(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

hunniepot
ok, i'm going shopping this evening so will try to get some nursing bras with a cup sizer bigger, hee hee. hope it aren't expensive.

Never like to shop for bras in Singapore cause it is so expensive. Bangkok's real cheap for the same Triump, Wacoal etc

daphne

I got mine from Ero.. costs $19.90.. I know IMM giant is selling nursing bras at $9.90.. and like what terrier suggested.. you may want to check out shopping centres like OG or Robinsons (they will be having sale till end of this month) hopefully you can get some bargains from there?

yippee! i'm doing shopping at Robinsons. going to get my hb some nice shirts for New Year - looks like i'm hitting the rite place. thks, hunniepot

Daphne

My pleasure

Hi gals,brand new Farlin Electric Breast Pump Kit which brought on 31 Dec 2005 (with receipt attached) are now for sale at $45(neg).
All accessories are intact.Features as follow: Comes with Unique AC-DC function conserve Batteries
Light weight. Convenient and easy to use
Need only one hand to operate the pump.
Suction Controk Button to increase comfort.
Breast Shield with silicone diaphragm

Package include:
A motor unit,Breast shield,Diaphragm,0.125l bottle

Cal 9092-73-88 for further enquiry or email me at [email protected] for pic.

Tonite I am an night owl...

Can't seem to sleep...

Hunniepot, thanks 4 the website. I've similar site as well at this Motherhood webpage... but've been having difficulty to confirm my size. Those old bras b4 pregnancy, re in size 78/88 while those on website are in inches.
kao_embarrassed.gif

361705.gif

Hi Evon

Wah.. you are up at 3+ am?? No problem.. you may wish to go down to Mothercare and get them to do your measurements for you.. but don't get bras from there and esp the undies! Too expensive and not durable at all..

Ya la, Hunniepot.. so jia luck lor.. Hb said I got snoze ard 11~12am b4 he left the bedroom 2 sleep outside as he scared his flu bug passed 2 me.. but as he moved ard the pillow n blanket out of rm, I'd hear every moment leh.. Then after a while /w several tosses and turns, decided 2 surf web... till 5am.. decided 2 force myself 2 sleep.. n performed deep breathes exercises for more than 20times b4 going into dreamland till tix morning 9.30am then reach office.

Robinsons got good sales now??? Think probably b dropping by at lunch time 2 c. I'm juz curious but cheaper bras I've nv seem 2 last.. though I hand wash them n hung.. anybody any idea noe how 2 maintain?

hey hunniepot, my hubby also wanted to buy the latex pillow..heehee...looks like we starting to pamper the kid though we get a lot of hand me downs, think money is going out in other ways...ke ke ke...

Gals, u mean got so cheap nursing bras? Heard M & S ones are good but of coz ex...ke ke ke

Evon

Maybe having a warm glass of milk b4 bedtime might help to cure your insomnia? I'm the lazy type.. I throw my nursing bras into the washing machine.. and then put into the dryer to dry.. so far so good.. still lasts quite well leh.. and its the cheap types I got from Ero and IMM Giant

Babe

Heh.. I'm going down to Robinsons to get the latex pillow after my gynae visit tomorrow.. honestly speaking.. I do not exactly know what are the benefits of the latex pillow.. but it seems to be quite good.. so I'm getting it

Oh.... so quiet 2day..

Ladies.. juz to share my personal experience /w u...

Last Thursday, I took a cab home after work n cab took to the rightmost lane of CTE expressway, travelling at 90kmh. He was quit an okay driver n the cars were all travelling really fast as well in the evening.

Then along Moulemin Road n Braddell area, a red Corolla car jammed brake 4 no reason in front of us. Thank goodness, my cab driver saw it n performed an "E" brake.

Yet, unluckily, Lexus RX300 behind us, was either tailgating or didn't perform "E" brake n within 15 seconds, "BANG".

I was too stunned @ what happened then while sitting behind.. luckily the impact wasn't too big so i was unhurt except bb Elsy kept kicking after then. Called my hb n told him I was caught in accident. Hb told me to note down the Lexus car plate number.

Unbelievable are the cab driver n the Lexus drivers were unaware tat the passenger, ME, of course, was pregnant. Didn't even check with me.

After the incident, I shared /w my guy friends n all of them told me should ve gone down the cab n informed the Lexus driver that I not feeling well n go checkup immediately.

Okay.. fine. I learnt my lesson.. But of course, I won't want such thing/incident to happen again or anymore.. but just to share if u've pregnant friends who got caught in such case, to do the same... get the offender to pay for checkup to A & E n make sure bb is k. = )

Hi Hunniepot, i went down to Robinsons @ Centrepoint and they do not seem to carry Ero. I asked one of the sales lady and she like blur blur. It was quite a low point for me as i've always been impressed with their service. Anyway, i also dropped by at Motherwear and boy, were u right, so expensive. S$70 for 2 nursing bras. I proceeded to OG and there were the nursing bras at S$9.90, S$19.90 and S$29.90 but not much size left leh and the sales people also not very happy. I thought that they could help me with the measurement but they juz pass me the measuring tape. I dun reali care as i did not want to spoil my shopping mood. In the end, still bought 3 S/L shirts for hb and 2 blouses for myself. So tempted to buy more clothes for bb but my mother tells me not too as bb grows very fast.

Hi Evon, your male friends gave you juz the advise all of us need - whether pregnant or not. Cause we never know whether the impact affected us or not. It could be after a day then you feel something. So it's important to take down the vehicle nos and for senior citizens and preggies to go for a check-up. Btw, take care of yourself.

Hi Daphne

Ero is normally a boutique by itself.. dont think the departmental stores will carry their products.. you can go to this website http://www.eguideglobal.com/sg/Nad_moreAdr.asp?company_id=113594 and call the boutiques to find out if they have your size? The people are mothercare are pretty helpful.. they took my measurements for me and I bought 2 maternity bras from them and a few undies (the undies are not elastic and very uncomfortable).. not worth the money... then discovered that there are so many cheaper nursing bras and maternity undies elsewhere.. so I stopped buying from mothercare after that..

Evon

Glad to hear that you and Elsy are ok!

Just an amused thought.. are all guys the same after they get married? Daphne.. like you.. I also bought my hubby's CNY clothings for him.. otherwise he would not have gotten it on his own.. He used to have his working shirts tailored b4 he met me.. but since he got to know me.. Im the one who goes to his tailor and choose the fabric and design for him...

Afternoon all

Hunniepot,
I've just bought a pack of panties frm Mothercare recently leh but I found it extremely comfortable to wear. Hmm..mayb different people have different expectations of things?

Re: Cheap Nursing Bras
The nursing bras that u ladies talked abt, got underbust wire one? Coz I'm used to wearing bras with wires for support liao and most cheap bras doesn't have the wire.

Hello preciousbabe

Which type did you buy? I bought two types: One is under the bump as shown below (this one is quite ok)

361858.jpg

But those that I got for the full briefs as seen below, the elastic band is not elastic at all.. and it tore after the 2nd time I wore it.. moreover, other parts of the seams gave way too.. and I got the size after the sales person measured for me leh..

361859.jpg

So in the end I got mine from kiddy palace.. 2 briefs for $12.90 very comfortable and elastic and of course.. much cheaper

Re: underwire bras

The nursing bras I bought have no underwire.. read from somewhere that underwire is not recommended for nursing bras.. so I didn't get those.. and moreover.. good for lazy pple like me as I can afford to throw it into the washing machine and need not handwash them..

Hi Evon

Thanks for sharing your experience...good to know u're okay...

But the drivers at fault really liable to pay for our checkups?

Daphne

Not sure if they have any more stocks.. at least for the larger size.. so might be good if you can call and check with the outlets first? Otherwise it might be another wasted trip for you..

heehee hunniepot
I same as u...didn't get underwire...oso throw into washing maching type... :p

yaya...read that underwire no good during pregnancy and breastfeeding...may block the development of milk ducts...

Hi terrier, they do according to my friends. use their insurance or pocket $. else TP which they found it man fun.

hunniepot,
I bought the under the bump too. Used to wear full briefs but realise that the elastic band is too tight now and it's rather uncomfortable. You r the opposite as me. I like those full briefs that doesn't have tight elastic band. I bought from perfect mum and the elastic band feel as if it's not there and I love the briefs so much. Will go and buy 1 more pack of under the bump briefs from mothercare this weekend.

Re: Underwire bras
Hmm...the nursing bras that I bought from perfect mum have under wires leh but the wores are not as hard as those normal bras. The sales person did not tell me that it is not recommended to have under wires as nursing bras leh

preciousbabe

No lar.. like you.. I wouldn't like the tight elastic band for full briefs.. but cos the elastic band of the ones that I bought from mothercare is not stretchable at all.. thus its very tight and uncomfortable on the bump.. as for under the bump briefs.. I like the ones from Thyme maternity.. very comfortable as well..

Re: underwire bras

Take a read from this link: http://www.babycentre.co.uk/expert/553047.html

Panties:
Before I was pregnant, I saw John Little selling a pack of 5 panties for $5. Wow, so cheap, so I brought 2 packets. After that I realise that I have brought European small size which is too big for me. Now I am just grateful that I make that mistake.

Underwire bras:
I found one big packet of old bras in my cupboard which I have forgotten. There are about 20 bras inside. I have unwired all of them and now I got plenty of bras to wear. I cannot wear those new bras that I have brought before I get pregnant.

I dunno if I am being emotional a not. I kept feeling very auntie today. I wear a full maternity dress today and went to watch a movie with my husband. For the whole time in the shopping centre, I kept feeling that I dressed very auntie. I asked my husband if I am very auntie and he said that I am already an aunite wat. I told him that I want to buy a new bag so that I dun look so auntie. I went around looking for a bag but I realise that whatever I carried I still look very auntie.

I walked into 77th street and found a bag that I like. I asked my husband if it is nice a not and he shake his head. When we walk out of the store, he asked me if I felt embarrass a not. I asked him why and he told me that that shop is for young people, not for auntie. I felt so angry with him.

Suddenly, I feel like I wanted my baby out immediately so that I can work hard to get my figure back, wear nice tight jeans or shorts, rebound my hair and wear shoes with heels. However, sometime, I really like my big round tummy. I really feel very confuse. I feel very uncomfortable when I see nice and cheap clothing but cannot buy.

Sorry for my long ranting.

Good morning girls,
I was woke up by a very shuang1 feeling on my left side of the tummy. It was so shuang1 that my husband almost called my gynae. Does anybody experience that before?

Morning, Draik. U slept late too last nite. = )

Re: The "shuang" feeling at left tummy
I've similar shuang feeling but somewhere at right bottom of tummy where the right leg/pelvic area n cannot squat or walk or even lifted my right leg high, even lifting my left leg can feel the pull at right side... Called my gynae n was told it's normal as bb sat @ tat area... So, on n off I still've similar prob.. so tix's what I do, when I nd 2 do some housework, told bb 2 sit @ other side so tat I can squat n bend n do housework, bb Elsy cooperated /w me. =)

Re: Auntie feeling
Draik, u not the only v'g such feeling. My hb noe too I'm upset abt it,n always tried 2 cheer me up... to add on, he looked so young chap tat everywhere he went, the ppl always call him "xiao di" one leh.
But, come to think of it, how many times can we carry our young like tat? How many times can we be narrator 2 our young on what's happening ard when he/she is inside looking @ pitched dark area?
Draik, ur feelings i understand. Believe most of us the same too... figures've gone out.. ppl've started addressing us as "auntie"s.. but it's k..
The amazing portion's 2 ve the little one kicking n reacting more n more frequent as we communicated /w him/her.
Heeehee... look.. i m comforting myself too. =p

Enjoy the bonding... it happens rarely.

Tell ur hb u not embarassed.... we may age, we may grow old... we may grow fat.. but what is impt's we must b young at heart. k?

Where's everybody??? So quiet..

Yesterday was really damn busy. Finished work only at 7.30pm.. by time home was already 9pm after dinner outside myself.. so tired tat i dozed off without waiting hb 2 come back frm his work.

Re: Panties n nursing bras
The only panties i bought was frm Perfect mum.. oh gosh.. really regrets.. the material's too silky type tat i not used 2 wearing.. so been still wearing the Wacoal ones.. > comfortable n dun feel panties slipping off.

For nursing bras, didn't noe that underwear ones cannot wear leh.

Draik, how to remove that wire?

But those I bought frm Perfect Mum ones're really nice 2 wear.. except 4 the detachable cloth irritates my nipples or breasts at times... n can see some marking on the top of the nipples.. (But strangely I dun find it tight)

Re: Cab-Lexus incident
Thanks, Terrier, Daphne n Hunniepot.. Elsy was fine (went scheduled checkup on two days after the incident). I guess I was too shocked then tat day n scared later go out the driver "punched" me how? *Just kidding*

Anyway, juz warn.. dun b like me.. so slow turtle. =p

Hi Maraquan, i went to Giant last weekend to buy durian and the durian seller also called me auntie. I found it expensive and he said, auntie, you give me good price i sell to you lah. So Angry! My hb who was with me, then simply laughed it off. I narrated the whole incident to my colleagues and family and they all found it amusing. Told me to take it easy. My colleague who is married with 1 kid told me that very day he held his chinese wedding, he told his wife, congrats! you are now officially an auntie.

Hi all!!

Yeah!! It's Friday again and the weather is super good! Hopefully it will be the same for tmr as I'll be going to chalet at Sentosa. Hmm...really missed the sand and the sea. Hadn't been to Sentosa since last July. Sentosa, here I come!!

maraquan,
Don't be too affected by your new status
Guess it's only a matter of time that every little kid we see will address us as auntie. Y not take it positively abt our new status? At least we have a child at our young age. Imagine those spinsters out there who have no kids and little kids still call them aunties. Lagi worse right?
Don't ever let our husbands address us as aunties!! For revenge, use their money to go for our hair treatment, buy beautiful dresses, pedicure etc and dress up!! Then when we go out shopping with our kids, pple will envy us. Young and hip-looking mums with kids liaoz!!

Yaya....mummies...don't be too upset with the status thingy... as much as possible, now u still can try to dress urself up

Wah...preciousbabe, so good ah, tmr can outing at sentosa? I still got lots of housework to do this wkend leh...to prepare for CNY, n my hubby super busy nowadays, so I'm quite alone most of the time....

terrier,
heehee...my house small mah..so nothing much to clean up. Anyway, mum already booked my hb and I to do some cleaning up on Sun so tmr is relax time lor

Can i ask if any of the mums to be here suffer from piles??? I had one last time before pregneny but now came back again.... its very painful while walking coz my is outside instead of inside. Is there anything i can do to make the pain lesser??? Thank you!!!!

Just came back from my gynae visit.. my darling now weighs 1.1 kg at 29 weeks.. and will be having my 8th month detailed scan in Feb..

Told my gynae about the vaginal discharge.. and he immediately took samples for testing (the procedure is so super uncomfortable!) and he mentioned that it is very common to have bacteria infection during pregnancy.. gave me some oral antibiotics and a pill to insert into my vagina.. so just to share with you gals.. if your vaginal discharge has colour.. and gives off a particular smell.. do let your gynae know.. as the bacteria might affect bb during delivery if not treated (it is ok now as bb is protected by the water bag).. moreover.. if we happen to fall very ill b4 we deliver..the bacteria might go into our blood stream and affect bb..

Evon,

glad you hear you are okie from your "small" accident. Should have called the taxi company and ask for their liability. Think they should also be responsible to the safety of the passenger.

1sttimemum,
I also got piles and its outside. Kinda painful when I sit down. I guess there is nothing much that we can do cos we cannot self-medicate. Or maybe you want to see your GP on it. For me, the piles got smaller as the days pass but it will come back again maybe few weeks later. I heard its common. After birth will be worst. My colleague ask me to use toothpaste, said it cures. But I don't dare ley.

Do you know where i can get nice CNY goodies? Anywhere besides Chinatown cos its too crowded.

I think I have to see my gynae tonight. The pain is coming back again very intense.

bras:
just cut two tiny hole at the side of the wire and push the wire out lor.

What preciousbabe had said was quite true lah. Better to be auntie with kids than auntie without kids lah.

Re: Piles
I've learnt in my antenatal class that piles can be treated. There are 2 types of medication. If u want pain relief, can get Xylocaine. If u want the piles to shrink, can get Anusol or Preparation H. But ask your gynae before u buy these medication frm the pharmacy to self-medicate.

Re: Piles
Does it work, preciousbabe?

My hb's family re really prone 2 piles previously.. hb n my sil tried tix thing known as injection of some medication to the root n after several days, the piles'd drop off.
Both of them did this clinic at Outram - People's Park Shopping CEntre (the one nearer to Supreme Court).. it's done by two elderies.. but so far several folks say tix a better method 2 get rid of piles permanently as compared 2 those western operations tat perform the cutting of the piles?

Personally I'm also scared of having.. as I've seem my hb n my sil suffers.. so, oso trying 2 find ways to prevent. Heard prune juice n ve high fibre helps. Hb told me not 2 sit at bowel too long as well.

Can anybody share how to prevent? My stools re rather hard still n only pass motion every 4~5 days, sometimes 6! I ever go to extend 2 visit Chinese physician hoping that his medication can help me to regulate my toiletry. BTW, I drink lots of water one.

Re: underwire @ bras
Thanks, Draik. 'll try tat back home on my other non-nursing bras. = )

Re: Vaginal discharge
Looks serious.. mine is clear but sometimes got smell leh..tot i was too heaty.. so drink lots of water... hmmm, okay, hunniepot, thanks for sharing... think i better tell gynae as well.. thx...

Smurfy, noted.. thx. I a bit the too "mountain turtoise".. but really it's not cab driver's fault, the lexus driver (since he didn't brake in time n hit into my cab) should've checked the passenger - ME. Ah ya.. thanks, Lord that I'm fine.. is k.

Re: CNY goodies
Me not started shopping yet.. tix year, sian 2 go into crowds /w such big stomaches. But, think may check out NTUC got what n buy what.. =p

Ladies, enjoy ur weekends.. = )

Preciousbabe,

Are those stalls located at Basement of Bugis Junction or located at the crowded street leading to OG? Which brand is nice?

I used Preparation H before my pregnancy for my piles. During pregnancy, i don't dare to self-medicate.

Evon,
I'm not sure if those medicine works but it's recommended in my antenatal class lor

Smurfy,
There are stalls at the basement as well as outside the stretch along the jewellery stores on level one. The area usually have alot of push carts one. I've tried the pineapple tarts from Home Favourites, not bad.

Evon

No worries

Re: Hard Stools

Guess taking food high in fibre will help? Nowadays my mum cooks lunch and dinner for me.. and she always makes sure that I have 2 servings of vege (if not.. then 1 serving of it.. and its a pretty big plate) and fruits per day... so I have no problems passing stools so far.. and do not try to push too hard if the stools dont come out.. as I learnt in my antenatal class.. it might cause contractions..

I am back from my gynae visit. Forgot to ask him how heavy is my baby. *sign*

It turn out that the pain that I had this morning and afternoon is CONTRACTION!

My gynae said NO pineapple tart. *sign*

He also gave me some pills which will make my heart beat faster. If I feel uncomfortable, then I got to cut the pills into half. If contraction comes again and goes again and again, I got to call him immediately.

He also told me not to run around. Must rest more often.

This is the first time I visit my gynae and got myself worried.

Maraquan

Hmm.. why did your gynae say no to pineapple tarts? What are his reasons?

Are your contractions are braxton hicks contractions? What are the causes of it? Take good care of yourself yeah..

hunniepot,
He did not give me a reason for pineapple, but he give me a very firm "NO!" Maybe I got contraction today. I also dunno what type of contraction I got. I read about HBC from another forum and it seems that my gynae give me the pills which other people also get. I also dunno what cause the contraction but my gynae kept asking if I am working, run here and there. Then he told me to rest more often.

Good Morning

Evon
Glad to noe dat u're fine! The Lexus driver so careless!

Btw do u ladies noe if the using the Avent breast milk shell, the breast milk dat leak into the shell can be consume or not huh?