(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

evon,
Oh, do take care. Rest well and drink more water

Woke up earlier this morning but went back to sleep again even though I was not too tired.. what a pig! Going to check out Aussino later.. they are having some special promotion.. never did I imagine I will end up liking bedsheets.. used to think it is a very auntie thing! Haha.. think I am becoming more and more auntie like now..

Evon

Rest well and drink lots of water..

Have you gals started doing your CNY shopping? Intend to start this weekend.. and things like Bak Gwa.. think I better not buy so fast.. can finish 1 kg of that in 2 days!

Anyone going for the first mum's congress tomorrow?

Both hospitals, i like.

Went TMC twice 2 visit my friends' wives. Nurses were very friendly ... room wise, as both of them stayed /w wives, /w a make-shift bed @ side n bb bed, seems cramped a bit. But still can accomodate 6 more people.

Not been to MountA. But hb n i actually wanted to choose tix hospital as we somehow found it comfortable there.

Thanks, Winnie.

Hunniepot, me want hb by my side.. so going 4 1 bedded one /w Citibank promo one.. we pray hard 4 no complications. =p

How much is it with citibank promo? My hb wanted me to go for 2 bedder simply cos all his sisters went for 2-bedder room last time...

The first-Mum's congress event is so screwed up.. called this morning to ask if my place is confirmed.. they say will call me back.. and since then I have called 2 more times and they are unable to verify if my cheque has gotten through.. and now the office is closed for the day.. no one called me back.. inefficient people!

For 1 bedded, is S$1788. One of the moms in GlenE thread has taken that.. the overall pricing looks k.

2 bedded can save $ but he can't stay /w overnights leh..

U going for the congress?? I receive info on tat as well.. but think this is a new gimmicks to get we mothers to pay them to organize.. so i not going.

Hmm.. might consider taking 1-bedder then.. any idea on what the pricing is for 2-bedder?

I wanted to go for the congress.. think $5 per person is reasonable.. but got pissed off by their inefficiency.. so won't be going.. and will be doing CNY shopping if the weather permits it tomorrow...

Been using the swim suit you bought the other day? Hopefully can use it tomorrow as I need to exercise very badly, muscles aching all over liao.. got my hb to sign up for safra membership.. quite a good deal.. $100+ for 4.5 years membership.. include spouse should be less than $200 for both persons.. and they give free mp3 player and 6 weeks free trial of the gym..

Hi Mummies-To-Be

I'm from Nov thread. Me wanna check if any MTB would like to buy the Clarins Tonic Oil from me. I bought it 3 months ago, new and still in box. Me kiasu, bought 2 bottles @$78 each but lazy to use, so sell one at $65 self collect @Jurong/Raffles
This oil is good for
- firming, toning and improves apparent elasticity.
- Helps prevent stretch marks during pregnancy.
http://sg.clarins.net/main.cfm?prodID=65

PM me if you are interested.

P/S: Just KPO, was reading earlier msgs, just to share tat I was @MtA, nurses friendly + helpful and most impt of all, u/s fm my gf who stayed @TMC, she stayed @observation ward as her cervix not diluted fully yet and her HB was not allowed in. But for MtA, my HB stayed with me in the delivery suite from the start. Something 4 u to consider...;p

preciousbabe,
my gynae only tell me not to eat pineapple during my first visit. So I think I will asked again. He very funny one leh, got so many degrees in gynae, some more got them from Australia and New Zealand, so more half Ah moh, but he still ask me to apply tiger balm oil when I complained my right side pain. My husband stare at him eye big big when he said that.

I think I prefer 4 beded room, but my hubby wants me to stay in 2 beded room. I think if he is not around with me, I might else save some more by staying in a 4 beded room.

maraquan,
haahaa...your gynae so chinna one...

Envy u gals leh, can take 2 beded. I think my hubby going to let me stay in 6 beded one as afraid bb has to be hospitalised coz of jaundice. If like that, then hospital bills will chalk up, so to be on the safe side, stay 6 bedded first

hihi everyone,

I'm Tracy and i'm also a Apr 06 mum. Expecting a girl and EDD 16 Apr. Just want to check whether u guys hv gone for antenatal classes yet?

Hi Tracy,

Welcome! I have just started going for my antenatal class at KKH.. tomorrow will be my third lesson.. considered abit late.. cos the class is recommended for MTBs who are about 5 months.. and I joined the class towards the end of my sixth month.. where are you delivering?

Hi Tracy
359102.gif

Congrats!! 1st bb??I did not sign up for antenatal class..we share the same EDD..hiak hiak..but my gynae says might change to 15 APril..only 1 day diff nia..

I'll be going for single bedded @ TMC for delivery..Cos i'm a light sleeper,scared to be disturbed..

<font color="Blue">Tracy</font>
kao_welcome2.gif

I am going for my antenatal class on Sundays begining on 22nd. Same as Hunniepot, by then I will b in late 6th mth as well.

My gf whose bb was delivererd last July, was told by her gynae @ MountE, need not 2 go 4 antenatal class but later on found she also blur; luckily she got friends who are mothers, and ve babies 2 help 2 advice her along the way.

So, it's up to you.

Where'd u b delivering?

<font color="Blue">Hunniepot and preciousbabe </font>, I oso want 2 save $ too.. but I heard in GlenE the 2 bedded rooms were miserable n cramp when bb bed is 2b pushed in n can't accomodate much guests. The price difference of the two bedded rooms n 1 bedded rooms at Glene E is around 588? (2 Bedded ones was quoted 2 me @ 1.2k and 1 bedded room if taking Citibank promo'll b 1788). So hb said if 1k difference then we stay @ 2bedded ones .. but it's not... thus decided 2 stay in 1 bedded lor.

Evon

Yeah.. the 2 bedder at GlenE is indeed pretty cramped.. doesn't look comfy either.. hmm.. see how.. see if convince hb to get 1 bedder...

HI Evon Hi Hunniepot
i'll be delivering at Gleneagles 2. still have 2 more lessons for my antenatal. also opted for the 2 bedder scheme as it would be cheaper.

i was thinking if the room cannot accomodate so many guests, would it be better so dat the mother can rest even more. i'll be arranging to do a walk-around before my EDD to make a better decision after all the comments on the 1 and 2-bedder.

daphne,
I was thinking of that too. The more cramp the space is, the faster my visitors will leave. I dun think I will enjoying smiling at everybody that stay for hours.

Heehee.. dun think the guests b zi dong 2 go away... I was at TMC's one... n inside there including myself got a total of 8 colleagues n then my colleague as a father, their parents/siblings etc.. the room was like crowded with 12 people like tat.
Then + a single makeshift bed by the side?

The newly mothers want to get things ve to make her way through th crowds.

I think, if you dun want guests 2b ard, juz ask parents to tell the relatives n urself to colleagues 2 come after you are home lor.. this make life easier, isn't it?

Tell you frankly, I dread going to hospitals even at those class B or C wards, the visitors just so dunno how to zi dong one! So noisy.... worse of all, I ve been to such wards that normally ve a chair @ least allocated to each bed, was being taken away for other patients' visitors to sit. Leaving the poor patient I am visiting n her child no choice 2 ask for chairs..

Thank goodness, we only stay in the hospitals for less than 3 days (I hope). So thankfully, don't've to go through any of the agony.

Anyway, don't think I've much guests coming in... I've warned my mom not 2 inform relatives to visit unless I'm home. My ILs re quite okay.. they dun like to visit hospitals.

I just want hb 2b ard...or at least my mom if hb being activated @ work. = )

I have got 6 friends that die die must inform one, we are as close as siblings. Then my mom side, whole family will come, my sister family will come. My in-laws will come but I am hoping that my in-laws relatives will not come, because if they come, there will be 40 to 50 people.

Hopefully I will not stay in the hospital for long too. I never stay in one before and I am not look afterward to it.

Hi Daphne

Yupz.. just realised that too
Our EDD is actually 2 days apart.. not 4 days! Most prob I will have to settle for 2 bedder at GlenE as my hb is pretty set on his mind on 2 bedder already.. who knows.. we might even end up in the same room when we deliver?

hi preciousbabe/hunniepot/evon

I have not register myself in any antenatal classes yet. i'm delivering at TMC but not too keen with their classes there. Considering KKH.

And I'm going for the 4 bedded at TMC. Financial constraint plus my gynae is rather expensive. So no choice.

Maybe to avoid the crowd, you guys can get your relative to come at different timing. so at least not so bad.

Sunshine,
Yes, Chinatown is very crowded especially where the conservation shophouses are. I went there with my mom on Friday and my mom refuse to let me walk there.

Has anybody experience braxton hicks contractions? I heard that some pregnant woman experience that during their 27th week.

Re: Pineapple Tarts

Heehee...I tried to bake tdy. But the crust and the fillings turned out to be abit hard after the pineapple tarts cooled down. How to make softer crust and fillngs? For fillings, think I overboiled liao dats y it was abit hard.

Hi preciousbabe

You just leave it overnight in the container after it cools down.. it will turn soft already.. mine was also crunchy after coming out from the oven..

preciousbabe

That is what happened to mine.. actually I prefer it being crunchy
If it does not turn soft tomorrow.. then if you want.. can pass you my recipe...

hunniepot,
no, not yet, but I read from another forum that some woman experience BH contractions at their 27 week. I dun even know how BH contractions feels like.

Maraquan

I shouldn't have said so soon haha! Had leg cramp as I was sleeping last night.. and then felt a contraction at my bump for a while (think abt 10 to 20 seconds).. its not painful but felt slightly uncomfortable.. but didnt come back again for the night.. think might be BH contractions.. not too sure..

finally went for my swim yesterday afterall the sun's finally out. but had a bit of spotting after dat. any1 experienced it at 28 weeks?

Hi hunniepot &amp; preciousbabe
May I know what brand of oven u use? Mine is an old Connell oven, I tried to bake cookes yesterday, but my cookies didn't go hard after cooling leh... it seems that my oven can't follow the baking timing based on the directions leh....everytime, I have to bake longer in order to make it work....

Is it the problem with my oven?

daphne

There's once i swam 20 laps leisurely and with lots of break in between. I had some pain and spotting too after that. But it went away the next day. The next time i swam lesser and i was alright. I believe it's too strenous for me the previous time. Did u swim alot too?

<font size="+1">April 2006 MTB</font>

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Loving</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Johor Specialist Hospital</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bbtree</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr A.L. Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kokopooh</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joan(Babe)</TD><TD>05/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kyla</TD><TD>06/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Daphne</TD><TD>06/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr See Tho KY</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Fish</TD><TD>07/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Goh Shen Li</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hunniepot</TD><TD>08/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Christopher Chong</TD><TD> Gleneagles</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mochie</TD><TD>09/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Jeanette Chen</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousbabe</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Goh Sheng Li</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wishbear</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lemontree</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Phyllis Liawu</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jolie</TD><TD>12/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Lai </TD></TR><TR><TD>Des</TD><TD>12/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasminetea</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kim Tan</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Y W Lim</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chenoa</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Vincent Lee</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rach</TD><TD>16/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>16/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jo</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ice</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Chua</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Ho</TD><TD>18/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr SW Seng</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>19/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cutecute</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Terrier</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leereiner</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Gordon Lim</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maraquan</TD><TD>21/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhaocaimao</TD><TD>21/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr C W Fong</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>BBLim</TD><TD>23/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evonlimsy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr T C Chang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Telly</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Smurfy</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Winne</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>DR KK Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emon</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nana</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunshine Tay</TD><TD>28/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yukie</TD><TD>28/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snowy</TD><TD>28/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>03/05/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sponge</TD><TD>03/05/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gebbera</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adelene</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shanti</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Sureh Nair </TD><TD>Mt E </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bubbles</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

<font color="0000ff">Total No of Boys : 17</font>
<font color="ff0000">Total No of Girls : 22</font>

terrier

My oven is the old type as well.. brand: babybelling. No problem with it so far.. maybe your longer baking time is cos your cookies are of a bigger size than whats specified in your recipe?

Daphne

The most I swam was about 16 laps.. never experienced spotting b4.. on average swim about 12 laps each time but didnt really take breaks in between.. maybe 20 laps is a little too strenous for third trimester as my gynae once told me about a patient of his who swam 50 laps everyday for 1st and 2nd trimester and 20 laps every day for 3rd trimester and he did mention that it is a little too much..

Wow... I can't swim that much.. No energy leh..= p

Can swim more than 6 laps, my hb b happy abt it. =)

I have the most weirdest dreams this morning that made me cry in sleep... dreamt that I saw my father's "ling wei"... it was so real that I tot my father really passed away.

But in the meantime, really can't differ bratox contraditions. BB was active 4 past few days. Yesterday night, hb placed his head on my tummy to listen 2 bb's movements n Elsy "kicked" him several times leh.. So funny..=p

Evon

Guess we tend to have pretty emotional dreams nowadays.. just dont take it too hard as afterall its just a dream!

Went swimming at safra yesterday for the first time.. for once I see other preggies swimming about other than myself.. felt so at home haha

I can hardly feel Amanda's kicks nowadays.. maybe she is busy sleeping the whole day? Can only see her moving about in my tummy.. sending ripples of waves across my tummy thats all.. but it is not very frequent

HI all

hunniepot,
hmm...I tried the pineapple tarts just now. Ok lah, abit soft already. I like those crust that melts in the mouth type, that's y prefer softer crust

terrier,
My oven is those microwave-cum-convection oven so baking time normally is abit longer if I want my cookies to be more golden brown. But if I bake longer then my cookies will turn hard lor.Like wat hunniepot suggested, mayb u make your cookies smaller lor, then will be easier to bake and make them hard?

Re: Swimming
Wah, u gals still can swim so many laps ah?! For 16-20 laps, I can only do it before preganancy. Now I walk leisurely can already hear myself panting, still ask me to swim so many laps without stopping?! But daphne, do decrease our laps if u have spotting coz might be too strenous for u. We r already half way through our pregnancy, don't do anything to risk our bb

hi gals, thanks for concern. i monitor thru the nite and this am and spotting has gone away. thank goodness. i swam about 20 laps yesterday with breaks in-between - my usual routine. but u gals may be rite, i should drop this to maybe 10 laps

Hunniepot &amp; preciousbabe
I already make my cookies very small liao leh...~hiaz~ cookies seems very difficult to get it rite....

Hope I can go swimming after work today...

Hello ladies..

wow..2day's topic seems to be about CNY cokies and swimming...for me, i dun bake cookies as i dun have oven..but already bought the CNY cookies yesterday liao..

regards to swimming, i just heard from a friend that happened to bump onto on sat at suntec Marche..she's a mother of 1 and she advise me to go swimming..she said it helps in the delivery of the bb..but i have not bought preggies swimming suit..haiz..gotta start looking around, any of you here have any idea where to get those not so auntie types??