(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rachel and babylon
can i get the sample of mamil gold from u? i m trying to give JH mamil and so far he seems to be taking it.

i have a tin of similac stage 2. anyone wants? open before but never use.

ak,
i m also thinking of weaning JH after my trip.

do u think mixing the FM into his cereal for a start will help? i do that when he doesn't wan to drink his FM

rachel
thanks. sorry for the trouble. so sad cannot join u guys, but boss just gave me a project and i think it will be issued ard that time.

Little Angels In the Greens
I think can source for wings at Spotlight, but might be costly. Justr on Sunday, I was at Suntec's Toys-R-Us, saw some fairy wings for Halloween Costume, maybe the girls wanna wear that? If I pass by Spotlight will check out the cost of the wings or to make one.

Babylon
Currently, Daren has got 4 240ml sized bottles and I change the rubber teats every 1 1/2 months. The bottles are ok still, never turn murky or yellowish. I use the Pigeon Bottle Detergent to wash 1st then sterilize the bottles

Maid Matters
I've settled the documents and things for the maid matters already. So many things to sign. We got one that has prior working experience in Taiwan and Hong Kong, each place 3 1/2 years experience. WIll be paying $330 per month with one off day a month. Hope things will turn out ok.

The hb has some common sense after all.
I was making garden peas puree (from those frozen packets). After steaming and seeing there mashing the peas against the sieve until the skin if left, I was sweating out and needed to run some urgent errands. I left the house and the hb took over. When I came home, everything was done and my hb did it quite fast. He proudly told me,"It's very simple. Just squeeze each pea out of the skin like squeezing pimple (which he's very fond of doing on his face) then puree the skinless peas lor!!!" I was impressed and glad that he took the initiative to help in preparing Daren's vege purees.

Mamachan,
!!!!! Wahahahah!!!!! My hb loves squeezing his blackheads too. Next time I cook peas for Keenan I shall ask him to sqeeze then peas out for me!!! hahaha!!!

mamachan,

Your hb realli very nice. My hb will say just give him milk lah.

Any idea which insurance company good and cheap car insurance for new driver ? Asking for a friend. We have company discount so cannot give good recommendation.

Rachel,

You really very on in looking for the wings.

Photoshoot:

Told my hubby about the theme. He says boys should go topless with the wings

ak,

Have you tried adding a bit of milo or horlick into the milk ?

My fren's pd advised her to do that when her son also have the same problem rejecting food and milk around 8-9 months.

ooo the angels with wings idea certainly is cute. I was also thinking of looking for a pixie costume for Ariene. Can imagine how cute that will be.

milo/horlick
is it advisiable to give milo or horlick to babies? They contain frutose and sugar..

Re. Angels in the garden
Very nice! But I cannot imagine Isaac dressed as an angel cos he's more like tiny terror now! Heehee... actually those cherubic angels in heaven have wings but are topless right? So why don't we all let our babies just wear wings in diapers! Haha, that will be quite a sight!

ak,
check out http://www.the-ascott.com which has the Ascott & Somerset brands service apartments. Stayed in Ascott BKK before and I love it, very nice. Only thing is, got to walk like about 5-10 mins to the nearest MRT.
But Somerset is good enough, location is quite good.
Else you can try http://www.presidentsolitaire.com or http://presidentpark.com.
THe last time I went, I stayed in http://www.lebua.com, it's more like a hotel, but it has a stove and microwave. The funny thing is, Lebua does not provide any cooking utensils even though there is kitchenette facilities in the suite, so maybe they do not encourage cooking in the hotel suite? But maybe if requested, they'll provide. I didn't bother to cook in BKK, cos was there only for 3 days. So Isaac ate muesli & bread for breakfast and brown rice cereal + Gerber jar puree for dinner for all 3 days.

Chicken Little,
THe Angel wings on ebay are very nice...

Mamachan,
wah, I'm impressed by your HB too leh! How come I never thought of squeezing out the peas first? I'm like you, sweat like mad to mash the peas through the sieve!!! My HB never offer to help though. Sigh...

RE: Angel Wings
Mummies, I saw Kiddy Palace selling it sometime ago. If I drop by, will check out for all of u. I am not in the photoshoot but dun mind helping u all to get if it is cheaper.. but if I pass to one of u during the scrapbook class will it be too late?

Rachel,
I have transfer the money again. Transaction Ref: 888095841. Lucky they refund me the money for unsuccessful transaction. Phew..

Mamachan,
Take care of ur ankle. Walk lesser for these few days at least.

RE: Spaghetti
Today hubby make mushroom spaghetti for Jamie during lunch. Jamie dun seems to like the taste. Mummy ended up eating all.. haha.. so bad hor.

Babylon,
Jamie has 2 big (milk) and 3 small bottles (water). So far ok.. no yellowish substance found. I clean it with Pigeon Detergent too. Perhaps u can try it next time? I will be changing Jamie's milk bottle soon too.

Queen,
Sorry..pls pass my ON stuff to Flo. I might have difficulty meeting u when u come over to your parents place. Paiseh..

Hi Mummies;

It's been some time since i've come to this forum. I'm missing out on so much here (outings//photo shoots/BPs). Sometimes i really want to spend time online when I'm homesick but there's always something waiting to be done..like meals to prepare/dishes to wash/laundry to do etc.

Also feel quite helpless sometimes, especially last week when i was down with a flu. All i want to do is put my head down and sleep but have to take care of bb, end up rory caught my flu bug... cannot call my mum for help unlike back home. Really makes me appreciate my family a whole lot more.

I've been reading some of the recent posts and realised rory is slower in comparison with the bbs here.. he doesn't babble very much and when he does he just say 'ma ma ma...' and 'ah ah ah' alot. I got abit paranoid and went to read up on autism, haha... cos i remember from my volunteering days that kids with autism are slow in the speech department. But tell myself not to worry or compare as all bbs are different.

Re:BabyGap

Has anyone checked out the shop in Vivio City? Are the stuff expensive?

Re: angel wings
I went to toys r us.. they have these butterfly wings for 19.90. Some are more expenseive cos they are more fancy.. like got two leaves. But I think they look more like fairy wings then angel wings.

It'll be cool if we can find little halo hairbands too!

So exciting...
I was just wondering do we need to get permit for holding such a big gathering at botanics?

tabbiesus
I'll check with my hb if there's a need to get a permit for a big gathering. I doubt we'll need one.

May
Maybe can try offering to Jamie to alphabet pasta or marcoroni cooked till very nua? Spaghetti seems abit too "tough" for our bbs at this age, I think. Wait till they're a bit older maybe?

Mamachan
RE: maid
Just a word of warning re: maid with HK work experience... usu maids that have worked in HK have a bit of attitude problem cos they are treated very well over there so u might just watch how ur maid is. Sometimes getting maid is like lottery.. so hard to get a good one...hope ur maid is good!

sy..
ok i chop chop the mamil for you. Btw, how long have you open the similac..damien is taking at the moment...

I got 1 more friso stage 2...anyone want it...

think there is no point of keep it..damien already 10 months old..going to change his milk powder when he turns 1

funny, but i use the detergent to clean but still abit milky..anyway going to change the bottles since he increase the milk intake..he is taking around 180ml now

Rachel
My fund were also returned and unsuccessful in the transfer
I realise the branch is wrong as compared to the one given by you.
Do u have or your HB has a DBS bank acc which I can transfer immediately or u wan me to try again ? that would means you have to wait another 2 days hor...
Pls let me know.

Rachel
I have done the transfer again via the correct code. Hope u receive it.

Re: catch up...
wow so many posting... only manage to glance thru.

Re: Theme for Photos shooting...
SO is the theme all white and Angel?
Looks like got to buy new dress for Kaelyn. Dun think she has any whites..
All her whites are hand me down.. and turning a bit yellowish or grey now.

Flo,
Yes..Mel and Jamie was in the same basket before. I agree that their studio is abit dirty and messy. But the photo is not bad so I go back lor.

Babylon,
No takers for Friso still?? Jamie is drinking it, I am interested. U going to the scrapbook class? Can pass me when there? Where u stay? I can pick up also. I stay in Jurong West.

Re: Photo Shoot
Such a great idea! Little angels in the Garden... My hubby is even more excited than me, want to go Spotlight to buy the wings now. I said, wait for any BP first! Mai kan cheong!

Mamachan, take care of your sprained ankle! Get it fixed well, if not, it will always be bothering you.

Cass, it's not easy being a SAHM, let alone one who is away from family and friends. Do take care of yourself! Chat with us more if possible! You have MSN?

mamachan
your hb is impressive man! my hb wd have just thrown him to the maid

for maids, i dun really like the idea of giving them day off cos once they go out, sometimes problems will start. i noticed my maid dressed up more since i let her go out just once. maybe not a very big issue but if they dun mind being compensated and giving up the day off, i feel it is better.

May
i have friso 2 as well. u want?

babylon
the similac was given by a fren. her maid opened it but din use. been some time already.

re photo shoot
i just told hb abt the theme and his eyes was really wide...he thinks mummies have weird ideas...haha

ak,
so ryan is rejecting his cereal also? wat abt getting some recipes that use FM? those steam egg recipes need milk right?

CassCL
dun be too worried abt rory. babies all progressed at different pace. mine also just babbles n dun say papa or mama. every day he likes to say O....

will try to add u on MSN. i have a lot of problems logging on. any mummies having problem also?

tabbiesus and SY
My mom and I asked the agent aka mum's friend why would the maid they recommended want to come to Singapore to work since from our understanding, in HK, the pay is higher and like what tabbiesus said, are treated quite well. The reason given is that the maid feels that Singapore is closer to home, shorter distance to Phillipines, I was wondering 1/2 an hour difference in plane ride that much meh? Anyway, just have to trust the Lord for favor and His grace for a good maid. Since her work history is quite alright i.e. 3 1/2 years, think no harm done. Personally, I feel that it's alright for them to have their day off albeit all the bad press and reports going around. They are human after all, and here to make a living, so long they play by the rules I'm fine. The 1st couple of months my mum will be supervising her, so my mum will be the main "manager".

RE: Maid

i have decided to get a maid in Dec .. but i would like to sorce out for my own maid.. does any one know how to go about it without paying a big sum to the agency?

CassCL,
Dun worry Ashley is slow in her motor skills as compared to many of the babies here... imagine she only flipped when she was 7mths, and only recently learnt how to crawl. She is 10 months old today. Speech wise she is always going "mum Mum mum" and lately "Atch"...??? We figured she might be caller herself "Ash" but without the "ley" hahah... and oh she is still BOH GEY... so cannot pronounce the "sss" sound... hahah... I now believe that all babies learn at their own pace... some faster some slower but in 1 area or another they will catch up. I have also added you to my MSN too hope to chat with you next time. =)

Rachel,
Have u received my payment? I dun have any funds refunded to my acc leh... let me know okie? can sms me also if still dun have.

Rachel,
Sorry can they actually process refund? If yes, can help me too. Suddenly my dept had a wave of resignation. My boss requesting that I pull off some of my leave during the Nov period.

If it's too troublesome, it's ok. I will either try to negotiate timing with boss and if he's still not ok, I will transfer the funds to you anyway.

So many pple resigning from my company that i really feel like leaving too. :-(

SY, Clare;
Actually I wasn't worried at first. our part-time cleaner who used to babysit thinks rory is a 'very quiet baby', and asked me why is he not babbling much since he's already 9 months. that got me abit concerned. but yah, i tell myself not to worry cos all bbs are different.

Clare, Ashley's late teething might not be such a bad thing cos it seems bbs handle teething pains better if they're older.

Rena;
The mid-autum sale is going on at BabyGap here now. Some of the warmer wear are going really cheap, like i bought rory a nice thick-ish jacket the day before for only 12 pounds and those pants/jeans with lining only 9 pounds. I'll be flying home in December, if you're interested in anything....maybe i can help u 'import' since i don't have too much to lug to the airport.

mamachan, may
if u want the sphagetti to be soft, just have to cook it for about 7-10min (according to manufacturer's instruction) then off fire, cover n let it soak in the hot water until ready to eat or at least 10min. After that, just have to chop the noodles till small bits for baby to eat. That's what I do.

rena,
Some smaller maid agencies charge zero or a small sum for agency fees only. My agency charged me only $88 agency fees for my current maid. Some of the maids they have in the database has no agency fees. If u're interested, let me know and I'll pass u their web address and office address for u to have a look.

useful baby Q&A website
Just wanted to share this site with u. Found alot of useful articles to read while I was searching for information on breastfeeding and weaning baby. Has useful info on eczema too.

http://www.drgreene.com

CassCl,

Thank in advance.. I will e mail you the model and design of the warmest jacket for elijah.

Mama panda,

could you give me the contact so that i can ask then if they can import the maid for us.. Thanks..

Good morning mommies

Re: Photo shoot..
told my HB abt the photo shoot... I wun expect him to like...har?!!....to the idea...
But to my suprise... he reply quickly like.. errr.. Wings.. I think Toy-rus sell them ( then I told him mummy say it looks like fairy tale wings and not angel).. then he suggest there is a custome shop at beach road that rent wings too (but the custome shop looks messy and dusty to me...not sure if it's good idea to get from there unless they have new ones).

I glad he is postive abt it

Only 1 thing he mentioned... crawl on the greens??.. will bb get sensitive over grass? cos he will get itchy when he sit on greens...

Re : angel wings

I saw some in the shops in concourse yesterday. There's wings in white or pink (quite small, so should fit the babies) each pair is around $16-$18.

Re : Permit for Botanic Gardens
I think if above 50, have to get Permit. Someone have asked before.

Cookie, babies should be encouraged to tread on different materials - grass, sand, water, etc, to give them different feel of texture ...

Rena, I got my maid from an agency that charges $0 agency fees. Recommended by someone who got her own maid in and only got them to do the paperwork. My maid has been good, and she gets a day off (which is encouraged by the agency); and she hangs around lucky plaza which I know & I'm ok (cos I'm home everyday to watch over her .... haha, no lah, u have to give the maid some trust. I do leave my baby alone with her for hours at times). I've recommended to another fren recently but the maid wanted to go home and my fren wasn't very happy that it didn't work out for her.

Mamachan, in HK, maid can't be transferred out, like SG. They need to be send home. It might be the reason ... anyway, an agency wouldn't tell u the reason if it's bad. Then how are they gonna sell her service?

.ky.

mamapanda
what kind of pasta do u buy? can use those alphabet ones or just marcoroni is ok?

rena
i got my own maid and i got one agency in lucky plaza to do the paperwork. if u wan i can pass u the contact.

mamachan
good that your mum can help u to watch over your maid. for me, my maid is alone with baby at home most of the time so i can't take any chance. i try to make it up by bringing her out once a week. she doesn't like to go out on her own too cos she wants to save money so that is a good thing for me.

babylon
i may pick up from u this weekend. will discuss with hb. u stay in jurong east?

CassCL,
JH also very quiet when outside. he's only noisy at home! think he is quite a sensitive baby cos he always fuss at night when we bring him to crowded places.

cookie,
i'm not a sit-on-greens person as well. will get itchy too. since the theme is angels, maybe we can get loads of cotton wool (everyone jus bring one bag or so should do), lay it on a cloth and let babies sit on the wool. They will be fascinated with the wool n hopefully sit still playing with it. at the same time look like in the clouds!

May/Cookie
thanks for being so cooperative =) appreciate!
will notify you once i recieve your fund.

Clare
not yet on my side, will notify you once it reach me. thanks!

SH
you sure want to pull out? do let me know your finally decision yah. MWL yet to get back to me on the refund thingy when i informed them about SY's pull out. hjopefully they dont take their time to do it...

how's the kindermusik trial that day?
mine postponed to this sunday...

cassCL
don't worry too much about the development of bb speech. my gal also didn't babble... didn't say anything relating to the 'ba ba' sound... PD also commented that she's a quiet bb.

sunny,
the class was enjoyable. but i heard some preferred the positive babies @ babiesncream in GWC so i decided to try n compare before signing. I noticed that babiesncream also conducts kindermusik and at a cheaper price. Kindermusik in Tanglin is S$260 for 8 sessions while babiesncream is S$200. Positive Babies is S$190 for 8 sessions.

SY
I'm using ordinary pasta like spirals n sphaghetti that I eat, except, I bought the colourful veggie spirals cuz they look more attractive to my baby.

RE: Baby Photoshoot
Theme: Angles in the Greens
Date: 26 Nov 2006 (Sunday)
Time: around 4pm
Venue: Botanical Gardens

1 Flo, Melody (confirm)
2 Rachel, Dylan (confirm)
3 Sleepingdeer, Shannon
4 Lingbel, Christabel
5 Celine, Edgar
6 Wenyl, Ethan
7 SL, Charmaine
8 Tracy, Megan (Confirm)
9 Sept03bride, Caleb
10 God's child, Celeste (Confirm)
11 Babylon, damien
12 Clare, Ashley (confirm)
13 Valerie, Kirsten
14 Rena076, Elijah
15 Queen, Isaac (confirm)
16 MamaChan, Daren (confirm)
17 Cookie, kaelyn
18 Sunny, YX
19 Tabbiesus, Tabitha
20 SY, JH (confirm)
21 Sandra, Sarah Mae
22 Sysac, Cephas (confirm)
23 Denmy, Keenan/Ethan
24 SH, JW
25 Chicken Little, Aden

mummies, are you ladies ON on the angel's wing? if it is agreeable, then we shall go source for the wings and hopefully can get it in BP. ok? saw some mummies yet to indicate their attendance, pls do so as to make flo's job easier. thanks!

Rachel,
If MWL is agreeable then yes pls. I think things a bit unsettlingly at work at the moment. However, if cannot then never mind. Let me know, k? Once they confirm cannot, i will transfer the funds to you. Thanks a lot and sorry for the trouble.

re: photoshoot
luckily it's around 4pm... else, i might not be able to join again.

RE: Baby Photoshoot
Theme: Angles in the Greens
Date: 26 Nov 2006 (Sunday)
Time: around 4pm
Venue: Botanical Gardens

1 Flo, Melody (confirm)
2 Rachel, Dylan (confirm)
3 Sleepingdeer, Shannon
4 Lingbel, Christabel
5 Celine, Edgar
6 Wenyl, Ethan
7 SL, Charmaine
8 Tracy, Megan (Confirm)
9 Sept03bride, Caleb
10 God's child, Celeste (Confirm)
11 Babylon, damien
12 Clare, Ashley (confirm)
13 Valerie, Kirsten
14 Rena076, Elijah
15 Queen, Isaac (confirm)
16 MamaChan, Daren (confirm)
17 Cookie, kaelyn
18 Sunny, YX (confirm)
19 Tabbiesus, Tabitha
20 SY, JH (confirm)
21 Sandra, Sarah Mae
22 Sysac, Cephas (confirm)
23 Denmy, Keenan/Ethan
24 SH, JW
25 Chicken Little, Aden

rachel
angel wing sounds good to me. if got BP, i will join. thanks!

tracy
any idea if there's other playgroup at north/west area? tanglin/GWC sounds a bit far to my hb to drive us there.....
my gal doesn't seem to like tumble tots a lot... and i heard mygym at woodlands charge quite ex, too....