

hahaha! we've not got a stroller yet too... wat brand do you have in mind? We were thinking of 'combi'. i have got this carrier (where bb's all 4 limbs hang out), think i will use that...

My hubby always veri tired when he comes home from work... sigh... I DUN CARE! Am going out with BB tomolo! But dunno if my mil will object if i bring bb out...

kk,

i also trial mah. the box of Peristaltic teat states M 2-3mth, Y also 2-3mth. then i saw the Y box got state leak proof teat so i buy Y lor.

hunniepot/twinkle,

My girl smiling a lot these 2 days
So happy to see her smile. And she is responding through her oo aa very often too! After i tell her one sentence, she will respond once. So cute

Yvonne,

i went to see combi , it is good and light for mummy to bring bb out alone but hor the seat is too narrow for my ah pui leh.

currently i had a graco which is a hand-me-down so we use that when we go out lor. I am still looking around for a light-weight stroller and seat not so squeezeeeee.

chenoa,
thanks for the tips. The problem with him today is that it is very difficult for him to sleep. By the time he fall asleep, he soon wake up for his next feed. Or worst, do not manage to sleep until next feed.

I hope this problem will end soon. He kept yawning and is very tired, but he is so cranky that he kept hitting my engorged breast with his fist while in his sling. And I cannot think properly when I lack of sleep and in pain.

Juzmaine,
my bb dun like the sarong. He prefer to sleep with me.

maragquan, my gal also like that. It seems like it's a phase. Is it growth spurt or he just started to turn? Somehow it happens. I dunno izzit today miracle day, i cradle her sleep and she can cont sleep when I put on bed. Might need 20 mins b4 u can hit bed. Age matters.

kk/twinkle,
Y is for 2-3 months ah? can change liao lor.... hmm....me thinking of just poking the teat hole bigger since the teats still new new, seldom use.

maraquan,
dun thank me so fast. you try first and see. I find it rather difficult to follow through if baby really cranky cos keep repeat the same action v tiring also and v tempting to change to other methods. :p if like babe's gal....cry till next feeding about 2.5hr keep doing the same thing, I think I may go mad first.

The more tired the baby, the more cranky. must aim to get them to sleep ASAP at first sighting of tiredness. you carry him in sling to sleep ah...maybe try not to use sling and just carry in the arms? cos he may feel restricted in the sling. I find that my gal do not always fall asleep in my arms in the same position. depending on her likes, I may have to adjust her in my arms - like carry higher / more vertical / tighter hug. on the same rationale, the sling is fixed position for him to sleep...maybe he dun want to be in that position and fist hitting lor.

Maraquan/Babe,
i nap with my gal this afternoon. today she not so guai. yesterday can just lie beside her and pat a few times and she will sleep. today she must suckle on my nipple while I lie beside until she doze off. CAN TRY!

yvonne

wow yr baby can flip over, that's v good!!
i've been taking bb out by myself since she was 3 wks old. the 1st time i did that was because i was sooooo bored at home by myself so i went for a walk downstairs with bb in her bb carrier(but packed her diaper bag just in case). in the end, i walked and walked and then hopped into a cab and went to a nearby mall to do shopping! only lasted 1 hr outside though cos she started fussing so i took a cab back home.

i think maybe you can bring the bb out nearby for a start to build yr confidence. after that, you'll see that it's v easy.

chenoa, ur bb v guai le..pat a few times can sleep. I never successful wif that. today she considered good, cradle awhile can sleep after that can sleep on bed for quite awhile. If stir, juz pat then will go back. Pray everyday like that.

hi kk

I dunno leh... she ever told my hubby tat she is not comfortable with us bringing bb out (before she is full month). That was then... not sure about now...

Hi Twinkle

hahahha! reali ah! too narrow? What's ur bb's weight? hehehhe... i feel like getting a trailer (is that what they call? Those big wheels one?)... hehheh, can bring her rollerblading along east coast... hehheh, say onli, not sure if i will reali dare to do it...

Hi Miu

Was talking to my hubby just now... he thinks she is too young to be taken out to shopping centres! Grrrrrr... he even has problem with bringing baby to the nearby mall, which is onli a stone's throw away! hmmmmmm....

I need to vent again.

My bb was sleeping with me finally. My stupid husband came back from work, bang the door and wake the bb up.

Now that he cannot make him sleep again, he said he want to bring the bb to the temple on Saturday. I threw a huge temper.

He came to me just now and said if I dun want to bring bb to the temple then dun bring, dun throw a temper.

I am getting an emotional breakdown soon.

Maraquan,

Don't sound so sad, maybe your HB is also stress at work. Or maybe he feel neglected that your attention is all to BB now? Try talking nicely to him. Quarrel is the last thing your should do. WIll somehow affect BB if BB hears it.

Yvonne,
2 wks ago he is 5.06kg , not sure now leh.

Maraquan,
dun be upset. Sometime to understand Man is worst than Woman. Maybe he is tired and stress fm work. My hubby also stress fm work and when bb cry loud he get very impatient and keep asking me what's wrong and what he want. I just ignore him and continue to pat and carry bb.

You are doing fine , it is just the phrase bb going thru right now. Things will be better.

Maraquan,

Sayang sayang, cool down and i believe both of u will be alright when ur hubby comes home this evening
My hubby once told me during confinement, he was also down with "post natal" blues. So not only us who are under great stress. Men too! Moreover at times, he was sandwiched between three parties - both mums and ME!

Things will get better definitely.. when bb gets less cranky. So cheer up ya

440169.jpg

maraquan

poor thing, cheer up

i think sometimes it's hard for these guys to relate to the baby. we (or at least, i) spend 24 hrs with my bb so i think i know her pretty well. sometimes when my hb comes back from work and wants to spend time with the bb, he gets frustrated when she cries and he doesn't know what she wants and he's trying his best. it's also frustrating cos he sees how easily and patiently i can deal with the situation. also, maybe he had a bad day at work and doesn't realise that staying at home with bb all day is hard work too!!
try to keep calm, things will get better!