(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Baby Spinach BP (closing this Fri 27 Oct, 12 noon)
Collection points:
1) Pasir Ris
2) Robinson Road

1)Denmy
2)MamaChan
3)queen (Robinson Centre)
4)Flo (Robinson Centre)
5)
6)

sl
re tiger food jar
what i do is to add hot water into the jar for a while to heat up the jar, then, pour in the uncooked rice grains plus hot water. After a few hours, the porr will be cooked. But, like what tracy mentioned before, it's teochew muay type of porr, not the thick congee type.

SY, sl
ya, i was so worried that Ger will refuse his food too, so what i've been doing these past weekends is to do dry runs on which type of jar food which he's ok in taking. There are some which he absolutely hate. Another one to try is the pigeon fish porr (for 7mth) or chicken pcs (for 9mth). Usually processed food are much saltier, so, I'll add some porr into it and mix them well, so that it's not so salty.

SY,
I also want the Friso..u taking Mamil from Babylon? Can pass the Friso to her as well?

Babylon,
I take SY's Friso from u also when I collect my Friso from u can? Probably drop by ur house to collect it this wkend. Sorry for the trouble.

cookie,
No probs on the swim diapers. It's meant to be used anyways.

tracy,
I checked - the huggies little swimmers which I have got. s size is for 7 - 12 kg. Charmaine can still wear them.

Mamapanda,
the huggies ones which I have are disposable. Usually I let Charmaine wear the disposable diapers first then wear the bikini swimsuit. Vain lah.

SY,

yes, she hates the jar food. Have you got the jar food already? I can sell you one at the aquaduck trial this sun for you to try. Maybe if JH's not used to jar food can try the vege ones first. I find that she's more receptive towards those. She absolutely hates the beef one.

re: photoshoot
Maybe we can bring some food along and turn it into a picnic as well. Actually I am also not a sit-on-the grass person. : P
Too bad that's no concerts on 26 Nov otherwise better still.

krisse,

Must pour hot water to warm the jar for how long? Then pour out the hot water in the jar and pour in new hot water plus the rice grains?

The pigeon fish porridge is those instant porridge type? I am keen to know more cos I am considering if I should go BKK next month with her. My hubby will be in BKK for 3 weeks. If we can't go then he will have to fly back every fri then fly there again on Mon. I think it's really very tiring for him.

RE: Angel in the green
Happen to see the suggestion of the cotton wool being the cloud. Was thinking if it will be better to use white pillow instead? It might be a problem to baby that have sensitive nose.

May,
RE: Angel in the green
How to let BB sit on a puffy pillow? Fat boy like Keenan might topple over leh... what about an old white duvet instead?

RE: Baby Photoshoot
Theme: Angles in the Greens
Date: 26 Nov 2006 (Sunday)
Time: around 4pm
Venue: Botanical Gardens

1 Flo, Melody (confirm) - wings pls!
2 Rachel, Dylan (confirm) -wings pls!
3 Sleepingdeer, Shannon
4 Lingbel, Christabel
5 Celine, Edgar
6 Wenyl, Ethan (confirm) - wings pls!
7 SL, Charmaine (confirm)
8 Tracy, Megan (Confirm) -wings pls!
9 Sept03bride, Caleb (confirm)-wings pls!
10 God's child, Celeste (Confirm)-wings pls!
11 Babylon, damien
12 Clare, Ashley (confirm)
13 Valerie, Kirsten
14 Rena076, Elijah
15 Queen, Isaac (confirm) -wings pls!
16 MamaChan, Daren (confirm) - wings pls!
17 Cookie, kaelyn (confirm) -wings pls!
18 Sunny, YX (confirm) -wings pls!
19 Tabbiesus, Tabitha (confirm) -wings pls!
20 SY, JH (confirm) -wings pls!
21 Sandra, Sarah Mae (confirm)
22 Sysac, Cephas (confirm)
23 Denmy, Keenan/Ethan (confirm) - ooh yes...wings pls!
24 SH, JW (confirm)
25 Chicken Little, Aden/Charmaine (confirm) -wings pls!

Looking forward to tat day..... I can imagine the fun & chaos we gonna have! Babies all semi-naked on the grass & pulling each other wings! Waahaahaa!

Denmy,
Hehe.. not puffy pillow. Those kind of pillow that is sold in ikea..erm.. flatter kind. Just my suggestion. BTW, what is duvet? Me very mountain tortoise.. never heard of that before.

RE: Grass
Actually I'm not a grass person too. In fact I'll get rashes if I sit on grass esp when damp. I think Mel is like me, has sensitive skin

May
Duvet is a comfortable that is plain (normally white or beige) and you can put a cover over it

Just to share this pc of info

Wal-Mart Recalls Minnie Mouse Cardigan Sets Due to Strangulation Hazard

WASHINGTON, D.C. - The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, in
cooperation with the firm named below, today announced a voluntary
recall of the following consumer product. Consumers should stop using
recalled products immediately unless otherwise instructed.

Name of Product: Minnie Mouse Cardigan Sets

Units: About 14,000

Distributor: Wal-Mart Stores Inc., of Bentonville, Ark.

Hazard: If the cardigan is buttoned, the ribbon woven around the
neckline poses a strangulation hazard for children.

Incidents/Injuries: No incidents or injuries have been reported.

Description: The pink cardigan is sold as part of a three-piece set
which also includes a light pink turtleneck and denim pants. The
cardigan has a pink ribbon woven around the neckline. Minnie Mouse is
embroidered on the lower left front of the cardigan. The cardigan was
sold in sizes 12M, 18M, 24M, 3T, 4T, and 5T.

Sold exclusively at: Wal-Mart stores nationwide from July 2006 through
August 2006 for about $15.

Manufactured in: China

For more info, can refer to http://www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/prerel/prhtml07/07015.html

Rachel,
NTUC thomson dun have the huggies swim diapers
so i haven't bot any. but based on SL's info, think i'll buy 'S' size cos 7-12kg mah. Anyway, if i do buy, i'll bring to tupperware party see if you want.

Rena,
thanks for your swim diapers offer. Think megan can't go into M if S is 7-12kg.

Cookie,
keeping fingers crossed u can take leave on 13nov! actually i also havent apply. heehee.

RE: Angel Wings for viewing and feedback

hi mommies
sorry last nite suppose to upload the pic but I felt asleep...

heres some shots of the ANgel Wings I found at Concourse :
I saw 3 kind of Wings... name them Wing 1, Wing 2 and Wing 3. Pardon me cos I use my hp to take the pic.. so the picture quality might not be very good...

555278.jpg

Wing 1 -Front view - cost $25 before bulk purchase discount

555279.jpg

Wing 1 - back view

555280.jpg

Wing 1 - back view close up

BTW... the WING 1 first picture... there are some dark lines.. I think those are lighting problem. Actual ones are pure white.

now Wing 2 :

Wing 2 - full view - cost $16 before bulk purchase discount... this is smaller than Wing 1
There was concern if Wing1 is too big for our babies

board-post.cgi

Wing2 close up on the wings

board-post.cgi

Wing2 close up on the back details

board-post.cgi

WIng 2 back view

I took a few more pic of this cos no one around to supervise me...

Sorry so problem earlier...

Wing2:

555306.jpg

Wing2 full view - front
With plastic bag wrapping so not to clear

555307.jpg

Wing2 - back view

555308.jpg

WIng2 - back view close up

555309.jpg

Wing2 - Wing close up

555310.jpg

Wing2 - close up on the back details

Please bear with me... finally
Wing 3... actually I find this nice too.. though not Angel Wings.. more like butterfly wings..

555325.jpg

Butterfly wings in White - cost $18 before bulk purchase discount

555326.jpg

Butterfly wings in Pink...
Hmm... I find the whites are nice...pure!

Tracy
Kaelyn now is about 8.3kg.. when she wear Size S which is 7-12KG.. right not is well fitted. Not loose not tight just nice..
Think if she is really 12kg dun think can fit into the S already.. in fact I think by 9kg she will need a M size. For your gauge
Oh the S size I feel it is slightly smaller than MP pull pantz M size

sl,
yes, pour out the hot water, then add new hot water plus rice grains. I usually leave the hot water (1st rd) for abt 5-10mins. I also soak the grains (usually overnight, min is 1hr in the am if i forget the nite before) plus use grains for porr. I think it's Pigeon fish pcs. It's a bit starchy. Maybe porr for jap bb, not chinese bb, but, after I add a bit of the porr (from the tiger food jar), the text is qt right. can you try to find the pigeon website in english for me. I'll try to find the product for u. I can't seem to find the website.

SL thanks for the info on the Strangulation Hazard news...
The look of the item look pretty harmless...

oh and thanks a million in advance on the Swim diaper...

Look forward to see all at the Aqua duck this Sunday.

My hair is still dropping.... is it norm?? Hubby is asking me whetehr i should go for hair treatment....

cookie
thanks for the effort!
i like wing 2 and 3. both sizes are about the same?

yuki
my hair still drops but not as much as few months ago... think it's back to normal dropping rate liao... and new hair grows. now quite messy...
mayb you wanna go hair salon or clinic to check with them if the dropping rate is normal?

sl,
i haven tried any jar food yet.

i don't mind getting one from u.

may
babylon is passing my mamil to durianlover. how do u wan to get the friso?

cookie
the wings are very nice! i like number 3....

re aquaducks
mummies, is it ok to postpone to 12th Nov? Hb doesn't wan to go this sun cos he scared JH fall sick before the trip.....if not, it is still on and all mummies can still go ahead.

Re: Photoshoot!
Won't be joining but it sure seems like lots of fun! With the wings and all!

yuki,
My hair was dropping drastically but it has stopped since baby turned abt 6months i think. Now i've got new hair growing and it looks really strange. In fact everyone has been saying "Oh you cut your fringe??" when i didn't! Look quite 'toot' with my new hair coming out. Perhaps u may wanna check it out? Coz baby 9months old liao...i think hair loss shd hv decreased by now.

Re: Advice needed!!
Mummies, need your help. Any of your babies got reddish patch at the anus with white pimple-like looking stuff? My gal has got that and i'm kind of worried but no time to bring her to doc. Is it nappy rash? But first time she gets something like that with little pimples all on the red patch round her anus! I've applied Desitin cream...hopefully it helps. But it seems to hv got worse from last nite

3 Sleepingdeer, Shannon
4 Lingbel, Christabel
5 Celine, Edgar
11 Babylon, damien
13 Valerie, Kirsten
14 Rena076, Elijah
24 Chicken Little, Aden/Charmaine (confirm) -wings pls!

Oops...sorry may not be able to make it coz may not be in s'pore :-(
Looks like fun

Tracy, Cookie,

when elijah was 6 months i let him wear the M size already.. not so much of the weight but more of the tightness of the thighs..

3 Sleepingdeer, Shannon
4 Lingbel, Christabel
5 Celine, Edgar
11 Babylon, damien
13 Valerie, Kirsten
14 Rena076, Elijah - I am not sure about wings?

I am not sure about the wings as elijah may be allergic..

Sunny
hmm they are abt the same ba.. actually as U se they are all on plastic wrap cos I'm under watchful eyes ( from far) of the employee of the shop and she is the kiasi type.. everything also say boss not around she cannot allow...faintzzz...
But I think the width of the Wing2 is wider then Wing 3 and Wing 3 could be taller than Wing 2...

Rena
Ya understand... my kaelyn thigh not very fleshy thats why so far still can fit into Size S

3 Sleepingdeer, Shannon (confirm) -wings pls!
4 Lingbel, Christabel
5 Celine, Edgar
11 Babylon, damien
12 Clare, Ashley (confirm) -wings pls!
13 Valerie, Kirsten
14 Rena076, Elijah

mummies, since sitting on the grass is a concern. think we can get those white cloth and make it to look like cloud. personally, i think the babies might not stand out from the shoots. learnt abit of photography in the past.

cookie
after seeing the front view of Wing 1 hor, think its too big for our babies. but still its the most pretty one. showed hb the butterfly wing last night, he said looked abit girlish leh. hee

3 Sleepingdeer, Shannon (confirm) -wings pls!
4 Lingbel, Christabel
5 Celine, Edgar
11 Babylon, damien
12 Clare, Ashley (confirm) -wings pls!
13 Valerie, Kirsten
14 Rena076, Elijah - I am not sure about wings?

rena, think its a matter of sensitive nose or not bah. dont think it will cause allergic. btw, you confirm going to the photoshoot?

Like Wing 1 alot - but how big is it? Thanks cookie for checking out the wings. Will zip by whenever I can to catch up on postings. Very busy lah.... =P

Sarah's sick AGAIN! This time kena because of MIL and HB's nephew. I'm battling one fire after another. AAAAArrrrrgggghhhh.... Can't wait to move house. *pull hair*

wow, too bad I will be just coming back from my taiwan trip on the 26 nov. else will love to join. so fun.
just a comment, I think wing 3 will come out nice in the photos. but it's a bit like fairy wings than angels wings. my nephew took a pic with that type of wings, quite nice.

SY,
re: Aquaducks
No problem. I can go for the 12 Nov class also.

Re: Baby Photoshoot/ Angel's wings
I think Wing 2 is the most suitable for our babies. As they will be sitting down for the shoot, a small wing on their backs will do very nicely. Small and cute ma... plus their white diapers. Also actually what Rachel mentioned about bbs standing out against green b/g is very true. It will be more contrasting with their pale-colored bodies against a dark green col., instead of light on light and visually more interesting then.... I have some small pieces of fake green grass (those you find in supermarket chillers), what if I bring those for bb's who are allergic to use as a sitting mat?

Re : Jar Food
SY - i tried for the first time on Tues wf celeste... i cook normal porrige wf fresh tofu/brocoli, then add in a Gerber jar food BUT she die die also dun wana open her mouth! wah! tis gal is reali smart! she can tell wats REAL and wats NOT! and i wasn't even 100% unreal,since i added some fresh stuff... argh..... am thinking how to battle it if we need to go on holidays... * stil thinking hard*

Re : angels in the greens
hw bout we bring the cloth for standby? if the weather is fine,i wont mind celeste on the greens and rush to shower her wf self prepared water hahahahah... but if say,weather is wet( Nov is a wet month fr wat i know ),we might just hav to settle for the cloth or duvet... lets play along as we go along lor...

Sandra - Poor Sarah... one after another!pray that she will get well soon... u take good care too, jia you!

jus something to share n seek your opinions. my fren called the breastfeeding support group regarding her son rejecting the frozen milk. The lady suggested after expressing, bring the milk to boiling temp first, cool it down then freeze it. This shld kill the enzymes that cause the fishy smell. Any heard of this??

Another LC suggested that she double boil her frozen milk for a minute before feeding her baby.

Today, her baby has accepted those milk she expressed on 21oct. She has thrown away all her August milk...so wasted n heartpain.

Her PD said looks like baby is a fussy one. If all else fails, it is FM. But such a pity cause she has good supply.

The boiling thing puzzled us...

Sandra
oh dear, not again. hope Sarah has a speedy recovery! you take care too. understand that you really cant wait to move into your new house.

Denmy
hai, we share the same view! =) think what you propose is a good alternative. of coz, must see what other mummies think about it too.

Rena
haha, of coz of coz. its a get together for all our babies and mummies too. cannot miss! =p

re: Jar Food
ohh... i better try one jar on Dylan this weekend. bought a few of HT jar food but yet to try it.

re: Angels in the Greens
hope 26 Nov will be a good weather day for our photoshoot!

but hor, just what if... what if the weather is ***? Postphone? ...? need a backup plan bah?

tracy
BOILING? puzzle me alot too. all along we know we could not defrost our BM in high temp, if not all nutrients are gone. think the baby is fussy, like what her PD said. remember Queen's Isaac when he is little also rejected lots of her EBM, think she can help in giving some advise.

rachel, denmy
kind of agree that white background won't be very nice. maybe we got to decor the white cloth then...

hmmm, if *** how har? need a backup location for the shoot and got to be indoors...

tracy
first time i hear of boiling too. if your fren latch, will the bb drink? for me, i only partial bf and for the first few months, sometimes JH will reject EBM even if it's the same day. so i will latch him for a while to get him used to the taste of BM. it works for me...

god's child,
babies nowadays are so smart! can tell the fake from the real...think i better try soon also.

rachel, SY,
yes, the boiling sounds strange. she direct latch about 3x a day. the rest is bottle feed. was ok until she came back to work n had to feed him frozen EBM. then he got fussy. even confinement lady couldnt feed him. only drank when he's in sleepy mode.

SY
think its best to do without the cloth, like what Denmy said. its the contrasting that we need to get good result out of the photo shoot. by decorating the cloth will make the whole thing look clutter and oh mine, we have 20 over babies! =) jus my view, no offense.

Flo
haha after so much talking hor, we totally forgot about the most important person in the photo shoot and that is the photographer! your friend! =p

think she can give the most professional advise in achieveing the best result. can you relate our ideas to her and get her advise? thanks!

hi tracy, not sure abt the boiling too ... perhaps ask other LCs (like Doris Fok?) ... I know not LCs got good knowledge. Another place for her to post questions would be asiaparents, http://groups.yahoo.com/group/asiaparents/. I used to ask all my questions there and in BMSG.

Do ask your fren to donate unwanted bm away. There would be plenty of mummies who want them. btw, I went thru' the same as your fren. When son was 8 months, he didn't want frozen bm, nor fresh bm ... n no FM. Wanted only direct latching. luckily he wasn't feeding that bad on solid ... and yes, I donated my bm away (sayang but wat to do)

.ky.

chilles
y not try scramble egg yolk with milk? scrambled eggs are soft n tastes nicer than boiled egg yolk. alternatively, try steaming egg yolk with milk. My girl hates boiled egg yolk but she likes the scrambled egg n steamed egg. If you're steaming the egg, dont beat it too much. Add about 4 parts water/milk, 1 part egg and stir gently. That should give it the consistency of tofu. Remember to cover the top when steaming to prevent the top from forming a curdy hard layer

SY
I'm ok with the postpone to 12Nov for AquaDucks

Re: Angel Wings
I will try to get the measurement of the Wing2 and Wing3.
I hope the shop owner will be around... otherwise his kiasi employee may not allow me to take measurement
Will try to get clearer picture without the plastic bag.

For Wing1, it's slightly larger than the other 2 wings and I was telling some mommies on msn.. 1 of the shop assistant super rude, almost walk out of the shop until a nicer lady come along.
Now sure if I wan get measurement tho.