(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sl,
ok. will check my email later.
Yah... maternity wear cheap too. heehee.. I'm going to buy 1 of the maternity top anyway. I hope to use it in the later half of next year!

Rena

Don't beat yourself up becoz Sumo lost wt. It's inevitable. If you look at his entire life, this is probably a very small portion of it. He will not even remember it when he grows up. Anyway, like u said earlier, he's got enough to lose.

Haha, my boy is already very underwt. Only 7.5kg. And due to his illness, he kept going between 7.4kg to 7.6kg. Just couldn't gain wt. When he gain any wt, he'll fall sick and he'll be back to square one. And he's already past 8mths. Still so light.

Like what I told Bulma from Feb thread (her son keeps falling sick non-stop, I saw some of his photos being in a box to be nebulized, my heart breaks), I also feel very drained and tired whenver my boy falls sick. Feels like crying. Perhaps you should get away for a while without SUmo. Go and have a shopping spree, or go massage/spa. Esp since you're SAHM, even more emotionally draining. Take a break from the family. I think it will help. I get recharged when I come to work. Coz it's the time I can try not to think of my son being sick.

queen,
u planning for second kid already??

sl
i also PM u

cookie
i saw your PM already

ak,
i din see u. i was there with my maid and son. not sure whether u notice....

ak,
when meg's in a good mood, the exersaucer can keep her busy for half an hour or even 45mins. sometimes we put her inside while we go get changed for work, or wknds while we watch VCD in the hall, she's in the exersaucer. i like the way she peeps into the mirror in the little house. so cute...harhar. a good buy if on sale.

RE: Mooncake from Marriott
For those mommies who have gotten the order form from me, you do not need to pre-fax the form to the hotel now. You can bring the form to the mooncake collection counter at the hotel (2nd floor) anytime from now to 6 Oct. However, they do advise us to pre-fax the form if you are buying many boxes (in case they run out of stock for the day) especially for the more popular flavour such as strawberry yoghurt.

re: gathering...

I think enough playmats! thanks mommies..

I am going to burn a cd of some nursery songs and print out song lyrics..

Any favorite nursery songs? I see if i have...

I can come up with a play list so mamachan can work a routine around it... so that we can all join in with the actions

So many postings, me still working my butt off as mentioned before that 1 staff resigned, 1 on leave and 1 on urgent leave (divorcing husband). Aiyo, one person doing four persons work.

Rena - don't be too upset, it is part of them growing up. hope he is feeling better already.

May - Take care and don't be too stress.

wendyheng - welcome.

Queen - love to join the spree but no time to browse. join you the next time. wow so fast planning for second one already? or are you pregnant?

Re : carry baby throughout the night
last two nights, he kept wanting to be carried to sleep the whole night. When I put down, he cried. Feeling sick today due to insufficient sleep. I tried giving milk/water, rubbing tummy, putting teething gel, changing diaper, off the air-con, on the fan etc.... no use...Hope tonight don't happen again.

Mommies, just wanna share something on tomato
Was talking to PD yesterday about tomato. PD said altho tomato is nutritious and rich in vitamins, a lot of tomatoes these days are grown hydroponically. And there's alot of chemical used in the water to grow these tomatoes. Therefore, she encourages to give only organic tomatoes to bb. Also if we want to give leafy veg to bb, is best not to buy those imported from China cos they tend to use a lot of pesticides. She said papaya and banana (those short type from Malaysia - can't remember the name) are probably the safest in term of the chemical and pesticides found in them.

flo,
what abt hydrophonically grown spinach from our local farms which we can get from NTUC? Are they safe? It is not easy to find organic spinach and tomatoes around.

durianlover,
Just now I actually witnessed Ariene doing the funny face JAnelle always does! Hahahaha, so funny! They really learn alot together ya?

menses
I remembered someone asked earlier abt TBF mothers having menses. I'm still doing TBF and I've not had any menses yet. Mums who have menses already, how often are u feeding? At what intervals?

Flo,

Thanks for the info on the food. But very difficult for me to get any organic stuff here
and also the choices for veg are also ratehr limited already.. so sian ... dunno wat else can give renee already..

Wendy,

It is okay not to have menses when TBF. My first pregnancy, I only get it when gal turn 1 though I bf only for 6 months.

This time though i total ebm , expressed at 4 - 6 hourly, I got it since 5 months.

Flo,

Your pd is really good in terms of the diet recommendation leh.

is the kindermusik class full?
RE: kindermusik trial
Okies, anyone else interested?
1. Sleepingdder
2. Clare
3. Cookie
4. SH
5. Flo
6. SSF
7. Chicken little
8. wenyl (TBC)
9. Rena
10.SL
11. Tracy (KIV)
12. SY
13. Denmy
14. Sunny

Mamachan,
Wa... you so 'sutt', can plan a routine for the rhymes. Were you a nursery teacher before?

Flo,
Oooops, I keep forgeting to fax them the order form... will do it tmr. I have 8 boxes. U have the details right?
Didn't know tomatoes are high in chemicals. Ok, will give organic ones next time. What about canned tomatoes? Are they affected too?

re: teething
Keenan's top left incisor (3rd tooth) appeared 2 weeks back and this other one which is right next to it also appeared 2 days back. Is it called the left lateral incisor? Anyway, is it common for this to show up b4 all 4 incisors?

Thanks mummies for the listening ears and consoling messages.

Wendy,Rena,Sunny,
My bank account is 116-15083-2 POSB Saving
U can transfer the money to me once u receive the bags.

Queen,
Reserve a slot for me for the ON spree.
Will try to post the order on forum tonight or else email u when I reach office tomorrow okie?
Me want to stock up the maternity clothes for mid next yr leh..hehe.. super KS hor.

re: aussie baby SPINACH
mummies, time for the next round of spinach again. Please put your names down if you are interested. This time it will be 300-500g each. At least we can finish it quicker and order again. I will try to end this order on 23.59hrs Sunday 17, and put in the order following Mon. So we can all have our spinach on 23 Sep. I'll bring the orders to Tabbisus's gathering. price: $18.90/kg

1. Denmy
2. Sophia-Mamachan
3. SY

Denmy,
No lah, not that "sud" as you think I am lah. I copy and paste here and there lor and viola! Got what Tabbiesus describes as Jan mummies' Happy Baby Class. heh heh. I used to help out in my church's nursery before though, is that counted?

Teething
I think Daren's both bottom central incisors are growing at the same time. Or rather, one after another, my hb noticed a slight whitish ring next to the obvious one. Just bought the Dentonix Teething Gel as well as the soft brush for gums and teeth that can insert over my finger to brush and massage his gums. I think he enjoyes the brushing in circular motion though it generated alot of saliva, can hear Daren do a big gulp when I removed my finger. As I was applying the dentonix gel, could feel the edges! I feel excited for him but yet see him so cranky I also heartpain. He make those complaining whinning to me...so I just pretend that I'm having a conversation with him, explaining to him that he is teething.

mummies, time for the next round of spinach again. Please put your names down if you are interested. This time it will be 300-500g each. At least we can finish it quicker and order again. I will try to end this order on 23.59hrs Sunday 17, and put in the order following Mon. So we can all have our spinach on 23 Sep. I'll bring the orders to Tabbisus's gathering. price: $18.90/kg

1. Denmy
2. Sophia-Mamachan
3. SY
4. Rena

if collect on 23rd then on for me

RE: Diapers
Jamie has just changed to Drypers L size. I am trying Drypants L size on her as well. Wondering if any mummies try other pull-up pants as well? Huggies cutting is quite small, bought trial pack from watson. Size L still abit small. Got other recommendation? She is 8.9kg now.

Wendy,
Mel's PD happened to call me earlier so have checked with her re: hydrophonically grown spinach. She said hydrophonic veg are grown using chemicals, although the chemical and pesticide content in hydrophonically grown tomatoes tends to be higher cos is very difficult to grow tomatoes. She said if budget permits is better to get organic ones for bb. I normally get organic spinach from Carrefour (is packaged in those sealed salad containter). They have organic tomatoes too.

Denmy
Not sure about canned tomatoes, but I reckon if it's from hydrophonically grown tomatoes then should be the same rite?

SY
I normally get organic veg from an organic shop in Yishun (near the interchange). Their prices is quite reasonable as compared pl such as Brown Rice Paradise. Carrefour does carry some organic veg also tho quite limited variety - carrots, tomatoes, spinach. They do have some pesticide free veg too. Certain NTUC also carry organic veg now, I think is imported from Thailand.

Chicken Little
I find the PD quite good and personal. She doesn't only provide advice on diet. She'll entertain all kinds of question and is very patient and won't rush thru the consultation.

SL/May/Queen
Hee Hee, ON maternity clothes is cheap n nice. I got most of my maternity clothes from ON when I was pregnant.

1. Denmy
2. Sophia-Mamachan
3. SY
4. Rena
5. Flo

Denmy
RE: teething
My fren said is quite common to growth 4 teeth at one go if bb started teething late. Her gal's teeth grow in sets of 4.

SY,

I didnt see you. In fact, i only saw one mummy with her boy (who appears to be at least one yr old) trying the toy next to exersaucer...the one that is a car....that toy looks more fun but costs $199.

Wendy, I am also on TBF and have not had menses. But do you get a crampy feeling at the pelvic area? Recently i get it more...maybe its uterine contractions....but it feels like the days of being pregnant when i used to get that crampy feeling too....

Anyway, Ryan has two bottom teeth already....and I also use the finger brush to clean

Spinach!
1. Denmy
2. Sophia-Mamachan
3. SY
4. Rena
5. Flo
6. queen (Flo, I collect from you at Woodlands, thanks!)

Re. ON maternity wear
Aiya, me not planning for 2nd one yet. But ONnow got sale on maternity clothes mah... so thought of getting some first. Thinking maybe next year after June can wear?

RE: fall

Poor sumo has a terrible mummy..
i forgot to place sumo in the centre of the bed and he was sitting close to the side then he tried to lead forward and fell off the bed.. i was so frighten and rush in to the room.. i heard a very loud bang,,
poor sumo now have a big baluk ku on his forehead.. bad mummy.. sumo sick then let him fall.. what shall i do? should i bring him to see doctor?

Rena,

Use ice to apply on the baluku to reduce swell.
Check any green veins appearing behind the ears.
Then monitor if he vomit. No vomitting should be fine. At pd, they will check if he is alert. If ok, then dun worry.

Me oso just let aden fell off the sofa last friday. Lucky no baluku and because I got jin feng san, give him some and he stop crying.

Rena,
ya, as chicken little posted, make sure he's still alert n no vomitting. I recall cookie's PD saying falling from bed still ok. its those like 1.2m high type then we need to be concerned.

May,
Oh you already started on pull-ups? Any idea which is the cheapest? I am going to buy some tonight cos Megan's poo every morning is the ULTIMATE! she poos at about the time we preparing for work every morning, then when we lie her down to change diaper, poo will flow behind. this morning's poo flow till the shoulder blades part. can u imagine??! think this girl needs a full bodysuit diaper!

rena,
if ur bed is not too high, its probably not necessary to bring sumo to see doc. However, look out for signs of vomitting, loss of appetite, constantly sleeping and don't want to wake up (baby feeling giddy?). Generally, what u need to look out for is signs of head concussion. Hope sumo's ok now. Rena, don't blame yourself too much. Ariene has fallen from my sofa before but all she had was a small bruise on her cheek. I felt she was crying more because my hb was screaming at me for placing her on the sofa unattended more than pain cuz she she only cried for less than 1 min.

AK,
I don't have anything cramps or even discharge yet. However, I do have alot of wind in my stomach. Sometimes, when I lie down flat, can feel and hear the air bubbles moving inside.

re:pull-up pants
hmm...review on ntuc online, the cheapest so far for M size is Mamy Poko now on promo.

MP pull-ups = $7.90 for 17pcs = S$0.46/pc
normal nepia M = S$0.35/pc (after price increase)
normal vs pull-ups = S$0.11/pc.
no. of diapers per day = 4pcs
cost increase if pull-ups = 4 x S$0.11 = S$0.44 per day x 30days = S$13.20/mth.

so i guess eh..save one lavish dinner per month then buy pull-ups...haiz..then again, i won't use pull-ups all the time. only for night-time and only when go out. so maybe only 1pc per day?

most probably i'll change to EQ diapers after Nepia's price increase. EQ (M) size is S$18.90 for 72pcs.

Rena

How did Sumo fall? backwards with back of head on floor or on face? Was it a hard fall? there's the soft spot on head, was that part hit? Sorry for asking ... cos sometimes it's just a loud fall and baby is in shock and cried very badly; some people did say that a baby is tougher than u think .... don't scold yourself too much ... whatever has happened has happened. Bring him to GP to assess if you are worried... but the usual symptom of vomitting should be observed for the next 24 hrs if not.

We just brought my #1 to GP last night cos the kang-cheong daddy was worried; the boy fell off his bicycle and got quite a bit of blood on his t-shirt collar. My fault cos I was busy chatting :< ... and anyway, I was also personally responsible for 2 of my #2's falls. 1st time, during sleep, he fell face down and the bed's quite high. but luckily, it was face down. The 2nd is worse; I carried him out of the sarong and he slipped out of my hand (difficult to explain why), he did a somersaut out from my gripe and literally flew thru' the air to land face down on the mattress ... the daddy was shocked cos he witnessed that and I got plenty of scolding that day. heehee, but I didn't scold myself for that ... too much to scold myself if I have to list all the 'bad' things I've done ... just cuddle him more if u really feel guilty lah ... take it easy, ok.

.ky.

Rena,

U know I fell twice in my first pregnancy. My hubby always says my daughter is clumsy like me since I always let her enjoy somersault when she is in my tummy.

My husband oso scolded me for making my son fell. But we multi-tasker mah he only come back to play with them. Nevermind, as long as you monitor him well he will be fine

Tracy,

If your gal's timing is so "jun" then maybe you want to spend sometime to sit her on the potty liao. Then you can save the diaper and time for washing up.

One of the mummy in the forum put her 7th month gal on potty before bath. And she has a fixed timing liao. Me waiting for the day aden can do it because he only do it once but no fixed schedule

Rena,

Dont worry lar. Like other mummies said, monitor 1st. If you are really worried bring to a doc to hv him checked. You are probably too tired definitely not a terrible mummy but a fantasic one

Wendy,
er... Could you be 2nd time lucky? Cos lots of wind in stomach is one of the symptoms right? But I think it is rare lah... read this from kellymom.com
"While it is possible for a nursing mom to become pregnant while she is breastfeeding and before she has her first menstrual period, it is rare. Most moms do not get pregnant until after their first period (often referred to as the "warning period"). Even after that, while some can become pregnant the first cycle, others will require months of cycles before pregnancy can occur. Still others (this is quite uncommon) may not be able to become pregnant until complete weaning has occurred."

Rena,
Don't stress yourself too much now. Just have to monitor Sumo closely...

thanks gals,

for making me feel better.. i am so worried that even if is his sleeping time i refuse to let him sleep coz i am worried.. when i found him he was face down.. his baluku was at the right hand side of his forehead..
i think i am just too careless.. i felt so baad.. baby only stop crying after i hug him tightly and keep saying sorry to him.. after a while he stop cry and start talking.. i think he is scolding me..

Rena

Agree with the rest of the mommy, dun have to worry too much with Sumo's fall. Just monitor to make sure he's active and eating well. Is common for our bb to fall esp now that they are getting more active. As the saying goes "don't fall won't grow up".

Tracy

The way u described Megan's poo poo is so funny. Btw can pull up pants hold more urine/poo poo? I thot itz use more for toilet training toddler?

queen,
I don't think so la.. I'm not that lucky one. Besides, nowadays not much chance or mood to baby dance, esp after I've gone back to work.

Queen

Will collect the spinach for you. Btw have PM u the ON order. When are you placing the order? If have time later may wanna browse if there's anything nice for myself, have no time to shop for myself these days

rena,
dun worry too much. know how u feel. i felt really bad when JH fell from the bed. like what the PD say, things to note is how they fall, how high they fall from and the state they are in after the fall. just monitor for 72 hours for signs of vomitting.

my hb was very angry with me when JH fell and i felt so bad and cried the whole night. but after that everyone told us bb don't fall wont grow up like what Flo say...

tracy
i also wan to try pull up pants cos JH very difficult to change now. wondering which one is better but pull up pants are so ex....

Tracy, thanks for your very detailed analysis! I also like EQ diapers and they don't cut into the thighs like Pet Pet. I bought 2 M size packs from Giant at ~$14. Can't remember exact cost but cheaper than where you got yours. Can check Giant out. Wah, Meg's poo so watery? Can flow out to shoulder blades somemore? Since she has fixed timing, like what chicken little syggested, can put her in potty before you prepare to leave for work?

Rena, don't be so hard on yourself. *pat pat* you are already one of the best mummies in the world! Monitor sumo closely for these 2 days for any symptoms.

Queen/Wendy
RE: 2nd time lucky
Altho is uncommon but it does happen. My fren got pregnant when she was still BF and menses not back yet - her 2 gals is juz about 13 mths apart. So Wendy, you may be the first to get preggy again in this thread or could it be babylon...heehee