(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Hi muahchie, how much do you pay for antenatal classes? All are conducted on weekday evenings? Apart from KKH, anywhere else have such lessons in the east/north?

Hb and i were talking if to attend or not.. but still trying to find out more info oso.

Evon, I totally agree with you. Many times the passengers will just close their eyes and choose to not see anyone around them. Or read a book so their attention will only be focused on their reading. On the rare occasions when they do see me, they will look 'thru' me, as if I am transparent.

I guess people generally know the right thing to do i.e. give up seats to those in need. But at the end of the day, I think they just cant be bothered.

Most times I will tell myself, they probably had a hard day as well, and they are just as tired. That kind of makes me feel better.

Evon, its cheaper for KK patients. $120 for weekday classes and $150 for weekend classes.For non-KK patients like me, its $150 for weekdays and $180 for weekends. Weekday classes are fr 6.30 - 8.15pm, and Sat classes are 9 - 10.45am 11.15 - 1pm.

I think the other hospitals like TMC and MAH also offers. You can call or check their website. But for me, I find KKH's rates quite reasonable.

Thanks, Muachchie.

By the way, how you ladies tell the difference between baby kick and intermittent stomach cramps/pains?

My gynae told me on last Sat that baby still quite small for me to feel her kick.. but i do ve intermittent pains on my stomach (below navel area).

Irene, think by these few months, most of us should have our stomaches growing fast! Mine was also quite obvious and clothes all cannot wear already except those really bunky ones.

Sigh.. so shop "broken" on last weekend.. spent almost 450 on clothes. =(
In total, $600 on clothes already.

333555.jpg

Thanks, Muachchie.

By the way, how you ladies tell the difference between baby kick and intermittent stomach cramps/pains?

My gynae told me on last Sat that baby still quite small for me to feel her kick.. but i do ve intermittent pains on my stomach (below navel area).

Irene, think by these few months, most of us should have our stomaches growing fast! Mine was also quite obvious and clothes all cannot wear already except those really bunky ones.

Sigh.. so shop "broken" on last weekend.. spent almost 450 on clothes. =(
In total, $600 on clothes already.

333558.jpg

hi all.....

about the seat...hmmmm...same case to me...stil no one give up seat when taking bus everyday.... although i managed to get a seat...but too infront...then when old ppl boarding...i still consider to give up seat to those need it more...but, ppl besides me just ignore.... really fed up...

gals, do u get mood swings? recently me in kinda of sobby mood. Little things can make me upset. Keep feeling not treated by in laws like a pregnant. ARghhh...always eat fried food...yuckie..

Evon, I hv the same problems as you. I am starting to feel pain/cramp at my abdomen these few days which come and go. It is quite normal I heard, unless it develops into the kind of consistent excruciating pain similar to menstrual cramps. I get very paranoid also, once I feel some pain I will think the worse. But I am learning to relax, still half way the journey to go!

Where did u buy your clothes? I went to KL during the long weekend, and boy, their maternity outfits are much cheaper!! Some are quite nice too! Better not spend all $ at a go, buy as we expand as we may outgrow our maternity clothes fast..esp for me, i am putting on quite a lot of weight!

Hi babe, mood swings are normal.
i guess overall, if u know it is to come, try to relax

.. breathe in and out..

I oso ve slight prob @ times.. especially over sensitive with ppl; not just in laws. Must control... cannot like that offend unnecessary ppl.

Fried food not too good for baby... oiliness oso add on to our carbo. Oso, too much may cause constipation eventually and may lead to "zi chan" at buttocks.
kao_frustrated.gif
So must cut and say "NO" to ur body.

So, I am not the only mtb to feel that pain.

O, Muahchie, I went to Suntec .. there are lot of maternity shops there just opened. Most of them got some form of discount. Especially Perfect Mum (10% for all except some clothes 30%).

My hb and I dun dare go Malaysia.. so didn't go.. n we re lazy to shop for clothes one unless really cannot wear.

I have been putting on and losing weight becoz of health problem. so far, 56kilos already.

O, Mrs Ho. I guess we just ve to think these ppl who don't give seats, are more disabled than us... than will feel better. =p

Anyway, ask u ladies do any of u notice that u've really sensitive nose that is unlike before pregnancy? I notice that I kept sneezing "suddenly" and sometimes a few times at one go. Nose normally blocked at nights.

Hi Muahchie
Thanks for the info, I'll try to check up on it...

Evon, I oso been having blocked nose....esp in office...
Dunno if we can use those methol Inhaler leh....

hey ladies,

i went for my check-up just now. gynae said i can find out gender of baby oredi. but husband not around for check up and he wanted to be around when the discovery of the child's gender is made. so gotta wait for next check-up lor.

but, i'm not so anxious to find out whether boy or girl lah. i was just very grateful just now when doc said baby looks healthy and fine. that's my very very first wish for the baby!

muahchie, where in kl do u buy your clothes?

also, i am having a real tough time putting on weight. each visit to the gynae can be quite depressing cos my weight is not increasing. it's always decreasing! i don't have a good appetite lah. how to increase my appetite?? anybody has any suggestions?

Hi Telly
Have you been drinking milk? Maybe try Annum-1 for pregnant mummies? At least milk contains the essential nutrients for bb...

I'm experiencing blocked nose everynight also and sneezing without any reason...
read in a book that it is one of the symptome that we might experience.. so i din really bother abt it

Telly, I bought my clothes at Sungei Wang, Mid valley as well as Lot 10 Isetan. Quite nice ones. Over here in Singapore, a denim skirt can cost up to $79, but over there its abt 79RM. So its almost half the price. The quality may not be as good, but not tt bad.

I am just the opposite of you. My appetite is so good, I have gained over 4-5kg. And still hv to keep reminding myself not to eat too much. For me, my appetite increases even more when I take chilli, because its very 'kai wei'. But take care not to overeat chilli, very 'burning'. I also drink milk in the morning and at night, as instructed by my gynae.

O, Irene.. guess what... I oso read in a book.. but somehow this was a problem of me having swollen eye glands.
kao_confused.gif

Doc's explanation was the nose "water" travelled upwards instead of downwards and thus discharge blocked the eye glands.

It was awlfully painful and doc noticed that i m prone to this and gave me flu medication to take. But I am also worried that take too much will affect baby...

... Either I want healthy baby or painless eyes.

Just found out that my jpn trip not enough pax, so they putting me in another group. Now the group become so big 40pax. I seldom been on a tour group, usually am on free and easy. This time because not familiar on jpn and no time to read up so take up a package. do you gals think 40 is too big a group? I don't want to waste my $ on an unenjoyable trip ley.
I still have time to decide to join or backout with full refund... in dilemma now..

Wow.. so lucky you.

40??? Isn't the group a bit too big? Any other dates available? Group too big will mean that the group will be rushing from places here and there and will not be enjoying the scenes longer as compared to smaller groups?

My buddy n her hb and then later my mil n sils all travel in groups to JP.. But groups were not that huge. The only time I heard 40 was for my parents' trip to China.

Which travel agency did you book with?

Just my comments... No worries.

333723.jpg

Afternoon ladies!!
heehee...it's me, the late comer everyday

muahchie,
I don't think KKH is so good leh, can reserve the goodie bag for me..heehee...but I shall call up and check if there are slots for me to go for make-up classes

Smurfy,
If I were you, I will forgo my trip as I feel that taking care of myself and bb is the most important thing to do now. After hearing abt my condition, I realised that all is not guranteed although we are in our 2nd trimester. If we make a slight mistake, it may cost us our bb and regret y in the first place, we only thought of enjoying ourself. Personally, that's my opinion but it really depends on individual's thinking. Hope u don't mind my frankness.

Ladies out there,
For those who experience pain below the navel, be careful hor..If ur pain is consistent, please go to the gynae immediately..always remember wat auntie preciousbabe experienced and shared with u all before.

Hi preciousbabe,

i did experienced pain below the navel, think twice but i didn't go and see gynae..cos thought it's ok leh..sometimes i feel that below my navel and slightly above the pubic area abit hard..is it bcos bb is there?? was wondering whether is it abit too low leh.. thinking of asking my gynae when i see her on 23rd..will it be too late??

I'll be enrolling the antenatal class with TMC, but i'll enroll in the class which starts in Jan'06 ends early march'06..most probably going for the sunday class around 2pm.

Any mommies joining??

Hi preciousbabe, you back.

I also have similar pain on Tuesday.... just below my navel. But becoz got diahorrea like, saw doc in evening; doc said intestines problem and result from food poisoning and baby was k and given me MC to rest yesterday.

Then how we differentiate between this type of pain and baby kick??? Baby will kick which part of our stomach? I do ve periodic pain beneath navel.

BTW also notice my navel seems to be getting swollen and my nipples seem to have some whitish and flake-like discharge.

Evon/Preciousbabe,

Ai yo, just when i make up my mind 5 mins ago then i see both your msgs that make me think twice again.
Its just too bad that my gynae appt is this sat but i have make my decision today. So I cannot consult my gynae first. Its been 1 month since i last see him, i also dunno if my bb oke or not, or do i have the same problems as you gals... so fan now..

haiz.... my heart said go but my mind said no...

Hi Rach

Just did some homework as well... Me giving birth at GE, and probably doing elsewhere as the antenatal classes too x

Here is a breakdown on what I got

Gleneagles => $189+5%GST for weekdays;262.50+5%GST for weekends and only four lessons

MAH => $147 (same price for weekdays/weekends); for us giving birth in April, recommend to go for Jan 2006 class. 6 lessons. Weekdays from 6.30pm (2h) and Weekend - Sun from 2pm (2h)

TMC => $210 (weekend) - 6 lessons also. Lots of timing on weekends especially it covers Sat n Sundays.

KKH => $150 (weekday)/$180 (Weekend) - Muahchie has provided the information.

All of them told me spouse is welcome to join in.

Think personally, I may consider MAH as it is near SK and I like the timing (as only then my family car can start "roaring" - OPC).

Hi Smurfy, does your gynae's clinic allow you to call to check on the problem? You can call them up to ask them if it is normal.. and how to check if baby is k. Most likely the clinic will schedule you an apptmt to meet your gynae..

Do call them and see what they advice you.. the most is to bring forward your apptmt with the gynae.

Rach,
my pain is ard that area too...but must be consistent then is considered dangerous. Did your pain intensified? If didnt and the pain comes on and off, probably it's not serious like mine. 23rd is not late lah for your checkup, monitor your pain lor...if worsen, then change apptment to an earlier date

Evon,
Hmm...I think bb kick shld not be painful one leh so quite easy to know if it's cramp or bb kick. My belly button did not swell but it's turning black in colour on the inside, as for my nipples, the skin ard it is itchy and I keep scratching it at night until the skin is torn..so now waiting for the skin to recover.

Smurfy,
Did u ask your gynae if u can travel to overseas? I think it's best to let your gynae check on you before u make any travel plans

hi kk,

you may get the info from the TMC website.

preciousbabe,
as mentioned, i experienced the pain twice on different days..not the on n off type..but i think i'll monitior and see how..i'm concern about the hard feeling below the navel and slightly above the pubic area i get at times... not sure whether is it the bb..if it is, then i think my womb might have drop!kinda worried..but will still monitor and see how before i change my appt cos going to d othe detail scanning togeter with the gynae visit on 23rd..

Rach... baby is now somewhere ard below the navel and above the pubic area.. so sometime you will feel that it's hard there...
baby kicks are not painful now.. cos they are quite small now...
my belly button also did not pop up..
nipple, the skin ard it is itchy also... got white discharge so remember to clean it every time you bath...

Would baby move to navel area??? Guess what... I am panoronic to navel (myself or anybody's).

Ahhhh.. Last week, noticed that my navel was a little tickish.. i got hard time trying to clean it to stop the tick.
kao_embarrassed.gif

Now, seem to be a bit more floating up.. So, see there makes me dizzy..
kao_dizzy.gif

Okay.. me going off soon.. Ve a good rest to all ladies.
kao_byebye.gif

hmm...no posting after 6 liao? heehee...all must have knocked off from work...okie ladies, have a gdnite rest...cya all tmr afternoon
sweet dreamzzzZZZ..

Just come back from spring maternity in Suntec city, wow, there are a lot of nice clothing over there. I brought a top from flava mama and they give me a copy of motherhood magazine, a 6 to 9 month baby suit, lots of coco butter sample and two packets of drinks. I got a shock.

Good morning,

Preciousbade,
R u feeling better?

Me oso starting to hav rashes ard tummy & my chin area. I oso having the flaking looking thingy (look like after sun-burn kinda of skin) ard my nipple but not itchy.

Hi gals...looks like a nice pleasant start for the day. The sun is shining and I'm so tempted to go out and play..ke ke ke....

Btw, what kind of stretch mark cream is safe and effective to apply while pregnant? Is this coco butter good? Can we juz apply any kind of moisturisers?

Hi all.... morning.
kao_kiss.gif

Hope all mtbs have a good rest.

Talking about stretch mark cream.. I have friends who told me must start from now as our tummy expands else later then used no use one.. Dunno true or not.

Also, heard of nipple cream? What is that for? I received a sample when I signed up package with my gynae. Is it to solve the white thing coming out from the nipples one? So that we don't tear our skins around that area??
kao_confused.gif

333916.jpg

Evon/Preciousbabe,

Thanks for the advice/concern. Will check with my gynae tomorrow about the trip. Sometimes I do act on impulse. Kinda decided to go liao cos yst go and buy winter clothes already :p

Very excited to see my gynae tomorrow. Maybe can see gender already..haha...

Maraquan Draik,
Yst also went suntec but i dropped by Int'l Plaza first to shop at Perfect Mum (cos I didnt know suntec also has a branch). I bought $300+ of clothes + bras. They said their bras are specially made and cannot be found elsewhere. It can be worn now as maternity bras and later as nursing bras. Quite comfy and straps removable. Do go and take a look.

Last week also spent $150+ at Spring Maternity + a pants at Kids Mall + 1 pants at Kiddy Palace. Wow, think I spend $600 on my clothes liao

Babe,
Heard that some pple had reactions (eg. raches) to cocoa butter, so apply to a small area first.

My gynae said stretchmark creams actually have not effect on the stretcmarks. If you will have, you will have no matter how much cream you put.

Hi Smurfy,

Wow.. you same same as me.

The Perfect Mum's bras really good.. I also bought. But now buy 2 pieces to get 1 piece free, ard $130+; approx each $40.. The 3rd piece you can keep in the bag with receipt and as our size will further expands and can bring back to change for bigger one.

That was what the sales person tell me.

Hi Evon,

Yup. Thats what she told me also. Do you manage to get the member card? I got mine but I not sure how much is the discount. You know?

Got mine too.. 10% for normal items.. but if got discount already, then think the most another 5%, if I remember correctly.

Pretty like their clothes. But be careful when you wash.. I noticed that the black pants/shirt colour run. Else, clothes are very comfortable and got run for expansion.

yup, the patterns are quite nice, but pretty ex. But still feel the clothes abit too big for my size now. Its looks like i am wearing some oversized clothes. But they are suppose to last us throughout the 9 months, so that should be the way.

I dunno about you gals but I haven't got enough courage to wear maternity clothes yet cos i think i look so fat in them

heehee..somehow when we wear maternity wear we look pregnany when compared to normal wear where we dun look much different....heeheee...
Anyway if u can still fit into ur usual clothes, y not? I can't fit anymore into my bottoms..so no choice n now seriously lack variety in my clothes...

smurfy,
I also dun like to wear maternity clothes until now because I feel I look very sloppy in them. But now got no choice lah, I cannot fit in all my old pants and skirt except one of them. I am still buying non-maternity clothing like baby doll and some skirt but I got some maternity ones too.

babe,
I got rashes from coco butter stretchmark cream and I dun think I will apply anymore cream to my stomach. However, I got a few sample of coco butter and if you want to try, pm me your mailing address and I will send you one.

Babe/Maraquan,

I also bot normal clothings like baby doll dress and I try to wear maternity pants with my normal tops (those that still fit). Maternity tops looks so big on us.

By the way, do you gals have books on pregnancy or babies which you feel is very good to recommend?

The pants are not excatly buggy if you get the right type. Don't get the waist-type pants. Try those on the hips-one. Not baggy and yet still show off your legs?

Some maternity tops especially those sleeveless or neck-type, does not look that huge. Some cuttings are the flared type after the bust area.. the cutting is very like baby doll dress. Quite nice and comfortable than those body-tied ones.

Ve bought two books few months back from MPH. Can't remember the titles. Still prefer to read up from the forums and web as the books are more customized to Western style and not excatly suitable after reading a while.

ya...me still wearing normal wear, but think quite tied liao...have to bear with it...cos meternity wear really huge to us le...

do u gals notice of growing of white hair....before pregnant..i dont have such problem...but now....its growing.....think shd be not enough nutrition or vitamins....so much eat more....(haiz....but, appetite not so good le, not all food can take)

Mrs Ho,
Ya, my colleagues just commented that I have more white hair now. She asked me not to think too much. Is it really due to nutrition reason. Any comments?

Afternoon all..
heehee...had a good lunch just now, how abt u ladies?

winnie,
I'm better liao though now the cramps comes off and on..heehee...thanks for your concern..

Wow...u ladies sure know how to shop...one shot can buy $100+ on clothes ah?! For me, I'll feel the pinch leh if buy at one shot....heehee...u gals got member card liao ah? Next time must jio u all out for shopping, then can use your member card...if u r comfortable with that

Rgding Stretchmarks:
I kana liao..ard my tummy near the belly button area...I started applying stretchmark oil from 8 wks but then not religiously lah...coz my hands r sensitive to creams, oil and lotion..so if hubby is ard, then he will apply for me, if not then I'll just skip it..My fren told me not to scratch your tummy if u feel itchy otherwise will cause more stretchmarks to appear. I didnt know at first then go and scratch..then now have lines liao...