(2006/02) Feb 2006 MTB

ya.... running out of heartland shopping malls to go (cos hb dun like town)
anyone knows where can we feed ducks/turtles by the pond? botanical gardens?

jasminesym,
It's near Kranji Way... the trails are mostly movered by tree shades but still feel the heat... And lots of walking to do but can spot some squirrels, birds, fishes, big spiders etc.

http://www.sbwr.org.sg/

Or try Jacob Ballas Children's Garden inside Botanical garden. It's quite hot as there is not much shelter fm trees. But has a small playground and water park to let the kids play in. No feeding of animals though.

http://www.sbg.org.sg/education/workshopchi.asp

Upper Peirce Reservoir is also a good place to go too... we went there for picnic a couple of wkends ago. Nice quiet place

Violet,
Thanks for the suggestions! Hmm...probably go early morning or late afternoon so that it is cooler. It is good to get the kids in touch with nature, don't want them to be too materialistic.

hi all feb2006 mums,

I'm also feb'06 mum so like to know that our kids at this age, are they very fickle-minded? My girl very fickle-minded, first say want to eat then when i bring out her porridge then she say dun want. But when u want to keep her food, she will say want to eat. This is only 1 example, she can be like this throughout the day which really test my patience.

taurus

haha, that sounds so familiar. My boy also will ask me for milk. Then after i made milk for him, he doesn't want it anymore.

But good thing also, when I asked him if he wants to eat, sometimes he'll shake his head. I'll still bring out the food and before u know it, he's eating it up. i think sometimes they just can't make up their mind. I've seen my boy shaking and nodding his head at the same time coz he isn't sure what he wants. Hahaha.

taurus
haha yeah my son does that too but i leave the thing there cuz i know ater he will come back for it haha..

mashy
for milk a bit hard to keep hor..some mummies tell me can keep in fridge later want can bring out le..for 2 hrs..never try and dun intend to though..

update on Evan
Brought him for his jab today and he is 70cm and 10.45kg haha :p But pd once again re assure me he has big bones and is not fat...haha i asked him if i can put him on diet..he said no need ha ha :p Evan really steady i dun even know dr has injected haha cuz evan doesn't even batter an eye lid haha...alot of bah ..no feeling..but pneumococcal got cry 5 sec...haha

etelle

i will keep in the fridge. I ever used milk that was kept in the fridge for 24hrs to make cereal for him. Of course i will warm it up firt.

Mashy
oh can be done ah...i everytme throw away le..haha cuz i scared bacteria infect or what ha ha :p ignorant me...

etelle

so long as he never touch the milk, then can keep. Once his saliva touches it, then have to throw away.

Actually this was taught by Mrs Wong from TMC. Coz that time she told me to make the milk in advance and leave in the fridge. Then when i need, just take out and warm up.

HEY!!! Hello All Feb-06 Mummies! I'm newbie here on this thread.. Been a SAHM for a year+.. Would like to pose a question - are there other kids out there who doesn't really "speak" yet at 26 mths old? My boy seems vy slow leh.. been hearing comments esp. elders..."why so slow cannot speak yet? U know, whose whose cousin son can call auntie liao..." blah..
Im not rushing my son tho' letting him take his own time.. and what should we be teaching kids at this age? numbers/colours/alphabets/shapes enough? Not sending my gangsta to childcare yet.. THANKS MUMMIES!! LOVE TO HEAR GREAT ADV FM U GALS!

Mashy
thanks for your advice...hee but hor mine is usually he drink abit then dun want if got cases like this la...s cannot keep lor.

soo hoon
i think there are 26 mths old toddlers who haven't really speak yet and think not a concern unless the pd think so...cuz maybe some just lazy and dun wanna talk but perfectly udnerstands instructions..

haha as to what to teach the kids solely depends on you le...haha what u want him to learn first...hee :p

soo hoon

My boy can't speak too! And he's more than 26mths already. I also get that alot, so many pp tell me how come my boy still can't talk. He still doesn't call me mummy or my hb daddy. Instead, he calls us 'dear'. Hahaha. My MIL is so concerned she's sugg Speech Therapist.

I asked my PD abt it and he said so long as he understands what you're saying it's fine. My boy has a wide vocab comprehension. He understands instructions but just doesn't talk. He's been mouthing indiv words once a while like 'go', 'stop', 'on', 'off' and has been slowly adding to his vocab. But it's still kept to single syllabus word.

I've been concentrating on teaching him phonics & alphabets now. He knows most of the phonics and can say them out. As for the others, I'm letting his teacher from his daily 3hr playgroup teach him.

mashy
- hey tt sound so familiar.. mine understands instructions just cant express.. he calls mama, papa and recently picks up NO.. well, im not too worried as long as he's not mute ok.. let them enjoy childhood at their pace. He knows his shapes, a-z, numbers to 12 n a few colors. He loves reading tho he can't read. Im quite a lazy mum to begin with, so thinkg of sendg childcare where he can learn stuff or else at home so bored. I dunno how or what else to teach oso.. is playgroup efficient? Even tho' only 3 hrs - are there HFMD in playgroups...?

any suggestion where is fun for kids to go in sg? im not sendg him childcare yet. wanted to in Mar when childcare at my void deck said there are many chicken-pox cases. Then in Apr said many HFMD ask me to wait 2 wks. Then 2 wks lata said more cases. So my ah-lao n i decided i'll go work lata will stay hm look after him til he's slightly older..

Zoo, science ctr, birdpark, gallop stable, sg flyer, shpg ctrs are only some places we went.. any other child-friendly or interesting places to visit?? Every wk hv to think of a nice place to visit.. tryg to get him expose..

thanks mummies

soo hoon

i think for playgroup it's more for him to socialise. Coz he's the only child now, so it's better for him to learn to relate to other children. Anyway, he loves school. He enjoys it very much. So far his class got no HFMD.

mashy - which playgrp do u send yr boy to? rates? is yr boy only child too? sori ya sound so nosy.. hehe.. im stayg sengkang.. not so many facilities like older estates..

soo hoon

i send him to kinderland kinderplay at yio chu kang. They've both the pre-school and childcare section there. Kinderplay is under childcare and so will qualify for subsidy. Their pre-school section recently shut down for 10days coz of HFMD though. But the childcare section was unaffected as nobody caught the virus. I pay abt $400 per mth. There's no sch hols and no need to toilet train. Looking forward to sending him to kindergarten next yr. Can save a lot. hehe.

I thot Sengkang should have lots of such facilities since they've more kids? I stay in AMK, so not many kids ard other than those being looked after by grandparents.

soo hoon.... i stay SK... there's many cc that provides flexi care prog to younger kids.
My boy is attending one now and I will switch him to full day when he turns 3 next yr.

thks mashy. oh i hvnt toilet-trained my kiddo yet. tried a few times.. he pooed sittg down but when get him to pee he wana sit down too. asked him to stand so i think he's abit confused.. is there better way to toilet-train them? the childcare at my void deck is ntuc,full day $570+ after subsidy..

violet b- i tried cc at compass pt.. he doesnt like the teacher nor the surrounding.. thought i either send him childcare full day so i can go back working or look after him myself full time.. mayb will start lookg for playgrp.. right now it's TV... that's his companion n teacher... sigh.. wake up in the am 1st time go switch on tv watch til lunch ard 11+, nap 3-4hrs, wake up play toys, read bks, dinner then slp 9pm.. not vy productive but im not gd at planning activities..

soo hoon

actually in that case, maybe u should hunt for a playgroup. I also find my boy getting bored at home so I signed him up for the playgroup. He also gets to learn to play with other kids in the process.

U mean your son will kaki go and switch on the TV? My boy will ask for permission first. And if he wants to watch VCDs, he'll also have to ask.

Last few days I've been letting him watch more tv coz I'm not so mobile and can't play with him much due to my injury. Next week must send him back to school.

hehe told ya im a pretty lazy mom. i cld still be sleeping when he wakes up 7+ so he plays by himself or watch tv or play pc games. it actually nvr cross my mind to get him to ask permission first..hmm..

often hv to find new places to visit just so we both dont coop up at our nest.. if u know any place interesting do let me know ya....

soo hoon
Can go to the mini children farm at jalan kayu. I cannot remember the name now haha!
Or can bring your son to PG fly kite, PG beach, Pasir Ris beach, airport... hmm my hb n I r more outdoor type loh, prefer outdoor then shopping mall. Now with HFMD, we dun even dare to bring my girl to indoor places.
If we r at home, i will definitely bring her downstair to walk walk or go playground de. Sometimes too bo liao, we will go walk staircases haha... visit our neighbors

siewlng

i also very bo liao. That day I dressed up to go hospital for my physiotherapy while I wait for my stepmom to come back to take care of C. When C saw me all dressed up, he went to take his slippers out and prepared my walking stick. Hahha, he was all ready to go. So bo bian, i opened the door and let him play at the lift lobby and climb stairs. hahah.

That day I also let my hb blow bubbles with C at the lift lobby. C seems to enjoy it.

Hi siewing - hey thks for the suggestion! sounds interesting.. saw the news yesterday i think on kids going somewhere where they feed goats and geese? and some animals.. just a glance.. think it could what u r mentioning! must bring my gangsta.. he likes animals esp. cats, like his mama.. used to hv one when he was a bb.. but he likes to face-to-face (ya, literally)with the cat so reluctantly we gave the meow away..

hvnt been T3 yet.. another place to cover these days. Just gotta know some swimmg pools were closed due to HFMD.. and i just bought him a thermal swimsuit hoping to go swimmg every week.. bad thought right now..

its really gd u r exposing yr kid to different environment n pple. knowg neighbours is a great way of socializing even for u.. my neighbours are well.. inhibited.. rarely see them.. mayb sengkang newer estates so pple r more wary around.

ANYWAY, HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY !!! Do share of more great/fun/educational places to visit in sg.

Anyone have Enfapro A+, EnfaGrow A+ or Enfakid A+ tin foils (900g or 1.8kg)? Need the receipt as well (receipt date since 1st of May 2008). You can get MeadJohnson vouchers if you give in batch (4x900g or 2x1.8kg)...

4x900g or 2x1.8kg for a batch.. u can send up to 3 batch... but only if you register in for member from an existing member (that's me..lol) then u can get the meadjohnson voucher. how? u have it?

Hi pretty tired today. Painted a train on my kiddo's bedroom wall cos took out 2 posters on it and it looked so bare. Decided to paint the FP geo trax look-alike train on the wall. Couldnt find jumbo wall stickers. Any mummy knows where to get??

Hi Claire Liu - me.. artistic..? no lah, just wanna save some pennies.. it's no major project. copied a simple pic fm his storybook. Now wondering how to remove it properly in future (sigh).

Thanks violet B for info. Will check it out

Mashy - who knows if u try too u may bring out the artistic side of u u nvr know..

soo hoon

i'm lazier than i'm artistic. hehehe. I love arts and likes to dabble in arts & crafts. But too lazy to do it. And it's such a hassle to keep my boy away from it while it's being done.

My girl doesn't chew her food and this cause indigestion, does your kids have such problem? How to teach them to chew? Everytime i asked my girl to chew, she will keep telling me dun want.

taurus

My boy also doesn't like to chew so he has become more or less a vegetarian since most meats other than fish requires chewing. Try cutting into smaller pcs or get parts that are easier to chew.

And i realise too that my boy is selective in choosing food to chew. For food that is tasty and those he likes, he won't mind chewing. Like when I make Niku Jaga (Stew pork with vege), he'll eat up the meat and everything in it or when i let him take the beef pepper rice, he'll also eat it up. And he'll also chew the tough pork chop in the katsudon but will spit out the minced pork from the pork porridge that i made. He loves Japanese food. Heheh.

taurus - how old is yr ger ger? u r not d only one. still feed my 26mth old boy porridge most of the meals. If feed rice will take more than an hr and may not even finish.. he doesnt like bigger pcs of food too. Ive to cook veg like cauliflower or broccoli soft and still mash them so he'll swallow easier. like feedg bb..

sigh. mayb i shld start cutting them into small pcs and cook til softer so easier to bite. he likes french fries n chicken. selective too.

My gal also selective in food. But depends on mood one.. she will not chew completely for her every bite, that's why seeing a lot vege, food in her poo... but she likes to eat mee and rice, so seldom cook porridge to her liao.. try to intro something nice, like fruit or crispy kind of food and show how to chew, then kid should follow since this stage they like to follow ppl..

actually what i did when turning from porridge to rice is, put more gravy or soup in the rice and make sure the rice cook softer. Then cut the food in very small pcs, then slowly, increase into bigger pcs.. it should work...

my nephew also dun like to chew when he was young, then eat porridge till 4 or 5 yo.. my mom says porridge 'liang' no good to eat every meal.. that's why he always fall sick..

mashybrainz,
She won't even chew biscuits or apples. She try to soften it with saliva and then swallow it. At least ur boy still select food to chew, mine doesn't even want to chew at all. And when I try to teach her, she will get irritated.

Lee Soo Hoon,
My girl 27 mths. I give her apple cut in slice, she also dun really chew. She also eating porriodge for 3 meals and like beans alot. But also dun chew the beans so have to cook till is soft and mash it.

lemontree,
Tried giving her apples and biscuits but she still dun chew leh. Haiz..... When I teach her, sometimes she will get irritated and keep saying "bu yao, bu yao..." (her kou tou chan). Even when she tried imitating me, she also doesn't really chew.

taurus

maybe she doesn't like apples? apples are quite hard too leh. My boy doesn't like it either. If i give him papaya, honey melon then he'll eat. He doesn't like hard fruits.

What kind of biscuits do u give? U can try baby biscuits first. It's softer. Another way is to get some small cereals like cheerios, honey stars to chew.

Does she eat bread or raisins? Maybe u can try a bit of that? My boy likes peanut butter, so i'll put some peanut butter on his bread, cut into small pcs, then he'll slowly eat them. Now he'll even eat cha siew bao and dou sha bao.

Maybe u should try an array of food and see what she likes.

Have u brought her to see a dentist? If all else fails, maybe can bring her go and see dentist, check if she's got sensitive teeth?

I think my boy has come a long way from the time when he just refuses to chew and will spit out everything. Now he'll make an effort. I'm so proud of him today when he managed to feed himself pasta with little mess. I know he's a bit slow compared to some of the other kids ard here already, but still so proud of him that he has managed to achieve that milestone.

just to check with u mummies - has all the bb teeth of yr kids come out at this age? Recently my boy complains 'pain' fm his mouth.. wonder if it's tooth decay or the last back teeth coming out.. dun feel anythg.. started him on daily teeth brushg, didnt bother in the past just occasionally. Does night feedg really can cause toothache at this age?

taurus - possible that yr ger has like what mashy said, teeth issues?

just brought my kiddo back fm playground downstairs.. other kids played like no tomm, he only one lookg for birds.. wants me to hold him when he's climbg.. so chicken-hearted.. see strangers near him also run away..feel like im bringing up a ger instead.. hahaha.. ive always wanted him to be more 'wild' and free.. he's too.. mild sometimes.. sigh

soo hoon

Does your hb play with your boy often? Maybe coz your hb doesn't play with him that much or that wild?

My hb swang my boy up and down, carried him on his shoulders and held my boy's hand while he pulls himself up (pull up). Now my boy is a little dare-devil. He's totally independent at the playground. Even at playgrounds which are meant for pri school kids. I'm more scared of him falling than him. And he swings himself at the playground too. Coz his legs are still too short to touch the ground, he'll lie his tummy on the swing and push himself. I didn't teach him any of this.

He's also not scared of animals. Once we brought him to the pet shop at Vivocity. He let a bull dog lick his fingers. And the bull dog is quite big, even bigger than him! But he has no fear at all.

I think his lack of fear is coz of the way my hb plays with him from young. So he thinks all these are thrilling. He's an adrenaline junkie for sure.

food - my girl is sick of porridge. my helper told me there's once she said 'come D, take your lunch' my girl actually replied (w/o even looking at what the lunch is) 'i dun want porridge!'
she dun even fancy those rice in soup kind.
she learnt chewing the hard way cos there were times she almost choked when she swallowed w/o chewing well. we exagerate our chewing motion so she can mimick lor...

timid/daring - D is more daring cos she copy gorgor's actions. so she's like mashy's kid, climb high climb low.... and yes, my hb also play rough with her!

soo hoon - u can bring your kid to a dentist to chk if u r interested. kids can get decay as young as 20mo.

he does play wild with his dad, wrestling n sorts, rough boys' play, it's always the adults that accompany the kids he's vy wary of at playgrounds.. or strangers at broad, hence he may hesitate to join in the kids.. he's not shy, just vy scared like strangers will kidnap him like that.. embarrassing when some pple r just friendly and want to say hi to him..ive to tell him it's ok with some particular person then he'll go over n shake hand with that adult.. ive heard some comments that he seems mature for a 2yr old, vy observant, noticing, interested in stuff other kids dont normally will be in.. i'd rather him to be more relaxed and mingle with kids his age.. mayb mixed with adults only so act like one at times.. funny how i always wanted him to be like a free spirited boy, daring n climb trees those sorts but he's such a mommy's boy.. always turn out opposite.. muahaha. btw he loves animals! he'll 'talk' and touch cats, dogs on the streets, sit beside them, i'll just let him.. im not the everythg hygience first kinda mom, i grew up playg sand n earthworms in my backyard and i enjoyed my childhood so want my kid to enjoy that kinda 'freedom' too.. he can go barefoot if he wants..

anyway, anyone organizing outings or playgrp near SK/punggol?? anyone interested eg. like gg to the zoo...?

soo hoon

ai yah, if he's just scared of strangers, then it's ok lah. It's normal for them to have stranger anxiety. In fact i find it's better this way. I've a friend's daughter who's over-friendly. So scared she'll get kidnapped.

Don't force him to do things that he's not comfortable with, like shaking hands and giving kisses to other pp. When he's comfortable doing that, he'll do it. I remember i was very put off last time when i was young, that i've to shake strangers' hands and let them touch me too. I just didn't like that.

Hahha, actually i also don't like my boy to shake strangers' hands or give them kisses. haha, dunno how hygienic they are mah. I also dun like him touching stranger kids, coz they might be sick. So my limit is for my boy to just wave hello and goodbye. Can't be helped. My boy will get bronchitis everytime he gets sick so have to be extra careful with germs.