(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

KY,
Cannot rem leh. Maybe I engrossed with Jamie already. She has been busy going round. This is the first gym class that I brought her to. So I am still looking around before I really sign her up to something. How you find the class? I dun like the part where she blow the bubbles directly to the baby's face. Jamie has got a fright.

Hi May ... try My Gym if you want gym-based. It should be better than Gymboree. I find the teacher is not good at all and course content is pretty weak. It's just an expensive playground to me; Keith loves the stairs up to the obstacle course. I'm the mother that was nursing during the bubbles section. Yes, I saw she got a shock

.ky.

KY,
Haha.. I did not notice any nursing mummy leh..blur mummy. Are u going for any other trial organise by this thread? Maybe I can recall when I see u again.

RE : Singulair.
My boy was given quite alot of it when he was down wif runny nose and cough.. Its not cheap per pack.

RE : Sharp Object
Haiz...was reading and guess what happened to me last night. The entire DVD rack fell on my boy. (metal) He suffered from a few bruises on the forehead and a slight cut on the lid. His eye is swollen and I so sim tia.Some small cuts on the cheeks too. Brought to KK and was told that dont hv to worry. My hub then told the doc that the rack is a METAL rack then she did further check on eye. She said there's some small abrasion? or what so ever but shld be fine. Gotta go see eye specialist on Friday to be safe....damn angry wif my hub. I was away to make milk and told him to watch Xav. He's always leaving him unattended. Gave him hell!!!

Tab,
He seems fine and no fussing and able to look ard. Eye not red except swelling of lid. Shld be fine right? I'm so worried

Karin,
Yah, i was very shocked when PD told me abt the UTI. Well, he was then put on antibiotics for 5 wks and then we ran some tests to find the cause. No cause found and sometimes it juz happened. I was so relieved. I recored his entire drinking schedule. Or u go see another PD and see what he/she say.

Sy,
Oh no. Poor JH. Maybe like the other mummies say, you should try to leave door ajar next time.

Chillies,
Ouch...that sounds painful. Now that our bb are more mobile, it's really hard to watch them all the time.

Hi Tabbieus,..

Regarding : Vitamin
1. Omega3 Brand is Efamol and name is Efalex ( Available at guardian pharmacist ) right now is on sale 2 for S$50+

2. Vitamin C the name is Ceelin ( Available at Guardian ) cost less than S$10

3. Multivitamin..I forgot the name again and let you know tomorrow. Paiseh

Omega3 is good for night feed. Normally before Gracie sleep,..I will mix 5ml omega3 with her milk. BUT this omega3 taste very fishy compare to those big bottle YU KAN YOU. As this is really omega3 and super oily but the smell like orange flavor.
It's a liquid:
Sunflower oil, DHA-rich Fish Oil, Efamol Pure Evening Primrose Oil,,lemon oil, vitamin E (as dl-alpha tocopheryl acetate), lime flavour, thyme oil
For more detail you may go to visit: www.efamol.com
I gave the multivitamin and vitamin in day time for Gracie.

sysac, flo
my hb always turn on the aircon when sleeping so the door is closed. i guess i jsut din expect him to be sleeping at the door. like so poor thing...

sysac
cephas is really a good boy to sleep thru since 8 weeks!

may
i did think that it is a bit stereotype that boy shouldn't play with kitchen but the last time i told hb i wanted to buy some cooking set for him, hb wasn't too keen...haha. maybe i shall drag him to toys r us to take a look

chillies
seems like it was an accident prone night for us! poor thing...hope he is better now. does he feel distressed or anything?

sometimes when accidents happen when we are watching them, my hb will make a lot of noise. but when he is watchign JH alone, he doesn't do a good job also...sigh..dunno how to make our hb more careful

Chillies,
Oh no, sounds painful....I am quite protective of my boi and dun let him wander around too much, I wonder if that is the reason why he can't walk confidently yet.

Ky,
Agree with you that gymboree is just an expensive waste of time. I didn't enjoy it too. Positive babies is better, in my opinion.

Affectionate babies
Ryan surprised us by starting to give kisses. He used to be very stingy too but nowadays, it is big wet kisses everyday. Full mouth with saliva and all. So i worry if he goes around kissing everyone, dunno what kind of germs he will pick up. But still, i love it when he kisses me!

Chilies

If your boy is not keeping his eyes shut, having a lot of tearing, then the abrasion if there is one is very mild and usually heals within hours. Leaves no scar or problems. Cover his good eye, see whether he objects or cannot seem to see.. Other possible injuries is a bruise on the lid or around the eye area which can turn more red/ blueblack the next few days, it doesn't sound so bad. Although i'm sure it was very heart pain for you to see him get hurt.

KY
promethazine is an antihistamine, and will dry up phlegm, so it will make it more sticky and harder for our babies to cough it out. Actually what happened with tabby was she had bad runny nose so i gave her rhinothiol-promethazine to dry it up, but then it got too dry and kena stuck in her throat, so in the end i switched to rhinothiol alone to help loosen the sticky phelgm and after 3-4 days, it was better..

Mamapanda
actually carbocysten is similar to flumicil. just that i find it easier to give cos its in liquid form already, but flumicil comes in sachets if i'm not mistaken.

RE: kitchen set
During my lunch break, i went to vivocity toys r us to look at the kitchen set... i think may's one is 89 plus and the star card version is 69+ .... so tempted to get... but managed to tahan..

God's child
no lah... not li hai.. i can understand how you feel esp with celeste not being well. Stressed, but somehow, baby always comes first..

Re: Gym

I'm bringing my boy for the trial at JWT Kids (UE Square) this Sat. Heard pp raving abt it. Will let you gals know how's that place.

I also didn't quite like Gymboree. The place is small, not a lot of things to do and the activities are rather boring. Just very tiring for me. More like a gym for me coz i was carrying C all over the place.

BTW, lost 2 kg over 1 month! Yippee! Must be the hard work I've been putting in by taking care of my boy full time. So tiring leh. Finally went below 50kg liao.

re: stereo-typical toys
Hmmm.. I once bought a 'deep sea diver' doll for Ethan to play. I thought we shouldn't be so stereo-type to just buy boy's toys for him, but too chicken to buy a Barbie, so end up buying a less glitzy, less prettier version of a Barbie imitation. He could still change her clothes between diving suit and beach wear, so get to see her naked body but he wasn;t squirmish at all leh. I think it all boils down to the parents attitude. Cos his cousins of similar age will go "eee.. its a naked body" or "Ethan has a doll, mum," when they visit and my SIL will give that disapproving look to me. BUt I don't think playing with a doll has made him into a sissy. Perhaps just nurture the gentle side of him more. Maybe I trying to make him into the sensitive 'New-age' man of today. Kekeke

re: Personality test
Mine is Melancholy Choleric. Seems like no one same as me so far...

re: Delivery date
ok, the date has been set. We will check in TMC after 11pm on 20 April for an induction. And hopefully bb will arrive by 9am on 21st April morning if no hiccups. Gynae said it should be a pretty smooth delivery as I am already 2cm dilated. Wish me luck!! Starting to feel anxious already. Heehee...

Denmy,

Personality Test

Hehe...i'm also Melancholy Choleric..48% Melan...have not read in detail about it yet though...

Confinement Nanny,

Have you managed to get one??

You mean now you are already dilated????

KY,
I went to Yahoo Group and had a glimps of Keith's pic. I was holding on to Keith while u are talking the the lady if I dun rem it wrongly? Keith and Jamie were on same equipments several times and u were busy taking photos?

RE: Gymboree
This is the first gym that I brought Jamie to and I must admit that it is very tiring. Seems more like a gym to this lazy mum that has not been exercising. Not sure about the rest of the gym and I will keep a lookout for Jamie's favorite and sign up for that. Has anyone sign up with any classes? Mashy, keep us update regarding JWT.

Denmy,
wow..2cm dilated..I delivered 3days after doc say this.. Will u deliver early? We will pray for ur speedy and smooth delivery.

Mashy,
Below 50kg!! Wow.. if I ever go below 55kg, I will be jumping up already. I am still stuck at 59kg..Urgh.. had been stagnant for quite sometime and doesn't drop to 55kg leh.

SY - My air-con is on too but we leave the door ajar if either one or both of us are outside.

Mashybrainz - Yep, Cephas has been sleeping thru the nite since he was 8 weeks old. it made going back to work pretty easy cos he wld sleep at 8-9pm to next morning 6.30-7am.

Chillies - Oh dear, poor Xavier. Wishing him a speedy recovery. Take care u 2!

RE: DORAEMON KEYCHAIN
Any mummies know where to get or has got one that you want to sell? Jamie is crazy over Doraemon recently. She will scream when she see any mechandise.

RE: Slim Digital Camera
Any recommendation?

Chillies
Oh poor Xavier, I'm sure he's a brave boy and will recover soon. Don't get too upset with hb, accidents do happen.

May/Denmy/Mashy
Oh wow below 50kg, never see that figure since I'm in sec school...haha

Denmy
You mean it takes so many days to be fully dilated? When I went for check up 6 days before my EDD, I was 1/2 cm dilated. Gynae asked me to go back home to wait for 1 - 2 more days. I was like huh, keep asking him to induce me...haha

Re: Doll
I think in the bb program, the doc (child psychology I think) did mentioned that introducing doll to boys will help to nuture their gentle side. But I won't get barbie too if I were u, I think is too girly. Even I myself never really like barbie doll as a kid...haha.

Esther,
re: Confinement Lady
Yes, got 1 already. Local Cantonese lady. Will come from 10am to 6pm. U want contact? I can pass to you. Infact I have a few of them.

May, Flo, Esther,
Yes dilated already but baby not engaged yet. But Doc never say come back in 2 days leh... infact I was also 2cm dilated for a few weeks b4 Keenan popped. Was quite scared that he might fall out while I poo poo..hahaha!!

I won't be seeing my gynae up until next Sat. So hopefully no emergency from now til then.

Denmy..

May u have a smooth n safe delivery... Will be praying for u... so excited!! :)

wow.... below 50kg? hmm... wat does it means huh? ka ka ka ka I've never been at that weight since dunno when... hehe... But i'm still trying to go down somemore though...

RE: Toy Rack
Think this time I need to get one for Jamie already. She is messing up my living room and bedroom. Not sure if it is bcos she is not feeling well and start throwing the toys here and there. Feel like getting Thomas the Train Toy Rack that they sell in this forum. Only $80 leh. Any comments?

CL,
U bought right? If I rem correctly.. or was it Rena? Is it good? Will the toys get dusty easily as there is no cover?

May

RE: slim digital camera
I use sony, but the older model, very slim. The newers ones are quite slim too, you can try nikon or casio as well.. quite slim and compact.. but i prefer sony and nikon. Problem is sony u have to use the ms card and nikon can just use the standard sd cards

Denmy
Wow.. so exciting... count down time to new baby.... jiao you... i suddenly kena panic attack after reading you will deliver soon! Recently my braxton hicks quite bad.. so scared i kena preterm labour again, but i think its just from stress... take care... wishing you a safe delivery...

RE: stereotype
hehe.. i must be odd one

May
I bought the toy rack. Flo, Aileen, Mamachan too. I clean the toys weekly so mine not dusty lor. First layer I put books, second are smaller toys and kids disc then the last pull out drawer are bigger toys

Weight
Aiyo, how I wish I am below 50 kg. The lowest I have gone is 47kg during my wedding. Now so far far away

Denmy
Jiayou. SMS one mummy when you deliver then we can have the good news and rejoice for the new baby.

Thanks Tabby! The salesman are promoting quite alot on Canon. Any comments on Canon? I like Sony though.

CL,
Thanks.. I will go coax my hb to agree on buying this rack.

Met my neighbour yesterday and she was pregnant with twin again...feel so happy for her. Unfortunately she is having some complication.

She lost her pair of twin during her last pregency..think she was abt 5mth pregnant...

Slipped and Fell
damien slipped and fell from the back last nite due to wet floor...he jsut i fell infront of me that i got no chance to catch him on time...feel so bad.

Demny,
Feel so excited for you...have a smooth delivery...update us once you popped.

wow, so many posts.
my gal has been having fever since late afternoon on tuesday... the fever ranges 37.5 to 38.8 degree. this morning seems she's getting better, drop to 37 degree. so tired, got to wake up many times at night.... paracetamol doesn't seem to bring her temperature down effectively. after taking it, after 2 hrs, the temperature goes up again.

may
i have canon ixus, slim and light. i am not good in using digital camera, but this serves me quite well in taking photo for my gal.

denmy
wow.... jia you jia you. all the best to you!

MAshy,

Below 50! How i wish i am!!!!! That is my ideal weight. i am still 2 kg away and this stubborn 2kg refuse to go away!!!! ERRR....

Envy, envy.

I agree SAHM is hard work. When i was looking after ashley for the first 6 months, i went back to my pre pregnancy weight in 4 months time..... Now..... tummy is like 3-4 month preggy....

May - i just got myself a Canon Ixus too during the last IT show.. got my BIL to recommend us a model since he has got rather good knowledge re: cameras and though it isnt very slim as compared to Sony,its pics are rather sharp and able to capture a moving celeste... HB even tried to shake his palm furiously to test the speed of the shutter and succeeded wor
funni way of testing har...

Sunny - so take care! any other symptons wf the fever for YX? my celeste also woke up crying last nite,wonder if its her 4 upper teeth causing discomfort... sigh,sleepless nites again...

Mashy - ENVY! * green eyes * i cant even recall when i was 50 kg!

Denmy - all the best! cant wait to see the NB pics of ur little prince...

Re - freak accidents
chillies - oh, sounds very scary! i must hi-light tis to HB so tat he can learn to be more diligent too! the last when celeste hurt her throat wf slight abrasions was also due to daddy's poor supervision. she played wf the rice scoop and poked herself wf it when she fell! she vomitted and out came blood! i tell u, i almost fainted on the spot... it wasnt alot of blood,but tat teenie bit is enuf to raise my KKH emergency alarm... the vomit also came out fr her nose wf a bit of blood... but thank god the doc says its slight abrasion and shld heal in 3-5 days on its own,and was i glad to see her happily drinking and eating = no pain in her throat... WHEW!!!!!!!!!!!!!

may
they can do colouring so soon?

sysac
cephas was so sweet. Gerald will pop into my room sometimes in the morning and walk over to me (while I'm lying on bed) to lean (sayang) on me.

Denmy
So exciting. All the best for your delivery... hope to hear your labour story after that.
Let me know if the CL is good. I was thinking of getting one too. how much is she?

sunny
maybe it takes a few days for the fever to go away. But, the keep the fever at a moderate level, can continue to gv medicine. Gerald had the fake measles earlier and had fever for 3 full days.

god's child
she got a bit of dry cough. my mil said mostly due to heatiness 'cos during HK trip, she didn't wanna drink much water, mayb it's cold and she didn't feel thirsty bah. but mil also worried that it's 'mao dan'..
now, some rashes appear in her body, hopefully it's like last time when she recovered from fever and rashes all over the face and body.
if today temperature still goes up and down, going to bring her to see doc liao...

Denmy,
Wow already 2 cm dilated? I think this 3rd one should be very quick for you! Talking about giving birth in toilet... I have a friend who was born in the toilet. No joke. She told me that her mom felt contractions and didn't know that she may be in labour. Thought stomachache and sat on the toilet bowl. Who knows a few mins later, my friend was popping out liao, her mother then realised something was wrong and screamed for HB. Then she delivered in the toilet! Amazing right? Anyway, my mom who gave birth 4 times, told me that the 1st is always the toughest. By the 4th one, which is my youngest sister, she said chop chop finish, like normal pass motion only. Haha...

Mashy,
Below 50kg? That's really good! My lowest was only 48kg when I was doing attachment at a construction site during Uni days. Then really trying very hard to save my allowances so that I can go Europe for a month after the attachment. Can't bear to spend money on food, would tapao peanut sandwiches for lunch and all that. Plus need to walk up and down the condo buildings still in construction (no lift) a few times daily. Lost quite a bit of weight. After that shot up between 50 to 52kg through my wedding and even now after preggers. But I think since stopping BF, I feel kinda fat. Maybe now more than 52kg liao. Got me motivated to exercise though, managed to do a 3.5km run last weekend. Sigh... I don't think I will ever go under 50kg anymore.

Yuki,
Agree with you that being SAHM is tough. I also lost almost all my preggers weight by the 1st 3 months cos of taking care of Isaac myself.

chillies,
Oh dear, that sounds really serious! How's Xavier now?

Re. Window grilles
Talking about window grilles... Do not have grilles in my house as well as at ILs' place. My parents have been nagging at me to install the grilles. But my HB is resistant, so am I actually cos we both like the view without the grilles. And if wnat to install, must do so at both our place and ILs' place. My HB feels constant watch and proper education of the dangers of falling off the windows should work. But there is always a risk, isn't it?

Tell you all something...
2 nights before, my HB spilled some milk tea on Isaac's favourite book and forgot to clean it up. So when the tea dried up on the book, some pages got stuck together. I didn't know and when I wanted to read the book to Isaac, the pages got torn when I tried to open the book. And Isaac burst into tears when he saw the torn pages! So I quickly flip to other pages which are not damaged but Isaac didn't want to read liao. I pacified him and said I'll buy a new one for him. Last night, my blur HB brought the book to Isaac and Isaac started crying again when he saw the book!

Krissie,
I let Jamie try colouring last night.. she is holding the crayon and dotting the paper. Got to try to hold their hands and scribble lor.

Hmm.. I shall go to some gadget forum to hear more reviews as I know nuts about cameras. Just need something to snap.

RE: Window Grille
My rooms have got but for living room, bottom do not have but top portion have. I did not lock it though. Last time tends to leave the grille open but after Jamie learn to climb up the sofa and bed, we will latch it but yet to lock it.

Sunny,
Boil some barley or chyrsanthemum tea for YX? Might helps.

denmy
u must be a new age mum to buy doll for ethan! yeah, maybe shd not stereotype or else their will grow up being used to all these ideas

may
i just bought Ixus 900. not too bad.

re weight
ha, if below 50kg is the envy, then i win already liao. i have been stuck at below 40kg for a long time. been tryign to gain but not successful.

denmy,
seems so soon that u will be giving birth. last time i also 1 cm dilated abt 1 week before giving birth. but when i reach hospital it still took quite some time...

re window grilles
i installed in all rooms even though i din like it..my parents were nagging at me also! i can pass u my contact if anyone needs .PM me.

re:careless hb
for my case, i must say my hb is the more careful person. it's me that always take chances to the limit. and he always say me....like last time, caleb got his fingers burnt while i was chomping my steak and he say "why never watch him?" hee...

denmy - all the best to your delivery. ya it shld be easy since ya dilating already. still cannot forget my time of 8hrs in labour with only 2cm dilation.

may - i have one canon ixus 55. not bad. i find it small and handy. can fit in my small tote bag. i think now its ixus 70 already or more.

sunny - is ur gal having her molar growing? recently caleb also have fever and parcetomal doesnt help. and doc give a stronger medicine...eh called wat har..i think start with R which i think some mummies mentioned before. dun worry, she will be fine soon. caleb recovered after a week and he had rashes too.

babylon - the last i went to desaru was like 10 over yrs ago. not a bad place in the past but i heard recently from my cousin who been there says the beach is dirty and not much of a pleasant resort as compared in the past. maybe u want to consider bintan/batam instead?

Denmy
So exciting, have a smooth delivery!

May
The toy rack is good, but Mel still likes to take out all the toys from the rack so my living room is still quite messy. But at least it's neat when Mel is asleep...haha.

Sunny
I think it could be sudden change in weather (from HK to Sing) plus there's a viral fever virus around. Mel's fever didn't come down 2 weeks ago until I gave her antibiotics. Take care.

Queen
Oh Isaac is such a book lover. Mel, on the other hand, likes to tear her book...haiz.

Re: Window Grilles
Personally I would install...won't take any chance. Lately, Mel likes to push the foot stool against the wall and stand on it to look out of the window. Will ensure that all the grilles at my house and my mom's pl are locked!

re:window grills
i think its very impt to have it esp when you have a maid. for my new hse, hb at first does not want to have the grills coz nicer mah and need not clean. but then a frd of mine told me when u have maid, its better to lock all those grills coz you never know wat the maid is thinking esp when there are kids ard.

rhinothiol-promethazine
tabbiesus, wanted to know more about this medicine. My PD presribed this to me for Aidan's cough previously.When he did not really recover after a few days of this medicine, I just brought him to our family GP. My GP strongly recommend us against using this as he thinks Aidan is too young (in his opinion, should be above 2). Is this true? Should be safe to consume right? since it is from the PD :p

Gymboree free trial (Parkway Parade)
Any mummies going for the free trial at the Parkway branch? I am thinking of letting Aidan try out the 16-24month class :>

babylon
RE: Desaru
I last went almost 10 years ago. Find the place like a dead town. My dept went there for retreat 2 years ago (managed to get myself out cos I was pregnant). They said the whole place including the hotels were quite run down, nothing much to do.

Hi Denmy

All the best to a smooth delivery. Will u be charged an extra day by appearing at 11pm for induction? My gynae told me to come in at 5+am for induction, when I was 3cm dilated. I was only 0.5cm dilated abt 1 hr after induction was done but after I had epidural, I was fully dilated 1/2 hr later.

AK,
I prefer Positive Babies over gymboree too. Too bad the trial timing for Positial Tots at 4pm is not suitable for me.

May, which lady was I speaking to (now me blur)? ya, I was too busy taking photos of him. ya, we "bumped" into the same equipment a few times :>

Window-Grilles, I have installed mine before I was preggie.... ya, sad the view is "destroyed" but safety is more impt to us. Do not have anything which the child can climb onto if you don't intend to have any grilles.

btw, there's a new gym in town, called Jumping Beans. See the ad in today's life section below the TV prog. Place is behind Novena Square and free trial this weekend. Called up and told that is a like a social trial, ie all ages of kids can go in at any time to try out the equipment. He said just pop in anytime on the hour .... I've put my name down for 2 kids at 2pm on sunday just in case it's really crowded. Tots our kids' age is at "Crawler Beans" - an hr of gym exercise. At 1.5 yrs old, the prog would be extended by 1/2 hr to include sit-down activities such as coloring and story-telling.

Mashy, which Gymboree did u go to? We went to the Harbour front which is new and relatively big. Quite enjoyable if it's for free play. Saw the Tanglin one which is quite small and run-down.

Tabbiesus
Thx for the explaination. No wonder my PD said that rhinothiol-promethazine is quite a weak medication. He said it's more bronchitic in nature. He prescribe Zyrtec the previous time for Keith.

.ky.

queen
I think window grilles are very impt, even though your hb might say things like oh just educate the dangers of falling will do or just be watchful. But then again, how can we watch over our child 24/7? And as they grow more mobile and agile, their curiosity will always propel them to just test things out, and nothing will stop them from exploring. One day, when our child is older, they might just push a step stool to the window to just look out. If they lose their balance, it'll be too late already.

There was a case in the newspapers where by a little girl, as young as 4 yrs old, fell to her death from the kitchen window. Apparently, her granny who's the main caregiver in the day, thinking that since her granddaughter is taking her usual afternoon nap, and she ran out of some sauces for cooking, went out of the house for a short while to the provision shop just downstairs to just buy and come back home immediately. But while she was out, her granddaughter woke up and was looking around for her granny. She went to the kitchen window, pulled a stool to the window and looked out to "find" her granny. As her granny was walking back to the block and was in view of her granddaughter, her granddaughter got excited and called out "Grandma!" waving her arms, and losing her balance, fell out of the window. The grandma witnessed the falling and death of her granddaughter.

When it comes to the safety of our child from falling through the windows, I think it should supercede above all things.

I think Rachel has got some contacts for window grilles.

babylon
Agree that Desaru is run down..we went a few years back, really did not enjoy the place at all. I find Bintan much nicer. 45 min ferry ride away :>