(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Something to share about treating Urinary Tract Infection.
I researched on this cos I wanted to know how cranberry juice (and not other fruit juice) aids in UTI. My gynae prescibed a week of sodium citrate when I was diagnosed with UTI after my urine test at W13. Not sure if still got UTI, but I drink cranberry juice occasionally after I read that cranberry juice good for UTI in the forum. Until I found this, I wasn't sure of the effects of cranberry. Hope this helps you all.

The natural therapeutics outlined in this section may help patients get through an existing urinary tract infection (UTI) without antibiotics. Some doctors believe that antibiotics contribute to recurrent infections from increasingly resistant bacteria. Lifestyle precautions and supportive natural measures can help reduce recurrent urinary tract infections.

Alkalinize the Urine
Although some controversy remains concerning what pH level is most conducive to bacteria growth in the urinary tract, most evidence indicates that UTIs benefit from an alkaline pH. The easiest way to alkalinize the urine is with minerals, specifically potassium citrate and sodium citrate. All citrates encourage an alkaline shift; so patients already taking a calcium/magnesium supplement should switch to a calcium citrate/magnesium citrate preparation. Mineral supplements should not be taken before bedtime, as urine that remains in the bladder during sleep may irritate the tissue and promote an infection.

Disinfect the Urinary Tract
Some herbs have been clinically shown to have antiseptic properties. Drinking these herbs in beverage form throughout the day may be beneficial.

Drinking at least 16 ounces a day of cranberry or blueberry juice (not the sugar-sweetened variety) can have a preventative and therapeutic effect. These juices have antibiotic properties that interfere with the ability of bacteria to adhere to the bladder or urethral tissue. Choose a juice sweetened with apple or grape juice.

Preciousbebe, I realise too gd looking parents normally won't hv BB dat are pretty/handsome. It's always the parents who are not so gd looking hv kids who are gd looking..may be coincidence but if dat's the case, I'd rather sacrifice & let BB looks better ;p
But parents who are not so gd looking may be due to wrong combi but features alone an be outstanding, dats Y hope BB is smart enough to take after the gd ones..kekeke

Juzmaine,
haha....so hopefully my bb will be good looking lor...most importantly, my bb must be taller than parents coz my hubby and I are shorties.

Chenoa,
Thanks for the info. I take yoghurt at least twice a week so should be able to prevent UTI. So far I only feel that my discharge got abit of smell, other than that, I don't feel itch or discomfort when I urine. Think my condition should be alright bah.

me also used to UTI prone too before pregnancy. I too took craneberry juice to help to prevent the prob, so far good. I found taste too sweet and so I got add water.

But for people who fear for sideeffects, drink lots n lots of h2o. It is the best cure for a lot of illnesses - sore throat, fever and even UTI..

Can we determine the looks of the bb? Don't really believe seeing pictures of bb will make bb look more like those in pictures... so, if i every day see my chinchillas, then my bb later grows like chinchillas, how???

hmm...maybe we should arrange a meet-up during Dec for lunch or high-tea? Think by then, everyone's appetitie should be super good already. It'll be great fun to have all MTB gather, gossip and then go shopping together. Hahaha...we will look like penguins carrying their eggs around.

Evon,
I believe that looking at pretty things then bb will look pretty too. I have 2 dogs at home so my mum told me not to look at my dogs too much otherwise bb will look like dogs...hahhaa...somemore next yr is the year of the dog. Don't purposely look at animals for too long everyday lor..

.. interesting one, preciousbabe.. then i muz make my hb to go play with my chins... since i cannot go play with them everyday.

O high tea..
kao_drool.gif

Good idea

Me going home... see whether can log on at nite 2night.. it is going to rain heavily.. all take care.
kao_byebye.gif

wow...this thread is growing fast.
Ke ke ke...interesting to have gatherings ya..

Looks like most have known the gender. I'm still waiting...hope bb will cooperate when I go for detailed scan this friday.

Btw, epidural is injected via the spine even for c-section? Heard got some side effects..true?

babe,
for your info on Kegel exercise

Exercising your pelvic floor muscles for just five minutes, three times a day, can make a big difference to your bladder control. These "Kegel exercises" strengthen muscles that hold the bladder and many other organs in place. Why are they so important? These muscles get strained during pregnancy, and one of their big jobs is to prevent leaking of urine and stool. 'Nuff said.
So how do you exercise your pelvic floor? First, you have to find the right muscles. This is very important. (Your healthcare provider can help make sure you are doing the exercises the right way.) You should tighten the two major muscles that stretch across your pelvic floor: the "hammock" muscle and the "triangle" muscle.

Here are three ways to check for the correct muscles.

1) Try to stop the flow of urine when you are
sitting on the toilet. If you can do it, you
are using the right muscles.
2) Imagine that you are trying to stop passing
gas. Squeeze the muscles you would use. If
you sense a "pulling" feeling, those are the
right muscles for pelvic exercises.
3) Lie down and put your finger inside your
vagina. Squeeze as if you were trying to stop
urine from coming out. If you feel tightness
on your finger, you are squeezing the right
pelvic muscle.
Incorporate these important exercises into your day, like mom-to-be Afke! She said, "I usually do my Kegels while in the car. On my way to work or aerobics class (and back), I always get held up by at least one very long train, and I usually do a set while waiting for it to pass. That way, I get about four sets of Kegels a day done."

how's everyone? i juz came bk from my detailed scanning. everything is within normal range for my bb.

my bb is growing well except my gynae commented that bb is of bigger size & wants me to cut down on consuming food that is of carbonhydrate.

jasmine: pls help to update: i m expecting a baby gal. EDD remain unchange. thanks!

babe,
regarding the side effects on epidural, heard from old people that we will suffer from lower backache. So must take extra care during confinement to get rid of wind if we have epidural during delivery. Not sure if it's true, but read from other thread that some of the mothers do suffer from backache after delivery leh...

bbtree,
how is the proceedure of the detail scan like? Mine is on 2 Dec and I am getting a bit impatient.

I love to stare at my two cats. Hopefully my baby will not look anything like that.

I will love a gathering. It is funny to see so many pregnant woman together.

bbtree, congrats... seeme like everyone going for their detail scan soon... mine is on the 26th... still got one week plus to go...
hopefully can see the gender next week

Just came back from West Mall shopping centre at Bt Batok. Actually wanted to catch HP but then the show screens at 9.15pm. Mum says can't make it in time if we are going to have dinner first so in the end didn't watch. Hmm...had dinner at the foodcourt there, spaghetti with chicken chop, sounds good right? Heehee...it's really very delicious

Then I went benganwan solo to buy cookies. I will buy cookies from there for CNY every year but suddenly have craving today, so bought 2 boxes. 1 is cheese and the other one Almond blackcurrant. Then I saw the pandan chiffon and cant resist, bought 2 pieces and 1 piece of pandan cheese roll...I'm already drooling just by thinking of it now.

That's not all on my shopping spree for food!! Went to Shop & Save, bought a packet of peanut tang-yuan and 2 boxes of almond magnum ice-cream..heehee...if I can't sleep at night, can enjoy all the goodies liao!!

At the rate I'm eating, I'm sure to gain alot of weight by the time I gave birth!! hahaha....

Morning Ladies,
Wow so many to catch up & read untill eyes pop out liao, jus came back from M.C haiz....

Irene
Me too going for detailed scan on the 26th, hopefully bb will open up leg so dat can c loh!

Preciousbabe,
Better not to take too much sweet stuff wor! Organising for Hi-tea ar? Good idea let me noe when it's confirm ok! Love to meet up wif u gals!

Morning All
Preciousbabe, I would also love the idea of meeting up with you all!

Guess wat? Me oso nearly going to watch the 9.15pm show yesterday @ westmall, but tot the ending time very late, so in the end didn't go....Otherwise, we'll sitting in the same cinema! :D

Morning ladies..

Wow. Westmall ticket not snapped up yet for HP? I tried to book online and thru' AXN machines on GV cinemas but seems fully booked on those timings i want. Even Sunday afternoon one already fully booked!
kao_frustrated.gif

Anyway just knew hb working on Sunday n so he prefers to rest at home over weekends n so we won't b able to catch it till next weekends.

Must let me noe ur ratings of the movie after watching lor.
kao_drool.gif

Wow.. preciousbabe, ur carvings really coming back.. mine seem slow. at times only got mood to eat..

gals, thanks.

maraquan draik: i did my detailed scanning at TMC. the procedure is pretty same as what our gynae usually scan for us in our routine checkup. infact i didnt really see the movement of my bb when the sonographer doing the detailed scanning but my hb get to see it. he was saying that the bb move alot. the whole procedure last about 45 min for my case & i was given a detailed report after that. thank god all the measurement of my bb is within the normal range

Updated List

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Loving</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bbtree</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr A.L. Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kokopooh</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joan</TD><TD>05/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kyla</TD><TD>06/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Fish</TD><TD>07/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Goh Shen Li</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mochie</TD><TD>09/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Jeanette Chen</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousbabe</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Cordelia Han</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wishbear</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lemontree</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Phyllis Liawu</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jolie</TD><TD>12/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Lai</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasminetea</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rach</TD><TD>16/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jo</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Des</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Ho</TD><TD>18/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr SW Seng</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>19/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cutecute</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Terrier</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leereiner</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Gordon Lim</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maraquan</TD><TD>21/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Winne</TD><TD>22/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>DR KK Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>BBLim</TD><TD>23/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Anna</TD><TD>23/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evonlimsy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr T C Chang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Telly</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Smurfy</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emon</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nana</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>03/05/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gebbera</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chenoa</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adelene</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

<font color="0000ff">Total No of Boys : 3</font>
<font color="ff0000">Total No of Girls : 5</font>

Good morning Ladies!

BBtree, congrats on getting a princess!
U must be very happy. And great to hear about your detailed scan result.

Winnie, you on MC? Hope you are recovering well.

I guess by next 2 weeks most of us will be doing our detailed scan
Hope everything is fine for all of us.

Cheers~

Hi Morning mummies,

I'll be doing my detailed scan next wed @ TMC and at the same time, i'll be enrolling in their antenatal class which will be starting in Jan 06 ends early March 06..Mrs Wong will be conducting the class..anyone joining as well??

preciousbabe, Keep us inform if you're organising hi-tea meet up session, k??

bbtree, congrats on having princess!! must be very happy hor..

Hi Preciousbabe

I felt my bb move already. Quite fun and assuring to feel it move. Try lying sideways to encourage movement. My bb is most active at night just before my bedtime. But the movements are not so big yet. It just feels like a gentle nudge here and there. How much weight have you gained? I have gained 2 kg so far.

Maraquan, U have 2 cats? I have 2 cats as well, but everyone around me says that it is not good to be too close to them. So be careful. Dun carry them especially.

Morning!!
Heehee...I'm early today as compared to the usual time I normally post my messages

Can't get to sleep coz too hungry and went for breakfast ard 9+. Actually thinking if going back to sleep but tried tossing ard in the bed for 1h+ still can't sleep so decided to log in and have a look.

I will try arranging for the high tea session, perhaps when we are in the 6th month? Think it's safer to go out ard that period and hopefully with X'mas coming, got discounts

lemontree,
So bb movement are gentle nudges ah? I actually felt tugging sensations in my tummy but couldn't confirm whether is my cramps or bb movement. hahaha...to comfort myself, better think its bb movement
My weight is 65.8kg when I weighed myself last Tues. So far I've put on 2.8kg after the first trimester and I think is alot coz I'm in the overweight range. Think gynae is going to scold me next Mon when I see her coz she reminded me not to eat too much starch and carbo stuff.

winnie,
What happened to u? Y on mc? Must take care hor

terrier &amp; evon,
heehee...I planning to watch HP with my mum next mon after my checkup. Then when my hubby comes back, going to watch again. Will let u know if the show is good. But I think will be much better than the previous one, Prisoner of Azbakan.

Preciousbabe

I din put on too much weight cos my morning sickness was quite severe in my 1st trimester, actually lost 2.5 kg in my 1st trimester. Thankfully I am 2 kg above my pre-preg weight. Dun snack too much loh....

Rach,

I am thinking of joining the antenatal classes @ TMC as well. But I haven't registered yet. Will only be registering next Tues when I go for my detailed scan. By the way, who is Mrs Wong?

lemontree,
Actually I don't snack much. The stuff that I bought(not ice-cream of coz) are actually for breakfast. Sometimes I eat for supper coz I sleep real late at night and will feel hungry

But think my weight gain should be considered normal so far. But my gynae is kind of worried coz I was already overweight before pregnancy so must monitor abit...she is afraid that I will kana diabetes or high-blood as overweight MTB are more prone to these illnesses.

Preciousbabe, cannot eat so sweet and high in carbos... Must watch our diets.. It is true that we are very prone to high blood pressure n diabetics @ tix time of the period.. so i oso scared n monitoring what i eat.

Rach and lemontree, me registering for TMC as well.. most likely on Sundays after 2pm.. then can go mother/mil's places to ve dinner then.

Can't wait for my detailed scan.. BB got kicked me a few occasions already.

Any of you encountered buttock pain when sitting down? The pain seems to be the portion between my legs and my body. Can b quite intense at times.

preciousbabe

oic...then u better take care. My blood sugar level was tested to be high on the visit before my last visit to my gynae. My gynae said give me one more chance. Luckily the blood sugar level dropped to normal on my last visit, otherwise she said I gotto take a glucose test which is very torturing. Phew! She said dun take sweets or sweet stuff just before I visit her next time.

Hi Lemontree,
me going for my detailed scan on next wed..

Evon,
most likely i'll b going for the same session as you..ends 4+, right? heehee..if not changes on my side, then most probably we're going to be classmates.

Heehee....rach I might join u. Going overseas this dec so dun think will start then so might be early jan. Hope our bb dun arrive too soon but our tummy might be quite big then...

Erm..ya is that only one mrs wong conducting classes at TMC? so wont register for wrong one.

As to bb movement, mine feels like little nudges too...sometimes i try tapping and get response but sometimes dun. Heehee...hb tried to touch but bb like wont wanna nudge for him to feel..ke ke ke...

jasmine, preciousbabe, rach &amp; irene: thanks. yes both me &amp; hb are very happy to know that our bb is healthy. for my case, besides doing detailed scanning, i also did my amnio test due to my age. really thank god both the result turn out to be normal.

evon,
I also experience buttock pain but not between the body and the legs. Mine is more to the left cheek and thigh. Mayb is the position I sit coz I normally lean to left side when I sit. As for u, mayb u sit too long when working? Try to walk ard every 2h or so lor.

Ok,ladies.. just called to book. The lady wanted to place me in Dec class initially but as we may go overseas for short trip n so still decided on Jan.

Sunday class is conducted by Sister Lin. If you want Mrs Wong, she is on Saturdays.

So, I've booked Sunday 3-5pm starting from 22 Jan - 9 March. The last class, which is a doctor's talk is held on weekdays; in my case, Tuesday. Be sending cheque to them instead of going down there. The lady upon hearing me from Gleneagles, can ever guess correctly a list of gynaes' names from there.. one of them my gynae... hmm.. looks like not a lot of parents took up classes at Gleneagles huh.

Preciousbabe i suspect so on my sitting.. just bought a cushion to place behind.. but no choice leh, some times I m just too engrossed in typing..

How re u coming by?

BBlim, getting better? Has the sore throat gone?

evon,
I'm enjoying my magnum ice-cream now

okie ladies,
since i can't get to sleep, shall start getting opinions from u all abt the high tea session.
Basically in Dec, there are only 3 weekends since most of u r working and I think saturdays are more appropriate as sundays are normally family days. Pls help to contribute the following:
1) Venue (some of u might have credit cards that
promote certain hotels buffet)
2) Any food preference? must be halal?
3) Date: 3 Dec, 10 Dec or 17 Dec
4) Hubby coming along?

Here are some info gathered from website.
Royal Plaza On Scotts - International Buffet High-Tea
Where:Cafe Vienna (tel: 6589-7799)
When: 3-5.30pm (Mon-Fri); Noon-5pm (weekends, eves and public holidays)
Cost: $18.50+++ (adult) and $9.25+++ (child) for weekdays and $24.50+++ (adult) and $12.25+++ (child) for weekends, eves and public holidays
What: Launched in the 1980s, the spread includes more than 80 Asian favourites and Western treats, of which the bread and butter pudding is most famous. It is also one of the few eateries in town that serve halal buffets.

Goodwood Park Hotel - Local High Tea
Where:Coffee Lounge (tel: 6730-1746)
When: 2.45-5pm daily
Cost:$18.80+++ (adult) and $9.40+++ (child).
What:What started as a Straits Chinese spread now comprises more than 20 items, including dimsum and local and Western fare. There are also cooking stations that whip up roti prata and popiah. The apom berkuah with banana sauce, a Peranakan dessert, has been the hot favourite since day one.

Raffles Hotel - International Buffet High Tea
Where: Tiffin Room (tel: 6331-1612)
When: 3.30- 5pm daily
Cost: $31.50+++ (adult) and $18+++ (child)
What: The high tea has earned a name for its indulgent spread and service. The scones with jam, butter and whipped cream, chicken pie and dim sum are top draws. Tiffin Room is also famous for its curry buffets.

Heard that Raffles Hotel, Shangri-la are recommended for their International high tea buffet. Value for money

Evon,
thks for asking. No more sore throat but still down wif cold. Gonna ask gynae to prescribe medication if needed tomorrow.

Preciousbabe,
I oso wanna join in d gathering but hv to c timing coz my antenatal class starts at 7pm ler on Sat.
<font color="0000ff">2)If possible, can find a place wif chocolate fondue fountain (sweet cravings) &amp; no raw food (see no touch = torture).
3)Depends on when ur hubby coming bk if u wan him 2 join.
4)Wld prefer to if u gals dun mind n he's willing to.</font>
336192.png

bblim,
haha...I try to find one with choc fondue fountain...but no promise...as for raw food, think as long as it's Int'l buffet sure have one, so no choice lor..Buffets end around 5pm, so u still have time to go for your antenatal class at 7pm lor...
My hubby mayb going so just want to check if the other hubbys also going...otherwise abit weird if mine tag along...of coz i'll be happier if no one bringing hubby along then I don;t have to bring mine

<font color="aa00aa">Shangri-la buffet very nice &amp; yummy. Got choco fountain oso. But very Ex... Went to dinner buffet few mths back. 2pax $180</font>

bblim,
ya, agree that Shangri-la is very ex...and it's abit out of place too unless all of us drive. Anyway, I should be deciding on Royal Plaza on Scotts coz recommended by most of my friends...Date may change, depending on the rest...but so far only 2 replied leh...

lemontree,
my cats weight 6kg each and I dun dare to carry them at all. In fact, they rubbed on my legs a lot.

preciousbabe,
For Goodwood Park Hotel - Local High Tea, I dun think their food is nice. Been there twice, twice also not nice. Dunno what you all say?

Heehee...so fun...I'll be going...unless date unsuitable..
Oh babe=joan..happen to change my nick along the way...ke ke ke..
Aiya...so lethargic to start work...feel like lazing the whole day..

All, tentative i m fine with 10 and 17 Dec 2005. BTW, it is good not to ve any raw....

Think I m fine with Royal Plaza (used 2 ve buffet back several years ago) except dunno where to park.. maybe take MRT.

International High Tea Buffet for Apr MTB!!

Date: 17 Dec
Time: 12pm onwards
Venue: Royal Plaza on Scotts
Attendance:
1) Preciousbabe
2) Maraquan
3) Evon

Please add on to the list if u r attending as I need to make reservations

International High Tea Buffet for Apr MTB!!

Date: 17 Dec
Time: 12pm onwards
Venue: Royal Plaza on Scotts
Attendance:
1) Preciousbabe
2) Maraquan
3) Evon
4) Winnie

Please add on to the list if u r attending as I need to make reservations