(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re. vacuum cleaner
I have a Delphin a home too. My HB has since banished our old Phillips vacuum cleaner to cold palace liao. Me and HB were swayed by the Delphin's sales pitch... paid thousands for this cleaner. But so far no complains about this cleaner loh.

clara
I'm not sure le. I think i came across this thread le. that y i didn feed him ma. But i think is alright if your bb is ok right? or maybe we should ask more mummies for advice?
Meanwhile calm down don wan u to be so stress up with my post. so sorry.
Mummies pls advice us.
Thanks alot

wow ky, are you from the medical industry too? i'm going gugu-gaga over all the names of medications. well maybe i'm the only one that's blur here! :p think it's high time i pick up some of these knowledge so i know what to administer when the need arise
so nice to have mummies sharing such info here! thanks ya! :D

Hi Mummies...

RE: Feeding Rice

Think should be ok and some how is depend on baby ...some they like and some dont like.
Like what May said...rice must be those soft soft type at least easy for our bb to eat.

Today I might leave office early and going back early cos this week has reach home quite late and feel guilty with my Gracie.

Rp mummies lunch
Ok, let's defer it since response is poor.

Flo, I will meet you before you go concourse. Pls sms me tomorrow to arrange.

krissie
i live @ bukit panjang.

tabbie
thank you and sorry for the trouble.

SY
i totally understand what you mean on cant bear to tear away from your baby. when days i plan to put dylan with my mum so that i could have a full day to clear all housework and abit of ME time, i feel kind of lost. house seem empty without my little master's cries and talkings. when hb carry him to the lift and he wave ta-ta to me, i felt sad. haha me think too much le =p

Clare
thanks for passing the scrapping stuff to god's child.

god'schild
see when i can meet you to collect the barang barang. should be over this weekend.

ky
u really good with all the medication names...think i shd really take a closer look at what my bb is being given.

RP lunch
i can meet next week except Mon. let me know when

re rice
thinking of starting my boy on rice + soup. maybe i will feed him his usual porridge, then feed lesser than usual and towards the end give him some rice + soup and see how he reacts. if good, then will do that on alternate days.

rachel,
yah man, looking at our little ones bring a lot of joy! just hearing him laugh makes me happy already.

today i feel very sad. a close colleague just tendered. over the past year, quite a few of my colleagues left and they are all considered close colleagues. really feel no motivation liao...sob sob.

Queen, Flo, sorry, have been MIA for the last few days and just realized that you 2 have done quite a lot of work for the decor. Will help on that day to put up the decor and bring my hand pump too.

Mummies, we are going to Chiang Mai for a last min trip this Sunday, but accomodation still not booked yet! Wanted Tamarind Village but it's fully booked. Any recommendations with baby in mind? TIA!

AK
Thanks, will sms you tom morning to arrange.

Tracy
Oh oh, Megan really got "xing ge". Hopefully she won't be so fiesty towards dylan next time **wink**

Clare, Wendyheng, SL, SY
Ya my fren's niece did went for op to remove part of her intestine cos she started eating rice too young according to the doc (tho' I didn't mentioned 14 months). Apparently it seems that we should not feed our bb rice too early cos they don't chew well and their intestines are not well developed yet. So I guess just to play safe lor. Maybe will check with PD next time. Tabb, any advice?

SY
From past experience, I would advise you not to feel pressurize to change job cos your colleagues are leaving cos you might regret after that, which I did. You might be jumping from one pile of shit into another bigger pile. Leave only when the pull factors are stronger than the push factors. I was also very tempted to tender last year cos morale was low and a few of my closer colleagues have left the company. But I'm glad that I didn't cos things turns out better after that. So just hang on and don't act on impluse.

Rice at a young age.
Hmmm, personally, I would not give rice at such an early stage now until they develop much more teeth and capable of chewing well, despite serving rice in soup so that it'll be softer. Reason being, when we chew our food, we break the food further into smaller pieces and increase it's surface area for the body to further digest them further in the stomach and intestines. If the rice is not well digested by the time it gets to the intestines, over time, it'll strain the intestines. No, am not a doctor like tabbiesus, just coming from the knowledge I got from the biomedical background in the lab =)

Managed to get pics of Daren in the CNY suits I took pics of and uploaded yesterday. Hope he can make you look forward to the weekend to shop shop shop for CNY clothes!

676340.jpg

Daren in the gold CNY suit with old chinese characters

676341.jpg

My hb calls this pic "Shao Nian Huang Fei Hong". Daren in blue ma gua

mamachan,

daren is so handsome....

Waking

damien just started to walk. But whenever i try to put on shoe for him, he just refused to walk. How can i encourage him to walk with shoe

Rachel,
Happy to read that u are adjusting well to being a sahm. Good to have ur mum as a backup bbsitter whenever u need some time out. I will also sometimes leave Ethan with my ahma & maid for a few hours so tat I can run some errands. I would say tat sahm is not an easy job but once u get into the routine, it gets better. Although tiring cos its a 24/7 round the clock job....the bonus are also much fatter & rewarding! Tat's why I m still hestitating whether shld I go back to work fulltime or not. My fil ever hinted to me to go back to work. Hiaz.

Mamachan,
Daren looks very stylo-milo in both outfits! The ma gua looks unique. I got a hand me down cheena suit from my sil. Its actually the set I bought for my nephew 4 yrs ago for his 1st cny. Now Ethan is gonna wear that this yr. Hee!

Valerie,
U so lucky, can go holiday! Tell us more when u come back okie. I was also tinkg of Chiangmai last yr when hb was clearing yr end leave. But in the end, we didnt go anywhere cos hb wanted to laze at home la. Now there is direct flights to Chiangmai. Makes it easier to bring bbs there. Last time, we need to transit in BKK for internal flight.

Mamachan
Daren is georgous esp in his blue ma gua

Babylon
Clap Clap to Damien. Did you let him wear soft or rubber sole shoe? Could the shoe be too big/small that he feels uncomfortable in it?

Valerie
No worries, we didn't do much either. Going down to concourse to check out the stuff there later during lunch.

Rachel
Thanks for the designing the banner **muack muack**. It's nice!

Mamachan, Daren certainly looks like the kung fu kid! So adorable!

Babylon, are the shoes you put on damien squeaky or hard soles? Maybe you try shoes that are softer first?

Tracy, haha, Megan is such a chilli padi.

Flo, I remember you mentioned about giving rice too young and I shared it with my friends who have been feeding rice to their <2 yr old kids. They freaked out cos one of them will even order one full plate of fried rice for her son to eat at Crystal Jade.

Oh yah, mummies, any good mid-range resorts or hotels to recommend in Chiang Mai? I've booked Amora and waiting for confirmation but still looking around for other options.

Florence
Oic. So you are e mother that post tat thread? hehe. hehe i think i saw 14 mths le. hahaha nvm ah maybe i blur ah. Tabb is a doctor?

Mamachan,
Wow, Daren looks great in the two costumes! I like him in the blue ma gua. So handsome.

RE: Bday Bash
I am looking forward to tomorrow's bash!! So excited.

Flo / valerie,

i give him the soft soles type...

my family enjoyed watching damien the way he walk. Hope that damien can walk well before CNY..

Mamachan,

Yup you sure motivate me to get a set for Aden. Can share share which stall your mil bought it ? I will go and jalan jalan.

Birthday Bash.
Yup full of excitment for this weekend. Ha ha my car is turning to a cargo van with sponsored stuff hee hee

Wenyl, yah, finally decided to just go for it since hubby got expiring air miles. Hmmm, hope it all turns out good... First time travelling with Kirsten.

Flo, can't join you and queen later but see you tomorrow!

babylon/Wenyl/Florence/Valerie/May/CL
Thanks! thanks! I like both outfits on him alot, but more so for the blue ma gua, really something different from thr norm.

Chicken Little
Ok, let me check with my MIL where she got from k? I also dunno which part of Chinatown too... hehehe, Chinatown is my MIL's territory. Will sms you if I can get hold of her later. If not, will have to let you know tmr.

BDAY BASH
FINALLY! THE lONG awaited day is come! Tomorrow is the day! Phew!~ Can't wait to meet you all again.

celine,
Lucas also not walking nor uttering any words. Infact, I think he is plain lazy. He knows he can get to destination much faster by crawling and he loses patience. He'll only cruise around the furniture. As for words, by uttering the "uhs.." and "ahs..." we still give him what he wants so maybe no incentive to speak. But when we prompt him but daggling the things as carrot, he gets angry.

Re: Middle ear infection
Just brought Lucas for his chickenpox jab on Tuesday. Quite angry with PD and will most probably change. I asked PD to examine his ears carefully this time as Lucas has been digging his ears a lot since birth. I always tell her that with every visit in the past but we think she did a slip-shot job as Lucas would struggle and move away and she just superficially examine. This time, she almost did the same until I say even if he cries also must see - turns out his middle ear is very inflamed and she says he has middle ear infection! Cannot imagine if we just let it go and Lucas could be only hearing 75% of the volume at the time!! We got referred to an ENT (appt next Tue) and she prescribed 3 medications for him: Augmentin (antibiotics, in the family of penicillin), Zyrtec and Hydrspor ear drops. Lucas hates the ear drops as they are very viscious and he cannot even go to bed thereafter. I then went to the internet and check on the medications. The dosage of the ear drops she prescribed was same for an adult with serious ear infection! I just stop using it lor.
It got me even more flaming mad when after I took the chicken pox jab she told me the incubation period is about 2 weeks so if there are any side effects like fever/mild chicken pox, it will only appear then. Bad timing as I will be in bangkok for training and it is so near CNY!! Geesh. Really regret signing up the full immunization package of $350.

Birthday Bash
my hb said most likely there will be recall tomorrow afternoon. so sad. but anyway, i will still go to have fun. hehe.

mamachan,
daren looks so handsome! love the outfits ur mil got for him!

cindy,
for edgar, he's scared to walk. he haven't built up his confidence yet. it's quite surprising coz he seems such a rough boy to me. never cry or whine when he falls. these days he can utter "duck" when he's going to bath with his rubber duckies and "dog" when he sees one. but he doesn't do it all the time lah. only when he feels like it.

btw who's ur PD? she's really terrible!! make sure none of us here goes to her! regarding digging of ears, edgar started doing it since last dec. we have gone a PD at railmall and she said it's fine. but we werent convinced so we seeked a 2nd opinion from Edgar's PD since birth and he oso said his ear drum is fine. juz a habit which alot of babies have. he said that 80% of the time when they check, it's nothing, juz habitual or probably eczema around the ear. i guess that's why ur PD didn't take it seriously.

cindy

Hydrospor is antibiotic/ antifungal ear drop..but useful for otitis externa.. that means infection outside the ear drum... otitis media is infection of the fluid trapped behind the ear drum usually due to blocked nose.

BTW.. have you had chicken pox? Cos if Lucas show sign of chicken pox effects.. you shouldn't be exposed to it cos you are pregnant.. although risk is low if you've already had chicken pox before cos you'll have antibodies.. i am very paranoid...

mamachan
I like the blue suit too! he looks so cute like those kung fu movies.. mini wong fei hong..keke...I showed my mom and she also want to get a set for my boy boy next time!

cindy
so worrisome after seeing your post. my gal also kept digging her ears since past few months, but most of the time was before bed time. and she has tendancy to shake her head unintentionally. I checked with the PD, she just did a rough check up for the ear and said it's nothing wrong. and shaking head is ok. really hope everything is fine.

chicken little,
She just said middle ear. honestly I think his condition is not really that serious as there hasn't been signs like fever etc. But I think Tabbiesus got it right, he could have sensitive nose/block nose that cause the canal to be inflamed.

tabbiesus,
thanks for informing that hydrospor is for external - then I really need not use it!

I actually went to this PD after browsing recommendation from this site. Kidslink at Rivervale mall, Dr Allyson Tan. previously i was with Singapore Baby &amp; Child at Glen E but find that place too crowded. The ENT I was referred to is Dr Adrian Siew at Mt E... we'll see...

Tabbiesus,
I has chicken pox before. Hopefully we'll be OK.

Re: digging ear
I also thought it was signs of sleepiness or he is just fussy, so we just let it be.

Valerie
RE: Chiangmai Hotel
Have only been to Chiangmai once. Stayed in The Chedi..is quite a nice hol and they have bb food on their menu. Altho I feel the design/layout seems more suitable for honeymooners than family. Are you looking for hotel on the hill or nearer to city?

http://www.ghmhotels.com/hotels/hotel_home.asp?hotelid=15&amp;section=home

ChickenLittle
Oh, mandarin oriental is nice but very ex, we wanted to go there initially but was shot down by my boss cos is too ex...US$500 per nite! I heard four seasons is very nice too.

Flo
re feeding rice
That's what my nanny said (though i didn't know it was true). She said that cant feed rice too early, coz their digestive system is not strong enough. Wat age is your friend's niece?

mamachan
daren looks so cute in the blue outfit.

Cindy
oh dear.. poor Lucas.. ya, shld change PD. Where is your PD located? I must make a mental note not to go to her.

Sunny
My gal also have the habit of digging her ears esp at nite. PD has checked and said nothing wrong. So I guess maybe it's just a sign of tiredness and sleepiness. BTW, mommies how do u clean your bb ear?

RE: Concourse today
Just got an sms from Queen, she can't make it today, have some urgent matter to attend to. In that case, I'll prob be there at 12.30pm since ChickenLittle will be there around that time and I need to meet AK to pick up the balloon first. Cookie, will sms you when we are there. Tracy, u wanna join us since we are meeting @ 12.30pm?

Flo,
like to ask a quick qn ... how was your fren's niece discovered to have problems in the intestine ... hm, I started feeding more "solidly formed" rice to #1 at 15-16 mths ... how to tell? when did she have the op?

.ky.

KY n Krissie
Actually I'm not too sure about the details. The conversation started with my fren's MIL always complaining about her having to cook porridge for her kids even tho they are 1 year old. She then relate of the case of her nieces intestine problem. I think they discovered after all the test and checks cos she kept having stomach ache. I guess the guide to give rice is that your bb must be able to chew well and that the rice should very soft.

Flo,
ok, i'll catch a cab there, so should reach about 12.45-12.50pm. Call you when i reach there. (i have your number). We are lunching together?

Flo
My lunch end 1240pm ley... I think i can only meet you to pass the banners to you. I will sneak out after my lunch to meet you all.

Do you all still need me to bring balloons home?
I'm ok with that except i cannot reach early tomorrow.

Re: hotel recommend in Gold Coast
Hey mummies..
thinking of a trip to Gold Coast.. any good hotel to recommend. I wish to stay at a hotel very very near the beach.
As will be bringing baby, so will wan to better hotel.
How many hours flight to Gold Coast from Spore??

Hi Mummies,..

RE: Digging ear
Gracie also did that,,,and check with doctor before and no problem on the ear.

SY
I understand your feeling regarding motivation.
I face this on last year after I back from maternity leave. My boss was withdraw out from Board of Director..and so far he teach me a lot and also treat me very well. He gave a lot of work to me and asked me to handle it by myself. At first I really a bit angry on him but after that I realise that he actually want me to learn something by myself and he did help me when I do not know how to solve the problem. I have learn a lot think by myself and also from him like how to handle import and export shipment,..L/C and how to handle oversea supplier like china and Taiwan as well as customer.
I was really shock and although I was the 1st knew that he is going to leave the company.
I still remember during my labor pain he still call me and asked if I have give birth. He came to visit me one day after I give birth.
I intend to leave the company but he stop me from my action. He asked me to stay on and help the new manager... Finally I stayed on in the company.
Althought I known the new manager after him is the one that always like to quarrel with me.
But thing has change the new manager treat me ok and even seek for my advise. I think must be my ex-manager told him something. But sometimes we will still got quarrel with some different opinion and action.Just because this new manager a bit KIA-SI.
Till now my ex-manager still contact with me and become my good fren...As hb told me I was lucky to have such boss that always think of employee ...

RE: RP Lunch
I intend to join your mummies but now waiting for a customer...might be update in a short time.

Re: Digging ears and cleanin
My gal so dig ears when she is tired and sleepy. there were times she dig until bleed

Same as Flo I think it's just sign that they are tired just like scratch head and rub eyes.

SO far I have not clean the inside of kaelyn's ear, just wipe outside.

My PD once asked me if I clean my gal's ear and I told him no.. He flash me a smile and say thats Right! dun need to clean their ears now...
SOme parent very kan cheong..clean baby ear might end up hurt the baby or left the cotton bud in the ear and need to see him.

Florence,

Thanks for sharing the case of your fren's niece. So now how to tell if our babies are ready for rice? Charmaine has got 12 teeth by now and she can chew quite well. I have started giving her small pieces of apple and chinese pear and she has no problems with those. Is she ready for rice?
One of my cousins also shared that I should not continue to give charmaine very small pieces of food so as to encourage her to chew and it's good for her speech and jaw development. Hmmm....

Cookie,
I love Gold Coast! IMy family visits Gold Coast on a regular basis. I think Kaelyn will enjoy it as well. There are lots of good service apartments in Gold Coast. I stayed in the chervon renaissance the previous round. It's very new and very centrally located. If you intend to rent a car, then you can have more choices in terms of service apartments which are just as well maintained but much cheaper than those in Surfers Paradise, e.g Phoenix, Meditterean. Let me know if you need more info on Gold Coast?

Hi Flo

thanks for the info. I did wait till the molars are out and #1 was chewing well ... anyway, I was desperate coz he did not want porridge then.
On feeding rice with soup, I'm thinking of that. One fear is that soup is naturally sweet with pork rib (&amp; oily), that the baby may get choosy and do not want plain rice eventually ... not sure if u have tasted before but if you have soup+sea cucumber+scallop to cook the porridge, it's super delicious.

celine, nope, I'm not from the medical field. wish I am :> ... sy, learn a lot coz went through 3 yrs ++ plus of on-off sickness and collected tons of medication over time ... so somehow have to know a bit here and there ... there was 1 PD who ended up gave us a 1/2 hr lesson and we paid quite a bit for it ... he practically gave us the advice which I've posted above.

mamachan,
the outfits are very nice ... saw the gold ones in pasar malam selling at $23.... can darren take heat well? coz CNY period is super hot ... the first time I bought this with long sleeve, my #1 was perspiring all over after barely an hr. But I like the blue one better too :>

.ky.