(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

evon,
I didn't get to go to Perfect Mum tdy. Mayb going there tomorrow instead.

maraquan,
wah...your boy very mischievous ah!! Hmm....next time must talk to him to behave prior going for checkups

okie ladies,
I'm going to rest liao. Just came back not long ago from Bugis after my antenatal class. Learnt a few things on diet and medication during pregnancy. Have a goodnight sleep!!

preciousbabe,
Yah, the doctor kept saying that my baby is very naughty. The doctor ended up pressing so hard on my tummy and shaking her scanner. She kept asking me to turn here turn there and my baby refuse to move.

hihi, anyone's wedding band got too tight??? me thinking of going to resize e ring, but not sure if e finger will slim back to original size.. but my sister and colleagues all stop wearing their wedding band after they got pregnant.. think finger very hard to slim back.. how how?

and when must we book e pre-antenal class w e hospital?? me in a/cs line, going to year end closing soon.. so can only attend in feb, is it too late for us then???

and anyone going for yoga class?? me think me aching all over, should do some exercise.. any recommendations..

hehe.. a lot of questions hor.. thanks thanks!!

hi kyla, it is alright 2 ask many questions.
1. I not encountered tix prob yet.. n yes, true tat i've seen some friends not wearing tix wedding bands; but they make their hbs to buy them new rings.

2. the nursy recommended to book after 20th week.. as some lessons may take a while.. n normally by 30th week we probably b too heavy to go ard. So, it is up to u.. I'm attending mine in Jan.

3. Exercise is a must.. dun think i'm going to spend that $ .. but go for more morning 30~45minute walks.

342702.gif

morning all mummies....

1. i oso dont hav the problem regarding the wedding bend, cos last time hb bought a bigger size. Now just nice for me to put on...

2. although im first time mum, but i nv go and find out and attend any classes le....think of wasting $$...may be i just learn from u gals....heehee...save $$ hor

3. ya...exercise is a must...me oso lazy too...evon is right...walking is a good exercise for us...and climb up staircase is good too....or can just dont take lift when u reach home.

Good morning Ladies,

Evon, keep us updated abt your detailed scan today!

Kyla, I don't have problems with my wedding ring as yet. I had done a research on yoga class for pregnant women before and find them really costly. So in the end, didn't sign up for that. I did a 20 mins exercise everyday on my stationery bike every morning. So far, so good with that. And yes, excerise is a must.

According to the Mt. A person in charge, we can also signed up classes in Feb 06, will be in time for our delivery provided that we don't end up deliver early lor. That is why I choose to start in Jan 06.

Cheers~

Jasminetea,

Do you find it strenuous on your bump when you exercise on the stationary bike? I try to go swimming these days but only manage to go like once to at the most twice a week which I find is not enough.. and sometimes am too lazy to go even..

Afternoon all...
Hmm...my antenatal class actually teaches us to do certain pre-natal and post-natal exercises. Mayb your antenatal classes will cover that aspect as well?
For me, now I only walk in the evenings for exercise lor. Actually want to go swimming but can't fit into swimsuit liao..

As for wedding ring and accessorries, gynae advised me not to wear lor...no need to re-size or buy new wedding ring one lah..must have the mentality that u will slim down after childbirth then can wear back!!

I'll be going for my 1st antenatal class next wed at Gleneagles. Going there becos the class size small - only 8 couples. My suggestions to all MTB for April thread, start early for your classes. Won't know whether we will go into labour early or not, and as a matter of fact, exercise classes may be a little difficult when our stomache get bigger, hee.

hmm...daphne...thought all antenatal classes are supposed to be small in size? Coz at KKH, maximum is also 8 couples leh..I went mine last night, only 6 couples.

Hei Evon: I also bought the fish oil and calcium pills fr Dr Chin's clinic *quite expensive hor*...but I do remember the receptionist telling me not to take both fish oil and calcium together, at least 2 hours apart...so, i take my folic + multi vit + fish oil together, and calcium with another meal or what...according to the girls in the may thread....absorption of calcium is tricky...not supposed to do so with caffeine i think so...if u dun wan to waste $, maybe that's sthg to consider. Hee.

I really want to sign up for the ante-natal classes...just that I think my hubby can't accompany me all the time *sad*...cos his work schedule is rather irregular...do u girls go alone, or try to do so with hubby for all sessions? well...jasminetea's going to mt a and evon is thinking of tmc...so, which one? hee...

I also want to exercise...but so little motivation..yet i know it's crucial for the delivery...heard it makes all the difference...but also wonder whether can stretch in particular manner or do that particular exercise...of cos walking and swimming is most common and best...but i feel like if we have some sort of guidance will be great - i suppose that's where preciousbabe mentioned that they do teach a little of that during the ante-natal classes, right???
cheers.

well, preciousbabe. i enquired at Mt. Alvernia and Thomson. The weekend classes sometimes has about 30+ couples. Maybe it is weekend lah.

Chris, if your hubby cannot accompany you, ask your g/friend to accompany you at least for the exercise classes.

daphne,
wow, 30 couples is alot. hmm...mayb like wat u said, it's only the weekend classes that is so packed.

Chris,
I do go to the class alone sometimes. For KKH, they allow mummy to tag along if hubby can't make it lor. I'll share some exercise tips online when I come to the part in the class

From the class yesterday, I learnt that caffeine actually will prevent the body from absorbing most vitamins and nutrients, not just calcium. That's y we can only drink max of 2 cups of tea/coffee per day.

Hello ladies... good nite...

I m back finally...

Is a girl.. cfm 100% tix time.. my mil was there too.. think mentally she is prepared n so she was fine.

BB's weight 380g!!!! Can't believe... I dun even feel like eating at all...!!!!

342887.gif

Hi Chris, Dr Lisa doesn't recommend me to buy DHA fish oil pills leh.. she only given me the multi-vitamins pills today(Becoz the current GNC one I'm taking has very high in VitA and hers got more iron content).

Evon,
You sound very funny. It seem that your MIL will freak out if she is not mentally prepare.

Actually, when I know that I am having a baby boy, I freaked out and cried whole night. I think my hubby got a shock from me. Awwwwn, this is so embarrassing.

<font color="0000ff">Attended my 1st antenatal lesson last nite. Did some stretching exercise
342944.gif
342945.gif
n Mrs Wong got all hubbies to learn to massage our hands n legs. So shiok!
342946.gif
Oso learned how to communicate wif our babies by doing drumming n butterfly etc. It was fun n informative.

For Mrs Wong's classes, max is 23couples per class according to the Parentcraft staff. Anyway, din really count my class.

Evon, ur bb is quite big hor. Coz learned frm the class babies ard wk20 weighs abt 350g only.</font>

Afternoon!!

Evon,
hmm...looks like your MIL is resigned to her fate liao coz yours is a bb girl. She was expecting a boy right? Aiya...if she really wants a grandSON then go for a 2nd one next time then ask her to pray hard for a boy lor...anyway, boy or girl also the same one lah...

maraquan,
u very cute leh...actually cried when u know u have a boy..was that tears of joy or??
hahaa...for me, I just stared at the ultrascan when I saw the dick. Mayb I'm mentally prepared to have a boy liao so didn't feel anything at all...

bblim,
wah...your class so fast learned the exercises n massage things liao ah? I will only learn in the 6th lesson according to KKH schedule. Hope by then, it's not too late to do the exercises.

hihi all,

chris, e recep never tell me cannot take the fish oil/ calcium/ multi vit together.. oh no! me taking them after lunch together.. hope it still works!!

didn't know all of u start on e antenatal classes already.. will call first thing tomorrow to book.. e class include exercise is it?? me just walking up/down 4 flight of stairs to my place.. hardly enough.. but e yoga classes r really ex, and e timing quite bad.. so too bad!!

anything else we got to book now?? me still in christmas shopping mood.. then it's my a/cs year end closing, will have to work till 12 every nite then..
so think i can only start my preparation in feb..

<font color="0000ff">preciousbabe,
coz TMC antenatal class comprises 5 lessons + 1 doctor's talk oni. Unlike KKH, tink u got more lessons rite?

kyla,
Tink for those popular confinement lady n post-natal massage lady, now is the time to book them in order to ensure their availability.</font>

Preciousbabe

yup.. my princess is going to be named Amanda.. Mandy for short form.. stands for 'deserving of love'.. what does your prince's name Jayden stand for?

Evon

Haha.. your description of your MIL is very funny.. I think my MIL has not yet accepted the fact that my bb is a girl.. she was still saying yesterday that all the dreams she had of my bb is that of a boy... any pressure on you to have a boy since ur hubby is the only son like mine?

Kyla

My KKH antenatal class starts end of this month and will end exactly on my 37th week (full term).. the kkh person also told me im abit late for the class.. so its better if you can try to go for the classes asap...

preciousbabe,
Actually, I wanted a girl and I thought it was a girl all along. Until today, I still told my hubby that I still cannot accept the fact that my baby is a boy. I kept looking at girl's stuff and find them very cute. I really really envvvvvvy those parents with a daughter.

I wonder how my baby boy will feel if he knows that mommy thinks this way. *sign*

Hello Ladies!

Hunniepot, I don't have problem with my bump on my stationery bike as yet. Maybe I used to it already heeee.. I think swimming twice a week is good enough 'cos swimming is a full body exercise. Of coz, if you can, it is better to go more often.

Evon, glad to hear tt everything is fine for you! Wow, your girl is 380g!!

Chris, I think it is the multi-vit and calcium that cannot be taken together leh. There was instruction on my multi-vit that said avoid calcium. I just confirmed with my hubby too.

Cheers~~

Maraquan Draik and Hunniepot, what to do when my darlin's the only son @ home n the elder grandson only.... so the load of the mil can b quite heavy as well. (Imagine i being my mil hv to face the old ppl's sacrastic remarks)..

Anyway /w the geomacer telling her n her son that her son's life is all women ... think she kind of already expected.. didn't noe geomacer Chen Jun Rong so accurate la... of course, hb was joking.. the geomacer got add a sentence that nowadays technology so good, so who knows may get boys as well... hmmmm.. IVF?? is it?

Do u noe what my GMIL said when my FIL said girl.. she said "good leh.. like hers.. give her $ but not the sons...) My MIL said she is sacrastically remaking my FIL n his brother lor... =p

Anyway, Maraquan Draik, not to worry.. at least first one is boy.. ur second one can b > relaxed leh.. not me .. > stressed... haaahaa.. OH, BTW, tix was what my mil was saying... better dun keep seeing girls' stuff when u noe is boy... becoz later the boy too soft or can b a bit girlish... dunno true or not..

Ohh..... dunno y she so heavy leh... maybe girls develop faster than boys.. so as usual she grows slightly heavier first.. (Not mentioning me n my hb re rather tall built).

Didn't know the medication cannot take together... the only thing was that folic acid n multi-vitamins to be separated a day apart. That was what the nurse said leh...

Let me go find out on the web.... (since can b qutie eng in office at times).

343190.gif

Morning all!!

Hunniepot,
that's a nice name for a girl..all the Amanda's that I've taught before are so sweet and gentle!!
Anyway, Jayden's name means "God has heard/ precious" according to the name book that I have.

maraquan,
wah...really must brainwash u this sat liao. Cannot have this kind of mentality one otherwise your bb boy will feel unloved.

Anyway, did u ladies watch star awards last night?
Finally the event has turned into a formal occassion as everyone seems to have good dress sense last night! No more funny colour suits or hair styles! Everyone was so pretty and handsome!!

preciousbabe
hee.. thanks for the assurance that i've gotten a good name for my girl
jayden sounds like a very good name too!

Only watch on the news.. didn't watch the whole event.. but tix year their dress sense improves.. hopefully they keep in tix way. = )

343234.gif

Evon

Agree with you totally! Maraquan, I will be more relieved if my baby is a boy for the first one.. not that I prefer boys to girls.. but like Evon, my hubby is the only son in the family.. and my MIL is already in her mid seventies! Thus she is eagerly looking forward to having a grandson to help carry on the family line b4 she pass on (that is what she said). What to do.. I told my hubby even if we have all girls.. its all due to his genes.. not my genes hehe...

Watched the star awards yesterday too.. like michelle chia dress.. complements her figure very well.. thought chen hanwei's outfit looks abit funny though..

Guess what??? My MIL mentioned something very funny.. u may want to take note n consider.. or ask gynae n let me noe...

<u>For those who take bird's nest</u>

Currently with Bird's flu virus going round in Indoesia and some Asean countries, you may want to take note of not consuming bird's nest if you know how bird's nest is made n since swallows re considering migratory birds as well.

Any comments...??? My MIL said one la.. she dunno got such idea from where...

343250.gif

Afternoon Ladies

I also watched the star awards yesterday. agreed that all of them have better dress sense than previous years. All the actress mummies look so good, hmmm, wonder if i can achieve 50% of it after giving birth. hee hee

After reading all your threads on the gender of our bb, i realise i'm very fortunate. No stress on the gender of 1st bb. My PIL made no mention at all, when i brought it up to them, they said as long as got grandchildren call them granny and grandpa can already.

Hi Evon
Ooops.. that's frightening... My bird nest is finishing &amp; its fm Indonesia. Now after hearing this, dun know want to buy or not. :p
I have taken the jab last week.

cutecute... dunno leh.. my hb's giving $ 2 ask my mil to buy n make every week 4 me 2 drink 2... then we re thinking of stopping once 2nd trimster's over..

343308.gif

Yah, My own mommy also call me stupid. She said if you give birth to a son the first time, your life will be easily. I just told her that I am not scare of my in-laws.

I dunno if I want a second child a not. I very scare my hubby only got male sperm. Now I am the only female in the house. Even our two cats we pick ramdomly are boys. *sign*

Hi all, I juz had my detail scan tis morning and my BB is a boy
Thank God I can close factory wif ease now :p My PIL are fine cos they say as long as BB is healthy, all are destined, but to me I have a gal liao, so naturally hoping for a boy, a diff kinda preg experience too ;p

My dh is also the only son and the eldest grandson... His grandma is very old-fashioned one... prefer boys than girls... so if she knows this time round is girl again, she sure not happy one.
As for my mom's side, they are fine with it but I can sense my grandma like a boy also cos she dreamt of a baby boy borned by me before I got pregnant.
As for fil, dunno he happy or not, but he mentioned that girls are closer to the family and parents..

Ur grandma like a boy?? But y?? I mean boy or girl doesn't matter to the maternal side any more except our husbands' side... u noe.

Anyway, my hb was joking tat my mom seems 2 prefer boys oso.. I explained to him becoz my mom wished my life /w his family b good ma if the first is a boy... but anyway doesn't matter..

Going home soon.... Yippeeee....

Wow, the thread is running fast. Quite hard to catch up. Haven't really been surfing cos my hubby keeps on occupying the PC unitl now. My own PC is finally up and running ;p

Mine is confirmed a little prince! So additional boys added to the list and my edd has been brought forward to 12 Apr.

I have also signed up for the antenatal class at Mt A. The class will start at next year, Jan. Jasminetea, I might be able to bump onto you. I choose to attend on sat.

Evon, maybe she also wish my life with his family will be good if I got a boy... Old ppl got this kinda thinking...

evon,
wow...the bird nest issue is really something that we must check up on...heee...trust your MIL to think of such a question

daphne,
yup, agree that the actress mummies look good..heehee...must put in alot of effort and $ to look like them after we give birth!!

des,
congrats on getting a prince! now that your pc is up and running, u can come in and post more messages liao!

preciousbabe,
now tat my pc is up and running, will definetly come in and post more often. How I wish I can meet you gals this sat, too bad i cant. Got to attend my colleague's wedding dinner.

Btw, so far, have you gals weigh yourself? I have put on 7kg in total.