(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Draik,
BB monitors got different functions depending on what u looking 4.

The lower cost ones re mostly only one-way communication. Meaning, u can only listen bb but not talk 2 bb type. There is also distance limitation that the sensor n the monitor can b placed. Some come with muiscials, some with lamp functions etc. Thus, that explains the cost. So, if u looking 4 only one-way, think the last I saw, was also ard 80.

Hope tix help u understand why price varies lor. =-p

preciousbabe, Cheona,
ya. That's the brand. Me b dropping by 2 get one as well.

N, the Desitini Cream for those ordered from MagL, the stock is here... Hope I get mine by next week.

preciousbabe,
ur friend did the waxing before, right? N it is not that painful, right? I discussed /w hb c if he k for me to do.

Cheona,
U won't believe it.. i tot the nappy liners re to b thrown again each time.. n thus we were calculating the cost of using bb cloth nappies n diapers.

Re: Cord blood banking
Hb n I re not doing tix. We see that too many things not transparent enough n thus doesn't want to go ahead.

Jade,
That's what my cousin saying as well. Her son came 4 weeks b4 EDD. BB supposed 2b born in March n came on CNY. My gf's one came 2 weeks though.

Jasminetea,
Thanks. B looking how I may consolidate my order.= p

Good Morning mummies,

How's weekend?? Hope mummies to be here had a great weekend and feeling re-charge for the week.. Seems like Edd is drawing near..getting gan cheong liaoz..Have to start preparing for the hospital bag!!

Hunniepot, Evon n Daphne,

Sorry for being late the other day..but i'm happy to meet up with u gals. Hope we'll have another session soon, with preciousbabe and other mummies who are available to join us..

Hunniepot & Evon,

i've received a email from Mag regards to the collection of the Desitin cream, will be collecting from her on 5th March @ Tampines. Wonder if u gals have heard from her..

Jumbo,
You doing your confinement now?? No time to log on huh?? Waiting for your birth story leh..

Chenoa,
I'll not be going for the cord banking thingy..

monchie,
Me too has got low blood and i am given iron pills for that. I remember iron pills are very heaty so got to drink more water when you are on that.

1sttimemum & Evon, welcome
Hope you are able to save on the delivery charges.

Jade, I also have quite low BP in the beginning of my pregnancy. Gynae also worried that I will faint. I took a lot of iron rich food, including spinach, red beans soup and beef. Some said durians are full of iron. I took that once in a while and now my BP is normal. I never take any iron pills though.

Good morning everyone. Threads running so fast, lots to catch up for the weekend.

Hunniepot, Rach & Evon
It was nice meeting up with u gals also.

Finally did my washing over the weekend. Unpack all my stuff, wash and loaded them into the wardrobe. Set up my playpen 2. Now left my mum's place. juz warned her that i'm abt 1 month to EDD and who noes, bb matthias may juz pop up 2 weeks early.

Jasminetea

Will go check it out.. I remembered seeing that the marketplace supermarket at raffles city does sell these type of teas as well.. might go check it out as well..

Evon & Rach

Re: Desitin Cream

Got the email from Maggie also
Will be getting my hb to collect the cream from her next Monday

Re: One last meeting b4 we pop

Yeah lor.. if we wanna arrange something.. got to do it soon liao

Seems like the Govt's initiative to increase Singapore's birth rate is working... my hb just met up with 3 of his friends.. one of them.. his wife just gave birth.. another 2, just got pregnant and the last one, me, going to pop in April.. and everywhere I go.. see so many preggies ard..

Got so paranoid last night.. felt some water leaking down there.. thought waterbag burst.. but not.. breast leaking colostrum, abit crampy feeling on my tummy.. also thought its a sign liao.. chey.. my hb saw me breathing so deeply.. thought Im going into labour soon! All false alarm!

chenoa, we are not doing the banking as it's not 100% that we can use back the blood.

Jade, talked to my gynae abt the EDD and delivery, she mentioned that seldom people will give birth on the EDD one. normally it's two weeks early or one week late... so she advise me to get ready 2-3weeks earlier.. which is starting April for me.

Me too on iron pills fm 6mth onwards... taste so yucky... i'm someone who can chew on panaldol. But the iron pills jus taste so terrible...

Re: Nappy Cream
Me too bought Drapolene. My col say only use Destine when hv severe nappy rash. $3.50 so cheap? Saw fm watson n NTUC selling @ $4.25 each leh... i bought my fm Guardian at $3.95...

Re: Nappy Cloth
Hunnipot, really ah...? The goldfish brand very rough? Lucky only bought 1 pack. Will go get the pigeon brand.

Re: Nappy Liner
Can b re-use??? Thought of throwing away after each use. Btw, which brand is gd...? The most common wan is Tollyjoy rite...?

heee... hunniepot u so cute...
Yr EDD is early apr can u.stand u sure very gan cheong now...

Jus went for my check-up on sat. BB weigh 1.7kg @ wk 31 n 1 day.
Doc say bb head has turn down n oredi in. Don quite u.stand in where... but as long bb is fine can liao...

Hmm..is low blood pressure a common sympton/result of pregnancy? Gynae also didn't comment though mine also quite low but was given iron supplements thus not much difference as compared to the past.

So how many of u ladies are currently working? & when do u all intend to work until? A few of my colleagues managed to work till they gave birth..so intending to do so..not to waste my leave..hee

hey hunniepot, i also got cramps last nite, lower abdomen. thought jialat, i have not even pack my hospital bag and going to give birth liao.
i think e 2 of us got to relaz.

I will donate my bb cord blood to Singapore cord blood bank. But since I am going to deliver in the private hospital I must ask if my gynae is willing to do it.
I have asked a friend for an opinion about keeping it for own use. But after talking to the doc, I gather that it is really not so much use keeping the cord blood because friend mention that if u keep and your child got blood disease, the child is going to get it again because they are from the same source.

Thanks ladies... most likely will try to consume more iron-rich food bah. And coming Friday then seek advice from my gynae again.
Low blood pressure can be dangerous like what preciousbabe mentioned. Many a times caused me to faint. So you ladies gotta take extra care too!

Guess all of us here can't wait to meet the little one inside.

Shylyn,
I'm not working but for those who are i think it's best to continue if you feel fit and well. Like you mentioned, dun waste leave now mah... so after baby arrive can spend more time with them. Lovely...

Hi daphne... heard fm my col tat those hving boys will tend to give birth early. But don knw how true...

Hi shylyn... my blood count not ver low, jus abit lower than the average.

hunniepot n Daphne,
tat seems scary.. U too really got to relax.

Re: Low BP
I've too.. but the nurses who checked on me, always said mine is not to the extreme yet n yet I always encountered fainting spells since 28th week.

Funny thing, is that sometimes, a slight change of weather, I also would encounter fainting leh.
But like what Jasminetea said, guess it will be more of what food we take as well. Spinach is good. Heard Saradines too... I'm constantly taking multi-vitamin pills but alternating it with folic acid pills as instructed by my gynae.

Guess, what's impt, is to make sure all of us /w low BP, 2 take things slow n dun rush. If got fainting spells, squat down 4 a while. My gynae very scared I fall face down.

Re: Working?
Yes, Shylyn. I'm working. B taking starting maternity leave two weeks b4 my EDD. But becoz I'm contract n contract ends in June, I've to clear all my AL as well. So, in early April, would stop work totally but on phone support to my colleagues.

Rach,

I will be collecting my Destini cream from Mag today.....

Chenoa,
I'll not be going for the cord banking coz hubby say not need.....

Re: BB Wipes
4get 2 share one > thing.
My cousin shared tix /w me yesterday as well. She adviced not 2 get Tollyjoy (the one /w blue cover one) as both her bbs' butts were somehow sensitive to it. Then later, the nanny she hired 2 look after her mei mei, told her tat the Tollyjoy has some chemical on it n some bbs re sensitive 2 it n she switched to Pigeon ones n since then her mei mei's butts no rashes leh.
So, if u not got the bb wipes.. may want 2 take note lor. =p

1sttimemum,
I was being "looked down" by my hb when my cousin told us tat.. as I was aruging /w him @ BB Kingdom 2 get the Tollyjoy ones as I happened 2 use tix b4.. n it was slightly cheaper /w the refill.

=p

But, luckily, I didn't insist... n followed the choice he chose back few weeks ago. =p

Else, he probably going to suan me like crazy.
= p

Afternoon all

Evon,
My fren didn't have the guts to try the wax coz she have a super low pain threshold...same as me. I'm still considering if I shld go...heehee...mayb wait for u to go try out, then if it's not really painful, then I'll go try ;p

Haha, you and hubby very cute leh.... as for me, i buy all the bb stuff myself so he will never argue with me. By the way, have you gals bought any diaper for bb use?? Which brands to buy huh?? I very confuse leh coz some say Pampers Premium Good than Mummy Poko than Huggies so which one should i buy huh?? I find Pampers good but ex so not that economic leh than afraid other brands will make bb butts itchy...haiz!!!! Please help

1sttimemum,
I'll be using Nepia first to try out...have good comments abt mammypoko and pampers from relatives and friends. So if my bb is allergic to Nepia then I'll switch to either mammypoko or pampers lor...but actually if u go and calculate, diapers cost ard the same price one. If u get cheaper ones, it's not very lasting then u have to change very often...so no. of diapers used per day also add up to the cost lor

1sttimemum,

i've bought the Nepia diapers liao..have read many good comment about it and moreover they are having promo now..$14/pkt. If u get 4 pkts, then they'll have free delivery..check out the marketplace thread..

Evon,
Waxing is painful for the 1st time, but bearable lor..though will tear lar..though i have very low threshold of pain ( i faint when i pierce my 3rd ear hole) I can still tahan the pain lor..

oops, re-post again!

btw, got a question.....after lunch thoughts.....

Birth Pain is > Gastric Pain OR
Birth Pain is < Gastric Pain

Evon,

Can't remember if u r oso attending TMC's antenatal class. If yes, dun mind, can help me check wif ur instructor which type/brand of pure olive oil does TMC use for babies delivered there? Coz forgot 2 ask Mrs Wong during my last lesson wif her when she mentioned abt TMC using olive oil for babies' 1st bath. N oso whether can use d same olive oil for cleaning gal's genital area when got white discharge. Thks. But if its too troublesome, then nvr mind.

1sttimemum,
Re: BB Diapers
Tix is what i've gotten.
Pampers Premium 4 NB (Used at night)-> Mummy Poko (Used @ nite or going out) -> Petpet (mornings).
I've oso juz ordered Nepia frm Jasminetea n may alternate 2 c how good it is as well.

My cousin's feedback on tix as well. If in terms of cost (ranging frm most x is as such): Pampers -> MommyPoko -> Huggies -> Fitti -> Petpet -> Drypers.
She showed me tat Drypers she got previously doesn't've stretch band n thus very uncomfortable 4 bbs. Then she normally use Petpet but petpet's disadvantage's on the stickers/scotch tape, it may cut into bb's skin at times. She prefers the MommyPoko the most.

Re: Waxing
Wow.. so I b the 1st guinea pig 2 feedback lor. =p Heehee... I got 2 discuss /w hb 1st.. c if he minds if I do n don't mind if i don't do or not. =p

Rach, thanks. The pregnant beautician oso said tat.. but she was saying if I can pass tix stage, natural delivery is nothing 2 me.... hmmm.. I guess it's true lor.. ND probably much painful.

Re: Early birth for boys
Daphne, may or may not b true.. but i was also asking ard on tat.. yet.. i got one x colleague whose girl popped @ 32nd week. So the only way, is to constantly sayang our tummies 2 ask bb 2come only @ right time he/she's ready. = )

BBlim,
I let u noe next week.. not sure if sister lim'd say, we skip a lesson yesterday as no time 2 attend after visiting my cousin. =p

Rach,

Okay, i got my friend to order 1 pkt for me to try so if good, maybe can order some more.... i scare later bb butt sensitive coz my sis told me that her bb is sensitive to Sealer so i dare not buy too many packets. By the way, do you mind sharing with me the nos so i can order myself next time.

Yukie

Re: cloth nappies

Yeah lor.. the goldfish brand one is more coarse as compared to the pigeon ones.. and moreover if you get it from the taka fair.. it costs only $20.32 (after 20% discount) as compared to the goldfish one @ $15.. just $5 more to get a much better quality one..

Daphne

Yeah lar! So scared that bb wants to say hello to me earlier.. I was so tired yesterday and was praying and hoping that bb wont come out so early cos I wont have the energy to push her! Think we both just got to relax more

Maybe a better comparison will be:

Labour pain < or = or > very bad diarrhoea??

1sttimemum

Same as me.. my hubby seldom accompanies me to buy bb things.. my mum is the one who shops with me.. my hb got a shock when he opened the wardrode and found it piled up with bb things.. and I will have to teach him on Baby Essentials 101 b4 I pop so that he knows what item is used for what purpose..

Rach

Re: Aussino bedding set

Hey the bedding set does consist of the cot bumper.. went to see see look look just now and couldn't resist buying 1 set! *waste money as I got 2 sets of bedding liao*

1sttimemum,

where are u staying?? I'm residing in the east leh. I do not mind to share with you next time provided i finished my stocks lar..i bought 1 NB &amp; 1 S..also have to make sure Nepia is suitable for BB Ryan lor..

Cheers!!

Gleneagles mummies

Hey.. any idea if the hospital will provide baby wear during hospital stay? Was quite appalled when I heard from daphne and Evon that we will have to pay $55 for rental of the nursing gown (daylight robbery!). And how many sets of nursing gowns do you gals think we shld bring along?

Rach

Was at west mall earlier.. so kaypoh go and see whether got or not.. they have comforter; fitted sheet; bumper; pillow w case &amp; bolster w case

hi ladies and babies,

hope everyone is well. just have to share with you cos i'm so happy.

last week i was saying i'm going to change gyne. today went to see new gyne for first time. his style and philosophy to delivery is so much more progressive and matches my expectations/hopes rather than the previous one who is more strictly by the book. now i can relax and just wait for baby to come.

btw, re 1st baby coming early, i also asked him this morning. he said it depends on the mother's individual body. baby will come when the time is right for baby and mother. hope that helps cos i also kan cheong that baby will come early cos i only stopping work 2 weeks before EDD

Koalarie,
I am also going for the waxing too but still choosing between Honeypot or the other one that my colleague intro which is done by Indian lady.... which say to be not bad but a little bit painful. Their charges are $45 lah!! I am thinking to do so when i am about 36weeks coz heard that hair grow quite fast... heehee!!! Not sure how true. How many weeks are you before you go and do the waxing huh??

Good afternoon,

Did not log in over the weekend now got so many posting to catch up read until eyes pop out liao!
Wow i think during confinement must apply for broadband at home if not cannot catch up wif the posting!

1sttimemum,
that beautician was telling me ard 34th week n so. Her salon oso charges not cheap.. but becoz she's pregnant n b delivering sometime now.. her assistant b doing.. so a bit scared scared. =p

hunniepot,
no bb clothes given. =(
Got 2 bring our own bb clothes 4 bb discharge 2 wear one. I'm bringing only a set of bb clothes n a set of pyjamas-dress 4 myself. If bo bian, cry 4 help ... n hb go home n fetch another piece lor. =p
So muz show ur hb where 2 get the clothes.. =p

Re: Labour pain
Think labour pain's like a bad stomach cramp where constipation so badly tat felt like pushing.. .yet not allowed to push till cerix opened till 10cm.. n gynae said push then can push type?
If really so, I think I going 2ve hard time... really hate the feeling of constipated... told u all once.. there was once i constipated n yet the stupid shit juz came out so slowly tat i really cannot dahan n it was more than 30minutes only.. so .... if labour pain.. wow..!!! Can't imagine got to last 4 more than 4~10hrs..

actually I'm rather confused abt the week I'm supposed to b cos according to my gynae, I'm 35wks but if according to the calendar, I'm 34 wks..anyone experienced this b4? Thus, also dunno whether bb will choose to pop out suddenly..seems like my work still not officially hand over..in fact, also dunno whether there's anyone to hand over to.

Btw, for those staying in the west, u might like to visit Boon Lay Shopping centre to purchase baby items as the lady there gives discount as compared to fixed prices in Kiddy Palace

Rach,

I am staying at the east too... near kallang mrt!! Actually my sis wanted to try so she is asking me if i want to share when she finish her pampers so i might need the nos if let say she need me to share with her.... Sorry about it!!! Anyway, when is your EDD? Mine is on 26/04/06.

hunniepot,
Not too sure about your renting nursing gown but my hospital (ESH) only ask me to bring
For Mother - Nursing gown or PJ with front opening, nursing bra, disposible panties and maternity pad (which brand to buy huh and how many do you think we need?)
For Baby - BB clothing &amp; receiving blanket
That's all they need me to bring.

Hi shylyn

You can try going to this website, which will show you the no of weeks which you are preggie.. sometimes my gynae also miscalculate the no of weeks I am in.. so I rely on this website: www.lilypie.com

Evon

Think most hospitals wont give bb clothes to us upon discharge.. but will they provide bb clothes during bb's stay in hospital? Scared skeli they charge us for renting bb clothes when bb is in hospital.. just like how they want to charge us for renting hospital nursing gown!

Yeah lor! My hb quite hardworking liao (he was so bo chap about bb things all along) been asking me to educate him on all the bb things I bought.. and where I keep my things.. finally! Cos was quite irritated with him when he didnt seem interested in the past..

Koalarie,
Which beautician told you that?? Are you refering to the Honeypot or someone else?? How much do they charge you huh?? My colleague ask me will the waxing cause bb to come out early?? That make me a bit scare coz i dun have to discuss with hubby coz to him everything oso okay so i am taking the risk myself.....

1sttimemum

The brands I bought for the following is:

1. nursing bra: Miko (bought from IMM Giant) $9.90 each

2. PJ with front opening: Not too sure of the brand.. (some auntie brand) bought it from toa payoh central at $13 per piece

3. disposable panties: maxcool (from kiddy palace)

4. maternity pads: mothercare

hallo everyone...

Very long never come in liao...hunniepot...are the disposable panties from kiddy palace different from the normal kind? I bought from Watsons.

How many packs of maternity pads did u buy? I heard that there will be very heavy menses, though I am not sure for how long...anyone knows?

Hi lemontree

I'm not too sure about the exact difference.. but seems like the maxcool ones are of bigger size.. good for pple with big backside like mine!

I bought about 5 packs of maternity pads (think abit too much) cos I first bought 2 packs w/o wings and subsequently found another type with wings.. so I bought 3 packs of it..

Heard that the menses can last for 3 to 4 weeks.. differs from individual to individual I guess..