(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Poll on how many table spoon of porridge given to bb at meal time
(1) Kaelyn - 2-3 chinese table spoon
(2) Caleb - half a ikea small bowl
(3) Daren - 7-9 chinese table spoon (make up to 1 bowl)
(4) Megan - 4 chinese table spoon (heaped n thick)
(5) Dylan - 1 whole bowl of chinese rice bowl
(6) Mongs - 1/3 to 1/2 chinese rice bowl
(7) Celine77 - 1/3 to 1/2 chinese rice bowl (with side dishes, either extra fish or fruits or eggyolk)
(8) Ariene - 1/2 to 3/4 pigeon bowl of medium/thick porridge mixed with meat + vege puree
(9)Damien ?1 whole bowl of Chinese rice bowl
10)Celeste - i whole bowl of chinese rice bowl
11 Sumo - 1 chinese rice bowl...
12) JH - about 1 chinese rice bowl
13) Xavier - 1 chinese rice bowl
14) Isaac - 3/4 - 1 chines bowl (estimation lah, cos I use Tollyjoy flat base bowl)
15) Daviern - about one bowl

Rachel,
Doesn't look like normal bites to me leh...
Could it be a allergy reaction? Or 'fong mo'? Or sensitive to certain kind of fabrics? Think better see doctor. Have you tried applying cream?

SY / Rachel,
Isaac cannot sit more than 30 mins in the exersaucer. Early in the morning if we put him there, he can last like 20 mins and when he sees me or HB walking around doing things, he gets distracted and start to whine for us to pick him up liao. If we ignore him, he can maybe last another 5 mins or so before breaking out into fake cries and then real cries liao. And he can at most sit 2 or 3 times in the exersaucer in 1 day, cos he gets bored of it quite fast. Sigh... my HB says waste money.

Re. BB sleeping
I have yet to train Isaac to sleep on his own...
Most of the time, he needs me to carry and pat him to sleep. Though he can sleep through most nights, from 8+pm to 5am / 6am for milk then back to sleep tiill 7+ am. Sometimes will wake up once at 11 pm or so, but pat a while can fall back asleep. Think I also need to start to train him to fall asleep on his own...

chillies,
i know what u mean abt the IL thing. a lot of things that my IL do, i dun feel good abt it. my MIL likes to carry him to the corridor at night and i dun like it cos i feel that it is very dangerous. she stays on 15th floor and the corridor is very narrow. plus her arm no strength and my boy likes to squirm. so when she does that i will tell her to come in. i know she's not happy abt it but i dun wan to take chances. and i dun like them to feed him whereas i m ok with my own mum feeding. maybe it's also a comfort level thing..

queen,
think need to let them sit in it for some time longer than they will get used to it. i will pat JH also but at least now he doesn't cry. i will take one small step at a time...

(3) Daren - chinese table spoon (make up to 1 bowl)
(6) Mongs - 1/3 to 1/2 chinese rice bowl
(7) Celine77 - 1/3 to 1/2 chinese rice bowl (with side dishes, either extra fish or fruits or eggyolk)
(8) Ariene - 1/2 to 3/4 pigeon bowl of medium/thick porridge mixed with meat + vege puree
(9)Damien - 7-9 to make up 1 whole bowl of Chinese rice bowl
14) Isaac - 3/4 - 1 chines bowl (estimation lah, cos I use Tollyjoy flat base bowl)

BB Sleeping
Personally, I kinda changed my "tactics" abit. Coz I feel bad towards Daren for placing him in IFC, so when comes bedtime, after he finishes his milk, I'll just hold him in my arms with occasional patting, but will cuddle him and sing softly over and pray over him as his eyes get heavy with sleep. And he sleeps through till 5/6/7am for his next milk feed. It's also my bonding time with him. But previously as SAHM, i used the sleepsense method and it worked for me coz I was so in need of rest from looking after him whole day.

CHillies
ok will PM you.

mashy
Hb and myself used to be lazy washing Daren's bib after feeding, but just try wiping off the big pieces until we realize that even after doing his laundry the food stains can't come off. So now, I make it a point to rinse his bib after every feed and it helps.

Scrape-Book Making
Any of you mummies doing this as a hobby or for your bb's 1st year b-day? I've seen a few shops i.e. Plaza Sing, Wheelock place having such shops and it seems quite interesting. Thinking of doing one for Daren's 1st year B-day...but I'm not really a very creative/artistic sort of person. Any idea got such scrape-book making craft classes?

Heehee, just realise that I put down my nick instead of my daugther name. so funny seeing my nick among the babies name.

(6) Clariss - 1/3 to 1/2 chinese rice bowl

rachel, I have the safety first bouncer as well. take note of the nose of the bird. somehow babies like to eat the bird and the paint will go off after a while. I bought the bouncer and my nephew who is 6 months older than clariss used it. by the time my sis realised it, the bird nose is discoloured. quite unhappy that the colour can come off. we should go to safety first to demand for a explanation.

Mummies!
Great news! My mum is discharged today, just got the msg from her. Doctors can't find anything wrong with her. She's really happy as she's bored stiff in hospital, ends up she goes around to kaypo other patients in the ward and befriends them. I'm so happy! Praise God!

mamachan
the one at wheelock place held classes to teach people how to go about doing one.

queen
we ruled out allergy reaction. nothing new was intro to Dylan lately, including food and daily wear. yah applied some cream and glad to say that the bites subsided quite abit.

mamachan

Happy for u too. Actually after i being a mother even though my mil helping me look after him. But i felt i'm more caring to my family members than in the past.

mamachan
yipee! happy for you =D do send my regards to your mum.

mongs
oh... thats not good. thanks for highlighting. till now dylan dont have much interest in that birdie. he like to bite that sun though.

Re: POrridge feeding...
hmm...Guess what...My MIL feed 2-3 table spoon of porridge, when I come back she will tell me. Dun feed milk so soon.. she ate alot!! She will be very full. She took 2.5 Table spoon of porridge.

Sometimes when I told her it's not too much... MIL keep saying I'm trying to force feed kaelyn and keep saying every baby is different.
I know and acknowledge each baby is different, generally... seems like most baby eat more than 3 table spoon of porridge.

As long as kaelyn is growing well.. I dun wanna argue but just wan to know I'm not "force" feeding.

Oh.. remember previously MIL was reluctant to feed 180ml milk?... after HB make special phone call back home to remind MIL to feed 180ml. According to her, she is feeding 180ml now and Kaelyn able to finish most of them.

Sophia..
thats Good news!!!...Happy for you

cookie
err... m not sure why your mil is not willing to feed kaelyn more. if kaelyn dont want any more she will say no or close her mouth right? whats the time interval between the porridge and her next milk feed?

<font color="ff0000">RED ALERT!!</font>
Aussie BABY SPINACH

Bad news. Our spinach cannot be delivered tmr morning (Fri) becos of the recent E.Coli scare in USA, the AVA has retained all fruit and veg coming from abroad for tests. Our spinach can only be delivered next Mon or Tuesday (WILL UPDATE U GUYS AGAIN). Which means, there won't be any distribution on 23/9 at Tabb's gathering. You'll have to collect from <font color="ff6000">Pasir Ris</font> or <font color="119911">Robinson Road</font> or <font color="0000ff">One Raffles Link</font>.

Can you please re-indicate your collection method. Also can PM or email me your email adresses so I can update you of any further changes. Thanks!!!!

Each pax gets 375g spinach @ $7.44

1. Denmy
2. Sophia-Mamachan (collect on 23rd gathering)
3. SY (23/9 to SH)
4. Rena (collect on 23rd gathering)
5. Flo (23/9 to Rena) + a bag of preggers test kits up in the cupboard
6. queen (23/9 to Rena)
7. wenyl (collect on 23rd gathering)
8. Wendy Ng (Slinky)(collect on 23rd gathering)
9. Tabbiesus (collect on 23rd gathering)
10. Sleepingdeer (collect on 23rd gathering)
11. Durianlover (collect on 23/9 gathering)
12. SH (collect on 23/9 gathering)

Hi all mummies....finally got the time to log on and reply....

Rachel...the bites look similar to the ones my baby James had...we realised it is a reaction to heat...he has exactly the same spots as the ones you posted the pic of...initially, I was worried and brought him to a doctor...however, the "bites" will eventually subside...it is made more apparent because he is fair...

SY...thanks so much for all your trouble...really appreciate it....thanks again....

mamapanda...your kid very cute with the new hairdo...my son will never sit still to let me cut his hair...

16) James - one chinese rice bowl

Hi all so busy just skimmed through the messages only...

MamaChan,
PRAISE GOD!! Just to share, my mum was diagnose with cervix cancer more than 10 years ago and immediately undergone surgery and recovered. Few years ago while doin her bi-annual paps smear with her usual Doc, Doc told her test showed there's sign of cancer returning n need to under surgery again... Mum decided to fast n pray about it and whole family n cell group prayed... when she went for a 2nd opinion at a different doc, Doc was bewildered and told mum he see absolutely nothing wrong with her! She could have gone for a 3rd opinion to confirm but we all decided to trust that its GOD's HEALING and WORK IN PROGRESS so we left it as such. To this day she is still giving testimony and praising God for his divine healing. =)

Re ScrapBooking
Before I had Ashey I was very much into paper crafts including Card Making, Parchment (paper lace), etc and wanted to start scrapbooking too... But since Ashley was born i had no time and HB packed all my "tools" and stuff (and i got loads) into the store room... so I'm really dying to pick up where I left off too. For scrapbooking you dun really have to take up classes as its all about materials being acid free and being creative in layouts.. can get references and ideas from books as well but of cos if attend class would be able to pick up lot faster. If you are interested we can go learn together or maybe start a gathering on making a 1 page scrapbook first just to try it out... I can provide all the materials. =)

Mamachan, Praise the Lord!

17) Kirsten - one chinese rice bowl (about 6 tbsp?)

Hehee, cookie, I really go and count... By the way, you started feeding Kaelyn for less than 2 months so far? I think her appetite may take a few more weeks to pick up bah... But also should try to feed until she rejects instead of controlling how much she should eat like what your MIL is doing.

Mummies, how do your babies' tongues look after eating solids? Kirsten's tongue is a disgusting brown and she refused to let me clean it. And her breath stinks!

Valerie...
Tell me abt controlling....
I have another arguement with mil just now when I come home abt feeding...
and Hb gng china for 9 days... I dunno how to live with her alone for the next 9 days.

Clare
Excellent idea for a gathering for scrapbooking! hehehehe, u wanna organize? muahahaha *hint hint* then we can perhaps do something for our little darling's scrapbook. Maybe even meet once a month to exchange ideas and see how each one is coming along? then our babies can play together and tear each other's hair out. Oops!

sleepingdeer
Thanks for sharing that info. Maybe I'll just look around.

Valerie
Eh, I didn't really go notice my boy's tongue, but sometimes he will have porridge breath after dinner. I'll normally clean his mouth with a washcoth before he sleeps.

Re Scrapbooking gathering
I dun mind starting but I have to qualify though I have lots of ideas in my head n lots of materials in my storeroom... I have yet to complete even 1 page!! So I am no expert okie? Hahaa... What i can do is to get my friend who has slightly more experience than me (she has made 1 album for her 2yr old son already) to come n share her album with us n perhaps show us some basic skills &amp; design layout? As I said I can provide all materials for our gathering so no need to spend any money first but I also have to warn mummies that it CAN be adictive and may cost you loads of $$ (buying materials) after that hahaa...

Okie lets see who's interested then we can decide on venue/time &amp; date...
1. Clare
2. MamaChan

Rachel
haizz.. was mentioning I had arguement with mil abt feeding again.
what happen is this... Kaelyn wake up at 6am (cos no dream feed the nite before) so I fed her. (usual timing mil feed kaelyn is 8am when we dream feed her the nite before)
After which, I told mil can feed her as follow:
6am+ - mornign feed (cookie done it)
10am - mid morning feed
1pm - cereal
4pm - milk feed
7pm - porridge
or altnative

6am - morning feed ( Cookie done it)
10am- cereal
12-1pm - milk feed
4 pm - milk feed
7pm - porridge

BUT when I come home and ask MIL. the following is the schedule :
6am+ - morning feed (cookie done it)
10am - cereal
2pm - milk feed
7pm - porridge

When I question further why she drag between feed so long?.. she say where got long.. she has milk at 2pm ma... then I say but u drag for 5 hrs then feed porridge? and usually we feed milk after 2 hr after cereal why drag 4 hrs?

Finally.. I ask her in normal tone... mother, can you dun drag the feed too long next time..

The she bang table, bang fork and spoon, bang door.. say I dun trust her..blah blah blah...then say Kaelyn dun wan to eat what can she do?.. but during our last convrsation she never say Kaelyn reject milk or porridge.
I was angry too.. so I brought Kaelyn into room and close the door..
but I know I cannot leave it like this... or relationshio will be real sour..
No choice.. I open the door.. and wen to mil and say.. it's not that I dun trust you.. but if you REALLY prepare and Kaelyn refuse there is nothing I can say.
I repeated twice hope she get my meaning.

It's not like I have to depend on her.. but in the end she is my HB mum after all... things just cannot go too bad.

I will just have take this weekedn at Bintan a cool off period...
But next week 9 days HB not around.. I dunno how to face her

Sorry abt my loh soh again...

I dun mind starting but I have to qualify though I have lots of ideas in my head n lots of materials in my storeroom... I have yet to complete even 1 page!! So I am no expert okie? Hahaa... What i can do is to get my friend who has slightly more experience than me (she has made 1 album for her 2yr old son already) to come n share her album with us n perhaps show us some basic skills &amp; design layout? As I said I can provide all materials for our gathering so no need to spend any money first but I also have to warn mummies that it CAN be adictive and may cost you loads of $$ (buying materials) after that hahaa...

1. Clare
2. MamaChan
3.Rena

All mummies

How i wish i have my own flat now. just now only left me and fil with bb at home as hb went for nite class, mil went for meeting. I pat my son slp but he crying for me to carry. I'm very firm today not to carry him even he cry at least half an hour, my fil come in said want to carry him i stop him then i told him i wan to train him, then he said now so small cant understand then say if mother here carry him he'll slp very fast de. hai. I told him my friends bb mostly can slp thru e nite coz train him. then he told me different people ma and said got 8 yrs old children got degree then my son must do la. I just ignore him continue pat my son. Then fil said he cant slp in this way, End up i prove him wrong, my son slp on his own without me carrying him. Then i told my fil i wan to go my god parent hse to train him this sun, he keep saying like that cannot one. i just tell him today when i knock off alr inform my mil. Hai now i'm very confused should i coz of this to let them be unhappy with me. So fed up now.

Anyone can give me support or advice? U think should i continue my way? Ya somemore this mid oct i going taipei, if i train him now then when i go taipei, my mil confirm feed him if he cry then when i come back, everything back to square. Actually my hb told me b4 is easier to do things ourself when we got our flat but now staying together ma. hai

WAT SHOULD I DO!!!! HELP HELP

18) Jamie - Half ikea bowl

19) Ryan - One chinese rice bowl

Queen,

Actually I followed the schedule you posted based on what the KK nurses told you. So Ryan's feeding schedule is:
7 a.m. : Latch on
10 a.m. : cereal plus milk 80 ml
1 p.m. : One chines bowl porridge
3 p.m. : 140 ml milk
6 p.m. : 1 chinese bowl porridge
7 p.m. : 140 ml milk
8 p.m. to 7 a.m. : sleep but will wake to latch

Mongs....so funny when I read what u said abt wanting to throw bb out of the room. For me, it is the reverse. Cos i get home late and have little time to spend with BB before he sleeps, i kinda enjoy having him wake up at nite so i can cuddle him and smell him. My work requires me to travel a lot so I am out of country every month. When i come home (sometimes at midnite), i look forward to Ryan waking up so i can smell him close to me....i guess partly becos of this, i am also reluctant to stop bfg....

Lisa, what shd I bring to botanic gardens tomorrow? I dun have a picnic mat....hope that is ok...sms me k? Cos i only check this forum at nite....

Mongs, Thanks for telling us abt the paint of the bird...I also noticed it today that the paint is being scrapped off by Ryan biting at the bird...do you think i shd scrap off all of it now??

rachel,
I have got this kind of bites before I am pregnant. It is a kind of insect bite. U can go see PD and get cream to apply as it is really very itchy.

RE: Scrapbooking
I know where can nice material for scrapbooking. Wheelock Place level 2 got one shop that sell material and teach pple also. It was on the tv before. I bought some there and realised that Bras Brasah Popular Level 5 got sell alot. Popular even sell pre-pack one. Step by step guide with material. I did one for Jamie but have yet insert the pic. Abt $40 for everything.

oh, one more thing...for those mummies whose bb are slpg thru the nite and who are still TBF, do you have to wake up to pump??

Wendyheng,
Ur baby sleeping in the same room as u? If no, maybe u can bring baby into the same room as u and lock the door. Then u can start training from there.
If u can train him by then, explain to ur PIL that they can relax at night as baby dun wake up. It is also good for them as they can rest.

Wendyheng,
Are u moving to your God parent's place for good till you get your own place? If not I dun suggest that u move there just for the sake of training BB lor... also like u said not good for r.ship with your in laws. Why dun u sacrifice a bit first n move BB in to your room with you... cos if sleep with MIL u know MIL sure will feed him btu if sleep in your own room they couldn't possibly come in middle of night right?

Hi Rena
Thanks for the suggestion. Spoke to hb and he say we bring an item along.
I need suggestion whether to bring my boy for the the pneumococol jab? he is 7.5mths old.
20) Rayeden - 1/4 children's bowl wiz meat(stock only), fish, small silver fish and spinach

Sharing this recipe for peach custard (from Dumex Fine Weaning Book). Kirsten loves the custard!

Ingredients:
5 level scoops of milk powder
150ml of lukewarm water
2 pcs of egg yolk
1 Tbsp of mashed or pureed peaches (Can add more for stronger flavour. I prefer to puree)

Method:
1. To the lukewarm milk, add in the egg yolks and the pureed peach. Beat well with a fork.
2. Pour the mixture into 3 small ovenproof glass dishes and place in a baking tray with enough warm water to come halfway up the sides. (very important step)
3. Bake in a slow oven (150 degC) for 45min or until custard is cooked.
4. Cool the custard.
5. Serve warm or chilled.

20) Rayeden - 1/4 children's bowl wiz meat(stock only), fish, small silver fish and spinach
21) JW - One chinese rice bowl

Great! Count me in! I have been wanting to start on tat but dunno how to go about doing it

1. Clare
2. MamaChan
3.Rena
4. wenyl

ak,
My boy's schedule is:
5am - 6am: latch on (does not empty both breasts, take in maybe at most 80ml to 100ml)
8.30am: 200ml EBM
11.30am: 60ml BM add to 4 tbsp cereal
2.30pm: 200ml EBM
5pm: 3/4 bowl porridge
8pm: latch on (last milk feed, does not empty both breasts)

According to KK's meal timetable, each milk intake should be 210 - 240ml, 3 times a day and 3 solids a day. That means ~600ml of milk per day. Now I think Isaac is just about taking ~600ml, but with 4 milk feeds. He's too sleepy to drink much early in the morning and before bedtime. That's why I dunno how to introduce I the 3rd solid feed leh. I know don't have to strictly follow the 600ml guideline... so maybe soon I'll increase his milk intake to 250ml and replace 1 milk feed with solids. Perhaps ask my MIL to give him 100ml of EBM after cereal or something.

Isaac sleeps from 8+ pm to 5am or 6am for milk.
I do not wake up to pump, nowadays breasts will not leak liao even though no latch/pump for more than 8 hours. But definitely will latch and pump at 6am to empty both breasts before going to work.

22) Ethan - 1/2 to 3/4 rice bowl

wendyheng
Once you've started, don't stop halfway because of what others say, coz you will cause confusion in your bb. What CLare said has a point, why not choose to sacrifice yourselves and let bb sleep in cot in your room? It's true that each baby is different, but it's your choice and decision that you should make for the good of your bb. I hope you don;t get stressed out that most bbs in this thread are able to sleep through the night also.

You mentioned that hb still studying...I guess that's why MIL offered to look after your boy so that neither one of you will have interrupted sleep? Then you and hb need to take a firm stand. Coz once you have your own flat, it'll be a different story. Men have a tendency (regardless of age), if they find the easy way out of sticky situations, they will exit 1st lor, so in terms of bb waking up in the night when you're staying on your own, be prepared that you have to be the one doing the job.

22) Ethan - 1/2 to 3/4 rice bowl
23) Keenan - 1 full ikea bowl + a fruit (after dinner)

<font color="ff0000">RED ALERT!!</font>
Aussie BABY SPINACH

Bad news. Our spinach cannot be delivered tmr morning (Fri) becos of the recent E.Coli scare in USA, the AVA has retained all fruit and veg coming from abroad for tests. Our spinach can only be delivered next Monday or Tuesday (WILL UPDATE U GUYS AGAIN). Which means, there won't be any distribution on 23/9 at Tabb's gathering. You'll have to collect from
<font color="0000ff">Pasir Ris</font> or
<font color="119911">Robinson Road</font> or
<font color="ff6000">One Raffles Link</font> or
<font color="0077aa">a mummy's place in central</font> (for mummies in the north and west? anyone wants to help distribute?)

Can you please re-indicate your collection and payment method. Also can PM or email me your email adresses so I can update you of any further changes. Thanks!!!!

Each pax gets 375g spinach @ $7.44.
Payment by Cash or transfer to DBS Savings 026-5-012408
thanks!!!!

1. Denmy
2. Sophia-Mamachan (collect on 23rd gathering)
3. SY (23/9 to SH)
4. Rena (collect on 23rd gathering)
5. Flo (23/9 to Rena) + a bag of preggers test kits
6. queen (23/9 to Rena)
7. wenyl (collect on 23rd gathering)
8. Wendy Ng (Slinky)(collect on 23rd gathering)+ Nepia diapers
9. Tabbiesus (collect on 23rd gathering)
10. Sleepingdeer (collect on 23rd gathering)
11. Durianlover (collect on 23/9 gathering)
12. SH (collect on 23/9 gathering)

I want to do scrap-booking too!!!

1. Clare
2. MamaChan
3.Rena
4. wenyl
5. Denmy

Chicken Little,
re: DHS Gala Dinner
Are you and your frens still interested in joining our table. Some of my old classmates backed out last minute. Will have a few seats available. 3 weeks left to Gala. U want to let me know soon? I can forward u the form or get my classmate, now a teacher there, to liase?