(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Linda...

So sweet of Gracie... :) Yup, u should be so so so so proud of her... it's very 'Nan de' for a toddler to know how to share...
I've read previously that it's Normal for children between 1-3yrs old not knowing how to share, though it's also up to us parents to guide them along, *BUT not force them to share*.....

3 Cheers for Gracie!!

Linda,
that's very sweet of your gal to do that. i always tell my hub, i wld very much like my son to be a thoughtful person n not self centered. yet to see him display any sign like yours...

SSF,
Your test result same as mine.
So we're like the same type, got married in same year, EDD same day, same hospital, gave birth on same day. kinda eerie...hahaha. BUT i'm not expecting #2...BUT I would love to have a boy for #2!

Linda,
Gracie is so sweet. As I have 2 nephews at home, I see this scenario almost everyday. The younger boy will snatch toys from Meg since young. Now that she is older, we observe that she will retaliate when the younger one snatches her toys. While when takes her toys, she gladly gives him. So we can see Meg loves the older boy more. BUt sometimes when he's grouchy, he will scold Meg and I can see the hurt on her face. Nevertheless she still gives way to him and loves him.

So although our kids are young, somehow i feel Meg can remember who was nice to her when she's a baby. :p

hi linda

Gracie is really sweet... and its just a reflection of the good job you've done in teaching her and explaining to her.

Can i ask you what brand of vitamin drops are you using for gracie?

Linda, Tracy
You both have very nice hearted gals leh. This is like bringing me back my memories on charmaine. Charmaine will do the same too , even to date, no matter how rude her cousin is to her, she will still think she is the best.

Hi Linda, Tracy and Chicken little,

Wonder if i am the odd one out.

Like i said in the earlier posting, i am easy going so i tend to be bullied most of the time when i was young. I don't fight back because i don;t really care about the things or maybe i am timid.

So i rather my gals be more spunky, retaliate......... i don;t know...... just want them to 'zhen1 yi4 kuo3 qi4'....... you know what i mean?

Hi Tabbiesus,.

I'm forgetful Mother and will update you tomorrow the name..FIL always talk to me about virus information and vitamin but me really super forgetful :p Paiseh.

Tracy, Tabbiesus, cl, esmummy and chillies
Your also a good mummy and I read a lot from forum that your really loves your child ...
I thanks to god and I learn from Gracie as well since from she born till now. We learn together and she make me fell love and warm in my house, Right now I totally happy with MIL...

Yuki

My charmaine is kind at heart but at times she will still know when to fight for her rights one. Her childcare teacher says she has very good leadership and not order kind. She has little followers in school ha ha.

Hi Chicken Little,

Ashley is also very loving. Not a leader but more of a follower. Not one who initiate things. In fact my niece who is two months younger than ashley will come up with all the funny tricks and ashley will follow.

Ashley is bullied by megan because she is very loving. To the extend that hubby and i are worried that she will be taken advantage of her kindness. Since young, she is not one who will snatch toys etc. She only take what is hers but at times she will not share too.

She's very much like my sister. When i was young, my sister took very good care of me. My mum use to give us 20 cents to buy tibbits while waiting for school bus. I often fell sick and skip school. My sister will us ethe money to buy my favourite tibits and save it for me. Even till now, when she travel overseas, she will spend 70% on us and 30% on herself. I am sure if she have money to buy only one item, she will sacrifice for me or my brother.

Actually i rather she be more selfish and buy for herself. I think Ashley is like her. She adores megan so much ever since megan is born...... she was only 2.5 years old yet she was telling the visitors in hospital "Don't disturb megan cos she is sleeping". etc . Whatever she misbehave herself, my mum will threaten to give away megan and ashley will obey. For example when she started school, she insist my mum tag along. my mum did that for a few days and thereafetr threathen to give megan away since no one to look after her when she follow ashley to school, the next day, ashley hop on the school bus alone and ask my mum to go home and look after megan.

I rather she think more for herself........ wierd thinking hor, this mummy?

Linda/Yuki,
Wah, Gracie and Ashley are both so sweet. Hmm....me still worried abt JW becoming a big bully.

Tracy,
Sorry, I think JW actually went up to Megan and pull her hair during the trial class.

Urgh...he is very aggressive and will throw his toys on the floor when he is angry. If I scold him, he will throw more of his toys and harder too. dunno how to discipline him

RE: MY GYM TRIAL
Hi Mommies, have confirmed with Jasmine, and last thing I need to do is to send a list of babies names, parents name and most importantly contact no. I have majority of the info already, just need from
Sysac, Linda, durianlover, sunny and Krissie.

So Sysac, Linda, DUrianlover, Sunny and Krissie, and PM me your info? Thanks! The rest of the mommies who indicated that both timing is OK, I've put you into the 12:30pm, since the 2:30pm slot is pretty packed already....

1) sleepingdeer - 12:30pm
2) chicken little - 12.30pm
3) sl - 12:30pm
4) May Wong - 12:30pm
5) Sysac - 12.30pm
6) Flo - 12.30pm
7) Linda -12.30pm
8) Tabbiesus - 12.30pm
9) Rena - 2.30pm
10)mashybrainz - 2.30pm
11)wenyl - 2.30pm preferred
12)durianlover
13)Clare - 12:30pm
14)sunny - 230pm
15) Cookie - 12:30pm
16) Krissie - 2.30pm
Till date is 10 pax for 12:30pm, and 5 pax for 2:30pm. Just pending Durianlover..

Linda/Yuki/Tracy/ChickenLittle
Gracie and Ashley are both so sweet. Humm, actually I would prefer my gal to be more kind hearted than a bully.

For Mel, she also doesn't know how to fight back. If a kid come and snatch her toy she'll readily give it up and go for something else. In fact, her sister cousin will do that to her every weekend. In the past, she'll just let go the toy and go for another one. But I think her cousin has done that to her too often and last week Mel actually came crying towards me (she doesn't cry in the past). I guess cos she had "enuff" from her cousin. She just kept snatching everything that Mel held onto. Until my hb can't tahan and actually tell my niece off (well is his sis's daughter so I'll leave him to 'discipline' her). The funny thing is despite being 6 1/2 months younger, Mel is much bigger size than her. We can really tell Mel doesn't like her sister cousin at all. In fact she'll very happy and cheerful at my PIL pl if her cousin is not there but she's really moody whenever her cousin is there. On the other hand, she really likes her brother cousin cos he'll give in to her.

wow now we are talking about if gals should fight back!... let me read later, sian still at work.

Hmm.. so far kae is ok with toys and doesn't really cry or fight when someone take from her. Brought her to my friend place , a few kids there.. she was choosing or rather going for toys that nobody play with..
Those that were taken, she dun go and try to snatch.
When I leave her at cradle roll at Church ( for the 1st time)... I was suprise and proud that she din even cry when we leave her there...
She was happy with the "teacher" there and when it get crowded she play on her own, going for those toy that no one is playing.
When I peep at her from the window.. she look pretty happy. The teacher just came out from toilet me Kae was very independant and play on her own, never cry at all.
Finally when church is over and we go over to fetch, once she see us, then she cry a bit.

Re: Good Money changer
Any mum has advice where I can try for good exchange rate money changer?

cookie
My dad always goes to the one in Toa Payoh but I don't know how to tell u where it is cuz Toa Payoh central is so big. Hmm.. its the one facing where the old interchange was, near KFC and Watsons but on the adjacent row of shophouses. There's 2 money changers there so u can compare rates between them but the bigger one, which is the one my dad goes to, usually gives a better rate. It's quite a big one with a big counter and 3 persons inside it. Nearby are many 2nd hand hp shops.

cookie,
U can try Parkway Parade. There are a few money changers there. Just do a quick comparison if u want. The rates are not bad. Else, u can head down to chinatown, People's Park Complex. The chinese one outside facing the mrt is very popular. Or u can try the indian money changer inside, the one under the escalator. Look for Nasu. His rates are not bad too. Hope it helps.

May I know where is the venue? I'll put my name down 1st.

Positive Tots Trial
Date: 22nd April Sunday, 4pm **Confirmed!**
Cost: $105 divided by number of attendees on actual day

1) SY
2) cookie
3) Flo
4) sleepindeer
5) tabbiesus
6) rena
7) sl
8) May
9) wenyl (TBC)
10)

Yuki - Don't know which? Hee hee...Choleric/Sanguine/Twin 1/Twin 2...

Flo - Representation of the Zodiac Gemini is Twins...so they say Geminis have 2 personalities!

re: Bad Breath
I've been brushing Kirsten's teeth and tongue. And also make sure she drinks plenty of water but still got leh. Sometimes, it's so bad that I thought she pooed but actually it's from her mouth! *Yucks!*

SY, I signed up for the JG hol program for the 1st week of May 28. Better sign up quick if you're interested. These programs are very popular.

Tabbiesus, will see Tabby there then. Yah, it may be too tiring for you. By then, you'll be pretty big already.

sleepingdeer, Kirsten has also been very clingy for the last month. After a long while, I realized that I just have to sit down next to her and distract her with some toys or play some games with her. If she cries, just ignore them and insist she plays along with me. Play with her for a while until she starts to wander off, then I can go and do my things.

Flo, same as you, I'm also Phlegmatic Sanguine.

Linda, Gracie is so sweet...

Yuki, I can understand what you mean. I think I'm quite similar to you personality-wise, so I also hope that my girl can be more agressive and fight for what she wants. So far, I observe that she likes to pass things to people, and will always be the first to say hi to other children, without our encouragement. When people take things from her, not much reaction from her too. Maybe it will change in future bah...

RE: tiger jar

Same as Rena, I also dun have much luck with the Tiger Jar leh... the only time it really worked was when my MIL boiled the rice and meat on the stove until the meat is cooked then transfer to the jar. I happily brought along the jar to Genting and brought rice, pumpkin, brocolli, carrot even... but dun know is it because the water boiled from the hotel's kettle is not hot enough, my rice always half cooked after 4-5hrs. Must we always boil on the stove first? Then go on holiday no stove how?

had not been checking forum for the past few days and oh my... so much posting to read!!

managed to scan through and hopefully i did not miss out anything that is attention to me. do drop me a PM or sms if need to get me ok? thanks

sleepingdeer
do take a break, if not sure will goes nuts! dylan is no different from shannon, there are times when i just blew my top while attending to dylan. even came to the extend to brush him aside when he demands for me to attend to him while im preparing his meals and our dinner. i know its not good for me to do that but i actually notice most of his cries are 'fake'. meaning after awhile his cries will die down and he will actually come over to my side and kaypo what im doing or wander off to his play area. the only times when i will give in to his cries is when he just woke up from his nap, he will need at least 10mins to roll around me and for me to cuddle him. its tough but all worth it. can be so mad with him one min ago, yet love him madly the next. *sigh*

you hang in there! still working part time?

Wenyl,
It is at Great World City.

Aileen,
I tried pretend play method. I will let Jamie pretend she is cooking and she got to feed me. And as a return, I will feed her the food. She seems to enjoy this and finish her food quite fast too. These are some photos that I have taken. Sometimes toys do help also. We will try all ways and means as long as they eat.

756692.jpg

756693.jpg

Denmy, wow, just read that you are giving birth real soon. So exciting! Wish you'll have a smooth delivery. Oh, and saw your photos. So heartwarming to see your family shots and of the brothers. Keenan is still as handsome as ever.

Mamachan, Daren has a big boy look already. Your family shots are very well-taken too.

Clare
i tried using the boiling water fresh the stove, dont work for me. then i tried soak the rice grain first for at least 4 hours or overnight. in the morning dump all ingredients in including the meat into the cooking pot. pre warm the food jar with hot water first. when the porridge is boiling, i pour away the hot water in the jar, scoop the boiling porridge in directly from the pot without turning off the gas. till dinner time the porridge is nua and still piping hot.

maybe you want to get SONG HE, NEW CROP (xing me). good for cooking porridge as the grain will turn very nua as compare to those normal rice grain.

May
wow so cute. after seeing the photos all the more i wish to have a girl for my #2! so i can play along with her =p i love pretend play when im little.

dylan likes to play with bowls, spoons and forks now too. he can be very engross with his 'cooking' when i gave him some dry sea shell paste.

valerie
Oh, heeee. Thanks thanks. The 2nd set of pics of family photos, my hb and I were horsing around with Daren. Hehehe, even attempted to salsa with Daren in b/w us. But, Daren only wanted to "salsa" with me coz he kept pushing daddy out.

Hi May, morning...
May i know where u got the pretend play kitchen for Jamie?
It looks so nice n tempting... keke, i was jus telling HB on sunday that I'll start to buy some "Kitchen" play stuffs for Eshley, n *Pop* here's yours... kekeke
Thks.

Rachel
Thanks for the tips... maybe will go buy a small pack of Song He rice n try... =)

May
Ooh so cute Jamie playing Masak Masak... Ashley also has a Kitchen set given to her on her 1st birthday. Still in store room as thought of only opening when she's much bigger... but now that i see Jamie I think shall go open it this weekend too hee hee... esp since they look like they are in the perfect height now for the Kitchen set. =P

hi esh mommy

in this thread they recommend going to this toy sale to get a kitchen set for quite cheap... maybe you can check it out?
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/753653.html?1176166102

I know you can get one from toys r us for about 60+ otherwise if you buy the other brandsthey can be as cheap as 20, can try kiddy palace.

May,
Jamie looks so cute playing with the kitchen set, i wanted to get one before but my hubby banned me cos he said she's too young. in fact yest i was at ikea for lunch and i wanted to get this metallic kitchen set.. sooo cute but kena banned by hubby..

SSF
congrats on another boy!

Clare

My first attempt with the Food Jar also not successful leh. Then the second attempt, I put in fresh boiling water realli with bubbles from kettle and it works. It also depends on the amount of water you put in. The first time I only put in little water for testing but it did not work. Second attempt I fill half with 2 chinese spoon of rice. I guess you realli have to try a few times. Now this Food Jar is my must must use for weekend liao.

Kitchen Set
Charmaine has been drooling for the longest time. But her daddy says no because too many big toys around. Lucky now she has 3 sets to play in school so I save money. Saw someone selling a new set dunno under WTB or WTS. Mummies interested can check it out

May
Jamie looks like a pro chef

Tabbiesus
Me too, was contemplating to get kitchen/tea set for Mel. Was actually eyeing at the tea set that's on Toys R Us star card member sale the other day but was afraid that the plastic knife might cut her tongue (she's still putting everything inside her mouth...faintz) so decided not to buy it in the end.

RE: Kitchen Set
Bought it from Toy "r" Us. Think it is $89.95. There are cheaper ones in Kiddy Palace. Might be getting other things like washine machine and vacuum cleaner of Pooh for her next time. Cos she has got pass-it-down iron already.

There are some more loose items that I did not let her try, eg: fork, paper milk carton. Cos I think it is dangerous for her age as she will put the fork into her mouth and might crush or bite the paper of the milk carton. So I give her simple utensils like pots, cups, plates and spoons (2sets each). Also to prevent her of messing up the house. At least I can keep track of the lost items and get her to find it back. Once I even found plates inside my laundry bag. So must really sit there and play with her lor.

Hi Mummies...

Thanks for the well wishes for Celeste.. she's gettin better and her fever oni managed to come down after 3 days!!! the 3rd day was scary at 39.9 degree,i was flying to the doc to get her inserted wf suppository! despite the sponging and medicine ( partial since she threw up ) fever was sturborn... but thank god she is looking so much better after i started her on antibiotics on the 3rd day except for her phelgm n teenie bit of runny nose... and Mummie finali got to sleep undisturbed after 3 scary nites... argh... no fun!!!

May - so cute! i bet Celeste will be throwing the pots and pan on the floor if i have tat... as it is,she pulls my plates n bowls out fr the kitchen cabinets,so i guess kitchen set will wait! hee... but i do have a doll house fr her bdae courtesy of her ah yi which looks so cute and Mummie here is dying to open it and 'play' with her! so deprived hahahahha
but i reckon better to wait than for her to pull the hair out fr the dolls

Valerie - i also was going yucks at celeste's bad breath last time... but no worries la,tink will go away soon. mabbie can make barley for her, sometimes bad breath may be due to heatiness in body. i make barley during weekends and sometimes mix in to her milk ... sweeter tasting for her and more fuss free since she will be happily slurping it...

chickenlittle
How much water nu put in with 2 chinese spoons of rice? Hows the consistency of the porridge? Watery or thick?

Esh mommy
the metallic set is small pots and pans only but looks like those WMF brand.. very cute. But then i thot of the noise she would make clanging them about... then changed my mind.

Flo
Me too.. was eyeing the one on the toyrus card.. tabby has a small frying pan and dish set with fruits cut in half but can be stuck together by velcro... i don't give her the forks or knives either.. so scary.

RE: sharp objects
When i was at KKH last time, i saw a lot of injuries to the eyes from all these sharp things so i'm very paranoid.. no glass cups or knives or forks or flying tops/toys until my girl is much older... i once had to go back and stitch up a 2 year olds eye cos he dropped a glass cup and the glass splinter hit is eye.... i was really traumatised by it.. cos tabby was still quite small and i could feel the pain for the parents and the child... other things that i find scary are those satay sticks at chocolate buffets that kids wave around... it freaks me out all the time..

RE: Bad Breath
Jamie has it too ever since she was sick last sat.

RE: Loud Breathing and Bad Cough
Think due to the flu, Jamie is having this. Does anyone have remedy to dissolve phelgm? She is coughing badly and I know there is alot in her throat but she doesn't know how to spit it out. PD did give her something to dissolve phelgm but doesn't seems to help. I dun wish it to delay longer as my mum told me if it is going on for too long, she might get asthma easily.

RE: Sharp Objects
Yes..very dangerous so must be under supervision. I go thru all the toys before passing to her to make sure that it is safe. Make sure there are no chip off, no loose parts that might drop out during play/bite, make sure the colouring on the toys will not discolour due to sucking/biting(saliva).

Wenyl,
Positive Tots trial is at Great World City Babiesncream. Hope you can make it.

God's Child,
Glad to hear Celeste is well now. Such viral fever is very tiring for both the kid and us!

May,
I soooo wanna buy such a set for Meg too but forbidden by hb. Hmph!!

Re:Dry Lips
Meg's upper and lower lip just on the inside suddenly turn white and peely, like when we have dry lips. But they are not cracked and we can't clean it off. We tot ulcer and got scared of HFMD, but its not, cos it didn't turn red into ulcers, nor are they pain. Her hands and feet are fine and no fever watsoever. It will also subside after awhile and then reappear again, especially after waking up from sleep.

Any mummies with such experience? May hve to bring to PD tonight again..

may,
thanks for sharing the pics. but don't think i will buy the toy coz it's too girly leh. no meh? partly oso becos it's bulky. and another reason is i don't want edgar to get used to playing while eating. i make sure that he sits in his hi-chair to eat rather than running around. i saw how tiring it is for my neighbour to chase after her kids around during mealtime.

mamapanda
only for the eye...

Tracy
Can it be dryness? Does meg sleep with her mouth open? Cos for it too come and go like that sounds like dryness... see if it will go away with drinking water...

May
last time tabby was sick, i used rhinothiol to dissolve the phlegm.. sometimes must put her over my lap and pat pat her back so she can get the phlegm out of her throat, like jamie, she don't know how to spit it out.. end up she will swallow it or vomit out.. it took 3-4 days of medicine to clear up the phlegm.

Tabbs,
I'm also thinking either dryness or she's biting her lips. This girl all along drinks very little water and my MIL is sadly not diligent enuf in finding ways to make her drink water, unlike my mum. I'm thinking to wait it out but MIL thinks its rash and wants us to bring her to PD.