(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Jumbo,

yar, i agree with you that it's really sturdy,and i like it that it can stand on it's own when i keep it, dun have to lean against the wall. easy to keep lor..

you may like to visit the website for more details : www.pegperego.com

Thks Evon for d email addy.

Aiyo, Babejoy is supposed to deliver d playmat today betw 11am-2pm. But have not heard from them since last Sat. Alamak! Me too lost d contact no. of d deliveryman. So no choice, oni to email them.

bblim, is it? She was rather punctual when she delivered mine on Monday nite. But I've removed her hp number from my hp. you may want to ask valc see if she has? =)

Yipee... Finally received d mat. It was much bigger than wat I expected. So happy!

Thks again Evon & Terrier for ur help.

Just now I go and pack my baby stuff. My sister gave me lots of stuffs but I have just throw one side.

I got a shock of my life.
11 bibs
12 caps & hats
10 pairs of mittens
29 pairs of booties & socks (somemore I go & knit 2 pairs)
10 diapers pants

The rest I have not see yet, too tired.

Maraquan

That's alot of stuffs! And you are lucky to be able to get so many hands-me-down from your sis.. my youngest niece is already 9 years old this year.. so nothing to get from my SIL.. so got to buy everything on my own.. spend about $2.8k in total on bb things so far..

Maraquan,
Ya, agreed with hunniepot that u have quite alot. I also had 4 bags of hands-me-downs but are all clothes. Didn't have any of the items that u listed so in the end also have to buy some. Lucky u!!

Cannot sleep, feeling so guiltly lucky. Woke up and count somemore.
1 air filled rubber sheet
2 blankets
2 receving towels
2 button all the way night gowns
2 baby carriers
1 baby sling
21 face towels
17 creepers
15 bottoms
46 tops
1 avent bottle carrier
4 newborn avent bottles
2 small milk powder containers
& some leftover NB diapers, disposable panties & nursing pads.

I think I am going to wash until siao lah, my sister still tell me got somemore she have not pack yet.

By the way, I still got a big bag of maternity clothing that I have not touch yet. Feeling so guilty.

wow Maraquan, you've so many BB stuffs!!!! :D
Are u gonna buy electric bottle steriliser? Or is there alternative ways to sterilise milk bottles? My gal's milk bottles are occupying the slots, contemplating whether to get another one for BB but doesn't sound rationale leh...

Maraquan

Haha! The things you've got.. seems more than enough for twins or even triplets!

Juzmaine

Think the only alternative is to boil the bottles if you want to sterilise them if you dont want to get another electric steam steriliser.. but is it really necessary to get another one? Think one shld be enough for your bb and your gal right?

Hi Maraquan

Wonder if the 4 newborn avent bottles have been used before? You may like to consider not using them if they had been used, b'coz I read that we should discard milk bottles after few months of usage...not advicable to use for long-term, b'coz of those chemical reactions from cleaning, milk deposits etc...

Wow.. Draik...
kao_dizzy.gif

U really've lots...

Want to give us some??
kao_drool.gif

kao_embarrassed.gif
Just kidding.

Anyway, for the clothes, re they all the same size? See that u were given lots of tops..

Re: PetPet Diapers
Anyway got thix??? I can only find S size, the smallest at Kiddy Palace.

Re: Maternity Disposable undies
Hunniepot,
I saw the MaxKool ones but they seem to b a bit plastic feeling leh...

girls, u all using pet pet for ur baby?? me thinking of using huggies as recommended by my friend.. but seems cant find S size around my area.. pet pet good? maybe can try..

just bought maternity disposable undies from kiddy palace yesterday.. one is from Maxcool, one is from carnation.. wanna try out and will buy more for my confinement..

Maraquan

Yupz.. agree with terrier.. guess it might be better to use brand new milk bottles, breast pump for bb.. cos there might not be hygienic for bb as bacterias are known to thrive in milk traces..

Evon

There are two types of fabric leh.. the maxcool one.. one is cottony and the other is .. i cant remember the fabric liao.. I got the cottony one and it is really comfortable

Re: Disposable diapers

What brands are you gals stocking up for now? I got pampers premium & pampers dry; nepia, sealer and mamy poko NB.. decided to get these few brands cos read about the good comments from other threads..

Re: maternity undies & pads

How many undies do you gals think we shld get? And how about the maternity pads? I got 2 packets of maternity pads from mothercare last week (usual price: $5.50 now at $3) read from the March MTB thread that it is good. so I got 2 packets of 12 each.. but it does not have the wings though

The NB avent bottles are not new, my sister only tell me to change the nib. My sister also got a manual pump which she is not giving to me although she is not using it. She advise me to get a new one. If I get the new pump, it will come with 2 newborn bottles. See how first lah.

Got another big bag of cloth diapers from her today. Really going to wash until siao lah. I asked her did my nephew really use so much stuffs, and she said YES.

Disposable Diapers,
I brought a pack of pampers premium yesterday. Did not really go and compare with the rest.

Maternity undies & pads,
I brought 9 packs disposable cotton panties from Metro warehouse sale. But it is not as cheap as $3, should have waited. For pads, I brought 1 pack loop type and 1 pack stick type. If not enough, then buy again.

for diapers, how many pks we need?
we bought 2 pks of pamper premium NB and 1 pk fitti NB... wonder if it's enuff??
scare they grow too fast then cannot fit into NB size

Re: Diapers
Just my personal view. I feel that there is no need to stock up diapers coz u never know which brand your bb is suitable to. For my case, I'm just going to use whatever is left from the hospital stay. Not enough then get hb to go and buy. Anyway, diapers are readily available at any supermarkets or provision stores.

ya, will buy the diaper in minumum quantity and will try out different brand to make comparison..

for maternity pad, do we really need to buy for maternity use or just normal pad? wat's the difference between maternity and normal one? Maraquan, wat's the loop type for maternity pad?

Btw, anyone know where to buy Desitini Creamy (blue packaging) for baby nappy rash? Can only find the white packaging in Watson and Guardian..

Re: Nappy Rash Cream
Hmm...wonder y everyone is getting the Desitini Cream? Coz according to my frens and even the educator from my antenatal class, they asked me to get Drapolene Cream. But the best prevention for nappy rash is to apply the nappy rash cream on bb after wiping clean and changing the diaper regardless if bb has nappy rash or not. Hope this info is useful

Re: Maternity Pad
Jumbo, I believe maternity pads r definitely thicker, longer and have better absorption than the normal pads. Of coz u can choose to use normal pads but mayb have to use several pieces per day as our flow will be super heavy. Imagine not having menses for 10 mths and then the block inside is cleared once and for all??? The loop type is the one with no sticky tape on the pad. The pad is worn just using string to hold the pad and normally no need to wear undies if u r using the loop type pad. This type of pad is normally used in hospitals but the quality not so good. Very thick and hard.

Re: Maternity Disposable undies
Hunniepot, I touched and touched but found them quite similar to those at Watsons leh. Previously bought those in Watsons before, it was not that nice to wear and so I got to throw them away.

So this time, ended up I didn't buy. Sigh. Mayb 2morrow go Robinsons or Seiyu to look and find.

Jumbo, I didn't see the carnation one... got meh?? Got saw the pokky dots and plain ones from MaxKool.

Re: How many undies and pads
I oso trying to figure out on this one.

In hosp, we will wear the disposable ones but how about at home? How many of you are going to continue wearing the disponsable ones? Heard that after birth, there are lots of discharge for the first 3~5 days. Jumbo, are you going to wear throughout the confinement period?

In terms of maternity pads, think the normal one may not be able to contain the flow that well. While the maternity ones are slightly thicker? Or was it becoz of the cuts we may have and so the design is different?

I've got a packet from Guardian but thinking of mixing another packet as well to try. Saw those in Kiddy Palace as well but didn't buy.. will go read up on it.

Irene, what size you saw? I was at Compasspoint's Cold Storage but only saw M, L and XL. So went up Kiddy Palace to find S. And on the package it indicates that S size is the smallest; unlike Pampers Premium which indicates for NB.

Jumbo, I read in other threads that PetPet is one of the cheapest apart from Drypers. But becoz there are certain feedback that Drypers was not so absorable or the poo may come out etc.. so I choose to try PetPet.

Huggies was also in my mind... but will first try the Pampers and Petpet first on my bb gal.. So you getting Huggies?

Preciousbabe, agreed with what you say... Just my tots, if u mtbs want, we can send a piece to each other to try? =p

Hb's colleague was saying his 2yr old bb gal got to try different type of diapers to finally find the right one.. So juz my tots la. Juz within ourselves. How is that?

Re: Destiny Cream
Jumbo, there was a spree previously on this. You didn't order? Think they may organize some more... So do watch out for it. I got mine at $18. But another spree managed to get the supplier to give $16.

jumbo

As for the desitin blue packaging.. you can get it off this bulk purchase: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/365606.html?1139748329 the starter of the bulk purchase is Lynette.. Alternatively.. saw that KKH pharmacy has it too.. but it is pretty pricey.. $12.95 for 2 oz.. but thru this bulk purchase.. you can get it off at $16 for 4 oz.. I got mine from another bulk purchase.. still waiting for them to get back to me.. Rach and Evon.. heard anything from Maggie?

Re: maternity pads

Yeah.. agree with preciousbabe.. heard that the quality at the hospitals aren't so good.. and if you are used to the adhesive ones.. better get your own.. as I mentioned.. seems like mothercare pads are getting pretty good comments.. no harm buying as it is pretty cheap now.. $3 for 1 pack..

Re: maternity undies

Evon, maybe you can buy the watsons one and the kiddy palace one and try it out first lor.. the material might be the same.. but the cutting might be different?

Re: exchange of diapers

It is a good idea to exchange among ourselves.. but the problem will be how to exchange leh?

preciousbabe, doing preparation reasearch for baby.. maybe cos this is my first baby.. tend to be more gan cheong and wanna get everything best for him.. keke..

for maternity pad.. saw a brand at shop and save yesterday.. cant remember the brand... i'm not sure abt the thickness but the length definately shorter than Sofy ultra long.. hmm.. still have no idea the loop type pad is.. keke..

koalarie, i got the brand carnation one from Kiddy palace from Jurong point brach.. wanna buy one package for each brand and try out lor.. maxcool and carnation are both pokky dot one.. cos i'm thinking of wearing it for my entire confinement.. will buy more after tried them out.. dun feel comfortable to let other wash and hang my undies.. weird me.. keke..

for diaper, saw Fitti NB, Huggies NB and Pamper NB too.. think will get the pamper for new born, will buy a pack to standby lor.. will get from neighbourhood medical hall cos tat side selling cheaper stuff.. saw watson selling huggies S size 8 pcs for $2.. very small packaging..

the bulk purchase of desitini cream.. dun think wanna join them.. saw the thread.. so many order leh.. me see liao also 'luan'.. think go outside buy will be much faster although pricey..

going for my check up on Wednesday.. can go to the pharmacy and look for it lor..

hunnipot, u got the maternity pad from mothercare huh?? $3 for 1 packet?? how many pcs inside?? dunno how long the flow is going to last, cos need to estimate the quantity..

Just went Kiddy Palace @ Causeway point yesterday. There's a promoter for diapers giving away free samples for 2 brands, think is PetPet & Pampers

I only bought a packet of Pampers Premium, the one that has a blue line to indicate whether time to change diapers or not. Will use it only when i bring bb out for doc's appointment. At home, planning to use clothe nappy as cheaper maintenance.

Re: Maternity Pads
I bought Sofy Heavy Night Flow pads after evaluating the different brands at NTUC. Never tried this brand b4 but it seems to be the longest. Also read from other thread that we could put on 2 pads to help cushion the pain (episotomy) and the blood flow.

daphne, same here.. plan to let bb wear diaper only going out.. at home can wear cloth one..
for maternity pad.. i used sofy extra long when i had menses.. will put 2 pads during heavy flow.. think will get back sofy ultra long.. it is about 33-35cm.. cant remember..

hunniepot,
me still waiting for Maggies's reply as well leh..guess maybe gotta wait for awhile lor..still got time to wait so i no hurry..

regards to exchange of diapers, maybe can send by post lor, easier compared to meeting up..just my two cents suggestion..

jumbo

Re: maternity pads

The mothercare maternity pads costs $3 for 12 pieces in 1 pack.. its on sale now.. normal price is $5.50 each..

Anyone have any idea how long the menses will last after delivery??

I'm also planning to use diapers only for going out and also for night use.. so bought several brands to try out as not all diapers will be suitable for bb..

Rach

Me too.. still waiting for Maggie's reply.. yeah lor.. think got to wait for her to revert..

Maybe those of us who are meeting up next friday can exchange some diapers first?

Re: Destin cream
Nope.. the last email I've was last week. Will be asking her for her contact number to see how long more to wait. At least the bumper mat came in so fast and quick.

Preciousbabe, that brand, my mom used to use on the bbs she took care, seem quite good and effective.. But I want to try tix brand to see why ppl can go all out to wanna buy tix.. =p

Re: Maternity undies
Wow.. Jumbo, throughout huh.. me oso thinking of something like that during confinement, I a bit paiseh that CL has to do my and BB's laundry .. especially mine.. hmmm..

Hunniepot, will let you know.. Will go see which is better one. = )

Ah yo.. how come Jumbo so lucky... I don't see any NB for Huggies, Fitti leh.. =(

Mayb my luck.

Terrier, really??? They dun've such promo when I was at Compasspoint.. Sigh..

Daphne, yesterday my parents had a discussion with me on tix as well. If you've dryer @ home n ve enuf space to dry the cloth diapers, would be good.

But for me, the hanging area is so small and limited and I dun ve dryer. Then my cousin told me hers practically wet approx. 8~10 pieces a day especially during bf. So my mom was suggesting tat i got another pack of diapers. That's y went to buy PetPet. =p

Re: Exchange of Diapers
Post? Just a few piece to try.. not a prob to me leh. Rather than buy the whole pack and then later cannot use.. rite? The Petpet one quite many pieces.. but not sure of the absorbant. = )

hunniepot, thanks for the info.. but where's mothercare huh?? if no time to go then will buy normal pad liao..

koalarie, ya.. wanna wear it throughout the whole confinement.. cos dun need worry if stain the undies lor..

for the NB diaper for fitti, huggies and pamper, saw it at Shop & Save westmall..

hi terrier,

Ya, I do have. There nothing much inside tho. Only a CD, silver fork and spoon. I have 2 such bags now.

How do you find the lesson.. boring ya?

Re: Maternity pads
Think we should get a pack of maternity pads for standby still even though we know we could use sofy ultra long.

Think I'll get the mummy poko one since they have one with a dent infront to prevent the diapers from covering the naval hole where the stump is still attached during the first week.

Re: Things to buy
I have quite a comprehensive list here as reference. Maybe some would like to have:
<!-attachment-!><center>
attachment_icon.gif
</center><!-/attachment-!>

Note that some of the items is really optional, up to individual preference.

Hmm ladies

Seems like my tummy is not getting bigger this 1 - 2 weeks.. thought the growth should be exponential.. bb is moving around very much as usual.. but just find it wierd that my tummy doesn't seem to be growing much

Anyone intending to deposit bb's cord blood with cordlife?

Terrier,
I went to Causeway Pt KP too yesterday ard 2pm. Wat time u went? Who noes we might hv pass by each other without knowing. Bot a pack of Fitti NB from d promoter n managed to ask for 4 free samples.
Oso d Pigeon washing powder is adjusted bk to its original price of $8.10. Shld hv bot when still priced @ $6.00.
Anyway, bot at JL for $6.50.

Hunniepot, I'm considering deposit my bb's cord blood with Stemcord. Will be dropping by at the Gleneagles Stemcord next week when I go for hospital tour. Are you considering as well?

jumbo

Heard that there is a bulk discount at cordlife if we managed to gather more mommies to deposit bb cord blood with them.. just wondering who is interested?

Jasminetea

Im considering cordlife leh.. seems like the one off fee is cheaper.. they have cordlife at glenE as well..

bblim, no lah, I was there much later than u....I saw alot of preggies yesterday while I was at the basement fountain side eating my bread, kept pointing out to my hubby when a preggie walked past us...heeheee....

Saw the metro 20% going on, so bought the 4-in-1 mattress pad for bb's cot...

Hunniepot, is it?? But I was told cordlife more expensive leh. Then I better drop by at both Cordlife and Stemcord to compare price.

jasminetea

Heh.. just asked one of the March MTB for more details abt the grp discount.. will get back to you when she reverts

Found this comment from one of the mummies in the thread provided by jumbo.. you can go take a look:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=36738&amp;post=988267#POST988267

jumbo

Think it is ok if our tummies dont grow so much, most imptly bb is puttiong on weight! Cant wait for my gynae appt this fri.. want to know how much weight my bb has put on.. guess bb is moving lesser cos he has lesser space to move about.. so try not to worry too much!

Hmmmm.... Don't know where i read abt it or hear abt it. But it is not 100% that growing stem cells from cord blood can 100% save lives n normally it's more useful for the owner of that cord blood than for his/her siblings or close family members.
Also, read that after several years (>5years later, the price of depositing it is more expensive as well).
Jasminetea and hunniepot, you two going to GlenE's tour next week? Or juz Jasminetea, I'm keen to find out on my queries as well on the hospital and cord blood deposit. =p