(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Hi Rach,

I think u r very lucky to have the choice of quitting your job. I really want to quit and relax but not willing to lose the $$ aspect of it. Financial burden too high already. Hard for hb. I really wish i can be like u. I really want to sleep now. I blur like sotong!

3 kg in 6 weeks... oh.. did your doc say anything?

Hi Rach,
After you become SAHM, you will not be so bore lah, Maybe you might not even find time for yourself.

My appetite becomes very good today, at least I can finish one whole meal. For the past few days, I have been eating half a meal. Very funny.

Hi Rach,
i think ure lucky to have a choice to quit your job.
like May,i'm also tempted to quit but the financial burden might be too much for my husband to bear. and it's quite risky to just depend on only one rice bowl. plus, this is my first child, so i'm not too sure on how baby expenses are in the near future. i still got my new house reno loan to pay for *dies*

maraquan,
glad to see your appetite is coming back. mine is slowly improving too. this week is better than last week. last week, i could go without eating for one day!

Hi May,
Actually i dun have a choice, i have to quit if i'm preg... I told hb i sudden loss of income,very sad..we actually plan for next year then have bb..but he says no worries, everything under control..as i've mentioned before, this one is accident lor..I realised i put on weight when i went to see my gynea, so she didn't know.. heehee

Hi Maraquan,
Maybe you are right, have to wait till the bb is born first lor..but now i'm staying at home with the tiny one inside me...very bored leh.. my appetite not very good today. usually i enjoy Mac big breakfast but this morning when i went out for breakfast with my hb, no appetite leh. but i still eat lar..cos for bb lor..also experience nausea while on the way..i dun like such feeling..yucks!!

Aiyah Little fish,
it's not got choice arh...it's not choice lah.. Me too, first time mum..wasn't really ready to b mum cos i feel quite scary to be one. I watched the show last week on Nat'l geographic - in the womb..my god, i can't imagine myself giving birth.. Expenses wise,my hb is ok..he can cope,that i'm not worried.

Jasmine
Ya, I bought 7 tops n 3 bottoms liao. Suggest u buy progressively. I am now 4th month...

btw, how to add pictures in this forum?

halo everyone,
may i join in this group too? me gonna be april MTB.... but yet settle the gynae n hospital.

and then me know that feeling cold is normal. coz my sil had been complaining she was hot, warm everytime when she was preg.

Rach and Maraquan,
I got pregnant after I quit my job and like I've shared before, no employers want to employ me as a permanent staff coz of my condition. So wat I do now is temp jobs, at least I can take mc if I dont want to go work when I'm too tired. At the same time can help with the income and kill my boredom. Temp jobs are mostly desk bound and data entry work so not so tiring...

Hi Mums-to-be,

We very poor thing hor. Alot of worries. Worried abt weight, abt baby, abt ms, abt clothes n shoes, abt housework, abt work/career, abt finances...oh no...what else!!!

After all these, i think we can say that we are indeed quite strong huh!

Hi Choo,

Dont worry to much abt the ms. Some woman really dont have ms and the baby is fine too. My gal friend didnt even know she was preg till she was in her 3rd mth. No ms at all.

Ya Choo,
I agree with May too. My mummy also did not suffer from ms when she had me. She's abit disgusted at the way I always try to control my vomitting...haha...so no worries ya, if u dont have ms

Welcome Leereiner,

Congratulations!

Hi Preciousbabe,

I understand your problem. Lots of companies dont even want to employ ladies that are married and are ard late 20s age. Reason - prob will get preg soon. Than need to take maternity leave. Terrible huh.

May,preciousbabe,

So I shd count myself quite lucky no MS yeah?

today I felt so much better...hope I can remain like this....
I want to be a happy mummy!

May,
Ya, I actuali was offered 2 perm jobs but the employers changed their minds upon hearing that I'm pregnant. So angry...my fren even told me to write in to straits times forum to share abt wat I've experienced...haha
But I'm not detered..still looking out for temp jobs..must save enough $ to prepare for my bb's arrival. Heard from my cousin that expenses are very high...will spend around $200-300 mthly just on milk powder and diapers. Havnt include $ to pay my mum for heping me to take care of bb

Choo,
That's the spirit! Now we have to eat watever we can, feel like the queen now! coz in a few mths time during confinement, we cant eat anyhow we want liao..so enjoy while we still can!

Updated List

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Des</TD><TD>11/04/06</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousbabe</TD><TD>12/04/06</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Choo</TD><TD>13/04/06</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>GT</TD><TD>13/04/06</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasminetea</TD><TD>15/04/06</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Ho</TD><TD>18/04/06</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>May</TD><TD>18/04/06</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Terrier </TD><TD>20/04/06</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Fish</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>Dr Goh Shen Li</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gebbera</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rach</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mandy</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>Dr T C Chang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maraquan</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leereiner</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

Hi Ladies, I get cold quite easily too. Even the air con turns to 26 deg still quite cold to me. I used to be able to tahan until 21 degree. Got to wear jacket all the time now.

I feel quite breathless esp when climbling the staircases at times. U all got this feeling?

Little Fish, I had tot of being a SAHM esp after seeing my boss's attitude changed just 'cos I pregnant. Still a bit upset with him but I just ignore him an do my daily work. I hope to set up a mini home business. But let see how it goes.

Choo, I didn't have MS either (up to now). Only thing is I got a lot of "gas" in me. Kept burp and burp for nothing. I read a lot of books that said some people just don't have MS at all.

Mandy, good luck to your exams!

Welcome Leereiner

so happy to be in this thread!!

ok I promise you all ladies that I must be HAPPY everyday !!!

ok got to go off now!crave for Boon TIong Kee chicken rice and hubby bringing me to makan!!yummy!!

see you!

would like to get some advise from you all:- gg for our honeymoon in sep is it advisable? by then tik me already 8-9 weeks.... heard lots of -ve abt travelling during this period. called it as critical period eh....

when you all intend to tell your boss that you're preg? coz my company has this preg leave, 1/2 day leave every mth from the 1st till 6th. then 2x0.5 days leave for every mth for 7th to 9th.... dun wan to lugi the "free" leave leh. On the other hand, dun wan to let whole co know till mine is stable, i.e after 3rd mth.... what to do?

Leereiner,
wah, your leave issue is very complicated to me so cant offer any advice on that. As for the honeymoon part, think it's a BIG no no...don't travel lah...if u want to have honeymoon, can make up for it after u give birth. I also have plans for travel but all have to postpone to next year. Must reali take care of our body from now on

To May and Preciousbabe,

thanks for your assurance about honey. I haven't resume taking honey yet. anyway, my rashes were much better the day after I posted the message, and now, there's no more rashes. didn't see doc. also.
kao_confused.gif
v funni rite?

Leereiner,
As for travelling better ask your gynae. When my sister was pregnant in her 1st tri, she asked her gynae if you could travel and her gynae tell her to go. She ended up going to Bangkok and another 3 days cruise during her 1st tri.

Leereiner. it's good that your company give employees this kinda benefits.. how i wish mine has also...
maybe can just tell your boss and tell him that you dun want others to know before 3mths? I'm sure he will understand...
as for your honeymoon, i also feel that you better ask your gynae for advise...

plan to see gynae after the 3rd mth. tik no choice now, nd to shortlist one asap. hubby said no no to travel too. He's afraid me gonna ve same case as my SIL. (she was hospitalized a few times, coz of bleeding).... me oso sacre....

Good Morning Gals!

It's Thursday liao!

Hi Leereiner
How come you only see gynae so late? Tot it'll be better to have your gynae to start monitoring you early? 1st trimester is unstable, so gynae would want us to go back for checkup fortnightly.

Through early detection, my gynae found blood clot and cyst in my ovary. So at least now we can monitor my condition lor...

Ya, I'm feeling really cold nowadays, now start sneezing liao...

Jasminetea, I oso feel breathless n very easily tired nowadays when I climb just 2 levels of stairs....

I'm also due in April 06. I'm seeing Dr HK Ho at Mt A. Looking forward to learning more from you gals!

I've been having fungal infection, quite worrying, though Dr. says will not affect the baby. Hope it goes away soon.

Morning gals!!

thursday liao!!

last night me realy tired..dozed off at about 915pm...

jasmine,

can't tell if I will feel breathless by just climbing 2 level of stairs cos no stairs ard for me to climb leh..

oh so looking forward to my bb this sat!

I saw the show yesternite, was quite affected by the last part.. till now, still thinking of it.. but admitted the show was good.

i miss the show again... went to bed at 10pm.. and totally forgot about the show...

thinking of going for my 1st checkup today as i din go to work... wake up late in the morning and still feeling tired...
but the gynae that i wanted to go is on leave today.. should i change to another one??

Leereiner,
Last time my gynae told me that wk8-wk10 its super critical n dangerous for 1st tri. Can be say that this period to justify whether ur preg will it be stable or not.. if u check wif ur gynae, he/she might say ok to go ahead for travelling.. but hor, some time the thing its really unpredicted one.. so if can postponse, pls postponse.. play safe better than sorry.. dun wan in the end to blamed dr that he/she give green light, yet something happened (touchwood)..

share my experience.. i hv travelling back to ipoh during cny for 1wk... at 1st tot its nothing to worry, also never check wif gynae.. guess wat, in the end found out that bb stop heartbeat aft coming back when go check up.. tat time i m 9wks preg... in the end m/c then

Morning Ladies,

Its finally Thurs. 1 more day of work.... drag...
Oh, i went to see a gynea at KKH yesterday and he said that being bloated is normal. Its caused by hormones. He prescribed some hormone pills to me too. Its to stablise the womb as i still get cramps. Other than that, everything seems normal so far but i didnt get to see the baby's heartbeat. Doc said its too small. I dont really understand why coz i tot im 6 weeks already. Im getting worried!

Leereiner,

I envy u. Your co policy is so good. I cant even take 1/2 day leave. So sad. I also think that u should postpone your honeymoon if u can. Heard alot abt preg ladies travelling and than xxxx...(touchwood). So if can, postpone till after birth loh. I also postpone my till maybe aafter birth or later.

Oh ladies,

Can i check with all how much is your avg bill when u see your gynea? Does the bill include a scan, urine test, consultaion? My bill at KK yesterday came up to $130.

Also, the doc said that in emergency, just go to the emergency clinic/dept. Is is like that with your gyneas too? Or do your gyneas allow u to call them personally in the event of emergency?

Im still considering which hospital to go to and which gynea to see. Hmmmm....

May,

Dun worry...every pregnant woman is different ...some can see hearbeat as early as 5.5 weeks some maybe quite late like 8 or 9 weeks from I have gathered from the forum....

Would like to join the board. Just found out that I'm pregnant but havent had ultrasound to determine what stage yet as I'm currently travelling.

I'm looking for a gyne now but dont know how to go about it. How did most of you choose your gynes?

I got of the pill less than 3 mths ago and wasnt expecting to "kena" so soon. Also had an Xray a mth ago as I didnt suspect I was pregnant. Now worried that the Xray might have been harmful.

Morning to all the Pretty Mummies,

Choo, me too, no Ms but sometimes feel nausea only. But i think not all will experience MS lor..my friends didn't experience it when she was having her 2 children then..

Leereiner,
Congrats to you!!
I suppose it's better for you to postphone your honeymoon lor..cos i also plan for honeymoon but mine is in next feb but guess have to shelf it till after birth lor...no choice, if *touchwood* anything happens, we're responsible for it leh..gotta really think twice lor..

May,
i went to gynea during my 5th week,also cannot see bb heartbeat..but my gynea mentioned that 2 weeks ltr can see liao so i still waiting for my next appt next week lor...My first appt cost $256.20 i experience brownish spotting then so got to take sample to test. my consultation fees 90.00, sample test 35.00, medicine 49.00 and scan 70.00 + GST 12.20. Think subsequent consultation fees should be lower...

jasmine,
Me just climb the stairs last night...thought of doing some exercise as i felt that i've out on weight..was really grasping for air after climbing the stairs up to my place!! Gosh!!

Hi wishbear,
kao_welcome2.gif

Hi Choo,

Thanks. I feel better now. Was getting worried. Tot that the baby's growth is too slow / small due to 2nd hand smoke ard me. My boss smokes heavily.

Hi Adelene,

Congratulations and welcome!

I think most MTB choose their gyneas by referrals. If not, i guess its a random thing. I got my ramdomly.

Wow.. u got off the pill n got lucky so quickly. That's very lucky. Oh.. u had an x ray a mth ago...u might have just missed the conception period when u did the x-ray. If u just missed your period n discovered that u r preg, than you should be abt 4-5weeks preg. If this is the case, given that u did the x-ray b4 conception, i think its still quite safe. Dont worry too much k. Check with a gynea when u come back.

Hi Rach,

Wow, yours very exp huh. Tks alot. Your breakdown helped me do a comparison.

By the way, i have put on 1kg. Terrible!

hi gals...
i'm going for my 1st visit later at 3++pm..
will update you gals after that..
feeling so excited now

Hi Rach,

Im sure im going to put on even more. The cravings have not hit yet. When they hit, im going to eat n eat n eat. I know myself. Oh...

Hi Choo,

Wow.. Dr Chua very exp huh. Ok, tks. I doing cost comparisons.

Hi Irene,

Good luck! Its very exciting to see the baby sac for the first time. Keep the scans.

May,

She is ex but she is very patient,detailed and assured gynae...looks like I may choose her over Dr Adrain though he's so much cheaper....hubby told me he felt a bit let Dr Adrain down since we have been seeing him last year Sept when we started TTC but comfort level wise I prefer Dr Eunice to him...we shall see this sat when my hubby will accompany me see DR Eunice as the first time he was working so didn't accompany me...

val,

hehe thanks leh!i have a question first scan is $70 and doesnt matter if it is v scan or abdominal scan right?

Hi Rach,

The gynae I'm seeing now is quite reasonable, he doesn't charges for scan, only consultation $40. But he does not do delivery, so I'll be going back to my previous gynae, Dr Ho. Don't know how are his charges like now.

I saw my baby's hearbeat at about 6 weeks, but through the trans-vigianl scan, can't see using the abdominal scan. You'll prob see yours next visit. Drink more water before the scan!

choo,
I think so...V scan maybe more ex so $70, ab scan is $30 for sure, keep all ur TLC receipt/invoices for record

Hi Irene,

I have not chosen my gynea yet. Not sure who to choose. People giving me lots of reviews - go to KKH coz they are specilaised. All emergency cases from private hospitals go back to KKH. But KKH's service may not be as good as private's. Very torn.

Hi Choo,

If subsequent consultation is 50 and scan is 30, that's quite ok. Not too exp.

Hi Wishbear,

I did the v scan and could only see a tiny thing in the waterbag..can't see the heartbag..even Dr Chua also say still cannot see the heartbeat but 2 weeks ltr can see liao..so i just gotta wait patiently till next week lor...