(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

I know I shouldn't have dogs in the 1st place but I really love animals. My condition was well controlled before expecting and my dogs are very well behaved. In fact, they are obedience championship dogs. They won several awards in the SKC shows. They also participate in mediacorp shows too. It's only these few months where they suddenly change in character.

I believe they are jealous. There's once where we had a 3rd dog. They were so destructive and my female dog swallowed a sock and we had to bring her to the vet to operate her. We'd to give up the 3rd dog and they just went back to their original selves.

I'm really at a loss. Anyone has advice on how to teach them to accept BB?

How r u all?? I've been busy and office is nt so convenient to log in in the office. Btw, my colleague recommended this CL, she is M'san but has social visitor pass. She will be available from Mid April onwards. Interested can call her 9388-1631, "Mei Jie". Cheers, Mandy

sunshine

Won't be able to help you on this as I'm totally clueless on this issue myself.. but the more importantly, you have to think of your baby first.. like what many of us suggested.. you shld look for pet-sit help immediately now that your condition is so serious to the extent that you have to stay at home on doctor's advice. The issue on how to get your dogs to accept your baby is secondary to that.. you can slowly think about it the next few months.

Sunshine, sad 2 say, if u re already so upset abt them misbehaving... how much patience or tolerance > can u spend 2 train them to accept bb?
It makes no diff whether they re champion dogs or not, doesn't matter. My gf's dog doesn't anyway n the dog really behaves better now. My little chins too.. /w occasion misbehaviours.. but they re "kids", lots of patience need 2 help them to accept a new member. With ur hb not ard n u being asmathic, u really ve to think carefully, Sunshine. The priority is YOURSELF N BB.
It's really not difficult 2 make up decisions... yet, I wish u happy n b cheerful so tat bb too b a cheerful little bb.

Sunshine,
Maybe you should start using baby wipes on your furniture and baby powder on yourself now. Let them get used to the smell so that the baby will not smell so strange.

I have started using baby wipe to clean the surface of my furniture and sometime my cats are curious, I just let them sniff at the wet tissue. I think my cats will get jealous at the baby arrival but I am hoping that it will not last long.

sunshine

You shld take a look at this month's issue of Today's Parents. There is an article on "A Time of Testing: Stressful Pregnancy = Fretful Baby?" It stated that scientific evidence exists to confirm that prenatal stress can affect the mental and behavioral development of the unborn baby.

Sometimes sacrifices have to be made when making decisions.. I left my job when I was 3 months pregnant as I did not wish for the stress I experience at work to affect my growing baby.. though I do look back from time to time.. but ultimately.. I do not regret my decision one bit.. as I know what I did is for the good of my baby girl. Sometimes, the right decision is presented right in front of you.. and it is up to you to accept it or not.. wish you all the best.

sunshine,
Hmm...so u r determined to keep the dogs. I feel happy for the dogs but worried abt your health at the same time. I've read up somewhere that u can actually get some used stuff by bb to put at home first for eg, bb clothes, nappies. Introduce your dogs to another person's scent and if u have a nursery set up for your bb, put the used stuff in the room. In that case, your dogs will know that another person is in the house and they will get use to the scent soon.
Hope this suggestion helps. Take care

Good idea about introducing them to the bb powder, creams, bb's stuffs, nursery, etc. Thanks... I'll try them out. What I did now is to talk to them and made them smell my tummy, share with them about the little one in me. Hope they will understand.

Hey if anyone knows of cheap and good pet sit services, pls let me know. I'm thinking of sending them to pet sitter during my confinement. The dog care centre I went to is quite costly.

sunshine,
I'll help u check with my groomer abt the pet sit service as I think his pet shop does provide that. Anyway, u intend to let your dogs stay at the pet centre for 24h till the end of your confinement?

So quiet today?

Has been raining since last night ard 10pm. Ladies, for those going out, pls b careful. Wear shoes re not slippery. The rain has made the floors really really wet n do walk slowly. K?

Hi Hi...
Ya...it's quite quiet these few days hor...

Start a new topic....when you ladies planning to go on materity leave? I already got quite a few colleagues asking me this question. But I dunno leh...what if bb wants to come out earlier than EDD and during my office hours?

Evon,
Tks for ur concern.....

Hi Terrier
I think i'll be going 1 week b4 my EDD. My EDD is 22 Apr so i think i'll going on 15 Apr loh!

Dunno leh.. i oso got ppl telling me girls may pop up early.. so dunno if i start taking my maternity leave 2 weeks b4 due is sufficient or not.
Anyway, if contract not renewed, I b home for two months /w paid salary n then bonus n then no > $... =(

So probably b staying home, learning 2 adapt as new mum, n busy looking 4 jobs... but in the meanwhile improving on my resume n interviews. Work-out as well so that can bring back the figure then during interviews, ppl don't see that I was once pregnant. =p

Anyone read today's urban copy? Yucks.. so disgusting.. there are people who actually eat placenta, claiming that it will give rise to better complexion and better health!

Also read from many books and magazines, saying that pregnant mums (esp first time MTB) tend to "glow", with better skin and hair.. how true is it for you gals? For me, it seems to be the opposite.. since young, I seldom have pimple problems, and had rosy cheeks since young too.. and ever since I got pregnant, I have pimples everywhere.. on my belly especially! And my skin colour is not as nice as b4 my pregnancy..

Hunni,
my complexion def. better during preg. Now no more pimples. and more smooth. Thay say expecting girl will have better complexion.

Hi all!!

wow, it's raining again?! Can't believe it leh, rained from last night till now still havn't stop yet. Where did the sky ever get so much rain to pour? Anyway, I also benefitted from the downpour lah, slept like a pig throughout the night. Don't even want to wake up to pee!! Haahaa.....

I can't contribute to the maternity leave thingy leh coz I don't have that privilege. But read from other threads that no need to go on leave so early one. Mayb can start to go on leave when your gynae tells u that u r abt to deliver? Coz by then we'll be going for checkup every week and gynae will be checking our cervix and position of bb etc, and will be able to predict when we r giving birth. By then apply for maternity leave shld be ok. Otherwise u will be wasting your leave, growing mushrooms at home.

Evon,
Not all bb girls pop early. Think it's not dependent on the gender of bb.

Hunniepot,
Don't feel upset abt your skin problem. I have my share too!! But my mum and all the aunties told me that if we do have pimples or dull skin during pregnancy, we will GLOW after delivery!! Even better than what we have before!! So there's still hope!!

cheona,

Im expecting a girl too.. and seems like my complexion has become worse instead.. very greasy also.. though I wash my face more frequently nowadays and I no longer put on make-up.. the pimples still keeps coming..

preciousbabe

Really ah? *cross fingers* Learnt from my antenatal class that most pregnant women will benefit from better complexion and only the minority will have worse complexion.. heh guess both you and I belong to the minority.. and hopefully we will GLOW after delivery

hunniepot,
haahaa...well, that's wat the older people say lor..hopefully it's true. But for my case, my complexion is not greasy leh but still got pimples popping out. Mayb it's due to heatiness lor coz during pregnancy, body is quite heaty then cannot drink herbal tea or cooling stuff.

hmm...I'm craving for pineapple tarts and bak kwa all of a sudden. Anyway, I went to bugis last week and bought a box of pineapple tarts. Very expensive leh $19.50 for 40 pieces. But it was delicious as it was not very sweet. I prefer pineapple tarts that are abit sour. And guess what, I finished the whole box by myself within 2 days!! haahaa...tmr is my antenatal class again, can go Bugis can buy a few more boxes liao!! Can't wait!!

Just to share something funny with u ladies. Think my bb, Jayden, is very cheeky. Whenever I watch programs like 'The Swan' and 'America's Next Top Model', I will feel him kicking away but not for the other programs. Weird right? Haahaa....I told my hubby abt it and we both think he has 'potential' leh. Know how to appreciate pretty ladies even before he is born!! Hopefully he will turn out to be a playboy ah!!

Regard to maternitive leave....due to im a PR here, so i got to go back before my EDD. Actually plan to go back 2 weeks before the EDD, but last night MIL ask me to be more careful as worried I will have early delivery (zhao chan), cos advised from "GOD" (cos she "wen shen"). Now me very worry of early delivery, think better i got to go back early...

Actualy me myself is a very careless person, sometimes i still walk like last time, abit fast and not so careful. Besides, thsese few days busy to look for a HDB flat cos hubby and me decided to buy a flat here. So got to go around to look for the flat......

Re: Materity leave
I'm thinking to really just wait n see until the D time arrives, then go on leave...only problem is handing over of work... :|

Hi Preciousbabe
I oso love pineapple tarts
Where u buy in Bugis? Can we actually eat pinapple tarts since we can't take pinapple fruit?

Hi Evon,
when u be off from your contract? Heeheee...ever tot of being SAHM?

Hi Mrs Ho,
Wah...u still can walk fast fast like last time ah? Tat means u dun seem to ganna any heaviness from pregnancy ah? I guess really no choice for you to go back early to wait for delivery...
When u intend to move to S'pore?

preciousbabe

I love pineapple tarts too! Just baked about 80 pieces yesterday and costs less than $10! But quite abit of effort of making it though.. and try not to eat too much at one time.. eat in moderation is the word

Mrs Ho

You be more careful when you walk around these days as the ground is pretty slippery.. my hubby got pretty worried about me whenever I go out and bought the "Croc" brand of slip on sandals for me (from KKH Pharmacy) Its pretty good.. provides very good grip even on slippery surfaces.. but it looks pretty bulky though.. but at least I I feel more confident walking about nowadays

Seems like most of the Jan MTBs popped earlier than usual.. 1 or 2 as early as 1 month ahead of EDD!

terrier,
I bought it from one of the stalls, called Home Favourites. I think we can eat pineapples but not too much lor.

hunniepot,
I actually wanted to bake pineapple tarts on my own but hor, I don't have an electric mixer at home. So I have to hand whisk all the things and it's rather tiring. That's y I rather buy from outside lor. See how lah, if my hubby is free next week, then will try to bake at home

Re: Maternity leave
My doctor is a BIG advocator of going to work. So i guess i'll be working all the way until my baby decides to come into this world.

RE: Pineapple Tarts
My mum does not allow me to eat pineapple as a fruit itself, but she's okay with me on pineapples tarts and pineapple rice. I dun noe what's the reason but i guess any fruits that go on the stove is less harmful, maybe

I think I'm getting nervous already though it's like another 12 weeks to my EDD. Really scared and nervous abt delivery....Furthermore after attending the antenatal class and watching all the slides on natural birth, really makes me think twice abt the pain I have to go through!!

hihi..all mum-to-be

Motherhood magazines is now looking for pregnant mummies to grace our editorial pages & one lucky pregnant mummy will be choosen to grace the cover.
If you can strike a pose and enjoy standing in front of the camera, please email you most recent pictures to [email protected]. We'll have makeup artist & stylist to make you pretty for FREE!

terrier,
now i staying with my aunty in Sing, just thinking to buy our own flat, if cash portion is allow. If all the cash pure in to buy flat, then i have no $$ to deliver liao...:p

ya lor....when thinking about delivery....feel very nervous le....even dream how is the pain!!!!!.... cos most of us are the first time...so dont know what kind of pain will come le....???

Terrier,
contract expiring in early June. don't think want 2b SAHM unless hb bringing home >80k a year.. which I think ve to wait long long. Furthermore, I m the type tat finds tat work is the only place 2 find satisfaction as compared 2 home... (if i m on leave at home 4 a week, i b watching tv n tv n books n books.. very boring life).

Hunniepot,
Don't scare me leh.. i went in juz now.. but didn't read anything abt early pop.. wow... can't believe if at work n water break.. how???

Hmm.. anyone will be opting for epidural? At this point in time, I really hope I wont get to use it when the time comes... met my primary school classmate recently, she now has a lovely 5 months old baby girl.. she mentioned to me not to let hubby out of our sight at all during the labour! Make sure that we pack enough snacks for hubby throughout the labour as hubby's support is very impt.. she opted for epidural when her hubby went out of the delivery suite to buy food from the canteen..

hunniepot,
It really depends on your threshold of pain whether to use epidural or not. Even if your hubby is ard and he gives u support, he will want u to use epidural if he sees that u r in great pain. My antenatal class last week was abt pain relief. The presenter is a senior midwife at KKH and she told us in her entire 12 years of service, she only came across 1 lady who didn't opt for any pain relief nor episotomy. She wanted to give birth in the most natural way and she really tahan allthe way. I really salute the lady man...

So if u think u can tahan pain, then don't go for epidural lor. For me, I have a super low threshold of pain, so I'm even thinking of going for C-section delivery.

preciousbabe

Wah liao.. that woman didn't even opt for episiotomy? Meaning her vagina muscles can really stretch without tearing at all? I'm hoping not to administer it.. but hard to say when I'm finally in the delivery suite..

hunniepot,
hmm...the midwife says that actually the wound heals faster without episotomy leh. She mentioned that the lady's wound healed very fast and nice when she went back for her checkup 6 weeks later

Huh? Weird.. my granny had 4 natural births during her time (at that time, there is no such thing as episiotomy) and the tears were so bad (cannot be repaired) till her vagina joined her anus.. spoke to a mid-wife in GlenE and she told me that most asian women would need to have episiotomy as our vagina muscles are unable to stretch to accommodate the baby's head.. and the purpose of episiotomy is to prevent tearing of the area between the vagina and the anus, so that the wound can be stitched up nicely and thus heal better

Wow... hmmmm... omg... bb can come out so early... at least 1~2 weeks for most with a handful 1 month earlier.. hmmm... no wonder my colleague from other departments saw me juz now was saying 2b careful tat i may pop early... as i look huge.

preciousbabe

Guess we will know best when it comes to our turn to pop

Evon

Dont worry too much lar.. whether bb pops out early or not.. still got to pop out sooner or later.. just a matter of time only.. just relax..

sunshine,
Ive checked with my groomer regarding the pet sitting service. Can u call him back for more details coz I'm afraid to pass the wrong details to u. Here's his number, Rick: 9099 8511
Just tell him you are Rachael's fren. Hope he will give u a better rate than the boarding kennels outside.
Please also note that I do not benefit anything from recommending my groomer to u. Just want to purely help u to solve your problem. Take care

thanks preciousbabe

Re: Complexion
Think I belong to the minority. I've alot of pimples on my face especially during 1st trimester. Alot of people told me usually if bb is girl, hormones change more drastically. I hope after preganancy, all will be gone. My face used to be flawless. So sad...

Re: Pineapple Tarts
Hee hee, so worried about CNY. Lots of goodies to eat. Hope I won't put on too much weight. I also made pineapple tarts today. My mum also said can eat pineapple rice and tarts but not fresh pineapple fruit. Weird... Maybe because it's cooked la. Once started, cannot stop eating, especially "ba gwa".

Morning!!

Finally wake up to see a bright and sunny morning. Really brightens up my day!! Crossing my fingers that it won't rain later coz going out for my pedicure!

maraquan,
your gynae will tell u wat can be eaten and wat food to avoid one ah? Thought all gynaes will just tell u to eat everything in moderation? Coz in western medicine, they don't have any food that cannot be eaten in pregnancy one. Only the Chinese medicine believes that cannot eat cooling stuff.

Morning all... 2day me on MC... early morning woke up by migraine... n later constant sneezing.. sian.. what a day 2 start when the sunshine is finally out.