(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY,
haha good to hear tat someone is experiencing the same thing as me. so i don't feel so bad! :p ya PD didn't say much. he merely say they will grow out of it...i'm thinking, hopefully loh. else i don't think i'll ever have the courage/energy to have a 2nd child! :p

sleepingdeer,
sama sama lah, my edgar oso super friendly. anybody oso can one. i bet if it's a stranger, he's oso fine...

Tabby,

i am interested int eh talk.. how so i resgister and when is it?

Denmy,

I think the sling has keenan smell that is why.. jsut like some bb need their smelly blanket or boslter or somthing

Re. Kiwi fruit and sleep
I read in the papers a few days ago...can't remember which day that a study was conducted and findings published that Kiwi fruit improves the quality of sleep by as much as 40% and the study shows that eating kiwi about an hour before sleep can help a person fall asleep easier, sleep better (does not wake up as often) and sleep longer. Something about the vitamin C, magnesium in the fruit that helps. Heehee... maybe can let our babies try. I see if I can find the article online...

AK

We see (or used to see) Dr Ngiam ... I smile when I read your qn to him n his reply coz I asked before too (ya, and same reply). I take it with a pinch of salt whatever he said (but still respect his views) ...

Cookie
Yes, I brush my baby's teeth ... pls do so to make it a good habit. You'll have to wake her up after the last feed... anyway, babies should enjoy that cos their gums are pretty itchy and the toothbrush helps massage it. U'll realize it's a good habit perhaps only 2-3 years later when tooth decay comes in.

Tabbie,
I'm coming; just baby and me. Can you PM me your address? How's the parking situation? I'm bad at parking so most likely would be late bcos of that ...

.ky.

cookie
Ariene also bites the railing but she not only bites, she also licks it from side to side!

tabbie,
can PM me ur hp num n address? anyone bringing maid along?

speration anxiety?
last night Ariene woke up at 3.15am and started calling maa maa milk milk so I latched her on lying down. She fell asleep after emptying 3/4 breast so I put her back on the cot. At 4.30am she woke up again & I tried ignoring her so she can drift back to sleep. But, she stood up and tried getting our attention by calling us. Finally, I had to go to her because she fell back and hit her head on the railing. So, latched her on again and went back to sleep at 5.15am. Then, 6.15am, I had to wake up to pump and go work, she woke up again. This time, she just sat on the cot crying and crying. I went up to her, stroked her head, gave her a hug and kiss, then lie her down to sleep, she slept peacefully.

Is this the beginning of seperation anxiety?

SH,

so you mind sharing with me .. at least can by more varieties of yummies..

i wish to get brownies, pecan pies and apple strudle.. yummy

Sleepingdeer / Celine,
My baby choose pple one. If he likes the person, he can don't want daddy or mummy. If fact my MIL says bb just let her friend carry him away to "gai gai". Didn't even look back at my MIL even though she hide in one corner. Sighzz.

Come to think of it, SY can bear testimonial to that. That day, my bb wanted to just go gai gai with SY and her HB when we ran into them at the our lift lobby. Din want to go home with daddy or mummy. Alamak!

Rena,
No problem. I will share with you.

Tabbie,
Got your address already. Thanks. I can help get drinks too so that you don't get tied down by too much prep.

But can any mummy tell me roughly how much drinks to buy. I very bad at my estimate at this kind of things.

SY
thanks!.. ok I will serve her water after milk as prevention.. sometimes after 180ml.. she is still sucking. I wonder if I should feed more...hmmm..

Sysac
Happy to know abt the good result abt your mum

Re: last feed and morning feed
Reading many bb will auto wake up at 5-6am for feed and sleep again...Iknow every bb is different..
But so far for kaelyn... her last feed say 9pm.. she will wake up at 7am plus.. and only around 8am then we will feed her milk.. she dun cry for milk at all and in fact the 1st feed even after 10-12hrs she drink much lesser than other milk feed in the day.
SHould I be worry? should I feed her once she wake up? am I letting her empty stomarch for too long?

Re: diaper changing
Usually I will not change diaper in the middle of the nite.. unless bb is crying for no reason and I feel diaper very heavy and she is awake already.
For nite time I using MP.. and find it really good cos in the morning though diaper is super heavy but her bum still feel smooth.
Unlike other brand include PP, I can feel her bum bum to be very damp from the urine.

Sleeping deer
The class very good har... haizzz.. I got to go alone next round already.

SH/WendyNG
kaelyn bite pretty hard on the top of the railing.. and lick of course.. she bite so hard that when she remove her teeth from the railing.. there is is this "Tac" sound..
I was so worry she teeth will go crooked too.
Come to think of it.. Kaelyn also lean fowd to bite on the stroller before... faintzz...
But the funny thing is She dun just put anything in her mouth.. teether she DUN USE.. but if I give her hard cover book, she will "eat" them!

Sysac
very good news on your mum!

re: kiwi
Dylan dont really like kiwi, after a few spoon he will start to shiver and give us a very sour face, haha very cute.

re: co-sleep, wake up at night?
1. sunny, no, no
2. chicken little , no, no (wake up at 5 or 6 am for milk)
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
4. Cookie, no,no(sleep thru since 2.5mth, wake up in the nite since 2 weeks ago)
5. queen, no, no (wake up at 5 or 6 am for milk)
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
7. xjysg (ky), yes, yes :<
8. ak , yes, yes
9. Rena , No , No ( only when he is sick)
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
12. chillies, yes, no (5am or 6am for milk - but will toss and turn ard 3am)
13. SH, yes, no
14. MamaChan, no, no (5/6am for milk but sleeps right after that again)
15. denmy, no, no (unless he's ill/teething; sometimes will stir at 4am but fall back asleep again.)
16. Babylon, yes, yes (wake up 1 ?2 am for milk)
17. Clare, no, no (once in a while may wake up crying for abt 10-15mins; nightmare i think?)
18. Tracy, no, no (sleeps in her own cot but in my room about 1m away from us)
19. God's child - no,no ( in our room,but in her baby cot )
20. Celine77 - yes, yes (many times, sometimes for pacifier, sometimes to latch)
21. SY - no, yes
22. Flo, no, no (cot in our room, wake up around 5/6am for feed after that will go back to sleep)
23 Rachel, no, no

cookie,

elijah use to take his milk at 10plus of 6 oz and sleep till 8 plus then ask for milk
but now a days the last feed he only take 3 oz.. that is why he wake up at 6 plus 7..

SH,
Ashley still wakes uo ard the same time at 6+ 7am but usually she will play quietly alone in her cot (she still does not know how to sit up on her own yet). But once she sees either HB or me peeping at her she will give a big smile n expect us to carry her soon haha... I would think she is hungry by morning time so usually I will try to feed her asap... if in a rush will feed her EBM in the taxi to mum house (before that she will only drink when reach mum place). I would say not much difference. I think no harm trying on a weekend night so at least if BB does wake up crying in the middle of night we dun have to work next day. =)

re: feeding time
here's Dylan feeding time:

0730am FM 240ml
1230pm Porridge (1 whole chinese rice bowl)
0430pm FM 240ml
0830pm FM 240ml

will start his 2nd porridge soon, but reluactant to replace one of his milk feed leh...how?

he can drink 150ml of water per day. after his last feed at 0830pm will settle him for bed. normally will knock out latest by 9pm.

he will wake up around 7am, papa will change his diaper and feed him milk at 0730am.

cookie/Sh,

charmaine bites the railing, bites the front of the stroller, bites my shoulder. Hiaz. basically she bites everything.

re: waking up at night.
she still wakes up crying last night. It's not the usual cry. It's the very loud kind and cry till very ke lian kind. Not sure if it's due to teething. The last round when she had her 2 bottom teeth, there's no problems. I can't feel anything on top either.

re: crab dinner
I think i will give that a miss. Am going for mid-autumn celebration.

co-sleep, wake up at night?
1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
4. Cookie, no,no(sleep thru since 2.5mth, wake up in the nite since 2 weeks ago)
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
13. SH, yes, no
15. denmy, no, no (unless he's ill/teething; sometimes will stir at 4am but fall back asleep again.)
16. Babylon, yes, yes (wake up 1 2 am for milk)
17. Clare, no, no (once in a while may wake up crying for abt 10-15mins; nightmare i think?)
20. Celine77 - yes, yes (many times, sometimes for pacifier, sometimes to latch)
21. SY - no, yes
22. Flo, no, no (cot in our room, wake up around 5/6am for feed after that will go back to sleep)
23. sl - no, yes (cot in our room, wakes up for the past 4 nights!)

re: brush teeth
i brush my gal's teeth every morning and night. she likes it. i notice also that she bites the finger toothbrush.

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
13. SH, yes, no
21. SY - no, yes
23. Rachel, no, no
24. sl - no, yes (cot in our room, wakes up for the past 4 nights!)

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
13. SH, yes, no
21. SY - no, yes
23. Rachel, no, no
25. wendyheng - yes, yes (slp in my mil room, wakes up every nite) Hai

Wat's the solution?

All mummies

Is there any gathering on lantern festival?
I thinking brining my little boy for a walk to c lanterns le. hehe. when is lantern festival? I don noe too

RE: first teeth baby toothpaste BP
Just a note for mummies who has not made payment. Mummy2R is closing the BP &amp; going to order for the first round for those who has already paid. For those who do not want to wait for round 2 order, she says must pay by 8pm today i think.

SY,
I think i saw your name as unpaid so just tot i kay po and drop a reminder here in case you don't know

Re: Stickiness to parents

I kind of suspect that my boy doesn't love me.
When I pick him up from the infant care, he doesn't look the least bit happy or enthusiastic. He'll smile and smile to my hb, but not at me. When I call his name, he ignores me. When my hb calls his name, he'll turn and smile at him.

Yesterday, after being upset by him 'bochap' me, he crawled towards me and lie on me to catch a snooze. sigh. dunno why he's treating me like this. Machiam like courtship, blow hot and cold.

mashy
*pat pat* think your boy take you as a source of food and comfort. Play = papa. all babies loves to play, so they will respond better on playtime. sometime Dylan oso dont respond to me when i call him, instead he reacts to my mum's calling. sometime feels abit sore but thats the fact i need to face.

think your boy is smart to know that his mummy will always be there for him no matter what. so he took you for "granted"? cheer up ok?

Ok.. here's the article taken from TODAY..
Not sure if it works, but well, Kiwi is a good fruit to take anyway! Have to buy those yellow-coloured flesh ones and leave it to ripen for a day or so before putting it into the fridge. Then it will be sweeter....

The fruit of deep slumber
Study shows that kiwifruit can boost quality of sleep

Eating kiwifruit before bedtime might give you a good night's sleep and a deeper slumber.

According to a study, eating two pieces of kiwifruit an hour before going to bed can increase your quality of sleep by as much as 40 per cent.

Professor Jen-Fang Liu from the School of Nutrition and Health Science at Taipei Medical University, studied the effect of eating kiwifruit on people's sleeping patterns for five months.

The study was based on the Pittsburgh Sleep Quality Index (PSQI), an instrument used to measure the quality and patterns of sleep in older adults by differentiating "poor" from "good" sleep.

research findings

Professor Liu studied 29 men and women aged 22 to 55 years old, who were diagnosed with sleeping difficulties.

In the first stage of the study, the participants recorded the quality of their sleep in a diary and wore a wrist device that estimated their sleep quantity and quality over the course of three days.

In the second stage, they ate two kiwifruit one hour before bedtime for a period of four weeks.

The results showed that eating kiwifruit improved the participants' overall quality of sleep by 40 per cent.

Total sleep time increased by about 14 per cent, and the time they took to fall asleep fell by an average of about 39 per cent.

Professor Liu said: "An overactive central nervous system may cause sleeping disorders, which can be dispelled with vitamins like calcium, magnesium and Vitamin C, which are found in kiwifruit."

She added that the findings showed the fruit must be eaten consistently to reap the healthful benefits.

The study, commissioned by Zespri International (Asia) Ltd a marketer of Zespri kiwifruit is purportedly the first of its kind. It was conducted last year and the results were released this year.

sleepless in singapore

Apparently, more than half of all Singaporeans fall asleep only after midnight, according to an AC Nielsen study cited by Zespri.

People who enjoy a good night's sleep typically fall asleep within five to ten minutes, stay asleep throughout, wake up feeling refreshed, and stay awake and alert throughout the day.

Conversely, a bad night's sleep is when you take over 30 minutes to fall asleep and wake up two or more times during the night.

Mrs Magdalin Cheong, chief dietician at Changi General Hospital, commented on the study's findings: "The sample size of 29 people is too small.

"Also, the measurement methods for improvement need to be validated. And an increase of 14 per cent in sleep time is it significant?" She added, pointing out that besides eating the fruit before going to bed, medical conditions, diet patterns, and medication intake were other factors to consider in the analysis.
"The other point to remember is that there are many causes behind the inability to sleep well. They may be psychological, environmental, physical, medical, social, and not just food-related," she said.

take your vitamins

Kiwifruit is an excellent source of vitamin C. It also contains vitamins A and E, dietary fibre, and minerals such as calcium and magnesium.

Previously, a study reported that among some 19,000 Italian children, those who ate more kiwifruit or citrus fruit were less likely to have respiratory-related illnesses, such as wheezing, shortness of breath, and coughing at night.

Another study suggested that eating kiwifruit helped to lower the risk of blood clots and reduce triglyceride (a type of fat in your blood) levels.

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
13. SH, yes, no
21. SY - no, yes
23. Rachel, no, no
26. sept03bride - no, yes (at abt 5.30am for milk, will sleep after that)

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
13. SH, yes, no
21. SY - no, yes
23. Rachel, no, no
26. sept03bride - no, yes (at abt 5.30am for milk, will sleep after that)
27. Cindy - yes, yes (stir for pacifier a few times a night; wake up at 4/5am for milk and go then back to sleep)

Lucas is finally teething and I am so zombified!

wendyheng
I don't think that's the case of your son being too active. We've always been dicussing and also extended to you some suggestions that you can help your son sleep through the night. I think your son has made it a habit to wake up in the night for a drink of water. I guess at the end of the day, you must be firm with what you want and communicate that to your MIL. No offense meant here, but perhaps you can re-read the past archives that some of the mummies were kind enough to explain to you what methods they used to help their bbs fall asleep?

MamaChan

I'm not very familiar in motherhood. I don noe how to find those past archives that y i ask again. I wan to firm but now we're staying with In laws if i let him cry for e nite. I noe my mil sure carry him and feed. Hai. I talk to my hb he said since now we staying with them and somemore she's e one helping us to feed then don bother her. I don wan to coz of these matters have any quarrel with my hb. Thnk have to wait till we move out loh. A year later ah.

I noe if i insist to do my way, how i going to face my mil as i stay with them now..... I don wan to just coz of me then make my hb in a difficult position that y now i got no choice loh. hai.

I'm hoping things will better loh.

wendyheng,
Does your boy sleep in the same room as you? I presume he doesn't? You have to talk to your MIL nicely about this. It's not like forcing her, but just maybe to suggest trying a few nights to feed him water. And let him cry a while. it's not like you DEMANDING that she must stop feeding him. Try try first.

queen

Thanks for your advice. I suggesting to her once said don feed him for water when he wake up but she said maybe he's thirsty so she feed him then he return to slp. She ever tell me he cry very loud so everyone will get affected. He slp in mil's room.

re:diaper changing
meg's last diaper change is 8pm. will last till 8am next day. using drypantz pullups. previously used nepia also ok.

rena

My hb told me that even i train him now. tonight my mil come back still e same will feed him water. hai that y i feel useless to try loh.

Tracy
Huh? last 12 hrs? My son recently got diaper rash so even we change diaper every three hours or e diaper alr very wet liao within 3 hours still got rash le. hai

wendyheng
ya, that time i wasn't around and my mil came to my house to take care of my gal. though i told her not to bother if my gal stir at night, she still feed her water... luckily my gal's sleeping pattern didn't change.
like what rena suggested, try to train him now.

wendyheng,
yup, can last 12hrs. sometimes we change at 7am lah, if she poo. otherwise its straight to MIL's place, then change when bathing. i use Desitin cream. no rash so far.

Dear all my turn to start a poll but to end tonight..

I would like to start to work but i need to weigh the pro and cons..

To work

Not TO Work

Tracy

Every diaper change, u apply Desitin cream? Me recenly apply it too. But now i just call the baby sitter she said still a bit red. HAI I think she didnt change his niaper promptly ah. Hai.

Sunny,
I wan to train but now cant le. Hai need to wait till i got my key. I confirm train him loh. hehe

SH,
i paid this morning already

SL,
is the midautumn thing still on?

mashy,
my boy is like that sometimes. he will show a lot of reaction to papa but not me..think it's the association thing...

wendyheng,
ur baby is not too active, my boy and celine77's boy wakes up many times each night. recently JH's routine is every 1.5-2hours...

tracy,
i am just wondeirng whether i shd change his diaper when he wakes up..hopeing it will help him last thru. sometimes his diaper from 9pm to next day 12 he also ok...

mashy,
meg treats me the same way too. she totally ignores me unless i'm the only human being around. haiz...i also dun feel loved by her, but i dun really bother about it. cos i tell myself, she will one day, as long as i provide her with all her needs n luv her, its good enuf. its like i only know how it is like to be a mother when i became one. then i learnt to appreciate my mum better n be more patient towards her. okie i'm sounding like a old foggie now.

SY,
try one night see if it helps. hmm...i think its a habit thingy.

wendyheng,
yes i apply cream at every diaper change. wat brand of diapers u using? if its nepia then should be able to hold quite long. oh diaper rash ah...hai