(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Hi ladies, good afternoon...

back home after a day after shopping... went 4 Sony's Xmas fest.. nothing much 2 see.. thought I can get a digital video camera /w > freebies than Expo since Xmas mah..
Sigh... wanted to go swimming one.. then see tooo hot the weather ... so told hb continue shopping... now back home 4 a while (to feed my little chins) b4 going for the gala premiere of a movie at nite.

Jasminetea, ya.. I am looking at MEDELA Mini-Electric PLUS (dual). One of the moms in the sengkang thread recommended tix as it is not so noisy (in case I pump bm in office... scared later guys' toilet can hear...). Heehee..

Wow... 270... hmmm.. I noe electric one got 1 year warranty..

Avert one.. is also in my list.. still weighing which type to buy.. the bag one looks neat as I can walk ard /w the bag in office 2 toilet.

Still got to look 4 the ice pack or something like tat... isn't it?? else bm cannot last frm office 2 home.. =p

Hunniepot, where u got urs huh? I was @ ard Suntec... can't seem 2 find any.... Later see if Great World got any shops that sell....

Hi Maraquan,
check the ingredients of the stretchmark cream. If you are allergic to cocoa butter (which most stretchmark cream comprise), i suggest try olive oil. As long as skin is moisturised, it's more more elastic. I heard hollywood actresses swear by shea butter too.

Maraquan Draik, interesting... ur bb really smart... he kicks so that u'll touch ur stomach n then other ppl who are sitting down can c n give seat to u.. rite?

<font color="blue">Stretchmark cream </font>
Me using sth that I oso dunno what brand one.. got frm those sells shampoos, conditioners, perfumes shop.. it is called o2 spa stretchmark cream. Texture wise is k.. so far, b trying to b diligently 2 apply.. not seem any rashes.. but occasionally feel itchy.. think tix is result of it strengthening the skin ard?

Any case, different creams react differently to each of us... I guess if one does not explore how'd one know which is better 4 herself??

Maraquan Draik, wah was the brand of the last stretchmark cream u used b4 rashes?

I saw Biotherm has yesterday .... selling ard 70+... A bit regretted 2 buy my o2 spa one so soon... Biotherm seems 2b working better on me 4 most of its facial/body products.

<font color="blue">Yoga</font>
Don't think I will go 4 Yoga.. as some mommies ve feedback no use... so kind of doing self exercises myself by doing slow walk 30minutes each day.

<font color="blue">Tummy expansion</font>
These 2 weeks bb really growing fast.. I noticed that some of my clothes seem 2b able not to wear leh.. a bit regretted 2 spend so much... so now looking 4 clothes wisely....
Juz now, one of the staff oso commented my tummy looked like i'm in the 6th mth! Dunno happy or sad.
=(

Okay... ladies... I got to go bath... then dress up n change.... Good nite.. enjoy ur weekends.

Evon

I got mine from Metro during the 2 day sale.. if I remember correctly.. the dual pump one costs $290 b4 discount, thus $232 after discount. But now the sale is over already.. perhaps you can wait for post-christmas sale or CNY sale? OG does not sell Medela pump BTW..

I also regretted buying so many maternity clothes last time.. bought quite a few maternity working wear and its not cheap! And now they are gathering dust in my wardrode..

bblim,

are you still interest in getting Aunty Aini for the post natal massage?

Any mummies here interested to use her as well?? think i'll try to see how many mummies here is keen before i call n nego with her..

pls also advise on the rates that is acceptable so it's easier for me to nego with her as well.

Regards to Aunty Aini:
I've been using Aunty Aini for normal massage before i was preggies, once a week..she charges $40-$50 per session, 1.5hrs. I have been using her for more than a year liao and find that her massage skill is not bad..her massages are those that uses abit of strength kind..not the aromotherapy types...I have recommended her to a few friends and they all like her way of massage..But 1 thing about Aunty Aini is that her rates sometimes varies from 1 person to another..therefore i think it would be more fair for us to set a standard for her if a couple of mummies are keen in using her for post natal massage.

Kindly understand that i introduce Aunty Aini to mummies here out of goodwill and do not earn anything from this.

Rach,
I need to know if Aunty Aini needs us to take up her massage sessions in package or can just pay her whenever she comes over for massage? If her post-natal massage is ard $40, I'm fine with it.

Don't worry lah, I believe whenever any mtb post any lobang here, they don't earn anything from it.

Evon, yup got to buy ice pack. But I saw it quite cheap at robinson also. I haven't buy that yet 'cos feel tt one can wait till after my delivery then buy. The Fisher-Price insulator bottle bag I bought is only $7.20 after discount. Heee.. That is why I opt out to buy the avent with bag one as the total cost is quite a big different.
But of course, the avent bag is much nicer than the fisher-price one I got lah.
Heard a lot of good comment about MEDELA Mini-Electric PLUS (dual) also, but decided to use Avent since I bought almost everything under this brand.

For ladies who are interested, Robinson got 15% now until 24 Dec and it is meant for everyone, not members only.

Rach, haaa.. you knew I'm interested in Auntie Aini's service. So do keep me informed

Evon,
I am using palmer cocoa butter. I think I will start to use stretchmark cream after birth. I asked my friend today and she said it helps a bit.

Rach,
No worries. Juz a pity this website does not support direct access and updates from that ticker webby. Maybe we have to enable some Java codings or something?

Hi Maraquan,

I also had rashes after using Palmer cocoa butter. I've stopped using it ever since. so wasted..cos i still had quite a lot left.

Now i'm using Rosken Skin Repair. Its really effective! Not only did i not have rashes, my tummy also dun feel itchy now. And its way cheaper then cocoa butter ;p

Hi preciousbabe,

i believe Aunty Aini will be fine to accept payment whenever she gors over for massage..but i think it's better that i check with her when i have consolidated the total no of mummies who are keen in getting her lor...

As of date i'll list the names of mummies interested then think once we reach 5 mummies then i'll call her..dun think she can handle too many mummies in a month also..

i'll try to nego for $40/session , per session 2hrs. Is this amt okie??

Post Natal Massage:

1) Rach
2) Preciousbabe
3) Jasminetea

Very quiet saturday... Today, seem 2b having slight headache ard right eye corner, dunno if it is migraine. But guess mayb becoz slept too much as a result.

Thanks, Hunniepot.. I will pop by 2 c .. my Metro here dun remember seeing it.. anyway saw 2day's newspapers that Robinsons having 15% sales for public.

No prob Evon!

I bought mine from Paragon Metro BTW.. think the dual pump one is better.. but it is beyond my budget.. so I settled for the single pump instead.. saw from other threads that the AMEDA Lactaline (dual elec.) is good and its the same price as Medela Dual pump.. can get it off www.breastfeeding.org.sg website..

I get headache too when I sleep too much.. my friend recommended me to take 1 bottle of isotonic drink + 2 bottles of water to get rid of headache.. havent tried it yet.. but worth a try rather than rely on panadol

Thanks, hunniepot. Understand what u mean.. i oso weigh the budget.. but i really felt > stressed i i pump milk in toilet n the guy toilet can hear... so no choice but to invest a bit since one of the moms said it does not make much noise as compared to the single one.=p

Anybody b pumping milk in office?? normally do at toilets, right??? =p

I dun see my office ve any good places apart from common toilets n the executive toilets.. I am intending 2 ask permission to do so in the executive toilets but they re located juz outside the main lobby. =(

Dunno how... but'd definitely feel embarassed 2 jam up the common toilets.

Any 2nd mtb to share any tips??? or advice?
348250.gif

Hi hi Rach
I am interested in engaging Aunty Aini too. Can include me as well. I am supposed to deliver in 3 May 06. Umm but not sure if there will be changes cos I am actually in my 25 weeks. My gynae have not confirm the EDD with me yet.

Morning

hmm...went shopping yesterday at Suntec &amp; Orchard. Wow..everywhere was so packed and the whole place seemed to be filled with pregnant women and families. Anyway, I managed to buy the 2nd item for Jayden. Avent manual pump, 2 milk bottles and 2 packs of washable breast pads at Robinsons. Hmm...can say that I abit stupid lah coz Robinson only have 15% discount and I bought stuff from there whereas Kids Mall having 20% discount. But Robinson has a wider selection of Avent products as compared to Kids Mall lor.
heehee...so now the feeding part is settled, only have to buy Jayden's clothes and bedding stuff

Evon,
Can go Kids Mall to take a look at the pump that u wanted. I will be going to Kiddy Palace later, will help u to look out for any discounts for the pump.

<font color="0000ff">Rach</font>
yup, i m still interested. But juz dat dis few days too bz going out so no time 2 contact her. Tot of calling her tomorrow. Or u prefer to contact her on our behalf instead?

<font color="0000ff">butter88</font>
have included ur name in d list. Hope u dun mind.

<font color="aa00aa">Post Natal Massage by Aunty Aini:

1) Rach
2) Preciousbabe
3) Jasminetea
4) Butter88
5) BBLim</font>

preciousbabe,
i oso went shopping at JL specialist n Kidsmall at Suntec on Fri &amp; Sat. Oso Spring maternity having $19.90 specials now.

Just came back from another shopping trip @ Kiddy Palace, Jurong Point. Finally decided to get the playpen cum bed for Jayden. Hmm...costs $99. So tmr going back to kids mall to take a look at the pillow &amp; bolster set. If that's settled, then I only need to buy clothes liao

Hi Rach
I'm oso interested in the massage lady. However, I got some queries:
1) How many mummies can she handle in a month, since we are all April mummies?
2) Does she do pre-natal massage?

Morning ladies..

Last nite kept waking up to toss and turn.. but thank goodness, managed to get back to sleep quite immediately... Noticed tat bb seem 2b extremely active b4 sleep... Or was it me???

Wow.. thanks, preciousbabe 4 info. Hb n I were hesitant 2 do shopping over weekends.. too many ppl, u noe.

Anyway, Thurs going 2 clear leave again.. so intend 2 drive ard 2 c.. so .. ladies, any discounts or great buys... do keep the thread alive...= p

BTW I am juz curious.. one of the mtbs mentioned on the dunno-what-contractions during tix period till our labour... remember?

How u differentate tix type of contractions /w bb kicks?

I noticed last night some form of it.. but dunno it is bb kicks or contractions.. It is like a-wave-of-sea-water-coming-up-the-shore-that type of feeling.. think the interval was ard 1.5~2 minutes.. experience only 5~6 times b4 it disappeared.

Evon

My bb seems to be extremely active when I am trying to sleep.. so its not just you lar

Didnt feel any contraction feeling b4.. maybe you are experiencing braxton hicks contraction?

"Braxton Hicks are sporadic uterine contractions that actually start at about 6 weeks, although you won't be able to feel them that early. You probably won't start to notice them until sometime after midpregnancy, if you notice them at all (some women don't)."

"As your pregnancy progresses, Braxton Hicks contractions tend to come somewhat more often, but until you get to your last few weeks, they should remain infrequent, irregular, and essentially painless. Sometimes, though, Braxton Hicks are hard to distinguish from early signs of preterm labor. Play it safe and don't try to make the diagnosis yourself. If you haven't hit 37 weeks yet and you're having four or more contractions in an hour, or have any other signs of preterm labor, call your caregiver immediately."

Hmmm... but bb kicks can't b so constant.. isn't it??? (I wasn't listening to music leh..). =p

So early, wake up already, hunniepot.. what u doing 2day?

Good morning Ladies. Hope you all have a nice weekends.

Preciousbabe, are you talking about food warmer? I bought that 'cos I feel easier for me to reheat my breastmilk or food for my gal next time since I will be rushing off to work in the morning. Dun think I have time to wait for the water to boil. But if you are a SAHM, maybe u can save on it 'cos it is not cheap lor. But it is more convenient lah

Hmm.. maybe it is really the braxton hicks contraction? When you seeing your gynae next? Maybe can ask her the next time you see her?

Slept very early yesterday.. seems to be able to sleep quite well nowadays.. maybe cos 3rd trimester is coming up *cross fingers* ?? Really can't tahan those sleepless nights liao.. going swimming later with hb.. he is on leave today.. BTW you tried out the swim wear already?
the color is quite bright and seems to draw attention to us haha.. esp with the slit in front..

bblim,

i'll be seeing Aunty Aini this mid week cos she'll be coming over to massage for me, then i'll nego with her face to face lor..

terrier,

i'll ask Aunty Aini how many mummies she can handle in a month n revert to you,k? i guess she depends very much on the date we deliver lor..cos some mummies will use her for 2 weeks, some 1 month or so..so will have to double confirm with her on this..will revert once i get more info..

regards to pre natal massage, yup, she does..and i'm doing it almost once a week...she'll be coming over my place sometime this mid week..i only start doing my pre natal massage about 1 month ago cos my hb dun allow me to have massage during the 1st trim...but i've been using Aunty Aini long time before i was pregnent for normal massage.

Morning

Hunniepot,
I'm refering to the bottle warmer that is used to warm bottled BM from the fridge. Anyway, have decided not to get the steriliser &amp; the warmer. Just use the conventional method to boil &amp; warm the stuff. Tight budget coz yesterday spent ard 1k just to get a new washing machine &amp; microwave cum oven. Then somemore, later got to buy Jayden's chest drawers to put clothes. *sign* money not enough. hahaa....

Re: Contractions
I don't experience contractions but I feel cramps and numb feelings whenever Jayden decides to move to a certain spot. Like yesterday, when I was looking at the playpen &amp; other bedding accessories, Jayden moved all the way to the right side of my tummy and did acrobat inside until the whole right side was numb. At the point of time, I could feel my tummy knotted up and bigger than the left side. Guess Jayden must be excited over his new bed

Jasminetea,
That's wat I thought of too at first. But not sure if i got enough BM to express and store or not, so decided not to get. Heehee...big boobs doesn't equal to more breast milk right? haaha...

okie ladies, u all have fun chatting. I'm going out for Jap buffet at suntec. Will then go and buy Jayden's bedding set, mini cupboard and his clothings at Bugis. So many things to buy, so little time &amp; money!!

Hi Hunniepot, I bought Avent brand. I think it was about $80 before discount. I bought it at the Robinson's 20% member sales, so about $60.00.

Preciousbabe, haaa.. must be confident lah. Usually, it takes a lot of patience for breastfeeding to be successful.
Hey you started shopping for Jayden's stuff liao? Tot you wanted to wait till after CNY?

Hi hunniepot.. not sure if is it that.. i've noted in my little book the questions to ask gynae on two Sat from now.. =p

So looks like none of u've tix funny sensation. Oso ... noticed that bb seems 2b doing lots of gym work nowadays.. one moment she's at the back nearer to my spinal area.. next she's closer to my tummy area (can feel the hardness).

Re: warmer

We found a solution to tix.. /w no help 2 boil water... we bought an electrical thermal flask. So simply pour some hot water (that thermal flask has kept - say, u set to 90degrees) to a mug n then put the milk bottle in it? So, no need to wait 4 water to boil. The milk bottle should heat by 4~5 minutes? That's how my hb made half boiled eggs.. so i guess the logic should work? = p

wow.. preciousbabe, going 4 jap buffet?? So good.. i really miss Sashimi.... n crabs... n clams... hmmmmm... yummy.......

For those of you who are interested in getting a bb cot.. I have taken a picture of mine.. bought from Tom&amp;Stephanie @ only $279 (comes with free bedding set and assembly and delivery; one of the cheapest I can find so far) The brand is Mama Love.. can be converted into a toddler bed next time too..

348596.jpg

Evon,

do you mind giving me more directions to the shop at Si Ma Lu Guan Yin Miao. Yesterday, I was there and seaching high and low for that shop. In the end, I didn't manage to find.

Hmmm..smurfy.. let me c how I can describe.. =p

U ve to face ur back behind the si ma lu guan yi miao. N in front of u is a HDB block. There is a staircase in front.. but dun go up. At level 1, u see some shops sellin Buddha's statues as well as some selling dried food.

Walk 2wards these shops.

Turn left towards the dried food area n look 4 sign where the toilet is.

Juz b4 u hit the toilet, u will see a shop sellin towels, children's clothings etc.. that is the shop. It is oso the first shop b4 hitting the minor road between this HDB flat n the food court.

See if tix helps. =)

The other wholesale shop... is in Fu Lu Sou. Think it is either above or on same storey as of Chen Ju Rong's shop (his shop is at 3rd floor).

I brought the steriliser yesterday and now I am waiting for my playpen to arrive. Seem like my boy knows that his playpen is coming. Kick all morning!

Might be going out later in the afternoon. Hope that there will not be too many people.

Hi Rach

Thanks for your reply. How much did u pay for the pre-natal massage? and how long is the session? I'm interested...b'coz have been very tired recently.

<font color="0000ff">preciousbabe</font>
same like u, i will not b buying sterilizer too. Coz since not working, shld hv time 2 boil water everyday n somemore tink gas shld cost cheaper than electricity bah.

As for EBM, tot can use hot water from electric airpot to warm?

Anyone tot of buying a warmer chargeable in car so whenever we r outside can juz warm d milk in car? Dunno gd anot.