(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Aileen,

The title of the book is Personality plus for parents.

Very good book.

Basically the book categorise our personality into 4 types. there are some test on the book that you can do to see which one you belong to and your child too. With the test and the knowledge of which persoanlity group you belong too, you can match it with your child and watch out for the pitfalls or how to improve the relationship with your child.

aileen
oh yah, have u brought edgar to be examined by the PD? I heard from my boy's infant care before that they had cases of children who were allergic to certain foods and caused them to be unable to swallow. So end up always vomit out the food.

Yuki

haha, i agree that it's a good book. Previously i was very concerned about my boy's development being on the slow side. He's still not walking! After reading it, i realised that he's simply not motivated enough. It's like why walk when i can be carried, held and can crawl faster. And probably walking is too much work for him. sigh. Now I just let him be. I'm just worried that he'll be unmotivated thru out his life. lazy bum.

Krissie,
class will last 45min, like Gerald, Shannon's lunchtime is 12pm sharp, so i think I will feed her a little of her lunch first, then feed the reat after class, up to you which timing you prefer..

PERTH! Love the place, the weather and the people! Must must go King's park, and shopping...! Habourtown like what Mamchan suggested is quite a good place, I like Carousal too. Fremantle is also great for weekend shopping and if you love corn on a stick, you must try it at fremantle market, super sweet and juicy! Check out Shannon's blog for our trip there in Sept last year if you want any ideas
www.shannonho.blogspot.com.

Demny,
poor Keenan, hope he recovers fast! Think alot of kids were sick these few months, we had a friend's gathering at our home last Sat, and like Shannon, all 5 toddlers had JUST only recovered from flu, cough and runny nose! And to think we were worried Shannon might spread her's to them... haha...

Re: Food intake,
Aileen, Shannon can join your Edgar liao.... her food intake is very pitiful, she can eat half a bowl of porridge for lunch and dinner, and that's all. dun want anymore... I was soo happy when she went up to 8.8kg at last checkup, then it went sliding back down again after she fell ill! I think she is the smallest here in this thread, haha, somemore her parents are like giants, so paiseh!

Re: Separation Anixety
Shannon is soooo very clingy to me now after her illness that it is driving me crazy! She refuses anyone and the instant I try to put her down on the floor, she will become Ms Koala and wrap her legs about my waist. If I do succeed in putting her down, the moment I walk away, she will start crying and run to look for me. When we are getting ready to go out, she will even refuse to let me put her down ont he floor to wear her shoes, thinking I will run away. IN the end, she has to plaster her whole body right on top of me, so that she thinks I won't get away. Night times are nightmares, last night I had to carry her to sleep for 2 hours, and in the end I just went crazy and started crying together with her... wah, I think I need a break from this superglue baby!

RE: tiger jar

seems like i have no luck with it.. i tried to cook 2 time but failed.. i tred again yhesterday but the rice is half cook so i poured the water out and boiled again then pour it in.. 2 hours later the rice is cook but not nua.. but the pea is still very hard..

yuki,
thanks for the title. will go get it.

mashy brainz,
ya i have told PD about his poor eating habits, but he didn't say anything about it, except that some babies are like that and refuse milk about 1yr which is fine by him.

sleepingdeer,
haha, join the club! :p edgar still eats about 1 bowl sometimes more. thou i think he's still considered on the petite side. last check he is about 9.5kg, hopefully he will cross the 10kg mark soon or he may already have, i don't know coz i don't weigh him at home. maybe u want to consider putting pedisure into her porridge, like what i'm doing.hehe.. at least i'm rest assured he gets all his nutrients. know it sounds funnie but i tot it tastes quite alright. like cereal! quite sweet. :p

sleeping deer,

welcome to the club of Kolas.. elijah is like tat too.. especially when he is sick.. now he only like to call for mummy and ever daddy he will also call mummy leh.. so funny.. he use to know who is who but now he only like to call mummy..

Sleepingdeer,

Charmaine does the exact same thing to me when I go home! She's okay in the morning when I leave for work but come night time, she will turn into a Koala. How?

Mashy,
I think Charmaine can hi-five with Caeden. I was wondering if she's eating too much. She usually would be able to finish 1 bowl of porridge for lunch and dinner which are at 12 noon and 5pm. In between, she drinks like 300ml of milk, latches on and drinks in the morning and evening, eats gerber stars, snatches fruits from my mum, shares biscuits with my mum. I think she's sort of eating nonstop the whole day! Last sunday, when I baked some baby cheesecake for her, she actually finished 1 and 1/2 cheesecake the size of a normal muffin. Is she overeating?

Mashy, Yuki/tabby
I took the test. Sanguine Phlegmatic is what is given. Haha, some traits are opposing to each other. I used to take this D-I-S-C personality tests too quite sometime back. Think our personality will change over time as well as we go through form one stage of life to another.

Sorry for the feedback.

RE: MY GYM TRIAL

Hey mommies who have signed up, finally got hold of Jasmine, the date that I've proposed is ok, however, there are already about 10 pax in the class, so plus us, will be 25 to 26. Jasmine mentioned that with a very large class, it is still doable, but we won't have the maximum fun. So, she has opened a new empty time slot for us, which is 12:30pm on the same date. Is everyone ok with that? Please indicate whether you are ok, or you wanna stick to the 2:30pm slot. if so, then we will probably split the class, thanks!

Venue: Great World City
Costs: $29.50 for trial (usual is $35)
Proposed Date: 28th April, Saturday
Time : 12:30pm (new slot)or 2:30pm (existing class with 10 pax already)
Duration : 45 min

Please indicate whether 12:30pm is ok, or you want to stick to 2:30pm
1) sleepingdeer - 12:30pm
2) chicken little - 12.30pm
3) sl - 12:30pm
4) May Wong - 12:30pm
5) Sysac - 12.30pm
6) Flo - 12.30pm
7) Linda -12.30pm
8) Tabbiesus - 12.30pm
9) Rena - 2.30pm
10)mashybrainz - 2.30pm
11)wenyl - 2.30pm preferred
12)durianlover
13)Clare - Both ok
14)sunny - 230pm
15) Cookie - both ok
16) Krissie - prefer 2.30pm (12+ is Ger's lunch time)

Denmy
It can be dangerous I heard to be chicken pox infected during pregnancy. If in 1st tri, might need to abort.. I have 2 friend has chicken pox during 2nd tri.. and they are ok but one of them comment the bb has poor skin condition.

Poor Keenan hope he get well soon and you too must take care and get your maid involve to help u in the nite.

Re: bb spitting food
Kae has been doing the same, usually when she is not keen in eating anymore.
Ytd MIL told me.. when she spit for the 1st time, she smack her mouth lightly to tell her not to do it. Then kae lift up her short collar/neck line and spit inside her clothes onto her bare body.
MIL thought she has finish and feed her again ( I seriously do not know how can MIl din notice?wonder was she watching TV while feeding) and Kae spit again, at the end of the session, MIL realise there are whole lot of porridge inside Kae T-shirt.
I keep myself from asking what is MIL doing while feeding that she dunno Kae spit inside her clothes.

Rena
So far my tries on Food Jar has been very good never uncook/half cook before.
Did you bring the rice to boil before pouring into the food jar?
did you keep the porridge in food jar at least 3hrs?
did you tried to cook alot of rice at one go?
Is your model the same as the one that can cook porridge?

Mashy/sl
so long you allow your babies to stick to their usual 3 meals a day plus milk intake, should be fine. At this stage, they are rather active and thus will burn alot more calories than we adults do. My PD advised me not to let Daren have the habit of snacking, if any, on top of his 3 meals, other than that, it's ok. Daren eats close to 2 ikea children's bowl of porridge per meal. I was quite concerned by hearing what my PD shared, I eased off abit.

seems like we have a lot of Semi-sanguines here!

I am like what mashy says of his boy - true blue Phlagmatic. Ha Ha.

The book is very interesting. teaches us how to manage our kids according to our personality type.

Hi MAshy,

Ha Ha don;t worry about your boy. I am also very laid back, usually at peace, contented.

Nothing bad about it cos we are usually happy go lucky type. Not easily upset.

Yuki,
I'm phlegmatic choleric. :p Sounds like a person full of phlegm and has high cholesterol. Haha, pls ignore me..jus being silly.

Hi Tracy,

You are so funny!!! I burst out laughing when i read your posting! Luckily no one else in the office!

i am 80% full ofphlegm! Ha Ha.

tracy

u are so funny! hahaha.

yuki
prob is when this phlegmatic is paired up with his choleric sanguine mom who wants him to buck up and get moving. haha.

re spitting food
i m beginning to suspect JH does it with me and to play with me. yesterday maid said he was fine the whole day....

JH is really getting naughty with me ard...

re separation anxiety.
i realise this is strongest at night. when i come home and dun call him immediately, he will cry.

Hi Mashy brain,

can you imagine me and ashley together? Both nua together....... opps.

Hi Sysac,

Ha Ha. You are funny too!

Like what mamachan has said, our persoanlity will change overtime.

My phlegmatic personality was much stronger, almost 90% a year ago.

Just did a test just now, it was Phlegmatic Sanguine. 60% P, 20% S ...........

It's fun doing such test! Ha Ha. Maybe you can get your hubby to do it too. My hubby is a choleric phlegmatic.

sysac

you're same as me. :p

yuki

hahah, yah, nua together. :p I think the personality also changes with different situations. I think I'm different at work and at home. hehe. I used to be more choleric at work, but later became more phlegmatic at work. really can't be bothered. hehe.

Actually i find Choleric and phlegmatic are quite an opposite, just like Sanguine and Melancholody............ Read somewhere that the Choleric are usually frustrated by the Phlegmatics cos they are too laid back for them. As i reacll this i can understand what Mashy feels. Ha Ha.

Choleric and sanguine are the extroverts while Phlegmatic and Melancholody are the introverts.
True?

Hi MAshy,

Actually it's quite true. I am always the slow one in school. When i was overseas studying, i am just contented i have the chance to pursue my studies. Two months after starting school, realise my classmates are comparing grades, aiming for first class, then it hit me that it is competitive and since i am spending so much on an overseas education, i might as well aim for a first class. I am always slow to react to situation.... Ha Ha. even in office i am always last to know what happen. Ha Ha. But that's fine cos i don;t gossip about others and vice versa. Just mind my own business.

I used to think i am useless, timid, lack of courage etc in primary and secondary school. But as i grow older, i realise these can be my strength too and also as my confidence grow, i know what i want and then fight it. In most cases, i don't really want it (cos easily contented) hence liad back. But then i don't think i am useless anymore lah.

So with Phlematic i am more concerned about building up that self confidence in young age. That's what i am trying to do with Ashley. Trying to train her to fight for what she wants.

She always get bullied in church and school and now at home (bullied by megan). So now i try to build up her confident and ask her to approach strangers eg. if she wants a balloon at the malls etc.... And fight back should someone disturb her....(doesn't sound very right teachings right?) Hubby teaches her to scream back at the person "Go away, don't disturb me".... Be it in church or shcool, when someone snatches her toys away, she will only sit back and cry but never fight back.........

I also send her to Montessori cos i want her to pick up the habit of speaking up etc.

hi mummies...wow so much on Perth. so tempted! i was there for a 2 weeks crashed course and 1 week of leisure extension. it was so much of fun esp when i wasn't married and having to bunk in with 3 other gals and 2 guys all under one roof. just remind me of the drama FRIENDS. haha..Perth is slow paced and really a nice place to hang out. Fremantle, carousel mall, pinaccles, swan river, rottnest island. so shiok! now we are delaying our travel plans as we spent too much on reno and just realised that even after selling our flat for 10K above valuation, we will need to put that sum back into CPF! so sad...thot we could use it for furniture or electonics purchase. so now we have to tighten the belt alittle. will start moving in middle of next mth and gosh havent got any mover yet. anyone has any lobang or recommendation with good discount ?

mamachan - wah! you are so clever. it was my first time in KK and i was shocked that i need to move abt so much! hb left early so i was all alone by myself. cannot run away to too many places also. sigh. anyway i am not gg back anymore. AMK clinic will be my one stop although i know i have to wait quite long too but at least they are all in one area.

flo - its a boy. i got it confirmed in the detailed scan yesterday. hb came into the room late so i told him after we left that "oh! btw doc says it turns out to be a gal" hahaa....of coz he knows i am lying.

SY - my gynae is Dr Benjamin Tham. he quite funny. he told us ...although its a boy again but still can celebrate la. no champagne ...wine also can la. at least we know its a healthy baby boy.

Personality Tests
It's really funny to see who is of what trait. But we'll still have a little each of the 4 traits, just that the strongest 2 will be titled. I think if the description says Sanguine Phlegmatic, I guess it would be my Sanguine Trait is higher followed by Phlegmatic? Some personality tests are also able to show what is your personality is like when under pressure.

I suspect Daren is also another Sanguine Phlegmatic...kekeke, he goes up to everyone and anyone and asked to be carried! All the old ladies at the markets all adore him! *Faintz* I always tease him saying he trying to be "Auntie-killer!"

SSF
No lah, just by chance to discover that can "beat" the system! Unless you opt for Premiure Suite, everything is also one stop service. =) and you can relax in the relaxing environment.

Personality Tests
I took the test before and also the DISC that Mamachan had taken. I am a Sanguine Choleric. My Hubby is a Phlegmatic Sanguine and my son seems to be like him!

i just found out at a gathering that KKH gives the BCG jab on the arm!

Mine was from TMC, so it's on the butt. Think on butt better leh, not so obvious.

mashybrainz -is it on the arm? caleb is from TMC and has his on his butt which is so much better and conceal. alamak my second one is in KK...can i ask them to jab on the butt instead?

i just found out at a gathering that KKH gives the BCG jab on the arm!

Mine was from TMC, so it's on the butt. Think on butt better leh, not so obvious.

Yuki - Yes, cos the comics followed by the results of the test shows like I have split personalities! As it is, I am a Gemini - Twins plus this Choleric Sanguine. Wow piang, it's 4 personalities! Hee hee...no wonder...

Mashybrainz - Whew, I'm not alone! Haha..

Hi MAshy and Esh mummy,

I think all Gov hospital jab on the arms. Pte hop jab in the butt. My friends was telling me jab arms better cos if future, check easier, need not show the butt........... Ha Ha.

Hi sysac,

Ha Ha, hmmmmmm so who are we talking to now? Ha Ha

Daren's BCG on his arm at KKH..but he doesn't look like he got vaccinated! can't find the mark on his arm.

Florence
Haha, my DISC test also showed I'm a I-S-C, but high I.

Hi Florence and Esh mummy,

I think they check on the records lah. Worse senerio is to check the scar.

I think my friend said that to make me feel better, just like Esh Mummy. Ha Ha.

Tracy,
Sorry just read your post. I am ok with splitting the cost. Can you PM me your account number so that i can transfer the money. The forum moves too fast....worry that i miss your post.

Hi Mummies,.

How are you...

Hi Tabbies
Your princess so cute

Hi Aileen,.
Reg: BB refuse food.

You might try to give feed her orange or kiwi during feeding time together with his food.
Actually I'm not really like this method becos I scared this might be a bad habit for children. But sometimes we really so XING TONG and worry that our child refuse to eat. No choice need to come out this method.
I use this once a week or twice a week during Gracie lunch time or dinner time. But you need to know what is Edgar favourite fruit.
As Gracie is addict with ORANGE once she see ORANGE..she will scream on it. I use a small spoon to feed her the orange and follow by porridge or 3 spoon feed porridge follow by orange. Sometimes I will change to Banana and other fruit as well. She really finish her food after those fruit.
You can try this to Edgar and it also good for training our child to eat fruit.

RE; Proud of my Gracie

Something to share with your mummies..
I and hb were monitor Gracie behaviour. Finally we found out that she got AI XIN and NOT SELFISH.
Last friday was a celebration for hb Grandma 88 yrs old birthday. They were a lot children from 12 yrs to 9.5 mths .
SIL brot her 4 yrs old son and her 9.5 mths bb girl. Gracie love to play with her son. When her youger daughter was crawling and Gracie came to her, looked at her and smile with her. After that she went to the room and bring a small toy box and pass it to SIL youger bb and also a soft toy. She even give her piano toy to hb Grandma ( As she was suffered from LAO REN CE TAI CHENG and sit on wheelchair ) grandma look at her with a smilling face. Although she doesnt recognise us but she still recognise Gracie and always call her BB.
The next day , SIL brot her son and her bb to our house. Her son was played with Gracie toys and Gracie came to him and wanna to played with him but too bad he didnt play with Gracie. And he chased Gracie away...Gracie walked away and came to SIL 9.5 mth bb girl and played with her. Gracie pick up one of her favourite toy for her. And Gracie also grab her self a story book. But SIL son came to her and take away her story book and give it to his own sister. Poor Gracie with s miling face still pick up another toys and look very happy. But too bad this time SIL son came again and take from her the toy and give to his sister. Gracie look at her cousin and a bit blur blur but she still get another toy and played. But SIL son came again and take away her toy and give it to his own sister. Oh poor Gracie this time she really look sad and see her cousin take away her own toy for 3 times and give to his own sister.
I was sad after saw this and I came to her with another toy and pass it to her. But again SIL son wanna to take her toy and this time his father saw him and scolded him.
I did not stop SIL son when I saw him did that to Gracie...becos I want to know how Gracie react and I want to understand her more as she is no longer bb and her character also has change. And I also want to aware of SIL son so that for future I can talk to him and explain to him that he is wrong.

But I was so sad after saw this as Gracie so love him but today he did that to her...is actually hurt her feeling that he not respect her and will take away her toy to his own sister.
I told hb about this and hb told me that he knw this becos that is not the first time. And we got so proud of her as she actually still love her cousin and shared toys with them also he has took her toys for twice.

karin,
hi, cos my boy went through the same phase. He was drinking very little and nv seemed to be hungry. Saw PD couple of times and nothing was found and she said cld be juz a phase. It din improve and saw another PD when she suggested to do a urine test then to realise that he had UTI. Most has fever but he din, juz poor appetite. He was only 3 months then. I mean u can juz do a test, no harm right?