(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

on the gymboree trial, let me check with them. i got a flyer for the free trial so let me check whether they can extend to everyone.

may
i can help think of games etc. but i haven been to quite a few gatherings as well.

re May Thread
hmm, must go in and kaypoh since everyone say got big happening there...

chicken little
let me know if u can get group discount from cake ave. may wan to join in as well.

Re. Birthday Bash
Date: 3rd February 2007, Saturday
Venue: The Committee (Chicken-Little, Rena, MamaChan, Sep03Bride, SSF) is now in the midst of shortlisting.

1) MamaChan - Either amount is ok for me.
2) Maywong - Go with majority
3) Sysac - Fine with any amt
4) Chicken Little
5) SL 30 - 40 per pax but tentative
6) Rena 30-40 per pax
7) sleepingdeer 30 - 40 per pax
8) Mamapanda, 10-30 per pax
9) God's child
10) Cookie $30 - $40 PER PAX
11) sept03bride
12) SSF $30 - $40 PER PAX
13) Tracy $30-$40 per pax
14) chillies $30-$40 per pax
15) Sy - 30-40 per pax
16) sunny (Do not need to cater meals for me)-$30 - $40 PER PAX
17) Clare - go with majority
18) wenyl - go with majority
19) Valerie $30-$40 per pax
20) queen - $30 - $40 PER PAX
21) denmy - go with majority
22) mongs
23) Flo - $30 - $40 Per Pax
24) Linda
25) babylon
26) Wendyheng
27) wennykoh (30-40/pax)
28) Krissie
29) SH (30-40/pax)
30) Tabbiesus (30-40/pax)
31) cheng (30-40/pax)
32) Yuki (10-30/pax)
33) celwong (30 -40/pax)
34) Sharon Sum - any venue & amount is fine
35) Annie - (30-40/pax)

SSF and mamachan...thanks!
Errr....I didn't "go out on a limb" to deliver lah! These are just places I would pass by in my normal routine and hence I am a bit more accomodating in have various collections pts...

I dun mind doing this sort of things but worse is when ppl back out last minute and MIA and never even have the courtesy to tell me they dun wan. There was one mummy who "confirmed" with me to meet me at RP. I waited there for her for half hour and she didnt show up...didnt give me her mobile (I PMed her mine) and I actually walk around the station like a stupid fool asking one lady after another whether they are there to collect hair tonic...so embarrassing hor? But in the end, I realised she had a family emergency....so not angry liao.

Re. Birthday Bash
Venue: The Committee (Chicken-Little, Rena, MamaChan, Sep03Bride, SSF) is now in the midst of shortlisting.

4) Chicken Little
6) Rena 30-40 per pax
9) God's child 30-40 perpax
11) sept03bride
15) Sy - 30-40 per pax
22) mongs
24) Linda
25) babylon
26) Wendyheng
27) wennykoh (30-40/pax)
28) Krissie
29) SH (30-40/pax)
31) cheng (30-40/pax)
32) Yuki (10-30/pax)
33) celwong (30 -40/pax)
34) Sharon Sum - any venue & amount is fine
35) Annie - (30-40/pax)

i wld leave the venue in the hands of the comittee cos there isnt much time left to the bash and i guess everyone here will easily go with our much trusted comittee...
just trying to make things easier for the comittee...

Cephas is finally one! We had a good party yesterday. Enjoyed ourselves tremendously. Food & company was good.

Those who stayed back ended up dancing & singing away as there was sound system there. The resident panist also turned up earlier than usual when the owner told him that my crowd was quite happening. So, he came to play the piano, sing & entertained my crowd. He even danced with my aunts!

this few days was really nitemare to me...damien totally refused to drink milk...

decided to change milk powder for him..so decided no solid food for him for today...

730am..he took only 3oz o f milk
1130am..tot that he will be hungery..coz he usually have his sold at around 10am..trying giving him milk..he totally refsed it..so no choice, add some cereal to his milk to feed him.
3pm..we come back from cousin's wedding...try giving him milk..he rejected again...and now falling intodeep sleep..

Queen,
I have transferred the money to you for the toothpaste. Sorry forgot to take down reference number. Flying off today. Can you pls PM whether you received the money...coz i don't think i will be able to backtrack the forum by the time i return.

HI mommies

was researching baby first birthday ideas... (i feel so far behind... haven't decided when to celebrate yet!)

anyways, since some mommies are so keen on scrapbooking.. i found this idea:

Baby's Memory Book: Another idea is to invite all of your party guests to write a memory of your baby's first year, or a blessing for the baby. Take a picture of each guest at the party with your child, and combine the words and photos to create a simple but memorable birthday present - a baby scrapbook!

Anyone by any chance got a polaroid camera? It would be fun to have instant pictures!

Sysac
Congrats on surviving the first year! Where did you hold the party... SOunds like a really fun party!!

RE: birthday cake
mommies do you intend to let your baby eat the cake? I'm torn between ordering a yummy cake for adults and just baking a simple cupcake for my girl to "destroy"... or just ordering a cake that she can eat but prob. less yummy us adults...how ah?

Sysa -
Well done on your first yr of motherhood... Cephas has grown fr a small baby to a handsome little sturdy boi now!!!

HAPPIE B'DAE CEPHAS!!!

Re : Bdae cake
sigh... am also cracking my head on whether to get a nice cake for adults to eat, cupcakes for easier distribution or a cartoon cake for celeste's eye entertainment which might oni last bout 10-15mins... the royals cake looks choco-licious leh.. was also thinking of getting 60 cupcakes and lay them in a rectangle which will have some cakes forming the words ' CELESTE IS ONE '... so confused now... also gota make a trip to concourse one of these days to get the banners and order balloons... so much to be done!!

babylon - wat happen to damien? is he sick? there are times tat Celsete totali reject milk and eats nothing but solids... no choice lor, beta some food than none... i also try to hide a bit of milk in the porrige if the intake is reali horrible at <200ml a day. Now tat she is well from her 'sick' episode, her interest for milk took a big jump! she cld norm oni take 150-180 at good times, now per feed will be 210-240ml, and she stil cry for more... damien's appetite will soon b back wf a vengence...

god' child

damien is not sick...he shown obsolutely no interest on milk...we had try all ways..but he still shown no interested at all..he is not teething now..alredy got teeth..
i purposely not to give him any solid today so that he will get hungry and start drinking milk..i even try giving him gain IQ...for a change..but he still refused.
around 330om..think to dream feed him..but still unsucessful...sianz..

Re. Birthday Bash

4) Chicken Little
6) Rena 30-40 per pax
9) God's child 30-40 perpax
11) sept03bride
15) Sy - 30-40 per pax
22) mongs
24) Linda
25) babylon any venue &amp; amount is fine
26) Wendyheng
27) wennykoh (30-40/pax)
28) Krissie
29) SH (30-40/pax)
31) cheng (30-40/pax)
32) Yuki (10-30/pax)
33) celwong (30 -40/pax)
34) Sharon Sum - any venue &amp; amount is fine
35) Annie - (30-40/pax)

Hi AK/God's_child/Tabbie

I held the party at the Wine Bistro - Tapestry Room at Civil Service Club Bukit Batok.

Cephas had an Ang Moh carrot cake as his BD cake. It was baked by a family friend. The carrots in fornt og Bugs were made from almond so edible too. Anyway, we fed him the cake to mark his BD.

600884.jpg

His cake

I have 11 party packs leftovers. Anyone interested to take over, let me know.

600888.jpg

Party Pack

600889.jpg

Blowing out his candle soon

Hi Sysac,

Happy 1st Bday to Cephas.

Wow... Ang Mo carrot cake, my favourite.

Btw, What is inside the party pack? Where do you get them? I'm just curious as I haven't planned out my girl 1st bday yet.

sysac - wow..congrats! i think ya the first to celebrate 1st birthday here. and the cake looks good and delicious!

re: party packs
what's in it? i am interested? hee..how much is it btw?

SY - thanks for checking on the gymboree trial class

mummies...went for house viewing today and saw a flat we liked. we made a bid and will know if we get the flat by tonight. pray for me ya as we are really praying that we can get it as its near market, lift landing, corner, high level, sheltered to carpark and best of all walking distance to my mum's house and to 2 schools whereby one is taught by my sis.

sysac
sounds like a fun bday for cephas! happy bdae cepahs...

so u let him try the cake?

SSF
u planning to move? where are u planning to move to?

babylon
oh dear, sounds realyl worrying. did u call up PD to ask? is it a phase?

god's child
i notice that after JH recovered, his milk intake jumped! he will take abt 240ml for his morning feeds and afternoon feeds nowadays. once, i fed him 240ml and he still wants more but i din give to him...

re bday party
sigh, i also haven started planning yet. only decided that it will be at my house and will cater food. haven start to get the decor and stuff yet!

where can i buy xmas tree? JH really likes all the xmas stuff so thinking of putting one for him...

SY - yeah moving..from Tampines to Tampines. hahaa.. in the beginning, we have already decided not to stay long at our current hse. so we did very minor reno. and now after 5 yrs of completing the grant, we can move. so the next hse should be our final home liao. not moving anymore as we are not getting any younger and more baggage like baby to move ard. haha..

re: xmas tree
you can buy from concourse where u can get deco too. or u can go geylang...i know there is this cross road...where opp shops are selling xmas stuffs. in fact my mum bot our xmas tree from there 10 yrs ago and the tree is still here with us..moving frm one hse to another whenever we change celebration venue. haha.. yes kids love xmas tree and those balls. u shld set up one

rena - i think u recv my sms. sorry cannot attend Elijah's birthday party as my family decided to move our xmas party to 23rd which falls on a sat. so clash and i cannot attend. i hope Elijah has a great time.

sysac
wow! wow! wow! Cephas is now a big boy! Glad to know that you all had a smashing good time with the invited guests.

babylon
Hmmmm, at this present moment, I think if he just eats his solids, then so be it. The milk they drink now is to be supplementing their solid meals, not the other way round. Just give him 3 nutritious solid meals and lots of water to keep him hydrated. If go PD, i suspect they might just tell you that it's good that he enjoys solids and maybe to concentrate more on giving him a nutritious solid meal. Hope this will help to relieve you abit on the milk strike.

Babylon,

I have the same advice as mamachan....my gynae is strong believer that its not necessaary to give milk now that BB is on 3 solids meal a day. So he will prob laugh it off if u say BB rejecting milk....it could be a phase so dun worry...

Hi mums,

Party pack - 15 items in there. I bought loose items &amp; packed myself. Poppers, balloons, tidbits, mask, rattlers, magnet, scotchtape (cartoon ones). Each pack costs abt $2.50 (neg) if u r interested. I can keep them also to give away in future but I don't mind letting go if any of you just need 10 or 11 packs.

Yes, we let him try the cake and the buffet food. Well, everyone was kind of feeding him yesterday. We didn't stop anyone so he was well-fed

sysac,
U have survived 365days as a mummy! Well done!!! **Pat pat on ur shoulders**

Pls send my belated birthday kisses to Cephas!
kao_kiss.gif

I got the house!!!!!yippy...praise GOD! It was even lower than valuation. this house is really GOD sent
all comes at the right time...esp my retrenchment so that i can take hdb loan

sysac,
Happy Birthday Cephas. Is he the first to celebrate here???
Congrats in getting your the flat.

Sept03Bride,
me also celebrating on the 13Jan. His birthday date exact.

Babylon,ak,
haiz....my boy also anti milk. Damn stressful to feed. Fighting all the time. He's happy without milk. Been telling PD and yes...she said half of the world's babies are fine without milk, so why worry. Told her even when he's very hungry (cos he sucks furiously when given water)he simply refuse to suck. She said "He juz dont like milk, why force him?" Anyway, his milk intake can be as pathetic as 400ml a day. I'm giving up liao!!!

However, he's a solid boy, scream for porridge sometimes when I m slow.

SSF

Glad to hear your good news.
So happy for you. It is good to live close to parents esp when they are helping you looking after your little one. Btw, you found a new job yet?

For me, I live in Simei and my in law who help me look after my girl live in Marine Parade, so tiring for me to travel there esp after work to fetch my girl as my shuttle transport pick up and drop off point is at Tampines.

Happy belated birthday to Cephas...

Sysac.. Thank god that for this day...

SSf,

Praise the lord.. God is good...

as the maid will me coming soon so me and hb decided to make room for her by letting her sleep the day bed in the study room.. but it has become a store room over the years...so we decided to do some shifting and relocation of the cupboard.. WOW the room looks good and then it trigger my hb to change the layout of the master room so we did it this afternoon.. some how we had fun and now hb is thinking to re layout the dining and living...

Actually i realise that we really had fun coz even elijah play and slept in the cot when we were cleaning and shifting the bed and cabinets and even his cot.. it also enhance our relationship as a couple..

RE: Stroller,

does anyone has any lobang to buy a light stroller that cost less than 100 dollars and can to elijah's weight? i would like to bring it to japan..

SSF
Wow! wow! wow! Really Praise the Lord for that! He really fufills the desires of our heart! Now is all the paperwork and you get to redecorate your new home all over! I can't wait for another 2 and 1/2 years more to see if should move. I'm praying that HDB would just enbloc this entire estate. heh heh.

Rena
Good to know that the re layout made your day with your hb and Elijah. Must be a great workout too.

wendy_koh/rena - thanks! yes GOD is good all the time!
wendy i can understand how u felt coz my MIL lives in teh other side of the island...at CCK and on thurs we normally send him over for a night and pick him on fri. so its really tiring to wake up early to beat the peak hr.

rena - glad that ur new maid is coming. and hhaa...u seem to have fun rearranging the furniture. my mum used to love doing that...but now she is older she stopped. i still remember when we are young, one time the phone is on the table, another hr u can see the phone on the wall. hahaaa....

re: stroller
i bot one from hypermart at ubi. combi stroller at 120 bucks. very light and useful. i brought it to Japan and it is very handy. u may want to check that out.

Mummies, your experience sharing and encouragement helps, thanks.

Mashy/Denmy,
Din know you have even rougher experiences. You gals are so strong! I must learn, cos I get weepy easily and gives in without knowing what's best at times.

You know what... my mom seems ok over the last 2 days. I visited her today and my brother told me she instructed him to clean up his room cos Lucas will be going over! Just as I spoke to my miad about the situation and told her she'll be taking care of Lucas herself, my mom has become strangely calm and wish for me to bring Lucas to her place daily. To be frank, I'll a little worried... but I can't not let her take care for she'll be even more devasted. What 'excuses' can I give to slower wean her off???

Rachel,
Sorry for the error in transfering the money. Blur me transfer the wrong account that was using the wrong branch code previously. Hope this time it is correct.
Transaction Ref: 946157425

SySac!!
Congrats for being such a wonderful mum this 1 yr! *Pat Pat* Good Job!
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO CEPHAS !!

RE: FIRST YEAR..
WOw.. Our BIG BRO of this thread is 1 already. Who's next??

RE: Stroller
Rena, Jamie has got one at my mum's place. Bought at $89 From Kiddy Palace. Let me go take a pic of it tomorrow and show u.

RE: Scrapbooking
OH NO..this crazy mummy spend $150 at MWL today. And went to SPOTLIGHT to buy more materials.
Here's some good bargain I found at Spotlight..
1) Card Stock (plain paper) - $0.99
2) 5 rolls of ribbons (1M each) - $6.99
Bought some buttons, eyelets. It is cheaper to get at spotlight for the embellishments.

Here's some of the website that u can browse thru for ideas m materials:
http://www.chatterboxinc.com
http://www.makingmemories.com/landingpages/lp_wishlist.cfm
http://www.creativememories.com/MainMenu/Our-products-and-services/Papers

Cindy,
Maybe u can tell her slowly..
1) Maid do things abit slow..so need to finish everything then bring Lucas over to her house.
2) Get ur maid to stay close to Lucas.
3) Eventually ask maid to go over later and later.
4) Maybe next time can go alternate days or maybe ask maid to meet ur mum outside. Shop awhile then Maid can bring Lucas home?

Sysac,
Happy birthday to Cephas. He looks so smart in his England shirt.

Babylon,
Keenan also refusing his milk nowadays, esp the afternoon ones. But he still taking solids though. His total milk intake in a day can go as low as 200ml...I also find that he gets frustrated halfway eating his cereals w/ fuits. He will scream and rub his face and gums with the back of his hand. But come dinnertime, he has no problem taking his stews/ porridge. I am not sure if its becos he prefers more 'savoury' dish...

Rena,
Never knew shifting furniture can also be romantic kekeke...

babylon,
Did you try from cup/spoon? Maybe the teats need change?

Re: Sterilizing
May I know when we can stop sterilizing bottles and choot choot?

SSF,
Congrats on your new flat!!!! So lucky you!

Cindy,
I used to cry everytime I start talking to my mum in our 'fights' but I sort of hardened over time and dont cry anymore. This time, our fight is so bad I'm not sure if she will come attend Keenan's bday party after we move out in 2 weeks. She can be so petty and thinks the whole world has done her wrong. She even forbade me and my brother to meet our father when we were young and kept telling us how bad a father he is. So you can imagine the hatred she's having with me... everytime we bump into each other in the the house she will glare... haizzz... very difficult for her to lighten up or forgive someone.

At least your mum cools down after a while. Where does she live? Is it quite far from you? Maybe can use that as an excuse to bring Lucas over less? Just tell her the truth that you are very tired everyday travelling to and fro her place lor. You might wanna slowly adjust her by bringing Lucas there 4 days a week, then cut down to 3 days etc.

hello mummies!

First things first...
HAPPY 1st BIRTHDAY, Cephas!

Sysac,
A job well done! Pat yourself on the back for being a fantastic mom to Cephas, reached 1 year milestone already.

SSF,
good to hear that you got your flat!

Rena,
I saw Carrefour and John Little selling Lucky Baby umbrella fold stroller at ~$79. I think should be good enough? YOu may want to get a rain cover for the stroller to bring to Japan.

Cindy,
Actually, if your maid is goign to be with your mom, do you think it should be ok? As in, your maid wil lhelp to keep an eye on Lucas and your mom right (though in normal circumstances, should be the other way round...)?
I'm also thinking about the same questions as you...
When can we stop sterilizing the milk bottles and washing our baby clothes with baby detergent and washing baby utensils with baby dishwashing liquid?

Re. baby santa hat
cookie, thanks for helping to check out the shops at Concourse!
Disappointed to hear that the hat cannot be found leh...

tabbiesus,
I'll let Isaac have a few bites of the cake.
1 year old liao...

Queen
Sunny... told me can be found at atrium...
tom I'm going to try searching again.
Will update here.

Sysac
Wow... Happy birthday Cephas!
He look so handsome
and Good job mummy!

SSF
wow good to know you got the flat your prayed for.
Praise the Lord

Demny
Kaelyn use to enjoy her cereal with fruits...now she do the same thing as Keenan.. exactly, she will rub her mouth and nose with the back of her hands

She also seems to enjoy porridge better these days.
For me.. as long as she is eating solid better I'm happy already.

btw any simple stew recipe to share?

Chillies,
Dun worry, according to my PD:
1) Milk is bad for you...80% of the population is lactose intolerant...this usually mean that milk is not suitable for humans. For an infant, no choice as unable to consume anything so milk makes the most complete food. But once he starts on solids and can get nutrients elsewhere, no need milk.
2) Since your bb is ok on solids, why make him take milk if he doesnt like it? You are trying to force him to take something for which he will have discomfort taking in future (my PD believes that we have a "switch" that will make our bodies lactose intolerent and it can be switched on anytime) so in the end, your bb will develop a taste for something which he cannot take in future.
3) Humans are the only species that continues to take milk into adulthood...

Santa hat
Cannot find anymore is it? Oh dear....if i dun recall wrongly, I bot it on 3rd floor corner store and it was display at the shelve near the cashier (at face level) and I remember my maid put it on Ryan's head and I said so cute and asked my maid how much, and she said $1.20. So i thot wah so cheap and then bot it.........

Hmm Caleb seems to be teething again. He has some problems finishing 1 bowl of porridge now. Sometimes he also have problems with his milk. Hopefully the teething period will go away soon.

RE: Own Birthday Party
So curious want to know if anyone is holding the party on the same day as Jamie.

1) MayWong - 13 Jan
2) Esh_mummy - 13Jan07 (Esh's birthday falls on 12thJan, but celebrating on 13Jan07, Saturday... if this counts... hee hee.)

<font color="0000ff">Happy Belated Birthday Cephas....</font>

Great job Sysac....
3 Cheers for sailing through the 365days...
Hip Hip HOOORAY!!!

Re. milk
Basically, milk has 9 essential nutrients - Calcium, Protein, Vitamin D, Riboflavin, Potassium, Viatamin A, Vitamin B12, Niacin &amp; Phosphorus. Milk is good because 1 serving of milk will contain the above necessary nutrients in just the right proportion. It is not a must that babies who are taking solids well to consume a lot of milk, but must ensure that the solids diet should contain most of the above nutrients.
If baby does not take milk well anymore, should introduce cheese and yoghurt (some comes fortified with Vitamin D) for daily calcium needs, protein can be obtianed from white meats. Vitamin A (beta carotene) is found in carrots, broccoli, pumpkins &amp; Vitamin B12 is found in beef, eggs, salmon. Potassium can be found in bananas, broccoli, green peas, spinach. Those Gardenia / Sunshine breads are also fortified with the above vitamins. So if baby does not drink milk, then can give them bread loh.

Happy Belated Birthday Cephas!

AK
Agree with Mamachan no point wasting your energy and get upset over ppl like A. I'm sure most other mommies appreciate your effort, at least I can speak for myself and cookie
I'm sure most mommies don't profit out of BP (just like mommies in our thread!) And I'm lucky to be here with such helpful and warm mommies!

Rena
Looks like you had a good workout yesterday...heehee I agree that little thing like this helps to enhance a couple's relationship. Is Elijah better?

SSF

Babylon
My PD also has the same view that we should be focusing more on infant meal rather than milk. Anyway you don't have to worry too much, their appetite and likings changes over time. Mel used to drink very little milk. Now she's on 3 solid meals and will usually drink about 300ml of milk (and sometimes more) after dinner and before she sleeps.

May
I think Melody should be next to celebrate her birthday

Cake Avenue

Aiyo they answer my every other question except the part on discount. Will call them up later to confirm the discount. Hee Hee. Will update soon.

Sorry can't catch up with the posts as I was away for 2 days.

<font color="119911">Happy belated Birthday Cephas</font>
You are the big ko ko in this group.

Customised T-shirt. So far I received request from:
1) Cookie (pending font n colour)
2) Tracy
3) Denmy (pending font n colour)

Anyone else ? Denmy and whoever who is interested to print for adults can buy the crew neck T-shirt from Bossini, only $5 with many colours to choose from. I saw them at Harbour Front yesterday.

Can I set a dateline by 9 Dec 06 to put through you order to me so I can sent to supplier in order to get them before Xmas.

Thanks,
Angie