(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

wow ..so many postings..hee..anyway i reply on this first.

re: co-sleep, wake up at night?
1. sunny, no, no
2. chicken little , no, no (wake up at 5 or 6 am for milk)
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
4. Cookie, no,no(sleep thru since 2.5mth, wake up in the nite since 2 weeks ago)
5. queen, no, no (wake up at 5 or 6 am for milk)
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
7. xjysg (ky), yes, yes :<
8. ak , yes, yes
9. Rena , No , No ( only when he is sick)
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
12. chillies, yes, no (5am or 6am for milk - but will toss and turn ard 3am)
13. SH, yes, no
14. MamaChan, no, no (5/6am for milk but sleeps right after that again)
15. denmy, no, no (unless he's ill/teething; sometimes will stir at 4am but fall back asleep again.)
16. Babylon, yes, yes (wake up 1 ?2 am for milk)
17. Clare, no, no (once in a while may wake up crying for abt 10-15mins; nightmare i think?)
18. Tracy, no, no (sleeps in her own cot but in my room about 1m away from us)
19. God's child - no,no ( in our room,but in her baby cot )
20. Celine77 - yes, yes (many times, sometimes for pacifier, sometimes to latch)
21. SY - no, yes
22. Flo, no, no (cot in our room, wake up around 5/6am for feed after that will go back to sleep)
23. Rachel, no, no
24. sl - no, yes (cot in our room, wakes up for the past 4 nights!)
25. wendyheng - yes, yes (slp in my mil room, wakes up every nite) Hai
26. sept03bride - no, yes (at abt 5.30am for milk, will sleep after that)
27. Cindy - yes, yes (stir for pacifier a few times a night; wake up at 4/5am for milk and go then back to sleep)
22. yes, no

rena
to work:
pros - financially more stable and independent, keep in touch with society, more topics to chit chat with hb, won't get jaundice

cons - can't bring up bb in your own way, may not be able to see bb's 1st time e.g. standing, walking, talking etc. and might have sense of guilt when bb is unhappy/sick/not obedient.

Re. Victoria's Scecret Spree
So have got orders from Rena and Krissie.
Any other mummeis interested? Can accommodate another US$50 to US$80 more. Want to order before 24 Sep to enjoy discount...
Let me know soon?

Re. Diaper rash
I use Drapolene... So far so good, Isaac never kena rash before. I apply cream at every diaper change and change diapers every 4 to 6 hours irregardless of whether the diaper is completely soaked. Only at night sleep, I do not change diapers, 1 Fitti premium can last 9pm to next day 8am or so.

Wendyheng,
I guess it's really how you want to deal with this. If every night you boy wakes up and will fall asleep only after drinkign water, then the problem is really habitual drinking of the water. It is not because he is thirsty, your MIL has to understand that. I mean... he is your boy after all, why don't you let him co-sleep with you and HB for a few nights to break his habit? Your MIL means well, but sometimes, as the parents, you have to take matters into your own hands. Wait until you get your keys 1 year later, what if this habit continues? Then, it's not your MIL who's goign have to wake up to feed him water, it will be you!

SY
Thanks for the info on the free sample.. I very KS... I call them today and now wait them to send sample..kekeke

Re:work or not...
This is really a tough questions. The main thing for me I guess is how financial stable am I. Hmm.. I know it is possible to be SAHM and lead a very simple life but I wan kaelyn to enjoy stuff and toy and I do not need to worry abt $$.
As of now.. I'm not spend much on myself but I spend alot on kaelyn. A lot of things my HB disapproved at the begining but I have the ability to say OK I will pay... u know what I mean. I can't imagine if I'm a SAHM, all at the mercy of my HB. It is usually after a while my HB says wow this is money well spend! a good buy cos can keep Kaelyn enterntain and she is happy... heehee this is the time I ask him for $$$ kekeke.. Basically my hb is not someone who spend on impulse but I am.. hahaha so good to have him to check me at times and stop me when necessary.

As a FTWM, has it problem too.. the main caregiver method of care, the shortage of time spent with bb. The inflexibility when it comes to work...u know a deadline to meet at work but bb needs you for some reason. I face this all the time. My Boss dun have and dun wan kidz... so to him.. work is work and probably he can never understand my situation.
I believe you need to look into the reason why are you thinking of working again.
If you are feeling tired as SAHM... I'm not sure if working will make u less tired or MORE tired becos after a hard day work, you need to care for baby as well.

Just my 2 cent worth of thoughts

dear mummies,

Scope for Renee

tomorrow morning renee has to be admitted to hospital to get her scope down. i am so worried for her
she has to fast for 6 hrs!!! i think she'll be so hungry by then... and need to have GA in order to get scope down...i really dun feel like letting her do it

and after tat she still has to get the pneumococal jab..i feel like i'm putting her thru too much pain

haiz...moody

wendyheng
Hmmmm, I think when they are older and much more mobile i.e. walk, it'll be tougher on you to break the habit. Just explain to your MIL that just try 1st, if end of 1 week cannot break the habit then have to leave another time. Coz habits in bb develops over time if we as parents just leave them be, you get what I mean? Sometimes it's bo-bian, coz if not next time you and hb stay on your own, you both might be the ones waking up to a crying bb. The older they get, the easier for them to throw tantrums.

Wendyheng,
Not trying to scare you but what the mummies say are true in that if you do not train now an wait till later, it may be too late already... My boss has 2 girls, the older one is 3 and the younger one is coming to 2... and to this date both he &amp; his wife are taking turns waking up in the middle of the night to attend to either child cos they have not learnt to sleep through the night and it has become a very hard to break habit. Can u imgine doin that later when you eventually moved? Do u think your HB is going to help when that time comes? I always believe that for long term's sake, we must set our mind to be ren xin and sacrifice our time n energy now while we still can to set things right. Tell your MIL nicely it will not happen overnight but we still must try!

Rena,

I am also planning to start working next year and have been thinking about the same question for the longest time. To work or not to work?

For me, the plus points will be
1. being able to keep up with society
2. get to meet new people
3. be updated on the latest industry developments (depending on which profession, but for me, as an engineer, it's important).
4. Of course, there's the luxury of building a comfortable safety net in your bank account should anything happen.
5. Not be so dependent on your hubby on everything.
6. Not being tied down to baby's schedule since have a sitter in the daytime.

The minus points will be other than those mentioned by sunny and cookie:
1. Baby's schedule may be upset initially and have to deal with it. With a new job, this may be difficult.

Think Mamachan and Mashy should be able to give better advice bah...

Hi Rena
I be going to tabb's gathering this sat. Can i also share wiz u and SH? Any budget?
Re: Work &amp; not to work
I totally agree with cookie. I still feel that financial comfort is very impt in our society. Lack of time spent wiz bb also make me feel very bad. Hope one day he will understand... ;o)

Hi Esther,
Wat happen to Renee?
My son have 2 bttm teeth, need to use toothpaste to brush him? Izit advisable to jab him the pneumococal now that he is 7.5mths old?

Rena

How about working part-time? Or getting a home-based job? What's your background?

I stay at home when my #1 was 17 months old and I do not know what prompted you to think of starting work. I will not do it if my hubby did not support my decision; no other views matters.

If it's because you want to get financial independence and not have to look at your hubby's face, and find peace within yourself. Then I guess you'll have to go ahead. But first you have to be comfortable with the daycare service for your baby ...

.ky.

Hi Rena,
well, after staying at home for 4 months and taking care of Shannon, I can't imagine giving it up now. Perhaps it's coz it's only been 4 mths, and I'm still enjoying the novelty of it? I dunno, but I really cherish the time I get to spend with her, and I feel really good knowing that I'm the one taking care of her, and seeing to her needs... perhaps I'm still the psychotic mum (hee hee) and can't imagine someone else taking care of my gal, even though she sometimes bo chap me! I actually just had a contract job offer for 2 month by my former boss who seeks my area of experience, and it's only for a few hours a week, and even that is giving me pause! I think for me, I would only go back to work if we are really stretched for cash, if not, I'm still enjoying being a SAHM...

RE: Botanic Gardens Outing
Venue: Botanic gardens, meet at food court
Date: 22nd September, Friday
Time: 3:30pm to 5:30pm thereabouts

1) sleepingdeer + bb
2) wenyl + bb
3) rena + bb
4) Wendy Ng + bb (+ maid maybe)
5) Tabby's mom + tabby
6) SY + bb + maid maybe
7) AK + bb +maid
8) Valerie + bb
9) MamaChan + bb
Did I miss out anyone?

I'll bring a bunch of small bananas for the babies, so mommies, if you wanna give tea to your babies, bring your bowl and fork and spoon...
Will also bring a pack of drinks for the mommies. Oh, and please bring your pinic mat/table cloth if you have okies?

Wendyng,
So you wanna meet me in Clementi or meet us direct at the botanic gardens?

Demny,
hope you can make it... can sms me if you can..

Hey all,

Tks for the well-wishes!

Hey flo,

Nope. Not a national shooter
I am with SAF. Got to go for range once a yr. Happened that yesterday had a competition.

DEar all ,

thanks for all the advise..

Ky, i am in marketing.. actually mainly because i am wore out by elijah for the past 3 weeks.

frankly i really do not know what to do .. let's see how it goes..

Financial we are ok coz hb never stop me from buying anything..

sleepingdeer,
I'll take train down to clementi MRT to meet u can? My maid is coming along though. Enough space?

tabbi
I still have not received ur sms with ur addy yet. I'll PM u my hp num again ok?

markers
I only have blue/black permenant markers. Will try to get purple and red ones too. If u want coloured ink aka magic pen, you may want to BYO. I'll bring along about 10 transparency markers.

rena,
Whos going to take care of Elijah when u're working? Are u going to get domestic help? Would u consider working part time? I am very tired having to work and take care of Ariene at the same time even though I had a maid when I was working full time. Now, I'm on part-time, I'm still tired on days when I had to work. Given a choice, I'd rather be a SAHM, if only my hb agrees.

All mummies

Thanks for your advice. I really appreciate. hai but i tell my hb about all your advices. He said ai ya by e time we move out, he can understand wat we say. We just lock him in the room let him cry. Hai so angry with him now!!!! I told him ok next time he will be e one feed him and teach him if our son don listen in future!!! Now he said coz now we staying together so no choice. Hai.

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
4. Cookie, no,no(sleep thru since 2.5mth, wake up in the nite since 2 weeks ago)
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
13. SH, yes, no
15. denmy, no, no (unless he's ill/teething; sometimes will stir at 4am but fall back asleep again.)
17. Clare, no, no (once in a while may wake up crying for abt 10-15mins; nightmare i think?)
20. Celine77 - yes, yes (many times, sometimes for pacifier, sometimes to latch)
21. SY - no, yes
22. Flo, no, no (cot in our room, wake up around 5/6am for feed after that will go back to sleep)
23. Rachel, no, no
27. Cindy - yes, yes (stir for pacifier a few times a night; wake up at 4/5am for milk and go then back to sleep)
28. SSF-yes, no
29. Yuenyuen - yes, yes (2 times a night and each feed about 100 ml)

All mummies

I confirm wont bother my son if he cry in the middle of nite when we got our own house. Hai so feel that now my hb don even bother how i feel as i cant let my son learn to slp on his own. As a father, he didnt help me and my mil much. When he back after work, he play with him or study his notes. Mostly my mil and i do everything. Hai. I think when we got our flat, I'll be e only one who teach my son!!!!! so fed up now!!!!

Mamachan,

I was asking abt what Ryan's meal schedule shd be now and he said Ryan shd be taking 3 meals like adults. And when i ask abt milk, he said milk is like coffee and Ryan doesnt need it. He said milk is a western concept and actually 80% of population will be lactose intolerant. Hence, why bother giving when bb will grow up likely to be unable to consume it...

KY, yah, I thot its funny too but strange thing is I see my gynae (Dr Lee keen whye) when i was preggies and he also said dun bother drinking milk cos we can get calcium source fr elsewhere and that our forefathers dun drink milk still can fly from building to building....and Dr Lee was Head of O&amp;G Society in SGP so quite the authority on such things (in my opinion).

Celine, SY, all 3 of us can shake hands. Ryan wakes up 2 hrly (maybe more but i dunno cos I TBF so quickly latch him and i go back to sleep) every nite. I used to think it was growth spurt, teething, nitemares etc...but it is every nite so i tot it is normal...now i realise most kids his age are slping thru....sigh, the price i pay for lazy parenting....

RE: gathering

I just sent out my address with map attached. hope it shows up... pls check.. did i miss anyone out? Please let me know..looking forward to it!

Hi WendyNg... aka MamaPanda... haha...

Re Markers
I will be bringing my collection of pattern papers &amp; markers &amp; whatever art materials I can fit into my bag for the foot stamping &amp; deco segment so I think plus Wendy's should be enough. =)

Clare,

I got some origami sized acid free papers in pastel colors and some fancy edge cutting scissors and some markers too.. so should be enough...

Wendyheng,
re: nappy rash and nappies
YOu might wanna trial and error with other nappy brands. Keenan used to use Nepia and Pampers Premium and we realised that he had bad case of nappy rash with Nepia. So we are just using PP now and his bum is nice and smooth. I'm using A+D Nappy cream on him, Can only buy in USA, via drugstore.com. Also, his last nappy change is 8pm and it can last til the following morning 9am. If he does wake up at 5am, I'll change his nappy. Otherwise PP can hold more than 12 hrs' worth of wee wee.

re: retraining bb when you move out
Wendyheng, don't let the bb cry for toooooo long ok? Poor thing leh... Remember the control crying method: let him cry for 5 mins, then 10 mins, 15 mins, 20 mins. k?

Rena,
To work
Same like what cookie and the other mums said. You'll have the freedom to spend your own money. No need to 'shen1 shou3 pai2'. Will not need to count your pennies and feel guilty and report to hb what you've spent on.

Not to work
Will miss out on bb's milestones, no 100% control over discipline and child-rearing method (unless you get your own maid and make sure she follows exactly wat you instructed). But then again, you might not trust her with Sumo lor. Then you have the dilemma of choosing your childcare method while you go to work: baby-sitter or nanny or maid or infantcare or mother or MIL etc.

May I suggest a half-half method: be a WAHM or PTWM. Then at least u still enjoy the best of both worlds...

Esther,
You have our moral support here. Be brave for Renee tmr ok? Re: the Pneumoccocal jab, cannot hold that for a few more days meh?

Sleepingdeer,
re: Botanic Gardens
Ok, I'll try... but from the look of things this week, think I'll have to go in to work on Fri... anyways, I might suddenly feel lazy cos TGIF and come and meet you gals instead...kekeke

Tabbs,
Your email w/ map is very detailed leh, sure be able to find it la... thanks in advance for organising and offering your place for the gathering.

ak,
Re. meals
Actually, that's what the doctors at KK said when I brought Isaac for blood test 2 months ago. They said babies from 7 months onwards should be having 3 solids meal already and to include meat into their diet. But I'm still giving 2 200ml milk feeds and 2 solids (cereals , porridge) to Isaac in the day. Tea will be 2 cubes of purees (like lovely lentils or potato + broccoli etc). In fact, there was once my MIL gave him 3 solids meal and only 1 milk feed, but I told her to stick to 2 milk feeds cos was concerned that he may not hit 600ml milk intake if go on 3 solids. Now I'm confused...

Esther,
Be brave for Renee! I'm sure Renee is a strong baby. She'll be ok!

Sysac,
Wah, we have a military lady here!
Are you on the combat side?

ak,sy,
ya 3 of us can shake hands liao! ak, i'm like u, i suspect was growth spurt, teething or hungry... so i'll latch when he stirs coz it's the most effective and fast method to put him back to sleep. but now it seems like most bbies are sleeping thru. i'm beginning to panic. but then again, when i'm not home, my bb oso stirs when he sleeps during the day. someone needs to pat him back to sleep else he will wake up liao. so how?? he needs pacifier, patting and latching (if i'm home) to sleep... *faintz*!

All mummies

Morning, after discussion with my hb after i scold him last nite
hee
We think of a solution bring him to our god parent hse to slp as there's enough room for him and we'll be slping in another room. (Like that we will have enough slp) If he slp in our room at our hse. we will become black panda liao somemore my mil around she sure come into our room. But only worry now, is that training him in a different plc, he understand? Hai

Please give me some advice as this sun i going to my god parent hse to tell them we'll be training our son in their hse.

Re:baby sleep thru
Yeah yeah...last nite kaelyn sleep thru!! wake up only 6am.. guess she poopoo and hungry.

But last nite I have upset tummy... wake up in the middle of the nite to toilet..grrrrhhh...

Hope things will be ok now on... or I will be pandamama #2!..kekeke

Esther
Yes... be brave and stay positive. When you are scared and worried... Renee will sense it too...
Dun worry abt fasting for 6 hrs... Kaelyn ever go without milk for almost 6hr too and she wasn't even crying for food.
Stay positive ok!
Pneumococcal jab.. maybe delay abit then take if you are concern. I mean it's not a must take jab... my friend bb took it when he was 22mths. Dun put pressure on yourself

Like to do another polling here to find out how many table spoon - Chinese table spoon of porridge your baby is feeding...

I know many of your bb is using ikea bowl.. can estimate?:

(1) Kaelyn - 2-3 chinese table spoon (seems very little?)

All mummies

Any better suggestion? As i think if i train him, i will have to let him cry till he's tired then he realise no one care when the light is off. so don waste time and energy on crying loh. hehe. Now maybe i said is easy loh let him cry but i have to try

Dear all.

i did not go for the interview after all .. as my caregive that i plan to place sumo there is sick .. so i think it is god's will..

RE: Recovered

Little bb has recovered from his allergy although he still need to be on the puffer for 6 weeks just to play safe.. frankly he rather good leh.. yesterday i was resting he jsut stay at his playyard and played on his own for almost 2 hours... wow break record his best is 1 hour..

Rena

You wanna work? Hehe, it really depends on yourself. Can you bear to separate from Sumo?

For me, felt relieved after working, maybe coz got more money to spend. Not so stressed over my boy's schedule, how to teach him etc. And felt less jaundiced, more confident too.

The only qualm i have is to see my boy loving me less. (But it's didn't happen to my hb) So i think it depends on indiv babies and how u interact with him.

Actually with u and your hb having some probs of your own, think it's good for u to work. Not just financially, but emotionally too. When you start working, you'll stop obsessing over how come he didn't return call, how come he had to go overseas to work etc. With some money in the pocket, it will also make you more financially independent from him. It'll be healthier for u in the long run. After all, our little children will not be with us forever, we still need to find our own identity and do what we like.

1. sunny, no, no
3.Wendy (Slinky), no, no
6. sanraye1330, yes, no
8. ak , yes, yes
10. Maywong, Yes, No
11. valerie, no, no
13. SH, yes, no
21. SY - no, yes
23. Rachel, no, no
28. SSF-yes, no
29. Yuenyuen - yes, yes (2 times a night and each feed about 100 ml)
30. Mongs - yes, yes (5 times yesterday stirring and rolling left and right till I nurse her, sometimes, feel like throwing her out)

celine77,

sorry for not replying your question. I was from class 1/3, 2/6, 3/6, 4/6 in JSS.

my girl also needs latching to fall asleep. I can see from the list that our babies are having the same pattern. sign! yesterday my husband was asking me how to make her stop. I really don't know how as well. maybe I will nurse her till the day when she understand when I tell her "no, no, mummy is tired, go back to sleep".

mashy
Dun worry.. very soon you will see it everyday!!

hmmm.. I believe Caeden love you...he will always love you. Dun feel that way.
Kaelyn was like Caeden when she was younger... she will smile so readily to HB and for me have to act like crown she might not even show a smile. Till today she still smile to HB readily mainly becos HB is like other mum say play partner.
When she wan hug and baobao and comfort.. she will keep crawling to me and refuse HB. She wun cry if HB insist carry her, she can settle for less but she will prefer me given a choice.
I'm sure Caeden will react in this way very soon. Hang in there...
From this thread.. I see so many different babies reacting so differently to similar situation. Each Baby is unique

Wendyheng
kaelyn was 8.2kg 2weeks ago

She is chubby on her face only... like mama round round face..keke

hi mummies...and ME! gonna be a SAHM soon. so might as well join in. thanks to my company! haha.. this will be my first time bringing Caleb out alone and driving. i hope he will not make me do any panic stops in the middle of the road. i don't know what to get...but i bought pringles chips..the jumbo size. i hope that's fine. i don't have much hands to carry too many stuffs also. really look fwd to seeing you all!

RE: Botanic Gardens Outing
Venue: Botanic gardens, meet at food court
Date: 22nd September, Friday
Time: 3:30pm to 5:30pm thereabouts

1) sleepingdeer + bb
2) wenyl + bb
3) rena + bb
4) Wendy Ng + bb (+ maid maybe)
5) Tabby's mom + tabby
6) SY + bb + maid maybe
7) AK + bb +maid
8) Valerie + bb
9) MamaChan + bb
10) SSF + bb

i am also organising HT BP. just got a good deal.
For purchase above $200 they will give additional 3% on top of the 15% with the free delivery. Delivery will be in the east. I will close the BP once reaches $200 as i hope to get the items before my oct trip.attached is the list. anyone interested, please send to [email protected]
mime_msexcel.gif

HT.xls (26.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

rena - i got the retrenched package. so i will be sahm till maybe Jan next yr..hopefully to get a job.

cookie - sure i will. the HT discounts seems good. 18% off retail price if we hit 200 bucks. i am stocking up some cereals and jar food. my son simply lurves the HT cereals.