(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Hi terrier, 4 me... we tot of washing every 5~6 pieces... in case it rains, we will bring over to my gf's place 2 borrow her dryer since i no dryer @ home.
N worse scenario's 2 let bb wear diapers till dry... =)

Hi Evon,

I'm in the same situation as you..hb doesn't allow me to drive ever since found out that i'm pregnant...sometimes i wonder he's worried about me or his son inside??
349304.gif

We paid $450 for our stroller, was $600+ before the discount. It's really easy to close ( no ned to bend down to close, some stroller you have to bend n fold etc) and can stand on it's own ( dat's wat i like cos some have to lean against the wall...)it's also easy to open up the stroller..regard to weight, it's about 8kg, as told by the sales person.. you can check out the stroller i bought from the website : www.pegperego.com

i dun quite understand the car seats you're toking about. i understand that there are 2 types of car seat, 1 is for infant up to 1 yr , the other type is child car seat for 0-4 yrs. that's wat i see frm bb hypermart. i agree that the infant cos about $250+..therefore i'm undecisive whether to get the infant or child car seat on sun so i'll be getting it later..i'm not sure which is a better buy..

i feel the difference of the 2 car seat..infant car seat more cushion compared to the child car seat.. infant car seat can be fully incline but the child care seat cannot..

Some car seats are convertible from infant (rerar facing) position to toddler (front facing) position. I believe that's what Evon refers to.

Hi Chenoa,

oh..now i understand...thanks...yar i know some car seat are convertible from rear facing for infant to front facing for toddler..

so haven't really decide which type to get..

any comments??

Rach, yi... me a bit poor in explanation.. the 2 car seats we saw has super good cushion for infants.

As u noe, for infant, the car seat muz b placed /w bb facing the back of the car n not in front. So, what happened is tix car seat, can remove cushion, the headrest blah blah.. n then turn the car seat ard to face the driver seat 4 a child above 1 year old.

These two car seats re not handheld type.. meaning u can't carry in n out of car n carry like a basket.

Can't remember the model... but will try to shoot some photos to show if can..else juz note the model n brand down. =p

cheona.. me a bit the poor after buying the big items.. so b getting those frm the wholesale shop one.. auntie there told me the goldfish one (a dozen - $11) used 2 good but heard comments tat doesn't last.. so she recommended me to juz get $8 one will do. =p

She helps me save $ la.. =p

Rach.. the stroller u buy's which model? 8kg seems heavy.. but seem oso >stable. =)

Hmmm.... let me think.. the combi one tat can see bb one when pushing costs ard $500+ oso...

Ahhhh.... I not even buy bb cot yet.... Ahhhhh...

Hi Evon,

You staying in the east?? You also SAHMTB??

I guess i understand what you're toking about now..the car seat you are referring to is $200+?

The one we saw for the infant car seat is $250+ but it's handheld type and can fit into stroller..if left on floor, it can cradle..but can only use up to abt 1yr old nia...so i feel abit not worth paying leh..but if bb fall asleep in the car then dun have to wake bb up, in case bb cries.. so very "miao dun" leh..

Evon,

the stroller i bought is the Peg Perego P3 Completo..but this stroller cannot see bb when pushing leh..unless you buy the infant car seat n put in then can see bb...the infant car seat is ard $250 lor..still comtempleting whether to buy that or not..can only last till around 1 yr old nia leh..btw, this stroller can withstand up to 50kg, so when mummy's tired, can ask daddy to push mummy instead!! whahaha..

I am back for my holiday. Looks like I have missed out a lot. How's everyone? Went for my check-up at TMC today and grabbed the Avent Body Indulgence Cream for $17.50 only. Usual Price at $24.40. Quite a good buy!

I have been to the Kaki Bukit shops but don't find the things there very cheap leh...U ppl so fast shop for car seat and stroller liao....I still looking for baby cot... will be going to upper cross street to see tomorrow.

Any of you have faster heartbeat? Mine beats 88 per minute when I am relaxing on sofa. Feels so breathless easily now. My gynae said if condition never improve, must see cardiologist. SHe also said I put on too much weight since last month. I put on 3.5 kg =(

Evon,
me haven't buy anything for baby also. so far, only walk walk see see. I saw that daffy bid for a 2nd hand cot at yahoo. It's not bad.

I was referring to disposable diapers brand, not the cloth nappies. You blur liao. kekeke

Evon

Can u sms me Mdm Rohaya's no. for post-natal massage? My hp is 98385800. Tks!

Hunniepot

Can help me ask you SIL which GDL shop she bought the chinese name book?

Sponge,

I dun plan to give away my dog...though I still dunno how I am going to solve some problems, such as walking him. Dogs also have feelings one....each time he looks at me, I feel guilty for harbouring thoughts of giving him away. So now, I have aborted those thoughts.

Re: Chinese character book

lemontree

My SIL can't really remember which shop she got the chinese character book from.. think best bet are those GDL shops in chinatown.. like where Evon intends to get hers..

Re: Increased heartbeat

I have been experiencing faster heartbeat and breathlessness even during the first month I got pregnant.. went to have ECG done and went to see a cardiologist.. the doctor mentioned its very normal for pregnant woman to experience increased heartbeat and breathlessness.. and just gave me a 1 year open appt to see him thats all.. sometimes my resting heartbeat can go beyond 100+..

Re: Avent Indulgence Body Cream

That's cheap! Got mine at $18.70 after 20% discount.. find that it really helps to relieve tight tummy feeling..

Re: Cloth Diapers

cheona

I haven't started washing my bb stuffs yet.. but will let you know when I start doing so.. My mum told me to use those netted laundry bags to wash cloth diapers to prevent them from fraying.. guess it should help in this way?

Re: Hooded towels

Guess the hood of the receiving blanket is for the purpose to keeping bb's head warm.. an alt to using a separate bb hat.. and it looks more presentable when bringing bb out as compared to a normal towel

terrier

Yeah.. think I shld put that on hold.. if really got alot of milk.. then use milk bottle first

Evon

Actually dryer helps to save alot of time.. and the clothes end up smelling fresher too.. we use it about twice a week for 2 persons (we wash alot of clothes).. but the cost of electricity can be quite high if you use very often..

hey,

I bought my first baby item - the Pigeon Rapid Steriliser. Learnt from other threads that this steriliser is very versatile and now promo price $87 (available at all major dept stores).

I also did my own test on the bottles and teat fitting for NUK Prenium, Avent and Pigeon Persataltic. All are the wide neck type.

I find that the teats for these three brands are all compatible with the rings of each bottle, that is can use the bottles and teats interchangeably.

Hmm......maybe someone can further verify or correct me if I'm wrong.

I guess when baby is born, no harm trying out the different brand teats on whatever bottles. See which one your baby like.

I find the Pigeon teat quite flexible and soft - my fav. while the NUK latex one (the recommended by TMC for NB) got a rubber smell which I'm not sure if baby will like. Avent one is stiff.

How do you ladies find the GlenE conditions? Went for a tour the other time.. and find the rooms pretty old and cramped looking.. but no choice.. got to deliver there..

Good morning Ladies

Evon, I checked the size of my changing mat is 60cm x 90cm. Quite big and long actually. Hey, thanks for sharing the info on Gleneagles.
Besides, do you know if we have to book our room at hospital soon?

Hunniepot, thanks for sharing the info on diposable changing mat. Will keep a lookout for it.

Preciousbabe, ya lor. I took half day to bring my parents out for Dim Sum, then went shopping. haaa.. but yesterday were all shopping for my own stuff. Didn't buy any bb's stuff heeee...

Winnie, glad tt u had booked your antenatal class.

Cheona, I'm attending the Jan 06 weekends class at Mt A.

Cheers~

<font color="blue">Jasminetea </font>, not now.. according to Lisa's clinic; the nursie'll prebook 4 us during deposit of gynae's delivery charges. She mentioned that tix's our pre-book n doesn't mean cfm one.. When we admit into delivery, we need to do another round of paperwork 4 those payment of hospital charges.

I calculated mine... if nothing goes wrong n if bb Elsy cooperates /w me n if my body can take it, a normal delivery w/o Epidural(/w hospital charges, prenatal gynae checkup bill, gynae delivery charges, the hospital stay n bb hospital bill) will cost me approx. 2.5k even /w Medisave deductions.

Thanks on the mat info... I will go check out 2morrow.. Me was hesitating to get the bigger one or smaller one.

<font color="blue">Hunniepot </font>, me not went.. Me didn't choose GlenE one.. but Dr Lisa only performed at the hospital so got to stick 2 that...

Think hospital wise, heard my gf mentioned her gf was recently delivered there n found the place slightly better than last.. So wonder when did u go 4 tour? = )

Actually been to Thomson Medical's ward b4 2 c two colleagues' wives.. think was so-so. We actually love to deliver our bb at MountA one.. but dunno which good gynae delivers there so bo bian. =(

So, u still intend 2 use dryer 4 bb clothes? My mil disapproved us 2 get one as she felt the sunlight on clothes make the clothes smell nicer n cleaner... so got to listen lor.. any case, my kitchen is oso very very very small. From the stove, walk 2 steps n u reach the sink. From the main entrance of the kitchen, walk 6 steps, u reach the windows... See ..... very small huh??

<font color="blue">Cheona </font>, paiseh.. i got "lost" in my work... n gong gong already yesterday. =p

Disposables huh?? Dunno leh. Thinking of trying pet pet n pampers 4 a start.

Wow... thanks for sharing on the teats.. I m now pondering to buy both Silicon and latex teats as not sure Elsy prefers which one... but b trying the silicon ones so that she can get used to it... unless she makes a fuss.. = p

<font color="blue">Rach </font>, me stays in Sengkang n no lesiurely 2b a SAHMTB. =(

Think after some discussion yesterday /w hb, think we may hold back on the car seat till after bb birth unless that particular model's price having great discounts. = )

But definitely going out 2 get bb cot by tix month as well.. but he wants me to check /w geomancer 2 see when can move the cot into the room n assemble it as well. =p

<font color="blue">Lemontree </font>, which part of Upper Cross Street're u refering to?? Me interested to go.. =p

With regards to heartbeat, think mine seem fast.. but blood pressure all normal leh.. nurse told me i m fine. Did ur gynae tell u the range tat is considered fast?? Or normal?? =)

3.5kg since when?? Me already put on 8+kg in first weekend of Dec since pregnancy... =(

Will forward 2 u Mdm Rohaya's number shortly. = )

349415.png

Evon

I went on the tour last month only.. but maybe my expectations is too high... but anyway say if you would like a tour of the hospital wards, you may contact Belinda Yap at 98170081. She is the corporate marketing manager and will be most happy to bring you ard to view the delivery rooms, wards and nursery.. then you can bombard her any qns you may have on the package..

Yeah.. definately use dryer on bb stuffs! Heh.. cant live without dryer actually.. very convenient
find that dryer is better cos if there isn't much sunshine, the clothes will tend to smell after awhile.. my hubby was quite resistent to it.. thinking sunshine is better but after trying out dryer.. he now says otherwise.. think for alot of pple.. they actually latch the dryer on top of the washing machine.. so save space..

Jasminetea

As what I learnt.. we can do our preadmission into the hospital when we are roughly ard 32 weeks.. no need to go down personally.. say when we see our gynae ard that time.. so pop down to the lobby and register yourself.. but best to get the details from Belinda.. cos I cant remember alot of things liao

Morning all

wow, alot of discussions going on abt strollers, car seats and cloth nappies.

heehee...and I can't contribute to any of the topics coz I don't have a car. I also don't intend to get a stroller coz advice from my cousin is that I won't need that until Jayden knows how to walk or run about.
My cousin told me that I can carry Jayden around when going shopping before 1 yr old as bb is still light. She also just bought her stroller last week so there's hurry to get that

As for cloth nappies, I should be letting Jayden wear diapers throughout as it's really troublesome to wear cloth nappies coz from my fren's experience, 1 day she used 2 dozen. I've decided to let Jayden to wear mammypoko as it is highly recommended by my cousin and my fren. Put on the whole day also no nappie rash

Hunniepot,

Which brand of dryer are you using? I have been wanting to get one but couldn't decide on which one to get. Due to lack of space, I quite like the slim one by Thomson but its $800+. Not really worth the price. i cannot stack the dryer on top of my current machine becos the cabinets are blocking.

By the way, heard some poor comments about the nurses at Glen E. Since you have no choice, i think you better don't hear too much..

smurfy

Im using electrolux.. my mum has been using this brand for years already.. no complains so far.. but remember you must place the dryer near the windows.. cos youve got to put the pipe out to let the hot air and lint move out of the kitchen..

Geez.. no choice lar.. hopefully I will end up getting the nicer nurses?

Hi Evon and Hunniepot, thanks for the info on preadmission.
As for the bad comments about nurses at Gleneagles, I had heard also but I had also heard of wonderful comments as well. So keep our finger crossed we will get the good ones.

Jasminetea

No prob

Evon

Come to think of it.. you seem to be a very good DIL.. as you listen to your MIL about the dryer thingie.. my MIL advised us against getting microwave oven and dryer.. saying its no good.. the conventional way is better.. but the truth is that the older folks have not even tried it out themselves.. how do they know? Anyway I went ahead to buy those.. and she even asked to borrow the use of my dryer when my SIL and my nieces came down for a visit from taiwan ;)

<font color="blue">Smurfy </font>, before u get the dryer.. remember to check if can mount onto the wall. The last I spoke /w tix sales guy at Harvey @ Millenia Walk.. he told me tat only European approved models are recommended to mount onto the wall in our HDB flats. He does not recommend those without certification Japanese or Korean ones; also he told us (MIL, myself n hb) that mainly Thosmon and Electroux are the certified ones. The cheapest was ard $450 but only dry up to 5kg of clothes at one time.

<font color="blue">Hunniepot </font>, why got good DIL? I always complained to my hb tat his mom seems not happy /w me or hardly smile one.. except recently ... one of her daughters invited c feng sui si home n commented on me in photo n then she kind of seem happier... (dunno why ppl chooses to believe fate in these ppl!!!???)

Better 2 let hb take care so i ZAP my mouth all times.. unless MIL talks 2 me lor. Praise the Lord tat I am considering lucky already as compared to another Mother in the thread whose MIL was really nasty.

Anyway, found ur MIL like mine.. kou si xin fei... haahaaa... mouth say tix, but mind dun think tat way.. heeheeee

<font color="blue">Jasminetea </font>, me cross fingers too.. very scared tat the nurses b impatient when we are in shitty pain.... my mom was gonna scolded at KKH when she was delivering my sister 20years ago... nurse scolded her 4 not pushing... Hope also, I won't b exhibit during delivery for those new docs.... else I stress.

Evon

Haha.. yeah man.. once I realised that my MIL is like that.. so whatever she says.. goes in thru one ear and out thru the other.. yeah lar.. quite true.. I also thank God that my MIL is considered pretty ok as compared to those nasty ones I read about in other threads..

Gee.. if the nurses are going to be that shitty.. think my hubby will definately give them a piece of his mind!

I bought mamypoko NB (52s) diapers from NTUC at $17.50 (usual price $19.80). Preciousbabe, you may like to buy a packet to standby. NTUC Babyfair till 28/12. Will get another pack of Pampers Prenium (36s) when offer. NTUC selling at $15.40 (no discount). For Nepia, NTUC only got L and XL sizes, anyone interested has to look somewhere else.

Evon

The upper cross st shop is called cheung chun store. If u are driving, park at the red star dim sum car park then walk there. The add is Blk 34 #03-132. They open after 1.30pm on wkdays and 12.30pm on wkends.

lemontree, me can't pm u the number.. u nd 2 turn on ur setting in ur profile. =p

Thx 4 info.. probably drop by next week /w my mom 2 c.

Now am in fix... dunno wat to do... sign.... Called a few CL intro by my fren all been booked only those intro by the CL but heard bad remark on this. As we dunno how they work. Dunno if to take the risk anot.... my dad who is taking care of my elder 1 cant handle my 2nd one if let the elder go child care. Had to look for infant care cantre but so expensive near 1k n none in my parent area.

chenoa,
I just came back from NTUC. Saw the mammypoko diapers promotion too. But hubby says it's too early to buy. He says NTUC always have promotion for diapers so wait till March then start to stock up

icelim, me also haven't found my CL yet. In fact, only decided to get one a few days ago after MIL prompted my hubby to get one 'cos we stay with them, and dunno what they have in mind. I also worry cannot find a good one at short notice.

Hi Ice, maybe you can consider calling agents for CL recommendation. Although they charge some agent's fees but it is better than to take recommendation from the CL themselves as they will just recommend any friends or relatives who might not even hv experience. A lot of good CLs are possibly already taken up for April 2006 already as most booking are already made from Aug onwards. I myself also took a while before I finally got one in early Oct and it was also by luck. If I call her one min later, that CL will also be booked by someone else.

Infant care are expensive, maybe you can consider nanny instead? My friends and I have weighed the pros and cons on infant care and decided that it is better to have nanny 'cos more personal and definitely cheaper also.

Hi Lemontree,
I tot of buying but dunno which materials to choose cos got silky type 1 the other 1 is cotton type i think so quite confusing leh! Do doing some survey b4 buying leh!

Hi Icelim,
How old is ur elder 1? i agree wif jasmine nanny is better den infant care is certain ways lah!

Those who r considering to buy a dryer or intending to change ur washing machine might 1 to consider the "National" brand which is a washer cum dryer so very suitable for ppl wif space constraint!

<font color="blue">Ice</font>, not to worry.

I've read some mommies ve rather good comments from some agencies especially since they allow free one-to-one exchange of CL if u find the 1st not good.

Ice, some moms intro me tix two ladies.. u may want 2 c their availabilities..
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/332071.html?1131604155

I ask my hb 2 ask his colleague's wife on the CL contact they hired last time.

Not sure how good they re though... as I was then waiting reply frm my cousin's x CL.

Try 2 relax.. okay?? Trust that some good CL will come along 2 help u eventually. = )

For ur 1st child, I ve a different view frm Jasminetea n Winnie.. I prefer the child 2 grow up being > sociable n ask questions (not 2b like me n hb blur blur one..) So I believe look'g 4 good childcare centre.. the only thing is to convince my MIL again.. (She insisted to look after despite of her age n health.)

Hb was saying tat ve to weigh the overall cost in long run.. if placing in childcare centre too much n yet I worry abt finding bb-sitter..may consider me to b SAHMTB once he finds a job that can keep both me n Elsy n the OPC w/o compromise the allowance 2 give his parents n my mom.

U tot of being a SAHM? (Seem to me that u working .. rite?)

BTW, u rite on the nappy pants.. MIL got one 4 me.. enuf or not??

What's the liner 4?? Dun remember seeing my mom using when she was bb sitter in the past.

<font color="blue">Winnie</font>, not juz National brand.. got some eurpoean brand oso got dual functions. Of course, when combine both features got to give n take on some things.. E.g. Washing at 7kg but drying at 5kg only.. I was tempted to get that during harvey norman shopping /w my MIL n hb.. my MIL said washing machine 2 good leh.. give away to charity a bit waste n furthermore is a gift frm my mom during we move in. =(

Hunniepot/Evon,

Thanks for your advise on the dryer. Think i'll look out for thomson and electrolux then. I don't intend to mount up the wall but it will be better to get one that is certified.

As for the hospital thingy, just think in the way that you will be staying for only 2 days there, so it doesn't really matter much on the service ya..

Now the CLs are so irresponsible. Just heard from my sis that her friend change 5 CLs during the whole process. Another colleague who is doing her confinement now is getting very depressed by her CL becos she doesn't take care of her bb at night and complains that her bb very difficult to take care.. where got such thing... hopefully my CL don't dua me..

smurfy, mayb > 2 days leh??? If C section??

Rite?

Anyway, read some threads on some moms having bad experience in some hospitals.. pray n cross fingers that hb b with me throughout then if i in pain n need water or need do anything, somebody can help 2 get nursie.. =p

Smurfy, i agree /w u on the bad CL. Tix ppl re really getting a bit too much.. that's y MIL and my mom also worry...

Evon,
True oso lah if dual function got to giv &amp; take for certain function lah!

Smufy,
How can ur friends CL complain abt the BB difficult to handle tot it's supposed to be their job &amp; their suppoed to be very experience &amp; good at it wat!

Evon,

Choy.. lets pray hard that we won't need c-section..

Regarding CL, to play safe, think we better re-confirm again 2 months before due.

What happen is that my sis's friend called her CL to reconfirm few months before and her CL actually said that she not free but will ask her friend. Then my sis's friend very angry, saying that she want her, not her friend.

Winnie,

Precisely!!! thats why my colleague got very upset.. and her CL slept earlier than her but didn't bother to get up in the mid of night to change the bb.. very terrible..

I agreed /w smurfy on confirmation /w CL again. That CL my mom got actually wanted to intro her friend oso... my mom told her off.. she intro her friend for what since my cousin only used her b4 n not her friend!

Dunno if tix is how the Malaysians CLs bringing in their friends to gain experience or what.. but even if so, they should ensure that their friend've proper training like them. Else, not juz their friend's reputation being screwed but their own as well since they recommended one.

Evon,

I think they earn commission for introducing their friend. Anyway, they are booked for that period, so they think might as well recommend their friend.

Wow the way u all comment on the CL really make me worry leh.... But it true lor good one are booked early left the not so popular ones. Malayisan CL really make big money from singaporeans so they tot can chop us. As we are left with no choice.

Nappy Liner is to protect the cloth nappy from stain of bb poos and keep bb bottom dry. As u can imagine bb poos stain on the cloth nappy how to wash. A bit "er xin" leh.... although they are consider "clean" poos with only milk intake.

Nappy pant 1 is not enough, it will gets wet if we forgot to change the nappy that frequent and oso need to wash.

My gal now jus 2 yr old this mth. I had heard some bad experience from nanny. i myself i come across when i send my elder to a nanny pl. as my gal in bb time dun really like to drink milk and make a fuss when drinking milk. Sometime can go without any milk intake for whole day got to spoon feed her. But send to nanny she say my gal drink milk every times which make me ?????

Hi ice... a pity my mom dun do alrady... else can recommend.. (depending on where u stay). =p

She will love to look after mine.. but u c, tix bb Elsy'll b my MIL's first grandchild.. .so priority is .... =p

Tot nappy pant only wear when going out.. my mom normally put nappy then a shorts on for the bbs. Anyway, noted..

Wow... the nappy liner got come in pks .. n how many??

My mom oso reminds me muz remember 2 buy cotton buds .. use 2 clean bb's buttocks.. =p

Dun worry too muz on CL.. got good n bad ones la.. sometimes, last minute some good CL may even ve no assignment becoz last minute the MTB found some family members to take care. =)