(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Jumbo & jillian,

Yup.. see you gals next saturday..

Hey.. need the following info from you gals:

1. Your full name in I.C.
2. Your I.C. no.

Can PM that to me? Thanks!

Caratsoup

You take good care of yourself and have a smooth delivery!

hunniepot, had pm u my detail liao.. btw, anyone can recommend me baby lotion? for baby's face and body.. yesterday went kiddy palace.. saw Mustela range but not very sure about the name for wat use..

Hunniepot and Jumbo,
Thanks!!!! You gals take good care of yourselves too

Morning!!

Went to gynae visit yesterday, Ryan's 1.8kg @ 32 weeks..Gynae says not a big bb lor..Facial features resembles Daddy..

Is 1.8kg @ 32 weeks consider small??
Anyone has any idea??

Hunniepot, I will sms you my details.

Jumbo, I think no need to put anything on baby's face? Cos don't know if the skin on the face is sensitive or not. Also sometimes they get the milk rash and all that. So just need to keep it clean and dry. I got Johnson's baby oil for the body to do baby massage.

CaratSoup, glad you can get the group discount also! Too bad we won't get to meet up with you. Relax and take care. I'm sure you'll do great!

Rach
Don't worry. Your baby's weight sounds good. Mine @30 weeks 1.7kg, doc said a little bit above average. Anyway still got time for your baby to put on weight. And apparently they have growth spurt during the 3rd trimester. So no need to worry yah? For asians, average weight of baby when born is about 3.1kg, of so my doc said. So I think you're doing great.

For me, I'm worried mine is too big, cos I'm short so I scared cannot come out! Kekee..

Hunniepot
Smsed you already. HOpe you got it.

jilian, my baby's weighed almost 3kg at 33.2 weeks.. doc said BIG baby.. sob sob.. have to cut down my food intake.. i can't reduce his weight but trying to maintain his weight.. dun want him to put on weight anymore..

Jilian,

any idea how to pump up bb's weight??
I'm short too..gynae have said the bb's not gonna be big bb since 20th week..kinda sad leh..
i like chubby bb better..

Rach

Ryan is of a good weight.. dont worry
My bb is bigger than normal.. from the last visit.. she was at 33wks, but her head circumference and abdominal cavity shows that she is @ 34 wks and her thigh length was @ 35 wks.. haha.. so she shld be born with long legs

jumbo

Im trying to control my eating too.. but abit difficult.. cos I feel hungry so often!

hunniepot,

u n hb tall tall mah..so naturally bb tall tall mah..me short n hb tall only..so i wish for a chubby n tall bb leh..else ur gal dun wan my boy liao lar..
i worry for him leh..keke..

hunniepot, me also difficult in controlling my diet.. love to eat and feel hungry most of time.. and my stomach macam bottomless.. can't fill it up.. wahaha.. but now, bo bian lor.. trying to control.. hey hunniepot, for pamper premium for NB, can go to medical hall next to Tai Hong at Jurong West.. cheaper.. selling at $15 only.. the other medical hall selling at $15.50.. kiddy palace selling at $15.90.. will grab a few pack when i go there.. bought maternity pad, pureen, from kiddy palace.. think tomolo i can go mothercare and get the maternity pad as some mummies mentioned..

Jumbo
But you have to watch your health too ok? Don't starve yourself, not good for you and for baby. Maybe can try to cut off all sugar and carbo. Eat more fish, vege and fruits. Even if hungry stuff yourself with vege and fruits. Cos at least those won't cos you to put on too much weight but is nutritious. But have to watch certain fruits. My doc told me cannot eat mango, durian or fruits that have too much sugar content. My doc also suggested get those breakfast bars for diabetic people, so at least those have low sugar content. We can do it! Only 2 more months left.

Rach
I think your baby is good size leh. So you don't worry so much. You never know one, maybe baby can put on weight the next 2 months. As long as your baby healthy, a bit below average is better than above average is better, in my opinion. Easier to give birth since we're short, and the size of our pelvic depends on our height. Anyway most babies don't straightaway come out chubby, even if they are heavy. Once you breastfeed your baby and establish a routine, I'm sure your baby will be cute cute and chubby.

Rach

Heheh.. I believe Ryan will be a tall boi one lar.. so my Mandy will want him one.. last time I mentioned my hb was only 5 pounds when he was born.. now he's so tall liao.. so small bb doesnt mean small sized when grown up.. agree with Jillian.. smaller bb better.. cos easier birth.. I wish my Mandy is smaller too..

Jumbo

Just as we were talking about controlling diet.. I was so hungry just now.. then I went down to buy pau to eat... while waiting for my mum to finish cooking lunch.. jalat.. then going to have my lunch in a few minutes time somemore.. yup.. think eating fruits will help to fill the stomach.. lessen carbo and sugar intake.. thanks for the info on the pampers premium
But where is Tai Hong.. near to Kong Tai that side?

Afternoon all. Today morning super busy no time to check forum.

And then got playout by GlenE hospital. Booked to go hospital tour noon, but when I was there, found my name NOT IN THE DAMN BOOK and the receptionist has contacted all mothers in the DAMN book that no delivery and bed rooms be available for viewing today! All except ME! I was so pissed off.

This morning already rushed like crazy at work just to go to hospital n furthermore got to take cab!

If only I am not pregnant and carrying a heavy stomach, I don't mind making another trip down. If only I was still working at my ex-coy where I am just opposite from GlenE. But I am NOT!

Really felt like crying then and furhtermore, my hb was not with me as he has to work.

Thank goodness, the receptionist said some couples were still keen to continue today's session and went for tour.

Also, by God's grace, there was a delivery room available for viewing as well.

Also, by His Grace, that becoz group is not huge and so can ask many questions.

But I really am upset how my name can be not placed in the DAMN book. So upsetting.

For those who dun live near to the medical Hall dat Jumbo mentined can go to cold storage cos now having offer for Pampers Premium NB size @ 14.95.

Evon

Dont get too upset lar.. all these are human errors lor.. so just forget about it? Anyway being so agitated wont be good for your baby.. read from some magazines that some mothers who are overly anxious esp during the 32nd week will have a higher chance of giving birth to a bb who is more attention seeking when grown up.. so just relax for the sake of your little one..

jilian, i can endure.. can control my diet cos me going to deliver in 2 weeks time.. keke.. my doc always asked me to endure.. keke.. but kinda difficult lor.. but will try.. but i drink alot of water everyday.. more than 3L a day.. dunno water will make bb put on weight or not.. try not to take those artificial sugar as it is harmful in long term.. tat's one ingredient, cant remember the name of the ingredient tat it will make ur memory faded earlier..

hunniepot, control control.. keke.. i think pau's ok lah.. then dun eat too much for lunch lor.. pai seh.. is Kong Tai, not Tai Hong... keke.. ya, the medical hall next to Kong Tai..

koalarie, hush hush.. afterall, managed to view the delivery room right.. and not a big group.. so still ok lah.. dun have to go for 2nd time.. enjoy the tour? keke..

What I don't like is, the lady kept saying i didn't call when I did few days ago and even gave my particulars to that lady I spoke of. Stupid me, should have asked for the name of that lady I spoke of.

Don't think any of you like to be accused of not doing something which you already did. Rite?

relax koalarie, dun get so work up.. not good for u and baby.. not worth it to get angry over it.. i understand how u feel.. i will be at ur situation if ganna accused.. lek lek.. come, give a smile at ur tummy now..

For bb's sake, I 'm not angry with them.

Just upset that tix is the service given n the receptionist got cheek to tell me they dun do walk-in??? Huh?? I m not walking in leh.. it is juz one of ur ppl nv drop my name down n left it somewhere.

So, it is like if any of u or others better call 2 cfm the attendance and etc.. dun b like me .. so stupidly go down there n got accused lor.

Sigh. What a day.

Think my dear bb sensed me upset as well as she was initially actively kicking in the morning n seeing mother so upset, she behaved well till the nursery visit.

Dun worry, ladies.. just nagging..

hunniepot & Evon,

have u gals received any news frm Maggies regards the Desitin Nappy Cream??
Me didn't receive any news from her as yet..

I last received an email from her.. think was on last Thursday.

=(

But she mentioned that the supply is coming in soon. =)

So I guess unless she can give us her hp contacts for ease to query? =p

U dun receive that email?

Jumbo,

how to cut off all sugar and carbo?

I've prob with swollen legs and sb mentioned sugar as well. I guess carbo would be rice.. so ve been taking lesser rice.

Any suggestions?

koalarie, cut down on rice, noodles, starchy food like bread, potatoes, corn, gluten food like some vegeterian foods, flour made food like mee-hoon-kueh, prata and even milk.. sugar stuff, u should know lah.. not only carbo food make glucose high but fatty and oily food will make glucose level shoot up too.. cos fatty and oily food will convert to sugar if not use by body.. go for more natural food like veggies, fish and fruit.. can replenish more vege with rice for ur meal lor.. for example, if u are a big appetite like me, eat more veggie than usual and reduce rice to get the same quantity as wat u have normally.. actually can eat everything but take everything in moderation.. as wat my doc always tell me "You can have the quality but not the quantity".

ladies, one question hor.. for baby cot, do we need to place a mattress protector underneath the bedsheet to protect the mattress from getting wet? if the mattress protector is make of water proof type, will it be too warm for baby huh? Where can i get it? thanks..

jumbo

I will be using the rubber cot sheet (pink on one side and blue on the other side). It is easily available in the big departmental stores.. I got the pigeon brand one.. costs about $12++.. it is pretty cooling for bb

Winnie

Re: updated April MTB fotos

Received your foto liao.. thanks! Mummies, you've got mail!

Anyone else got fotos for me to upload? If so, just send it to [email protected]

Rach

I also didn't receive any news from Maggie.. hmm.. has been some time liao right? Some of the mummies from the other bulk purchase have already received their cream liao

hunniepot, rubber cot sheet.. it is meant for placing the baby on top after shower? or under the bedsheet? think ever saw it before..

Noted, Jumbo.. thx. Think got to do tat lor.. got really swollen legs.. scared later my slip-ons cannot go in leh. Now, both legs got markings of the slip-on strips.

Re: Hospital tour @ Glen E
Anyway, overall was quite enjoyable though cannot see how big the single bedded room is.

Re: Two bedded room vs single bedded room
But for sure, if you re in two bedded room, hbs muz leave by 9pm.. so leaving only mother n bb in hospital. N sad to say, two bedded room cannot ve bb in the room.. bb muz go back to nursery.

Only single bedded room one then bb can stay /w mommy throughout (assuming bb perfectly fine, e.g. no jaundice or complications).

Re: Labour room
At GlenE, very cute.

Got a 1st-stage labour room where there are 4 beds in it. Mothers b warded here first till 2nd stage then go into privacy of the single bedded delivery room. I'd say, the delivery room is rather suspicious and private. (Or maybe becoz I've not seen others.)

Fathers if tired of waiting, can go the common lounge n get a massage on the massage chair outside somemore.

A bit pity that cannot bring digital videocamrecorder in as no filming in the delivery ward.
kao_sad2.gif

Unless Dr allows... which I probably b asking Dr Chin.. see if she k.. not on the process filming la juz mayb something b4 n after..

Re: Freebies to bring home
Only 1 pkt of diapers n wipers. So, ladies in other hospitals re so much luckier than us in GlenE. =p

Looks like we got to bring lots of things.

jumbo

It is to be placed on top of the mattress.. for placing bb after shower and also for the water proof purpose shld bb pee.. no need to put under bed sheet

koalarie, i also got swollen feet leh, noticed it these few days nia.. and i only wear sandal to prevent any friction.. or u can buy another pair of bigger size shoes lor.. buy cheap cheap one can liao..

hunniepot, noted.. thanks for ur info

ya lor.. what type u get for work? checked the Charles n Keith already but found nothing nice to work. =p

O.. anybody started to feel the stomach getting to descend? N it's like the tummy is cutting into the pantie area?

Koalarie,
Same case as you for swollen feet. But after cutting sugar and carbo, the swelling went down dramatically.

I'm delivering in TMC, and no freebies. It's charged to the hospital bill at the end of the stay, whether used or not.

Hunniepot,
How come I didn't get any photo attachment email?

Winnie & jumbo

No worries

Evon

Yeah.. my tummy seems lower liao.. cos bb has moved head down but gynae says she can move back up at anytime as she is not engaged yet... hope she stays this way so that I can go for natural birth!

mummy's... my SIL introduce me to use Drypers as she say Pampers Premium is to X. She say Drypers oso not bad... Me bought Drypers in the end. $12 plus for 64 pcs. So much cheaper than PP...

Re:Matteress Protector
R u refering to the pink n blue color wif square square design on top...? Intend to buy a small one n place under bb lower half portion in the day time as she will b wearing cloth nappy in the day. Like tat won't wet the matteress...

bb hv been very active tis few days... can move fm morning till evening...

Jillian

Heh.. cos you didn't inform me you wanna see the pictures mah
Will send the link to you now.. you wont get any foto attachment.. just a link to the yahoo fotos

Jilian, charged to hospital bill?

I was at the annenatal class 4 TMC last Sunday n the trainer said didn't say it was charged leh.. but a set of bb clothes n diapers b given n breast pump can b obtained frm hospital instead of bringing our own one. Etc..

(sorry, that i didn't ask much then as hb n i didn't attend the TMC tour.. really sorry.)

Hunniepot,
another thing to add to ur maternity bag, is hb's jacket. Both TMC and GlenE got mentioned. 4get abt it.

Hunniepot,
U got tried to catch the thing moving across ur tummy? I kept seeing it moving across my tummy.. think is her legs.. heehee.. very funny but can b quite pain n itchy. My colleague's wife caught hold of her sis's bb one according to him.. I dun dare.. scared later hurt her.

Evon

I think I felt her foot sticking out of my tummy a few days ago.. kept touching it then she moved it away.. think she doesn't like me kajiao her

Huh? How to catch? Wont want to catch even if I can.. skeli I hurt her too

Yeah.. thanks for the reminder
Will get my hb to bring his jacket to the labour room.. since he is always so afraid of cold

koalarie, i wore flat sandal, find anything comfortable then buy lor.. i got problem finding shoes cos i'm big feet mummy.. wahaha.. wearing size 41 for my sandal, got it at holland v.. keke..

my tummy still on the high side, baby's just below the rib cage.. doc said bb's head down liao.. but he nvr mention if he's engage.. but i dun think he is lor.. still so high up..

Yukie, my friend recommend me Huggies than Dryper leh.. and there's huggies for NB in the market.. I will get pamper premium NB and huggies NB and compare.. it is good to have baby move whole day.. keke.. i love my baby to move inside... think i will miss the movement after delivered.. wahaha..

jilian, i've called Khatija and most probably will engage her service..

it seems like most of u are delievering at TMC huh.. only me at SGH..

Hunniepot, Koalarie
And my baby has been very active the past week. His legs keep on moving, I think sometimes cos he burping. The feeling is so weird sometimes. And usually on my right side.

Yukie, Koalarie,
Yup they will charge us and put in the hospital bill. All the baby stuff you don't have to bring cos hospital provide then they bill us. You can ask again to confirm.

koalarie,
me oso gonna del @ Geln E, din know v.cam is not allow in the delivery ward. already "chop" my bro v.cam to be use on tat day.... gotta chk w my gynae tis fri....

me always the "looker" althou me is apr MTBs... found you all are very informative, learn a lots. me always blur blur one...

seems like you mummies are having heavier bb... my girl weigh abt 1.6kg @ Week 30...

a qns to check out with you mummies: will long time squating affect the growth of bb or early del? err... me have been hand-wash all my clothings, i.e squat to wash... n squat to pee n poo too. staying w in-laws, hse still using the squating toilet.

reiner,
I think you no need to worry. YOu're effectively exercising your muscles. As long as you feel ok afterwards, like not in pain or have sore muscles it's ok. In fact the antenatal class I go to in TMC the consultant don't teach us to squat so low but she did say have to do squat exercises where we have to bend at the knees until our thighs almost parallel to the floor. You just be careful when you getting up from your squat, don't just suddenly stand up in case lose balance or something.