(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Evon

Re: Nappy Liners & Nappy Pants

I got the tollyjoy nappy liners 200 pieces for $11.90. Now got promotion so can buy

I have already stocked up 6 nappy pants so far.. think it is more than enough..

Re: Childcare vs Nanny

I agree with Evon regarding sending our kids to childcare instead of having a nanny.. I have 1 niece and nephew being looked after by a nanny (this nanny dotes on them alot and they are very pampered and not so outgoing and generous as my other nephew who has been going to childcare.. he is much more outgoing, disciplined, generous and sociable)

Re: MIM Sling

I also intend to get the MIM sling.. will be getting either the sateen or the silk fabric one.. seems more cooling for bb than the cotton one

Hi Mommies.
I'm new here.
I read some pregnancy books and they said that the nurse will give us enema to clear our bowels before giving birth. Is this true and the procedure is it painful?

Re: Nanny
My auntie is a full time nanny. I actually wanted to let her take care of my bb (before I decided to be a SAHM) but she stays too far away from me. She stays in Bt Panjang whereas me in Dover, furthermore I have no car so troublesome to bring to her place. If anyone of u stays near that area and want to engage a nanny, can let me know and I will let u have my auntie's contact

heehee...but my auntie very cute one, she only takes care of bb girls coz she doesn't have a daughter n she likes girls very much

Hi Belinda,

kao_welcome.gif
Do let us know your EDD, name of gynae, hospital you will be delivering at and as well as your bb's gender so that Jasminetea can update the records..

Hello

Evon, I was actually comparing infant care (below 18 mths) and nanny. If for childcare (above 18 mths), I also prefer childcare also 'cos can allow my kid to mix around and also learn more things as compared to put her with a nanny.

But for infant care, it is too expensive lor. At least $1k. That is why as compared I prefer a nanny for baby. When she reached about 3 yrs old, I will put her in childcare

Gals, just want to share my experience with you. I engaged VANI 90211447 as my massage lady and I regreted it. If you engaged massage lady please ensure shes reliablity and she cm on the day she promised. After I make payment she used 2 months to finish the course instead of 7 days. Oil and medicine which is included in the package are not delivered. I feel so CHEATED. I just know she stay at Blk 435, Yishun Avenue 6. If you have friends looking for massage lady, please ask them becareful. I just read the thread and noticed someone also kena like me.

Good morning Ladies,

Maraquan, this is my current plan with my SIL. If my SIL finds that it is too tiring to take care of my girl, I might have to put her up with childcare earlier also.

wah, so busy clearing my work b4 i leave for holidays and already so much posting.

Terrier: Sorry for the late reply. Initially thought maybe can go Shanghai buy cheaper bb stuff but hb said better buy in Singapore - dun 1 2 take chances at China products. hee! Anyway, will still shop and see anything cheap and good to buy.

Winnie

Heard the silk MIM sling will stick to the baby's skin once baby perspires. I also heard some very hot. Yesterday I went to touch-feel one cotton one, really felt like new school uniform. So still dunno whether to buy anot leh...But there are also comments that some babies will fall asleep inside very easily cos it's comfy....it is also more convenient for us to bring baby out when breastfeeding.

Irene,

Which material did u buy? How do you find it?

Re: Diapers

Cold storage selling Pampers (NB) for $14.95. bot 2 pks. I was thinking of using it only at nite, otherwise very siong on the finances. One pack of 36 think can only last for one week. so ex...$0.41 for one pc...in daytime use nappies, but heard that NBs poo alot, also scared very hard to wash leh...

Re: Confinement ladies

My cousin just told me some horror stories about her CL. She put on nail polish and is those chipping off kind and the milk bottles were not sterilized properly cos she found a pc of black chicken skin inside the bottle. The milk was also too hot for the baby. She also insisted on not carrying the baby when baby was crying cos she said that baby will be spoilt and pampered. At nite, she slept with BB with windows only slightly open, with no fan no air-con cos she scared of cold. But poor BB wearing long sleeve and long pants, with the cord binding his hands. So he cried and cried, but CL ignored him. My cousin was praying so hard for her one month confinement to be over so the CL will leave. So horrible rite....

Re: Sales for members at Isetan

Next Thurs got Isetan (Scotts) sale, selling the Medela Pump for only $49.90. u ppl may wan to chk it out.

Daphne

you can go buy the waterproof shorts at Shanghai. It is very much cheaper than in S'pore. My mum went there and bot some for me. The quality ok lah. They also have some washable nappy liners.

Afternoon all...
hmm...so quiet tdy...

Happy Dong Zhi!!
one of my fav lunar celebration coz I love tang yuan
Will be cooking the instant ones for lunch later

hi all mum-to-be..
I'm currently looking for pregnant lady to pose in a pregnancy magazine..
Makeup & hairstyling will be provided. (FREE MAKEOVER!)
If you are interested, please send in your pictures & particular to [email protected]'ll tell you more details from there.

Hi all..

Know it might be a little too soon for this.. but I was just looking thru all my old school certs and am thinking of enrolling my little darling into my alma mater for her primary school education.. just a thought.. would you all prefer to send your kids to a nearby primary school or to a so-called 'better' school which is further away?

hunniepot,
I would of coz prefer to send Jayden to a better school coz it will definitely give him a good start. If I send Jayden back to my alma mater, then it would be Henry Park or Pei Hwa Pri. My nearby primary school would be Fairfield Pri which is also not a bad choice. For my case, all r good schools lor, so not much to worry abt

preciousbabe

Haha! Neighbour schools.. I was from Raffles Girls' Primary.. which cohort were u in? Im was born in 1978.. Initially I was hoping to send Amanda to CHIJ Toa Payoh.. near my house.. but heard from neighbours that it is hard to enrol her in if I am not an alumni.. so might as well try for my alma mater.. though it is further away.. but scared of the stress level..

hunniepot,
I'm born in 1979. Who knows, we would have celebrated National Day together in the field before

Yup, it's difficult to enrol Amanda into CHIJ Toa Payoh if u r not an alumni even though u mayb staying near the school. There's bound to be stress in every school lor, depends how u and your girl handle it. But coz I taught in a neighbourhood school before, I still prefer to send Jayden to a reputable school. The standard is much higher and the children that he will be mixing with will be of a different calibre too.

preciousbabe

I still remember the national day song that was shared between the 2 schools: "The 9th of August is a holiday, We don't have to go to school, we all can play..I dress in my best, esp for today..' I almost went to Henry Park to join my brothers but was slapped by a boy there over the school rabbits.. and I told my mum I refuse to go to co-ed schools after that..

Yup.. agree that the children of more reputable schools are of a different calibre.. not too sure if it is needed for us to join the alumni or do some volunteer work at the schools.. does that guarantee a place there? My mum has contacts wit MOE and she said theres no need to.. but to be kiasu abit.. think it will be better if we can do so

hunniepot,
From wat I know, if u join the alumni then ur girl will be eligible to enrol in the Phase 1B or 1C of the registration exercise, well ahead of others. If u don't join the alumni, then there's no way of getting your girl into RGPS unless u r staying just outside the school lor. Even then, u might not be able to get into that school too. Coz I was always involved in the P1 registration and my school always received rejects from Nan Hua Pri. There are cases where the family just stays across the schools but still they didn't manage to get in. Doing voluntary work also doesn't confirm a place, so the safest way is to join the alumni

hunniepot,
hahhaa....I almost went into RGPS. But coz I have a younger brother and my mum wanted us to be in the same school, that's y I ended up in Henry Park instead

Ya, remembered the National Day Song. Up to today, I still remember the song leh but I can't even remember the pri school song. Funny right?

preciousbabe

Thanks for the info.. think will join the alumni once I am more settled with Amanda
Yeah.. I can't really remember even my secondary school song. let alone my primary school song..

hunniepot,
U r welcome
Anyway, there's no need to rush to join the alumni as long as u do it 1 year before Amanda's P1 registration. Well, Henry Park website said so lah, but to be on the safe side, mayb join when Amanda is in kindergarten liao

okie, I'm going for tuition. Talk to u again when I come back

Hunniepot/Preciousbabe,

Me oso borned 1978... now i know got so many khakis about same age as me

I went to the prevous metro sale, nothing much on the baby items.. and the crowd at the cashier was so poorly controlled that I heard pple complaining. Think its not as worth going as Robinson sale. Just my thots.

smurfy

agree that the previous metro sale doesn't have many bb items on sale.. you might want to go OG to take a look.. 20% sale till end dec.. bought most of my stuffs from there.. think most of us should be ard this age or slightly older

Hunniepot,

I went OG yst but didn't see any 20% storewide disct sign.. are you sure? The disct given depends on various items, some got disct, some don't have.. not sure tho cos i stayed there for 10-15mins only

smurfy

I have been to 2 OG outlets already.. one at paragon about 2 weeks ago and OG Bugis just yesterday.. very sure cos I bought my stuffs from there
Just look out for the blue colour OG logo on the price tag (those are on discount) unless it is specially stated at the rack that those items are nett price items.. but most of the bb items are on 20% sale..

lemontree,
So to say the cotton material will be better than the silky type 1 lah? Cos i oso very confuse leh dunno which 1 2 buy!

Hi lemontree, it's winter now....very cold...juz check the weather -3/5. not sure whether they still selling the waterproof shorts...grrrrrr!!!!! hee hee will still go check it out lah. thks

lemontree,

I got the cotton one as during my gal's time, there's no silk one.. it's true that it might be warm... but it's really convenient loh...

Smurfy, Hunniepot,

I also born in 1978! =)

Daphne,

Think shd have...my mom just came back 2 wks ago...happy shopping!

Winnie

I dunno...depends on how u see it...silky one confirm will be softer to touch...but the auntie at the shop confessed to me that got customer complained will stick to their bb's skin loh...the cotton one will be ok after it is seasoned after many washes....so i am considering to buy it and wash it from now so that it will be seasoned once my bb is born. But hor, as far as I know, cotton one also got 3 kinds. Dunno which to get leh.... Maybe go to the MIM shop itself to check it out loh...

Irene,

Yah....agree is convenient. Most likely getting it...Do u find it difficult to use? Heard from some moms they dunno how to use, so regretted after buying...

lemontree,
my sister also brought already then never use. But she said that it is actually very good to use but you have to start using it when the baby is very young. She brought it when my nephew is bigger and he refuse to let them wrap him.

Now it is passed on to me. I hope I know how to use it.

What a rainy day 2day... =(

So many things didn't go on plan... our opc got some prob since Tues nite n hb decided 2 bring it down 2 check.

After that, went to Kids Mall. Not everything 20% discount leh.. but mostly... Medela only 15%, but anyway since there, we decided 2 get most of the little items there.. =p

Price wise quite close 2 Kiddy Palace on most items.

Now got to do a list of whatelse not bought.. =)

350323.gif

smurfy & lemontree

how long have you all been married already? Did you gals intend to have your 1st baby at this juncture?

Re: MIM Sling

Any idea about the sateen material sling? Think it might fall in between the silk and the cotton material..

smurfy,
Me went to OG at Bugis this afternoon. Confirm that 20% on baby items, except for sale and nett items.

Hunnipot,
I would prefer to send my kids to my pri sch. But same as your concern, it's quite far away lor and i fear it takes up too much time on travelling, esp. if take school bus, usually the first to get picked up and last to be dropped off. Morning sessioin has to wake up so early leh!

Reason why I prefer my kids to go to my pri sch is that it is a 'ming xiao' and I am comfortable with the school's culture. While there is another 'ming xiao' with similar culture in my present eatate, if based on the phasing by proximity to the school,afraid also cannot get my kid in. better play safe and join alumni.

RE: baby clothes
I bought the so called NB size ss shirts from the distributor shop in Bugis. They sell everything in 6 per pack. After I reached home, I find that the size is quite big for a NB lor.... like more suitable for 3-6 months. Hmm...cos I get the ribbon type, my hubby says can tie tighter (* tight as in more overlapping - I hope you understand what I mean) but I still worry it's too big and look out of shape (twisted) when you tie too tight. is this comfortable for the baby?

What type of clothes and how many pieces of each did you all prepare?

cheona,
I also bought from the bugis shop. I only bought 1 dozen of shirts. 6 white long-sleeved and 6 coloured short-sleeved. All r button shirts. Hmm...I'm different from u. I feel that the shirts r too small and bb will grow out of it very fast.

Preciousbabe,
which brand you buy? Maybe cutting different. Mine is the Rabbit brand. I only buy 1 packet short sleeve. Wanted to show family the material first lor.

wow.. looks like a shopping spree yesterday huh?

Re: Wholesale shop
Cheona, was there no attendant to serve you then?? So how?? U opened it? Wanna ask if can change? There was tix attendant who came to assist me then and I asked him as I remembered seeing sizes in shopping centres. He later added that booties n mittens oso got sizes too..as he saw me taking a packet of it.

Re: Schools
Despite being in negihbourhood school - Chong Fu, I already ve lots of stress at school from mom n teachers.. i even heard tat my cousins wanted so much to place my nephews n nieces in my school tat they ever go to the extent to enroll them in any activities in Hokkien Huay Kwan.

One of my cousin went to the extent to move to AMK to enroll the twins into Ai Tong.

I am hesitant to place my kids in these schools.. prefer schools nearer to homes so that they can spend > quality time at home. Nowadays schools really got lots of activities... i m still trying to find out what's full day school....!!

Re: MIM sling
Think cotton one seems good enuf 4 me especially it can absorb sweat better n more comfortable, rite? Any ideas why so many types of materials make for MIM sling?

Morning!!

Cheona,
I didn't notice the brand but I know there are 2 types there with different materials. I bought the one that is smoother and I think thicker.

Evon,
I can gurantee u that even if u send your child to a nearby school, it will be the same as reputable schools or even worse. Your child will not be home until around 4-5pm in the evening. Coz neighbourhood schools tend to be more kiasu n they have alot of remedial and enrichment programs to so-call boost their pupils' intelligence. When I was teaching, I had to have remedial for 3 times a week, 1 subject per day.
So if your child is involved in that, then she will have to stay back 4 days per week for remedials/enrichment classes, 1 day for CCA and then some other school involvements. So basically the child is burned out everyday lor.

Evon,
Oh, I just saw that u posted that mittens n booties have sizes? Hmm...the aunty who served me didn't tell me leh so I just took from the shelf on my own. But my mum told me that bb only need to wear the mittens n booties for only a few mths, say till ard 3rd mth? So the ones that I took from the shelf shld be able to last. As for the shirts, I bought for 0-3mths one. I also wanrted to know if can change, but apparently there's no receipt given lor. So don't think can change leh

cheona

Same for me lor.. CHIJ Toa Payoh though near my home.. but high chance I wont be able to get a place there for my girl.. so got to travel further away to my pri sch so as to ensure she gets a place in a good school..

Initially I bought the ribbon ones from the bugis shop but find that the cloth does not extend all the way to the sides unlike those I got elsewhere.. so I went back to change to the button ones.. agree with preciousbabe.. babies will outgrow the clothes very fast and it is actually better to get larger clothes for them as it will be more comfortable rather than getting the NB size for them

BTW gals.. can change the items at the bugis shop.. no prob
those pple are quite flexible..

Going to see my gynae now hehe.. havent seen my girl for more than 1 month liao...

Good Morning

Wow precious & Evon
Both of u so early today!

Hi Lemontree,
Think most probably will be buying the cotton type loh!

winnie,
hahaa...I woke up early tdy coz I'm too excited to sleep. I slept only for 4 hours, woke up at 6am this morning.

I am excited coz I'm going to spend my day baking
Just bought my first oven so wanted to try out! Furthermore, it's my hb's birthday tdy so cooked mee suah for him to eat. Heehee...the first time I cooked mee suah on his birthday after knowing him for 7 years! Guess he would be happy to have that for breakfast when he comes back after his run later.

Anyone knows where to get recipe for making new year cookies? Hmmm...I want to try to make pineapple tarts!

initially it was hard to figure how to wrap the baby securely.. but after a few tries, you will get the idea.
Somemore there's a VCD that come with it and it will show you how to wrap the baby from stages to stages...

Hunniepot,
i got married in Feb 04. Didn't plan to get pregnant until i am 30. got a shock when i know i pregnant and cried. haiz... its actually very hard for me to get pregnant due to many factors that I thot i'll need IUI in future. Therefore, i think child is really fated to be my child lor..

Chenoa,
thanks for the info on the OG sale.

Preciousbabe,
wow, seems like you are all prepared to be a housewife.. hehee.. i oso with my hubby for 7 years liao but i nvr cook mee suan for him. In fact, the only thing i cook for him is maggie mee. i ever tried cooking a "meal" for him which consisted of sardine, steamed egg and soup but i got burned out after cooking and decided its not worth the effort.. hahaa.. so i nvr cook after that..