(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Re: NY cookies
preciousbabe, so eng huh?? My mil noe how 2.. she showed me last year... hers got more pineapple... =p

I asked her on the making receipe.. she basically juz prepared everything n i was there to press press here n press press there..

Re: Schools
Ya.. i noe those famous ones do ve lots of events nowadays... but most of the schools still require we parents to sign consent forms rite b4 they attend??

Actually part of my mind want to quit job n go b teacher leh.. I only hve Advanced Diploma n Diploma.. n read that must go get one more papers b4 can apply, rite??

Re: Sleep
These two nites i'd problems keeping asleep throughout... my eyelids seem heavier... n need coffee 2 keep me awake in morning.. how?? Is our honeymoon getting over?

rE: Wholesale shop
Cheona, dun think need receipts one. They should noe one.. the price tag is their labels.. i did a change at tix type of places b4 without receipts.. sometimes those aunties/uncles that attend 2 u, tend 2 remember u one.. n furthermore they recognize the goods they carry, u c. Want me 2 test water 4 u??? I can go down later 2 check out during lunch.. =p

Re: NB BB clothes
Anyway, I agreed /w preciousbabe too on clothes size. my mom was warning not 2 get too much.
But I am a bit worried after seeing Hunniepot's list... =p

I got only 6 long pants, 6 long sleeved shirts, 5 shorts, 6 short sleeved shirts for nb bb only.. enuf or not???

Then diaper covers... i got one waterproof one n one cloth type one.. enuf???

So gong gong now...= (

smurfy,
haahaa...I've got no choice leh. Sick and tired of eating outside food since the age of 16. So since I'm so free at home now, must as well pick up some cooking skills. Anyway, I love to cook and bake so it's enjoyable for me lor

preciousbabe, u noe how to use slowcooker?

I juz bought one.. n wanted to try cooking some food /w it.. but dunno where 2 get receipes. =p

Evon,
Yup, u have to sign consent forms to allow your child to attend school events but remedial is compulsory lor. I have cases in school where parents don't want their kids to attend remedials and in the end the parents have to see the principal and give very valid reasons why they rejected the remedial lessons. Like I told u, neighbourhood schools are more kiasu and they force kids to attend alot of remedials and other stuff.

Hmm...think u really must give teaching a serious thought especially if u r going to have kids now. Coz teaching will really burn u out n basically u won't have time for your own kid lor coz u will be giving all your love, care n concern to your pupils.

Evon,
I only use the slow cooker to cook soup as I can leave the cooker on overnight. I don't know wat else can be cooked using the cooker besides liquid stuff

Oh... hmm.. how u get rid of the fats in the pork meat/bone? If left overnite?

I used to do it manually in those pots one. But find it siong as I ve 2b @ home 2 watch over it.

Re: Schools
No wonder nowadays a lot of top students from neighbourhood schools.. =p

Any case, tot remedial lessons oso require consent forms.. remember my days got forms to inform my mom that i b staying school late becoz of tix n tat... =p

Re: Teaching
I dun mind.. I like being /w students.. was a tutor.. then a church volunteer in a school to help the students in remedial classes.

Evon,
Hmm..normally I use small ribs to cook soup, so it's not that fatty leh. Mayb u remove the fats from the ribs before putting into the soup?

haahaa...being a tutor and a church volunteer is totally different from being a full time teacher. Trust me

hi Hunniepot

I got married only this June and got pregnant one month after! It's a honeymoon baby I suppose... Was very surprised and totally unprepared. When I first puked and puked, I also din suspect I was pregnant. The stupid GP I went to even thought I had liver disease!

Re: Baby clothes

I went to upper cross st to buy the baby clothes, one for $2. The lady at the shop told me must buy at least a dozen. So I bot a dozen loh. She said bb will dirty the clothes very fast, esp after drinking milk and water. Each time after clothes become wet, gotta change. Anyway, I also bot some at NTUC during the baby fair cos got 20% discount. so I have slightly more than a dozen.

The mittens also must get at least 4 pairs cos she told me bb will put the hand with mitten into the mouth and the mitten will be dirty with saliva and milk on her tongue. If never change the mitten, and bb use the mitten to touch face, face will develop milk rashes as her skin is very sensitive. Well, that is her advice loh....which I find quite realistic.

Evon

I also booked Mdm Rohaya liao... =) Hope can get rid of tummy after giving birth. Thanks for passing me the contact!

I am also a teacher. As what preciousbabe said, teaching really burns you out totally. Money is really not easy to earn. Sometimes gotto stay for 12 hours in school from 7 to 7. And the noise from 40 kids in a class is no joke...can be quite stressful. But then again, depends on how u see it.... I am still sticking to the job cos of the holidays....June + Nov + Dec = 3 months, which is a quarter of a year. Where else to find a job that only requires you to work for 3 quarters of a year? And I plan to bo chap a bit, so will rush home after bell rings if I can to spend the afternoon time with my bb loh...

lemontree,
heehee...u also a teacher ah? very siong hor? I didn't get to enjoy the sch holidays back in my previous school, have to give remedials twice a week during the whole of june holidays, then somemore got CCA...only can really enjoy Dec holidays from the 2nd week onwards...u teaching in pri school?

Evon

u know, sometimes after the 7 to 7, I am not even left with the energy to talk after I reach home. My mum thought what happened. And depends on what kind of Principal and HOD u have, sometimes they can be quite nasty.

Being a full time teacher also doesn't only mean teaching. U also have to be in CCA, and several sub-comms, which require u to plan, implement, etc, after school hours. That explains why the job is sometimes 12 hours. To me, being a full-time teacher = part time teacher + full time admin worker. So it's more or less a job with double roles.

With Dip, can also go teaching, but only Pri Sch, unless your Dip is in Art or Food Nutrition, then can teach Art or Homec at Sec Sch.

Having so much said, if you are still keen, try to think of the holidays. The thought of holidays always comfort me when I feel like quitting.

Preciousbabe

No, I teaching in Sec. Yeah...I know some schools dun get to enjoy the sch hols cos of remedials. Sometimes even have to bring students overseas, which can be worse than bringing a bunch of monkeys. That's why I am telling Evon, have to depend on what kind of sch managament u have loh.... see suay or not suay...

lemontree,
wah...sec school also need to stay from 7-7 ah? I thought only pri school then very siong coz I always see sec school teachers leaving early...but think now all the sch management all sama sama one...all very kiasu and expect u to put in alot of time n effort to carry out the unneccessary programs or policies that they want to implement in schools

lemontree,
wah...sec school also need to stay from 7-7 ah? I thought only pri school then very siong coz I always see sec school teachers leaving early...but think now all the sch management all sama sama one...all very kiasu and expect u to put in alot of time n effort to carry out the unneccessary programs or policies that they want to implement in schools

At least better off my previous job. Was working in IT then.. in a ministry. Very very siong. Though work starts at 8.30am and ends by 6pm n 5.30pm on Fridays.. but still, got so much things to clear that I normally worked till 10.30pm.. sometimes to over midnite.. My hb said i crazy.. worked so hard 4 coy but pay got peanuts too..

Worse in IT was that I was everytime activated becoz I was a network/system and security administrators over weekends and public holidays. Then got to head many projects also...

What really turned me on in my x coy, was ability to travel overseas. It really was an eye opening to be able to fly ard doing support and delegations. (Well, even delegations oso siong, u got to support ppl till every delegators knock off for the day... n most of our ppl really work very late till past 2am! Then next morning, some turned up temporary office by 5am!)

Called me crazy or workoholic... but i really missed those days..

Now so eng in tix contract job that my butts really itch...

If not, for bb Elsy.

Think what makes me like being school teacher was that i enjoy /w children. Don't mention about the parents.. Don't mention abt office politics or the school principals.. But I really seeing and associating with students.

I am not sure lemontree and preciousbabe abt being school teacher since no experience.. but at least I believe the school students dun play office politics... unlike where I was working. Arrows always shooting here and there.. then u got to try to siam ... else got hit..

Hi Hi.....

has typed out a long long post then the stupid internet got cut disconnected! urgggggggggggg

anyway, I'm not going to repeat the typing. the gist is that:

Teaching: Evon, you can try out relief teaching first. It either enhances your beliefs and will to be one or changes your mind. But a word of caution, at this stage you still not exposed to full duties, so can still paint rosy picture.

Shop in Buigs:
Must ASK. Lady very quiet and answer upon question only.

They have 3 brands i think. The smoother material (Everest and another brand) is T_shirt material - mixed polyester and cotton. Preciousbabe bought one of this. I bought -the Rabbit, is pure cotton. Now, I remember the lady says Rabbit will shrink a bit after washing.

Evon, not me comment no receipt to change lah....you blur blur again liao. It's preciousbabe. Anyway, can change.

And mittens/booties all free size, only cutting different.

Hunnipot, what list you give Evon? Can see see?

So far, I only bought the mittens/booties (1 packet), 6 ss ribbon shirts.

hmm...still quite a long post....:p

Cheona.. teach u next time.. type it in Ms word first.. then paste it into the post.. tix year u won't get ur message lost. =p

Ya... me blur again.. As usual.. =) Heehee..

Can go relief meh? How to apply? Still muz ve certain trainings, rite? My sis used to do it.. but she was intro by her teacher-friend in to stand in for her one... something like that.

Preciousbabe, jasminetea, butter88 n bblim,

Regards to Post Natal Massage by Aunty Aini, i've just checked with her this morning..as she came to massage me just now..

i tried to nego $40/ session = 2hrs
but sad to say... failed to....she charges $60/session = 1.5hrs even thought i told her total of 5 of us....

Just to share...if anyone of you keen, please try to nego with her on her price as i understand that she charges different people with different rates...

Was actually quite disappointed with her that she refuse to nego..

I'll be trying out other malay massage lady in the meantime..

anyway if anyone of you still interested to engage her, i can pm you her contact..

Preciousbabe,

I hate to cook and find it very stressful to cook too. Maybe becos i got "jie pi" (like cleanliness).
But if I am not working, I think i'll try to pick up some cooking too.

Evon,
I also thought of teaching. I sick of corporate world liao.. i prefer to teach Pri sch though. Sec sch pupils got too much BGR problems liao

Evon,
go to MOE and apply. they have the application form, will need your O levels and A levels and/or tertiary certs. They will put your application into the system. School will find your name from the list if they nedd relief teachers and contact you. Otherwise, you can also after application to MOE, go to the schools in your neighbourhood and ask the principal if they need a relief teacher. Chances are if you go to the school direct, response is faster and you will relief at a particular school instead of hopping around.

slow cooker:
bitter "god" + ikan "bili" or pork rib + tomato + red dates = bitter "god" soup.

white "carrot" + tomato + onions + ikan "bili" or pork rib + carrot = white "carrot" soup.

I know a few soup receipe using slow cooker. However, I dun like to leave them overnight. I scare it will catch fire in the middle of the night.

I am going to make chocolate chip cookie now. Yummy!

Hi Maraquan, got my cookie???

Cheona, thx.. noted.. will try.

smurfy, even pri. school kids got BGR prob leh.. those children that i helped in remedial lessons always like to find me to talk... tell me all sort of probs.. including bgr.. very funny n enjoyable times.. primary school kids still > native as compared to sec. school kids.. but as they grow older, they become > bolder n dare to argue /w teachers or quarrel /w them; even though it is their wrong. Sigh. But I guess the thing is i want to noe why they are like tat n try to understand from their point of views.=p

Maraquan,
your recipe a bit funny.
When I cook bitter gourd or radish soup, I don't add tomatoes or onions.

I usually cook this way:
Bitter Gourd soup base: can use ikan bilis or pork ribs, dried osyter (oh kua) - optional, dried scallops - optional. (if add dried osyter then don't add scallops), ginger slices

Radish soup base: ikan bilis + dried oyster(optional)+ carrot *If got carrots, don't add red dates.

or pork ribs + red dates (no carrot), dried cuttlefish + ginger slices

Ginger slices to rid the wind (qu feng) of radish and bittergourd. Not too much otherwise the ginger taste too overpowering. And note that if I add carrots with radish I don't add ginger, cos carrots is 'warm'

Evon,

I feel that those BGR problems are beyong the teachers' help. They just want someone to listen to them. Last time I used to tutor my cousin who was in Pri 5. Sometimes she will talk about BGR but I'll listen and pull her concentration back to the subjects. I prefer to focus on the academic results. Maybe becos I am a very result-focus person.

Evon

u can try being relief, but u still wun get the full pic cos relief got lesser duties and responsibilities. But then again, u can still try.

Nowadays BGR not the only problems. Still got homosexual problems and other complicated disciplinary problems. If happen to your students, then u have one more additional role ; police. cos u have to interrogate, sometimes also to solve conflicts and solve cases. If never handle case properly, parents will come n complain, threaten to tell Principal (but normally we not scared) or MOE.

If teach in neighbourhood schools, sometimes also have to deal with students' violence...like who beat who first, beat over what....Worse cases include arson.

Think Primary school easier, except for the noise level...Always thought teachers will have shorter lifespan...

lemontree

Haha! I also got married this June only
Think I got my baby 1 week after my wedding
Unexpected but happy.. and when I told pple that Im preggie.. some of them started counting the date.. see whether I conceived b4 our wedding or not.. super kaypo!

Re: MIM Sling again

Got my MIM sling finally! Got it from the robinsons 15% sale.. not too bad.. most of the departmental stores like OG have sale but MIM Slings are NETT price items.. so for those of you wanting to get the sling.. do get it quick from robinsons

Re: My bb girl

My bb girl now weighs 700g at 25th week.. and I put on 6 kg over the past 1 month! Gosh.. dont know what I have been stuffing myself with..

Evon

Honestly speaking.. I think that I have been extremely kiasu.. so dont use my list as a gauge.. I have all the time in the world now.. so I went round shopping and piling up more and more bb things..

cheona

I send the list to you? Need your email though.. It is my own list of things that I have gotten for myself.. and the prices included..

hunniepot

Wah! 6 kg in 1 month? yr gynae never say anything? My gynae made noise when I just put on 3.5 kg. She said by right shd be 0.5 kg per week. She said at my rate, I will be 70 kg by the time I give birth. I am trying to watch my diet, but I feel hungry so easily.....

Think there will always be kpo ppl counting our dates, given tht we conceived so soon after preg....very potent hor...haha...

Re: MIM sling

so which material did u buy? need robinsons card to get the 15%? cos i just cancelled mine. I am goin there later after meeting my friends.

Any of your gynae never scan during your visit? my gynae just asked if my bb is kicking normally and let me listen to her heartbeat, never scan leh....feel so cheated after enrolling in the package.

Showed my MIL the stuff I bought at the Bugis shop, she says enough already. Duh! I only got 6 shirts leh..... and no pants wahtsoever......

But she says the size is ok although it does look wide and big. haha....when she first see, she goes "baby just born where got so fat!" Then I show her after wrap tighter, she say "ya....more like baby"

In fact, am thinking of bringing the nappies to exchange for bigger size clothes or pants cos she said she got some used nappies in her cupboard and may be able to get more from my SIL. She say 1 dozen is already enough. (I have bought 2 dozen).

She actually finds nappies very wash troublesome and prefers disposables.

Hunnipot,
I pm you liao. Wah....super leh, 6kg! I put on 2.5 kg this past 3 weeks and already think a bit too much.

I'm back from my baking!! haahaa...my first attemp tdy to bake cheesecake and to make tiramisu. Hope both will turn out ok so that I can bring to my mini X'mas celebration tmr

Evon,
U won't get a taste of teaching from relief teaching. I suggest u go to mOE website and then apply to be a contract teacher. Coz as a contract teacher, u will get the full teaching load + CCA, and if u really like the job then u can apply to go into NIE.

Chenoa,
heehee...I cook soup same as u. Will put in either dried scallops or oyster as these will make the soup sweeter

hmm...dat day when u called me, I thought u r not a chinese leh but the way u cook tells me otherwise.

Rach,
$60 per 1.5h ah...still consider expensive hor? Mayb that's the special rate that she's giving u coz u r her regular customer. wah, if like that, then she will charge us higher than $60? Anyway, u sms me her number can? I'll check wat price she's going to quote me. Thanks

hunniepot,
wow...Amanda is 700g liao, quite big hor? Up till now, I still don't know Jayden's weight. All my gynae told me is that he's normal. Btw, I put on 3kg within 1 week, worse than u right? hahaa....

lemontree

Indeed! Both ourselves and our hubbies are very potent

My gynae didnt say much leh.. just ask whether I got family history of diabetes.. just that his nurse was very worried when I told her my weight.. and she kept telling me to control what I eat.. but I am really so hungry all the time.. maybe I put on so much also cos I ate like crazy yesterday (Dong Zi mah).. practically ate from morning till night.. felt so disgusted with myself yesterday..

Re: MIM Sling

No need Robinsons card.. it is open to all shoppers but I think the sale ends 26th Dec if I remember correctly.. but if you wanna get it.. shld get it soon! Got the cotton one.. cos they only have the cotton series

My gynae always scans during my visit leh.. without fail even after I sign up for the package..

No shorts then wear what??? What about diaper cover?? My MIL dun like the idea to use safety pins on her grandchildren.. my hb too ... scared later pierce bb skin accidentally.. So I am wondering as well how many diaper covers should I ve..

And how many waterproof ones n how many normal ones.. (Waterproof ones ard $9 b4 discount; normal ones $4+).

Then mom was saying... no nd 2 place bb whole day in aircon.. so wear shorts.. but i realize she doesn't 've any gai gai shorts at all... Buy dress?? Think wait 4 ppl 2 give... dunno can wait or not.. =p

Okay.. go home time... yupppy..........

<font color="BLUE">MERRY XMAS, ALL OF YOU!</font>

preciousbabe

Yeah! I tot thats quite big.. but my gynae said thats within the normal weight range for her? Duh.. Kept thinking that my bb will be a 'xiao(3) ju(4) ren(3)' cos both me and my hubby are very tall..

Hey do you use raw eggs for making tiramisu? I added kahlua and raw eggs so I have never eaten the tiramisu that I have made so far.. think both ingredients are not good for bb

We've got to control leh! I was walking ard orchard just now.. and was searching for something to eat.. but decided to wait till lunch time.. wonder how long my new-found perseverence will last me till? ;)

Cheona

Will send to you later!

hunniepot,
ya, I used raw eggs. anyway, wat's kahlua?

I'm still eating as per normal leh. Didn't increase in appetite nor number of meals. So I don't know why I'm growing heavier every week leh

preciousbabe

It is coffee liquer.. if you mix it with fresh milk.. it tastes very much like baileys.. my cousin (who is a nutritionist at NUH) told me not to take raw stuffs and that includes raw eggs..

hunniepot,
oh, I didn't use that. I used hennesy instead. I still eat raw stuff leh but not too much lor. Think it's ok to just take it in moderation

Preciousbabe,
when did I call you????? you confuse me with another person liao.

Evon,
no shorts or diaper covers. At home just wear the nappies, don't need shorts. If scared baby cold, can put on long pants or just cover with blanket. I will still get some long pants, just haven't buy yet.

Safety pins is ok lah. The pins not so easy "accidental". I used to pin my sis's diapers leh....I was 7 years old when she was born. We big age gap. hehehehe

There's a bulk purchase thread on Ameda (Lactaline) dual pump. Anyone interested?

chenoa,
REally ah? I confuse u with another person ah? Thought u were the one who called me to ask abt the beansprout husk pillow...Anyway, I got my recipe from the kraft website. You can download from there too. www.kraft.com.au

chenoa,
haahaa...I really blur liao. Read thru the previous thread and realise that the person who called me was monchie. Paiseh for the mixed up hor..

Evon

Hmm.. if you intend to use cloth nappies at home but do not wish to use pins.. then you got to use the diaper pants.. but think that it can be quite hot for Elsy if you let her wear cloth nappies and diapers pants at home all the time?

Alternatively you may consider using fitted cloth diapers? You can get terry cloth fitted diapers from Metro or OG.. but not sure if it is going to be as absorbant as the traditional cloth nappies

Hi preciousbabe,

I got recipes for Chinese New Year Cookies like Love Letters, Pineapple Tarts etc. Also have compilation of other recipes as well. Interested, I can email you.

preciousbabe,

You've got mail.
Just realised that I've deleted the recipes for Pineapple Tarts &amp; Love Letters, but will share them here in this thread tomorrow. Keep a lookout for it!

kim,
I've received your email n I think u and winnie must have common frens. Coz the recipe that u emailed to me is exactly the same as wat she emailed to me...heehee...thanks anyway. Appreciate your effort to email to me