(2006/02) Feb 2006 MTB

Hi Bulma

I'm a working mother, last year, I am on frequent biz trips every month when my first gal was only a few months old and now the biz trips have been reduced to almost none since Feb this year, and it's tough juggling a career and being a mommy, but I believed that our maternity instincts always prevail over our career and kids are always our first priorty and I missed my gal terribly whenever I traveled .. With 2 gals, I hope i can juggle. My domestic helper has been a great help, and I just renewed her contract for another 2 years.

Hi Venus

I bought the medela breast pump after I delivered, and i suspect it causes the pain my left breast that I have to see a specialist .. but I guess it seems to work well for other mommies.

I also have the Avent manual pump. I didn't breastfeed my gal though I tried but she doesn't want to latch on and I wasn't persistent enough.

It's good to start off with the Avent manual pump before investing in a eletric pump which cost much more. Alot of my friends are using Avent manual pump for years and it's relatively inexpensive compared to the electrical ones.

Have you gals all met each other before ?

hi babycutie

You meant Ameda lactiline pump ? think it's quite expensive but heard that it works well .. I vaguely recalled that you can actually borrow from the hospital ?

babycutie,
the ameda pump can rent for trial from MIM for a refundable deposit of 100. call them when you deliver. the pump cost 310. but I see from some thread can buy at 290, so will be checking it out.

Amay
Kidsmall is having 15% discount on medela pump. The electric one is about $296 before discount. So i am in dilema whether to buy now or later..... May be should consider the manual pump and see how it works. But i really want to breast feed my bb as long as i can. Thus, i am considering electric pump so that i can use when i start w

Babycutie,
Never heard of ameda but will go and find out. Will email to you.

Lenny,
you are right, i did heard the hospital do rent the pumps to new mummies. will check with GlenE

Hi Venus,
Can you send to me too at [email protected].
I'm down with flu this week, my daughter got it first then it spread in the whole house. Sigh, I'm on unpaid sick leave again...
My baby is 1.7kg at 30weeks and I'm due on 10-Feb.

Lenny
wowowo yr job nd so frequent traveling....

some of us has met one another before but not everyone lor... difficult to organise one gathering that everyone can mk it.

venus
thanks... rcv yr email too =)

Marcia
rest well yeah now seems lk a lot of pple r sick meh... take care

hey mummies
ask u all ah... just now i suddenly realise the circumference around my belly button turn darker color and also bit mmmmm "liao liao".... then that area is super soft. is tis normal? last wk everything seem still ok lei... no soft flg around my belly button also no dark circle lei anyone can share if u all also lk dat? or advise?

Lenny,
Is it? I didn't hospital got rental.

Ah May,
Thanks for the info.
Actually I have the Medela Mini electric pump which was not use when I had my girl because I had no milk and not persistence enough to try.

Bulma,
Its normal. It will gets even darker. Regarding the "liao liao" I am not very sure because mine hor still has not pop and it feels very tight when I had my meal. U know like no more skin to stretch like that..... Very bu shu fu lor....

bulma,
ha.. my bellybutton is choco colour for almost two months. yes, the area very itch and especially for dunno what reason the boy on my right side always tickle on the bellybutton from the inside. at these times, I always feel like screaming! :p

hi venus,
thanks for the list and well, i am more or less settle to buy the ameda pump due to the recommendation from my colleagues. so dun think will buy medela, cause on par with the ameda is the medela pump on style which cost over 600. so will get the ameda.

bulma,
my belly button also brown. v ugly coz v big area. also v soft and sensitive. But hor...v good la..never see my belly button so clearly...also v easy to clean now!!!hahha

whole bump so tight now.

just received news isetan having sales on 28 dec. safety 1st babycare and lollipop baby bedding having 30% discount. NUK sterilizer is 99.90 from 159. and medela items are 20% discount. thinking of buying the manual breast pump at 49.90. (as a spare when need to go out, cannot imagine need to bring the electric pump around. :p )

Hipee
yeah lor easy to clean hor that's what i told my hubby ha ha whole naval popped out liaoz for me to clean before it goes in again ha ha :p

Bulma
mine also dark dark around it...but "liao liao" like dun have leh.....

As for breast pump i think it's not necessary to buy a good one now cuz first thing u dun know if have sufficient milk to last , you don't know if ur child want to latch on and u also dun know how strong is ur determination to breast feed. So i think in the meanwhile should just get one that's averagely priced and recommended one like avent manual breast pump

marcia
take care oh...which gynae u using and which hospital u delivering....u may want to leave ur details for our wonderful ivory to update on the chart for the rest to see

Lenny u too let us know ur details

Girls
How are you guys going to get the chinese name of your bb written on the BC? Going to ask hubby to write or going to print on stickers and paste?? I haven't thought of chinese name yet but i was thinking better to print out neater right?

Hi bulma, babycutie

The belly button skin turns dark .. is normal .. my belly button already popped out at 4 months pregnant, and also of a darker color which i believed is from the "inside" of the folds/skin of belly button. For second pregnancy, belly button popped out faster than the first, since it is already stretched, likewise for the tummy :p

After delivery, the belly button shape and size will not return to the exact look and shape of pre-preggy days. The skin will look more "laxed" rathr than tight.

Re: the breastpump, I echoed what Etelle said too .. dun invest in an expensive one yet , if you want, get the avent manual pump first to get the flow going and once your flow is established, it's not too late to invest in an eletrical one.

Hi Etelle,

I am 31 years old, delivering at TMC and my gynae is Dr Kee WH, due Feb 17.

etelle
mine alr typed nice nice and printed liao hehe will just paste on the birth cert of Jarren =p

Re : belly button
so it's normal lah the soft soft flg? cos only last nite then realise how come it's so soft... my hb asked me "izzit my placenta maturing and gg to dislodge?" i nearly faint and say "bu shi baaaaaaa!" then i say mayb others also like tis lei... dun scare dun scare hehe

Hi Bulma

Yes, the belly button skin being soft and loose is normal. Mine was already like that starting 4 months preggy this time round, for first pregnancy, it was later stage.

babycutie & marcia
already email to both of you liao.

Etelle,
We haven't choose our bb name yet. Hubby wanted to wait till bb is borned, then consult the expert based on date & time of birth. Hubby bit traditional when comes to this kind of thing. We have been adviced to write the name using computer and then paste it on BC, caused handwriting can be awful and we can make mistake.My BIL told us the BC people will ask you to write yourself as they don't want to make any mistake.

Last night, I went to look for bb's english names on the website... He he he, not sure which one leh....

Morning gals,

This morning, I fell down in the bathroom..tink the floor is too slippery..me jus wake up, blur blur.
My gal is okie cos she still kicks, but my butt & both legs damn pain..

So suay...wat a day!

Hi Lenny
Thanks.....so yours is a baby girl for this pregnancy???

jasjas
how are you? aiyoh fall down..got pull anti slip mats or not...must be extra extra careful on wet grounds leh.....

Bilma
my belly button that part is also extra tender and soft leh...think it's norm lah dun worrie...

Hi Etelle,

My first baby was a gal too, she will be 2.5 years old when my second gal is born. So long as the baby is healthy, I have no preference

Hi Jasjas

As long as baby is kicking should be ok.
If you are using those bathmats , ensure that the floor underneath the bathmat is not wet because if it is wet, the bathmat itself will be slippery.

Hi Etelle

I wrote my gal's chinese name on the birth cert.
Not sure if I want to print the name or not, guess it would be nice if I could and just paste it on (but I dun have the chinese software on my macintosh laptop, otherwise I would just write.

Lenny,
Yes I agreed with you on the "elascity" of our bellybutton before and after birth.

But I thk my bellybutton is those very deep kind because till now it still has not pop yet being that I am carrying a 2nd child. I foresee it won't pop out but will be flat by the time when I am due.

Do u hv pic of yr girl? Can share with us? If u want to see my girl. U can view at http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/110829.html?1135131497
I just posted her pics few days back....

Etelle,
I also wrote my gal's chinese name on the birth cert... But this time I will print out to paste on the birth cert....

I have not choose a name for my son yet. Will wait till he is born then get shifu to choose a name for him based on his date & time of birth.

Lenny
Welcome to this forum!

U dun need a software to write Chinese character one... if u use MS XP. Jus need to add Chinese to your Language setting at Control Panel. It will works

Hi Siewing,

I dun use windows hence no microsoft products, am running either mac platform (apple laptop) or unix platform
Will try my hubby's laptop instead

Bbcutie/ lenny
yeah lor think i will print out the name ha ha. I am asking my dad help to choose the chinese name cuz my chinese not that steady yet hee hee i want a unqiue name with special meaning hee hee so leave it to him to think ha ha

Hi Siewing,

I am in the IT industry, we dun run windows
There are one great benefit about not running windows, your machine is virtually virus-free !

Venus,
Received your email. Tks.

Lenny,
Your girl is so sweet. U look great too. U don't look pregnant as your arms r still so slim. Only yr tummy protruded that's all.... So it is so much easy to slim down after birth.....

Hi Babycutie

Thanks. She's very mischievous at this age of terrible twos. It was so much easier to handle her when she was younger, and now it's at a diff level of discipline.

Actually I feel that my frame is slight bigger overall, inclduing the thighs .. my legs and arms are skinny.

Jas
Please be extra careful. Gosh, it is good to hear that you and bb are ok. Take care ok

Lenny
Yar lo, girl or boy doesn't really matter to me too as long bb is healthy. For me, i am expecting a ger ger now. Planning to have 2 kids, so if my second happens to be a girl. I also ok.

Lenny,
where to see your pics? Share leh.

Hello Mommies!
I'm new here. 4 mths pregnant, very nervous!

I've been borrowing pregnancy books to read, and I read that we will be given enema before giving birth. Is this true and the procedure is it painful?

Thanks a lot!

Hi Venus

I pm the pics to babycutie .. not convenient for me to share on the website.

Hi Berlinda

Not sure what is enema, do you mean epidural ?

Lenny,
Yeah... diff age goes thru diff stages.... my girl also very stubborn.... if u don't give her the item she wants, she will throw away any alternative item u replace that with....... and will cry...... so naughty.....

berlinda
think u should join the month in which u be delivering in then the discussion would be more apprpriate for you. Cuz we are all in our 8 mths now and our dicussion be differetn from yours....but of course u r free to chat here as you wish

berlinda,
Yeah maybe u can join the thread of your delivery month which posting would be more interesting as u can share with those at the same stage as u......

Never heard of enema leh...

Hi Babycutie

Yes, at this stage they can be stubborn and wilful, it's mater of who can outlast each other longer .. now I tell her no, means no, and i will see how long she can outlast me and in the end she will comply but you gotta be very very patient