(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF, congrats!

When you drive and need to attend to bb halfway, just remember to stop somewhere safely. There was this mother who stopped right in the middle of a carpark exit lane around a dark bend. So dangerous and may cause an accident for other drivers.

Rena, really, God's will!

thanks Val for the reminder. i will do so...frankly speaking..still a bit worried..coz i get all kan cheong when he wails. anyway picking Sophia halfway thru so hopefully he be fine until Sophia and Daren comes on board. i think you may remember me from our sec sch when we meet up tmr..haha..see ya!

Rena,
i share the same opinions as Mashy in terms of the working mum. i cannot stay at home full-time as i'll go mad. I am someone who needs to keep myself busy all the time and can barely sit still (that's why i dread breastfeeding). And i am an impulsive shopper and i feel really insecure if I don't have money of my own to spend. sooo...even if given a choice to be SAHM, i'll still opt to work.

btw, can i pass to you Sept03's leappad n u pass to her at tabb's gathering please? i can drop by your place about 6plus today. would u be home?

Wenyl,
i'll pass to rena Sept03's leappad instead, cos i wanna rush home watch THomas Ong on 9pm show heehee...going rena's place i can go earlier..:p that is if rena can..thanks anyway!

SSF, you are in HP right? Thought HP takes pride in never retrenching people? Good for you, I tried waiting for mine and never happened, got tired of waiting for it, quit, then got preggie...

Like to do another polling here to find out how many table spoon of porridge your baby is feeding at meal time...

(1) Kaelyn - 2-3 chinese table spoon
(2)
(3)
(4)

cookie, when I feed Kirsten later, I'll count then let you know. But I believe should be at least 2 or 3 times more than Kaelyn...

val - yes i am in HP..and no we have been cutting resources all these while. and this wave, it's my turn. if i dun get it this time,. i may get it the next time too but may not get such good package lor. so in a way,. i feel i am bless.

sleepingdeer - sure you can email me your HT purchase.

cookie- i got ur spreadsheet..very detailed. i like it. will use your format.

Like to do another polling here to find out how many table spoon of porridge your baby is feeding at meal time...

(2) Caleb - half a ikea small bowl
(3)
(4)

Poll on how many table spoon of porridge given to bb at meal time
(2) Daren - 7-9 chinese table spoon (make up to 1 bowl)
(3)
(4)

ooops! didn't realize SSF and me posted at the same time.

(3) Daren - 7-9 chinese table spoon (make up to 1 bowl)
(4)

(3) Dylan - 1 whole bowl of chinese rice bowl
(4)

sorry, not sure how much of chinese table spoon is need to fill up a full bowl... 8?

hmm..my porridge for megan is really thick type. it sticks to the spoon n won't drop even if u turn the spoon upside down.

(2) Daren - 7-9 chinese table spoon (make up to 1 bowl)
(3) Megan - 4 chinese table spoon (heaped n thick)
(4) Dylan - 1 whole bowl of chinese rice bowl

(4) Megan - 4 chinese table spoon (heaped n thick)
(5) Dylan - 1 whole bowl of chinese rice bowl

(6) Mongs - 1/3 to 1/2 chinese rice bowl

esther
dont worry, its needed to be done in order to check on renee's health. dont blame yourself.

by this time the scope must have took place or even completed bah. i believe all is well. its just a scope and the doctors know renee's safety comes first above all. Dylan have been doing well till date and no one will ever know he went through an operation when he was only 2 WEEKS old. at that point of time im guilty and heart broken. hb dont allow me to go hospital to see him being wheel into the operation theatre. hb called and told me dylan going in now and i just broke down. after the operation dylan reacted as if nothing happen and he drank his mummy's milk hungrily. so dont worry mummy. renee is a big baby now and stronger then you can imagine! =)

Rena and Val
For me, as much as I wanted to be a SAHM, financially it was really challenging for my hb and myself coz we still have a reno loan to pay off. I'm happy to have resumed work though coz I can have some margin to spend on Daren without having to face any colors from my hb's face (if any) and he can't stop me from buying things for Daren or myself. I would actually very much prefer to work part time should we finish paying our reno-loan in future.

Like wat Val said, I think in this day and age, we need to keep ourselves up-to-date with what's happening in out industry and meet new people and most of all, be financially independent.

Personally, my grandparents were the one who helped my mom raised me while she had to go out and work and support the entire family as she has no choice. I never blamed her, but somehow as I was growing up, I wished that my mom was around for me most of the time. Material things in itself did not satisfy that longing and no matter how much branded stuff (back then) she could give me, it's like never enough and I would often do silly things to get her attention. SO when she finally left her job when I was like 16, claiming one of the reasons was to spend time with me, I told my mom back then that it's too late, I'm at the age where I don't need her around much and I want to get a life of my own (sounds very rebellious hor?)
So back then when I was a SAHM for a short period, my kept nagging me to go back to work, and till date, kept asking me why don't I put Daren with a nanny from Mon-Fri overnight then weekends bring him home so that my hb and I would be well rested. I just told her to her face," Coz I don't want Daren to grow up like me, with no mom at home to look forward to going to after school and later become some problematic child. And besides, he's my son, and my responsibilty" So I rather still bite the bullet to care for him after work on my own and also the nights where he's teething and wakes up frequently. It's not easy, but I feel that I'm really doing what I can to make up for the time that he's away in IFC.

So right now, my hb and I are aiming to work towards for me to be able to be PTWM or SAHM when Daren comes to 2 or 3 years...coz that's the time and age where morals and values are a good time to instil while their character is forming.

Sorry for the lengthy 2 cents worth...it's a personal experience that I'm opening to you mummies here. Coz ultimately, I don;t think material needs and comfort can replace our being there for our children.

(7) Celine77 - 1/3 to 1/2 chinese rice bowl (with side dishes, either extra fish or fruits or eggyolk)

hi sophia, very well said. i'm oso looking to be a SAHM when edgar turns 2-3yo and hopefully i'll be blessed w a bb gal then

SAHM vs FTWM
Oh yes, one more thing. Something which I see in my uncle (mom's younger bro) and aunt's lives with their 3 children of whom all 3 are breastfed. My aunt was a SAHM until last year where she found a teaching position in a primary school. She's a degree holder and specialized in Microbiologyu and held a very good job before she got pregnant. She gave that up and looked after my 3 cousins. The oldest is Sec 2, youngest is Primary 3. Though they don't have much branded things, but they are very contented and well behaved children ( of course the boys will have their mischevious side) especially the boys are studying in ACS Primary, Barker (you know how rich those boys are?). And my aunt can finally think of what she wanted to do which is teaching and she pursued it and is very happy with that arrangements.

She's really a picture of a role model mom for me to follow in that sense and she really did not regret giving up those golden years where she could have just climbed the ladder to see how her children are to date. A very huge contrast to my mom's older brother and family...where his wife, my eldest aunt, is a paper chaser or rather money chaser but her family is in a mess, children helped raised by maid, children ended up close to maid, youngest son is a huge terror and 3rd daughter is an attention deficit case...it's really God's grace that her two elder daughters are really sensible but they have alot of hurts in their lives.......

so mummies, it's really your choice =)

ssf
wow wow SAHM. you sure are very happy. =)

rena
think you are burnt out. you know best that nothing beats to watch Elijah grow up under your loving care. since money is not an issue, do continue being Elijah sole caregiver. you are doing a great job but, do give yourself a break from time to time. consider putting Elijah with your mum for half a day and enjoy your own private time.

wendyheng
well... sense that you are kind of lost and no much support in getting your boy to sleep on his own. if your boy's waking up habit is really bothering you, do stay firm with the training. environment do plays a part in baby's sleeping pattern. that happened to mine when i went to my mum's place when hb was oversea. do consider on this part.

do try to get your hb involve, know its tough. men are all the same, need scolding/ warning/ whatever to get them to move and help out. like what other mummies had mentioned, its not a day or 2 thingy and expect your boy to sleep on his own. pls dont lock him up in a dark room and leave to cry for too long. might back fire. the longest i ever left dylan to cry on his own was 30mins.

good luck.

(7) Celine77 - 1/3 to 1/2 chinese rice bowl (with side dishes, either extra fish or fruits or eggyolk)
(8) Ariene - 1/2 to 3/4 pigeon bowl of medium/thin porridge mixed with meat + vege puree

yap Sohpia,

i got your point coz i was just like you.. as you know my parents have to work so mom put me with a nanny.. but nanny was no good and nasty too.. she always lock me in the toilet dispite that i am still samll.. so one day mom come and do a sopt check.. guess what the nanny was feeding me and was shock that mom came.. she was just feeding me plain cold porridge.. mom was angry coz she bought alot expensive food for me.. but i never got to eat them.. then mom's put me over at my granny's place... well.. my parents was never with me when i need them .. and when i was in school i did many terrible things... almost got expel in sec ..

that was why i decided to become a sahm.. coz i do not wnat my son to take my path..

maybe rachel is right i am just tired..

wendyng
You not enough sleep? Ariene keeping you up? COz I see you changed your nick to MamaPanda...haha. Take Care yah?

Wendyheng
Hmmm, it's good that you want to try the crying it out method, but like rachel mentioned, you cannot leave baby to cry for too long like more than 30mins. Like what Denmy mentioned, used the controlled crying method, which is once bb starts crying, you time for 5 min, then you go in and assure bb, but don't carry, then wait 10min later, go in again and repeatedly saying night night. each time let the timing get longer. At night when he starts to fuss and wake up for water feed, just ignore the bb, use controlled crying method again, thnk bb will usually go back to sleep on his own.

As for what your hb mentioned that bb will understand you all by the time you all move, I think it's abit hard, yes they will understand simple things from their everyday routine, but to lock the door and expect bb to walk back to bed and sleep, doesn't happen till they are 3 or 4 years old, even then... it's good to know that you want to take some ownership over your son's sleeping habits, really it'll be good for the family in th long run.

Hi SSF, which org in HP are you from? I was from HP too ... decided to opt for part-time (which I requested) before I decided to stay at home. I would like to order HT but collection in the east is tough for me; can collect at Punggol?

.ky.

Wendy Ng --> Mama Panda
Yeah.. nowadays she dun wanna sleep till 10pm nowadays and sometimes, she wakes up at 1am, sometimes, 3am (for a feed?). If I'm working, I have to wake up at 5.45am to feed her and pump milk. So, after 8 months, I feel I'm looking more and more like a panda
Besides, too many Wendys in the forum (no offense fellow Wendys)

(8) Ariene - 1/2 to 3/4 pigeon bowl of medium/thin porridge mixed with meat + vege puree
(9)Damien 1 whole bowl of Chinese rice bowl

(8) Ariene - 1/2 to 3/4 pigeon bowl of medium/thick porridge mixed with meat + vege puree
(9)Damien 1 whole bowl of Chinese rice bowl

Sorry, should be medium to thick porridge. Typed wrong.

mummies, need advise here. a very heartpain mother here. Dylan kena lots of bite on his legs, arms and head. not sure whats the cause, but been sunning the pillows and washing the sarong cloth very often. saw the bites on tuesday evening when we reached my mum place. they are not there when i left for work in the morning.
521498.jpg
521499.jpg

what could it be?? but thankfully the bites subsided quite abit now.

rachel,
U sure they're not utecaria (allergy rash aka hong mo) but bites? Was he fed anything new before the "bites"? Somehow, from the pic, looks like hong mo to me more than bites.

mamachan
Chilles is selling her freezer cube tray. U may want to ask her directly instead of joining the BP.

mamapanda
we concluded its bites bcoz theres a red dot at the centre of every red patches. if its rashes it will only be patches right? and only appear on his limps and none on his body (touch wood!). nope, did not fed him anything new fro the past few days.

mamachan

Wat if i extend liao alr 30 min he still e same crying then wat should i do? mean which i have to continue this till a week?

Dylan's latest toy. if you are wondering why is he smiling but not looking at mummy... he was playing peek-a-boo with his gong gong =p

Dylan: "Thank you so much for helping my mama to get this, Aunty SY! I love this blue thing very much!"
521532.jpg

rachel check with your mom where did he crawl.. it could be moszzi bite.. but seem too much for the moszzi leh..

dustmite also bite yu know? better becareful

rachel

You said the longest time u let him cry for the nite is 30 min so everynite u do e same. How long your son understand? So u think is ok to train him in different plc?

Rena

I grew up about the same way as you.I was placed with my granny, my aunt, a neighbour before and frankly, other than my granny, i hated the other places. My aunt will go gambling and my bro and I had to wait at the void deck for her to pick us up. Sometimes we could be left waiting until 7pm+. With my neighbour, we had to fend for our own coz my neighbour had 4 children of her own. So it wasn't a good experience either. Well, my mom wasn't fantastic herself, her being an addict gambler when she's SAHM. I actually felt relieved when she started working coz then she was more sane.

Maybe that's why I didn't want to put my boy with a nanny, coz we don't know what happens in the day. With an infant care, at least there are more eyes watching. But then I still caught my boy eating tissue paper like a Tasmania yesterday at the infant care. The teacher went to tend to another crying child and he was left with his tissue on his neck (during feeding time). Of course he stuffed himself silly with it. Thank God I was there in time and pulled out the tissue from his mouth.

Wendyheng,

you must remember that training bb is not a one day or two days affiar.. you and hb have to understand that being a parent comes with a price..

now bb is sleeping with mil so when you move over to your house you may have problem trying to adjust him .. plus moving from one place to another does not solve the problem..

maybe you and hb should sit down and tackle this problem .. however if it is not a major problem to you and you both can leave by it then i think it is ok..