(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

May,
The last time Meg also couldn't get the phlegm out and it got quite bad, that's why had to use the neubilizer. The neubilizer really works in dissolving the phlegm. But of course its a torture using it.

God's Child
Glad to hear that Celeste is getting better. Actually suppository and paracetomol are must must standby items at home.

Tracy
Re: Dry lips
Humm, never experience that before. Could it be that Meg didn't drink enuff water?

Aileen
My fren's boy love kitchen set alot. Can play on his own for hours. Actually is a good training for Edgar, next time he can help u to do housework...heehee

Tabbiesus
I'm also very paranoid of all these sharp objects.

thanks for the inputs on the timing of the my gym class.

mamachan, tracy, CL, sleepingdeer, SSF
thanks so much for the inputs on Perth.
Oh no.. i thot shopping wasnt great and only had half a day for that.. shall go see if I can squeeze in a bit more time. We're only driving up to Margaret River this time. Will stay 2 nites at Busselton and 1 nite in Margaret River. Programme is very lax coz I dun wanna tire myself out and with Gerald, he needs so much time to feed him his meals, etc.. haha.. if you gals see my lax programme, you'll faint. Also, I needed to reach each place before 4pm, just in case we get lost and it starts getting dark, etc.
CL, thanks, my aunt is staying at Perth too.

May
I love Jamie's kitchen set. I think Ger will love it too.. where did you get it from?

may - wow wat a nice kitchen set you got for Jamie. recently i bought some pot/pans and plates and spoon for caleb to play and he enjoys it...always holding the spoon and pot..as if he is cooking something. haha...i bought that set even though hb disapprove. he says boys shld be playing with cars and balls and not the cooking set. haha...but caleb really like it...hmm..now toying with the idea if i shld get him a kitchen set. ahhaa...so rachel, ur dylan is not alone. caleb also likes to cook!

mamachan - where can i view ur family pics? i couldnt find it in the yahoo grp. is there a separate one?

May
thanks. just saw your reply on toys r us.

tracy
hv not experienced the dry lips before. does megan go outdoors? maybe can gv more water.

Mamapanda
I fill half , it will be watery but rice is nua. I think previously Flo says hers is 2.5 spoon with 250 ml water ?

May
Can try the Bao Yin Da from Eu Yan Sang I think give a bit everyday should reduce phelgm. If realli a lot then when you see pd they will suggest neb. Of course it is very siong for the kid and heartache for the parents. Aden at the end of 2 weeks, resign to fate and just let the neb come.

God's child
Glad to hear your little princess Celeste is well. Your exam round the corner too ? Better rest well.

Tracy
I think it is dryness too. If she oso sleeps in aircon room, better to give more water. Lucky my nanny will give Aden lots of water leh. Last time charmaine oso dun drink water at all but after she started drinking from straw, she drinks lots

Krissie,
Bought from Toy "R" US. Kiddy Palace sell cheaper one also.

Tabby,
Can rhinothiol be bought over the pharmacy? Or have to get with doc's prescription?

Tracy,
Huh..I dun want to see her suffer with neubilizer. Think it will be my last option to use that on her. Feeding her medicine is already very cruel to her. Thanks for the info. Will keep it to the last resort.

Weekday Playgroup
Hi mummies, I will be taking leave on 18 Apr 07 (Wed). Anyone interested to come my house (CCK) for a playgroup meeting for the kids ? If got spare time, can do simple Japanese cooking

May
PD previously gave Mel singuliar granules to mix inside her food. Supposedly to help to reduce phelgm. Tabbiesus, you heard of it before?

ChickenLittle
Aiya, I'm on leave on 19 Apr cos my mom is not free so got to take care of Mel. If not can join you.

may

rhinothiol can be bought at any pharmacy when the pharmacist is in.. no need prescription.. but is behind the pharmacy counter not on the open shelves i think. Get the rhinothiol alone. Not the rhinothiol promethazine cos got 2types cos this one will make the phlegm worse by drying it up. But remember to check that your doc didn't give you the same thing otherwise you will be overdosing jaime, cos sometimes GP will give the same thing but under a different brand name. Maybe you can bring your GP's med to the pharmacist and ask if it can be taken together with rhinothiol, that way will be safe and won't overdose...

Aiya Flo
Haha I oso on leave because baby sitter need to bring mil for consult. Too bad our dates dun coincide.

Rhinothiol
Is it something like a purple syrup and taste quite nice ?

Chicken Little

I'm free on 18 April afternoon! Would love to join in! Let me know what to bring to contribute ok?

Weekday Playgroup
Hi mummies, I will be taking leave on 18 Apr 07 (Wed). Anyone interested to come my house (CCK) for a playgroup meeting for the kids ? If got spare time, can do simple Japanese cooking - Chicken Little

1) Chicken Little
2) MamaChan + Daren

Mamachan
Ok lets get the pple first then we plan. So exciting. Hosting a class at my house for Charmaine this weekend and 18 Apr for Aden. Fair lah hor

Re : Phlegm medicine

Celeste cant take the mixture med for phelgm, not effective... the flumicil works better for her. its in satchets where we dissolve in water to feed half satchet each time ,twice a day... and it must be at least interval of 30mins after other medicine. tis reminds me tat i gota stock up fr the pharmacy later too...

Angie - tell me bout it! exams less than 2 weeks away oni and i stil got heaps to study... *stress*

Flo - ya lor, cos i never use suppository for celeste before thus din have any on standby. norm the paracet works for her fever but tis time round failed. aft tis incident,now i have a few on standby in the fridge liao,hope i wont get a chance to use it... i also dunno how to use lei,stupid GP din show me! and stil dare charge me so much for midnite consultation wf med for $70! freaking expensive lor!
kao_angry.gif

May, Flo,
ya, my PD also prescribed Singulair to Meg to mix into her milk.

Thanks mummies for the dry lips subject. With all your input, I think it is due to her sleeping in aircon room with mouth open. Cos last night her nose abit stuck and at 4am-5am she woke up to look for pacifier. Which means she slept with her mouth open for some time. I'll try without aircon tonight see how. thanks!!

SH,
missed out your post earlier on JW pulling Meg's hair. hahaha, its okie. Meg wasn't bothered by it too. She's quite used to such treatment at home already.

mummies who are studying ...hats off you! all the best to your exams but must also remember to take good care of your health esp nowsaday weather has been so bad. jia you jia you! ya near the finishing line.

so nice of you mummies ..able to take leave. i just started work. couldnt take leave..also very pai seh already. have been taking 3 days MC so far and 1 day leave. so i better keep my record clean. hee...now i am so looking fwd to my delivery date lei...looking at 11 aug since caleb is out on 11 jan. moreover its on a sat. so hb need not take leave next day. never hear from denmy...i guess she may be popping out real soon. so excited for her.

Thanks Mummies for the info!!
Thanks Tabby for the helpful links.
I will bring her medicine to the pharmist at the counter.

RE: Colouring Sheet
Mummies, I will be working out something for Jamie to colour. From alphabet A-Z. Hehe.. print in office and bring home for her to colour.

Eg. Sheet 1 - Big Alphabet A and APPLE for her to colour.
Sheet 2 - Big Alphabet B and BALL for her.

Will try to load in Yahoo Group once it is done. You all can download and print if u want to.

CL/Mamachan - Enjoy the playgroup!

This morning, Cephas got up at 5.30am. I felt him sitting up so looked at him. He saw me , grinned at me & tapped me on my shoulders before lying down on my shoulder in a snuggle. I hugged him & patted him to sleep. Thinking he fell asleep after not feeling any movement from him, I put him back down flat on his back & placed the blanket over him. He looked at me charmingly and said "neh neh neh neh..."

I said "okie, u lie here & I go make neh neh...wait for me..." He sat up the min I got up, came down the bed & followed me to the kitchen where I made his milk for him. After he finished drinking, thot he wld sleep. He came back to my shoulder & curled up in a snuggle again. awwwww....sweet rite?

CL/May - Yes, it gets sweeter & sweeter when I think abt it. Made me rem when he was brought in on the nite after he was born for his feed. He was all swaddled up and sleeping. The minute I whispered his name, he opened his eyes & stared at me. That was a special moment betwn us that HB didn't manage to share cos he was fast asleep on the sofa bed. Haha...

Re: Kissing
Ethan is now into kissing. We will normally ask him to kiss everyone at my parents' plc b4 leaving hse. He will do it when in a good mood. Recently, when his daddy carry him & I walk beside the two of them, E will 1 hand pull me close, by the hair (Yes! He is tat chor lor!), & the other hand push daddy's face to mine. We realised he likes making us kiss each other infront of him. It so started on that nite where I wasnt really in a good mood & was having a small cold war with hb. End up, it was E's gesture tat kinda break the ice btw me & hb. So funnie!

Good luck & Jiayou to the mummies having exams! My hb will be having exams soon too. Me so sian everytime he got to mug for exams cos weekends are so damn boring!

re: kissing
hee...caleb is also into kissing. when i say kiss kiss. he will open his mouth and come towards my lips and smacked his wet slimy lips on mine. haha...he also starts to communicate with us with his YES and PLS(sounds like PISS)! it makes us understanding him much easier. somehow it also make me feel that our babies are growing and no longer the small tiny one.

re singulair

My boy's PD gave him half tablets chewables. Easier to feed than to mix in milk or syringe.

It's for his asthma together with Zaditen. Very expensive meds. But seems effective coz my boy hasn't gotten bronchitis since Jan.

sysac

haha, if it's my boy wake me up at 5.30am, i sure scold him. haha. He's supposed to be sleeping! So happy that my boy slept thru last night. Been very tired waking up in the middle of the night feeding him.

SSF,
Ethan can hi5 with Caleb. He will sign please & say PISS at the same time. Sounds like lao hong to me! Haahaa! Yah! It makes us understand him better with some signing & his yes/no actions.

Wendyl
E so sweet hor..!!!...
Kae is very stingy with her kiss ley. Good Mood then will kiss us. But she can kiss and hug her soft toy without fail.

Thanks mamachan and wendyl... haizz not sure if I have time to go check out the rates.
but ytd our lobang queen- CL.. very nice.. she offer to check the changer around her off and let me know. Really Thanks to her...

HB wanted to change at airport but my bro say rate sure very very very bad one...

Ok back to work now.

chillies

thanks for sharing with me. baby so young will have UTI? how come...so they must take medication? u know although she drinks water but her urine still yellowish...or babies are like that?

so many posts to catch up!!

so busy at work that i dun have time to read all the posts

JH very poor thing yesterday. he got 2 little 'accidents' thanks to me and hb. i was working outside at 2+ last night and then i heard JH cry. i decided to go in and take a look cos it was quiet after a while and i wanted to make sure hb woke up. when i tried to open the door, it couldn't open and i realised JH was lying at the door! so the door bang onto his head and he woke up. i was quite shocked and hb still sleeping throughout. i quickly call him to wake up and when hb went to carry JH, he stepped on him! lucky only step on his foot...poor boy. ended up crying more and i had to carry him and sayang him for a while before going back to work.

my hb figured JH was trying to go out to look for me and ended up sleeping at the door.

may
saw the pic of the kitchen set u posted. is it too girly for boys? i like it but just wondering whether suitable for boys....

can they do coloring at this age?

re tiger jar cooking
i also wan to ask how much water to how much rice. so abt 2.5 spoon (table spoon?) to 250 ml rice?

CL
i also taking leave on 19th April so cannot go to your house for playgroup. if not wd love to!

so when do u want to meet for lunch? tue 17th? let me know

wenyl
ethan so funny abt kissing....so next time he can be the peacemaker in the family.

i realise JH likes to see me and hb hold hands also...

cookie
i usually change at white sands cos not too bad. if u wan good rates, lucky plaza not bad. let me know if u need help changing. also depends on how much u want to change. if not changing a lot, no need to track the rates cos not a lot of difference.

sysac
cephas so sweet. i think boys are really sweet to mothers..that's how the term mummy's boys came abt

Re: Money Changer

I usually change at chinatown. There's one money changer facing the road near the bus stop that i always go to. They give the best rates than all the others ard.

SY,
They still cannot do colouring. But only holding the giant crayons and anyhow draw. But my intention is to teach Jamie alphabet and to improve her fine motor skills like holding a crayon and scribbling it around. Can also teach some colours. But not really force them to use RED on Apple.. just let them choose and play around to explore something different.

The kitchen set I get has some red and blue..so I think should be unisex lor. Actually wanted to get from kiddy palace which is all pink, but come to think of that, I would want to pass it down to #2 so get some unisex one.

RE: BOY's TOYS
There is TOOLS SET at Kiddy Palace.. can get for boys too!! I will try to capture some pic and show u all since I am going Jurong Point everyday due to my company transport. It has similar setup as kitchen, except u will hang screwdrivers, hammer and saw on the cabinet.

RE: Slim Digital Camera
Any model to intro? I loves taking photos of Jamie but have been using my hp's camera which has only 2MegaPix. I would want something slim that can put into my waist pouch or bag to bring out.

SY - Poor JH. We usually put a stopper at the door when one or both of us are outside the bedroom so that Cephas can open the door if he wants to find us. It's a spongy thingy in the shape of the letter C where u place on the door itself. You may wanna get that so that you can put on your door when you or HB are working outside.

Mashybrainz - Can't scold him. This was a rare occasion that he got up at 5.30am. He's been sleeping thru since he was 8 weeks old.

Wenyl - E is truly a good peacemaker. Cephas will hug & kiss us when he sees us. It's also his form of goodbye to his grandparents. Sometimes HB & I will pretend to 'fight' & he'll come over and shout at us fiercely like asking us to stop. When we do stop, he'll go to the one he felt was being bullied to hug/kiss. I usually get it becos I am more dramatic as in pretend to cry & ask for help. Hee hee...

Yes, agree our little ones are getting more fun and responsive by the day.

SSF/Wenyl
Mel also loves to kiss me and hb but somehow she only kisses the 2 of us and no one else. If she's in a kissing mood, she lean her mouth towards our face and kiss us. If I try to wipe her saliva off, all the more she'll kiss and wet it...haha. She's quite playful, love to tease my hb. My hb very "gian" to carry her. Sometimes, when he stretches out his hand to carry her from my arms, she will purposely turn away and held onto me tightly and giggle. Once a while shell do the same to me too.

SY
Oh poor JH. Maybe u should not close your door fully so that in case he wakes up in future, he can still get out to the living room to look for you.

Cookie
Yes, airport rate is bad. I normally change at Arcade in Raffles Place; the shop facing the escalator on the second floor. But if you are not changing a lot, most of the time is only a few dollar difference.

May
When I give Mel crayon shell colour on my floor instead of the paperfaintz

Gods child
I also dont know how to use the suppository. Luckily the PD photocopied a step by step pic for me. Also she gave me a gel to apply on the anus before inserting, so it makes it easier.

Tabbiesus
Thanks for the Singulair link. Humm, I think the doc did mention previously shes giving a stronger medicine than usual as a precaution cos the virus was very potent. Mashy, yes the med is very ex, quite a few bucks for a small sachet.

Re: Tiger Food Jar
I normally put 2 spoons of grains with 230 250ml of boiling water. I think the grain my mom bot is zhenzhu (pearl) mi. She said is softer than the usual rice. So maybe thats why is more nua.

Karin
Yes is possible for bb to get UTI. My hb's colic's daughter got it. I think one of the symptom will be high fever.

SY
Actually I think is ok for boys to play kitchen set. I managed to catch one of the episodes of the bb program on Mon night 10.30pm. One of the mommies says that we shouldn't stereotype the types of toys our little ones can play. Boys can play with kitchen set and girls can play with tool set. Should let them expose to everything, which I agree.

singulair
I was given singulair when i suffered from acute bronchitis 7 years ago. Its very strong and is usually given to patients with asthma, not for phlegm.

Tabby
Wad are the side-effects of taking rhinothiol? Sometimes in the morning, I can hear phlegm gurgling in Ariene's throat but after awhile or when she coughs, the phlegm "disappears" or comes back only at night or the next morning. Should I give her rhinothiol? I had phlegm dissolving med from PD but I feel its not so effective.

durianlover, Chickenlittle
If u're going to Chickenlittle's place, can I ask Ela tag along with Ariene? I cant go cuz I'm working.

Florence

While we shouldn't stereotype the types of toys we let our little ones play, i think there should be limit too. I definitely won't be letting my boy play with Barbie dolls! :p

Phlegm...

Can try Fumilcil at Guardian Pharmacy, must ask the Pharmist that u're looking for Fumilcil for Children. Coz there's another type for adult.

It comes in A packet of abt 20 Sachets, powder form, can mix in plain water to drink. Orange flavour.

The thread is really flying! Several times when I read and want to reply to some of your postings, the thread moves so fast that it's difficult to track back...

SSF,
Same here, reading about the mummies here taking vacation and going on trips, I'm so envious! Now I can't take leave cos still on probation. Sian.

May,
Very nice kitchen set you have gotten for Jamie.

Re. Toys
I think it is perfectly fine for boys to play masak masak too. As it is right now, Isaac LOVES playing with the pots and pans and the cooking spatulas and ladles. My MIL will let him play with those to keep him entertained while she cooks. I will do that sometimes as well. But like Mashy, I wouldn't introduce dolls to him. Not that he wants to play anyway. Whenever we go to Toy'R'us, he only want to touch the toy cars, trucks and trains... or anything that has wheels. He totally ignores the girly and cute stuff.

Re. kissing
My Isaac is also very very stingy with his kisses. He will only kiss after much coaxing (and usually will only kiss me, not my HB) and his kiss is weird. He does not pucker his lips, just put his mouth to my cheek and sometimes will also give a small lick with his tongue. Yikes!

Re. personality test
I'm Choleric Phlegmatic.

Tabbiesus - you are even more ' li4 hai4 ' than me ar! wf baby, work, studies and being preggie!!! oh my... i beta save my grumbling in front of you ... hee

Re : Kisses
Celeste is rather generous wf her kisses... she kisses us wf a loud 'muack', sometimes as if very ' wei qu' like tat..haha...

Btw, i have uploaded the collage in our Yahoo group tat i had asked Rach to do for Celeste... personally like it very much! cant wait to show HB the surprise ... very 'natural' theme...

Sysac - forgot to mention tat cephas is so terribly sweet! tat cuddle feeling is so nice... u send me thinking back of when celeste was a young bb in my arms too
now she cant lie stil for more than few seconds before she starts her exploring again! *faintz*

Re:Kisses..
my caleb is extremely stingy with kisses 1. He hardly kisses anyone man. We have to snatch kisses from him ie press our cheeks against his lips heeheee..

Toys:
Caleb loves cooking as well.
My HB got him a cooking set, but my dad thinks it not a very macho toy heehee.. But well since Caleb likes it, just get it for him lar.
He also like teddy bears and the pooh bear stuff toy in the car. He hugs it so tightly!

Re : Kitchen set
I do have one, for my BOY when he's almost 2 yrs old :> but I got a second hand instead (just in case he doesn't fancy it). But he loves it a lot and have been "cooking" on-and-off, and now didi joins him. the younger one is quite violent.... he's been throwing things around and the doors on this kitchen set has been pulled out time and again ... I think playing masak masak very good. can introduce different kind of food and actions, and it really promotes pretend play.

May, can also try giving small things to transfer to improve pincer grasp. Also give puzzles. I tried giving Keith crayons and he goes around knocking doors and floor with it ... we met at the gymboree trial, remember the name "keith"?

Mamapanda ... when the child sleep, the phlegm would backflow and so it sounds worse in the morning but improves in the day. Even without much phlegm, u may hear some noises bcos young children have small airway.

Tabb, u said "Not the rhinothiol promethazine cos got 2types cos this one will make the phlegm worse by drying it up." ... so meaning the phlegm gets thicker is it? whereas rhinothiol will loosen the phlegm, is it?

.ky.